Criswell College
Criswell College has an acceptance rate of 100.0%, annual tuition of $15,750, average net price of $21,630, and a national rank of #90 (Grade A), with a 50.0% graduation rate within 150% of normal time, about 132 undergraduates, and median earnings of $66,210 four years after graduation. Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard and EDsmart's 2026 rankings.
Criswell College is a private nonprofit university in Dallas, TX. Students most often pursue Bible/Biblical Studies.
Academically, students benefit from a 5:1 student-faculty ratio, and 100.0% first-year retention. Peer cohorts and advising networks provide scaffolding that keeps newcomers anchored during demanding semesters.
EDsmart calculates return on investment at 51.0%, roughly 1.1 points higher than typical outcomes. It's a compelling fit for students who appreciate an encouraging campus with room to explore and students looking for meaningful faculty access.
Who is Criswell College Best For?
A quick look at who tends to feel most at home here based on outcomes and campus context.
EDsmart Scores Summary
Criswell College graduates 50.0% of students within 150% of normal time (the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings), with an 8-year award rate of 43.1% and keeps 100.0% of first-year students. Affordability earns a B compared with similar schools.
How we calculate this →Cost & Financial Aid
Quick Answers
The costs shown are averages. Use Criswell College's net price calculator to get an estimate based on your family's financial situation.
Calculate Your Net Price →Total Degree Cost Summary
Annual Cost Comparison
Cost of Undergraduate Attendance
Costs based on full-time, first-time degree- or certificate-seeking undergraduates.
View cost of attendance line items
| Costs to Consider | Price |
|---|---|
| Tuition and Fees | $15,750 |
| Books and Supplies | $1,842 |
| On-Campus Room and Board | $9,010 |
| On-Campus Other Expenses | $3,854 |
| Total On-Campus Cost | $27,748 |
Tip: focus on the rows that match your living plan—commuters can swap in off-campus estimates while residential students should budget for housing, meals, and incidental fees.
Students Receiving Aid
Use these bars to gauge how many classmates rely on need-based dollars—lower Pell or loan shares may signal a wealthier student body or generous institutional grants.
EDsmart Insight: About 42.4% of Criswell College students receive Pell Grants — above the national average, highlighting ongoing affordability priorities.
Net Price by Family Income
Average annual net price after financial aid, based on family income. Your actual cost may vary depending on your specific financial situation.
Understanding These Numbers: Net price varies significantly by income level. Net prices range from $20,353 to $23,900 depending on family income. Use Criswell College's net price calculator for a personalized estimate.
ROI & Career Outcomes
- Median Earnings (4 Years After Graduation) $66,210
- 10-Year Median Earnings $43,185
- Average Years to Graduate 6.0 years
- Average Student Debt $25,346
- Repayment Rate (3yr) 38.5%
- Employment Rate 83.9%
Graduate Earnings Distribution
Earnings range for Criswell College graduates 6 years after enrollment, showing the 25th percentile, median, and 75th percentile. This illustrates the variation in outcomes across different majors and career paths.
Criswell College vs. National Average
Comparison of key performance metrics showing how Criswell College's outcomes compare to the national average across earnings, graduation rates, retention, ROI, and employment. This contextualizes Criswell College's performance within the broader higher education landscape.
EDsmart Insight: Criswell College graduates earn $66,210 median four years after graduation, +10% above the national average. Earnings vary significantly by major—research your field's outcomes.
Acceptance & Selectivity
Getting In
- SAT Evidence-Based Reading Not reported
- SAT Math Not reported
- SAT Writing Not reported
- ACT Composite Not reported
- SAT & ACTNot required
- Undergraduate Enrollment 132
- Full-Time Students 84.8%
- Part-Time Students 15.2%
- Retention Rate 100.0%
- Grad Rate (150% time) 50.0%
- Grad Rate (8-year) 43.1%
- Student-Faculty Ratio 5:1
How to Get Into Criswell College
1. Meet Academic Requirements: Criswell College requires strong academic performance. Aim for test scores within the reported ranges and maintain a competitive GPA. Most admitted students rank in the top 10% of their high school class.
2. Build a Strong Application: Beyond test scores, focus on crafting compelling essays, securing strong letters of recommendation, and highlighting extracurricular activities that demonstrate leadership and commitment.
3. Understand Selectivity: With an acceptance rate of 100.0%, Criswell College is extremely selective. Consider applying early decision if available, as early applicants often have higher acceptance rates.
4. Financial Planning: Review the net price calculator and financial aid options early. Many students receive significant aid, making the actual cost lower than the sticker price.
Tip: Contact the admissions office directly for the most current application requirements, deadlines, and any special programs (like early decision or early action) that might improve your chances.
EDsmart Insight: With a 100.0% acceptance rate, Criswell College is more accessible than highly selective schools. Meeting the test score ranges and maintaining a solid GPA significantly improves admission chances.
Academic Programs
Undergraduate Program Distribution
Breakdown of the most popular majors and fields of study among Criswell College undergraduates. Bible/Biblical Studies, Psychology, General, and Philosophy, Politics, and Economics draw the most students.
- Bible/Biblical Studies 26.1%
- Psychology, General 26.1%
- Philosophy, Politics, and Economics 17.4%
- Missions/Missionary Studies and Missiology 13.0%
- Theological and Ministerial Studies 13.0%
- Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods 4.3%
See more majors
- Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other 0.0%
Highest Earning Programs
Median earnings five years after graduation for each program. These figures help illustrate ROI by field of study and degree level.
Undergraduate Programs (Bachelor's Degrees)
- 1. Bible/Biblical Studies $54,967
Program Choice Matters: Your program and degree level choice significantly impact career earnings.
Online Degrees & Distance Learning
College Scorecard reports fully online programs for Criswell College. Below are the most popular options based on the number of recent graduates, followed by a quick look at the breadth of online offerings by degree level.
Source: U.S. Department of Education – College Scorecard
Most Popular Online Degrees
- Theological and Ministerial Studies (Master's Degree, 9 graduates)
- Bible/Biblical Studies (Bachelor's Degree, 6 graduates)
- Psychology, General (Bachelor's Degree, 6 graduates)
- Philosophy, Politics, and Economics (Bachelor's Degree, 4 graduates)
- Missions/Missionary Studies and Missiology (Bachelor's Degree, 3 graduates)
What This School Offers Online, at a Glance
College Scorecard flags the following online degree and certificate programs for this institution. Expand each credential level to view the complete list of available subjects.
Online Bachelor's Degrees (6 programs)▼
- Psychology, General
- Bible/Biblical Studies
- Philosophy, Politics, and Economics
- Theological and Ministerial Studies
- Missions/Missionary Studies and Missiology
- Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods
Online Master's Degrees (2 programs)▼
- Theological and Ministerial Studies
- Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions
Student Demographics
Student Population
- Total Undergraduate Enrollment 132
- Full-Time Students 84.8%
- Part-Time Students 15.2%
- Male Students 46.2%
- Female Students 53.8%
- Caucasian 62.1%
- Asian 3.0%
- Hispanic 16.7%
- Black 9.1%
- Pell Grant Recipients 42.4%
Racial & Ethnic Diversity
Undergraduate student body composition by racial and ethnic background. This reflects Criswell College's commitment to diversity and inclusion in admissions.
Gender Distribution
Gender breakdown of Criswell College's undergraduate population. The university maintains a roughly balanced gender distribution across its student body.
Graduation Rate Equity Analysis
How well does Criswell College support students from different economic backgrounds?
What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at a different rate as higher-income students, indicating varying levels of institutional support for all economic backgrounds.
Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity
Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity
Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at Criswell College, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.
Graduation Rate Equity Analysis
How well does Criswell College support students from different economic backgrounds?
What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at a different rate as higher-income students, indicating varying levels of institutional support for all economic backgrounds.
Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity
Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity
Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at Criswell College, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.
Our Take
Ranking #90 nationally, Criswell College combines competitive admissions with 51.0% ROI, positioning itself among America's stronger universities. The institution balances academic rigor with $66,210 in median post-graduation earnings.
Students graduate within 150% of normal time at a 50.0% rate, with 100.0% retention reflecting solid satisfaction. The $21,630 annual net price falls in the moderate range, though 1322 institutions deliver comparable outcomes at lower costs.
Competitive Selective University: Criswell College's Market Position
A grade | #90 of 1947 | 95.4/100 on EDsmart's national index (0–100 vs. all ranked schools; not a raw point total)
Competitive Positioning: Criswell College occupies the competitive selective tier—not elite enough for automatic career advantages, but strong enough to provide quality education and reasonable outcomes. The 51.0% ROI reflects this middle ground: better than most, but not top-tier.
Value for Money: $21,630 annually produces $66,210 median earnings—a reasonable but not exceptional return. Students choosing Criswell College should evaluate whether the institution's specific programs, location, or campus culture justify costs versus higher-ROI alternatives.
Who Succeeds Here: Self-directed students who maximize campus resources (research, internships, networking) achieve outcomes rivaling higher-ranked schools. Students seeking specific programs or geographic locations find strong value. Those needing extensive hand-holding may struggle in larger university environments.
Final Assessment: Criswell College's #90 ranking and A grade reflect solid performance across metrics. With 1322 schools offering better ROI, value-focused students should compare carefully. However, for students who fit the institution's culture and programs, outcomes justify investment.
Key Takeaways
- 50.0% graduation rate sits 12.5 points below the national 62.5% benchmark.
- 100.0% first-year retention is 23.2 points above the national norm of 76.8%.
- 51.0% return on investment is 1.1 points above the national 49.9% benchmark.
- Median earnings of $66,210 run about 10% higher than national outcomes four years after graduation.
- Average net price of $21,630 is roughly $1,551 higher than the national median of $20,079.
Helpfulness for Students
- 5:1 student-faculty ratio keeps mentorship close and courses discussion-sized.
- 100.0% first-year retention shows students stay engaged after the first year.
- 83.9% employment rate within three years sits 15.7 points above national outcomes.
- Average net price of $21,630 is about $1,551 higher than comparable schools, so scholarship planning is key.
- Compare aid offers from nearby public universities to weigh the premium for smaller classes.
- Compare aid offers from nearby public universities to weigh the premium for smaller classes.
EDsmart Expert Analysis
Located in Dallas, TX, Criswell College operates as a private nonprofit university and receives a A from EDsmart. It is currently ranked #90 nationally Grades by category break down as Completion B+, Support A+, Career Outcomes B, and Affordability B.
Grades are assigned relative to EDsmart's national bachelor's cohort using standardized outcomes (2026 methodology); they reflect how a school compares to peers, not a fixed percentage of a raw point total.
100.0% of learners come back after year one while 50.0% graduate within 150% of normal time (43.1% within eight years). The reported ROI is 51.0%, a figure families can weigh against cost and aid details above.
Why it matters: this snapshot shows how likely you are to stay on track academically and whether the outcomes justify the price tag. Letter grades summarize cohort-relative performance—not a single exam-style score.
EDsmart Financial Snapshot
Families pay about $21,630 on average after aid, compared with a published cost near $27,748.
Institutional and federal aid lower costs by roughly $6,118 per year.
Graduates leave with a median of $25,346 in federal loans, which lines up with national norms.
About 42.4% of students receive Pell Grants, giving a snapshot of the campus income mix.
Why it matters: lining up sticker price, aid, and typical debt helps you stress-test the budget before you commit.
EDsmart Career Snapshot
Median earnings come in near $66,210 four years after graduation. Compared with the national median, that's 10% higher.
Employment outcomes report about 83.9% of alumni working within three years.
The ROI comes in near 51.0%, which you can cross-check against your financial plan.
Why it matters: pairing median earnings with employment rates gives you a sense of payback time after graduation.
EDsmart Admissions Snapshot
100.0% of applicants receive offers, so preparation and fit matter.
The admissions team encourages students to highlight academic strengths through transcripts, essays, and recommendations.
Prospective students can apply early for priority review and lean on the Criswell College admissions site for deadlines, visit options, and counselor contacts.
Why it matters: knowing the admit rate and application expectations lets you map out testing, essays, and deadlines with less stress.
Your Decision Toolkit
Similar Schools
Institutions with similar academic profiles, selectivity, and outcomes
Nearby Schools
Other campuses you might consider
Other Texas campuses you might consider
Frequently Asked Questions
What is Criswell College's acceptance rate?
Criswell College's acceptance rate is 100.0%, based on U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard admissions data.
How much does Criswell College cost?
At Criswell College, listed tuition and fees are $15,750 per year, and the average net price after aid is $21,630. Use the net price calculator on this page for a personalized estimate.
What is Criswell College's ranking?
Criswell College ranks #90 nationally in EDsmart's 2026 college rankings with an overall grade of A, based on completion, affordability, support, and career outcomes.
What is Criswell College's graduation rate?
At Criswell College, the graduation rate within 150% of normal time is 50.0% (the rate used in EDsmart rankings), College Scorecard 8-year award rate is 43.1%, and first-year retention is 100.0%.
What are Criswell College's job outcomes?
Graduates of Criswell College report median earnings of $66,210 four years after graduation, according to College Scorecard federal outcome data. Outcomes vary by major.
What is Criswell College's student population?
Criswell College enrolls about 132 undergraduate students, per College Scorecard enrollment data.
Contact Information
- Address Dallas, TX 75246-1537
- Website www.criswell.edu
- Net Price Calculator Calculate Your Cost
- Financial AidView Financial Aid Information
- AccreditationSouthern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCC)
- Endowment$8.8M