Claflin University
Claflin University has an acceptance rate of 64.9%, annual tuition of $18,282, average net price of $17,800, and a national rank of #557 (Grade B+), with a 51.6% graduation rate within 150% of normal time, about 1,706 undergraduates, and median earnings of $43,925 four years after graduation. Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard and EDsmart's 2026 rankings.
Claflin University is a private nonprofit university in Orangeburg, SC. Students most often pursue Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing and Business Administration, Management and Operations.
Day to day, students benefit from a 13:1 student-faculty ratio, and 75.5% first-year retention. Coaches and faculty advisors weave in frequent check-ins, helping students translate ambition into steady progress.
EDsmart calculates return on investment at 55.8%, roughly 5.9 points higher than typical outcomes. It's well-suited to students who appreciate an encouraging campus with room to explore.
Who is Claflin University Best For?
A quick look at who tends to feel most at home here based on outcomes and campus context.
EDsmart Scores Summary
Claflin University graduates 51.6% of students within 150% of normal time (the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings), with an 8-year award rate of 52.6% and keeps 75.5% of first-year students. Affordability earns an A- compared with similar schools.
How we calculate this →Cost & Financial Aid
Quick Answers
The costs shown are averages. Use Claflin University's net price calculator to get an estimate based on your family's financial situation.
Calculate Your Net Price →Total Degree Cost Summary
Annual Cost Comparison
Cost of Undergraduate Attendance
Costs based on full-time, first-time degree- or certificate-seeking undergraduates.
View cost of attendance line items
| Costs to Consider | Price |
|---|---|
| Tuition and Fees | $18,282 |
| Books and Supplies | $950 |
| On-Campus Room and Board | $9,480 |
| On-Campus Other Expenses | $5,250 |
| Total On-Campus Cost | $33,530 |
Tip: focus on the rows that match your living plan—commuters can swap in off-campus estimates while residential students should budget for housing, meals, and incidental fees.
Students Receiving Aid
Use these bars to gauge how many classmates rely on need-based dollars—lower Pell or loan shares may signal a wealthier student body or generous institutional grants.
EDsmart Insight: About 73.5% of Claflin University students receive Pell Grants — well above the national average, highlighting ongoing affordability priorities.
Net Price by Family Income
Average annual net price after financial aid, based on family income. Your actual cost may vary depending on your specific financial situation.
Understanding These Numbers: Net price varies significantly by income level. Net prices range from $16,354 to $25,071 depending on family income. Use Claflin University's net price calculator for a personalized estimate.
If your family earns $75K-$110K: Expect to pay around $23,502/year
If your family earns $110K+: Expect to pay around $25,071/year
See all income brackets →ROI & Career Outcomes
- Median Earnings (4 Years After Graduation) $43,925
- 10-Year Median Earnings $40,304
- Average Years to Graduate 4.4 years
- Average Student Debt $29,000
- Repayment Rate (3yr) 25.5%
- Employment Rate 88.5%
Graduate Earnings Distribution
Earnings range for Claflin University graduates 6 years after enrollment, showing the 25th percentile, median, and 75th percentile. This illustrates the variation in outcomes across different majors and career paths.
Claflin University vs. National Average
Comparison of key performance metrics showing how Claflin University's outcomes compare to the national average across earnings, graduation rates, retention, ROI, and employment. This contextualizes Claflin University's performance within the broader higher education landscape.
EDsmart Insight: Claflin University graduates earn $43,925 median four years after graduation, -27% above the national average. Earnings vary significantly by major—research your field's outcomes.
Acceptance & Selectivity
Getting In
- SAT Evidence-Based Reading Not reported
- SAT Math Not reported
- SAT Writing Not reported
- ACT Composite Not reported
- SAT & ACTNot required
- Undergraduate Enrollment 1,706
- Full-Time Students 93.5%
- Part-Time Students 6.5%
- Retention Rate 75.5%
- Grad Rate (150% time) 51.6%
- Grad Rate (8-year) 52.6%
- Student-Faculty Ratio 13:1
How to Get Into Claflin University
1. Meet Academic Requirements: Claflin University requires strong academic performance. Aim for test scores within the reported ranges and maintain a competitive GPA. Most admitted students rank in the top 10% of their high school class.
2. Build a Strong Application: Beyond test scores, focus on crafting compelling essays, securing strong letters of recommendation, and highlighting extracurricular activities that demonstrate leadership and commitment.
3. Understand Selectivity: With an acceptance rate of 64.9%, Claflin University is relatively open. Consider applying early decision if available, as early applicants often have higher acceptance rates.
4. Financial Planning: Review the net price calculator and financial aid options early. Many students receive significant aid, making the actual cost lower than the sticker price.
Tip: Contact the admissions office directly for the most current application requirements, deadlines, and any special programs (like early decision or early action) that might improve your chances.
EDsmart Insight: With a 64.9% acceptance rate, Claflin University is more accessible than highly selective schools. Meeting the test score ranges and maintaining a solid GPA significantly improves admission chances.
Academic Programs
Undergraduate Program Distribution
Breakdown of the most popular majors and fields of study among Claflin University undergraduates. Psychology, General, Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitnes, and Criminal Justice and Corrections draw the most students.
- Psychology, General 15.8%
- Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitnes 12.4%
- Criminal Justice and Corrections 11.5%
- Biology, General 8.0%
- Business Administration, Management and Operations 7.4%
- Communication and Media Studies 6.2%
See more majors
- Sociology 4.6%
- Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing 4.3%
Highest Earning Programs
Median earnings five years after graduation for each program. These figures help illustrate ROI by field of study and degree level.
Undergraduate Programs (Bachelor's Degrees)
- 1. Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing $76,590
- 2. Business Administration, Management and Operations $51,544
- 3. Communication and Media Studies $41,925
Show additional high-earning majors
- 4. Biology, General $41,239
- 5. Psychology, General $39,003
- 6. Political Science and Government $38,842
- 7. Criminal Justice and Corrections $38,694
- 8. Sociology $37,339
- 9. Human Resources Management and Services $36,485
- 10. Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services, Other $36,249
Graduate Programs (Master's, Doctoral, Professional)
- 1. Business Administration, Management and Operations (Master's Degree) $40,175
- 2. Criminal Justice and Corrections (Master's Degree) $37,266
Program Choice Matters: Undergraduate: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing grads earn $76,590—111% more than Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services, Other ($36,249). Graduate: Business Administration, Management and Operations programs lead with $40,175 median earnings. Your program and degree level choice significantly impact career earnings.
Online Degrees & Distance Learning
College Scorecard reports fully online programs for Claflin University. Below are the most popular options based on the number of recent graduates, followed by a quick look at the breadth of online offerings by degree level.
Source: U.S. Department of Education – College Scorecard
Most Popular Online Degrees
- Health and Physical Education/Fitness (Bachelor's Degree, 40 graduates)
- Biology, General (Bachelor's Degree, 26 graduates)
- Business Administration, Management and Operations (Bachelor's Degree, 24 graduates)
- Communication and Media Studies (Bachelor's Degree, 20 graduates)
- Sociology (Bachelor's Degree, 15 graduates)
What This School Offers Online, at a Glance
College Scorecard flags the following online degree and certificate programs for this institution. Expand each credential level to view the complete list of available subjects.
Online Bachelor's Degrees (42 programs)▼
- Health and Physical Education/Fitness
- Biology, General
- Business Administration, Management and Operations
- Communication and Media Studies
- Sociology
- Human Resources Management and Services
- Marketing
- Political Science and Government
- Music
- Computer Science
- Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology
- Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods
- Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services, Other
- English Language and Literature, General
- Computer Engineering
- Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies
- History
- Management Information Systems and Services
- Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas
- Natural Resources Conservation and Research
- Mathematics
- Fine and Studio Arts
- Chemistry
- Special Education and Teaching
- Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
- Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions
- Philosophy and Religious Studies, Other
- Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies/Technicians
- Mathematics and Computer Science
- Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods
- Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
- Journalism
- Information Science/Studies
- Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services
- Engineering, General
- Education, General
- Computer and Information Sciences, General
- Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions
- Biotechnology
- Biomathematics, Bioinformatics, and Computational Biology
- Area Studies
- Accounting and Related Services
Online Master's Degrees (3 programs)▼
- Curriculum and Instruction
- Biotechnology
- Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing
Student Demographics
Student Population
- Total Undergraduate Enrollment 1,706
- Full-Time Students 93.5%
- Part-Time Students 6.5%
- Male Students 29.4%
- Female Students 70.6%
- Caucasian 2.4%
- Asian 0.1%
- Hispanic 0.8%
- Black 89.2%
- Pell Grant Recipients 73.5%
Racial & Ethnic Diversity
Undergraduate student body composition by racial and ethnic background. This reflects Claflin University's commitment to diversity and inclusion in admissions.
Gender Distribution
Gender breakdown of Claflin University's undergraduate population. Women make up 70.6% of the student body, while men represent 29.4%.
Graduation Rate Equity Analysis
How well does Claflin University support students from different economic backgrounds?
What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at a different rate as higher-income students, indicating varying levels of institutional support for all economic backgrounds.
Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity
Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity
Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at Claflin University, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.
EDsmart Insight: Claflin University has a diverse student body, with 2.4% identifying as White. Women make up 70.6% of undergraduates. 73.5% of students receive Pell Grants, well above the national average, indicating strong support for low-income students.
Graduation Rate Equity Analysis
How well does Claflin University support students from different economic backgrounds?
What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at a different rate as higher-income students, indicating varying levels of institutional support for all economic backgrounds.
Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity
Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity
Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at Claflin University, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.
Our Take
Claflin University offers a private university experience at a regional scale, combining smaller class sizes with 55.8% ROI. Ranked #557 nationally, the institution balances personalized attention against higher costs than public alternatives.
The $17,800 annual net price is moderately higher than state schools, offset somewhat by $43,925 median earnings. With 51.6% graduating within 150% of normal time and 75.5% returning for sophomore year, outcomes reflect the personalized support typical of smaller private institutions.
Private University Value: Claflin University's Positioning
With a B+ grade and #557 ranking, Claflin University competes in the crowded regional private university market.
The Private University Premium: At $17,800 annually, Claflin University charges more than public alternatives but typically offers smaller classes, more personalized advising, and tighter-knit campus communities. The 75.5% retention rate suggests students value this environment.
Who Benefits Most: Students who thrive in smaller, more intimate academic settings. Those seeking specific programs or values-based education aligned with the institution's mission. Students who receive merit scholarships that bring costs below $12,460 achieve particularly strong value.
Cost-Benefit Reality: The 55.8% ROI and $43,925 median earnings don't always justify the premium over public universities. Students paying full price should compare whether the personalized experience warrants $7,800+ in additional annual costs over state flagships.
Competitive Standing: Claflin University ranks #557 of 1947 institutions, with 1187 schools achieving higher ROI. For students offered substantial merit aid or seeking specific programs unavailable at public universities, the value proposition strengthens significantly.
Key Takeaways
- 51.6% graduation rate sits 10.9 points below the national 62.5% benchmark.
- 75.5% first-year retention is 1.3 points below the national norm of 76.8%.
- 55.8% return on investment is 5.9 points above the national 49.9% benchmark.
- Median earnings of $43,925 run about 27% lower than national outcomes four years after graduation.
- Average net price of $17,800 is roughly $2,279 lower than the national median of $20,079.
Helpfulness for Students
- 13:1 student-faculty ratio keeps mentorship close and courses discussion-sized.
- 75.5% first-year retention shows students stay engaged after the first year.
- 88.5% employment rate within three years sits 20.3 points above national outcomes.
- Budget carefully for clinical travel, off-campus housing, and practicum fees to avoid surprise costs.
- Compare aid offers from nearby public universities to weigh the premium for smaller classes.
- Compare aid offers from nearby public universities to weigh the premium for smaller classes.
EDsmart Expert Analysis
Claflin University, a private nonprofit university in Orangeburg, SC, secures a B+ grade in our latest review. It is currently ranked #557 nationally Completion earns B-, Support B, Career Outcomes B-, and Affordability A-.
Grades are assigned relative to EDsmart's national bachelor's cohort using standardized outcomes (2026 methodology); they reflect how a school compares to peers, not a fixed percentage of a raw point total.
About 75.5% of first-year students return; 51.6% graduate within 150% of normal time, with an 8-year award rate of 52.6%. Return on investment currently measures 55.8% for this program.
Why it matters: this snapshot shows how likely you are to stay on track academically and whether the outcomes justify the price tag. Letter grades summarize cohort-relative performance—not a single exam-style score.
EDsmart Financial Snapshot
Families pay about $17,800 on average after aid, compared with a published cost near $33,530.
Institutional and federal aid lower costs by roughly $15,730 per year.
Graduates leave with a median of $29,000 in federal loans, which lines up with national norms.
About 73.5% of students receive Pell Grants, giving a snapshot of the campus income mix.
Why it matters: lining up sticker price, aid, and typical debt helps you stress-test the budget before you commit.
EDsmart Career Snapshot
Graduates report median earnings of about $43,925 four years after graduation. This is roughly 27% below typical U.S. college outcomes.
The three-year employment rate is close to 88.5%.
The ROI comes in near 55.8%, which you can cross-check against your financial plan.
Why it matters: pairing median earnings with employment rates gives you a sense of payback time after graduation.
EDsmart Admissions Snapshot
64.9% of applicants receive offers, so preparation and fit matter.
The admissions team encourages students to highlight academic strengths through transcripts, essays, and recommendations.
Prospective students can apply early for priority review and lean on the Claflin University admissions site for deadlines, visit options, and counselor contacts.
Why it matters: knowing the admit rate and application expectations lets you map out testing, essays, and deadlines with less stress.
Your Decision Toolkit
Similar Schools
Institutions with similar academic profiles, selectivity, and outcomes
Nearby Schools
Other campuses you might consider
Other South Carolina campuses you might consider
Frequently Asked Questions
What is Claflin University's acceptance rate?
Claflin University's acceptance rate is 64.9%, based on U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard admissions data.
How much does Claflin University cost?
At Claflin University, listed tuition and fees are $18,282 per year, and the average net price after aid is $17,800. Use the net price calculator on this page for a personalized estimate.
What is Claflin University's ranking?
Claflin University ranks #557 nationally in EDsmart's 2026 college rankings with an overall grade of B+, based on completion, affordability, support, and career outcomes.
What is Claflin University's graduation rate?
At Claflin University, the graduation rate within 150% of normal time is 51.6% (the rate used in EDsmart rankings), College Scorecard 8-year award rate is 52.6%, and first-year retention is 75.5%.
What are Claflin University's job outcomes?
Graduates of Claflin University report median earnings of $43,925 four years after graduation, according to College Scorecard federal outcome data. Outcomes vary by major.
What is Claflin University's student population?
Claflin University enrolls about 1,706 undergraduate students, per College Scorecard enrollment data.
Contact Information
- Address Orangeburg, SC 29115-4498
- Website www.claflin.edu
- Net Price Calculator Calculate Your Cost
- Financial AidView Financial Aid Information
- AccreditationSouthern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCC)
- Endowment$72.9M
- Transfer Enrollment Rate26.8%