Golden Gate University
Golden Gate University has an overall rank of #515 (Grade B+). The 8-year graduation rate is 43.0%, and median earnings are $90,099 five years after graduation. Data from the U.S. Department of Education and EDsmart's 2026 rankings.
Golden Gate University is a private nonprofit university in San Francisco, CA. Students most often pursue Business Administration, Management and Operations and Human Resources Management and Services.
Academically, students benefit from a 7:1 student-faculty ratio. Peer cohorts and advising networks provide scaffolding that keeps newcomers anchored during demanding semesters.
It's a compelling fit for students who appreciate an encouraging campus with room to explore and students looking for meaningful faculty access.
Who is Golden Gate University Best For?
A quick look at who tends to feel most at home here based on outcomes and campus context.
EDsmart Scores Summary
Golden Gate University reports an 8-year award rate of 43.0% and does not report first-year retention. Affordability earns a B- compared with similar schools.
How we calculate this →Cost & Financial Aid
Quick Answers
The costs shown are averages. Use Golden Gate University's net price calculator to get an estimate based on your family's financial situation.
Calculate Your Net Price →Total Degree Cost Summary
Annual Cost Comparison
Est. annual aid gap: Not reported Cash cost of attendance minus average net price after aid.
Cost of Undergraduate Attendance
Costs based on full-time, first-time degree- or certificate-seeking undergraduates.
View cost of attendance line items
| Costs to Consider | Price |
|---|---|
| Tuition and Fees | Not reported |
| Books and Supplies | Not reported |
| On-Campus Room and Board | Not reported |
| On-Campus Other Expenses | Not reported |
| Total On-Campus Cost | Not reported |
Tip: focus on the rows that match your living plan—commuters can swap in off-campus estimates while residential students should budget for housing, meals, and incidental fees.
Students Receiving Aid
Use these bars to gauge how many classmates rely on need-based dollars—lower Pell or loan shares may signal a wealthier student body or generous institutional grants.
EDsmart Insight: About 26.9% of Golden Gate University students receive Pell Grants — below the national average, highlighting ongoing affordability priorities.
ROI & Career Outcomes
- Median Earnings (5 Years After Graduation) $90,099
- 10-Year Median Earnings $90,346
- Average Years to Graduate 4.0 years
- Average Student Debt $28,217
- Debt-to-Earnings ~31.3%
- Repayment Rate (3yr) 55.9%
- Employment Rate 89.3%
Graduate Earnings Distribution
Earnings range for Golden Gate University graduates about 10 years after enrollment (25th percentile, median, and 75th percentile). Different horizon than median earnings five years after graduation above.
Golden Gate University vs. National Average
Comparison of key performance metrics showing how Golden Gate University's outcomes compare to the national average across earnings, graduation rates, retention, ROI, and employment. This contextualizes Golden Gate University's performance within the broader higher education landscape.
Acceptance & Selectivity
Getting In
- SAT Evidence-Based Reading Not reported
- SAT Math Not reported
- SAT Writing Not reported
- ACT Composite Not reported
- SAT & ACTNot required
- Undergraduate Enrollment 259
- Full-Time Students 52.5%
- Part-Time Students 47.5%
- Retention Rate Not reported
- Graduation Rate Not reported
- Student-Faculty Ratio 7:1
How to Get Into Golden Gate University
1. Meet Academic Requirements: Golden Gate University requires strong academic performance. Aim for test scores within the reported ranges and maintain a competitive GPA. Most admitted students rank in the top 10% of their high school class.
2. Build a Strong Application: Beyond test scores, focus on crafting compelling essays, securing strong letters of recommendation, and highlighting extracurricular activities that demonstrate leadership and commitment.
3. Understand Selectivity: With an acceptance rate of Not reported, Golden Gate University is selective. Consider applying early decision if available, as early applicants often have higher acceptance rates.
4. Financial Planning: Review the net price calculator and financial aid options early. Many students receive significant aid, making the actual cost lower than the sticker price.
Tip: Contact the admissions office directly for the most current application requirements, deadlines, and any special programs (like early decision or early action) that might improve your chances.
Academic Programs
Undergraduate Program Distribution
Breakdown of the most popular majors and fields of study among Golden Gate University undergraduates. Business Administration, Management and Operations, Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods, and Information Science/Studies draw the most students.
- Business Administration, Management and Operations 98.3%
- Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods 1.7%
- Information Science/Studies 0.0%
- Computer and Information Sciences and Support Serv 0.0%
- Psychology, General 0.0%
- Accounting and Related Services 0.0%
See more majors
- Finance and Financial Management Services 0.0%
- Human Resources Management and Services 0.0%
Highest Earning Programs
Median earnings five years after graduation for each program. These figures help illustrate ROI by field of study and degree level.
Undergraduate Programs (Bachelor's Degrees)
- 1. Business Administration, Management and Operations $98,754
Graduate Programs (Master's, Doctoral, Professional)
- 1. Business Administration, Management and Operations (Master's Degree) $131,690
- 2. Human Resources Management and Services (Master's Degree) $129,323
- 3. Legal Research and Advanced Professional Studies (First Professional Degree) $125,674
Show additional graduate majors
- 4. Taxation (Master's Degree) $124,408
- 5. Accounting and Related Services (Master's Degree) $111,491
- 6. Legal Research and Advanced Professional Studies (Master's Degree) $106,626
- 7. Law (First Professional Degree) $100,773
- 8. Public Administration (Master's Degree) $91,136
- 9. Psychology, General (Master's Degree) $90,219
- 10. Finance and Financial Management Services (Master's Degree) $80,748
Program Choice Matters: Graduate: Business Administration, Management and Operations programs lead with $131,690 median earnings. Your program and degree level choice significantly impact career earnings.
Online Degrees & Distance Learning
U.S. Department of Education data does not list any fully online degree programs for Golden Gate University. This institution may offer hybrid or partially online courses, but no fully online degree programs are reported in the latest data release.
Source: U.S. Department of Education
Student Demographics
Student Population
- Total Undergraduate Enrollment 259
- Full-Time Students 52.5%
- Part-Time Students 47.5%
- Male Students 64.9%
- Female Students 35.1%
- Caucasian 25.5%
- Asian 27.4%
- Hispanic 16.2%
- Black 15.1%
- Pell Grant Recipients 26.9%
Racial & Ethnic Diversity
Undergraduate student body composition by racial and ethnic background. This reflects Golden Gate University's commitment to diversity and inclusion in admissions.
Gender Distribution
Gender breakdown of Golden Gate University's undergraduate population. The university maintains a roughly balanced gender distribution across its student body.
EDsmart Insight: Golden Gate University has a diverse student body, with 25.5% identifying as White. Men make up 64.9% of undergraduates.
Our Take
Golden Gate University offers a private university experience at a regional scale, combining smaller class sizes with 0.0% ROI. Ranked #515 overall, the institution balances personalized attention against higher costs than public alternatives.
The $0 annual net price is competitive with public out-of-state tuition, offset somewhat by $90,099 median earnings. With 0.0% graduating within 150% of normal time and 0.0% returning for sophomore year, outcomes reflect the personalized support typical of smaller private institutions.
Private University Value: Golden Gate University's Positioning
With a B+ grade and #515 ranking, Golden Gate University competes in the crowded regional private university market.
The Private University Premium: At $0 annually, Golden Gate University charges more than public alternatives but typically offers smaller classes, more personalized advising, and tighter-knit campus communities. The 0.0% retention rate suggests students value this environment.
Who Benefits Most: Students who thrive in smaller, more intimate academic settings. Those seeking specific programs or values-based education aligned with the institution's mission. Students who receive merit scholarships that bring costs below $0 achieve particularly strong value.
Cost-Benefit Reality: The 0.0% ROI and $90,099 median earnings don't always justify the premium over public universities. Students paying full price should compare whether the personalized experience warrants $-10,000+ in additional annual costs over state flagships.
Competitive Standing: Golden Gate University ranks #515 of 1934 institutions, with 0 schools achieving higher ROI. For students offered substantial merit aid or seeking specific programs unavailable at public universities, the value proposition strengthens significantly.
Key Takeaways
- Median earnings of $90,099 run about 46% higher than national outcomes five years after graduation.
- 89.3% employment rate within three years is 21.1 points above the national 68.2%.
- 7:1 student-faculty ratio keeps advising personal and discussion-sized.
- #515 of 1,934 national placement reflects steady performance among comparable institutions.
Helpfulness for Students
- 7:1 student-faculty ratio keeps mentorship close and courses discussion-sized.
- 89.3% employment rate within three years sits 21.1 points above national outcomes.
- Career coaching and alumni mentoring help learners convert classes into early job offers.
- Pell participation at 26.9% trails the national share by 11.7 points, so equity work remains important.
- Compare aid offers from nearby public universities to weigh the premium for smaller classes.
- Compare aid offers from nearby public universities to weigh the premium for smaller classes.
EDsmart Expert Analysis
Golden Gate University is a private nonprofit university based in San Francisco, CA and earns a B+ overall grade. It appears at #515 in EDsmart's rankings Category results include Completion (B), Support (B+), Career Outcomes (B+), and Affordability (B-).
Grades are assigned relative to EDsmart's national bachelor's cohort using standardized outcomes (2026 methodology); they reflect how a school compares to peers, not a fixed percentage of a raw point total.
The eight-year award rate hovers around 43.0%. Review the cost and aid tables for a full picture of value.
Why it matters: this snapshot shows how likely you are to stay on track academically and whether the outcomes justify the price tag. Letter grades summarize cohort-relative performance—not a single exam-style score.
EDsmart Financial Snapshot
Review the charts above for a breakdown of tuition, aid, and typical expenses.
Aid awards vary by student profile, so completing the net price calculator is the best next step.
Graduates leave with a median of $28,217 in federal loans, which lines up with national norms.
About 26.9% of students receive Pell Grants, giving a snapshot of the campus income mix.
Why it matters: lining up sticker price, aid, and typical debt helps you stress-test the budget before you commit.
EDsmart Career Snapshot
Five years after graduation, alumni earn roughly $90,099 at the median. This is roughly 46% above typical U.S. college outcomes.
Employment outcomes report about 89.3% of alumni working within three years.
Use the ROI table above to estimate how long it may take to recoup your degree costs.
Why it matters: pairing median earnings with employment rates gives you a sense of payback time after graduation.
EDsmart Admissions Snapshot
This institution has not reported a current acceptance rate.
The admissions team encourages students to highlight academic strengths through transcripts, essays, and recommendations.
Prospective students can apply early for priority review and lean on the Golden Gate University admissions site for deadlines, visit options, and counselor contacts.
Why it matters: knowing the admit rate and application expectations lets you map out testing, essays, and deadlines with less stress.
Your Decision Toolkit
Cite this profile
Add your access date when you publish.
APA (7th): EDsmart. (2026). Golden Gate University: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings. https://www.edsmart.org/schools/golden-gate-university/
MLA (9th): “Golden Gate University: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings.” EDsmart, 2026, www.edsmart.org/schools/golden-gate-university/.
Chicago: EDsmart. “Golden Gate University: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings.” https://www.edsmart.org/schools/golden-gate-university/.
Similar Schools
Institutions with similar academic profiles, selectivity, and outcomes
Nearby Schools
Other campuses you might consider
Other California campuses you might consider
Frequently Asked Questions
What is Golden Gate University's ranking?
Golden Gate University ranks #515 overall in EDsmart's 2026 college rankings with an overall grade of B+, based on completion, affordability, support, and career outcomes.
What is Golden Gate University's graduation rate?
At Golden Gate University, the the federal 8-year award rate is 43.0%.
What are Golden Gate University's job outcomes?
Graduates of Golden Gate University report median earnings of $90,099 five years after graduation, according to U.S. Department of Education outcome data. Outcomes vary by major.
What is Golden Gate University's student population?
Golden Gate University enrolls about 259 undergraduate students, per U.S. Department of Education enrollment data.
Contact Information
- Address 536 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94105-2968
- Website www.ggu.edu
- Net Price Calculator Calculate Your Cost
- Financial AidView Financial Aid Information
- AccreditationWestern Association of Schools and Colleges Senior Colleges and University Commission (WASCSR)
- Endowment$46.2M