Columbia Southern University Logo

Columbia Southern University

Orange Beach, AL | Private For-Profit | University

Columbia Southern University has annual tuition of $6,760, average net price of $14,580, and a national rank of #1714 (Grade C), with a 33.3% graduation rate within 150% of normal time, about 12,176 undergraduates, and median earnings of $80,589 four years after graduation. Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard and EDsmart's 2026 rankings.

Columbia Southern University is a private for-profit institution in Orange Beach, AL. Students most often pursue Quality Control and Safety Technologies/Technicians and Fire Protection.

Academically, students benefit from a 37:1 student-faculty ratio, and 71.0% first-year retention. Peer cohorts and advising networks provide scaffolding that keeps newcomers anchored during demanding semesters.

EDsmart calculates return on investment at 122.0%, roughly 72.1 points higher than typical outcomes. It's a compelling fit for students who appreciate an encouraging campus with room to explore.

C
Ranking
#1714 of 1,947
How We Rank Schools Lower tuitionHigher pay after collegeSolid ROI potential
At a Glance
Ranking
#1714 of 1,947 (Top 88%)
Tuition
$6,760
Net Price
$14,580
4-Year Tuition
$27,040
Acceptance Rate
Not reported
Transfer Rate
0.0%
Student Population
12,176
Student-Faculty
37:1
Grad Rate (150% time)
33.3%
Grad Rate (8-year)
47.9%
Retention Rate
71.0%
4-Yr Earnings
$80,589
ROI
122.0%

Who is Columbia Southern University Best For?

A quick look at who tends to feel most at home here based on outcomes and campus context.

Students aiming for strong salaries
Career maximizers chasing high ROI
Families tracking affordability closely
Students seeking strong career outcomes

EDsmart Scores Summary

Overall Ranking
#1714 of 1,947
Top 88% of all institutions
EDsmart Score
12.0 / 100 (national index)
Curved score (top institution = 100.0)
Value Rating
0.60 / 5
Based on ROI and outcomes
Completion
C+
#1,587 of 1,947
Affordability
B
#833 of 1,947
Support
D
#1,907 of 1,947
Career Outcomes
A-
#210 of 1,947

Columbia Southern University graduates 33.3% of students within 150% of normal time (the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings), with an 8-year award rate of 47.9% and keeps 71.0% of first-year students. Affordability earns a B compared with similar schools.

How we calculate this →

Cost & Financial Aid

Quick Answers

What does it cost?
Depends on income
$12,913-$17,408 annual net price based on family income.
What's the graduation rate?
Challenging
33.3% graduate within 150% of normal time (the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings). The College Scorecard 8-year award rate is 47.9%. 24.4% complete in four years (IPEDS 100% time).
What are job outcomes?
Highly likely
85.2% of alumni are employed within three years of leaving. Median earnings four years after graduation are $80,589. Pay varies by major.
Get Your Personalized Cost Estimate

The costs shown are averages. Use Columbia Southern University's net price calculator to get an estimate based on your family's financial situation.

Calculate Your Net Price →

Total Degree Cost Summary

4-Year Total Cost (Pay with Cash)
$72,904
$18,226 × 4 years
Average Total Cost (Pay with Financial Aid)
$66,083
$14,580 × 4.5 years average
Time to Degree
Average: 4.5 years | 4-Year Rate: 24.4% | 6-Year Rate: 33.3% | 8-Year Rate: 47.9%
Most students finish in about four to five years. Four-year completion is 24.4% and six-year completion is 33.3%.

Annual Cost Comparison

Pay with Cash
$18,226
Total annual cost including tuition, books and living expenses; excluding any financial aid, grants or scholarships.
Pay with Financial Aid
$14,580
Average annual cost including tuition, books and living expenses after financial aid, grants or scholarships.

Cost of Undergraduate Attendance

Costs based on full-time, first-time degree- or certificate-seeking undergraduates.

View cost of attendance line items
Costs to Consider Price
Tuition and Fees $6,760
Books and Supplies $0
On-Campus Room and Board Not reported
On-Campus Other Expenses Not reported
Total On-Campus Cost $18,226

Tip: focus on the rows that match your living plan—commuters can swap in off-campus estimates while residential students should budget for housing, meals, and incidental fees.

Students Receiving Aid

Pell Grant
24.2%
Federal Loan
0.0%

Use these bars to gauge how many classmates rely on need-based dollars—lower Pell or loan shares may signal a wealthier student body or generous institutional grants.

EDsmart Insight: About 24.2% of Columbia Southern University students receive Pell Grants — below the national average, highlighting ongoing affordability priorities.

AFFORDABILITY ALERT

If your family earns $75K-$110K: Expect to pay around $16,226/year

If your family earns $110K+: Expect to pay around $17,408/year

See all income brackets →

ROI & Career Outcomes

Return on Investment
122.0%
Based on 6-year median earnings vs. total degree cost
  • Median Earnings (4 Years After Graduation) $80,589
  • 10-Year Median Earnings $63,534
  • Average Years to Graduate 4.5 years
  • Average Student Debt $21,339
  • Repayment Rate (3yr) 43.4%
  • Employment Rate 85.2%

Graduate Earnings Distribution

Earnings range for Columbia Southern University graduates 6 years after enrollment, showing the 25th percentile, median, and 75th percentile. This illustrates the variation in outcomes across different majors and career paths.

Graduates earn a median of $80,589 four years after graduation — roughly 33% above the national median.
Payback Period
0.82 years
Total Degree Cost ÷ Annual Earnings

Columbia Southern University vs. National Average

Comparison of key performance metrics showing how Columbia Southern University's outcomes compare to the national average across earnings, graduation rates, retention, ROI, and employment. This contextualizes Columbia Southern University's performance within the broader higher education landscape.

EDsmart Insight: Columbia Southern University graduates report median earnings of $80,589 four years after graduation, +33% above the national median. The 122.0% ROI indicates solid long-term value.

Acceptance & Selectivity

Getting In

Acceptance Rate
Not reported
Extremely Selective
National Average
69%
Average acceptance rate
  • SAT Evidence-Based Reading Not reported
  • SAT Math Not reported
  • SAT Writing Not reported
  • ACT Composite Not reported
  • SAT & ACTNot required
  • Undergraduate Enrollment 12,176
  • Full-Time Students 65.6%
  • Part-Time Students 34.4%
  • Retention Rate 71.0%
  • Grad Rate (150% time) 33.3%
  • Grad Rate (8-year) 47.9%
  • Student-Faculty Ratio 37:1

How to Get Into Columbia Southern University

1. Meet Academic Requirements: Columbia Southern University requires strong academic performance. Aim for test scores within the reported ranges and maintain a competitive GPA. Most admitted students rank in the top 10% of their high school class.

2. Build a Strong Application: Beyond test scores, focus on crafting compelling essays, securing strong letters of recommendation, and highlighting extracurricular activities that demonstrate leadership and commitment.

3. Understand Selectivity: With an acceptance rate of Not reported, Columbia Southern University is selective. Consider applying early decision if available, as early applicants often have higher acceptance rates.

4. Financial Planning: Review the net price calculator and financial aid options early. Many students receive significant aid, making the actual cost lower than the sticker price.

Tip: Contact the admissions office directly for the most current application requirements, deadlines, and any special programs (like early decision or early action) that might improve your chances.

Academic Programs

Undergraduate Program Distribution

Breakdown of the most popular majors and fields of study among Columbia Southern University undergraduates. Business Administration, Management and Operations, Quality Control and Safety Technologies/Technician, and Fire Protection draw the most students.

  • Business Administration, Management and Operations 30.1%
  • Quality Control and Safety Technologies/Technician 23.2%
  • Fire Protection 13.7%
  • Criminal Justice and Corrections 8.1%
  • Health and Medical Administrative Services 5.9%
  • Human Resources Management and Services 4.9%
See more majors
  • Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Profe 3.2%
  • Computer and Information Sciences, General 3.1%

Highest Earning Programs

Median earnings five years after graduation for each program. These figures help illustrate ROI by field of study and degree level.

Undergraduate Programs (Bachelor's Degrees)

  • 1. Quality Control and Safety Technologies/Technicians $91,754
  • 2. Fire Protection $87,912
  • 3. Quality Control and Safety Technologies/Technicians $85,911
Show additional high-earning majors
  • 4. Quality Control and Safety Technologies/Technicians $84,183
  • 5. Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions $83,927
  • 6. Computer and Information Sciences, General $82,769
  • 7. Natural Resources Conservation and Research $80,703
  • 8. Fire Protection $80,640
  • 9. Business Administration, Management and Operations $78,497
  • 10. Natural Resources Conservation and Research $74,518

Graduate Programs (Master's, Doctoral, Professional)

  • 1. Quality Control and Safety Technologies/Technicians (Master's Degree) $94,061
  • 2. Homeland Security (Master's Degree) $83,721
  • 3. Public Administration (Master's Degree) $80,102
Show additional graduate majors
  • 4. Quality Control and Safety Technologies/Technicians (Post-Baccalaureate Certificate) $77,603
  • 5. Business Administration, Management and Operations (Master's Degree) $75,617
  • 6. Criminal Justice and Corrections (Master's Degree) $62,524
  • 7. Public Health (Master's Degree) $58,278

Program Choice Matters: Undergraduate: Quality Control and Safety Technologies/Technicians grads earn $91,754—23% more than Natural Resources Conservation and Research ($74,518). Graduate: Quality Control and Safety Technologies/Technicians programs lead with $94,061 median earnings. Your program and degree level choice significantly impact career earnings.

Online Degrees & Distance Learning

College Scorecard does not list any fully online degree programs for Columbia Southern University. This institution may offer hybrid or partially online courses, but no fully online degree programs are reported in the latest data release.
Source: U.S. Department of Education – College Scorecard

Student Demographics

Student Population

  • Total Undergraduate Enrollment 12,176
  • Full-Time Students 65.6%
  • Part-Time Students 34.4%
  • Male Students 64.0%
  • Female Students 36.0%
  • Caucasian 60.8%
  • Asian 1.5%
  • Hispanic 1.3%
  • Black 18.9%
  • Pell Grant Recipients 24.2%

Racial & Ethnic Diversity

Undergraduate student body composition by racial and ethnic background. This reflects Columbia Southern University's commitment to diversity and inclusion in admissions.

Gender Distribution

Gender breakdown of Columbia Southern University's undergraduate population. The university maintains a roughly balanced gender distribution across its student body.

Graduation Rate Equity Analysis

How well does Columbia Southern University support students from different economic backgrounds?

Pell Grant Recipients
34.9%
6-year graduation rate
Non-Pell Students
28.9%
6-year graduation rate
Equity Gap
6.0 pts
good equity

What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at a similar rate as higher-income students, indicating adequate institutional support for all economic backgrounds.

Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity

Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity

Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at Columbia Southern University, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.

EDsmart Insight: Men make up 64.0% of undergraduates. About 24.2% receive Pell Grants, below the national average of 38%, suggesting a wealthier student body or generous institutional aid.

Graduation Rate Equity Analysis

How well does Columbia Southern University support students from different economic backgrounds?

Pell Grant Recipients
34.9%
6-year graduation rate
Non-Pell Students
28.9%
6-year graduation rate
Equity Gap
6.0 pts
good equity

What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at a similar rate as higher-income students, indicating adequate institutional support for all economic backgrounds.

Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity

Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity

Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at Columbia Southern University, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.

Our Take

Columbia Southern University ranks #1714 of 1947 institutions in our comprehensive analysis, achieving a C overall grade with 122.0% ROI.

At $14,580 annually, the institution serves students seeking accessible higher education. Career outcomes and value metrics should be carefully compared against alternative institutions before enrolling.

EDsmart Assessment: Columbia Southern University

C grade | #1714 of 1947 | 12.0/100 on EDsmart's national index (0–100 vs. all ranked schools; not a raw point total)

Performance Overview: Columbia Southern University's 122.0% return on investment and #1714 ranking reflect the institution's competitive position in the higher education landscape. The $14,580 annual cost should be carefully weighed against expected career outcomes.

Value Considerations: Prospective students should compare Columbia Southern University's specific programs against alternatives, as institutional averages may not reflect individual program quality. Financial aid packages, program-specific outcomes, and career services vary significantly.

Decision Framework: Use Columbia Southern University's C grade and #1714 ranking as starting points, not final answers. Evaluate program-specific outcomes, campus visit impressions, financial aid offers, and career placement rates in your intended field before making enrollment decisions.

Key Takeaways

  • 33.3% graduation rate sits 29.2 points below the national 62.5% benchmark.
  • 71.0% first-year retention is 5.8 points below the national norm of 76.8%.
  • 122.0% return on investment is 72.1 points above the national 49.9% benchmark.
  • Median earnings of $80,589 run about 33% higher than national outcomes four years after graduation.
  • Average net price of $14,580 is roughly $5,499 lower than the national median of $20,079.

Helpfulness for Students

Green Flags
  • 37:1 student-faculty ratio keeps mentorship close and courses discussion-sized.
  • 71.0% first-year retention shows students stay engaged after the first year.
  • 85.2% employment rate within three years sits 17.0 points above national outcomes.
Red Flags
  • Pell participation at 24.2% trails the national share by 10.2 points, so equity work remains important.
  • Compare aid offers from nearby public universities to weigh the premium for smaller classes.
  • Compare aid offers from nearby public universities to weigh the premium for smaller classes.
EDsmart Expert Analysis

Columbia Southern University is a private for-profit institution based in Orange Beach, AL and earns a C overall grade. It stands at #1714 among 1962 schools Category results include Completion (C+), Support (D), Career Outcomes (A-), and Affordability (B).

Grades are assigned relative to EDsmart's national bachelor's cohort using standardized outcomes (2026 methodology); they reflect how a school compares to peers, not a fixed percentage of a raw point total.

About 71.0% of first-year students return; 33.3% graduate within 150% of normal time, with an 8-year award rate of 47.9%. EDsmart calculates the ROI at 122.0%, offering a quick value checkpoint.

Why it matters: this snapshot shows how likely you are to stay on track academically and whether the outcomes justify the price tag. Letter grades summarize cohort-relative performance—not a single exam-style score.

EDsmart Financial Snapshot

Families pay about $14,580 on average after aid, compared with a published cost near $18,226.

Institutional and federal aid lower costs by roughly $3,646 per year.

Graduates leave with a median of $21,339 in federal loans, which lines up with national norms.

About 24.2% of students receive Pell Grants, giving a snapshot of the campus income mix.

Why it matters: lining up sticker price, aid, and typical debt helps you stress-test the budget before you commit.

EDsmart Career Snapshot

Graduates report median earnings of about $80,589 four years after graduation. This is roughly 33% above typical U.S. college outcomes.

Roughly 85.2% of graduates are employed three years out.

Plan around an ROI of about 122.0% according to the Scorecard data.

Why it matters: pairing median earnings with employment rates gives you a sense of payback time after graduation.

EDsmart Admissions Snapshot

This institution has not reported a current acceptance rate.

The admissions team encourages students to highlight academic strengths through transcripts, essays, and recommendations.

Prospective students can apply early for priority review and lean on the Columbia Southern University admissions site for deadlines, visit options, and counselor contacts.

Why it matters: knowing the admit rate and application expectations lets you map out testing, essays, and deadlines with less stress.

EDsmart Verdict
0.60 / 5
Value Rating - Based on affordability and career outcomes

Your Decision Toolkit

Run the Net Price Calculator
Get your personalized cost estimate
Compare with similar schools
See how Columbia Southern University stacks up to alternatives
Check your major's earnings
See ROI for your specific field of study
Visit the campus
Schedule a campus tour or virtual visit
Visit Columbia Southern University Website →

Similar Schools

Institutions with similar academic profiles, selectivity, and outcomes

Nearby Schools

Other campuses you might consider

Other Alabama campuses you might consider

Miles College
Fairfield, AL
C #1718 of 1,947
United States Sports University
Daphne, AL
C #1702 of 1,947
South University-Montgomery
Montgomery, AL
C #1732 of 1,947
Talladega College
Talladega, AL
C #1671 of 1,947

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does Columbia Southern University cost?

At Columbia Southern University, listed tuition and fees are $6,760 per year, and the average net price after aid is $14,580. Use the net price calculator on this page for a personalized estimate.

What is Columbia Southern University's ranking?

Columbia Southern University ranks #1714 nationally in EDsmart's 2026 college rankings with an overall grade of C, based on completion, affordability, support, and career outcomes.

What is Columbia Southern University's graduation rate?

At Columbia Southern University, the graduation rate within 150% of normal time is 33.3% (the rate used in EDsmart rankings), College Scorecard 8-year award rate is 47.9%, and first-year retention is 71.0%.

What are Columbia Southern University's job outcomes?

Graduates of Columbia Southern University report median earnings of $80,589 four years after graduation, according to College Scorecard federal outcome data. Outcomes vary by major.

What is Columbia Southern University's student population?

Columbia Southern University enrolls about 12,176 undergraduate students, per College Scorecard enrollment data.

Contact Information

  • AccreditationSouthern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCC)

Data Source & Methodology ▼