Humphreys University Logo

Humphreys University

Stockton, CA | Private Nonprofit | University

Humphreys University has an average net price of $13,473, and an overall rank of #77 (Grade A). About 63.6% of students graduate within 150% of normal time (two-year average), and median earnings are $52,909 five years after graduation. Data from the U.S. Department of Education and EDsmart's 2027 rankings.

Humphreys University is a private nonprofit university in Stockton, CA. Students most often pursue Criminal Justice and Corrections and Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods.

Inside the classroom, students benefit from a 5:1 student-faculty ratio, and 100.0% first-year retention. Faculty pair challenging syllabi with intentional mentoring so learners keep momentum even as expectations rise.

EDsmart calculates return on investment at 98.2%, roughly 48.3 points higher than typical outcomes. Expect the strongest outcomes for students who appreciate an encouraging campus with room to explore and students looking for meaningful faculty access.

A
Ranking
#77 of 1,955
How We Rank Schools Top-100 optionLower tuitionClose mentorshipSmall campus feel
At a Glance
Ranking
#77 of 1,955 (Top 3.9%)
Tuition
$13,500
Net Price
$13,473
4-Year Tuition
$54,000
Acceptance Rate
Not reported
Transfer Rate
33.3%
Student Population
149
Student-Faculty
5:1
Grad Rate (150% time)
63.6%
Grad Rate (8-year)
55.3%
Retention Rate
100.0%
5-Yr Earnings
$52,909
ROI
98.2%

Who is Humphreys University Best For?

A quick look at who tends to feel most at home here based on outcomes and campus context.

Students who thrive with close mentoring
Momentum seekers needing high retention
Students wanting a top-100 campus
Families tracking affordability closely
First-gen or Pell-eligible support
Learners who value a tight-knit campus
Students valuing supportive learning environments

EDsmart Scores Summary

Overall Ranking
#77 of 1,955
Top 3.9% of all institutions
EDsmart Score
96.1 / 100 (national index)
Curved score (top institution = 100.0)
Value Rating
4.81 / 5
Based on ROI and outcomes
Completion
A-
#252 of 1,955
Affordability
A-
#283 of 1,955
Support
A+
#8 of 1,955
Career Outcomes
C+
#1,572 of 1,955

Humphreys University graduates 63.6% of students within 150% of normal time (two-year average; the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings), with an 8-year award rate of 55.3% and keeps 100.0% of first-year students. Affordability earns an A- compared with similar schools.

How we calculate this →

Cost & Financial Aid

Quick Answers

What does it cost?
Depends on income
$13,473 average net price after aid.
What's the graduation rate?
Likely
63.6% graduate within 150% of normal time (two-year average; the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings). The federal 8-year award rate is 55.3%. 100.0% complete in four years (IPEDS 100% time).
What are job outcomes?
Highly likely
87.8% of alumni are employed within three years of leaving. Median earnings five years after graduation are $52,909. Pay varies by major.
Get Your Personalized Cost Estimate

The costs shown are averages. Use Humphreys University's net price calculator to get an estimate based on your family's financial situation.

Calculate Your Net Price →

Total Degree Cost Summary

4-Year Total Cost (Pay with Cash)
$81,648
$20,412 × 4 years
Average Total Cost (Pay with Financial Aid)
$53,892
$13,473 × 4.0 years average
Time to Degree
Average: 4.0 years | 4-Year Rate: 100.0% | 6-Year Rate: 63.6% | 8-Year Rate: 55.3%
Most students finish in about four to five years. Four-year completion is 100.0% and six-year completion is 63.6%.

Annual Cost Comparison

Pay with Cash
$20,412
Total annual cost including tuition, books and living expenses; excluding any financial aid, grants or scholarships.
Pay with Financial Aid
$13,473
Average annual cost including tuition, books and living expenses after financial aid, grants or scholarships.

Est. annual aid gap: $6,939 Cash cost of attendance minus average net price after aid.

Cost of Undergraduate Attendance

Costs based on full-time, first-time degree- or certificate-seeking undergraduates.

View cost of attendance line items
Costs to Consider Price
Tuition and Fees $13,500
Books and Supplies $1,089
On-Campus Room and Board Not reported
On-Campus Other Expenses Not reported
Total On-Campus Cost $20,412

Tip: focus on the rows that match your living plan—commuters can swap in off-campus estimates while residential students should budget for housing, meals, and incidental fees.

Students Receiving Aid

Pell Grant
55.2%
Federal Loan
67.4%

Use these bars to gauge how many classmates rely on need-based dollars—lower Pell or loan shares may signal a wealthier student body or generous institutional grants.

EDsmart Insight: About 55.2% of Humphreys University students receive Pell Grants — well above the national average, highlighting ongoing affordability priorities.

Net Price by Family Income

Average annual net price after financial aid, based on family income. Your actual cost may vary depending on your specific financial situation.

$75,001 - $110,000
$13,473
Average annual cost for families earning $75K-$110K

Understanding These Numbers: Net price varies significantly by income level. Use Humphreys University's net price calculator for a personalized estimate.

Typical total cost estimates (~4 years):
$75K-$110K families
~$53,892

ROI & Career Outcomes

Return on Investment
98.2%
Based on median earnings five years after graduation vs. total degree cost
  • Median Earnings (5 Years After Graduation) $52,909
  • 10-Year Median Earnings $45,846
  • Average Years to Graduate 4.0 years
  • Average Student Debt $32,451
  • Debt-to-Earnings ~61.3%
  • Repayment Rate (3yr) 25.6%
  • Employment Rate 87.8%

Graduate Earnings Distribution

Earnings range for Humphreys University graduates about 10 years after enrollment (25th percentile, median, and 75th percentile). Different horizon than median earnings five years after graduation above.

Graduates earn a median of $52,909 five years after graduation — roughly 14% below the national median.
Payback Period
1.02 years
Total Degree Cost ÷ Annual Earnings

Humphreys University vs. National Average

Comparison of key performance metrics showing how Humphreys University's outcomes compare to the national average across earnings, graduation rates, retention, ROI, and employment. This contextualizes Humphreys University's performance within the broader higher education landscape.

EDsmart Insight: Humphreys University graduates earn $52,909 median five years after graduation, 14% below the national average. Earnings vary significantly by major—research your field's outcomes.

Acceptance & Selectivity

Getting In

Acceptance Rate
Not reported
Extremely Selective
National Average
69%
Average acceptance rate
  • SAT Evidence-Based Reading Not reported
  • SAT Math Not reported
  • SAT Writing Not reported
  • ACT Composite Not reported
  • SAT & ACTNot required
  • Undergraduate Enrollment 149
  • Full-Time Students 44.3%
  • Part-Time Students 55.7%
  • Retention Rate 100.0%
  • Grad Rate (150% time) 63.6%
  • Grad Rate (8-year) 55.3%
  • Student-Faculty Ratio 5:1

How to Get Into Humphreys University

1. Meet Academic Requirements: Humphreys University requires strong academic performance. Aim for test scores within the reported ranges and maintain a competitive GPA. Most admitted students rank in the top 10% of their high school class.

2. Build a Strong Application: Beyond test scores, focus on crafting compelling essays, securing strong letters of recommendation, and highlighting extracurricular activities that demonstrate leadership and commitment.

3. Understand Selectivity: With an acceptance rate of Not reported, Humphreys University is selective. Consider applying early decision if available, as early applicants often have higher acceptance rates.

4. Financial Planning: Review the net price calculator and financial aid options early. Many students receive significant aid, making the actual cost lower than the sticker price.

Tip: Contact the admissions office directly for the most current application requirements, deadlines, and any special programs (like early decision or early action) that might improve your chances.

Academic Programs

Undergraduate Program Distribution

Breakdown of the most popular majors and fields of study among Humphreys University undergraduates. Business Administration, Management and Operations, Legal Professions and Studies, Other, and Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods draw the most students.

  • Business Administration, Management and Operations 43.9%
  • Legal Professions and Studies, Other 19.7%
  • Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods 15.2%
  • Criminal Justice and Corrections 10.6%
  • Accounting and Related Services 4.5%
  • Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Hum 4.5%
See more majors
  • Social Sciences, Other 1.5%
  • Legal Support Services 0.0%

Highest Earning Programs

Median earnings five years after graduation for each program. These figures help illustrate ROI by field of study and degree level.

Undergraduate Programs (Bachelor's Degrees)

  • 1. Criminal Justice and Corrections $63,315
  • 2. Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods $54,469
  • 3. Legal Professions and Studies, Other $46,909
Show additional high-earning majors
  • 4. Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities $46,328

Graduate Programs (Master's, Doctoral, Professional)

  • 1. Law (First Professional Degree) $74,446

Program Choice Matters: Undergraduate: Criminal Justice and Corrections grads earn $63,315—37% more than Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities ($46,328). Graduate: Law programs lead with $74,446 median earnings. Your program and degree level choice significantly impact career earnings.

Online Degrees & Distance Learning

U.S. Department of Education data reports fully online programs for Humphreys University. Below are the most popular options based on the number of recent graduates, followed by a quick look at the breadth of online offerings by degree level.
Source: U.S. Department of Education

Most Popular Online Degrees

  • Business Administration, Management and Operations (Master's Degree, 4 graduates)
  • Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management (Master's Degree, 0 graduates)

What This School Offers Online, at a Glance

U.S. Department of Education data flags the following online degree and certificate programs for this institution. Expand each credential level to view the complete list of available subjects.

Online Master's Degrees (2 programs)▼
  • Business Administration, Management and Operations
  • Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management

Student Demographics

Student Population

  • Total Undergraduate Enrollment 149
  • Full-Time Students 44.3%
  • Part-Time Students 55.7%
  • Male Students 10.7%
  • Female Students 89.3%
  • Caucasian 28.2%
  • Asian 8.7%
  • Hispanic 43.0%
  • Black 10.1%
  • Pell Grant Recipients 55.2%

Racial & Ethnic Diversity

Undergraduate student body composition by racial and ethnic background. This reflects Humphreys University's commitment to diversity and inclusion in admissions.

Gender Distribution

Gender breakdown of Humphreys University's undergraduate population. Women make up 89.3% of the student body, while men represent 10.7%.

Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity

Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity

Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at Humphreys University, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.

EDsmart Insight: Humphreys University has a diverse student body, with 28.2% identifying as White. Women make up 89.3% of undergraduates. 55.2% of students receive Pell Grants, well above the national average, indicating strong support for low-income students.

Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity

Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity

Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at Humphreys University, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.

Our Take

Ranking #77 overall, Humphreys University combines competitive admissions with 98.2% ROI, positioning itself among America's stronger universities. The institution balances academic rigor with $52,909 in median earnings.

Students graduate within 150% of normal time at a 63.6% rate, with 100.0% retention reflecting solid satisfaction. The $13,473 annual net price falls in the moderate range, though 350 institutions deliver comparable outcomes at lower costs.

Competitive Selective University: Humphreys University's Market Position

A grade | #77 of 1955 | 96.1/100 on EDsmart's national index (0–100 vs. all ranked schools; not a raw point total)

Competitive Positioning: Humphreys University occupies the competitive selective tier—not elite enough for automatic career advantages, but strong enough to provide quality education and reasonable outcomes. The 98.2% ROI reflects this middle ground: better than most, but not top-tier.

Value for Money: $13,473 annually produces $52,909 median earnings—a reasonable but not exceptional return. Students choosing Humphreys University should evaluate whether the institution's specific programs, location, or campus culture justify costs versus higher-ROI alternatives.

Who Succeeds Here: Self-directed students who maximize campus resources (research, internships, networking) achieve outcomes rivaling higher-ranked schools. Students seeking specific programs or geographic locations find strong value. Those needing extensive hand-holding may struggle in larger university environments.

Final Assessment: Humphreys University's #77 ranking and A grade reflect solid performance across metrics. With 350 schools offering better ROI, value-focused students should compare carefully. However, for students who fit the institution's culture and programs, outcomes justify investment.

Key Takeaways

  • 63.6% graduation rate sits 1.1 points above the national 62.5% benchmark.
  • 100.0% first-year retention is 23.2 points above the national norm of 76.8%.
  • 98.2% return on investment is 48.3 points above the national 49.9% benchmark.
  • Median earnings of $52,909 run about 14% lower than national outcomes five years after graduation.
  • Average net price of $13,473 is roughly $6,408 lower than the national median of $19,881.

Helpfulness for Students

Green Flags
  • 5:1 student-faculty ratio keeps mentorship close and courses discussion-sized.
  • 100.0% first-year retention shows students stay engaged after the first year.
  • 87.8% employment rate within three years sits 19.6 points above national outcomes.
Red Flags
  • 67.4% of students borrow federal loans, outpacing typical campuses and raising repayment stakes.
  • Compare aid offers from nearby public universities to weigh the premium for smaller classes.
  • Compare aid offers from nearby public universities to weigh the premium for smaller classes.
EDsmart Expert Analysis

Humphreys University is a private nonprofit university based in Stockton, CA and earns an A overall grade. It holds a #77 overall ranking Category results include Completion (A-), Support (A+), Career Outcomes (C+), and Affordability (A-).

Grades are assigned relative to EDsmart's national bachelor's cohort using standardized outcomes (2027 rankings methodology); they reflect how a school compares to peers, not a fixed percentage of a raw point total.

Student momentum is strong: 100.0% retention, 63.6% graduation within 150% of normal time, and 55.3% earning an award within eight years. Return on investment currently measures 98.2% for this program.

Why it matters: this snapshot shows how likely you are to stay on track academically and whether the outcomes justify the price tag. Letter grades summarize cohort-relative performance—not a single exam-style score.

EDsmart Financial Snapshot

Families pay about $13,473 on average after aid, compared with a published cost near $20,412.

Institutional and federal aid lower costs by roughly $6,939 per year.

Graduates leave with a median of $32,451 in federal loans, which lines up with national norms.

About 55.2% of students receive Pell Grants, giving a snapshot of the campus income mix.

Why it matters: lining up sticker price, aid, and typical debt helps you stress-test the budget before you commit.

EDsmart Career Snapshot

Median earnings come in near $52,909 five years after graduation. That sits about 14% below the national median.

Roughly 87.8% of graduates are employed three years out.

Plan around an ROI of about 98.2% according to U.S. Department of Education data.

Why it matters: pairing median earnings with employment rates gives you a sense of payback time after graduation.

EDsmart Admissions Snapshot

This institution has not reported a current acceptance rate.

The admissions team encourages students to highlight academic strengths through transcripts, essays, and recommendations.

Prospective students can apply early for priority review and lean on the Humphreys University admissions site for deadlines, visit options, and counselor contacts.

Why it matters: knowing the admit rate and application expectations lets you map out testing, essays, and deadlines with less stress.

EDsmart Verdict
4.81 / 5
Value Rating - Based on affordability and career outcomes

Your Decision Toolkit

Run the Net Price Calculator
Get your personalized cost estimate
Compare with similar schools
See how Humphreys University stacks up to alternatives
Check your major's earnings
See ROI for your specific field of study
Visit the campus
Schedule a campus tour or virtual visit
Visit Humphreys University Website →

Cite this profile

Add your access date when you publish.

APA (7th): EDsmart. (2026). Humphreys University: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings. https://www.edsmart.org/schools/humphreys-university/

MLA (9th): “Humphreys University: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings.” EDsmart, 2026, www.edsmart.org/schools/humphreys-university/.

Chicago: EDsmart. “Humphreys University: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings.” https://www.edsmart.org/schools/humphreys-university/.

Similar Schools

Institutions with similar academic profiles, selectivity, and outcomes

Nearby Schools

Other campuses you might consider

Other California campuses you might consider

University of Southern California
Los Angeles, CA
A #79 of 1,955
Santa Clara University
Santa Clara, CA
A #74 of 1,955
University of California-Davis
Davis, CA
A #86 of 1,955
Soka University of America
Aliso Viejo, CA
A #66 of 1,955

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does Humphreys University cost?

At Humphreys University, the average net price after grants and scholarships is $13,473 per year. That covers tuition, books, and living costs, which total $20,412 a year before aid. Tuition and fees alone are $13,500. Use the net price calculator on this page for a personalized estimate.

What is Humphreys University's ranking?

Humphreys University ranks #77 overall in EDsmart's 2027 college rankings with an overall grade of A, based on completion, affordability, support, and career outcomes.

What is Humphreys University's graduation rate?

At Humphreys University, the graduation rate within 150% of normal time is 63.6% (two-year average; the rate used in EDsmart rankings), the federal 8-year award rate is 55.3%, and first-year retention is 100.0%.

What are Humphreys University's job outcomes?

Graduates of Humphreys University report median earnings of $52,909 five years after graduation, according to U.S. Department of Education outcome data. Outcomes vary by major.

What is Humphreys University's student population?

Humphreys University enrolls about 149 undergraduate students, per U.S. Department of Education enrollment data.

Contact Information

  • AccreditationWestern Association of Schools and Colleges Senior Colleges and University Commission (WASCSR)
  • Endowment$407,087
  • Transfer Enrollment Rate33.3%

Data Source & Methodology ▼