Clayton  State University Logo

Clayton State University

Morrow, GA | Public | University

Clayton State University has an acceptance rate of 68.5%, an average net price of $8,868, and an overall rank of #1179 (Grade B-). About 37.5% of students graduate within 150% of normal time, and median earnings are $56,983 five years after graduation. Data from the U.S. Department of Education and EDsmart's 2026 rankings.

Clayton State University is a public university in Morrow, GA. Students most often pursue Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing and Computer and Information Sciences.

Day to day, students benefit from a 20:1 student-faculty ratio, and 70.9% first-year retention. Coaches and faculty advisors weave in frequent check-ins, helping students translate ambition into steady progress.

EDsmart calculates return on investment at 129.0%, roughly 79.1 points higher than typical outcomes. It's well-suited to students who appreciate an encouraging campus with room to explore.

B-
Ranking
#1179 of 1,934
How We Rank Schools Lower tuitionPublic school option
At a Glance
Ranking
#1179 of 1,934 (Top 61%)
Tuition
$5,240
Net Price
$8,868
4-Year Tuition
$20,960
Acceptance Rate
68.5%
Transfer Rate
28.8%
Student Population
4,348
Student-Faculty
20:1
Grad Rate (150% time)
37.5%
Grad Rate (8-year)
45.6%
Retention Rate
70.9%
4-Yr Earnings
$56,983
ROI
Not reported

Who is Clayton State University Best For?

A quick look at who tends to feel most at home here based on outcomes and campus context.

Families tracking affordability closely
First-gen or Pell-eligible support

EDsmart Scores Summary

Overall Ranking
#1179 of 1,934
Top 61% of all institutions
EDsmart Score
39.1 / 100 (national index)
Curved score (top institution = 100.0)
Value Rating
1.95 / 5
Based on ROI and outcomes
Completion
C+
#1,438 of 1,934
Affordability
A-
#206 of 1,934
Support
C+
#1,622 of 1,934
Career Outcomes
B-
#1,282 of 1,934

Clayton State University graduates 37.5% of students within 150% of normal time (the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings), with an 8-year award rate of 45.6% and keeps 70.9% of first-year students. Affordability earns an A- compared with similar schools.

How we calculate this →

Cost & Financial Aid

Quick Answers

What does it cost?
Depends on income
$7,686-$15,601 annual net price based on family income.
What's the graduation rate?
Somewhat likely
37.5% graduate within 150% of normal time (the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings). The federal 8-year award rate is 45.6%. 19.1% complete in four years (IPEDS 100% time).
What are job outcomes?
Highly likely
90.0% of alumni are employed within three years of leaving. Median earnings five years after graduation are $56,983. Pay varies by major.
Get Your Personalized Cost Estimate

The costs shown are averages. Use Clayton State University's net price calculator to get an estimate based on your family's financial situation.

Calculate Your Net Price →

Total Degree Cost Summary

4-Year Total Cost (Pay with Cash)
$73,588
$18,397 × 4 years
Average Total Cost (Pay with Financial Aid)
$44,172
$8,868 × 5.0 years average
Time to Degree
Average: 5.0 years | 4-Year Rate: 19.1% | 6-Year Rate: 37.5% | 8-Year Rate: 45.6%
Most students finish in about four to five years. Four-year completion is 19.1% and six-year completion is 37.5%.

Annual Cost Comparison

Pay with Cash
$18,397
Total annual cost including tuition, books and living expenses; excluding any financial aid, grants or scholarships.
Pay with Financial Aid
$8,868
Average annual cost including tuition, books and living expenses after financial aid, grants or scholarships.

Est. annual aid gap: $9,529 Cash cost of attendance minus average net price after aid.

Cost of Undergraduate Attendance

Costs based on full-time, first-time degree- or certificate-seeking undergraduates.

View cost of attendance line items
Costs to Consider Price
Tuition and Fees $5,240
Books and Supplies $1,250
On-Campus Room and Board $12,226
On-Campus Other Expenses $3,934
Total On-Campus Cost $18,397

Tip: focus on the rows that match your living plan—commuters can swap in off-campus estimates while residential students should budget for housing, meals, and incidental fees.

Students Receiving Aid

Pell Grant
50.4%
Federal Loan
35.4%

Use these bars to gauge how many classmates rely on need-based dollars—lower Pell or loan shares may signal a wealthier student body or generous institutional grants.

EDsmart Insight: About 50.4% of Clayton State University students receive Pell Grants — well above the national average, highlighting ongoing affordability priorities.

Net Price by Family Income

Average annual net price after financial aid, based on family income. Your actual cost may vary depending on your specific financial situation.

$0 - $30,000
$7,686
Average annual cost for families earning $0-$30K
$30,001 - $48,000
$8,232
Average annual cost for families earning $30K-$48K
$48,001 - $75,000
$8,685
Average annual cost for families earning $48K-$75K
$75,001 - $110,000
$12,363
Average annual cost for families earning $75K-$110K
$110,001+
$15,601
Average annual cost for families earning $110K+

Understanding These Numbers: Net price varies significantly by income level. Net prices range from $7,686 to $15,601 depending on family income. Use Clayton State University's net price calculator for a personalized estimate.

Typical total cost estimates (~5 years):
$0-$30K families
~$38,285
$30K-$48K families
~$41,004
$48K-$75K families
~$43,261
$75K-$110K families
~$61,581
AFFORDABILITY ALERT

If your family earns $75K-$110K: Expect to pay around $12,363/year

If your family earns $110K+: Expect to pay around $15,601/year

See all income brackets →

ROI & Career Outcomes

Return on Investment
Not reported
Based on median earnings five years after graduation vs. total degree cost
  • Median Earnings (5 Years After Graduation) $56,983
  • 10-Year Median Earnings $54,701
  • Average Years to Graduate 5.0 years
  • Average Student Debt $25,250
  • Debt-to-Earnings ~44.3%
  • Repayment Rate (3yr) 36.1%
  • Employment Rate 90.0%

Graduate Earnings Distribution

Earnings range for Clayton State University graduates about 10 years after enrollment (25th percentile, median, and 75th percentile). Different horizon than median earnings five years after graduation above.

Graduates earn a median of $56,983 five years after graduation — roughly 8% below the national median.
Payback Period
0.78 years
Total Degree Cost ÷ Annual Earnings

Clayton State University vs. National Average

Comparison of key performance metrics showing how Clayton State University's outcomes compare to the national average across earnings, graduation rates, retention, ROI, and employment. This contextualizes Clayton State University's performance within the broader higher education landscape.

Acceptance & Selectivity

Getting In

Acceptance Rate
68.5%
Less Selective
National Average
69%
Average acceptance rate
  • SAT Evidence-Based Reading 450-558
  • SAT Math 410-520
  • SAT Writing Not reported
  • ACT Composite 15-19
  • SAT & ACT Required
  • Undergraduate Enrollment 4,348
  • Full-Time Students 62.0%
  • Part-Time Students 38.0%
  • Retention Rate 70.9%
  • Grad Rate (150% time) 37.5%
  • Grad Rate (8-year) 45.6%
  • Student-Faculty Ratio 20:1

How to Get Into Clayton State University

1. Meet Academic Requirements: Clayton State University requires strong academic performance. Aim for test scores within the reported ranges and maintain a competitive GPA. Most admitted students rank in the top 10% of their high school class.

2. Build a Strong Application: Beyond test scores, focus on crafting compelling essays, securing strong letters of recommendation, and highlighting extracurricular activities that demonstrate leadership and commitment.

3. Understand Selectivity: With an acceptance rate of 68.5%, Clayton State University is relatively open. Consider applying early decision if available, as early applicants often have higher acceptance rates.

4. Financial Planning: Review the net price calculator and financial aid options early. Many students receive significant aid, making the actual cost lower than the sticker price.

Tip: Contact the admissions office directly for the most current application requirements, deadlines, and any special programs (like early decision or early action) that might improve your chances.

EDsmart Insight: With a 68.5% acceptance rate, Clayton State University is more accessible than highly selective schools. Meeting the test score ranges and maintaining a solid GPA significantly improves admission chances. The middle 50% of admitted students score between 860 and 1078 on the SAT.

Academic Programs

Undergraduate Program Distribution

Breakdown of the most popular majors and fields of study among Clayton State University undergraduates. Business Administration, Management and Operations, Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing, and Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, Gen draw the most students.

  • Business Administration, Management and Operations 17.7%
  • Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing 10.3%
  • Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, Gen 9.7%
  • Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Hum 9.5%
  • Clinical, Counseling and Applied Psychology 9.4%
  • Health and Medical Administrative Services 5.6%
See more majors
  • Accounting and Related Services 3.9%
  • Biology, General 3.3%

Highest Earning Programs

Median earnings five years after graduation for each program. These figures help illustrate ROI by field of study and degree level.

Undergraduate Programs (Bachelor's Degrees)

  • 1. Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing $93,169
  • 2. Computer and Information Sciences, General $74,126
  • 3. Dental Support Services and Allied Professions $60,588
Show additional high-earning majors
  • 4. Computer Science $56,328
  • 5. Marketing $56,312
  • 6. Accounting and Related Services $54,723
  • 7. Business Administration, Management and Operations $54,637
  • 8. Health and Medical Administrative Services $53,206
  • 9. Legal Support Services $53,124
  • 10. Business/Commerce, General $52,452

Graduate Programs (Master's, Doctoral, Professional)

  • 1. Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing (Master's Degree) $117,223
  • 2. Health and Medical Administrative Services (Master's Degree) $70,117
  • 3. Business Administration, Management and Operations (Master's Degree) $69,693

Program Choice Matters: Undergraduate: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing grads earn $93,169—78% more than Business/Commerce, General ($52,452). Graduate: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing programs lead with $117,223 median earnings. Your program and degree level choice significantly impact career earnings.

Online Degrees & Distance Learning

U.S. Department of Education data reports fully online programs for Clayton State University. Below are the most popular options based on the number of recent graduates, followed by a quick look at the breadth of online offerings by degree level.
Source: U.S. Department of Education

Most Popular Online Degrees

  • Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General (Bachelor's Degree, 117 graduates)
  • Biology, General (Bachelor's Degree, 49 graduates)
  • Health and Medical Administrative Services (Bachelor's Degree, 38 graduates)
  • Computer and Information Sciences, General (Bachelor's Degree, 37 graduates)
  • Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (Associate's Degree, 34 graduates)

What This School Offers Online, at a Glance

U.S. Department of Education data flags the following online degree and certificate programs for this institution. Expand each credential level to view the complete list of available subjects.

Online Bachelor's Degrees (17 programs)▼
  • Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General
  • Biology, General
  • Health and Medical Administrative Services
  • Computer and Information Sciences, General
  • Film/Video and Photographic Arts
  • Computer Science
  • Communication and Media Studies
  • Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods
  • Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness
  • Mathematics
  • Chemistry
  • Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas
  • Music
  • Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft
  • Visual and Performing Arts, General
  • Philosophy
  • Information Science/Studies
Online Master's Degrees (5 programs)▼
  • Health and Medical Administrative Services
  • Clinical, Counseling and Applied Psychology
  • Education, General
  • Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
  • Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management

Student Demographics

Student Population

  • Total Undergraduate Enrollment 4,348
  • Full-Time Students 62.0%
  • Part-Time Students 38.0%
  • Male Students 30.1%
  • Female Students 69.9%
  • Caucasian 8.5%
  • Asian 5.0%
  • Hispanic 12.3%
  • Black 65.6%
  • Pell Grant Recipients 50.4%

Racial & Ethnic Diversity

Undergraduate student body composition by racial and ethnic background. This reflects Clayton State University's commitment to diversity and inclusion in admissions.

Gender Distribution

Gender breakdown of Clayton State University's undergraduate population. The university maintains a roughly balanced gender distribution across its student body.

Graduation Rate Equity Analysis

How well does Clayton State University support students from different economic backgrounds?

Pell Grant Recipients
36.0%
6-year graduation rate
Non-Pell Students
37.6%
6-year graduation rate
Equity Gap
1.6 pts
excellent equity

What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at nearly the same rate as higher-income students, indicating strong institutional support for all economic backgrounds.

Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity

Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity

Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at Clayton State University, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.

EDsmart Insight: Clayton State University has a diverse student body, with 8.5% identifying as White. Women make up 69.9% of undergraduates. 50.4% of students receive Pell Grants, well above the national average, indicating strong support for low-income students.

Graduation Rate Equity Analysis

How well does Clayton State University support students from different economic backgrounds?

Pell Grant Recipients
36.0%
6-year graduation rate
Non-Pell Students
37.6%
6-year graduation rate
Equity Gap
1.6 pts
excellent equity

What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at nearly the same rate as higher-income students, indicating strong institutional support for all economic backgrounds.

Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity

Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity

Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at Clayton State University, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.

Our Take

Clayton State University serves as an affordable university for students seeking quality education without elite university costs. Ranked #1179 overall with ROI data not available, the institution balances practical outcomes with budget-friendly pricing.

At $8,868 annually, students gain access to career-focused programs leading to $56,983 median earnings. The 37.5% graduation rate reflects reasonable completion metrics for a university. While 70.9% retention suggests adequate student support.

University Value: Clayton State University's Strengths

Ranked #1179 with a B- grade, Clayton State University prioritizes accessibility and local career connections over national prestige.

Primary Strengths: Universitys like Clayton State University excel at providing affordable education ($8,868 annually) with strong local employer relationships. Many programs emphasize practical skills and internships within the regional economy.

Best For: Students planning to work in the region after graduation benefit from established employer connections. Adult learners and part-time students appreciate flexible scheduling. First-generation students and budget-conscious families gain degrees without overwhelming debt.

Honest Assessment: Clayton State University's 70.9% retention and 37.5% graduation rate trail elite universities but align with typical university performance. Career outcomes ($56,983 median earnings) reflect regional job markets more than national opportunities.

Value Verdict: For students committed to regional careers, Clayton State University and $8,868 cost deliver solid value. Those seeking national job mobility or prestigious credentials should compare against flagship state universities or targeted private scholarships.

Key Takeaways

  • 37.5% graduation rate sits 25.0 points below the national 62.5% benchmark.
  • 70.9% first-year retention is 5.9 points below the national norm of 76.8%.
  • Median earnings of $56,983 run about 8% lower than national outcomes five years after graduation.
  • Average net price of $8,868 is roughly $11,040 lower than the national median of $19,908.
  • 90.0% employment rate within three years is 21.8 points above the national 68.2%.

Helpfulness for Students

Green Flags
  • 20:1 student-faculty ratio keeps mentorship close and courses discussion-sized.
  • 70.9% first-year retention shows students stay engaged after the first year.
  • 90.0% employment rate within three years sits 21.8 points above national outcomes.
Red Flags
  • Budget carefully for clinical travel, off-campus housing, and practicum fees to avoid surprise costs.
  • Compare aid offers from nearby public universities to weigh the premium for smaller classes.
  • Compare aid offers from nearby public universities to weigh the premium for smaller classes.
EDsmart Expert Analysis

Clayton State University, a public university in Morrow, GA, secures a B- grade in our latest review. It holds a #1179 overall ranking Grades by category break down as Completion C+, Support C+, Career Outcomes B-, and Affordability A-.

Grades are assigned relative to EDsmart's national bachelor's cohort using standardized outcomes (2026 methodology); they reflect how a school compares to peers, not a fixed percentage of a raw point total.

Student momentum is strong: 70.9% retention, 37.5% graduation within 150% of normal time, and 45.6% earning an award within eight years. Review the cost and aid tables for a full picture of value.

Why it matters: this snapshot shows how likely you are to stay on track academically and whether the outcomes justify the price tag. Letter grades summarize cohort-relative performance—not a single exam-style score.

EDsmart Financial Snapshot

Families pay about $8,868 on average after aid, compared with a published cost near $18,397.

Institutional and federal aid lower costs by roughly $9,529 per year.

Graduates leave with a median of $25,250 in federal loans, which lines up with national norms.

About 50.4% of students receive Pell Grants, giving a snapshot of the campus income mix.

Why it matters: lining up sticker price, aid, and typical debt helps you stress-test the budget before you commit.

EDsmart Career Snapshot

Median earnings come in near $56,983 five years after graduation. This is roughly 8% below typical U.S. college outcomes.

The three-year employment rate is close to 90.0%.

Use the ROI table above to estimate how long it may take to recoup your degree costs.

Why it matters: pairing median earnings with employment rates gives you a sense of payback time after graduation.

EDsmart Admissions Snapshot

68.5% of applicants receive offers, so preparation and fit matter.

The admissions team encourages students to highlight academic strengths through transcripts, essays, and recommendations.

Prospective students can apply early for priority review and lean on the Clayton State University admissions site for deadlines, visit options, and counselor contacts.

Why it matters: knowing the admit rate and application expectations lets you map out testing, essays, and deadlines with less stress.

EDsmart Verdict
1.95 / 5
Value Rating - Based on affordability and career outcomes

Your Decision Toolkit

Run the Net Price Calculator
Get your personalized cost estimate
Compare with similar schools
See how Clayton State University stacks up to alternatives
Check your major's earnings
See ROI for your specific field of study
Visit the campus
Schedule a campus tour or virtual visit
Visit Clayton State University Website →

Cite this profile

Add your access date when you publish.

APA (7th): EDsmart. (2026). Clayton State University: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings. https://www.edsmart.org/schools/clayton-state-university/

MLA (9th): “Clayton State University: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings.” EDsmart, 2026, www.edsmart.org/schools/clayton-state-university/.

Chicago: EDsmart. “Clayton State University: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings.” https://www.edsmart.org/schools/clayton-state-university/.

Similar Schools

Institutions with similar academic profiles, selectivity, and outcomes

Nearby Schools

Other campuses you might consider

Other Georgia campuses you might consider

Columbus State University
Columbus, GA
B- #1187 of 1,934
LaGrange College
Lagrange, GA
B- #1131 of 1,934
Piedmont University
Demorest, GA
B- #1112 of 1,934
Georgia Southern University
Statesboro, GA
B- #1106 of 1,934

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Clayton State University's acceptance rate?

Clayton State University's acceptance rate is 68.5%, based on U.S. Department of Education admissions data.

How much does Clayton State University cost?

At Clayton State University, listed tuition and fees are $5,240 per year, and the average net price after aid is $8,868. Use the net price calculator on this page for a personalized estimate.

What is Clayton State University's ranking?

Clayton State University ranks #1179 overall in EDsmart's 2026 college rankings with an overall grade of B-, based on completion, affordability, support, and career outcomes.

What is Clayton State University's graduation rate?

At Clayton State University, the graduation rate within 150% of normal time is 37.5% (the rate used in EDsmart rankings), the federal 8-year award rate is 45.6%, and first-year retention is 70.9%.

What are Clayton State University's job outcomes?

Graduates of Clayton State University report median earnings of $56,983 five years after graduation, according to U.S. Department of Education outcome data. Outcomes vary by major.

What is Clayton State University's student population?

Clayton State University enrolls about 4,348 undergraduate students, per U.S. Department of Education enrollment data.

Contact Information

  • AccreditationSouthern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCC)
  • Endowment$19.6M
  • Transfer Enrollment Rate28.8%

Data Source & Methodology ▼