Design Institute of San Diego Logo

Design Institute of San Diego

San Diego, CA | Private For-Profit | 4-Year Institution

Design Institute of San Diego has an acceptance rate of 100.0%, an average net price of $32,832, and an overall rank of #1527 (Grade C+). About 66.7% of students graduate within 150% of normal time (two-year average), and median earnings are $71,306 five years after graduation. Data from the U.S. Department of Education and EDsmart's 2026 rankings.

Design Institute of San Diego is a private for-profit institution in San Diego, CA. Students most often pursue Design and Applied Arts.

Academically, students benefit from a 8:1 student-faculty ratio. Peer cohorts and advising networks provide scaffolding that keeps newcomers anchored during demanding semesters.

EDsmart calculates return on investment at 43.4%, roughly 6.5 points below typical outcomes. It's a compelling fit for students who appreciate an encouraging campus with room to explore and students looking for meaningful faculty access.

C+
Ranking
#1527 of 1,934
How We Rank Schools Higher pay after collegeSmall campus feel
At a Glance
Ranking
#1527 of 1,934 (Top 79%)
Tuition
$29,350
Net Price
$32,832
4-Year Tuition
$117,400
Acceptance Rate
100.0%
Transfer Rate
0.0%
Student Population
77
Student-Faculty
8:1
Grad Rate (150% time)
66.7%
Grad Rate (8-year)
46.8%
Retention Rate
0.0%
4-Yr Earnings
$71,306
ROI
Not reported

Who is Design Institute of San Diego Best For?

A quick look at who tends to feel most at home here based on outcomes and campus context.

Students who thrive with close mentoring
Students aiming for strong salaries
First-gen or Pell-eligible support
Learners who value a tight-knit campus
Students seeking strong career outcomes
Students valuing supportive learning environments

EDsmart Scores Summary

Overall Ranking
#1527 of 1,934
Top 79% of all institutions
EDsmart Score
21.1 / 100 (national index)
Curved score (top institution = 100.0)
Value Rating
1.05 / 5
Based on ROI and outcomes
Completion
B-
#1,120 of 1,934
Affordability
C+
#1,402 of 1,934
Support
B-
#1,392 of 1,934
Career Outcomes
C+
#1,454 of 1,934

Design Institute of San Diego graduates 66.7% of students within 150% of normal time (two-year average; the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings), with an 8-year award rate of 46.8% and keeps 0.0% of first-year students. Affordability earns a C+ compared with similar schools.

How we calculate this →

Cost & Financial Aid

Quick Answers

What does it cost?
Depends on income
$32,832-$36,212 annual net price based on family income.
What's the graduation rate?
Likely
66.7% graduate within 150% of normal time (two-year average; the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings). The federal 8-year award rate is 46.8%. 28.6% complete in four years (IPEDS 100% time).
What are job outcomes?
Highly likely
83.7% of alumni are employed within three years of leaving. Median earnings five years after graduation are $71,306. Pay varies by major.
Get Your Personalized Cost Estimate

The costs shown are averages. Use Design Institute of San Diego's net price calculator to get an estimate based on your family's financial situation.

Calculate Your Net Price →

Total Degree Cost Summary

4-Year Total Cost (Pay with Cash)
$144,848
$36,212 × 4 years
Average Total Cost (Pay with Financial Aid)
$164,160
$32,832 × 5.0 years average
Time to Degree
Average: 5.0 years | 4-Year Rate: 28.6% | 6-Year Rate: 66.7% | 8-Year Rate: 46.8%
Most students finish in about four to five years. Four-year completion is 28.6% and six-year completion is 66.7%.

Annual Cost Comparison

Pay with Cash
$36,212
Total annual cost including tuition, books and living expenses; excluding any financial aid, grants or scholarships.
Pay with Financial Aid
$32,832
Average annual cost including tuition, books and living expenses after financial aid, grants or scholarships.

Est. annual aid gap: $3,380 Cash cost of attendance minus average net price after aid.

Cost of Undergraduate Attendance

Costs based on full-time, first-time degree- or certificate-seeking undergraduates.

View cost of attendance line items
Costs to Consider Price
Tuition and Fees $29,350
Books and Supplies $1,089
On-Campus Room and Board Not reported
On-Campus Other Expenses Not reported
Total On-Campus Cost $36,212

Tip: focus on the rows that match your living plan—commuters can swap in off-campus estimates while residential students should budget for housing, meals, and incidental fees.

Students Receiving Aid

Pell Grant
55.8%
Federal Loan
66.2%

Use these bars to gauge how many classmates rely on need-based dollars—lower Pell or loan shares may signal a wealthier student body or generous institutional grants.

EDsmart Insight: About 55.8% of Design Institute of San Diego students receive Pell Grants — well above the national average, highlighting ongoing affordability priorities.

AFFORDABILITY ALERT

If your family earns $75K-$110K: Expect to pay around $29,452/year

If your family earns $110K+: Expect to pay around $36,212/year

See all income brackets →

ROI & Career Outcomes

Return on Investment
Not reported
Based on median earnings five years after graduation vs. total degree cost
  • Median Earnings (5 Years After Graduation) $71,306
  • 10-Year Median Earnings $52,715
  • Average Years to Graduate 5.0 years
  • Average Student Debt $29,973
  • Debt-to-Earnings ~42.0%
  • Repayment Rate (3yr) 63.7%
  • Employment Rate 83.7%

Graduate Earnings Distribution

Earnings range for Design Institute of San Diego graduates about 10 years after enrollment (25th percentile, median, and 75th percentile). Different horizon than median earnings five years after graduation above.

Graduates earn a median of $71,306 five years after graduation — roughly 16% above the national median.
Payback Period
2.30 years
Total Degree Cost ÷ Annual Earnings

Design Institute of San Diego vs. National Average

Comparison of key performance metrics showing how Design Institute of San Diego's outcomes compare to the national average across earnings, graduation rates, retention, ROI, and employment. This contextualizes Design Institute of San Diego's performance within the broader higher education landscape.

Acceptance & Selectivity

Getting In

Acceptance Rate
100.0%
Lightly Selective
National Average
69%
Average acceptance rate
  • SAT Evidence-Based Reading Not reported
  • SAT Math Not reported
  • SAT Writing Not reported
  • ACT Composite Not reported
  • SAT & ACTNot required
  • Undergraduate Enrollment 77
  • Full-Time Students 76.6%
  • Part-Time Students 23.4%
  • Retention Rate 0.0%
  • Grad Rate (150% time) 66.7%
  • Grad Rate (8-year) 46.8%
  • Student-Faculty Ratio 8:1

How to Get Into Design Institute of San Diego

1. Meet Academic Requirements: Design Institute of San Diego requires strong academic performance. Aim for test scores within the reported ranges and maintain a competitive GPA. Most admitted students rank in the top 10% of their high school class.

2. Build a Strong Application: Beyond test scores, focus on crafting compelling essays, securing strong letters of recommendation, and highlighting extracurricular activities that demonstrate leadership and commitment.

3. Understand Selectivity: With an acceptance rate of 100.0%, Design Institute of San Diego is extremely selective. Consider applying early decision if available, as early applicants often have higher acceptance rates.

4. Financial Planning: Review the net price calculator and financial aid options early. Many students receive significant aid, making the actual cost lower than the sticker price.

Tip: Contact the admissions office directly for the most current application requirements, deadlines, and any special programs (like early decision or early action) that might improve your chances.

EDsmart Insight: With a 100.0% acceptance rate, Design Institute of San Diego is more accessible than highly selective schools. Meeting the test score ranges and maintaining a solid GPA significantly improves admission chances.

Academic Programs

Undergraduate Program Distribution

Breakdown of the most popular majors and fields of study among Design Institute of San Diego undergraduates. Design and Applied Arts draws the most students.

  • Design and Applied Arts 100.0%

Highest Earning Programs

Median earnings five years after graduation for each program. These figures help illustrate ROI by field of study and degree level.

Undergraduate Programs (Bachelor's Degrees)

  • 1. Design and Applied Arts $34,589

Program Choice Matters: Your program and degree level choice significantly impact career earnings.

Online Degrees & Distance Learning

U.S. Department of Education data reports fully online programs for Design Institute of San Diego. Below are the most popular options based on the number of recent graduates, followed by a quick look at the breadth of online offerings by degree level.
Source: U.S. Department of Education

Most Popular Online Degrees

  • Design and Applied Arts (Bachelor's Degree, 16 graduates)

What This School Offers Online, at a Glance

U.S. Department of Education data flags the following online degree and certificate programs for this institution. Expand each credential level to view the complete list of available subjects.

Online Bachelor's Degrees (1 program)▼
  • Design and Applied Arts

Student Demographics

Student Population

  • Total Undergraduate Enrollment 77
  • Full-Time Students 76.6%
  • Part-Time Students 23.4%
  • Male Students 5.2%
  • Female Students 94.8%
  • Caucasian 45.5%
  • Asian 7.8%
  • Hispanic 18.2%
  • Black 6.5%
  • Pell Grant Recipients 55.8%

Racial & Ethnic Diversity

Undergraduate student body composition by racial and ethnic background. This reflects Design Institute of San Diego's commitment to diversity and inclusion in admissions.

Gender Distribution

Gender breakdown of Design Institute of San Diego's undergraduate population. Women make up 94.8% of the student body, while men represent 5.2%.

Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity

Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity

Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at Design Institute of San Diego, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.

EDsmart Insight: Design Institute of San Diego has a diverse student body, with 45.5% identifying as White. Women make up 94.8% of undergraduates. 55.8% of students receive Pell Grants, well above the national average, indicating strong support for low-income students.

Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity

Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity

Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at Design Institute of San Diego, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.

Our Take

Design Institute of San Diego ranks #1527 of 1934 institutions in our comprehensive analysis, achieving a C+ overall grade with 0.0% ROI.

At $32,832 annually, the institution serves students seeking accessible higher education. Career outcomes and value metrics should be carefully compared against alternative institutions before enrolling.

EDsmart Assessment: Design Institute of San Diego

C+ grade | #1527 of 1934 | 21.1/100 on EDsmart's national index (0–100 vs. all ranked schools; not a raw point total)

Performance Overview: Design Institute of San Diego's 0.0% return on investment and #1527 ranking reflect the institution's competitive position in the higher education landscape. The $32,832 annual cost should be carefully weighed against expected career outcomes.

Value Considerations: Prospective students should compare Design Institute of San Diego's specific programs against alternatives, as institutional averages may not reflect individual program quality. Financial aid packages, program-specific outcomes, and career services vary significantly.

Decision Framework: Use Design Institute of San Diego's C+ grade and #1527 ranking as starting points, not final answers. Evaluate program-specific outcomes, campus visit impressions, financial aid offers, and career placement rates in your intended field before making enrollment decisions.

Key Takeaways

  • 66.7% graduation rate sits 4.2 points above the national 62.5% benchmark.
  • Median earnings of $71,306 run about 16% higher than national outcomes five years after graduation.
  • Average net price of $32,832 is roughly $12,924 higher than the national median of $19,908.
  • 83.7% employment rate within three years is 15.5 points above the national 68.2%.
  • 8:1 student-faculty ratio keeps advising personal and discussion-sized.

Helpfulness for Students

Green Flags
  • 8:1 student-faculty ratio keeps mentorship close and courses discussion-sized.
  • 83.7% employment rate within three years sits 15.5 points above national outcomes.
  • Career coaching and alumni mentoring help learners convert classes into early job offers.
Red Flags
  • Average net price of $32,832 is about $12,924 higher than comparable schools, so scholarship planning is key.
  • 66.2% of students borrow federal loans, outpacing typical campuses and raising repayment stakes.
  • Compare aid offers from nearby public universities to weigh the premium for smaller classes.
EDsmart Expert Analysis

Design Institute of San Diego, a private for-profit institution in San Diego, CA, secures a C+ grade in our latest review. It appears at #1527 in EDsmart's rankings Category results include Completion (B-), Support (B-), Career Outcomes (C+), and Affordability (C+).

Grades are assigned relative to EDsmart's national bachelor's cohort using standardized outcomes (2026 methodology); they reflect how a school compares to peers, not a fixed percentage of a raw point total.

The graduation rate within 150% of normal time hovers around 66.7%. Review the cost and aid tables for a full picture of value.

Why it matters: this snapshot shows how likely you are to stay on track academically and whether the outcomes justify the price tag. Letter grades summarize cohort-relative performance—not a single exam-style score.

EDsmart Financial Snapshot

Families pay about $32,832 on average after aid, compared with a published cost near $36,212.

Institutional and federal aid lower costs by roughly $3,380 per year.

Graduates leave with a median of $29,973 in federal loans, which lines up with national norms.

About 55.8% of students receive Pell Grants, giving a snapshot of the campus income mix.

Why it matters: lining up sticker price, aid, and typical debt helps you stress-test the budget before you commit.

EDsmart Career Snapshot

Graduates report median earnings of about $71,306 five years after graduation. That sits about 16% above the national median.

Employment outcomes report about 83.7% of alumni working within three years.

Use the ROI table above to estimate how long it may take to recoup your degree costs.

Why it matters: pairing median earnings with employment rates gives you a sense of payback time after graduation.

EDsmart Admissions Snapshot

100.0% of applicants receive offers, so preparation and fit matter.

The admissions team encourages students to highlight academic strengths through transcripts, essays, and recommendations.

Prospective students can apply early for priority review and lean on the Design Institute of San Diego admissions site for deadlines, visit options, and counselor contacts.

Why it matters: knowing the admit rate and application expectations lets you map out testing, essays, and deadlines with less stress.

EDsmart Verdict
1.05 / 5
Value Rating - Based on affordability and career outcomes

Your Decision Toolkit

Run the Net Price Calculator
Get your personalized cost estimate
Compare with similar schools
See how Design Institute of San Diego stacks up to alternatives
Check your major's earnings
See ROI for your specific field of study
Visit the campus
Schedule a campus tour or virtual visit
Visit Design Institute of San Diego Website →

Cite this profile

Add your access date when you publish.

APA (7th): EDsmart. (2026). Design Institute of San Diego: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings. https://www.edsmart.org/schools/design-institute-of-san-diego/

MLA (9th): “Design Institute of San Diego: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings.” EDsmart, 2026, www.edsmart.org/schools/design-institute-of-san-diego/.

Chicago: EDsmart. “Design Institute of San Diego: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings.” https://www.edsmart.org/schools/design-institute-of-san-diego/.

Similar Schools

Institutions with similar academic profiles, selectivity, and outcomes

Nearby Schools

Other campuses you might consider

Other California campuses you might consider

American Medical Sciences Center
Glendale, CA
C+ #1525 of 1,934
The Chicago School at Los Angeles
Los Angeles, CA
C+ #1522 of 1,934
The Master's University and Seminary
Santa Clarita, CA
C+ #1519 of 1,934
SUM Bible College and Theological Seminary
El Dorado Hills, CA
C+ #1551 of 1,934

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Design Institute of San Diego's acceptance rate?

Design Institute of San Diego's acceptance rate is 100.0%, based on U.S. Department of Education admissions data.

How much does Design Institute of San Diego cost?

At Design Institute of San Diego, listed tuition and fees are $29,350 per year, and the average net price after aid is $32,832. Use the net price calculator on this page for a personalized estimate.

What is Design Institute of San Diego's ranking?

Design Institute of San Diego ranks #1527 overall in EDsmart's 2026 college rankings with an overall grade of C+, based on completion, affordability, support, and career outcomes.

What is Design Institute of San Diego's graduation rate?

At Design Institute of San Diego, the graduation rate within 150% of normal time is 66.7% (two-year average; the rate used in EDsmart rankings), the federal 8-year award rate is 46.8%, and first-year retention is 0.0%.

What are Design Institute of San Diego's job outcomes?

Graduates of Design Institute of San Diego report median earnings of $71,306 five years after graduation, according to U.S. Department of Education outcome data. Outcomes vary by major.

What is Design Institute of San Diego's student population?

Design Institute of San Diego enrolls about 77 undergraduate students, per U.S. Department of Education enrollment data.

Contact Information

  • AccreditationWestern Association of Schools and Colleges Senior Colleges and University Commission (WASCSR)

Data Source & Methodology ▼