Art Center College of Design Logo

Art Center College of Design

Pasadena, CA | Private Nonprofit | College

Art Center College of Design has an acceptance rate of 74.5%, an average net price of $48,389, and an overall rank of #1040 (Grade B). About 80.9% of students graduate within 150% of normal time, and median earnings are $78,354 five years after graduation. Data from the U.S. Department of Education and EDsmart's 2027 rankings.

Art Center College of Design is a private nonprofit university in Pasadena, CA. Students most often pursue Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies/Technicians and Graphic Communications.

Academically, students benefit from a 9:1 student-faculty ratio, and 85.9% first-year retention. Peer cohorts and advising networks provide scaffolding that keeps newcomers anchored during demanding semesters.

EDsmart calculates return on investment at 32.3%, roughly 17.6 points below typical outcomes. It's a compelling fit for students who appreciate an encouraging campus with room to explore and students looking for meaningful faculty access.

B
Ranking
#1040 of 1,955
How We Rank Schools Higher pay after college
At a Glance
Ranking
#1040 of 1,955 (Top 53.2%)
Tuition
$56,308
Net Price
$48,389
4-Year Tuition
$225,232
Acceptance Rate
74.5%
Transfer Rate
0.0%
Student Population
2,017
Student-Faculty
9:1
Grad Rate (150% time)
80.9%
Grad Rate (8-year)
79.2%
Retention Rate
85.9%
5-Yr Earnings
$78,354
ROI
32.3%

Who is Art Center College of Design Best For?

A quick look at who tends to feel most at home here based on outcomes and campus context.

Students who thrive with close mentoring
Students aiming for strong salaries
Learners who value a tight-knit campus
Students seeking strong career outcomes
Students valuing supportive learning environments

EDsmart Scores Summary

Overall Ranking
#1040 of 1,955
Top 53.2% of all institutions
EDsmart Score
46.9 / 100 (national index)
Curved score (top institution = 100.0)
Value Rating
2.34 / 5
Based on ROI and outcomes
Completion
A-
#214 of 1,955
Affordability
D-
#1,928 of 1,955
Support
A-
#218 of 1,955
Career Outcomes
B
#743 of 1,955

Art Center College of Design graduates 80.9% of students within 150% of normal time (the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings), with an 8-year award rate of 79.2% and keeps 85.9% of first-year students. Affordability earns a D- compared with similar schools.

How we calculate this →

Cost & Financial Aid

Quick Answers

What does it cost?
Depends on income
$43,579-$56,996 annual net price based on family income.
What's the graduation rate?
Highly likely
80.9% graduate within 150% of normal time (the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings). The federal 8-year award rate is 79.2%. 40.1% complete in four years (IPEDS 100% time).
What are job outcomes?
Highly likely
88.4% of alumni are employed within three years of leaving. Median earnings five years after graduation are $78,354. Pay varies by major.
Get Your Personalized Cost Estimate

The costs shown are averages. Use Art Center College of Design's net price calculator to get an estimate based on your family's financial situation.

Calculate Your Net Price →

Total Degree Cost Summary

4-Year Total Cost (Pay with Cash)
$311,960
$77,990 × 4 years
Average Total Cost (Pay with Financial Aid)
$242,388
$48,389 × 5.0 years average
Time to Degree
Average: 5.0 years | 4-Year Rate: 40.1% | 6-Year Rate: 80.9% | 8-Year Rate: 79.2%
Most students finish in about four to five years. Four-year completion is 40.1% and six-year completion is 80.9%.

Annual Cost Comparison

Pay with Cash
$77,990
Total annual cost including tuition, books and living expenses; excluding any financial aid, grants or scholarships.
Pay with Financial Aid
$48,389
Average annual cost including tuition, books and living expenses after financial aid, grants or scholarships.

Est. annual aid gap: $29,601 Cash cost of attendance minus average net price after aid.

Cost of Undergraduate Attendance

Costs based on full-time, first-time degree- or certificate-seeking undergraduates.

View cost of attendance line items
Costs to Consider Price
Tuition and Fees $56,308
Books and Supplies $4,000
On-Campus Room and Board Not reported
On-Campus Other Expenses Not reported
Total On-Campus Cost $77,990

Tip: focus on the rows that match your living plan—commuters can swap in off-campus estimates while residential students should budget for housing, meals, and incidental fees.

Students Receiving Aid

Pell Grant
24.5%
Federal Loan
31.7%

Use these bars to gauge how many classmates rely on need-based dollars—lower Pell or loan shares may signal a wealthier student body or generous institutional grants.

EDsmart Insight: About 24.5% of Art Center College of Design students receive Pell Grants — below the national average, highlighting ongoing affordability priorities.

Net Price by Family Income

Average annual net price after financial aid, based on family income. Your actual cost may vary depending on your specific financial situation.

$0 - $30,000
$43,579
Average annual cost for families earning $0-$30K
$30,001 - $48,000
$40,452
Average annual cost for families earning $30K-$48K
$48,001 - $75,000
$43,601
Average annual cost for families earning $48K-$75K
$75,001 - $110,000
$43,513
Average annual cost for families earning $75K-$110K
$110,001+
$56,996
Average annual cost for families earning $110K+

Understanding These Numbers: Net price varies significantly by income level. Net prices range from $43,579 to $56,996 depending on family income. Use Art Center College of Design's net price calculator for a personalized estimate.

Typical total cost estimates (~5 years):
$0-$30K families
~$218,294
$30K-$48K families
~$202,630
$48K-$75K families
~$218,404
$75K-$110K families
~$217,963
AFFORDABILITY ALERT

If your family earns $75K-$110K: Expect to pay around $43,513/year

If your family earns $110K+: Expect to pay around $56,996/year

See all income brackets →

ROI & Career Outcomes

Return on Investment
32.3%
Based on median earnings five years after graduation vs. total degree cost
  • Median Earnings (5 Years After Graduation) $78,354
  • 10-Year Median Earnings $75,975
  • Average Years to Graduate 5.0 years
  • Average Student Debt $27,651
  • Debt-to-Earnings ~35.3%
  • Repayment Rate (3yr) 69.7%
  • Employment Rate 88.4%

Graduate Earnings Distribution

Earnings range for Art Center College of Design graduates about 10 years after enrollment (25th percentile, median, and 75th percentile). Different horizon than median earnings five years after graduation above.

Graduates earn a median of $78,354 five years after graduation — roughly 27% above the national median.
Payback Period
3.09 years
Total Degree Cost ÷ Annual Earnings

Art Center College of Design vs. National Average

Comparison of key performance metrics showing how Art Center College of Design's outcomes compare to the national average across earnings, graduation rates, retention, ROI, and employment. This contextualizes Art Center College of Design's performance within the broader higher education landscape.

EDsmart Insight: While Art Center College of Design graduates earn $78,354 median, the 32.3% ROI suggests the investment may take longer to pay off. Consider your major choice and career goals when evaluating value.

Acceptance & Selectivity

Getting In

Acceptance Rate
74.5%
Less Selective
National Average
69%
Average acceptance rate
  • SAT Evidence-Based Reading Not reported
  • SAT Math Not reported
  • SAT Writing Not reported
  • ACT Composite Not reported
  • SAT & ACTNot required
  • Undergraduate Enrollment 2,017
  • Full-Time Students 88.6%
  • Part-Time Students 11.4%
  • Retention Rate 85.9%
  • Grad Rate (150% time) 80.9%
  • Grad Rate (8-year) 79.2%
  • Student-Faculty Ratio 9:1

How to Get Into Art Center College of Design

1. Meet Academic Requirements: Art Center College of Design requires strong academic performance. Aim for test scores within the reported ranges and maintain a competitive GPA. Most admitted students rank in the top 10% of their high school class.

2. Build a Strong Application: Beyond test scores, focus on crafting compelling essays, securing strong letters of recommendation, and highlighting extracurricular activities that demonstrate leadership and commitment.

3. Understand Selectivity: With an acceptance rate of 74.5%, Art Center College of Design is relatively open. Consider applying early decision if available, as early applicants often have higher acceptance rates.

4. Financial Planning: Review the net price calculator and financial aid options early. Many students receive significant aid, making the actual cost lower than the sticker price.

Tip: Contact the admissions office directly for the most current application requirements, deadlines, and any special programs (like early decision or early action) that might improve your chances.

EDsmart Insight: With a 74.5% acceptance rate, Art Center College of Design is more accessible than highly selective schools. Meeting the test score ranges and maintaining a solid GPA significantly improves admission chances.

Academic Programs

Undergraduate Program Distribution

Breakdown of the most popular majors and fields of study among Art Center College of Design undergraduates. Design and Applied Arts, Graphic Communications, and Engineering-Related Fields draw the most students.

  • Design and Applied Arts 47.0%
  • Graphic Communications 15.2%
  • Engineering-Related Fields 9.8%
  • Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies/Techni 9.6%
  • Film/Video and Photographic Arts 7.9%
  • Computer Software and Media Applications 3.8%
See more majors
  • Fine and Studio Arts 3.5%
  • Architectural Sciences and Technology 3.3%

Highest Earning Programs

Median earnings five years after graduation for each program. These figures help illustrate ROI by field of study and degree level.

Undergraduate Programs (Bachelor's Degrees)

  • 1. Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies/Technicians $107,715
  • 2. Graphic Communications $92,786
  • 3. Design and Applied Arts $81,862
Show additional high-earning majors
  • 4. Architectural Sciences and Technology $80,732
  • 5. Film/Video and Photographic Arts $54,022

Program Choice Matters: Undergraduate: Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies/Technicians grads earn $107,715—99% more than Film/Video and Photographic Arts ($54,022). Your program and degree level choice significantly impact career earnings.

Online Degrees & Distance Learning

U.S. Department of Education data reports fully online programs for Art Center College of Design. Below are the most popular options based on the number of recent graduates, followed by a quick look at the breadth of online offerings by degree level.
Source: U.S. Department of Education

Most Popular Online Degrees

  • Design and Applied Arts (Bachelor's Degree, 245 graduates)
  • Graphic Communications (Bachelor's Degree, 79 graduates)
  • Engineering-Related Fields (Bachelor's Degree, 51 graduates)
  • Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies/Technicians (Bachelor's Degree, 50 graduates)
  • Film/Video and Photographic Arts (Bachelor's Degree, 41 graduates)

What This School Offers Online, at a Glance

U.S. Department of Education data flags the following online degree and certificate programs for this institution. Expand each credential level to view the complete list of available subjects.

Online Bachelor's Degrees (8 programs)▼
  • Design and Applied Arts
  • Graphic Communications
  • Engineering-Related Fields
  • Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies/Technicians
  • Film/Video and Photographic Arts
  • Computer Software and Media Applications
  • Fine and Studio Arts
  • Architectural Sciences and Technology
Online Master's Degrees (6 programs)▼
  • Design and Applied Arts
  • Film/Video and Photographic Arts
  • Architectural Sciences and Technology
  • Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies/Technicians
  • Engineering-Related Fields
  • Fine and Studio Arts

Student Demographics

Student Population

  • Total Undergraduate Enrollment 2,017
  • Full-Time Students 88.6%
  • Part-Time Students 11.4%
  • Male Students 40.3%
  • Female Students 59.7%
  • Caucasian 10.2%
  • Asian 29.8%
  • Hispanic 9.3%
  • Black 1.2%
  • Pell Grant Recipients 24.5%

Racial & Ethnic Diversity

Undergraduate student body composition by racial and ethnic background. This reflects Art Center College of Design's commitment to diversity and inclusion in admissions.

Gender Distribution

Gender breakdown of Art Center College of Design's undergraduate population. The university maintains a roughly balanced gender distribution across its student body.

Graduation Rate Equity Analysis

How well does Art Center College of Design support students from different economic backgrounds?

Pell Grant Recipients
84.6%
6-year graduation rate
Non-Pell Students
79.0%
6-year graduation rate
Equity Gap
5.7 pts
good equity

What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at a similar rate as higher-income students, indicating adequate institutional support for all economic backgrounds.

Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity

Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity

Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at Art Center College of Design, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.

EDsmart Insight: Art Center College of Design has a diverse student body, with 10.2% identifying as White. About 24.5% receive Pell Grants, below the national average of 38%, suggesting a wealthier student body or generous institutional aid.

Graduation Rate Equity Analysis

How well does Art Center College of Design support students from different economic backgrounds?

Pell Grant Recipients
84.6%
6-year graduation rate
Non-Pell Students
79.0%
6-year graduation rate
Equity Gap
5.7 pts
good equity

What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at a similar rate as higher-income students, indicating adequate institutional support for all economic backgrounds.

Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity

Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity

Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at Art Center College of Design, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.

Our Take

Art Center College of Design offers a private university experience at a regional scale, combining smaller class sizes with 32.3% ROI. Ranked #1040 overall, the institution balances personalized attention against higher costs than public alternatives.

The $48,389 annual net price is significantly higher than public universities, offset somewhat by $78,354 median earnings. With 80.9% graduating within 150% of normal time and 85.9% returning for sophomore year, outcomes reflect the personalized support typical of smaller private institutions.

Private University Value: Art Center College of Design's Positioning

With a B grade and #1040 ranking, Art Center College of Design competes in the crowded regional private university market.

The Private University Premium: At $48,389 annually, Art Center College of Design charges more than public alternatives but typically offers smaller classes, more personalized advising, and tighter-knit campus communities. The 85.9% retention rate suggests students value this environment.

Who Benefits Most: Students who thrive in smaller, more intimate academic settings. Those seeking specific programs or values-based education aligned with the institution's mission. Students who receive merit scholarships that bring costs below $33,872 achieve particularly strong value.

Cost-Benefit Reality: The 32.3% ROI and $78,354 median earnings don't always justify the premium over public universities. Students paying full price should compare whether the personalized experience warrants $38,389+ in additional annual costs over state flagships.

Competitive Standing: Art Center College of Design ranks #1040 of 1955 institutions, with 1655 schools achieving higher ROI. For students offered substantial merit aid or seeking specific programs unavailable at public universities, the value proposition strengthens significantly.

Key Takeaways

  • 80.9% graduation rate sits 18.4 points above the national 62.5% benchmark.
  • 85.9% first-year retention is 9.1 points above the national norm of 76.8%.
  • 32.3% return on investment is 17.6 points below the national 49.9% benchmark.
  • Median earnings of $78,354 run about 27% higher than national outcomes five years after graduation.
  • Average net price of $48,389 is roughly $28,508 higher than the national median of $19,881.

Helpfulness for Students

Green Flags
  • 9:1 student-faculty ratio keeps mentorship close and courses discussion-sized.
  • 85.9% first-year retention shows students stay engaged after the first year.
  • 88.4% employment rate within three years sits 20.2 points above national outcomes.
Red Flags
  • Average net price of $48,389 is about $28,508 higher than comparable schools, so scholarship planning is key.
  • Pell participation at 24.5% trails the national share by 14.0 points, so equity work remains important.
  • Compare aid offers from nearby public universities to weigh the premium for smaller classes.
EDsmart Expert Analysis

Located in Pasadena, CA, Art Center College of Design operates as a private nonprofit university and receives a B from EDsmart. It appears at #1040 in EDsmart's rankings Category results include Completion (A-), Support (A-), Career Outcomes (B), and Affordability (D-).

Grades are assigned relative to EDsmart's national bachelor's cohort using standardized outcomes (2027 rankings methodology); they reflect how a school compares to peers, not a fixed percentage of a raw point total.

About 85.9% of first-year students return; 80.9% graduate within 150% of normal time, with an 8-year award rate of 79.2%. The reported ROI is 32.3%, a figure families can weigh against cost and aid details above.

Why it matters: this snapshot shows how likely you are to stay on track academically and whether the outcomes justify the price tag. Letter grades summarize cohort-relative performance—not a single exam-style score.

EDsmart Financial Snapshot

Families pay about $48,389 on average after aid, compared with a published cost near $77,990.

Institutional and federal aid lower costs by roughly $29,601 per year.

Graduates leave with a median of $27,651 in federal loans, which lines up with national norms.

About 24.5% of students receive Pell Grants, giving a snapshot of the campus income mix.

Why it matters: lining up sticker price, aid, and typical debt helps you stress-test the budget before you commit.

EDsmart Career Snapshot

Median earnings come in near $78,354 five years after graduation. That sits about 27% above the national median.

The three-year employment rate is close to 88.4%.

Plan around an ROI of about 32.3% according to U.S. Department of Education data.

Why it matters: pairing median earnings with employment rates gives you a sense of payback time after graduation.

EDsmart Admissions Snapshot

74.5% of applicants receive offers, so preparation and fit matter.

The admissions team encourages students to highlight academic strengths through transcripts, essays, and recommendations.

Prospective students can apply early for priority review and lean on the Art Center College of Design admissions site for deadlines, visit options, and counselor contacts.

Why it matters: knowing the admit rate and application expectations lets you map out testing, essays, and deadlines with less stress.

EDsmart Verdict
2.34 / 5
Value Rating - Based on affordability and career outcomes

Your Decision Toolkit

Run the Net Price Calculator
Get your personalized cost estimate
Compare with similar schools
See how Art Center College of Design stacks up to alternatives
Check your major's earnings
See ROI for your specific field of study
Visit the campus
Schedule a campus tour or virtual visit
Visit Art Center College of Design Website →

Cite this profile

Add your access date when you publish.

APA (7th): EDsmart. (2026). Art Center College of Design: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings. https://www.edsmart.org/schools/art-center-college-of-design/

MLA (9th): “Art Center College of Design: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings.” EDsmart, 2026, www.edsmart.org/schools/art-center-college-of-design/.

Chicago: EDsmart. “Art Center College of Design: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings.” https://www.edsmart.org/schools/art-center-college-of-design/.

Similar Schools

Institutions with similar academic profiles, selectivity, and outcomes

Nearby Schools

Other campuses you might consider

Other California campuses you might consider

California Baptist University
Riverside, CA
B- #1072 of 1,955
Vanguard University of Southern California
Costa Mesa, CA
B #983 of 1,955
Biola University
La Mirada, CA
B #977 of 1,955
California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt
Arcata, CA
B- #1110 of 1,955

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Art Center College of Design's acceptance rate?

Art Center College of Design's acceptance rate is 74.5%, based on U.S. Department of Education admissions data.

How much does Art Center College of Design cost?

At Art Center College of Design, the average net price after grants and scholarships is $48,389 per year. That covers tuition, books, and living costs, which total $77,990 a year before aid. Tuition and fees alone are $56,308. Use the net price calculator on this page for a personalized estimate.

What is Art Center College of Design's ranking?

Art Center College of Design ranks #1040 overall in EDsmart's 2027 college rankings with an overall grade of B, based on completion, affordability, support, and career outcomes.

What is Art Center College of Design's graduation rate?

At Art Center College of Design, the graduation rate within 150% of normal time is 80.9% (the rate used in EDsmart rankings), the federal 8-year award rate is 79.2%, and first-year retention is 85.9%.

What are Art Center College of Design's job outcomes?

Graduates of Art Center College of Design report median earnings of $78,354 five years after graduation, according to U.S. Department of Education outcome data. Outcomes vary by major.

What is Art Center College of Design's student population?

Art Center College of Design enrolls about 2,017 undergraduate students, per U.S. Department of Education enrollment data.

Contact Information

  • AccreditationWestern Association of Schools and Colleges Senior Colleges and University Commission (WASCSR)
  • Endowment$137.4M

Data Source & Methodology ▼