Full Sail University Logo

Full Sail University

Winter Park, FL | Private For-Profit | University

Full Sail University has annual tuition of $26,906, average net price of $38,875, and a national rank of #1935 (Grade D-), with a 44.3% graduation rate within 150% of normal time, about 25,777 undergraduates, and median earnings of $40,367 four years after graduation. Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard and EDsmart's 2026 rankings.

Full Sail University is a private for-profit institution in Winter Park, FL. Students most often pursue Computer Programming and Computer Engineering.

Inside the classroom, students benefit from a 32:1 student-faculty ratio, and 53.1% first-year retention. Faculty pair challenging syllabi with intentional mentoring so learners keep momentum even as expectations rise.

EDsmart calculates return on investment at 25.9%, roughly 24.0 points below typical outcomes. Expect the strongest outcomes for students who appreciate an encouraging campus with room to explore.

D-
Ranking
#1935 of 1,947
How We Rank Schools Large campus life
At a Glance
Ranking
#1935 of 1,947 (Top 99.4%)
Tuition
$26,906
Net Price
$38,875
4-Year Tuition
$107,624
Acceptance Rate
Not reported
Transfer Rate
1.6%
Student Population
25,777
Student-Faculty
32:1
Grad Rate (150% time)
44.3%
Grad Rate (8-year)
46.0%
Retention Rate
53.1%
4-Yr Earnings
$40,367
ROI
25.9%

Who is Full Sail University Best For?

A quick look at who tends to feel most at home here based on outcomes and campus context.

Explorers drawn to vibrant campus scale

EDsmart Scores Summary

Overall Ranking
#1935 of 1,947
Top 99.4% of all institutions
EDsmart Score
0.7 / 100 (national index)
Curved score (top institution = 100.0)
Value Rating
0.03 / 5
Based on ROI and outcomes
Completion
C
#1,654 of 1,947
Affordability
C-
#1,810 of 1,947
Support
D-
#1,914 of 1,947
Career Outcomes
C
#1,684 of 1,947

Full Sail University graduates 44.3% of students within 150% of normal time (the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings), with an 8-year award rate of 46.0% and keeps 53.1% of first-year students. Affordability earns a C- compared with similar schools.

How we calculate this →

Cost & Financial Aid

Quick Answers

What does it cost?
Depends on income
$38,738-$41,762 annual net price based on family income.
What's the graduation rate?
Somewhat likely
44.3% graduate within 150% of normal time (the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings). The College Scorecard 8-year award rate is 46.0%. 44.1% complete in four years (IPEDS 100% time).
What are job outcomes?
Likely
73.6% of alumni are employed within three years of leaving. Median earnings four years after graduation are $40,367. Pay varies by major.
Get Your Personalized Cost Estimate

The costs shown are averages. Use Full Sail University's net price calculator to get an estimate based on your family's financial situation.

Calculate Your Net Price →

Total Degree Cost Summary

4-Year Total Cost (Pay with Cash)
$190,120
$47,530 × 4 years
Average Total Cost (Pay with Financial Aid)
$155,816
$38,875 × 4.0 years average
Time to Degree
Average: 4.0 years | 4-Year Rate: 44.1% | 6-Year Rate: 44.3% | 8-Year Rate: 46.0%
Most students finish in about four to five years. Four-year completion is 44.1% and six-year completion is 44.3%.

Annual Cost Comparison

Pay with Cash
$47,530
Total annual cost including tuition, books and living expenses; excluding any financial aid, grants or scholarships.
Pay with Financial Aid
$38,875
Average annual cost including tuition, books and living expenses after financial aid, grants or scholarships.

Cost of Undergraduate Attendance

Costs based on full-time, first-time degree- or certificate-seeking undergraduates.

View cost of attendance line items
Costs to Consider Price
Tuition and Fees $26,906
Books and Supplies $530
On-Campus Room and Board Not reported
On-Campus Other Expenses Not reported
Total On-Campus Cost $47,530

Tip: focus on the rows that match your living plan—commuters can swap in off-campus estimates while residential students should budget for housing, meals, and incidental fees.

Students Receiving Aid

Pell Grant
33.8%
Federal Loan
0.0%

Use these bars to gauge how many classmates rely on need-based dollars—lower Pell or loan shares may signal a wealthier student body or generous institutional grants.

EDsmart Insight: About 33.8% of Full Sail University students receive Pell Grants — slightly below the national average, highlighting ongoing affordability priorities.

AFFORDABILITY ALERT

If your family earns $75K-$110K: Expect to pay around $40,236/year

If your family earns $110K+: Expect to pay around $41,762/year

See all income brackets →

ROI & Career Outcomes

Return on Investment
25.9%
Based on 6-year median earnings vs. total degree cost
  • Median Earnings (4 Years After Graduation) $40,367
  • 10-Year Median Earnings $38,219
  • Average Years to Graduate 4.0 years
  • Average Student Debt $27,000
  • Repayment Rate (3yr) 24.3%
  • Employment Rate 73.6%

Graduate Earnings Distribution

Earnings range for Full Sail University graduates 6 years after enrollment, showing the 25th percentile, median, and 75th percentile. This illustrates the variation in outcomes across different majors and career paths.

Graduates earn a median of $40,367 four years after graduation — roughly 33% below the national median.
Payback Period
3.86 years
Total Degree Cost ÷ Annual Earnings

Full Sail University vs. National Average

Comparison of key performance metrics showing how Full Sail University's outcomes compare to the national average across earnings, graduation rates, retention, ROI, and employment. This contextualizes Full Sail University's performance within the broader higher education landscape.

EDsmart Insight: While Full Sail University graduates earn $40,367 median, the 25.9% ROI suggests the investment may take longer to pay off. Consider your major choice and career goals when evaluating value.

Acceptance & Selectivity

Getting In

Acceptance Rate
Not reported
Extremely Selective
National Average
69%
Average acceptance rate
  • SAT Evidence-Based Reading Not reported
  • SAT Math Not reported
  • SAT Writing Not reported
  • ACT Composite Not reported
  • SAT & ACTNot required
  • Undergraduate Enrollment 25,777
  • Full-Time Students 100.0%
  • Part-Time Students 0.0%
  • Retention Rate 33.1%
  • Grad Rate (150% time) 44.3%
  • Grad Rate (8-year) 46.0%
  • Student-Faculty Ratio 32:1

How to Get Into Full Sail University

1. Meet Academic Requirements: Full Sail University requires strong academic performance. Aim for test scores within the reported ranges and maintain a competitive GPA. Most admitted students rank in the top 10% of their high school class.

2. Build a Strong Application: Beyond test scores, focus on crafting compelling essays, securing strong letters of recommendation, and highlighting extracurricular activities that demonstrate leadership and commitment.

3. Understand Selectivity: With an acceptance rate of Not reported, Full Sail University is selective. Consider applying early decision if available, as early applicants often have higher acceptance rates.

4. Financial Planning: Review the net price calculator and financial aid options early. Many students receive significant aid, making the actual cost lower than the sticker price.

Tip: Contact the admissions office directly for the most current application requirements, deadlines, and any special programs (like early decision or early action) that might improve your chances.

Academic Programs

Undergraduate Program Distribution

Breakdown of the most popular majors and fields of study among Full Sail University undergraduates. Film/Video and Photographic Arts, Human Computer Interaction, and Audiovisual Communications Technologies/Technician draw the most students.

  • Film/Video and Photographic Arts 13.3%
  • Human Computer Interaction 12.2%
  • Audiovisual Communications Technologies/Technician 9.7%
  • Visual and Performing Arts, General 8.4%
  • Fine and Studio Arts 7.7%
  • Design and Applied Arts 7.5%
See more majors
  • Music 7.2%
  • Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies 6.5%

Highest Earning Programs

Median earnings five years after graduation for each program. These figures help illustrate ROI by field of study and degree level.

Undergraduate Programs (Bachelor's Degrees)

  • 1. Computer Programming $81,925
  • 2. Computer Engineering $61,553
  • 3. Computer Engineering Technologies/Technicians $58,321
Show additional high-earning majors
  • 4. Computer and Information Sciences, General $52,927
  • 5. Computer Software and Media Applications $51,455
  • 6. Computer Science $50,359
  • 7. Communication and Media Studies $49,929
  • 8. Design and Applied Arts $44,692
  • 9. Human Computer Interaction $42,044
  • 10. Business Administration, Management and Operations $41,246

Graduate Programs (Master's, Doctoral, Professional)

  • 1. Management Information Systems and Services (Master's Degree) $85,064
  • 2. Computer Software and Media Applications (Master's Degree) $84,207
  • 3. Educational/Instructional Media Design (Graduate/Professional Certificate) $77,511
Show additional graduate majors
  • 4. Business Administration, Management and Operations (Graduate/Professional Certificate) $71,790
  • 5. Educational/Instructional Media Design (Master's Degree) $68,369
  • 6. Marketing (Graduate/Professional Certificate) $65,262
  • 7. Business Administration, Management and Operations (Master's Degree) $59,086
  • 8. Design and Applied Arts (Master's Degree) $52,770
  • 9. Journalism (Master's Degree) $52,002
  • 10. Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication (Master's Degree) $48,312

Program Choice Matters: Undergraduate: Computer Programming grads earn $81,925—99% more than Business Administration, Management and Operations ($41,246). Graduate: Management Information Systems and Services programs lead with $85,064 median earnings. Your program and degree level choice significantly impact career earnings.

Online Degrees & Distance Learning

College Scorecard reports fully online programs for Full Sail University. Below are the most popular options based on the number of recent graduates, followed by a quick look at the breadth of online offerings by degree level.
Source: U.S. Department of Education – College Scorecard

Most Popular Online Degrees

  • Film/Video and Photographic Arts (Bachelor's Degree, 420 graduates)
  • Design and Applied Arts (Bachelor's Degree, 236 graduates)
  • Communications Technology/Technician (Bachelor's Degree, 196 graduates)
  • Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other (Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma, 164 graduates)
  • Film/Video and Photographic Arts (Master's Degree, 116 graduates)

What This School Offers Online, at a Glance

College Scorecard flags the following online degree and certificate programs for this institution. Expand each credential level to view the complete list of available subjects.

Online Bachelor's Degrees (6 programs)▼
  • Film/Video and Photographic Arts
  • Design and Applied Arts
  • Communications Technology/Technician
  • Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft
  • Computer Science
  • Computer and Information Sciences, General
Online Master's Degrees (2 programs)▼
  • Film/Video and Photographic Arts
  • Human Computer Interaction
Online Undergraduate Certificates & Diplomas (1 program)▼
  • Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other

Student Demographics

Student Population

  • Total Undergraduate Enrollment 25,777
  • Full-Time Students 100.0%
  • Part-Time Students 0.0%
  • Male Students 66.9%
  • Female Students 33.1%
  • Caucasian 35.0%
  • Asian 1.8%
  • Hispanic 19.6%
  • Black 32.0%
  • Pell Grant Recipients 33.8%

Racial & Ethnic Diversity

Undergraduate student body composition by racial and ethnic background. This reflects Full Sail University's commitment to diversity and inclusion in admissions.

Gender Distribution

Gender breakdown of Full Sail University's undergraduate population. The university maintains a roughly balanced gender distribution across its student body.

Graduation Rate Equity Analysis

How well does Full Sail University support students from different economic backgrounds?

Pell Grant Recipients
41.3%
6-year graduation rate
Non-Pell Students
46.3%
6-year graduation rate
Equity Gap
5.0 pts
excellent equity

What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at nearly the same rate as higher-income students, indicating strong institutional support for all economic backgrounds.

Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity

Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity

Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at Full Sail University, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.

EDsmart Insight: Full Sail University has a diverse student body, with 35.0% identifying as White. Men make up 66.9% of undergraduates.

Graduation Rate Equity Analysis

How well does Full Sail University support students from different economic backgrounds?

Pell Grant Recipients
41.3%
6-year graduation rate
Non-Pell Students
46.3%
6-year graduation rate
Equity Gap
5.0 pts
excellent equity

What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at nearly the same rate as higher-income students, indicating strong institutional support for all economic backgrounds.

Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity

Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity

Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at Full Sail University, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.

Our Take

Full Sail University ranks #1935 of 1947 institutions in our comprehensive analysis, achieving a D- overall grade with 25.9% ROI.

At $38,875 annually, the institution serves students seeking accessible higher education. Career outcomes and value metrics should be carefully compared against alternative institutions before enrolling.

EDsmart Assessment: Full Sail University

D- grade | #1935 of 1947 | 0.7/100 on EDsmart's national index (0–100 vs. all ranked schools; not a raw point total)

Performance Overview: Full Sail University's 25.9% return on investment and #1935 ranking reflect the institution's competitive position in the higher education landscape. The $38,875 annual cost should be carefully weighed against expected career outcomes.

Value Considerations: Prospective students should compare Full Sail University's specific programs against alternatives, as institutional averages may not reflect individual program quality. Financial aid packages, program-specific outcomes, and career services vary significantly.

Decision Framework: Use Full Sail University's D- grade and #1935 ranking as starting points, not final answers. Evaluate program-specific outcomes, campus visit impressions, financial aid offers, and career placement rates in your intended field before making enrollment decisions.

Key Takeaways

  • 44.3% graduation rate sits 18.2 points below the national 62.5% benchmark.
  • 53.1% first-year retention is 23.7 points below the national norm of 76.8%.
  • 25.9% return on investment is 24.0 points below the national 49.9% benchmark.
  • Median earnings of $40,367 run about 33% lower than national outcomes four years after graduation.
  • Average net price of $38,875 is roughly $18,796 higher than the national median of $20,079.

Helpfulness for Students

Green Flags
  • 32:1 student-faculty ratio keeps mentorship close and courses discussion-sized.
  • 53.1% first-year retention shows students stay engaged after the first year.
  • 73.6% employment rate within three years sits 5.4 points above national outcomes.
Red Flags
  • Average net price of $38,875 is about $18,796 higher than comparable schools, so scholarship planning is key.
  • Pell participation at 33.8% trails the national share by 0.6 points, so equity work remains important.
  • Compare aid offers from nearby public universities to weigh the premium for smaller classes.
EDsmart Expert Analysis

Full Sail University is a private for-profit institution based in Winter Park, FL and earns a D- overall grade. It stands at #1935 among 1962 schools Completion earns C, Support D-, Career Outcomes C, and Affordability C-.

Grades are assigned relative to EDsmart's national bachelor's cohort using standardized outcomes (2026 methodology); they reflect how a school compares to peers, not a fixed percentage of a raw point total.

About 53.1% of first-year students return; 44.3% graduate within 150% of normal time, with an 8-year award rate of 46.0%. The reported ROI is 25.9%, a figure families can weigh against cost and aid details above.

Why it matters: this snapshot shows how likely you are to stay on track academically and whether the outcomes justify the price tag. Letter grades summarize cohort-relative performance—not a single exam-style score.

EDsmart Financial Snapshot

Families pay about $38,875 on average after aid, compared with a published cost near $47,530.

Institutional and federal aid lower costs by roughly $8,655 per year.

Graduates leave with a median of $27,000 in federal loans, which lines up with national norms.

About 33.8% of students receive Pell Grants, giving a snapshot of the campus income mix.

Why it matters: lining up sticker price, aid, and typical debt helps you stress-test the budget before you commit.

EDsmart Career Snapshot

Six years in, alumni earn roughly $40,367 at the median. That sits about 33% below the national median.

The three-year employment rate is close to 73.6%.

The ROI comes in near 25.9%, which you can cross-check against your financial plan.

Why it matters: pairing median earnings with employment rates gives you a sense of payback time after graduation.

EDsmart Admissions Snapshot

This institution has not reported a current acceptance rate.

The admissions team encourages students to highlight academic strengths through transcripts, essays, and recommendations.

Prospective students can apply early for priority review and lean on the Full Sail University admissions site for deadlines, visit options, and counselor contacts.

Why it matters: knowing the admit rate and application expectations lets you map out testing, essays, and deadlines with less stress.

EDsmart Verdict
0.03 / 5
Value Rating - Based on affordability and career outcomes

Your Decision Toolkit

Run the Net Price Calculator
Get your personalized cost estimate
Compare with similar schools
See how Full Sail University stacks up to alternatives
Check your major's earnings
See ROI for your specific field of study
Visit the campus
Schedule a campus tour or virtual visit
Visit Full Sail University Website →

Similar Schools

Institutions with similar academic profiles, selectivity, and outcomes

Nearby Schools

Other campuses you might consider

Other Florida campuses you might consider

Trinity College of Florida
Trinity, FL
D- #1936 of 1,947
Yeshivah Gedolah Rabbinical College
Miami Beach, FL
D- #1916 of 1,947
South Florida Bible College and Theological Seminary
Deerfield Beach, FL
D #1903 of 1,947
Webber International University
Babson Park, FL
D+ #1897 of 1,947

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does Full Sail University cost?

At Full Sail University, listed tuition and fees are $26,906 per year, and the average net price after aid is $38,875. Use the net price calculator on this page for a personalized estimate.

What is Full Sail University's ranking?

Full Sail University ranks #1935 nationally in EDsmart's 2026 college rankings with an overall grade of D-, based on completion, affordability, support, and career outcomes.

What is Full Sail University's graduation rate?

At Full Sail University, the graduation rate within 150% of normal time is 44.3% (the rate used in EDsmart rankings), College Scorecard 8-year award rate is 46.0%, and first-year retention is 53.1%.

What are Full Sail University's job outcomes?

Graduates of Full Sail University report median earnings of $40,367 four years after graduation, according to College Scorecard federal outcome data. Outcomes vary by major.

What is Full Sail University's student population?

Full Sail University enrolls about 25,777 undergraduate students, per College Scorecard enrollment data.

Contact Information

  • AccreditationAccrediting Commission of Career Schools and Colleges (ACCSC)
  • Transfer Enrollment Rate1.6%

Data Source & Methodology ▼