Claremont McKenna College
Claremont McKenna College has an acceptance rate of 9.6%, an average net price of $26,039, and an overall rank of #19 (Grade A+). About 89.9% of students graduate within 150% of normal time, and median earnings are $107,640 five years after graduation. Data from the U.S. Department of Education and EDsmart's 2027 rankings.
Claremont McKenna College is a private nonprofit university in Claremont, CA. Students most often pursue Economics.
Day to day, students benefit from a 8:1 student-faculty ratio, and 98.1% first-year retention. Coaches and faculty advisors weave in frequent check-ins, helping students translate ambition into steady progress.
EDsmart calculates return on investment at 93.2%, roughly 43.3 points higher than typical outcomes. It's well-suited to ambitious students who thrive in an elite, research-powered setting and students looking for meaningful faculty access.
Who is Claremont McKenna College Best For?
A quick look at who tends to feel most at home here based on outcomes and campus context.
EDsmart Scores Summary
Claremont McKenna College graduates 89.9% of students within 150% of normal time (the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings), with an 8-year award rate of 93.4% and keeps 98.1% of first-year students. Affordability earns a C compared with similar schools.
How we calculate this →Cost & Financial Aid
Quick Answers
The costs shown are averages. Use Claremont McKenna College's net price calculator to get an estimate based on your family's financial situation.
Calculate Your Net Price →Total Degree Cost Summary
Annual Cost Comparison
Est. annual aid gap: $65,471 Cash cost of attendance minus average net price after aid.
Cost of Undergraduate Attendance
Costs based on full-time, first-time degree- or certificate-seeking undergraduates.
View cost of attendance line items
| Costs to Consider | Price |
|---|---|
| Tuition and Fees | $72,120 |
| Books and Supplies | $1,200 |
| On-Campus Room and Board | $22,190 |
| On-Campus Other Expenses | $1,500 |
| Total On-Campus Cost | $91,510 |
Tip: focus on the rows that match your living plan—commuters can swap in off-campus estimates while residential students should budget for housing, meals, and incidental fees.
Students Receiving Aid
Use these bars to gauge how many classmates rely on need-based dollars—lower Pell or loan shares may signal a wealthier student body or generous institutional grants.
EDsmart Insight: About 18.3% of Claremont McKenna College students receive Pell Grants — below the national average, highlighting ongoing affordability priorities.
Net Price by Family Income
Average annual net price after financial aid, based on family income. Your actual cost may vary depending on your specific financial situation.
Understanding These Numbers: Net price varies significantly by income level. Net prices range from $5,423 to $52,425 depending on family income. Use Claremont McKenna College's net price calculator for a personalized estimate.
If your family earns $75K-$110K: Expect to pay around $31,487/year
If your family earns $110K+: Expect to pay around $52,425/year
See all income brackets →ROI & Career Outcomes
- Median Earnings (5 Years After Graduation) $107,640
- 10-Year Median Earnings $127,532
- Average Years to Graduate 4.4 years
- Average Student Debt $13,450
- Debt-to-Earnings ~12.5%
- Repayment Rate (3yr) Not reported
- Employment Rate 96.9%
Graduate Earnings Distribution
Earnings range for Claremont McKenna College graduates about 10 years after enrollment (25th percentile, median, and 75th percentile). Different horizon than median earnings five years after graduation above.
Claremont McKenna College vs. National Average
Comparison of key performance metrics showing how Claremont McKenna College's outcomes compare to the national average across earnings, graduation rates, retention, ROI, and employment. This contextualizes Claremont McKenna College's performance within the broader higher education landscape.
EDsmart Insight: Claremont McKenna College graduates earn $107,640 median five years after graduation, 75% above the national average. Earnings vary significantly by major—research your field's outcomes.
Acceptance & Selectivity
Getting In
- SAT Evidence-Based Reading 720-770
- SAT Math 750-790
- SAT Writing Not reported
- ACT Composite 33-35
- SAT & ACT Required
- Undergraduate Enrollment 1,388
- Full-Time Students 99.5%
- Part-Time Students 0.5%
- Retention Rate 98.1%
- Grad Rate (150% time) 89.9%
- Grad Rate (8-year) 93.4%
- Student-Faculty Ratio 8:1
How to Get Into Claremont McKenna College
1. Meet Academic Requirements: Claremont McKenna College requires strong academic performance. Aim for test scores within the reported ranges and maintain a competitive GPA. Most admitted students rank in the top 10% of their high school class.
2. Build a Strong Application: Beyond test scores, focus on crafting compelling essays, securing strong letters of recommendation, and highlighting extracurricular activities that demonstrate leadership and commitment.
3. Understand Selectivity: With an acceptance rate of 9.6%, Claremont McKenna College is extremely selective. Consider applying early decision if available, as early applicants often have higher acceptance rates.
4. Financial Planning: Review the net price calculator and financial aid options early. Many students receive significant aid, making the actual cost lower than the sticker price.
Tip: Contact the admissions office directly for the most current application requirements, deadlines, and any special programs (like early decision or early action) that might improve your chances.
EDsmart Insight: With a 9.6% acceptance rate, Claremont McKenna College is extremely selective. Most admitted students rank in the top 10% of their class. Consider applying early decision if available, as early applicants often have higher acceptance rates. The middle 50% of admitted students score between 1470 and 1560 on the SAT.
Academic Programs
Undergraduate Program Distribution
Breakdown of the most popular majors and fields of study among Claremont McKenna College undergraduates. Economics, Research and Experimental Psychology, and Political Science and Government draw the most students.
- Economics 26.8%
- Research and Experimental Psychology 7.6%
- Political Science and Government 7.3%
- Systems Science and Theory 6.9%
- International Relations and National Security Stud 6.0%
- Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other 5.4%
See more majors
- Philosophy 4.3%
- Biology, General 3.9%
Highest Earning Programs
Median earnings five years after graduation for each program. These figures help illustrate ROI by field of study and degree level.
Undergraduate Programs (Bachelor's Degrees)
- 1. Economics $165,345
Program Choice Matters: Your program and degree level choice significantly impact career earnings.
Online Degrees & Distance Learning
U.S. Department of Education data reports fully online programs for Claremont McKenna College. Below are the most popular options based on the number of recent graduates, followed by a quick look at the breadth of online offerings by degree level.
Source: U.S. Department of Education
Most Popular Online Degrees
- Economics (Bachelor's Degree, 124 graduates)
- Research and Experimental Psychology (Bachelor's Degree, 35 graduates)
- Political Science and Government (Bachelor's Degree, 34 graduates)
- Systems Science and Theory (Bachelor's Degree, 32 graduates)
- International Relations and National Security Studies (Bachelor's Degree, 28 graduates)
What This School Offers Online, at a Glance
U.S. Department of Education data flags the following online degree and certificate programs for this institution. Expand each credential level to view the complete list of available subjects.
Online Bachelor's Degrees (45 programs)▼
- Economics
- Research and Experimental Psychology
- Political Science and Government
- Systems Science and Theory
- International Relations and National Security Studies
- Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other
- Philosophy
- Biology, General
- History
- Natural Resources Conservation and Research
- Communication and Media Studies
- Public Policy Analysis
- Neurobiology and Neurosciences
- Mathematics
- Accounting and Related Services
- English Language and Literature, General
- Area Studies
- Engineering, Other
- Physics
- Computer Science
- Film/Video and Photographic Arts
- Religion/Religious Studies
- Human Biology
- Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology
- Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
- Fine and Studio Arts
- Cognitive Science
- Chemistry
- Anthropology
- Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies
- East Asian Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
- Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
- Sociology
- Science, Technology and Society
- Psychology, General
- Non-Professional Legal Studies
- Music
- Medieval and Renaissance Studies
- Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and Services
- International/Globalization Studies
- Human Resources Management and Services
- Geological and Earth Sciences/Geosciences
- Engineering-Related Fields
- Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft
- Dance
Online Master's Degrees (1 program)▼
- Finance and Financial Management Services
Student Demographics
Student Population
- Total Undergraduate Enrollment 1,388
- Full-Time Students 99.5%
- Part-Time Students 0.5%
- Male Students 50.1%
- Female Students 49.9%
- Caucasian 35.7%
- Asian 17.1%
- Hispanic 14.8%
- Black 4.1%
- Pell Grant Recipients 18.3%
Racial & Ethnic Diversity
Undergraduate student body composition by racial and ethnic background. This reflects Claremont McKenna College's commitment to diversity and inclusion in admissions.
Gender Distribution
Gender breakdown of Claremont McKenna College's undergraduate population. The university maintains a roughly balanced gender distribution across its student body.
Graduation Rate Equity Analysis
How well does Claremont McKenna College support students from different economic backgrounds?
What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at nearly the same rate as higher-income students, indicating strong institutional support for all economic backgrounds.
Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity
Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity
Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at Claremont McKenna College, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.
EDsmart Insight: Claremont McKenna College has a diverse student body, with 35.7% identifying as White. About 18.3% receive Pell Grants, below the national average of 38%, suggesting a wealthier student body or generous institutional aid.
Graduation Rate Equity Analysis
How well does Claremont McKenna College support students from different economic backgrounds?
What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at nearly the same rate as higher-income students, indicating strong institutional support for all economic backgrounds.
Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity
Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity
Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at Claremont McKenna College, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.
Our Take
Claremont McKenna College ranks among the country's most prestigious, delivering a 93.2% ROI though 404 institutions deliver higher returns at lower costs.
The institution achieves 70.3% four-year completion and a 89.9% graduation rate within 150% of normal time and maintains 98.1% first-year retention. However, the $26,039 annual net price positions this institution at the higher end of college costs. Median earnings of $107,640 reflect strong career outcomes typical of selective institutions.
Value Analysis: Is Claremont McKenna College Worth It?
Ranking #19 of 1955, Claremont McKenna College delivers an A+ overall grade with 99.1/100 on EDsmart's national index (0–100 vs. all ranked schools; not a raw point total).
For High-Achieving Students: Applicants pursuing careers where institutional prestige and professional networks drive opportunities—such as finance, consulting, law, and academia—benefit most from Claremont McKenna College's brand value and alumni connections. The school's reputation provides career acceleration that may justify the premium cost for specific fields.
Financial Aid Recipients: Students receiving substantial need-based aid (bringing actual costs below $13,020 annually) access elite education at a competitive price point. Pell-eligible students often pay less here than at many public universities.
Alternative Considerations: Students in fields where skills and credentials matter more than brand name—particularly STEM, healthcare, and technical fields—should compare outcomes against public research universities offering similar education at 40-60% lower cost. Our data shows 404 institutions deliver superior ROI metrics.
Bottom Line: Claremont McKenna College excels in reputation and student experience, reflected in its 98.1% retention rate. However, value-conscious students should weigh the $26,039 annual investment against 404 alternatives offering stronger financial returns. The "best" choice depends on your field, financial situation, and career goals—not rankings alone.
Key Takeaways
- 89.9% graduation rate sits 27.4 points above the national 62.5% benchmark.
- 98.1% first-year retention is 21.3 points above the national norm of 76.8%.
- 93.2% return on investment is 43.3 points above the national 49.9% benchmark.
- Median earnings of $107,640 run about 75% higher than national outcomes five years after graduation.
- Average net price of $26,039 is roughly $6,158 higher than the national median of $19,881.
Helpfulness for Students
- 8:1 student-faculty ratio keeps mentorship close and courses discussion-sized.
- 98.1% first-year retention shows students stay engaged after the first year.
- 96.9% employment rate within three years sits 28.7 points above national outcomes.
- Average net price of $26,039 is about $6,158 higher than comparable schools, so scholarship planning is key.
- Pell participation at 18.3% trails the national share by 20.2 points, so equity work remains important.
- Compare aid offers from nearby public universities to weigh the premium for smaller classes.
EDsmart Expert Analysis
Claremont McKenna College, a private nonprofit university in Claremont, CA, secures an A+ grade in our latest review. It stands at #19 among 1955 schools Completion earns A+, Support A, Career Outcomes A+, and Affordability C.
Grades are assigned relative to EDsmart's national bachelor's cohort using standardized outcomes (2027 rankings methodology); they reflect how a school compares to peers, not a fixed percentage of a raw point total.
Student momentum is strong: 98.1% retention, 89.9% graduation within 150% of normal time, and 93.4% earning an award within eight years. Return on investment currently measures 93.2% for this program.
Why it matters: this snapshot shows how likely you are to stay on track academically and whether the outcomes justify the price tag. Letter grades summarize cohort-relative performance—not a single exam-style score.
EDsmart Financial Snapshot
Families pay about $26,039 on average after aid, compared with a published cost near $91,510.
Institutional and federal aid lower costs by roughly $65,471 per year.
Graduates leave with a median of $13,450 in federal loans, which lines up with national norms.
About 18.3% of students receive Pell Grants, giving a snapshot of the campus income mix.
Why it matters: lining up sticker price, aid, and typical debt helps you stress-test the budget before you commit.
EDsmart Career Snapshot
Graduates report median earnings of about $107,640 five years after graduation. That sits about 75% above the national median.
The three-year employment rate is close to 96.9%.
The ROI comes in near 93.2%, which you can cross-check against your financial plan.
Why it matters: pairing median earnings with employment rates gives you a sense of payback time after graduation.
EDsmart Admissions Snapshot
9.6% of applicants receive offers, so preparation and fit matter.
The admissions team encourages students to highlight academic strengths through transcripts, essays, and recommendations.
Prospective students can apply early for priority review and lean on the Claremont McKenna College admissions site for deadlines, visit options, and counselor contacts.
Why it matters: knowing the admit rate and application expectations lets you map out testing, essays, and deadlines with less stress.
Your Decision Toolkit
Cite this profile
Add your access date when you publish.
APA (7th): EDsmart. (2026). Claremont McKenna College: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings. https://www.edsmart.org/schools/claremont-mckenna-college/
MLA (9th): “Claremont McKenna College: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings.” EDsmart, 2026, www.edsmart.org/schools/claremont-mckenna-college/.
Chicago: EDsmart. “Claremont McKenna College: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings.” https://www.edsmart.org/schools/claremont-mckenna-college/.
Similar Schools
Institutions with similar academic profiles, selectivity, and outcomes
Nearby Schools
Other campuses you might consider
Other California campuses you might consider
Frequently Asked Questions
What is Claremont McKenna College's acceptance rate?
Claremont McKenna College's acceptance rate is 9.6%, based on U.S. Department of Education admissions data.
How much does Claremont McKenna College cost?
At Claremont McKenna College, the average net price after grants and scholarships is $26,039 per year. That covers tuition, books, and living costs, which total $91,510 a year before aid. Tuition and fees alone are $72,120. Use the net price calculator on this page for a personalized estimate.
What is Claremont McKenna College's ranking?
Claremont McKenna College ranks #19 overall in EDsmart's 2027 college rankings with an overall grade of A+, based on completion, affordability, support, and career outcomes.
What is Claremont McKenna College's graduation rate?
At Claremont McKenna College, the graduation rate within 150% of normal time is 89.9% (the rate used in EDsmart rankings), the federal 8-year award rate is 93.4%, and first-year retention is 98.1%.
What are Claremont McKenna College's job outcomes?
Graduates of Claremont McKenna College report median earnings of $107,640 five years after graduation, according to U.S. Department of Education outcome data. Outcomes vary by major.
What is Claremont McKenna College's student population?
Claremont McKenna College enrolls about 1,388 undergraduate students, per U.S. Department of Education enrollment data.
Contact Information
- Address 500 E 9th St, Claremont, CA 91711-6400
- Website www.cmc.edu
- Net Price Calculator Calculate Your Cost
- Financial AidView Financial Aid Information
- AccreditationWestern Association of Schools and Colleges Senior Colleges and University Commission (WASCSR)
- Endowment$1.21B