California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo Logo

California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo

San Luis Obispo, CA | Public | University

California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo has an acceptance rate of 31.3%, an average net price of $18,832, and an overall rank of #53 (Grade A). About 86.6% of students graduate within 150% of normal time, and median earnings are $93,587 five years after graduation. Data from the U.S. Department of Education and EDsmart's 2027 rankings.

California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo is a public university in San Luis Obispo, CA. Students most often pursue Computer Science and Computer Engineering.

Day to day, students benefit from a 19:1 student-faculty ratio, and 95.5% first-year retention. Coaches and faculty advisors weave in frequent check-ins, helping students translate ambition into steady progress.

EDsmart calculates return on investment at 108.4%, roughly 58.5 points higher than typical outcomes. It's well-suited to students who appreciate an encouraging campus with room to explore.

A
Ranking
#53 of 1,955
How We Rank Schools Top-100 optionHigher pay after collegeSolid ROI potentialPublic school optionLarge campus life
At a Glance
Ranking
#53 of 1,955 (Top 2.7%)
Tuition
$15,039
Net Price
$18,832
4-Year Tuition
$60,156
Acceptance Rate
31.3%
Transfer Rate
1.2%
Student Population
21,996
Student-Faculty
19:1
Grad Rate (150% time)
86.6%
Grad Rate (8-year)
87.1%
Retention Rate
95.5%
5-Yr Earnings
$93,587
ROI
108.4%

Who is California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo Best For?

A quick look at who tends to feel most at home here based on outcomes and campus context.

Students aiming for strong salaries
Momentum seekers needing high retention
Students wanting a top-100 campus
Career maximizers chasing high ROI
Explorers drawn to vibrant campus scale
Students seeking strong career outcomes
Students valuing supportive learning environments

EDsmart Scores Summary

Overall Ranking
#53 of 1,955
Top 2.7% of all institutions
EDsmart Score
97.3 / 100 (national index)
Curved score (top institution = 100.0)
Value Rating
4.87 / 5
Based on ROI and outcomes
Completion
A
#79 of 1,955
Affordability
B-
#1,268 of 1,955
Support
B+
#575 of 1,955
Career Outcomes
A
#91 of 1,955

California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo graduates 86.6% of students within 150% of normal time (the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings), with an 8-year award rate of 87.1% and keeps 95.5% of first-year students. Affordability earns a B- compared with similar schools.

How we calculate this →

Cost & Financial Aid

Quick Answers

What does it cost?
Depends on income
$10,354-$31,461 annual net price based on family income.
What's the graduation rate?
Highly likely
86.6% graduate within 150% of normal time (the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings). The federal 8-year award rate is 87.1%. 61.3% complete in four years (IPEDS 100% time).
What are job outcomes?
Highly likely
94.4% of alumni are employed within three years of leaving. Median earnings five years after graduation are $93,587. Pay varies by major.
Get Your Personalized Cost Estimate

The costs shown are averages. Use California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo's net price calculator to get an estimate based on your family's financial situation.

Calculate Your Net Price →

Total Degree Cost Summary

4-Year Total Cost (Pay with Cash)
$146,060
$36,515 × 4 years
Average Total Cost (Pay with Financial Aid)
$86,340
$18,832 × 4.6 years average
Time to Degree
Average: 4.6 years | 4-Year Rate: 61.3% | 6-Year Rate: 86.6% | 8-Year Rate: 87.1%
Most students finish in about four to five years. Four-year completion is 61.3% and six-year completion is 86.6%.

Annual Cost Comparison

Pay with Cash
$36,515
Total annual cost including tuition, books and living expenses; excluding any financial aid, grants or scholarships.
Pay with Financial Aid
$18,832
Average annual cost including tuition, books and living expenses after financial aid, grants or scholarships.

Est. annual aid gap: $17,683 Cash cost of attendance minus average net price after aid.

Cost of Undergraduate Attendance

Costs based on full-time, first-time degree- or certificate-seeking undergraduates.

View cost of attendance line items
Costs to Consider Price
Tuition and Fees $15,039
Books and Supplies $1,119
On-Campus Room and Board $19,443
On-Campus Other Expenses $3,936
Total On-Campus Cost $36,515

Tip: focus on the rows that match your living plan—commuters can swap in off-campus estimates while residential students should budget for housing, meals, and incidental fees.

Students Receiving Aid

Pell Grant
23.2%
Federal Loan
24.4%

Use these bars to gauge how many classmates rely on need-based dollars—lower Pell or loan shares may signal a wealthier student body or generous institutional grants.

EDsmart Insight: About 23.2% of California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo students receive Pell Grants — below the national average, highlighting ongoing affordability priorities.

Net Price by Family Income

Average annual net price after financial aid, based on family income. Your actual cost may vary depending on your specific financial situation.

$0 - $30,000
$10,354
Average annual cost for families earning $0-$30K
$30,001 - $48,000
$9,975
Average annual cost for families earning $30K-$48K
$48,001 - $75,000
$12,476
Average annual cost for families earning $48K-$75K
$75,001 - $110,000
$18,082
Average annual cost for families earning $75K-$110K
$110,001+
$31,461
Average annual cost for families earning $110K+

Understanding These Numbers: Net price varies significantly by income level. Net prices range from $10,354 to $31,461 depending on family income. Use California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo's net price calculator for a personalized estimate.

Typical total cost estimates (~4.6 years):
$0-$30K families
~$47,470
$30K-$48K families
~$45,733
$48K-$75K families
~$57,199
$75K-$110K families
~$82,901
AFFORDABILITY ALERT

If your family earns $75K-$110K: Expect to pay around $18,082/year

If your family earns $110K+: Expect to pay around $31,461/year

See all income brackets →

ROI & Career Outcomes

Return on Investment
108.4%
Based on median earnings five years after graduation vs. total degree cost
  • Median Earnings (5 Years After Graduation) $93,587
  • 10-Year Median Earnings $96,304
  • Average Years to Graduate 4.6 years
  • Average Student Debt $16,500
  • Debt-to-Earnings ~17.6%
  • Repayment Rate (3yr) 86.7%
  • Employment Rate 94.4%

Graduate Earnings Distribution

Earnings range for California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo graduates about 10 years after enrollment (25th percentile, median, and 75th percentile). Different horizon than median earnings five years after graduation above.

Graduates earn a median of $93,587 five years after graduation — roughly 52% above the national median.
Payback Period
0.92 years
Total Degree Cost ÷ Annual Earnings

California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo vs. National Average

Comparison of key performance metrics showing how California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo's outcomes compare to the national average across earnings, graduation rates, retention, ROI, and employment. This contextualizes California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo's performance within the broader higher education landscape.

EDsmart Insight: California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo graduates report median earnings of $93,587 five years after graduation, 52% above the national median. The 108.4% ROI indicates solid long-term value.

Acceptance & Selectivity

Getting In

Acceptance Rate
31.3%
Moderately Selective
National Average
69%
Average acceptance rate
  • SAT Evidence-Based Reading Not reported
  • SAT Math Not reported
  • SAT Writing Not reported
  • ACT Composite Not reported
  • SAT & ACTNot required
  • Undergraduate Enrollment 21,996
  • Full-Time Students 96.5%
  • Part-Time Students 3.5%
  • Retention Rate 95.5%
  • Grad Rate (150% time) 86.6%
  • Grad Rate (8-year) 87.1%
  • Student-Faculty Ratio 19:1

How to Get Into California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo

1. Meet Academic Requirements: California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo requires strong academic performance. Aim for test scores within the reported ranges and maintain a competitive GPA. Most admitted students rank in the top 10% of their high school class.

2. Build a Strong Application: Beyond test scores, focus on crafting compelling essays, securing strong letters of recommendation, and highlighting extracurricular activities that demonstrate leadership and commitment.

3. Understand Selectivity: With an acceptance rate of 31.3%, California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo is moderately selective. Consider applying early decision if available, as early applicants often have higher acceptance rates.

4. Financial Planning: Review the net price calculator and financial aid options early. Many students receive significant aid, making the actual cost lower than the sticker price.

Tip: Contact the admissions office directly for the most current application requirements, deadlines, and any special programs (like early decision or early action) that might improve your chances.

EDsmart Insight: California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo accepts 31.3% of applicants, making it moderately selective. Focus on strong academics, meaningful extracurriculars, and compelling essays to stand out.

Academic Programs

Undergraduate Program Distribution

Breakdown of the most popular majors and fields of study among California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo undergraduates. Business Administration, Management and Operations, Mechanical Engineering, and Computer Science draw the most students.

  • Business Administration, Management and Operations 14.1%
  • Mechanical Engineering 5.7%
  • Computer Science 4.1%
  • Biology, General 3.3%
  • Animal Sciences 3.2%
  • Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engine 3.2%
See more majors
  • Construction Management 3.1%
  • Civil Engineering 3.0%

Highest Earning Programs

Median earnings five years after graduation for each program. These figures help illustrate ROI by field of study and degree level.

Undergraduate Programs (Bachelor's Degrees)

  • 1. Computer Science $179,459
  • 2. Computer Engineering $162,720
  • 3. Materials Engineering $129,740
Show additional high-earning majors
  • 4. Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering $124,658
  • 5. Biomedical/Medical Engineering $122,217
  • 6. Industrial Engineering $122,185
  • 7. Mechanical Engineering $116,548
  • 8. Construction Management $116,040
  • 9. Business Administration, Management and Operations $113,339
  • 10. Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering $111,710

Graduate Programs (Master's, Doctoral, Professional)

  • 1. Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering (Master's Degree) $160,264
  • 2. Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods (Master's Degree) $157,710
  • 3. Mechanical Engineering (Master's Degree) $153,292
Show additional graduate majors
  • 4. Accounting and Related Services (Master's Degree) $151,947
  • 5. Taxation (Master's Degree) $120,295
  • 6. Civil Engineering (Master's Degree) $115,554
  • 7. Engineering, General (Master's Degree) $114,953
  • 8. Business Administration, Management and Operations (Master's Degree) $110,106
  • 9. Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas (Master's Degree) $98,420
  • 10. Education, General (Master's Degree) $79,691

Program Choice Matters: Undergraduate: Computer Science grads earn $179,459—61% more than Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering ($111,710). Graduate: Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering programs lead with $160,264 median earnings. Your program and degree level choice significantly impact career earnings.

Online Degrees & Distance Learning

U.S. Department of Education data reports fully online programs for California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo. Below are the most popular options based on the number of recent graduates, followed by a quick look at the breadth of online offerings by degree level.
Source: U.S. Department of Education

Most Popular Online Degrees

  • Business Administration, Management and Operations (Bachelor's Degree, 689 graduates)
  • Mechanical Engineering (Bachelor's Degree, 278 graduates)
  • Computer Science (Bachelor's Degree, 202 graduates)
  • Biology, General (Bachelor's Degree, 163 graduates)
  • Animal Sciences (Bachelor's Degree, 159 graduates)

What This School Offers Online, at a Glance

U.S. Department of Education data flags the following online degree and certificate programs for this institution. Expand each credential level to view the complete list of available subjects.

Online Bachelor's Degrees (73 programs)▼
  • Business Administration, Management and Operations
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Computer Science
  • Biology, General
  • Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering
  • Animal Sciences
  • Construction Management
  • Civil Engineering
  • Psychology, General
  • Environmental/Natural Resources Management and Policy
  • Computer Engineering
  • Architectural Sciences and Technology
  • Agricultural Business and Management
  • Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
  • Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering
  • Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies
  • Political Science and Government
  • Food Science and Technology
  • Industrial Engineering
  • Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness
  • Graphic Communications
  • Nutrition Sciences
  • Communication and Media Studies
  • Biomedical/Medical Engineering
  • Sociology
  • Public Health
  • Economics
  • Fine and Studio Arts
  • Plant Sciences
  • History
  • Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods
  • Mathematics
  • Journalism
  • English Language and Literature, General
  • Landscape Architecture
  • Materials Engineering
  • Forestry
  • Statistics
  • Environmental/Environmental Health Engineering
  • Geological and Earth Sciences/Geosciences
  • Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology
  • Agricultural Engineering
  • Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians
  • City/Urban, Community, and Regional Planning
  • Social Sciences, Other
  • Physics
  • Agriculture, General
  • Agricultural Mechanization
  • Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other
  • Chemistry
  • Agricultural Public Services
  • Philosophy
  • Architectural Engineering
  • Marine Sciences
  • Microbiological Sciences and Immunology
  • Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft
  • Manufacturing Engineering
  • Music
  • Engineering Science
  • Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies
  • Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
  • Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and Services
  • Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas
  • Soil Sciences
  • Social Sciences, General
  • Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies
  • Natural Resources Conservation and Research
  • Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services
  • Dietetics and Clinical Nutrition Services
  • Construction Engineering
  • Architecture
  • Applied Horticulture and Horticultural Business Services
  • Ecology, Evolution, Systematics, and Population Biology
Online Master's Degrees (44 programs)▼
  • Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods
  • Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas
  • Civil Engineering
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Engineering-Related Fields
  • Computer Science
  • Fire Protection
  • Business Administration, Management and Operations
  • Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering
  • Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering
  • Economics
  • Biomedical/Medical Engineering
  • Student Counseling and Personnel Services
  • Agriculture, General
  • Public Policy Analysis
  • Psychology, General
  • Chemistry
  • Natural Resources Conservation and Research
  • Taxation
  • English Language and Literature, General
  • Biology, General
  • Mathematics
  • Curriculum and Instruction
  • Educational Administration and Supervision
  • Nutrition Sciences
  • Food Science and Technology
  • Special Education and Teaching
  • History
  • Physics
  • City/Urban, Community, and Regional Planning
  • Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness
  • Industrial Engineering
  • Public Administration
  • Graphic Communications
  • Forestry
  • Engineering, General
  • Education, General
  • Dietetics and Clinical Nutrition Services
  • Architecture
  • Architectural Engineering
  • Animal Sciences
  • Agricultural Business and Management
  • Accounting and Related Services
  • Statistics
Online Graduate/Professional Certificates (3 programs)▼
  • English Language and Literature, General
  • Engineering-Related Fields
  • Engineering, Other

Student Demographics

Student Population

  • Total Undergraduate Enrollment 21,996
  • Full-Time Students 96.5%
  • Part-Time Students 3.5%
  • Male Students 49.2%
  • Female Students 50.8%
  • Caucasian 47.6%
  • Asian 14.0%
  • Hispanic 25.2%
  • Black 0.8%
  • Pell Grant Recipients 23.2%

Racial & Ethnic Diversity

Undergraduate student body composition by racial and ethnic background. This reflects California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo's commitment to diversity and inclusion in admissions.

Gender Distribution

Gender breakdown of California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo's undergraduate population. The university maintains a roughly balanced gender distribution across its student body.

Graduation Rate Equity Analysis

How well does California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo support students from different economic backgrounds?

Pell Grant Recipients
79.3%
6-year graduation rate
Non-Pell Students
88.2%
6-year graduation rate
Equity Gap
8.9 pts
good equity

What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at a similar rate as higher-income students, indicating adequate institutional support for all economic backgrounds.

Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity

Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity

Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.

EDsmart Insight: California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo has a diverse student body, with 47.6% identifying as White. About 23.2% receive Pell Grants, below the national average of 38%, suggesting a wealthier student body or generous institutional aid.

Graduation Rate Equity Analysis

How well does California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo support students from different economic backgrounds?

Pell Grant Recipients
79.3%
6-year graduation rate
Non-Pell Students
88.2%
6-year graduation rate
Equity Gap
8.9 pts
good equity

What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at a similar rate as higher-income students, indicating adequate institutional support for all economic backgrounds.

Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity

Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity

Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.

Our Take

Ranking #53 overall, California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo combines competitive admissions with 108.4% ROI, positioning itself among America's stronger universities. The institution balances academic rigor with $93,587 in median earnings.

Students graduate within 150% of normal time at a 86.6% rate, with 95.5% retention reflecting solid satisfaction. The $18,832 annual net price falls in the moderate range, though 260 institutions deliver comparable outcomes at lower costs.

Competitive Selective University: California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo's Market Position

A grade | #53 of 1955 | 97.3/100 on EDsmart's national index (0–100 vs. all ranked schools; not a raw point total)

Competitive Positioning: California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo occupies the competitive selective tier—not elite enough for automatic career advantages, but strong enough to provide quality education and reasonable outcomes. The 108.4% ROI reflects this middle ground: better than most, but not top-tier.

Value for Money: $18,832 annually produces $93,587 median earnings—a reasonable but not exceptional return. Students choosing California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo should evaluate whether the institution's specific programs, location, or campus culture justify costs versus higher-ROI alternatives.

Who Succeeds Here: Self-directed students who maximize campus resources (research, internships, networking) achieve outcomes rivaling higher-ranked schools. Students seeking specific programs or geographic locations find strong value. Those needing extensive hand-holding may struggle in larger university environments.

Final Assessment: California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo's #53 ranking and A grade reflect solid performance across metrics. With 260 schools offering better ROI, value-focused students should compare carefully. However, for students who fit the institution's culture and programs, outcomes justify investment.

Key Takeaways

  • 86.6% graduation rate sits 24.1 points above the national 62.5% benchmark.
  • 95.5% first-year retention is 18.8 points above the national norm of 76.8%.
  • 108.4% return on investment is 58.5 points above the national 49.9% benchmark.
  • Median earnings of $93,587 run about 52% higher than national outcomes five years after graduation.
  • Average net price of $18,832 is roughly $1,049 lower than the national median of $19,881.

Helpfulness for Students

Green Flags
  • 19:1 student-faculty ratio keeps mentorship close and courses discussion-sized.
  • 95.5% first-year retention shows students stay engaged after the first year.
  • 94.4% employment rate within three years sits 26.2 points above national outcomes.
Red Flags
  • Pell participation at 23.2% trails the national share by 15.2 points, so equity work remains important.
  • Compare aid offers from nearby public universities to weigh the premium for smaller classes.
  • Compare aid offers from nearby public universities to weigh the premium for smaller classes.
EDsmart Expert Analysis

EDsmart rates California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo—a public university in San Luis Obispo, CA—at A overall. It appears at #53 in EDsmart's rankings Completion earns A, Support B+, Career Outcomes A, and Affordability B-.

Grades are assigned relative to EDsmart's national bachelor's cohort using standardized outcomes (2027 rankings methodology); they reflect how a school compares to peers, not a fixed percentage of a raw point total.

About 95.5% of first-year students return; 86.6% graduate within 150% of normal time, with an 8-year award rate of 87.1%. The reported ROI is 108.4%, a figure families can weigh against cost and aid details above.

Why it matters: this snapshot shows how likely you are to stay on track academically and whether the outcomes justify the price tag. Letter grades summarize cohort-relative performance—not a single exam-style score.

EDsmart Financial Snapshot

Families pay about $18,832 on average after aid, compared with a published cost near $36,515.

Institutional and federal aid lower costs by roughly $17,683 per year.

Graduates leave with a median of $16,500 in federal loans, which lines up with national norms.

About 23.2% of students receive Pell Grants, giving a snapshot of the campus income mix.

Why it matters: lining up sticker price, aid, and typical debt helps you stress-test the budget before you commit.

EDsmart Career Snapshot

Graduates report median earnings of about $93,587 five years after graduation. Compared with the national median, that's 52% higher.

The three-year employment rate is close to 94.4%.

EDsmart lists the ROI at 108.4%, offering a quick read on value.

Why it matters: pairing median earnings with employment rates gives you a sense of payback time after graduation.

EDsmart Admissions Snapshot

31.3% of applicants receive offers, so preparation and fit matter.

The admissions team encourages students to highlight academic strengths through transcripts, essays, and recommendations.

Prospective students can apply early for priority review and lean on the California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo admissions site for deadlines, visit options, and counselor contacts.

Why it matters: knowing the admit rate and application expectations lets you map out testing, essays, and deadlines with less stress.

EDsmart Verdict
4.87 / 5
Value Rating - Based on affordability and career outcomes

Your Decision Toolkit

Run the Net Price Calculator
Get your personalized cost estimate
Compare with similar schools
See how California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo stacks up to alternatives
Check your major's earnings
See ROI for your specific field of study
Visit the campus
Schedule a campus tour or virtual visit
Visit California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo Website →

Cite this profile

Add your access date when you publish.

APA (7th): EDsmart. (2026). California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings. https://www.edsmart.org/schools/california-polytechnic-state-university-san-luis-obispo/

MLA (9th): “California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings.” EDsmart, 2026, www.edsmart.org/schools/california-polytechnic-state-university-san-luis-obispo/.

Chicago: EDsmart. “California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings.” https://www.edsmart.org/schools/california-polytechnic-state-university-san-luis-obispo/.

Similar Schools

Institutions with similar academic profiles, selectivity, and outcomes

Nearby Schools

Other campuses you might consider

Other California campuses you might consider

University of California-San Diego
La Jolla, CA
A #49 of 1,955
Samuel Merritt University
Oakland, CA
A #46 of 1,955
University of California-Irvine
Irvine, CA
A #60 of 1,955
University of California-Los Angeles
Los Angeles, CA
A #61 of 1,955

Frequently Asked Questions

What is California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo's acceptance rate?

California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo's acceptance rate is 31.3%, based on U.S. Department of Education admissions data.

How much does California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo cost?

At California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo, the average net price after grants and scholarships is $18,832 per year. That covers tuition, books, and living costs, which total $36,515 a year before aid. Tuition and fees alone are $15,039. Use the net price calculator on this page for a personalized estimate.

What is California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo's ranking?

California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo ranks #53 overall in EDsmart's 2027 college rankings with an overall grade of A, based on completion, affordability, support, and career outcomes.

What is California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo's graduation rate?

At California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo, the graduation rate within 150% of normal time is 86.6% (the rate used in EDsmart rankings), the federal 8-year award rate is 87.1%, and first-year retention is 95.5%.

What are California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo's job outcomes?

Graduates of California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo report median earnings of $93,587 five years after graduation, according to U.S. Department of Education outcome data. Outcomes vary by major.

What is California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo's student population?

California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo enrolls about 21,996 undergraduate students, per U.S. Department of Education enrollment data.

Contact Information

  • AccreditationWestern Association of Schools and Colleges Senior Colleges and University Commission (WASCSR)
  • Endowment$265.3M
  • Transfer Enrollment Rate1.2%

Data Source & Methodology ▼