Albany State University
Albany State University has an average net price of $14,511, and an overall rank of #1092 (Grade B-). About 30.3% of students graduate within 150% of normal time, and median earnings are $55,810 five years after graduation. Data from the U.S. Department of Education and EDsmart's 2027 rankings.
Albany State University is a public university in Albany, GA. Students most often pursue Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing and Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions.
Academically, students benefit from a 21:1 student-faculty ratio, and 78.6% first-year retention. Peer cohorts and advising networks provide scaffolding that keeps newcomers anchored during demanding semesters.
EDsmart calculates return on investment at 78.4%, roughly 28.5 points higher than typical outcomes. It's a compelling fit for students who appreciate an encouraging campus with room to explore.
Who is Albany State University Best For?
A quick look at who tends to feel most at home here based on outcomes and campus context.
EDsmart Scores Summary
Albany State University graduates 30.3% of students within 150% of normal time (the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings), with an 8-year award rate of 33.3% and keeps 78.6% of first-year students. Affordability earns an A compared with similar schools.
How we calculate this →Cost & Financial Aid
Quick Answers
The costs shown are averages. Use Albany State University's net price calculator to get an estimate based on your family's financial situation.
Calculate Your Net Price →Total Degree Cost Summary
Annual Cost Comparison
Est. annual aid gap: $7,790 Cash cost of attendance minus average net price after aid.
Cost of Undergraduate Attendance
Costs based on full-time, first-time degree- or certificate-seeking undergraduates.
View cost of attendance line items
| Costs to Consider | Price |
|---|---|
| Tuition and Fees | $5,666 |
| Books and Supplies | $3,228 |
| On-Campus Room and Board | $12,018 |
| On-Campus Other Expenses | $4,500 |
| Total On-Campus Cost | $22,301 |
Tip: focus on the rows that match your living plan—commuters can swap in off-campus estimates while residential students should budget for housing, meals, and incidental fees.
Students Receiving Aid
Use these bars to gauge how many classmates rely on need-based dollars—lower Pell or loan shares may signal a wealthier student body or generous institutional grants.
EDsmart Insight: About 73.9% of Albany State University students receive Pell Grants — well above the national average, highlighting ongoing affordability priorities.
Net Price by Family Income
Average annual net price after financial aid, based on family income. Your actual cost may vary depending on your specific financial situation.
Understanding These Numbers: Net price varies significantly by income level. Net prices range from $13,800 to $20,517 depending on family income. Use Albany State University's net price calculator for a personalized estimate.
If your family earns $75K-$110K: Expect to pay around $19,101/year
If your family earns $110K+: Expect to pay around $20,517/year
See all income brackets →ROI & Career Outcomes
- Median Earnings (5 Years After Graduation) $55,810
- 10-Year Median Earnings $44,975
- Average Years to Graduate 4.9 years
- Average Student Debt $21,750
- Debt-to-Earnings ~39.0%
- Repayment Rate (3yr) 20.6%
- Employment Rate 90.2%
Graduate Earnings Distribution
Earnings range for Albany State University graduates about 10 years after enrollment (25th percentile, median, and 75th percentile). Different horizon than median earnings five years after graduation above.
Albany State University vs. National Average
Comparison of key performance metrics showing how Albany State University's outcomes compare to the national average across earnings, graduation rates, retention, ROI, and employment. This contextualizes Albany State University's performance within the broader higher education landscape.
EDsmart Insight: Albany State University graduates earn $55,810 median five years after graduation, 9% below the national average. Earnings vary significantly by major—research your field's outcomes.
Acceptance & Selectivity
Getting In
- SAT Evidence-Based Reading Not reported
- SAT Math Not reported
- SAT Writing Not reported
- ACT Composite Not reported
- SAT & ACTNot required
- Undergraduate Enrollment 5,956
- Full-Time Students 74.3%
- Part-Time Students 25.7%
- Retention Rate 78.6%
- Grad Rate (150% time) 30.3%
- Grad Rate (8-year) 33.3%
- Student-Faculty Ratio 21:1
How to Get Into Albany State University
1. Meet Academic Requirements: Albany State University requires strong academic performance. Aim for test scores within the reported ranges and maintain a competitive GPA. Most admitted students rank in the top 10% of their high school class.
2. Build a Strong Application: Beyond test scores, focus on crafting compelling essays, securing strong letters of recommendation, and highlighting extracurricular activities that demonstrate leadership and commitment.
3. Understand Selectivity: With an acceptance rate of Not reported, Albany State University is selective. Consider applying early decision if available, as early applicants often have higher acceptance rates.
4. Financial Planning: Review the net price calculator and financial aid options early. Many students receive significant aid, making the actual cost lower than the sticker price.
Tip: Contact the admissions office directly for the most current application requirements, deadlines, and any special programs (like early decision or early action) that might improve your chances.
Academic Programs
Undergraduate Program Distribution
Breakdown of the most popular majors and fields of study among Albany State University undergraduates. Education, Other, Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing, and Criminal Justice and Corrections draw the most students.
- Education, Other 19.4%
- Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing 17.0%
- Criminal Justice and Corrections 14.9%
- Business Administration, Management and Operations 8.5%
- Biology, General 7.2%
- Psychology, General 6.4%
See more majors
- Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods 4.3%
- Computer and Information Sciences, General 3.4%
Highest Earning Programs
Median earnings five years after graduation for each program. These figures help illustrate ROI by field of study and degree level.
Undergraduate Programs
- 1. Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing (Bachelor's Degree) $87,871
- 2. Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing (Associate's Degree) $84,102
- 3. Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions (Associate's Degree) $72,150
Show additional high-earning majors
- 4. Computer and Information Sciences, General (Bachelor's Degree) $68,083
- 5. Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services (Associate's Degree) $60,563
- 6. Marketing (Bachelor's Degree) $57,151
- 7. Biology, General (Bachelor's Degree) $55,741
- 8. Accounting and Related Services (Bachelor's Degree) $53,218
- 9. Criminal Justice and Corrections (Bachelor's Degree) $50,354
- 10. Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods (Bachelor's Degree) $49,565
Graduate Programs (Master's, Doctoral, Professional)
- 1. Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing (Master's Degree) $130,724
- 2. Educational Administration and Supervision (First Professional Degree) $84,755
- 3. Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods (Master's Degree) $67,958
Show additional graduate majors
- 4. Social Work (Master's Degree) $56,675
- 5. Public Administration (Master's Degree) $54,742
- 6. Business Administration, Management and Operations (Master's Degree) $53,114
Program Choice Matters: Undergraduate: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing grads earn $87,871—77% more than Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods ($49,565). Graduate: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing programs lead with $130,724 median earnings. Your program and degree level choice significantly impact career earnings.
Online Degrees & Distance Learning
U.S. Department of Education data reports fully online programs for Albany State University. Below are the most popular options based on the number of recent graduates, followed by a quick look at the breadth of online offerings by degree level.
Source: U.S. Department of Education
Most Popular Online Degrees
- Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (Associate's Degree, 164 graduates)
- Education, Other (Bachelor's Degree, 121 graduates)
- Criminal Justice and Corrections (Bachelor's Degree, 93 graduates)
- Business Administration, Management and Operations (Bachelor's Degree, 53 graduates)
- Biology, General (Bachelor's Degree, 45 graduates)
What This School Offers Online, at a Glance
U.S. Department of Education data flags the following online degree and certificate programs for this institution. Expand each credential level to view the complete list of available subjects.
Online Bachelor's Degrees (22 programs)▼
- Education, Other
- Criminal Justice and Corrections
- Business Administration, Management and Operations
- Biology, General
- Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods
- Computer and Information Sciences, General
- Social Work
- Communication and Media Studies
- Marketing
- Visual and Performing Arts, General
- Political Science and Government
- Sociology
- Accounting and Related Services
- Multi-/Interdisciplinary Studies, General
- Management Information Systems and Services
- Education, General
- English Language and Literature, General
- Chemistry
- History
- Mathematics
- Security Science and Technology
- Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General
Online Undergraduate Certificates & Diplomas (3 programs)▼
- Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions
- Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions
- Computer and Information Sciences, General
Student Demographics
Student Population
- Total Undergraduate Enrollment 5,956
- Full-Time Students 74.3%
- Part-Time Students 25.7%
- Male Students 26.6%
- Female Students 73.4%
- Caucasian 5.9%
- Asian 0.3%
- Hispanic 3.7%
- Black 84.1%
- Pell Grant Recipients 73.9%
Racial & Ethnic Diversity
Undergraduate student body composition by racial and ethnic background. This reflects Albany State University's commitment to diversity and inclusion in admissions.
Gender Distribution
Gender breakdown of Albany State University's undergraduate population. Women make up 73.4% of the student body, while men represent 26.6%.
Graduation Rate Equity Analysis
How well does Albany State University support students from different economic backgrounds?
What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at a similar rate as higher-income students, indicating adequate institutional support for all economic backgrounds.
Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity
Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity
Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at Albany State University, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.
EDsmart Insight: Albany State University has a diverse student body, with 5.9% identifying as White. Women make up 73.4% of undergraduates. 73.9% of students receive Pell Grants, well above the national average, indicating strong support for low-income students.
Graduation Rate Equity Analysis
How well does Albany State University support students from different economic backgrounds?
What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at a similar rate as higher-income students, indicating adequate institutional support for all economic backgrounds.
Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity
Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity
Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at Albany State University, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.
Our Take
Albany State University serves as an affordable university for students seeking quality education without elite university costs. Ranked #1092 overall with a 78.4% ROI, the institution balances practical outcomes with budget-friendly pricing.
At $14,511 annually, students gain access to career-focused programs leading to $55,810 median earnings. The 30.3% graduation rate reflects reasonable completion metrics for a university. While 78.6% retention suggests adequate student support.
University Value: Albany State University's Strengths
Ranked #1092 with a B- grade, Albany State University prioritizes accessibility and local career connections over national prestige.
Primary Strengths: Universitys like Albany State University excel at providing affordable education ($14,511 annually) with strong local employer relationships. Many programs emphasize practical skills and internships within the regional economy.
Best For: Students planning to work in the region after graduation benefit from established employer connections. Adult learners and part-time students appreciate flexible scheduling. First-generation students and budget-conscious families gain degrees without overwhelming debt.
Honest Assessment: Albany State University's 78.6% retention and 30.3% graduation rate trail elite universities but align with typical university performance. Career outcomes ($55,810 median earnings) reflect regional job markets more than national opportunities.
Value Verdict: For students committed to regional careers, Albany State University's 78.4% ROI and $14,511 cost deliver solid value. Those seeking national job mobility or prestigious credentials should compare against flagship state universities or targeted private scholarships.
Key Takeaways
- 30.3% graduation rate sits 32.2 points below the national 62.5% benchmark.
- 78.6% first-year retention is 1.8 points above the national norm of 76.8%.
- 78.4% return on investment is 28.5 points above the national 49.9% benchmark.
- Median earnings of $55,810 run about 9% lower than national outcomes five years after graduation.
- Average net price of $14,511 is roughly $5,370 lower than the national median of $19,881.
Helpfulness for Students
- 21:1 student-faculty ratio keeps mentorship close and courses discussion-sized.
- 78.6% first-year retention shows students stay engaged after the first year.
- 90.2% employment rate within three years sits 22.0 points above national outcomes.
- 64.0% of students borrow federal loans, outpacing typical campuses and raising repayment stakes.
- Compare aid offers from nearby public universities to weigh the premium for smaller classes.
- Compare aid offers from nearby public universities to weigh the premium for smaller classes.
EDsmart Expert Analysis
Albany State University is a public university based in Albany, GA and earns a B- overall grade. It appears at #1092 in EDsmart's rankings Category results include Completion (C+), Support (C+), Career Outcomes (B-), and Affordability (A).
Grades are assigned relative to EDsmart's national bachelor's cohort using standardized outcomes (2027 rankings methodology); they reflect how a school compares to peers, not a fixed percentage of a raw point total.
78.6% of learners come back after year one while 30.3% graduate within 150% of normal time (33.3% within eight years). Return on investment currently measures 78.4% for this program.
Why it matters: this snapshot shows how likely you are to stay on track academically and whether the outcomes justify the price tag. Letter grades summarize cohort-relative performance—not a single exam-style score.
EDsmart Financial Snapshot
Families pay about $14,511 on average after aid, compared with a published cost near $22,301.
Institutional and federal aid lower costs by roughly $7,790 per year.
Graduates leave with a median of $21,750 in federal loans, which lines up with national norms.
About 73.9% of students receive Pell Grants, giving a snapshot of the campus income mix.
Why it matters: lining up sticker price, aid, and typical debt helps you stress-test the budget before you commit.
EDsmart Career Snapshot
Five years after graduation, graduates earn roughly $55,810 at the median. That sits about 9% below the national median.
The three-year employment rate is close to 90.2%.
The ROI comes in near 78.4%, which you can cross-check against your financial plan.
Why it matters: pairing median earnings with employment rates gives you a sense of payback time after graduation.
EDsmart Admissions Snapshot
This institution has not reported a current acceptance rate.
The admissions team encourages students to highlight academic strengths through transcripts, essays, and recommendations.
Prospective students can apply early for priority review and lean on the Albany State University admissions site for deadlines, visit options, and counselor contacts.
Why it matters: knowing the admit rate and application expectations lets you map out testing, essays, and deadlines with less stress.
Your Decision Toolkit
Cite this profile
Add your access date when you publish.
APA (7th): EDsmart. (2026). Albany State University: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings. https://www.edsmart.org/schools/albany-state-university/
MLA (9th): “Albany State University: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings.” EDsmart, 2026, www.edsmart.org/schools/albany-state-university/.
Chicago: EDsmart. “Albany State University: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings.” https://www.edsmart.org/schools/albany-state-university/.
Similar Schools
Institutions with similar academic profiles, selectivity, and outcomes
Nearby Schools
Other campuses you might consider
Other Georgia campuses you might consider
Frequently Asked Questions
How much does Albany State University cost?
At Albany State University, the average net price after grants and scholarships is $14,511 per year. That covers tuition, books, and living costs, which total $22,301 a year before aid. Tuition and fees alone are $5,666. Use the net price calculator on this page for a personalized estimate.
What is Albany State University's ranking?
Albany State University ranks #1092 overall in EDsmart's 2027 college rankings with an overall grade of B-, based on completion, affordability, support, and career outcomes.
What is Albany State University's graduation rate?
At Albany State University, the graduation rate within 150% of normal time is 30.3% (the rate used in EDsmart rankings), the federal 8-year award rate is 33.3%, and first-year retention is 78.6%.
What are Albany State University's job outcomes?
Graduates of Albany State University report median earnings of $55,810 five years after graduation, according to U.S. Department of Education outcome data. Outcomes vary by major.
What is Albany State University's student population?
Albany State University enrolls about 5,956 undergraduate students, per U.S. Department of Education enrollment data.
Contact Information
- Address 504 College Drive, Albany, GA 31705
- Website www.asurams.edu
- Net Price Calculator Calculate Your Cost
- Financial AidView Financial Aid Information
- AccreditationSouthern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCC)
- Endowment$4.5M
- Transfer Enrollment Rate36.0%