Columbus State University Logo

Columbus State University

Columbus, GA | Public | University

Columbus State University has an acceptance rate of 99.1%, an average net price of $15,711, and an overall rank of #1187 (Grade B-). About 42.0% of students graduate within 150% of normal time, and median earnings are $58,000 five years after graduation. Data from the U.S. Department of Education and EDsmart's 2026 rankings.

Columbus State University is a public university in Columbus, GA. Students most often pursue Computer and Information Sciences and Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing.

Inside the classroom, students benefit from a 16:1 student-faculty ratio, and 69.7% first-year retention. Faculty pair challenging syllabi with intentional mentoring so learners keep momentum even as expectations rise.

EDsmart calculates return on investment at 75.6%, roughly 25.7 points higher than typical outcomes. Expect the strongest outcomes for students who appreciate an encouraging campus with room to explore.

B-
Ranking
#1187 of 1,934
How We Rank Schools Public school option
At a Glance
Ranking
#1187 of 1,934 (Top 61.4%)
Tuition
$5,898
Net Price
$15,711
4-Year Tuition
$23,592
Acceptance Rate
99.1%
Transfer Rate
29.3%
Student Population
5,625
Student-Faculty
16:1
Grad Rate (150% time)
42.0%
Grad Rate (8-year)
47.1%
Retention Rate
69.7%
4-Yr Earnings
$58,000
ROI
Not reported

Who is Columbus State University Best For?

A quick look at who tends to feel most at home here based on outcomes and campus context.

First-gen or Pell-eligible support
Students valuing supportive learning environments

EDsmart Scores Summary

Overall Ranking
#1187 of 1,934
Top 61.4% of all institutions
EDsmart Score
38.7 / 100 (national index)
Curved score (top institution = 100.0)
Value Rating
1.93 / 5
Based on ROI and outcomes
Completion
C+
#1,390 of 1,934
Affordability
B+
#455 of 1,934
Support
B-
#1,367 of 1,934
Career Outcomes
B-
#1,197 of 1,934

Columbus State University graduates 42.0% of students within 150% of normal time (the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings), with an 8-year award rate of 47.1% and keeps 69.7% of first-year students. Affordability earns a B+ compared with similar schools.

How we calculate this →

Cost & Financial Aid

Quick Answers

What does it cost?
Depends on income
$14,389-$20,226 annual net price based on family income.
What's the graduation rate?
Somewhat likely
42.0% graduate within 150% of normal time (the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings). The federal 8-year award rate is 47.1%. 23.4% complete in four years (IPEDS 100% time).
What are job outcomes?
Highly likely
90.6% of alumni are employed within three years of leaving. Median earnings five years after graduation are $58,000. Pay varies by major.
Get Your Personalized Cost Estimate

The costs shown are averages. Use Columbus State University's net price calculator to get an estimate based on your family's financial situation.

Calculate Your Net Price →

Total Degree Cost Summary

4-Year Total Cost (Pay with Cash)
$98,180
$24,545 × 4 years
Average Total Cost (Pay with Financial Aid)
$76,759
$15,711 × 4.9 years average
Time to Degree
Average: 4.9 years | 4-Year Rate: 23.4% | 6-Year Rate: 42.0% | 8-Year Rate: 47.1%
Most students finish in about four to five years. Four-year completion is 23.4% and six-year completion is 42.0%.

Annual Cost Comparison

Pay with Cash
$24,545
Total annual cost including tuition, books and living expenses; excluding any financial aid, grants or scholarships.
Pay with Financial Aid
$15,711
Average annual cost including tuition, books and living expenses after financial aid, grants or scholarships.

Est. annual aid gap: $8,834 Cash cost of attendance minus average net price after aid.

Cost of Undergraduate Attendance

Costs based on full-time, first-time degree- or certificate-seeking undergraduates.

View cost of attendance line items
Costs to Consider Price
Tuition and Fees $5,898
Books and Supplies $1,760
On-Campus Room and Board $12,070
On-Campus Other Expenses $6,460
Total On-Campus Cost $24,545

Tip: focus on the rows that match your living plan—commuters can swap in off-campus estimates while residential students should budget for housing, meals, and incidental fees.

Students Receiving Aid

Pell Grant
49.9%
Federal Loan
36.3%

Use these bars to gauge how many classmates rely on need-based dollars—lower Pell or loan shares may signal a wealthier student body or generous institutional grants.

EDsmart Insight: About 49.9% of Columbus State University students receive Pell Grants — well above the national average, highlighting ongoing affordability priorities.

Net Price by Family Income

Average annual net price after financial aid, based on family income. Your actual cost may vary depending on your specific financial situation.

$0 - $30,000
$14,389
Average annual cost for families earning $0-$30K
$30,001 - $48,000
$14,258
Average annual cost for families earning $30K-$48K
$48,001 - $75,000
$15,353
Average annual cost for families earning $48K-$75K
$75,001 - $110,000
$18,899
Average annual cost for families earning $75K-$110K
$110,001+
$20,226
Average annual cost for families earning $110K+

Understanding These Numbers: Net price varies significantly by income level. Net prices range from $14,389 to $20,226 depending on family income. Use Columbus State University's net price calculator for a personalized estimate.

Typical total cost estimates (~4.9 years):
$0-$30K families
~$70,300
$30K-$48K families
~$69,660
$48K-$75K families
~$75,010
$75K-$110K families
~$92,334
AFFORDABILITY ALERT

If your family earns $75K-$110K: Expect to pay around $18,899/year

If your family earns $110K+: Expect to pay around $20,226/year

See all income brackets →

ROI & Career Outcomes

Return on Investment
Not reported
Based on median earnings five years after graduation vs. total degree cost
  • Median Earnings (5 Years After Graduation) $58,000
  • 10-Year Median Earnings $49,706
  • Average Years to Graduate 4.9 years
  • Average Student Debt $23,968
  • Debt-to-Earnings ~41.3%
  • Repayment Rate (3yr) 37.6%
  • Employment Rate 90.6%

Graduate Earnings Distribution

Earnings range for Columbus State University graduates about 10 years after enrollment (25th percentile, median, and 75th percentile). Different horizon than median earnings five years after graduation above.

Graduates earn a median of $58,000 five years after graduation — roughly 6% below the national median.
Payback Period
1.32 years
Total Degree Cost ÷ Annual Earnings

Columbus State University vs. National Average

Comparison of key performance metrics showing how Columbus State University's outcomes compare to the national average across earnings, graduation rates, retention, ROI, and employment. This contextualizes Columbus State University's performance within the broader higher education landscape.

Acceptance & Selectivity

Getting In

Acceptance Rate
99.1%
Lightly Selective
National Average
69%
Average acceptance rate
  • SAT Evidence-Based Reading 440-530
  • SAT Math 360-530
  • SAT Writing Not reported
  • ACT Composite 16-22
  • SAT & ACT Required
  • Undergraduate Enrollment 5,625
  • Full-Time Students 72.2%
  • Part-Time Students 27.8%
  • Retention Rate 69.7%
  • Grad Rate (150% time) 42.0%
  • Grad Rate (8-year) 47.1%
  • Student-Faculty Ratio 16:1

How to Get Into Columbus State University

1. Meet Academic Requirements: Columbus State University requires strong academic performance. Aim for test scores within the reported ranges and maintain a competitive GPA. Most admitted students rank in the top 10% of their high school class.

2. Build a Strong Application: Beyond test scores, focus on crafting compelling essays, securing strong letters of recommendation, and highlighting extracurricular activities that demonstrate leadership and commitment.

3. Understand Selectivity: With an acceptance rate of 99.1%, Columbus State University is relatively open. Consider applying early decision if available, as early applicants often have higher acceptance rates.

4. Financial Planning: Review the net price calculator and financial aid options early. Many students receive significant aid, making the actual cost lower than the sticker price.

Tip: Contact the admissions office directly for the most current application requirements, deadlines, and any special programs (like early decision or early action) that might improve your chances.

EDsmart Insight: With a 99.1% acceptance rate, Columbus State University is more accessible than highly selective schools. Meeting the test score ranges and maintaining a solid GPA significantly improves admission chances. The middle 50% of admitted students score between 800 and 1060 on the SAT.

Academic Programs

Undergraduate Program Distribution

Breakdown of the most popular majors and fields of study among Columbus State University undergraduates. Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing, Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, Gen, and Communication and Media Studies draw the most students.

  • Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing 18.9%
  • Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, Gen 6.1%
  • Communication and Media Studies 5.5%
  • Computer and Information Sciences, General 5.5%
  • Biology, General 4.7%
  • Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitnes 4.6%
See more majors
  • Criminal Justice and Corrections 4.6%
  • Sociology 4.6%

Highest Earning Programs

Median earnings five years after graduation for each program. These figures help illustrate ROI by field of study and degree level.

Undergraduate Programs (Bachelor's Degrees)

  • 1. Computer and Information Sciences, General $93,070
  • 2. Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing $82,023
  • 3. Finance and Financial Management Services $58,109
Show additional high-earning majors
  • 4. Marketing $55,417
  • 5. Criminal Justice and Corrections $55,292
  • 6. Business/Commerce, General $54,271
  • 7. Management Information Systems and Services $53,153
  • 8. Accounting and Related Services $53,104
  • 9. Business Administration, Management and Operations $51,469
  • 10. Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas $48,884

Graduate Programs (Master's, Doctoral, Professional)

  • 1. Education, Other (Doctoral Degree) $105,126
  • 2. Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing (Master's Degree) $101,632
  • 3. Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services, Other (Master's Degree) $99,441
Show additional graduate majors
  • 4. Computer and Information Sciences, General (Master's Degree) $87,845
  • 5. Criminal Justice and Corrections (Master's Degree) $79,972
  • 6. Educational Administration and Supervision (First Professional Degree) $79,116
  • 7. Educational Administration and Supervision (Doctoral Degree) $78,235
  • 8. Business Administration, Management and Operations (Master's Degree) $75,699
  • 9. Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods (Doctoral Degree) $67,851
  • 10. Special Education and Teaching (Master's Degree) $62,060

Program Choice Matters: Undergraduate: Computer and Information Sciences, General grads earn $93,070—90% more than Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas ($48,884). Graduate: Education, Other programs lead with $105,126 median earnings. Your program and degree level choice significantly impact career earnings.

Online Degrees & Distance Learning

U.S. Department of Education data reports fully online programs for Columbus State University. Below are the most popular options based on the number of recent graduates, followed by a quick look at the breadth of online offerings by degree level.
Source: U.S. Department of Education

Most Popular Online Degrees

  • Criminal Justice and Corrections (Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma, 77 graduates)
  • Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods (Master's Degree, 68 graduates)
  • Computer and Information Sciences, General (Bachelor's Degree, 61 graduates)
  • Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General (Bachelor's Degree, 61 graduates)
  • Biology, General (Bachelor's Degree, 59 graduates)

What This School Offers Online, at a Glance

U.S. Department of Education data flags the following online degree and certificate programs for this institution. Expand each credential level to view the complete list of available subjects.

Online Bachelor's Degrees (27 programs)▼
  • Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General
  • Computer and Information Sciences, General
  • Biology, General
  • Business/Commerce, General
  • Communication and Media Studies
  • Psychology, General
  • Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness
  • Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods
  • English Language and Literature, General
  • Sociology
  • Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft
  • Fine and Studio Arts
  • Accounting and Related Services
  • Music
  • Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas
  • History
  • Management Information Systems and Services
  • Geological and Earth Sciences/Geosciences
  • Chemistry
  • Political Science and Government
  • Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management
  • Special Education and Teaching
  • Mathematics
  • Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and Services
  • Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
  • Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies
  • Mechatronics, Robotics, and Automation Engineering
Online Master's Degrees (10 programs)▼
  • Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods
  • Criminal Justice and Corrections
  • Special Education and Teaching
  • Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas
  • Student Counseling and Personnel Services
  • Music
  • Natural Resources Conservation and Research
  • Mechatronics, Robotics, and Automation Engineering
  • Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness
  • History
Online Graduate/Professional Certificates (11 programs)▼
  • Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods
  • Educational Administration and Supervision
  • Music
  • Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management
  • Human Resources Management and Services
  • Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language
  • Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas
  • Student Counseling and Personnel Services
  • Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions
  • Medical Illustration and Informatics
  • Gerontology
Online Undergraduate Certificates & Diplomas (19 programs)▼
  • Criminal Justice and Corrections
  • Computer and Information Sciences, General
  • Film/Video and Photographic Arts
  • Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management
  • Computer Software and Media Applications
  • Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language
  • Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
  • International/Globalization Studies
  • Medieval and Renaissance Studies
  • Mathematics and Statistics, Other
  • Geography and Cartography
  • Communication and Media Studies
  • Business/Commerce, General
  • Area Studies
  • Music
  • Mechatronics, Robotics, and Automation Engineering
  • Mathematics
  • Design and Applied Arts
  • Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services, Other

Student Demographics

Student Population

  • Total Undergraduate Enrollment 5,625
  • Full-Time Students 72.2%
  • Part-Time Students 27.8%
  • Male Students 43.2%
  • Female Students 56.8%
  • Caucasian 41.5%
  • Asian 2.5%
  • Hispanic 9.3%
  • Black 37.3%
  • Pell Grant Recipients 49.9%

Racial & Ethnic Diversity

Undergraduate student body composition by racial and ethnic background. This reflects Columbus State University's commitment to diversity and inclusion in admissions.

Gender Distribution

Gender breakdown of Columbus State University's undergraduate population. The university maintains a roughly balanced gender distribution across its student body.

Graduation Rate Equity Analysis

How well does Columbus State University support students from different economic backgrounds?

Pell Grant Recipients
35.2%
6-year graduation rate
Non-Pell Students
51.1%
6-year graduation rate
Equity Gap
15.9 pts
equity gap to monitor

What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at a different rate as higher-income students, indicating varying levels of institutional support for all economic backgrounds.

Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity

Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity

Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at Columbus State University, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.

EDsmart Insight: Columbus State University has a diverse student body, with 41.5% identifying as White.

Graduation Rate Equity Analysis

How well does Columbus State University support students from different economic backgrounds?

Pell Grant Recipients
35.2%
6-year graduation rate
Non-Pell Students
51.1%
6-year graduation rate
Equity Gap
15.9 pts
equity gap to monitor

What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at a different rate as higher-income students, indicating varying levels of institutional support for all economic backgrounds.

Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity

Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity

Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at Columbus State University, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.

Our Take

Columbus State University serves as an affordable university for students seeking quality education without elite university costs. Ranked #1187 overall with ROI data not available, the institution balances practical outcomes with budget-friendly pricing.

At $15,711 annually, students gain access to career-focused programs leading to $58,000 median earnings. The 42.0% graduation rate reflects reasonable completion metrics for a university. While 69.7% retention suggests adequate student support.

University Value: Columbus State University's Strengths

Ranked #1187 with a B- grade, Columbus State University prioritizes accessibility and local career connections over national prestige.

Primary Strengths: Universitys like Columbus State University excel at providing affordable education ($15,711 annually) with strong local employer relationships. Many programs emphasize practical skills and internships within the regional economy.

Best For: Students planning to work in the region after graduation benefit from established employer connections. Adult learners and part-time students appreciate flexible scheduling. First-generation students and budget-conscious families gain degrees without overwhelming debt.

Honest Assessment: Columbus State University's 69.7% retention and 42.0% graduation rate trail elite universities but align with typical university performance. Career outcomes ($58,000 median earnings) reflect regional job markets more than national opportunities.

Value Verdict: For students committed to regional careers, Columbus State University and $15,711 cost deliver solid value. Those seeking national job mobility or prestigious credentials should compare against flagship state universities or targeted private scholarships.

Key Takeaways

  • 42.0% graduation rate sits 20.5 points below the national 62.5% benchmark.
  • 69.7% first-year retention is 7.1 points below the national norm of 76.8%.
  • Median earnings of $58,000 run about 6% lower than national outcomes five years after graduation.
  • Average net price of $15,711 is roughly $4,196 lower than the national median of $19,908.
  • 90.6% employment rate within three years is 22.4 points above the national 68.2%.

Helpfulness for Students

Green Flags
  • 16:1 student-faculty ratio keeps mentorship close and courses discussion-sized.
  • 69.7% first-year retention shows students stay engaged after the first year.
  • 90.6% employment rate within three years sits 22.4 points above national outcomes.
Red Flags
  • Budget carefully for clinical travel, off-campus housing, and practicum fees to avoid surprise costs.
  • Compare aid offers from nearby public universities to weigh the premium for smaller classes.
  • Compare aid offers from nearby public universities to weigh the premium for smaller classes.
EDsmart Expert Analysis

Columbus State University, a public university in Columbus, GA, secures a B- grade in our latest review. It stands at #1187 among 1934 schools Completion earns C+, Support B-, Career Outcomes B-, and Affordability B+.

Grades are assigned relative to EDsmart's national bachelor's cohort using standardized outcomes (2026 methodology); they reflect how a school compares to peers, not a fixed percentage of a raw point total.

69.7% of learners come back after year one while 42.0% graduate within 150% of normal time (47.1% within eight years). Review the cost and aid tables for a full picture of value.

Why it matters: this snapshot shows how likely you are to stay on track academically and whether the outcomes justify the price tag. Letter grades summarize cohort-relative performance—not a single exam-style score.

EDsmart Financial Snapshot

Families pay about $15,711 on average after aid, compared with a published cost near $24,545.

Institutional and federal aid lower costs by roughly $8,834 per year.

Graduates leave with a median of $23,968 in federal loans, which lines up with national norms.

About 49.9% of students receive Pell Grants, giving a snapshot of the campus income mix.

Why it matters: lining up sticker price, aid, and typical debt helps you stress-test the budget before you commit.

EDsmart Career Snapshot

Median earnings come in near $58,000 five years after graduation. That sits about 6% below the national median.

Roughly 90.6% of graduates are employed three years out.

Use the ROI table above to estimate how long it may take to recoup your degree costs.

Why it matters: pairing median earnings with employment rates gives you a sense of payback time after graduation.

EDsmart Admissions Snapshot

99.1% of applicants receive offers, so preparation and fit matter.

The admissions team encourages students to highlight academic strengths through transcripts, essays, and recommendations.

Prospective students can apply early for priority review and lean on the Columbus State University admissions site for deadlines, visit options, and counselor contacts.

Why it matters: knowing the admit rate and application expectations lets you map out testing, essays, and deadlines with less stress.

EDsmart Verdict
1.93 / 5
Value Rating - Based on affordability and career outcomes

Your Decision Toolkit

Run the Net Price Calculator
Get your personalized cost estimate
Compare with similar schools
See how Columbus State University stacks up to alternatives
Check your major's earnings
See ROI for your specific field of study
Visit the campus
Schedule a campus tour or virtual visit
Visit Columbus State University Website →

Cite this profile

Add your access date when you publish.

APA (7th): EDsmart. (2026). Columbus State University: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings. https://www.edsmart.org/schools/columbus-state-university/

MLA (9th): “Columbus State University: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings.” EDsmart, 2026, www.edsmart.org/schools/columbus-state-university/.

Chicago: EDsmart. “Columbus State University: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings.” https://www.edsmart.org/schools/columbus-state-university/.

Similar Schools

Institutions with similar academic profiles, selectivity, and outcomes

Nearby Schools

Other campuses you might consider

Other Georgia campuses you might consider

Clayton State University
Morrow, GA
B- #1179 of 1,934
LaGrange College
Lagrange, GA
B- #1131 of 1,934
Piedmont University
Demorest, GA
B- #1112 of 1,934
Georgia Southern University
Statesboro, GA
B- #1106 of 1,934

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Columbus State University's acceptance rate?

Columbus State University's acceptance rate is 99.1%, based on U.S. Department of Education admissions data.

How much does Columbus State University cost?

At Columbus State University, listed tuition and fees are $5,898 per year, and the average net price after aid is $15,711. Use the net price calculator on this page for a personalized estimate.

What is Columbus State University's ranking?

Columbus State University ranks #1187 overall in EDsmart's 2026 college rankings with an overall grade of B-, based on completion, affordability, support, and career outcomes.

What is Columbus State University's graduation rate?

At Columbus State University, the graduation rate within 150% of normal time is 42.0% (the rate used in EDsmart rankings), the federal 8-year award rate is 47.1%, and first-year retention is 69.7%.

What are Columbus State University's job outcomes?

Graduates of Columbus State University report median earnings of $58,000 five years after graduation, according to U.S. Department of Education outcome data. Outcomes vary by major.

What is Columbus State University's student population?

Columbus State University enrolls about 5,625 undergraduate students, per U.S. Department of Education enrollment data.

Contact Information

  • AccreditationSouthern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCC)
  • Endowment$95.4M
  • Transfer Enrollment Rate29.3%

Data Source & Methodology ▼