Bethune-Cookman University
Bethune-Cookman University has an acceptance rate of 88.2%, annual tuition of $14,794, average net price of $12,030, and a national rank of #1315 (Grade B-), with a 30.5% graduation rate within 150% of normal time, about 2,732 undergraduates, and median earnings of $46,007 four years after graduation. Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard and EDsmart's 2026 rankings.
Bethune-Cookman University is a private nonprofit university in Daytona Beach, FL. Students most often pursue Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing and Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas.
Day to day, students benefit from a 17:1 student-faculty ratio, and 61.8% first-year retention. Coaches and faculty advisors weave in frequent check-ins, helping students translate ambition into steady progress.
EDsmart calculates return on investment at 77.4%, roughly 27.5 points higher than typical outcomes. It's well-suited to students who appreciate an encouraging campus with room to explore.
Who is Bethune-Cookman University Best For?
A quick look at who tends to feel most at home here based on outcomes and campus context.
EDsmart Scores Summary
Bethune-Cookman University graduates 30.5% of students within 150% of normal time (the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings), with an 8-year award rate of 37.9% and keeps 61.8% of first-year students. Affordability earns an A compared with similar schools.
How we calculate this →Cost & Financial Aid
Quick Answers
The costs shown are averages. Use Bethune-Cookman University's net price calculator to get an estimate based on your family's financial situation.
Calculate Your Net Price →Total Degree Cost Summary
Annual Cost Comparison
Cost of Undergraduate Attendance
Costs based on full-time, first-time degree- or certificate-seeking undergraduates.
View cost of attendance line items
| Costs to Consider | Price |
|---|---|
| Tuition and Fees | $14,794 |
| Books and Supplies | $1,450 |
| On-Campus Room and Board | $10,396 |
| On-Campus Other Expenses | $3,300 |
| Total On-Campus Cost | $29,764 |
Tip: focus on the rows that match your living plan—commuters can swap in off-campus estimates while residential students should budget for housing, meals, and incidental fees.
Students Receiving Aid
Use these bars to gauge how many classmates rely on need-based dollars—lower Pell or loan shares may signal a wealthier student body or generous institutional grants.
EDsmart Insight: About 78.3% of Bethune-Cookman University students receive Pell Grants — well above the national average, highlighting ongoing affordability priorities.
Net Price by Family Income
Average annual net price after financial aid, based on family income. Your actual cost may vary depending on your specific financial situation.
Understanding These Numbers: Net price varies significantly by income level. Net prices range from $10,896 to $18,654 depending on family income. Use Bethune-Cookman University's net price calculator for a personalized estimate.
If your family earns $75K-$110K: Expect to pay around $17,882/year
If your family earns $110K+: Expect to pay around $18,654/year
See all income brackets →ROI & Career Outcomes
- Median Earnings (4 Years After Graduation) $46,007
- 10-Year Median Earnings $38,518
- Average Years to Graduate 4.9 years
- Average Student Debt $31,000
- Repayment Rate (3yr) 21.1%
- Employment Rate 85.7%
Graduate Earnings Distribution
Earnings range for Bethune-Cookman University graduates 6 years after enrollment, showing the 25th percentile, median, and 75th percentile. This illustrates the variation in outcomes across different majors and career paths.
Bethune-Cookman University vs. National Average
Comparison of key performance metrics showing how Bethune-Cookman University's outcomes compare to the national average across earnings, graduation rates, retention, ROI, and employment. This contextualizes Bethune-Cookman University's performance within the broader higher education landscape.
EDsmart Insight: Bethune-Cookman University graduates earn $46,007 median four years after graduation, -24% above the national average. Earnings vary significantly by major—research your field's outcomes.
Acceptance & Selectivity
Getting In
- SAT Evidence-Based Reading 430-510
- SAT Math 400-480
- SAT Writing Not reported
- ACT Composite Not reported
- SAT & ACT Required
- Undergraduate Enrollment 2,732
- Full-Time Students 97.7%
- Part-Time Students 2.3%
- Retention Rate 61.8%
- Grad Rate (150% time) 30.5%
- Grad Rate (8-year) 37.9%
- Student-Faculty Ratio 17:1
How to Get Into Bethune-Cookman University
1. Meet Academic Requirements: Bethune-Cookman University requires strong academic performance. Aim for test scores within the reported ranges and maintain a competitive GPA. Most admitted students rank in the top 10% of their high school class.
2. Build a Strong Application: Beyond test scores, focus on crafting compelling essays, securing strong letters of recommendation, and highlighting extracurricular activities that demonstrate leadership and commitment.
3. Understand Selectivity: With an acceptance rate of 88.2%, Bethune-Cookman University is relatively open. Consider applying early decision if available, as early applicants often have higher acceptance rates.
4. Financial Planning: Review the net price calculator and financial aid options early. Many students receive significant aid, making the actual cost lower than the sticker price.
Tip: Contact the admissions office directly for the most current application requirements, deadlines, and any special programs (like early decision or early action) that might improve your chances.
EDsmart Insight: With a 88.2% acceptance rate, Bethune-Cookman University is more accessible than highly selective schools. Meeting the test score ranges and maintaining a solid GPA significantly improves admission chances. The middle 50% of admitted students score between 830 and 990 on the SAT.
Academic Programs
Undergraduate Program Distribution
Breakdown of the most popular majors and fields of study among Bethune-Cookman University undergraduates. Psychology, General, Criminal Justice and Corrections, and Business Administration, Management and Operations draw the most students.
- Psychology, General 13.9%
- Criminal Justice and Corrections 13.5%
- Business Administration, Management and Operations 11.0%
- Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Hum 9.8%
- Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitnes 9.0%
- Communication and Media Studies 6.7%
See more majors
- Biology, General 3.9%
- Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods 3.1%
Highest Earning Programs
Median earnings five years after graduation for each program. These figures help illustrate ROI by field of study and degree level.
Undergraduate Programs (Bachelor's Degrees)
- 1. Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing $77,509
- 2. Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas $53,322
- 3. Accounting and Related Services $48,888
Show additional high-earning majors
- 4. Information Science/Studies $43,805
- 5. Political Science and Government $38,277
- 6. Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities $38,111
- 7. Biology, General $37,420
- 8. Sociology $36,913
- 9. Business Administration, Management and Operations $36,323
- 10. Gerontology $35,236
Graduate Programs (Master's, Doctoral, Professional)
- 1. Criminal Justice and Corrections (Master's Degree) $50,526
- 2. Clinical, Counseling and Applied Psychology (Master's Degree) $47,439
- 3. Human Resources Management and Services (Master's Degree) $46,936
Program Choice Matters: Undergraduate: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing grads earn $77,509—120% more than Gerontology ($35,236). Graduate: Criminal Justice and Corrections programs lead with $50,526 median earnings. Your program and degree level choice significantly impact career earnings.
Online Degrees & Distance Learning
College Scorecard reports fully online programs for Bethune-Cookman University. Below are the most popular options based on the number of recent graduates, followed by a quick look at the breadth of online offerings by degree level.
Source: U.S. Department of Education – College Scorecard
Most Popular Online Degrees
- Psychology, General (Bachelor's Degree, 71 graduates)
- Criminal Justice and Corrections (Bachelor's Degree, 69 graduates)
- Business Administration, Management and Operations (Bachelor's Degree, 56 graduates)
- Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (Bachelor's Degree, 50 graduates)
- Health and Physical Education/Fitness (Bachelor's Degree, 46 graduates)
What This School Offers Online, at a Glance
College Scorecard flags the following online degree and certificate programs for this institution. Expand each credential level to view the complete list of available subjects.
Online Bachelor's Degrees (31 programs)▼
- Psychology, General
- Criminal Justice and Corrections
- Business Administration, Management and Operations
- Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
- Health and Physical Education/Fitness
- Communication and Media Studies
- Biology, General
- Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas
- Information Science/Studies
- Gerontology
- Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods
- Sociology
- Political Science and Government
- Accounting and Related Services
- Music
- Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing
- Hospitality Administration/Management
- English Language and Literature, General
- Religion/Religious Studies
- International Relations and National Security Studies
- Computer Engineering
- Chemistry
- Special Education and Teaching
- Mathematics
- History
- Computer Science
- Parks, Recreation and Leisure Studies
- Natural Resources Conservation and Research
- Management Information Systems and Services
- International Business
- Finance and Financial Management Services
Online Master's Degrees (3 programs)▼
- Public Health
- Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions
- Clinical, Counseling and Applied Psychology
Student Demographics
Student Population
- Total Undergraduate Enrollment 2,732
- Full-Time Students 97.7%
- Part-Time Students 2.3%
- Male Students 37.5%
- Female Students 62.5%
- Caucasian 0.2%
- Asian 0.0%
- Hispanic 5.3%
- Black 54.3%
- Pell Grant Recipients 78.3%
Racial & Ethnic Diversity
Undergraduate student body composition by racial and ethnic background. This reflects Bethune-Cookman University's commitment to diversity and inclusion in admissions.
Gender Distribution
Gender breakdown of Bethune-Cookman University's undergraduate population. The university maintains a roughly balanced gender distribution across its student body.
Graduation Rate Equity Analysis
How well does Bethune-Cookman University support students from different economic backgrounds?
What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at a similar rate as higher-income students, indicating adequate institutional support for all economic backgrounds.
Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity
Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity
Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at Bethune-Cookman University, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.
EDsmart Insight: Bethune-Cookman University has a diverse student body, with 0.2% identifying as White. Women make up 62.5% of undergraduates. 78.3% of students receive Pell Grants, well above the national average, indicating strong support for low-income students.
Graduation Rate Equity Analysis
How well does Bethune-Cookman University support students from different economic backgrounds?
What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at a similar rate as higher-income students, indicating adequate institutional support for all economic backgrounds.
Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity
Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity
Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at Bethune-Cookman University, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.
Our Take
Bethune-Cookman University offers a private university experience at a regional scale, combining smaller class sizes with 77.4% ROI. Ranked #1315 nationally, the institution balances personalized attention against higher costs than public alternatives.
The $12,030 annual net price is competitive with public out-of-state tuition, offset somewhat by $46,007 median earnings. With 30.5% graduating within 150% of normal time and 61.8% returning for sophomore year, outcomes reflect the personalized support typical of smaller private institutions.
Private University Value: Bethune-Cookman University's Positioning
With a B- grade and #1315 ranking, Bethune-Cookman University competes in the crowded regional private university market.
The Private University Premium: At $12,030 annually, Bethune-Cookman University charges more than public alternatives but typically offers smaller classes, more personalized advising, and tighter-knit campus communities. The 61.8% retention rate suggests students value this environment.
Who Benefits Most: Students who thrive in smaller, more intimate academic settings. Those seeking specific programs or values-based education aligned with the institution's mission. Students who receive merit scholarships that bring costs below $8,421 achieve particularly strong value.
Cost-Benefit Reality: The 77.4% ROI and $46,007 median earnings don't always justify the premium over public universities. Students paying full price should compare whether the personalized experience warrants $2,030+ in additional annual costs over state flagships.
Competitive Standing: Bethune-Cookman University ranks #1315 of 1947 institutions, with 605 schools achieving higher ROI. For students offered substantial merit aid or seeking specific programs unavailable at public universities, the value proposition strengthens significantly.
Key Takeaways
- 30.5% graduation rate sits 32.0 points below the national 62.5% benchmark.
- 61.8% first-year retention is 15.0 points below the national norm of 76.8%.
- 77.4% return on investment is 27.5 points above the national 49.9% benchmark.
- Median earnings of $46,007 run about 24% lower than national outcomes four years after graduation.
- Average net price of $12,030 is roughly $8,049 lower than the national median of $20,079.
Helpfulness for Students
- 17:1 student-faculty ratio keeps mentorship close and courses discussion-sized.
- 61.8% first-year retention shows students stay engaged after the first year.
- 85.7% employment rate within three years sits 17.5 points above national outcomes.
- Budget carefully for clinical travel, off-campus housing, and practicum fees to avoid surprise costs.
- Compare aid offers from nearby public universities to weigh the premium for smaller classes.
- Compare aid offers from nearby public universities to weigh the premium for smaller classes.
EDsmart Expert Analysis
Located in Daytona Beach, FL, Bethune-Cookman University operates as a private nonprofit university and receives a B- from EDsmart. It is currently ranked #1315 nationally Grades by category break down as Completion C, Support C, Career Outcomes B-, and Affordability A.
Grades are assigned relative to EDsmart's national bachelor's cohort using standardized outcomes (2026 methodology); they reflect how a school compares to peers, not a fixed percentage of a raw point total.
Student momentum is strong: 61.8% retention, 30.5% graduation within 150% of normal time, and 37.9% earning an award within eight years. Return on investment currently measures 77.4% for this program.
Why it matters: this snapshot shows how likely you are to stay on track academically and whether the outcomes justify the price tag. Letter grades summarize cohort-relative performance—not a single exam-style score.
EDsmart Financial Snapshot
Families pay about $12,030 on average after aid, compared with a published cost near $29,764.
Institutional and federal aid lower costs by roughly $17,734 per year.
Graduates leave with a median of $31,000 in federal loans, which lines up with national norms.
About 78.3% of students receive Pell Grants, giving a snapshot of the campus income mix.
Why it matters: lining up sticker price, aid, and typical debt helps you stress-test the budget before you commit.
EDsmart Career Snapshot
Graduates report median earnings of about $46,007 four years after graduation. Compared with the national median, that's 24% lower.
The three-year employment rate is close to 85.7%.
EDsmart lists the ROI at 77.4%, offering a quick read on value.
Why it matters: pairing median earnings with employment rates gives you a sense of payback time after graduation.
EDsmart Admissions Snapshot
88.2% of applicants receive offers, so preparation and fit matter.
The admissions team encourages students to highlight academic strengths through transcripts, essays, and recommendations.
Prospective students can apply early for priority review and lean on the Bethune-Cookman University admissions site for deadlines, visit options, and counselor contacts.
Why it matters: knowing the admit rate and application expectations lets you map out testing, essays, and deadlines with less stress.
Your Decision Toolkit
Similar Schools
Institutions with similar academic profiles, selectivity, and outcomes
Nearby Schools
Other campuses you might consider
Other Florida campuses you might consider
Frequently Asked Questions
What is Bethune-Cookman University's acceptance rate?
Bethune-Cookman University's acceptance rate is 88.2%, based on U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard admissions data.
How much does Bethune-Cookman University cost?
At Bethune-Cookman University, listed tuition and fees are $14,794 per year, and the average net price after aid is $12,030. Use the net price calculator on this page for a personalized estimate.
What is Bethune-Cookman University's ranking?
Bethune-Cookman University ranks #1315 nationally in EDsmart's 2026 college rankings with an overall grade of B-, based on completion, affordability, support, and career outcomes.
What is Bethune-Cookman University's graduation rate?
At Bethune-Cookman University, the graduation rate within 150% of normal time is 30.5% (the rate used in EDsmart rankings), College Scorecard 8-year award rate is 37.9%, and first-year retention is 61.8%.
What are Bethune-Cookman University's job outcomes?
Graduates of Bethune-Cookman University report median earnings of $46,007 four years after graduation, according to College Scorecard federal outcome data. Outcomes vary by major.
What is Bethune-Cookman University's student population?
Bethune-Cookman University enrolls about 2,732 undergraduate students, per College Scorecard enrollment data.
Contact Information
- Address Daytona Beach, FL 32114-3099
- Website www.cookman.edu
- Net Price Calculator Calculate Your Cost
- Financial AidView Financial Aid Information
- AccreditationSouthern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCC)
- Endowment$36.3M
- Transfer Enrollment Rate38.3%