Chapman University Logo

Chapman University

Orange, CA | Private Nonprofit | University

Chapman University has an acceptance rate of 65.4%, an average net price of $46,708, and an overall rank of #607 (Grade B+). About 82.9% of students graduate within 150% of normal time, and median earnings are $76,015 five years after graduation. Data from the U.S. Department of Education and EDsmart's 2026 rankings.

Chapman University is a private nonprofit university in Orange, CA. Students most often pursue Accounting and Related Services and Business Administration, Management and Operations.

Inside the classroom, students benefit from a 12:1 student-faculty ratio, and 91.8% first-year retention. Faculty pair challenging syllabi with intentional mentoring so learners keep momentum even as expectations rise.

EDsmart calculates return on investment at 37.8%, roughly 12.1 points below typical outcomes. Expect the strongest outcomes for students who appreciate an encouraging campus with room to explore.

B+
Ranking
#607 of 1,934
How We Rank Schools Higher pay after college
At a Glance
Ranking
#607 of 1,934 (Top 31.4%)
Tuition
$67,894
Net Price
$46,708
4-Year Tuition
$271,576
Acceptance Rate
65.4%
Transfer Rate
0.0%
Student Population
7,478
Student-Faculty
12:1
Grad Rate (150% time)
82.9%
Grad Rate (8-year)
82.0%
Retention Rate
91.8%
4-Yr Earnings
$76,015
ROI
Not reported

Who is Chapman University Best For?

A quick look at who tends to feel most at home here based on outcomes and campus context.

Students who thrive with close mentoring
Students aiming for strong salaries
Momentum seekers needing high retention
Students seeking strong career outcomes
Students valuing supportive learning environments

EDsmart Scores Summary

Overall Ranking
#607 of 1,934
Top 31.4% of all institutions
EDsmart Score
68.7 / 100 (national index)
Curved score (top institution = 100.0)
Value Rating
3.43 / 5
Based on ROI and outcomes
Completion
A
#135 of 1,934
Affordability
D
#1,897 of 1,934
Support
A-
#204 of 1,934
Career Outcomes
B+
#334 of 1,934

Chapman University graduates 82.9% of students within 150% of normal time (the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings), with an 8-year award rate of 82.0% and keeps 91.8% of first-year students. Affordability earns a D compared with similar schools.

How we calculate this →

Cost & Financial Aid

Quick Answers

What does it cost?
Depends on income
$34,494-$55,261 annual net price based on family income.
What's the graduation rate?
Highly likely
82.9% graduate within 150% of normal time (the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings). The federal 8-year award rate is 82.0%. 70.0% complete in four years (IPEDS 100% time).
What are job outcomes?
Highly likely
93.6% of alumni are employed within three years of leaving. Median earnings five years after graduation are $76,015. Pay varies by major.
Get Your Personalized Cost Estimate

The costs shown are averages. Use Chapman University's net price calculator to get an estimate based on your family's financial situation.

Calculate Your Net Price →

Total Degree Cost Summary

4-Year Total Cost (Pay with Cash)
$341,292
$85,323 Ă— 4 years
Average Total Cost (Pay with Financial Aid)
$201,325
$46,708 Ă— 4.3 years average
Time to Degree
Average: 4.3 years | 4-Year Rate: 70.0% | 6-Year Rate: 82.9% | 8-Year Rate: 82.0%
Most students finish in about four to five years. Four-year completion is 70.0% and six-year completion is 82.9%.

Annual Cost Comparison

Pay with Cash
$85,323
Total annual cost including tuition, books and living expenses; excluding any financial aid, grants or scholarships.
Pay with Financial Aid
$46,708
Average annual cost including tuition, books and living expenses after financial aid, grants or scholarships.

Est. annual aid gap: $38,615 Cash cost of attendance minus average net price after aid.

Cost of Undergraduate Attendance

Costs based on full-time, first-time degree- or certificate-seeking undergraduates.

View cost of attendance line items
Costs to Consider Price
Tuition and Fees $67,894
Books and Supplies $1,600
On-Campus Room and Board $18,438
On-Campus Other Expenses $3,332
Total On-Campus Cost $85,323

Tip: focus on the rows that match your living plan—commuters can swap in off-campus estimates while residential students should budget for housing, meals, and incidental fees.

Students Receiving Aid

Pell Grant
23.9%
Federal Loan
61.8%

Use these bars to gauge how many classmates rely on need-based dollars—lower Pell or loan shares may signal a wealthier student body or generous institutional grants.

EDsmart Insight: About 23.9% of Chapman University students receive Pell Grants — below the national average, highlighting ongoing affordability priorities.

Net Price by Family Income

Average annual net price after financial aid, based on family income. Your actual cost may vary depending on your specific financial situation.

$0 - $30,000
$34,494
Average annual cost for families earning $0-$30K
$30,001 - $48,000
$30,442
Average annual cost for families earning $30K-$48K
$48,001 - $75,000
$31,307
Average annual cost for families earning $48K-$75K
$75,001 - $110,000
$41,191
Average annual cost for families earning $75K-$110K
$110,001+
$55,261
Average annual cost for families earning $110K+

Understanding These Numbers: Net price varies significantly by income level. Net prices range from $34,494 to $55,261 depending on family income. Use Chapman University's net price calculator for a personalized estimate.

Typical total cost estimates (~4.3 years):
$0-$30K families
~$148,679
$30K-$48K families
~$131,214
$48K-$75K families
~$134,942
$75K-$110K families
~$177,545
AFFORDABILITY ALERT

If your family earns $75K-$110K: Expect to pay around $41,191/year

If your family earns $110K+: Expect to pay around $55,261/year

See all income brackets →

ROI & Career Outcomes

Return on Investment
Not reported
Based on median earnings five years after graduation vs. total degree cost
  • Median Earnings (5 Years After Graduation) $76,015
  • 10-Year Median Earnings $80,694
  • Average Years to Graduate 4.3 years
  • Average Student Debt $19,500
  • Debt-to-Earnings ~25.7%
  • Repayment Rate (3yr) 67.6%
  • Employment Rate 93.6%

Graduate Earnings Distribution

Earnings range for Chapman University graduates about 10 years after enrollment (25th percentile, median, and 75th percentile). Different horizon than median earnings five years after graduation above.

Graduates earn a median of $76,015 five years after graduation — roughly 23% above the national median.
Payback Period
2.65 years
Total Degree Cost Ă· Annual Earnings

Chapman University vs. National Average

Comparison of key performance metrics showing how Chapman University's outcomes compare to the national average across earnings, graduation rates, retention, ROI, and employment. This contextualizes Chapman University's performance within the broader higher education landscape.

Acceptance & Selectivity

Getting In

Acceptance Rate
65.4%
Less Selective
National Average
69%
Average acceptance rate
  • SAT Evidence-Based Reading 630-720
  • SAT Math 630-720
  • SAT Writing Not reported
  • ACT Composite 28-31
  • SAT & ACT Required
  • Undergraduate Enrollment 7,478
  • Full-Time Students 96.8%
  • Part-Time Students 3.2%
  • Retention Rate 91.8%
  • Grad Rate (150% time) 82.9%
  • Grad Rate (8-year) 82.0%
  • Student-Faculty Ratio 12:1

How to Get Into Chapman University

1. Meet Academic Requirements: Chapman University requires strong academic performance. Aim for test scores within the reported ranges and maintain a competitive GPA. Most admitted students rank in the top 10% of their high school class.

2. Build a Strong Application: Beyond test scores, focus on crafting compelling essays, securing strong letters of recommendation, and highlighting extracurricular activities that demonstrate leadership and commitment.

3. Understand Selectivity: With an acceptance rate of 65.4%, Chapman University is relatively open. Consider applying early decision if available, as early applicants often have higher acceptance rates.

4. Financial Planning: Review the net price calculator and financial aid options early. Many students receive significant aid, making the actual cost lower than the sticker price.

Tip: Contact the admissions office directly for the most current application requirements, deadlines, and any special programs (like early decision or early action) that might improve your chances.

EDsmart Insight: With a 65.4% acceptance rate, Chapman University is more accessible than highly selective schools. Meeting the test score ranges and maintaining a solid GPA significantly improves admission chances. The middle 50% of admitted students score between 1260 and 1440 on the SAT.

Academic Programs

Undergraduate Program Distribution

Breakdown of the most popular majors and fields of study among Chapman University undergraduates. Business Administration, Management and Operations, Film/Video and Photographic Arts, and Psychology, General draw the most students.

  • Business Administration, Management and Operations 24.0%
  • Film/Video and Photographic Arts 8.0%
  • Psychology, General 6.8%
  • Business/Corporate Communications 6.7%
  • Communication and Media Studies 5.0%
  • Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft 4.3%
See more majors
  • Public Health 4.3%
  • Political Science and Government 3.7%

Highest Earning Programs

Median earnings five years after graduation for each program. These figures help illustrate ROI by field of study and degree level.

Undergraduate Programs (Bachelor's Degrees)

  • 1. Accounting and Related Services $107,442
  • 2. Business Administration, Management and Operations $98,104
  • 3. Business/Managerial Economics $89,309
Show additional high-earning majors
  • 4. Business/Corporate Communications $78,721
  • 5. Design and Applied Arts $77,615
  • 6. Political Science and Government $76,190
  • 7. Public Health $76,156
  • 8. Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication $75,336
  • 9. Biology, General $70,913
  • 10. Sociology $70,118

Graduate Programs (Master's, Doctoral, Professional)

  • 1. Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions (Master's Degree) $124,016
  • 2. Business Administration, Management and Operations (Master's Degree) $120,720
  • 3. Law (Doctoral Degree) $117,900
Show additional graduate majors
  • 4. Law (First Professional Degree) $115,598
  • 5. Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions (Doctoral Degree) $100,597
  • 6. Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (First Professional Degree) $95,113
  • 7. Clinical, Counseling and Applied Psychology (Master's Degree) $90,639
  • 8. Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions (First Professional Degree) $80,944
  • 9. Communication Disorders Sciences and Services (Master's Degree) $79,836
  • 10. Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and Administration (First Professional Degree) $78,465

Program Choice Matters: Undergraduate: Accounting and Related Services grads earn $107,442—53% more than Sociology ($70,118). Graduate: Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions programs lead with $124,016 median earnings. Your program and degree level choice significantly impact career earnings.

Online Degrees & Distance Learning

U.S. Department of Education data reports fully online programs for Chapman University. Below are the most popular options based on the number of recent graduates, followed by a quick look at the breadth of online offerings by degree level.
Source: U.S. Department of Education

Most Popular Online Degrees

  • Business Administration, Management and Operations (Bachelor's Degree, 444 graduates)
  • Film/Video and Photographic Arts (Bachelor's Degree, 180 graduates)
  • Psychology, General (Bachelor's Degree, 171 graduates)
  • Law (First Professional Degree, 143 graduates)
  • Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft (Bachelor's Degree, 105 graduates)

What This School Offers Online, at a Glance

U.S. Department of Education data flags the following online degree and certificate programs for this institution. Expand each credential level to view the complete list of available subjects.

Online Bachelor's Degrees (43 programs)â–Ľ
  • Business Administration, Management and Operations
  • Film/Video and Photographic Arts
  • Psychology, General
  • Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft
  • Communication and Media Studies
  • Business/Corporate Communications
  • Political Science and Government
  • Business/Managerial Economics
  • Computer Science
  • Education, General
  • Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication
  • Accounting and Related Services
  • Biology, General
  • Graphic Communications
  • Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies
  • Sociology
  • Journalism
  • Dance
  • Design and Applied Arts
  • Physiology, Pathology and Related Sciences
  • Music
  • Computer and Information Sciences, General
  • English Language and Literature, General
  • Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology
  • Philosophy
  • Natural Resources Conservation and Research
  • History
  • Computational Science
  • Computer Engineering
  • Peace Studies and Conflict Resolution
  • Chemistry
  • Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
  • Fine and Studio Arts
  • Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas
  • Physics
  • Mathematics
  • Social Work
  • Religion/Religious Studies
  • Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
  • Social and Philosophical Foundations of Education
  • Multi-/Interdisciplinary Studies, General
  • Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General
  • Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering
Online Master's Degrees (26 programs)â–Ľ
  • Film/Video and Photographic Arts
  • Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods
  • Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions
  • Communication Disorders Sciences and Services
  • Clinical, Counseling and Applied Psychology
  • Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions
  • Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft
  • Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies
  • Student Counseling and Personnel Services
  • Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods
  • Business Administration, Management and Operations
  • Educational Administration and Supervision
  • Curriculum and Instruction
  • Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication
  • English Language and Literature, General
  • Real Estate
  • Computational Science
  • Food Science and Technology
  • Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and Administration
  • Special Education and Teaching
  • Peace Studies and Conflict Resolution
  • Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas
  • International/Globalization Studies
  • Economics
  • Music
  • Computer Science
Online Doctoral Degrees (8 programs)â–Ľ
  • Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and Administration
  • Computational Science
  • Communication and Media Studies
  • Special Education and Teaching
  • Clinical, Counseling and Applied Psychology
  • Educational Administration and Supervision
  • Curriculum and Instruction
  • Mathematics and Statistics, Other
Online Undergraduate Certificates & Diplomas (1 program)â–Ľ
  • Statistics
Online First Professional Degrees (3 programs)â–Ľ
  • Law
  • Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions
  • Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and Administration

Student Demographics

Student Population

  • Total Undergraduate Enrollment 7,478
  • Full-Time Students 96.8%
  • Part-Time Students 3.2%
  • Male Students 38.5%
  • Female Students 61.5%
  • Caucasian 46.9%
  • Asian 16.3%
  • Hispanic 19.9%
  • Black 2.2%
  • Pell Grant Recipients 23.9%

Racial & Ethnic Diversity

Undergraduate student body composition by racial and ethnic background. This reflects Chapman University's commitment to diversity and inclusion in admissions.

Gender Distribution

Gender breakdown of Chapman University's undergraduate population. The university maintains a roughly balanced gender distribution across its student body.

Graduation Rate Equity Analysis

How well does Chapman University support students from different economic backgrounds?

Pell Grant Recipients
79.1%
6-year graduation rate
Non-Pell Students
83.9%
6-year graduation rate
Equity Gap
4.8 pts
excellent equity

What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at nearly the same rate as higher-income students, indicating strong institutional support for all economic backgrounds.

Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity

Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity

Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at Chapman University, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.

EDsmart Insight: Chapman University has a diverse student body, with 46.9% identifying as White. Women make up 61.5% of undergraduates. About 23.9% receive Pell Grants, below the national average of 38%, suggesting a wealthier student body or generous institutional aid.

Graduation Rate Equity Analysis

How well does Chapman University support students from different economic backgrounds?

Pell Grant Recipients
79.1%
6-year graduation rate
Non-Pell Students
83.9%
6-year graduation rate
Equity Gap
4.8 pts
excellent equity

What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at nearly the same rate as higher-income students, indicating strong institutional support for all economic backgrounds.

Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity

Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity

Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at Chapman University, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.

Our Take

Chapman University offers a private university experience at a regional scale, combining smaller class sizes with 0.0% ROI. Ranked #607 overall, the institution balances personalized attention against higher costs than public alternatives.

The $46,708 annual net price is significantly higher than public universities, offset somewhat by $76,015 median earnings. With 82.9% graduating within 150% of normal time and 91.8% returning for sophomore year, outcomes reflect the personalized support typical of smaller private institutions.

Private University Value: Chapman University's Positioning

With a B+ grade and #607 ranking, Chapman University competes in the crowded regional private university market.

The Private University Premium: At $46,708 annually, Chapman University charges more than public alternatives but typically offers smaller classes, more personalized advising, and tighter-knit campus communities. The 91.8% retention rate suggests students value this environment.

Who Benefits Most: Students who thrive in smaller, more intimate academic settings. Those seeking specific programs or values-based education aligned with the institution's mission. Students who receive merit scholarships that bring costs below $32,696 achieve particularly strong value.

Cost-Benefit Reality: The 0.0% ROI and $76,015 median earnings don't always justify the premium over public universities. Students paying full price should compare whether the personalized experience warrants $36,708+ in additional annual costs over state flagships.

Competitive Standing: Chapman University ranks #607 of 1934 institutions, with 0 schools achieving higher ROI. For students offered substantial merit aid or seeking specific programs unavailable at public universities, the value proposition strengthens significantly.

Key Takeaways

  • 82.9% graduation rate sits 20.4 points above the national 62.5% benchmark.
  • 91.8% first-year retention is 15.0 points above the national norm of 76.8%.
  • Median earnings of $76,015 run about 23% higher than national outcomes five years after graduation.
  • Average net price of $46,708 is roughly $26,800 higher than the national median of $19,908.
  • 93.6% employment rate within three years is 25.4 points above the national 68.2%.

Helpfulness for Students

Green Flags
  • 12:1 student-faculty ratio keeps mentorship close and courses discussion-sized.
  • 91.8% first-year retention shows students stay engaged after the first year.
  • 93.6% employment rate within three years sits 25.4 points above national outcomes.
Red Flags
  • Average net price of $46,708 is about $26,800 higher than comparable schools, so scholarship planning is key.
  • Pell participation at 23.9% trails the national share by 14.7 points, so equity work remains important.
  • 61.8% of students borrow federal loans, outpacing typical campuses and raising repayment stakes.
EDsmart Expert Analysis

Chapman University is a private nonprofit university based in Orange, CA and earns a B+ overall grade. It holds a #607 overall ranking Completion earns A, Support A-, Career Outcomes B+, and Affordability D.

Grades are assigned relative to EDsmart's national bachelor's cohort using standardized outcomes (2026 methodology); they reflect how a school compares to peers, not a fixed percentage of a raw point total.

91.8% of learners come back after year one while 82.9% graduate within 150% of normal time (82.0% within eight years). Review the cost and aid tables for a full picture of value.

Why it matters: this snapshot shows how likely you are to stay on track academically and whether the outcomes justify the price tag. Letter grades summarize cohort-relative performance—not a single exam-style score.

EDsmart Financial Snapshot

Families pay about $46,708 on average after aid, compared with a published cost near $85,323.

Institutional and federal aid lower costs by roughly $38,615 per year.

Graduates leave with a median of $19,500 in federal loans, which lines up with national norms.

About 23.9% of students receive Pell Grants, giving a snapshot of the campus income mix.

Why it matters: lining up sticker price, aid, and typical debt helps you stress-test the budget before you commit.

EDsmart Career Snapshot

Graduates report median earnings of about $76,015 five years after graduation. This is roughly 23% above typical U.S. college outcomes.

Roughly 93.6% of graduates are employed three years out.

Use the ROI table above to estimate how long it may take to recoup your degree costs.

Why it matters: pairing median earnings with employment rates gives you a sense of payback time after graduation.

EDsmart Admissions Snapshot

65.4% of applicants receive offers, so preparation and fit matter.

The admissions team encourages students to highlight academic strengths through transcripts, essays, and recommendations.

Prospective students can apply early for priority review and lean on the Chapman University admissions site for deadlines, visit options, and counselor contacts.

Why it matters: knowing the admit rate and application expectations lets you map out testing, essays, and deadlines with less stress.

EDsmart Verdict
3.43 / 5
Value Rating - Based on affordability and career outcomes

Your Decision Toolkit

Run the Net Price Calculator
Get your personalized cost estimate
Compare with similar schools
See how Chapman University stacks up to alternatives
Check your major's earnings
See ROI for your specific field of study
Visit the campus
Schedule a campus tour or virtual visit
Visit Chapman University Website →

Cite this profile

Add your access date when you publish.

APA (7th): EDsmart. (2026). Chapman University: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings. https://www.edsmart.org/schools/chapman-university/

MLA (9th): “Chapman University: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings.” EDsmart, 2026, www.edsmart.org/schools/chapman-university/.

Chicago: EDsmart. “Chapman University: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings.” https://www.edsmart.org/schools/chapman-university/.

Similar Schools

Institutions with similar academic profiles, selectivity, and outcomes

Nearby Schools

Other campuses you might consider

Other California campuses you might consider

California State University-Channel Islands
Camarillo, CA
B+ #620 of 1,934
University of La Verne
La Verne, CA
B+ #564 of 1,934
California State University-Northridge
Northridge, CA
B #660 of 1,934
Occidental College
Los Angeles, CA
B+ #541 of 1,934

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Chapman University's acceptance rate?

Chapman University's acceptance rate is 65.4%, based on U.S. Department of Education admissions data.

How much does Chapman University cost?

At Chapman University, listed tuition and fees are $67,894 per year, and the average net price after aid is $46,708. Use the net price calculator on this page for a personalized estimate.

What is Chapman University's ranking?

Chapman University ranks #607 overall in EDsmart's 2026 college rankings with an overall grade of B+, based on completion, affordability, support, and career outcomes.

What is Chapman University's graduation rate?

At Chapman University, the graduation rate within 150% of normal time is 82.9% (the rate used in EDsmart rankings), the federal 8-year award rate is 82.0%, and first-year retention is 91.8%.

What are Chapman University's job outcomes?

Graduates of Chapman University report median earnings of $76,015 five years after graduation, according to U.S. Department of Education outcome data. Outcomes vary by major.

What is Chapman University's student population?

Chapman University enrolls about 7,478 undergraduate students, per U.S. Department of Education enrollment data.

Contact Information

  • AccreditationWestern Association of Schools and Colleges Senior Colleges and University Commission (WASCSR)
  • Endowment$668.4M

Data Source & Methodology â–Ľ