ECPI University Logo

ECPI University

Virginia Beach, VA | Private For-Profit | Community College

ECPI University has an acceptance rate of 74.5%, an average net price of $22,484, and an overall rank of #1606 (Grade C+). About 40.7% of students graduate within 150% of normal time, and median earnings are $55,425 five years after graduation. Data from the U.S. Department of Education and EDsmart's 2026 rankings.

ECPI University is a private for-profit institution in Virginia Beach, VA. Students most often pursue Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing and Computer Programming.

Day to day, students benefit from a 13:1 student-faculty ratio, and 56.5% first-year retention. Coaches and faculty advisors weave in frequent check-ins, helping students translate ambition into steady progress.

EDsmart calculates return on investment at 53.1%, roughly 3.2 points higher than typical outcomes. It's well-suited to students who appreciate an encouraging campus with room to explore.

C+
Ranking
#1606 of 1,934
How We Rank Schools
At a Glance
Ranking
#1606 of 1,934 (Top 83%)
Tuition
$18,484
Net Price
$22,484
4-Year Tuition
$73,936
Acceptance Rate
74.5%
Transfer Rate
20.4%
Student Population
12,090
Student-Faculty
13:1
Grad Rate (150% time)
40.7%
Grad Rate (8-year)
52.2%
Retention Rate
56.5%
4-Yr Earnings
$55,425
ROI
Not reported

Who is ECPI University Best For?

A quick look at who tends to feel most at home here based on outcomes and campus context.

First-gen or Pell-eligible support
Students valuing supportive learning environments

EDsmart Scores Summary

Overall Ranking
#1606 of 1,934
Top 83% of all institutions
EDsmart Score
17.0 / 100 (national index)
Curved score (top institution = 100.0)
Value Rating
0.85 / 5
Based on ROI and outcomes
Completion
C
#1,659 of 1,934
Affordability
B
#630 of 1,934
Support
C+
#1,683 of 1,934
Career Outcomes
B-
#1,344 of 1,934

ECPI University graduates 40.7% of students within 150% of normal time (the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings), with an 8-year award rate of 52.2% and keeps 56.5% of first-year students. Affordability earns a B compared with similar schools.

How we calculate this →

Cost & Financial Aid

Quick Answers

What does it cost?
Depends on income
$21,086-$28,676 annual net price based on family income.
What's the graduation rate?
Somewhat likely
40.7% graduate within 150% of normal time (the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings). The federal 8-year award rate is 52.2%. 27.5% complete in four years (IPEDS 100% time).
What are job outcomes?
Highly likely
89.7% of alumni are employed within three years of leaving. Median earnings five years after graduation are $55,425. Pay varies by major.
Get Your Personalized Cost Estimate

The costs shown are averages. Use ECPI University's net price calculator to get an estimate based on your family's financial situation.

Calculate Your Net Price →

Total Degree Cost Summary

4-Year Total Cost (Pay with Cash)
$120,496
$30,124 × 4 years
Average Total Cost (Pay with Financial Aid)
$104,472
$22,484 × 4.6 years average
Time to Degree
Average: 4.6 years | 4-Year Rate: 27.5% | 6-Year Rate: 40.7% | 8-Year Rate: 52.2%
Most students finish in about four to five years. Four-year completion is 27.5% and six-year completion is 40.7%.

Annual Cost Comparison

Pay with Cash
$30,124
Total annual cost including tuition, books and living expenses; excluding any financial aid, grants or scholarships.
Pay with Financial Aid
$22,484
Average annual cost including tuition, books and living expenses after financial aid, grants or scholarships.

Est. annual aid gap: $7,640 Cash cost of attendance minus average net price after aid.

Cost of Undergraduate Attendance

Costs based on full-time, first-time degree- or certificate-seeking undergraduates.

View cost of attendance line items
Costs to Consider Price
Tuition and Fees $18,484
Books and Supplies Not reported
On-Campus Room and Board Not reported
On-Campus Other Expenses Not reported
Total On-Campus Cost $30,124

Tip: focus on the rows that match your living plan—commuters can swap in off-campus estimates while residential students should budget for housing, meals, and incidental fees.

Students Receiving Aid

Pell Grant
60.0%
Federal Loan
58.0%

Use these bars to gauge how many classmates rely on need-based dollars—lower Pell or loan shares may signal a wealthier student body or generous institutional grants.

EDsmart Insight: About 60.0% of ECPI University students receive Pell Grants — well above the national average, highlighting ongoing affordability priorities.

AFFORDABILITY ALERT

If your family earns $75K-$110K: Expect to pay around $26,561/year

If your family earns $110K+: Expect to pay around $28,676/year

See all income brackets →

ROI & Career Outcomes

Return on Investment
Not reported
Based on median earnings five years after graduation vs. total degree cost
  • Median Earnings (5 Years After Graduation) $55,425
  • 10-Year Median Earnings $49,806
  • Average Years to Graduate 4.6 years
  • Average Student Debt $22,570
  • Debt-to-Earnings ~40.7%
  • Repayment Rate (3yr) 32.7%
  • Employment Rate 89.7%

Graduate Earnings Distribution

Earnings range for ECPI University graduates about 10 years after enrollment (25th percentile, median, and 75th percentile). Different horizon than median earnings five years after graduation above.

Graduates earn a median of $55,425 five years after graduation — roughly 10% below the national median.
Payback Period
1.88 years
Total Degree Cost ÷ Annual Earnings

ECPI University vs. National Average

Comparison of key performance metrics showing how ECPI University's outcomes compare to the national average across earnings, graduation rates, retention, ROI, and employment. This contextualizes ECPI University's performance within the broader higher education landscape.

Acceptance & Selectivity

Getting In

Acceptance Rate
74.5%
Less Selective
National Average
69%
Average acceptance rate
  • SAT Evidence-Based Reading Not reported
  • SAT Math Not reported
  • SAT Writing Not reported
  • ACT Composite Not reported
  • SAT & ACTNot required
  • Undergraduate Enrollment 12,090
  • Full-Time Students 100.0%
  • Part-Time Students 0.0%
  • Retention Rate 56.5%
  • Grad Rate (150% time) 40.7%
  • Grad Rate (8-year) 52.2%
  • Student-Faculty Ratio 13:1

How to Get Into ECPI University

1. Meet Academic Requirements: ECPI University requires strong academic performance. Aim for test scores within the reported ranges and maintain a competitive GPA. Most admitted students rank in the top 10% of their high school class.

2. Build a Strong Application: Beyond test scores, focus on crafting compelling essays, securing strong letters of recommendation, and highlighting extracurricular activities that demonstrate leadership and commitment.

3. Understand Selectivity: With an acceptance rate of 74.5%, ECPI University is relatively open. Consider applying early decision if available, as early applicants often have higher acceptance rates.

4. Financial Planning: Review the net price calculator and financial aid options early. Many students receive significant aid, making the actual cost lower than the sticker price.

Tip: Contact the admissions office directly for the most current application requirements, deadlines, and any special programs (like early decision or early action) that might improve your chances.

EDsmart Insight: With a 74.5% acceptance rate, ECPI University is more accessible than highly selective schools. Meeting the test score ranges and maintaining a solid GPA significantly improves admission chances.

Academic Programs

Undergraduate Program Distribution

Breakdown of the most popular majors and fields of study among ECPI University undergraduates. Computer/Information Technology Administration and, Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing, and Business Administration, Management and Operations draw the most students.

  • Computer/Information Technology Administration and 27.6%
  • Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing 13.3%
  • Business Administration, Management and Operations 10.1%
  • Electromechanical Technologies/Technicians 9.4%
  • Criminal Justice and Corrections 8.6%
  • Health and Medical Administrative Services 8.5%
See more majors
  • Computer Programming 7.3%
  • Computer Engineering Technologies/Technicians 4.5%

Highest Earning Programs

Median earnings five years after graduation for each program. These figures help illustrate ROI by field of study and degree level.

Associate Degree Programs

  • 1. Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing $87,942
  • 2. Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing $76,712
  • 3. Computer Programming $76,225
Show additional high-earning majors
  • 4. Computer Engineering Technologies/Technicians $73,885
  • 5. Electromechanical Instrumentation and Maintenance Technologies/Technicians $69,652
  • 6. Management Information Systems and Services $68,521
  • 7. Computer and Information Sciences, General $67,368
  • 8. Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management $65,913
  • 9. Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions $65,479
  • 10. Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies/Technicians $64,003

Graduate Programs (Master's, Doctoral, Professional)

  • 1. Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing (Master's Degree) $102,419
  • 2. Computer and Information Sciences, General (Master's Degree) $84,614
  • 3. Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management (Master's Degree) $66,652
Show additional graduate majors
  • 4. Business Administration, Management and Operations (Master's Degree) $59,599

Program Choice Matters: Undergraduate: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing grads earn $87,942—37% more than Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies/Technicians ($64,003). Graduate: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing programs lead with $102,419 median earnings. Your program and degree level choice significantly impact career earnings.

Online Degrees & Distance Learning

U.S. Department of Education data reports fully online programs for ECPI University. Below are the most popular options based on the number of recent graduates, followed by a quick look at the breadth of online offerings by degree level.
Source: U.S. Department of Education

Most Popular Online Degrees

  • Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants (Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma, 676 graduates)
  • Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services (Associate's Degree, 341 graduates)
  • Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions (Associate's Degree, 113 graduates)
  • Culinary Arts and Related Services (Associate's Degree, 77 graduates)
  • Dental Support Services and Allied Professions (Associate's Degree, 49 graduates)

What This School Offers Online, at a Glance

U.S. Department of Education data flags the following online degree and certificate programs for this institution. Expand each credential level to view the complete list of available subjects.

Online Undergraduate Certificates & Diplomas (4 programs)▼
  • Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants
  • Somatic Bodywork and Related Therapeutic Services
  • Culinary Arts and Related Services
  • Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services

Student Demographics

Student Population

  • Total Undergraduate Enrollment 12,090
  • Full-Time Students 100.0%
  • Part-Time Students 0.0%
  • Male Students 40.8%
  • Female Students 59.2%
  • Caucasian 31.2%
  • Asian 3.3%
  • Hispanic 15.8%
  • Black 41.0%
  • Pell Grant Recipients 60.0%

Racial & Ethnic Diversity

Undergraduate student body composition by racial and ethnic background. This reflects ECPI University's commitment to diversity and inclusion in admissions.

Gender Distribution

Gender breakdown of ECPI University's undergraduate population. The university maintains a roughly balanced gender distribution across its student body.

Graduation Rate Equity Analysis

How well does ECPI University support students from different economic backgrounds?

Pell Grant Recipients
38.5%
6-year graduation rate
Non-Pell Students
47.1%
6-year graduation rate
Equity Gap
8.7 pts
good equity

What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at a similar rate as higher-income students, indicating adequate institutional support for all economic backgrounds.

Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity

Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity

Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at ECPI University, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.

EDsmart Insight: ECPI University has a diverse student body, with 31.2% identifying as White. 60.0% of students receive Pell Grants, well above the national average, indicating strong support for low-income students.

Graduation Rate Equity Analysis

How well does ECPI University support students from different economic backgrounds?

Pell Grant Recipients
38.5%
6-year graduation rate
Non-Pell Students
47.1%
6-year graduation rate
Equity Gap
8.7 pts
good equity

What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at a similar rate as higher-income students, indicating adequate institutional support for all economic backgrounds.

Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity

Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity

Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at ECPI University, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.

Our Take

ECPI University ranks #1606 of 1934 institutions in our comprehensive analysis, achieving a C+ overall grade with 0.0% ROI.

At $22,484 annually, the institution serves students seeking accessible higher education. Career outcomes and value metrics should be carefully compared against alternative institutions before enrolling.

EDsmart Assessment: ECPI University

C+ grade | #1606 of 1934 | 17.0/100 on EDsmart's national index (0–100 vs. all ranked schools; not a raw point total)

Performance Overview: ECPI University's 0.0% return on investment and #1606 ranking reflect the institution's competitive position in the higher education landscape. The $22,484 annual cost should be carefully weighed against expected career outcomes.

Value Considerations: Prospective students should compare ECPI University's specific programs against alternatives, as institutional averages may not reflect individual program quality. Financial aid packages, program-specific outcomes, and career services vary significantly.

Decision Framework: Use ECPI University's C+ grade and #1606 ranking as starting points, not final answers. Evaluate program-specific outcomes, campus visit impressions, financial aid offers, and career placement rates in your intended field before making enrollment decisions.

Key Takeaways

  • 40.7% graduation rate sits 21.8 points below the national 62.5% benchmark.
  • 56.5% first-year retention is 20.3 points below the national norm of 76.8%.
  • Median earnings of $55,425 run about 10% lower than national outcomes five years after graduation.
  • Average net price of $22,484 is roughly $2,576 higher than the national median of $19,908.
  • 89.7% employment rate within three years is 21.5 points above the national 68.2%.

Helpfulness for Students

Green Flags
  • 13:1 student-faculty ratio keeps mentorship close and courses discussion-sized.
  • 56.5% first-year retention shows students stay engaged after the first year.
  • 89.7% employment rate within three years sits 21.5 points above national outcomes.
Red Flags
  • Average net price of $22,484 is about $2,576 higher than comparable schools, so scholarship planning is key.
  • 58.0% of students borrow federal loans, outpacing typical campuses and raising repayment stakes.
  • Compare aid offers from nearby public universities to weigh the premium for smaller classes.
EDsmart Expert Analysis

Located in Virginia Beach, VA, ECPI University operates as a private for-profit institution and receives a C+ from EDsmart. It appears at #1606 in EDsmart's rankings Category results include Completion (C), Support (C+), Career Outcomes (B-), and Affordability (B).

Grades are assigned relative to EDsmart's national bachelor's cohort using standardized outcomes (2026 methodology); they reflect how a school compares to peers, not a fixed percentage of a raw point total.

56.5% of learners come back after year one while 40.7% graduate within 150% of normal time (52.2% within eight years). Review the cost and aid tables for a full picture of value.

Why it matters: this snapshot shows how likely you are to stay on track academically and whether the outcomes justify the price tag. Letter grades summarize cohort-relative performance—not a single exam-style score.

EDsmart Financial Snapshot

Families pay about $22,484 on average after aid, compared with a published cost near $30,124.

Institutional and federal aid lower costs by roughly $7,640 per year.

Graduates leave with a median of $22,570 in federal loans, which lines up with national norms.

About 60.0% of students receive Pell Grants, giving a snapshot of the campus income mix.

Why it matters: lining up sticker price, aid, and typical debt helps you stress-test the budget before you commit.

EDsmart Career Snapshot

Five years after graduation, alumni earn roughly $55,425 at the median. This is roughly 10% below typical U.S. college outcomes.

The three-year employment rate is close to 89.7%.

Use the ROI table above to estimate how long it may take to recoup your degree costs.

Why it matters: pairing median earnings with employment rates gives you a sense of payback time after graduation.

EDsmart Admissions Snapshot

74.5% of applicants receive offers, so preparation and fit matter.

The admissions team encourages students to highlight academic strengths through transcripts, essays, and recommendations.

Prospective students can apply early for priority review and lean on the ECPI University admissions site for deadlines, visit options, and counselor contacts.

Why it matters: knowing the admit rate and application expectations lets you map out testing, essays, and deadlines with less stress.

EDsmart Verdict
0.85 / 5
Value Rating - Based on affordability and career outcomes

Your Decision Toolkit

Run the Net Price Calculator
Get your personalized cost estimate
Compare with similar schools
See how ECPI University stacks up to alternatives
Check your major's earnings
See ROI for your specific field of study
Visit the campus
Schedule a campus tour or virtual visit
Visit ECPI University Website →

Cite this profile

Add your access date when you publish.

APA (7th): EDsmart. (2026). ECPI University: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings. https://www.edsmart.org/schools/ecpi-university/

MLA (9th): “ECPI University: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings.” EDsmart, 2026, www.edsmart.org/schools/ecpi-university/.

Chicago: EDsmart. “ECPI University: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings.” https://www.edsmart.org/schools/ecpi-university/.

Similar Schools

Institutions with similar academic profiles, selectivity, and outcomes

Nearby Schools

Other campuses you might consider

Other Virginia campuses you might consider

Southern Virginia University
Buena Vista, VA
C+ #1598 of 1,934
Virginia Union University
Richmond, VA
C #1630 of 1,934
Averett University
Danville, VA
C+ #1577 of 1,934
Virginia University of Lynchburg
Lynchburg, VA
C #1647 of 1,934

Frequently Asked Questions

What is ECPI University's acceptance rate?

ECPI University's acceptance rate is 74.5%, based on U.S. Department of Education admissions data.

How much does ECPI University cost?

At ECPI University, listed tuition and fees are $18,484 per year, and the average net price after aid is $22,484. Use the net price calculator on this page for a personalized estimate.

What is ECPI University's ranking?

ECPI University ranks #1606 overall in EDsmart's 2026 college rankings with an overall grade of C+, based on completion, affordability, support, and career outcomes.

What is ECPI University's graduation rate?

At ECPI University, the graduation rate within 150% of normal time is 40.7% (the rate used in EDsmart rankings), the federal 8-year award rate is 52.2%, and first-year retention is 56.5%.

What are ECPI University's job outcomes?

Graduates of ECPI University report median earnings of $55,425 five years after graduation, according to U.S. Department of Education outcome data. Outcomes vary by major.

What is ECPI University's student population?

ECPI University enrolls about 12,090 undergraduate students, per U.S. Department of Education enrollment data.

Contact Information

  • AccreditationSouthern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCC)
  • Transfer Enrollment Rate20.4%

Data Source & Methodology ▼