Charles R Drew University of Medicine and Science
Charles R. Drew University of Medicine and Science in Los Angeles, California is a graduate health sciences institution—not Drew University in Madison, New Jersey. This school's acceptance rate of 38.7%, and tuition of $23,407 are listed below for reference. Source: U.S. Department of Education.
Charles R Drew University of Medicine and Science is a private nonprofit university in Los Angeles, CA. Students most often pursue Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions and Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing.
Academically, students benefit from a 4:1 student-faculty ratio, and 50.0% first-year retention. Peer cohorts and advising networks provide scaffolding that keeps newcomers anchored during demanding semesters.
EDsmart calculates return on investment at 54.3%, roughly 4.4 points higher than typical outcomes. It's a compelling fit for students who appreciate an encouraging campus with room to explore and students looking for meaningful faculty access.
Who is Charles R Drew University of Medicine and Science Best For?
A quick look at who tends to feel most at home here based on outcomes and campus context.
EDsmart Scores Summary
Charles R Drew University of Medicine and Science graduates 31.6% of students within 150% of normal time (two-year average; the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings), with an 8-year award rate of 68.2% and keeps 50.0% of first-year students. Affordability earns a B- compared with similar schools.
How we calculate this →Cost & Financial Aid
Quick Answers
The costs shown are averages. Use Charles R Drew University of Medicine and Science's net price calculator to get an estimate based on your family's financial situation.
Calculate Your Net Price →Total Degree Cost Summary
Annual Cost Comparison
Est. annual aid gap: $13,230 Cash cost of attendance minus average net price after aid.
Cost of Undergraduate Attendance
Costs based on full-time, first-time degree- or certificate-seeking undergraduates.
View cost of attendance line items
| Costs to Consider | Price |
|---|---|
| Tuition and Fees | $23,407 |
| Books and Supplies | $2,363 |
| On-Campus Room and Board | Not reported |
| On-Campus Other Expenses | Not reported |
| Total On-Campus Cost | $44,630 |
Tip: focus on the rows that match your living plan—commuters can swap in off-campus estimates while residential students should budget for housing, meals, and incidental fees.
Students Receiving Aid
Use these bars to gauge how many classmates rely on need-based dollars—lower Pell or loan shares may signal a wealthier student body or generous institutional grants.
EDsmart Insight: About 60.6% of Charles R Drew University of Medicine and Science students receive Pell Grants — well above the national average, highlighting ongoing affordability priorities.
Net Price by Family Income
Average annual net price after financial aid, based on family income. Your actual cost may vary depending on your specific financial situation.
Understanding These Numbers: Net price varies significantly by income level. Net prices range from $28,505 to $34,630 depending on family income. Use Charles R Drew University of Medicine and Science's net price calculator for a personalized estimate.
ROI & Career Outcomes
- Median Earnings (5 Years After Graduation) $85,233
- 10-Year Median Earnings $79,596
- Average Years to Graduate 5.0 years
- Average Student Debt $23,750
- Debt-to-Earnings ~27.9%
- Repayment Rate (3yr) 46.4%
- Employment Rate 91.2%
Graduate Earnings Distribution
Earnings range for Charles R Drew University of Medicine and Science graduates about 10 years after enrollment (25th percentile, median, and 75th percentile). Different horizon than median earnings five years after graduation above.
Charles R Drew University of Medicine and Science vs. National Average
Comparison of key performance metrics showing how Charles R Drew University of Medicine and Science's outcomes compare to the national average across earnings, graduation rates, retention, ROI, and employment. This contextualizes Charles R Drew University of Medicine and Science's performance within the broader higher education landscape.
EDsmart Insight: Charles R Drew University of Medicine and Science graduates earn $85,233 median five years after graduation, 38% above the national average. Earnings vary significantly by major—research your field's outcomes.
Acceptance & Selectivity
Getting In
- SAT Evidence-Based Reading Not reported
- SAT Math Not reported
- SAT Writing Not reported
- ACT Composite Not reported
- SAT & ACTNot required
- Undergraduate Enrollment 282
- Full-Time Students 78.0%
- Part-Time Students 22.0%
- Retention Rate 50.0%
- Grad Rate (150% time) 31.6%
- Grad Rate (8-year) 68.2%
- Student-Faculty Ratio 4:1
How to Get Into Charles R Drew University of Medicine and Science
1. Meet Academic Requirements: Charles R Drew University of Medicine and Science requires strong academic performance. Aim for test scores within the reported ranges and maintain a competitive GPA. Most admitted students rank in the top 10% of their high school class.
2. Build a Strong Application: Beyond test scores, focus on crafting compelling essays, securing strong letters of recommendation, and highlighting extracurricular activities that demonstrate leadership and commitment.
3. Understand Selectivity: With an acceptance rate of 38.7%, Charles R Drew University of Medicine and Science is moderately selective. Consider applying early decision if available, as early applicants often have higher acceptance rates.
4. Financial Planning: Review the net price calculator and financial aid options early. Many students receive significant aid, making the actual cost lower than the sticker price.
Tip: Contact the admissions office directly for the most current application requirements, deadlines, and any special programs (like early decision or early action) that might improve your chances.
EDsmart Insight: Charles R Drew University of Medicine and Science accepts 38.7% of applicants, making it moderately selective. Focus on strong academics, meaningful extracurriculars, and compelling essays to stand out.
Academic Programs
Undergraduate Program Distribution
Breakdown of the most popular majors and fields of study among Charles R Drew University of Medicine and Science undergraduates. Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing, Biology, General, and Public Health draw the most students.
- Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing 48.6%
- Biology, General 40.5%
- Public Health 10.8%
- Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions 0.0%
Highest Earning Programs
Median earnings five years after graduation for each program. These figures help illustrate ROI by field of study and degree level.
Associate Degree Programs
- 1. Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions $97,247
Graduate Programs (Master's, Doctoral, Professional)
- 1. Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing (Master's Degree) $150,066
- 2. Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing (Graduate/Professional Certificate) $150,001
Program Choice Matters: Graduate: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing programs lead with $150,066 median earnings. Your program and degree level choice significantly impact career earnings.
Online Degrees & Distance Learning
U.S. Department of Education data reports fully online programs for Charles R Drew University of Medicine and Science. Below are the most popular options based on the number of recent graduates, followed by a quick look at the breadth of online offerings by degree level.
Source: U.S. Department of Education
Most Popular Online Degrees
- Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (Master's Degree, 208 graduates)
- Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (Graduate/Professional Certificate, 37 graduates)
- Biology, General (Master's Degree, 33 graduates)
- Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions (Associate's Degree, 32 graduates)
- Health/Medical Preparatory Programs (Graduate/Professional Certificate, 27 graduates)
What This School Offers Online, at a Glance
U.S. Department of Education data flags the following online degree and certificate programs for this institution. Expand each credential level to view the complete list of available subjects.
Online Bachelor's Degrees (4 programs)▼
- Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing
- Biology, General
- Public Health
- Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions
Online Master's Degrees (3 programs)▼
- Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing
- Biology, General
- Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions
Online Graduate/Professional Certificates (2 programs)▼
- Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing
- Health/Medical Preparatory Programs
Online Undergraduate Certificates & Diplomas (1 program)▼
- Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions
Online First Professional Degrees (2 programs)▼
- Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing
- Medicine
Student Demographics
Student Population
- Total Undergraduate Enrollment 282
- Full-Time Students 78.0%
- Part-Time Students 22.0%
- Male Students 36.9%
- Female Students 63.1%
- Caucasian 2.8%
- Asian 7.8%
- Hispanic 17.7%
- Black 34.0%
- Pell Grant Recipients 60.6%
Racial & Ethnic Diversity
Undergraduate student body composition by racial and ethnic background. This reflects Charles R Drew University of Medicine and Science's commitment to diversity and inclusion in admissions.
Gender Distribution
Gender breakdown of Charles R Drew University of Medicine and Science's undergraduate population. The university maintains a roughly balanced gender distribution across its student body.
Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity
Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity
Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at Charles R Drew University of Medicine and Science, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.
EDsmart Insight: Charles R Drew University of Medicine and Science has a diverse student body, with 2.8% identifying as White. Women make up 63.1% of undergraduates. 60.6% of students receive Pell Grants, well above the national average, indicating strong support for low-income students.
Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity
Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity
Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at Charles R Drew University of Medicine and Science, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.
Our Take
Charles R Drew University of Medicine and Science offers a private university experience at a regional scale, combining smaller class sizes with 54.3% ROI. Ranked #1186 overall, the institution balances personalized attention against higher costs than public alternatives.
The $31,400 annual net price is significantly higher than public universities, offset somewhat by $85,233 median earnings. With 31.6% graduating within 150% of normal time and 50.0% returning for sophomore year, outcomes reflect the personalized support typical of smaller private institutions.
Private University Value: Charles R Drew University of Medicine and Science's Positioning
With a B- grade and #1186 ranking, Charles R Drew University of Medicine and Science competes in the crowded regional private university market.
The Private University Premium: At $31,400 annually, Charles R Drew University of Medicine and Science charges more than public alternatives but typically offers smaller classes, more personalized advising, and tighter-knit campus communities. The 50.0% retention rate suggests students value this environment.
Who Benefits Most: Students who thrive in smaller, more intimate academic settings. Those seeking specific programs or values-based education aligned with the institution's mission. Students who receive merit scholarships that bring costs below $21,980 achieve particularly strong value.
Cost-Benefit Reality: The 54.3% ROI and $85,233 median earnings don't always justify the premium over public universities. Students paying full price should compare whether the personalized experience warrants $21,400+ in additional annual costs over state flagships.
Competitive Standing: Charles R Drew University of Medicine and Science ranks #1186 of 1955 institutions, with 1260 schools achieving higher ROI. For students offered substantial merit aid or seeking specific programs unavailable at public universities, the value proposition strengthens significantly.
Key Takeaways
- 31.6% graduation rate sits 30.9 points below the national 62.5% benchmark.
- 50.0% first-year retention is 26.8 points below the national norm of 76.8%.
- 54.3% return on investment is 4.4 points above the national 49.9% benchmark.
- Median earnings of $85,233 run about 38% higher than national outcomes five years after graduation.
- Average net price of $31,400 is roughly $11,519 higher than the national median of $19,881.
Helpfulness for Students
- 4:1 student-faculty ratio keeps mentorship close and courses discussion-sized.
- 50.0% first-year retention shows students stay engaged after the first year.
- 91.2% employment rate within three years sits 23.0 points above national outcomes.
- Average net price of $31,400 is about $11,519 higher than comparable schools, so scholarship planning is key.
- 68.0% of students borrow federal loans, outpacing typical campuses and raising repayment stakes.
- Compare aid offers from nearby public universities to weigh the premium for smaller classes.
EDsmart Expert Analysis
Charles R Drew University of Medicine and Science is a private nonprofit university based in Los Angeles, CA and earns a B- overall grade. It is currently ranked #1186 overall Category results include Completion (C), Support (B), Career Outcomes (A-), and Affordability (B-).
Grades are assigned relative to EDsmart's national bachelor's cohort using standardized outcomes (2027 rankings methodology); they reflect how a school compares to peers, not a fixed percentage of a raw point total.
50.0% of learners come back after year one while 31.6% graduate within 150% of normal time (68.2% within eight years). EDsmart calculates the ROI at 54.3%, offering a quick value checkpoint.
Why it matters: this snapshot shows how likely you are to stay on track academically and whether the outcomes justify the price tag. Letter grades summarize cohort-relative performance—not a single exam-style score.
EDsmart Financial Snapshot
Families pay about $31,400 on average after aid, compared with a published cost near $44,630.
Institutional and federal aid lower costs by roughly $13,230 per year.
Graduates leave with a median of $23,750 in federal loans, which lines up with national norms.
About 60.6% of students receive Pell Grants, giving a snapshot of the campus income mix.
Why it matters: lining up sticker price, aid, and typical debt helps you stress-test the budget before you commit.
EDsmart Career Snapshot
Median earnings come in near $85,233 five years after graduation. This is roughly 38% above typical U.S. college outcomes.
Employment outcomes report about 91.2% of alumni working within three years.
Plan around an ROI of about 54.3% according to U.S. Department of Education data.
Why it matters: pairing median earnings with employment rates gives you a sense of payback time after graduation.
EDsmart Admissions Snapshot
38.7% of applicants receive offers, so preparation and fit matter.
The admissions team encourages students to highlight academic strengths through transcripts, essays, and recommendations.
Prospective students can apply early for priority review and lean on the Charles R Drew University of Medicine and Science admissions site for deadlines, visit options, and counselor contacts.
Why it matters: knowing the admit rate and application expectations lets you map out testing, essays, and deadlines with less stress.
Your Decision Toolkit
Cite this profile
Add your access date when you publish.
APA (7th): EDsmart. (2026). Charles R Drew University of Medicine and Science: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings. https://www.edsmart.org/schools/charles-r-drew-university-of-medicine-and-science/
MLA (9th): “Charles R Drew University of Medicine and Science: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings.” EDsmart, 2026, www.edsmart.org/schools/charles-r-drew-university-of-medicine-and-science/.
Chicago: EDsmart. “Charles R Drew University of Medicine and Science: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings.” https://www.edsmart.org/schools/charles-r-drew-university-of-medicine-and-science/.
Similar Schools
Institutions with similar academic profiles, selectivity, and outcomes
Nearby Schools
Other campuses you might consider
Other California campuses you might consider
Frequently Asked Questions
What is Charles R Drew University of Medicine and Science's acceptance rate?
Charles R Drew University of Medicine and Science's acceptance rate is 38.7%, based on U.S. Department of Education admissions data.
How much does Charles R Drew University of Medicine and Science cost?
At Charles R Drew University of Medicine and Science, the average net price after grants and scholarships is $31,400 per year. That covers tuition, books, and living costs, which total $44,630 a year before aid. Tuition and fees alone are $23,407. Use the net price calculator on this page for a personalized estimate.
What is Charles R Drew University of Medicine and Science's ranking?
Charles R Drew University of Medicine and Science ranks #1186 overall in EDsmart's 2027 college rankings with an overall grade of B-, based on completion, affordability, support, and career outcomes.
What is Charles R Drew University of Medicine and Science's graduation rate?
At Charles R Drew University of Medicine and Science, the graduation rate within 150% of normal time is 31.6% (two-year average; the rate used in EDsmart rankings), the federal 8-year award rate is 68.2%, and first-year retention is 50.0%.
What are Charles R Drew University of Medicine and Science's job outcomes?
Graduates of Charles R Drew University of Medicine and Science report median earnings of $85,233 five years after graduation, according to U.S. Department of Education outcome data. Outcomes vary by major.
What is Charles R Drew University of Medicine and Science's student population?
Charles R Drew University of Medicine and Science enrolls about 282 undergraduate students, per U.S. Department of Education enrollment data.
Contact Information
- Address 1731 E 120th St, Los Angeles, CA 90059
- Website www.cdrewu.edu
- Net Price Calculator Calculate Your Cost
- Financial AidView Financial Aid Information
- AccreditationWestern Association of Schools and Colleges Senior Colleges and University Commission (WASCSR)
- Endowment$107.4M