Florida Polytechnic University
Florida Polytechnic University has an acceptance rate of 57.5%, annual tuition of $4,940, average net price of $11,853, and a national rank of #337 (Grade B+), with a 54.9% graduation rate within 150% of normal time, about 1,689 undergraduates, and median earnings of $86,952 four years after graduation. Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard and EDsmart's 2026 rankings.
Florida Polytechnic University is a public university in Lakeland, FL. Students most often pursue Electrical, Electronics and Communications Engineering and Computer Engineering.
Inside the classroom, students benefit from a 17:1 student-faculty ratio, and 74.8% first-year retention. Faculty pair challenging syllabi with intentional mentoring so learners keep momentum even as expectations rise.
EDsmart calculates return on investment at 163.1%, roughly 113.2 points higher than typical outcomes. Expect the strongest outcomes for students who appreciate an encouraging campus with room to explore and career-focused learners aiming for high-impact outcomes.
Who is Florida Polytechnic University Best For?
A quick look at who tends to feel most at home here based on outcomes and campus context.
EDsmart Scores Summary
Florida Polytechnic University graduates 54.9% of students within 150% of normal time (the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings), with an 8-year award rate of 52.5% and keeps 74.8% of first-year students. Affordability earns a B+ compared with similar schools.
How we calculate this →Cost & Financial Aid
Quick Answers
The costs shown are averages. Use Florida Polytechnic University's net price calculator to get an estimate based on your family's financial situation.
Calculate Your Net Price →Total Degree Cost Summary
Annual Cost Comparison
Cost of Undergraduate Attendance
Costs based on full-time, first-time degree- or certificate-seeking undergraduates.
View cost of attendance line items
| Costs to Consider | Price |
|---|---|
| Tuition and Fees | $4,940 |
| Books and Supplies | $839 |
| On-Campus Room and Board | $14,482 |
| On-Campus Other Expenses | $3,956 |
| Total On-Campus Cost | $21,817 |
Tip: focus on the rows that match your living plan—commuters can swap in off-campus estimates while residential students should budget for housing, meals, and incidental fees.
Students Receiving Aid
Use these bars to gauge how many classmates rely on need-based dollars—lower Pell or loan shares may signal a wealthier student body or generous institutional grants.
EDsmart Insight: About 32.6% of Florida Polytechnic University students receive Pell Grants — slightly below the national average, highlighting ongoing affordability priorities.
Net Price by Family Income
Average annual net price after financial aid, based on family income. Your actual cost may vary depending on your specific financial situation.
Understanding These Numbers: Net price varies significantly by income level. Net prices range from $8,819 to $16,423 depending on family income. Use Florida Polytechnic University's net price calculator for a personalized estimate.
If your family earns $75K-$110K: Expect to pay around $15,037/year
If your family earns $110K+: Expect to pay around $16,423/year
See all income brackets →ROI & Career Outcomes
- Median Earnings (4 Years After Graduation) $86,952
- 10-Year Median Earnings $86,952
- Average Years to Graduate 4.5 years
- Average Student Debt $14,250
- Repayment Rate (3yr) Not reported
- Employment Rate Not reported
Graduate Earnings Distribution
Earnings range for Florida Polytechnic University graduates 6 years after enrollment, showing the 25th percentile, median, and 75th percentile. This illustrates the variation in outcomes across different majors and career paths.
Florida Polytechnic University vs. National Average
Comparison of key performance metrics showing how Florida Polytechnic University's outcomes compare to the national average across earnings, graduation rates, retention, ROI, and employment. This contextualizes Florida Polytechnic University's performance within the broader higher education landscape.
EDsmart Insight: With a 163.1% return on investment, Florida Polytechnic University delivers exceptional value. Graduates earn $86,952 median—+44% above the national average—making this a strong investment for career-focused students.
Acceptance & Selectivity
Getting In
- SAT Evidence-Based Reading 590-670
- SAT Math 580-670
- SAT Writing Not reported
- ACT Composite 24-30
- SAT & ACT Required
- Undergraduate Enrollment 1,689
- Full-Time Students 93.0%
- Part-Time Students 7.0%
- Retention Rate 74.8%
- Grad Rate (150% time) 54.9%
- Grad Rate (8-year) 52.5%
- Student-Faculty Ratio 17:1
How to Get Into Florida Polytechnic University
1. Meet Academic Requirements: Florida Polytechnic University requires strong academic performance. Aim for test scores within the reported ranges and maintain a competitive GPA. Most admitted students rank in the top 10% of their high school class.
2. Build a Strong Application: Beyond test scores, focus on crafting compelling essays, securing strong letters of recommendation, and highlighting extracurricular activities that demonstrate leadership and commitment.
3. Understand Selectivity: With an acceptance rate of 57.5%, Florida Polytechnic University is relatively open. Consider applying early decision if available, as early applicants often have higher acceptance rates.
4. Financial Planning: Review the net price calculator and financial aid options early. Many students receive significant aid, making the actual cost lower than the sticker price.
Tip: Contact the admissions office directly for the most current application requirements, deadlines, and any special programs (like early decision or early action) that might improve your chances.
EDsmart Insight: With a 57.5% acceptance rate, Florida Polytechnic University is more accessible than highly selective schools. Meeting the test score ranges and maintaining a solid GPA significantly improves admission chances. The middle 50% of admitted students score between 1170 and 1340 on the SAT.
Academic Programs
Undergraduate Program Distribution
Breakdown of the most popular majors and fields of study among Florida Polytechnic University undergraduates. Computer Software and Media Applications, Mechanical Engineering, and Computer Engineering draw the most students.
- Computer Software and Media Applications 55.3%
- Mechanical Engineering 20.8%
- Computer Engineering 14.3%
- Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engine 5.8%
- Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods 2.7%
- Business Administration, Management and Operations 1.0%
See more majors
- Computer Science 0.0%
- Engineering Physics 0.0%
Highest Earning Programs
Median earnings five years after graduation for each program. These figures help illustrate ROI by field of study and degree level.
Undergraduate Programs (Bachelor's Degrees)
- 1. Electrical, Electronics and Communications Engineering $70,375
- 2. Computer Engineering $65,126
- 3. Mechanical Engineering $62,595
Show additional high-earning majors
- 4. Computer Software and Media Applications $61,197
Program Choice Matters: Undergraduate: Electrical, Electronics and Communications Engineering grads earn $70,375—15% more than Computer Software and Media Applications ($61,197). Your program and degree level choice significantly impact career earnings.
Online Degrees & Distance Learning
College Scorecard reports fully online programs for Florida Polytechnic University. Below are the most popular options based on the number of recent graduates, followed by a quick look at the breadth of online offerings by degree level.
Source: U.S. Department of Education – College Scorecard
Most Popular Online Degrees
- Computer Software and Media Applications (Bachelor's Degree, 162 graduates)
- Mechanical Engineering (Bachelor's Degree, 61 graduates)
- Computer Engineering (Bachelor's Degree, 42 graduates)
- Electrical, Electronics and Communications Engineering (Bachelor's Degree, 17 graduates)
- Computer and Information Sciences, General (Master's Degree, 9 graduates)
What This School Offers Online, at a Glance
College Scorecard flags the following online degree and certificate programs for this institution. Expand each credential level to view the complete list of available subjects.
Online Bachelor's Degrees (12 programs)▼
- Computer Software and Media Applications
- Mechanical Engineering
- Computer Engineering
- Electrical, Electronics and Communications Engineering
- Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods
- Environmental/Environmental Health Engineering
- Engineering Physics
- Data Science
- Data Analytics
- Computer Science
- Applied Mathematics
- Intelligence, Command Control and Information Operations
Online Master's Degrees (2 programs)▼
- Computer and Information Sciences, General
- Engineering, General
Student Demographics
Student Population
- Total Undergraduate Enrollment 1,689
- Full-Time Students 93.0%
- Part-Time Students 7.0%
- Male Students 80.2%
- Female Students 19.8%
- Caucasian 53.0%
- Asian 5.5%
- Hispanic 27.0%
- Black 5.5%
- Pell Grant Recipients 32.6%
Racial & Ethnic Diversity
Undergraduate student body composition by racial and ethnic background. This reflects Florida Polytechnic University's commitment to diversity and inclusion in admissions.
Gender Distribution
Gender breakdown of Florida Polytechnic University's undergraduate population. Women make up 19.8% of the student body, while men represent 80.2%.
Graduation Rate Equity Analysis
How well does Florida Polytechnic University support students from different economic backgrounds?
What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at nearly the same rate as higher-income students, indicating strong institutional support for all economic backgrounds.
Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity
Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity
Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at Florida Polytechnic University, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.
EDsmart Insight: Men make up 80.2% of undergraduates.
Graduation Rate Equity Analysis
How well does Florida Polytechnic University support students from different economic backgrounds?
What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at nearly the same rate as higher-income students, indicating strong institutional support for all economic backgrounds.
Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity
Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity
Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at Florida Polytechnic University, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.
Our Take
Florida Polytechnic University achieves an impressive 163.1% return on investment, ranking among the top value institutions nationwide. While ranked #337 overall, the school's financial value proposition significantly outperforms its selectivity ranking.
Students graduate to $86,952 median earnings while paying just $11,853 annually—a combination that produces superior ROI. The 54.9% graduation rate and 74.8% retention demonstrate solid student outcomes and satisfaction.
High-Value Institution: Why Florida Polytechnic University Delivers Strong Returns
EDsmart identifies Florida Polytechnic University as a high-value institution where modest costs combine with strong earning potential.
The Value Formula: Florida Polytechnic University's 163.1% ROI stems from balancing $86,952 median post-graduation earnings against $11,853 annual costs. This ratio outperforms most selective institutions where higher earnings come with prohibitive price tags.
Ideal Candidates: Budget-conscious students seeking maximum financial return. First-generation college students and middle-class families who need affordable paths to solid careers. Students in practical fields (business, healthcare, technology) where degree cost directly impacts lifetime wealth accumulation.
Understanding the Trade-offs: Schools with 163.1% ROI typically offer less brand prestige than elite universities. Career services, research opportunities, and facilities may be less extensive. For fields where institutional reputation matters significantly (law, medicine, academia), higher-ranked alternatives might justify additional investment.
EDsmart Verdict: With a B+ grade and #337 ranking, Florida Polytechnic University represents smart value for students prioritizing financial outcomes. The school proves that high ROI doesn't require elite selectivity—careful program selection and cost management deliver results.
Key Takeaways
- 54.9% graduation rate sits 7.6 points below the national 62.5% benchmark.
- 74.8% first-year retention is 2.0 points below the national norm of 76.8%.
- 163.1% return on investment is 113.2 points above the national 49.9% benchmark.
- Median earnings of $86,952 run about 44% higher than national outcomes four years after graduation.
- Average net price of $11,853 is roughly $8,226 lower than the national median of $20,079.
Helpfulness for Students
- 17:1 student-faculty ratio keeps mentorship close and courses discussion-sized.
- 74.8% first-year retention shows students stay engaged after the first year.
- 163.1% ROI outruns the national average by 113.2 points, rewarding diligent borrowers.
- Pell participation at 32.6% trails the national share by 1.8 points, so equity work remains important.
- Compare aid offers from nearby public universities to weigh the premium for smaller classes.
- Compare aid offers from nearby public universities to weigh the premium for smaller classes.
EDsmart Expert Analysis
EDsmart rates Florida Polytechnic University—a public university in Lakeland, FL—at B+ overall. It appears at #337 in EDsmart's national list Grades by category break down as Completion B, Support B-, Career Outcomes A, and Affordability B+.
Grades are assigned relative to EDsmart's national bachelor's cohort using standardized outcomes (2026 methodology); they reflect how a school compares to peers, not a fixed percentage of a raw point total.
Student momentum is strong: 74.8% retention, 54.9% graduation within 150% of normal time, and 52.5% earning an award within eight years. The reported ROI is 163.1%, a figure families can weigh against cost and aid details above.
Why it matters: this snapshot shows how likely you are to stay on track academically and whether the outcomes justify the price tag. Letter grades summarize cohort-relative performance—not a single exam-style score.
EDsmart Financial Snapshot
Families pay about $11,853 on average after aid, compared with a published cost near $21,817.
Institutional and federal aid lower costs by roughly $9,964 per year.
Graduates leave with a median of $14,250 in federal loans, which lines up with national norms.
About 32.6% of students receive Pell Grants, giving a snapshot of the campus income mix.
Why it matters: lining up sticker price, aid, and typical debt helps you stress-test the budget before you commit.
EDsmart Career Snapshot
Median earnings come in near $86,952 four years after graduation. This is roughly 44% above typical U.S. college outcomes.
Employment figures are not reported, so explore departmental job placement stories.
The ROI comes in near 163.1%, which you can cross-check against your financial plan.
Why it matters: pairing median earnings with employment rates gives you a sense of payback time after graduation.
EDsmart Admissions Snapshot
57.5% of applicants receive offers, so preparation and fit matter.
The admissions team encourages students to highlight academic strengths through transcripts, essays, and recommendations.
Prospective students can apply early for priority review and lean on the Florida Polytechnic University admissions site for deadlines, visit options, and counselor contacts.
Why it matters: knowing the admit rate and application expectations lets you map out testing, essays, and deadlines with less stress.
Your Decision Toolkit
Similar Schools
Institutions with similar academic profiles, selectivity, and outcomes
Nearby Schools
Other campuses you might consider
Other Florida campuses you might consider
Frequently Asked Questions
What is Florida Polytechnic University's acceptance rate?
Florida Polytechnic University's acceptance rate is 57.5%, based on U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard admissions data.
How much does Florida Polytechnic University cost?
At Florida Polytechnic University, listed tuition and fees are $4,940 per year, and the average net price after aid is $11,853. Use the net price calculator on this page for a personalized estimate.
What is Florida Polytechnic University's ranking?
Florida Polytechnic University ranks #337 nationally in EDsmart's 2026 college rankings with an overall grade of B+, based on completion, affordability, support, and career outcomes.
What is Florida Polytechnic University's graduation rate?
At Florida Polytechnic University, the graduation rate within 150% of normal time is 54.9% (the rate used in EDsmart rankings), College Scorecard 8-year award rate is 52.5%, and first-year retention is 74.8%.
What are Florida Polytechnic University's job outcomes?
Graduates of Florida Polytechnic University report median earnings of $86,952 four years after graduation, according to College Scorecard federal outcome data. Outcomes vary by major.
What is Florida Polytechnic University's student population?
Florida Polytechnic University enrolls about 1,689 undergraduate students, per College Scorecard enrollment data.
Contact Information
- Address Lakeland, FL 33805-8531
- Website floridapoly.edu
- Net Price Calculator Calculate Your Cost
- Financial AidView Financial Aid Information
- AccreditationSouthern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCC)
- Endowment$3.6M