Dalton State College Logo

Dalton State College

Dalton, GA | Public | College

Dalton State College has an average net price of $2,353, and an overall rank of #1411 (Grade C+). About 29.4% of students graduate within 150% of normal time, and median earnings are $54,735 five years after graduation. Data from the U.S. Department of Education and EDsmart's 2026 rankings.

Dalton State College is a public university in Dalton, GA. Students most often pursue Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing and Management Information Systems and Services.

Inside the classroom, students benefit from a 21:1 student-faculty ratio, and 70.9% first-year retention. Faculty pair challenging syllabi with intentional mentoring so learners keep momentum even as expectations rise.

EDsmart calculates return on investment at 433.7%, roughly 383.8 points higher than typical outcomes. Expect the strongest outcomes for students who appreciate an encouraging campus with room to explore and career-focused learners aiming for high-impact outcomes.

C+
Ranking
#1411 of 1,934
How We Rank Schools Lower tuitionPublic school option
At a Glance
Ranking
#1411 of 1,934 (Top 73%)
Tuition
$3,376
Net Price
$2,353
4-Year Tuition
$13,504
Acceptance Rate
Not reported
Transfer Rate
28.7%
Student Population
4,553
Student-Faculty
21:1
Grad Rate (150% time)
29.4%
Grad Rate (8-year)
35.5%
Retention Rate
70.9%
4-Yr Earnings
$54,735
ROI
Not reported

Who is Dalton State College Best For?

A quick look at who tends to feel most at home here based on outcomes and campus context.

Families tracking affordability closely
First-gen or Pell-eligible support

EDsmart Scores Summary

Overall Ranking
#1411 of 1,934
Top 73% of all institutions
EDsmart Score
27.1 / 100 (national index)
Curved score (top institution = 100.0)
Value Rating
1.35 / 5
Based on ROI and outcomes
Completion
C
#1,729 of 1,934
Affordability
A
#72 of 1,934
Support
C
#1,766 of 1,934
Career Outcomes
C+
#1,453 of 1,934

Dalton State College graduates 29.4% of students within 150% of normal time (the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings), with an 8-year award rate of 35.5% and keeps 70.9% of first-year students. Affordability earns an A compared with similar schools.

How we calculate this →

Cost & Financial Aid

Quick Answers

What does it cost?
Depends on income
$1,524-$8,746 annual net price based on family income.
What's the graduation rate?
Challenging
29.4% graduate within 150% of normal time (the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings). The federal 8-year award rate is 35.5%. 9.4% complete in four years (IPEDS 100% time).
What are job outcomes?
Highly likely
88.5% of alumni are employed within three years of leaving. Median earnings five years after graduation are $54,735. Pay varies by major.
Get Your Personalized Cost Estimate

The costs shown are averages. Use Dalton State College's net price calculator to get an estimate based on your family's financial situation.

Calculate Your Net Price →

Total Degree Cost Summary

4-Year Total Cost (Pay with Cash)
$41,776
$10,444 × 4 years
Average Total Cost (Pay with Financial Aid)
$12,621
$2,353 × 5.4 years average
Time to Degree
Average: 5.4 years | 4-Year Rate: 9.4% | 6-Year Rate: 29.4% | 8-Year Rate: 35.5%
Most students finish in about four to five years. Four-year completion is 9.4% and six-year completion is 29.4%.

Annual Cost Comparison

Pay with Cash
$10,444
Total annual cost including tuition, books and living expenses; excluding any financial aid, grants or scholarships.
Pay with Financial Aid
$2,353
Average annual cost including tuition, books and living expenses after financial aid, grants or scholarships.

Est. annual aid gap: $8,091 Cash cost of attendance minus average net price after aid.

Cost of Undergraduate Attendance

Costs based on full-time, first-time degree- or certificate-seeking undergraduates.

View cost of attendance line items
Costs to Consider Price
Tuition and Fees $3,376
Books and Supplies $1,290
On-Campus Room and Board $10,664
On-Campus Other Expenses $3,772
Total On-Campus Cost $10,444

Tip: focus on the rows that match your living plan—commuters can swap in off-campus estimates while residential students should budget for housing, meals, and incidental fees.

Students Receiving Aid

Pell Grant
53.9%
Federal Loan
12.9%

Use these bars to gauge how many classmates rely on need-based dollars—lower Pell or loan shares may signal a wealthier student body or generous institutional grants.

EDsmart Insight: About 53.9% of Dalton State College students receive Pell Grants — well above the national average, highlighting ongoing affordability priorities.

Net Price by Family Income

Average annual net price after financial aid, based on family income. Your actual cost may vary depending on your specific financial situation.

$0 - $30,000
$1,524
Average annual cost for families earning $0-$30K
$30,001 - $48,000
$1,143
Average annual cost for families earning $30K-$48K
$48,001 - $75,000
$2,114
Average annual cost for families earning $48K-$75K
$75,001 - $110,000
$4,961
Average annual cost for families earning $75K-$110K
$110,001+
$8,746
Average annual cost for families earning $110K+

Understanding These Numbers: Net price varies significantly by income level. Low-income families pay less than $1,524 annually, while high-income families pay $8,746. Use Dalton State College's net price calculator for a personalized estimate.

Typical total cost estimates (~5.4 years):
$0-$30K families
~$8,175
$30K-$48K families
~$6,131
$48K-$75K families
~$11,339
$75K-$110K families
~$26,610
AFFORDABILITY ALERT

If your family earns $75K-$110K: Expect to pay around $4,961/year

If your family earns $110K+: Expect to pay around $8,746/year

See all income brackets →

ROI & Career Outcomes

Return on Investment
Not reported
Based on median earnings five years after graduation vs. total degree cost
  • Median Earnings (5 Years After Graduation) $54,735
  • 10-Year Median Earnings $46,083
  • Average Years to Graduate 5.4 years
  • Average Student Debt $13,419
  • Debt-to-Earnings ~24.5%
  • Repayment Rate (3yr) 44.7%
  • Employment Rate 88.5%

Graduate Earnings Distribution

Earnings range for Dalton State College graduates about 10 years after enrollment (25th percentile, median, and 75th percentile). Different horizon than median earnings five years after graduation above.

Graduates earn a median of $54,735 five years after graduation — roughly 11% below the national median.
Payback Period
0.23 years
Total Degree Cost ÷ Annual Earnings

Dalton State College vs. National Average

Comparison of key performance metrics showing how Dalton State College's outcomes compare to the national average across earnings, graduation rates, retention, ROI, and employment. This contextualizes Dalton State College's performance within the broader higher education landscape.

Acceptance & Selectivity

Getting In

Acceptance Rate
Not reported
Extremely Selective
National Average
69%
Average acceptance rate
  • SAT Evidence-Based Reading Not reported
  • SAT Math Not reported
  • SAT Writing Not reported
  • ACT Composite Not reported
  • SAT & ACTNot required
  • Undergraduate Enrollment 4,553
  • Full-Time Students 62.6%
  • Part-Time Students 37.4%
  • Retention Rate 70.9%
  • Grad Rate (150% time) 29.4%
  • Grad Rate (8-year) 35.5%
  • Student-Faculty Ratio 21:1

How to Get Into Dalton State College

1. Meet Academic Requirements: Dalton State College requires strong academic performance. Aim for test scores within the reported ranges and maintain a competitive GPA. Most admitted students rank in the top 10% of their high school class.

2. Build a Strong Application: Beyond test scores, focus on crafting compelling essays, securing strong letters of recommendation, and highlighting extracurricular activities that demonstrate leadership and commitment.

3. Understand Selectivity: With an acceptance rate of Not reported, Dalton State College is selective. Consider applying early decision if available, as early applicants often have higher acceptance rates.

4. Financial Planning: Review the net price calculator and financial aid options early. Many students receive significant aid, making the actual cost lower than the sticker price.

Tip: Contact the admissions office directly for the most current application requirements, deadlines, and any special programs (like early decision or early action) that might improve your chances.

Academic Programs

Undergraduate Program Distribution

Breakdown of the most popular majors and fields of study among Dalton State College undergraduates. Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods, Business Administration, Management and Operations, and Biology, General draw the most students.

  • Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods 17.7%
  • Business Administration, Management and Operations 17.3%
  • Biology, General 11.1%
  • Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing 8.8%
  • Criminal Justice and Corrections 6.0%
  • Marketing 5.1%
See more majors
  • English Language and Literature, General 4.5%
  • Psychology, General 3.9%

Highest Earning Programs

Median earnings five years after graduation for each program. These figures help illustrate ROI by field of study and degree level.

Undergraduate Programs (Bachelor's Degrees)

  • 1. Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing $91,520
  • 2. Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing $67,440
  • 3. Management Information Systems and Services $61,485
Show additional high-earning majors
  • 4. Accounting and Related Services $58,722
  • 5. Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions $51,564
  • 6. Marketing $49,708
  • 7. Business Administration, Management and Operations $49,581
  • 8. Biology, General $48,533
  • 9. Social Work $45,486
  • 10. Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants $44,135

Program Choice Matters: Undergraduate: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing grads earn $91,520—107% more than Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants ($44,135). Your program and degree level choice significantly impact career earnings.

Online Degrees & Distance Learning

U.S. Department of Education data reports fully online programs for Dalton State College. Below are the most popular options based on the number of recent graduates, followed by a quick look at the breadth of online offerings by degree level.
Source: U.S. Department of Education

Most Popular Online Degrees

  • Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (Associate's Degree, 102 graduates)
  • Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (Associate's Degree, 81 graduates)
  • Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods (Bachelor's Degree, 50 graduates)
  • Biology, General (Bachelor's Degree, 42 graduates)
  • Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants (Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma, 31 graduates)

What This School Offers Online, at a Glance

U.S. Department of Education data flags the following online degree and certificate programs for this institution. Expand each credential level to view the complete list of available subjects.

Online Bachelor's Degrees (22 programs)▼
  • Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods
  • Biology, General
  • Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication
  • Psychology, General
  • Accounting and Related Services
  • Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing
  • Social Work
  • English Language and Literature, General
  • Marketing
  • Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management
  • Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General
  • History
  • Finance and Financial Management Services
  • Chemistry
  • Geography and Environmental Studies
  • Multi-/Interdisciplinary Studies, General
  • Management Information Systems and Services
  • Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions
  • Mathematics
  • Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians
  • Science Technologies/Technicians, General
  • Natural Resources Conservation and Research
Online Undergraduate Certificates & Diplomas (3 programs)▼
  • Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants
  • Computer Engineering Technologies/Technicians
  • Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services

Student Demographics

Student Population

  • Total Undergraduate Enrollment 4,553
  • Full-Time Students 62.6%
  • Part-Time Students 37.4%
  • Male Students 35.8%
  • Female Students 64.2%
  • Caucasian 49.5%
  • Asian 1.6%
  • Hispanic 38.7%
  • Black 4.4%
  • Pell Grant Recipients 53.9%

Racial & Ethnic Diversity

Undergraduate student body composition by racial and ethnic background. This reflects Dalton State College's commitment to diversity and inclusion in admissions.

Gender Distribution

Gender breakdown of Dalton State College's undergraduate population. The university maintains a roughly balanced gender distribution across its student body.

Graduation Rate Equity Analysis

How well does Dalton State College support students from different economic backgrounds?

Pell Grant Recipients
26.7%
6-year graduation rate
Non-Pell Students
35.1%
6-year graduation rate
Equity Gap
8.4 pts
good equity

What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at a similar rate as higher-income students, indicating adequate institutional support for all economic backgrounds.

Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity

Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity

Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at Dalton State College, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.

EDsmart Insight: Dalton State College has a diverse student body, with 49.5% identifying as White. Women make up 64.2% of undergraduates. 53.9% of students receive Pell Grants, well above the national average, indicating strong support for low-income students.

Graduation Rate Equity Analysis

How well does Dalton State College support students from different economic backgrounds?

Pell Grant Recipients
26.7%
6-year graduation rate
Non-Pell Students
35.1%
6-year graduation rate
Equity Gap
8.4 pts
good equity

What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at a similar rate as higher-income students, indicating adequate institutional support for all economic backgrounds.

Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity

Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity

Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at Dalton State College, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.

Our Take

Dalton State College serves as a highly accessible college for students seeking quality education without elite university costs. Ranked #1411 overall with ROI data not available, the institution balances practical outcomes with budget-friendly pricing.

At $2,353 annually, students gain access to career-focused programs leading to $54,735 median earnings. The 29.4% graduation rate reflects reasonable completion metrics for a college. While 70.9% retention suggests adequate student support.

College Value: Dalton State College's Strengths

Ranked #1411 with a C+ grade, Dalton State College prioritizes accessibility and local career connections over national prestige.

Primary Strengths: Colleges like Dalton State College excel at providing affordable education ($2,353 annually) with strong local employer relationships. Many programs emphasize practical skills and internships within the regional economy.

Best For: Students planning to work in the region after graduation benefit from established employer connections. Adult learners and part-time students appreciate flexible scheduling. First-generation students and budget-conscious families gain degrees without overwhelming debt.

Honest Assessment: Dalton State College's 70.9% retention and 29.4% graduation rate trail elite universities but align with typical college performance. Career outcomes ($54,735 median earnings) reflect regional job markets more than national opportunities.

Value Verdict: For students committed to regional careers, Dalton State College and $2,353 cost deliver solid value. Those seeking national job mobility or prestigious credentials should compare against flagship state universities or targeted private scholarships.

Key Takeaways

  • 29.4% graduation rate sits 33.1 points below the national 62.5% benchmark.
  • 70.9% first-year retention is 5.9 points below the national norm of 76.8%.
  • Median earnings of $54,735 run about 11% lower than national outcomes five years after graduation.
  • Average net price of $2,353 is roughly $17,554 lower than the national median of $19,908.
  • 88.5% employment rate within three years is 20.3 points above the national 68.2%.

Helpfulness for Students

Green Flags
  • 21:1 student-faculty ratio keeps mentorship close and courses discussion-sized.
  • 70.9% first-year retention shows students stay engaged after the first year.
  • 88.5% employment rate within three years sits 20.3 points above national outcomes.
Red Flags
  • Budget carefully for clinical travel, off-campus housing, and practicum fees to avoid surprise costs.
  • Compare aid offers from nearby public universities to weigh the premium for smaller classes.
  • Compare aid offers from nearby public universities to weigh the premium for smaller classes.
EDsmart Expert Analysis

EDsmart rates Dalton State College—a public university in Dalton, GA—at C+ overall. It holds a #1411 overall ranking Completion earns C, Support C, Career Outcomes C+, and Affordability A.

Grades are assigned relative to EDsmart's national bachelor's cohort using standardized outcomes (2026 methodology); they reflect how a school compares to peers, not a fixed percentage of a raw point total.

Student momentum is strong: 70.9% retention, 29.4% graduation within 150% of normal time, and 35.5% earning an award within eight years. Review the cost and aid tables for a full picture of value.

Why it matters: this snapshot shows how likely you are to stay on track academically and whether the outcomes justify the price tag. Letter grades summarize cohort-relative performance—not a single exam-style score.

EDsmart Financial Snapshot

Families pay about $2,353 on average after aid, compared with a published cost near $10,444.

Institutional and federal aid lower costs by roughly $8,091 per year.

Graduates leave with a median of $13,419 in federal loans, which lines up with national norms.

About 53.9% of students receive Pell Grants, giving a snapshot of the campus income mix.

Why it matters: lining up sticker price, aid, and typical debt helps you stress-test the budget before you commit.

EDsmart Career Snapshot

Five years after graduation, alumni earn roughly $54,735 at the median. That sits about 11% below the national median.

The three-year employment rate is close to 88.5%.

Use the ROI table above to estimate how long it may take to recoup your degree costs.

Why it matters: pairing median earnings with employment rates gives you a sense of payback time after graduation.

EDsmart Admissions Snapshot

This institution has not reported a current acceptance rate.

The admissions team encourages students to highlight academic strengths through transcripts, essays, and recommendations.

Prospective students can apply early for priority review and lean on the Dalton State College admissions site for deadlines, visit options, and counselor contacts.

Why it matters: knowing the admit rate and application expectations lets you map out testing, essays, and deadlines with less stress.

EDsmart Verdict
1.35 / 5
Value Rating - Based on affordability and career outcomes

Your Decision Toolkit

Run the Net Price Calculator
Get your personalized cost estimate
Compare with similar schools
See how Dalton State College stacks up to alternatives
Check your major's earnings
See ROI for your specific field of study
Visit the campus
Schedule a campus tour or virtual visit
Visit Dalton State College Website →

Cite this profile

Add your access date when you publish.

APA (7th): EDsmart. (2026). Dalton State College: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings. https://www.edsmart.org/schools/dalton-state-college/

MLA (9th): “Dalton State College: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings.” EDsmart, 2026, www.edsmart.org/schools/dalton-state-college/.

Chicago: EDsmart. “Dalton State College: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings.” https://www.edsmart.org/schools/dalton-state-college/.

Similar Schools

Institutions with similar academic profiles, selectivity, and outcomes

Nearby Schools

Other campuses you might consider

Other Georgia campuses you might consider

Georgia Southwestern State University
Americus, GA
C+ #1414 of 1,934
Morris Brown College
Atlanta, GA
C+ #1418 of 1,934
University of North Georgia
Dahlonega, GA
C+ #1403 of 1,934
Luther Rice College & Seminary
Lithonia, GA
C+ #1386 of 1,934

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does Dalton State College cost?

At Dalton State College, listed tuition and fees are $3,376 per year, and the average net price after aid is $2,353. Use the net price calculator on this page for a personalized estimate.

What is Dalton State College's ranking?

Dalton State College ranks #1411 overall in EDsmart's 2026 college rankings with an overall grade of C+, based on completion, affordability, support, and career outcomes.

What is Dalton State College's graduation rate?

At Dalton State College, the graduation rate within 150% of normal time is 29.4% (the rate used in EDsmart rankings), the federal 8-year award rate is 35.5%, and first-year retention is 70.9%.

What are Dalton State College's job outcomes?

Graduates of Dalton State College report median earnings of $54,735 five years after graduation, according to U.S. Department of Education outcome data. Outcomes vary by major.

What is Dalton State College's student population?

Dalton State College enrolls about 4,553 undergraduate students, per U.S. Department of Education enrollment data.

Contact Information

  • AccreditationSouthern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCC)
  • Endowment$20.3M
  • Transfer Enrollment Rate28.7%

Data Source & Methodology ▼