Harvey Mudd College
Harvey Mudd College has an acceptance rate of 12.7%, an average net price of $39,347, and an overall rank of #24 (Grade A+). About 93.3% of students graduate within 150% of normal time, and median earnings are $146,840 five years after graduation. Data from the U.S. Department of Education and EDsmart's 2026 rankings.
Harvey Mudd College is a private nonprofit university in Claremont, CA. Students most often pursue Computer Science and Mathematics and Computer Science.
Inside the classroom, students benefit from a 8:1 student-faculty ratio, and 96.4% first-year retention. Faculty pair challenging syllabi with intentional mentoring so learners keep momentum even as expectations rise.
EDsmart calculates return on investment at 87.6%, roughly 37.7 points higher than typical outcomes. Expect the strongest outcomes for motivated learners who want a competitive yet collaborative community and students looking for meaningful faculty access.
Who is Harvey Mudd College Best For?
A quick look at who tends to feel most at home here based on outcomes and campus context.
EDsmart Scores Summary
Harvey Mudd College graduates 93.3% of students within 150% of normal time (the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings), with an 8-year award rate of 93.5% and keeps 96.4% of first-year students. Affordability earns a D+ compared with similar schools.
How we calculate this →Cost & Financial Aid
Quick Answers
The costs shown are averages. Use Harvey Mudd College's net price calculator to get an estimate based on your family's financial situation.
Calculate Your Net Price →Total Degree Cost Summary
Annual Cost Comparison
Est. annual aid gap: $53,784 Cash cost of attendance minus average net price after aid.
Cost of Undergraduate Attendance
Costs based on full-time, first-time degree- or certificate-seeking undergraduates.
View cost of attendance line items
| Costs to Consider | Price |
|---|---|
| Tuition and Fees | $73,100 |
| Books and Supplies | $800 |
| On-Campus Room and Board | $23,434 |
| On-Campus Other Expenses | $1,400 |
| Total On-Campus Cost | $93,131 |
Tip: focus on the rows that match your living plan—commuters can swap in off-campus estimates while residential students should budget for housing, meals, and incidental fees.
Students Receiving Aid
Use these bars to gauge how many classmates rely on need-based dollars—lower Pell or loan shares may signal a wealthier student body or generous institutional grants.
EDsmart Insight: About 20.0% of Harvey Mudd College students receive Pell Grants — below the national average, highlighting ongoing affordability priorities.
Net Price by Family Income
Average annual net price after financial aid, based on family income. Your actual cost may vary depending on your specific financial situation.
Understanding These Numbers: Net price varies significantly by income level. Net prices range from $41,333 to $58,366 depending on family income. Use Harvey Mudd College's net price calculator for a personalized estimate.
If your family earns $75K-$110K: Expect to pay around $16,864/year
If your family earns $110K+: Expect to pay around $58,366/year
See all income brackets →ROI & Career Outcomes
- Median Earnings (5 Years After Graduation) $146,840
- 10-Year Median Earnings $164,248
- Average Years to Graduate 4.3 years
- Average Student Debt $25,000
- Debt-to-Earnings ~17.0%
- Repayment Rate (3yr) Not reported
- Employment Rate 91.4%
Graduate Earnings Distribution
Earnings range for Harvey Mudd College graduates about 10 years after enrollment (25th percentile, median, and 75th percentile). Different horizon than median earnings five years after graduation above.
Harvey Mudd College vs. National Average
Comparison of key performance metrics showing how Harvey Mudd College's outcomes compare to the national average across earnings, graduation rates, retention, ROI, and employment. This contextualizes Harvey Mudd College's performance within the broader higher education landscape.
Acceptance & Selectivity
Getting In
- SAT Evidence-Based Reading 730-770
- SAT Math 770-800
- SAT Writing Not reported
- ACT Composite 34-36
- SAT & ACT Required
- Undergraduate Enrollment 921
- Full-Time Students 99.8%
- Part-Time Students 0.2%
- Retention Rate 96.4%
- Grad Rate (150% time) 93.3%
- Grad Rate (8-year) 93.5%
- Student-Faculty Ratio 8:1
How to Get Into Harvey Mudd College
1. Meet Academic Requirements: Harvey Mudd College requires strong academic performance. Aim for test scores within the reported ranges and maintain a competitive GPA. Most admitted students rank in the top 10% of their high school class.
2. Build a Strong Application: Beyond test scores, focus on crafting compelling essays, securing strong letters of recommendation, and highlighting extracurricular activities that demonstrate leadership and commitment.
3. Understand Selectivity: With an acceptance rate of 12.7%, Harvey Mudd College is highly selective. Consider applying early decision if available, as early applicants often have higher acceptance rates.
4. Financial Planning: Review the net price calculator and financial aid options early. Many students receive significant aid, making the actual cost lower than the sticker price.
Tip: Contact the admissions office directly for the most current application requirements, deadlines, and any special programs (like early decision or early action) that might improve your chances.
EDsmart Insight: Harvey Mudd College's 12.7% acceptance rate makes it highly selective. Strong test scores, GPA, and a well-rounded application are essential. Early application can improve your chances. The middle 50% of admitted students score between 1500 and 1570 on the SAT.
Academic Programs
Undergraduate Program Distribution
Breakdown of the most popular majors and fields of study among Harvey Mudd College undergraduates. Engineering, General, Mathematics and Computer Science, and Computer Science draw the most students.
- Engineering, General 31.2%
- Mathematics and Computer Science 23.9%
- Computer Science 21.6%
- Physics 6.4%
- Biomathematics, Bioinformatics, and Computational 4.6%
- Mathematics 3.2%
See more majors
- Biology, General 1.4%
- Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology 1.4%
Highest Earning Programs
Median earnings five years after graduation for each program. These figures help illustrate ROI by field of study and degree level.
Undergraduate Programs (Bachelor's Degrees)
- 1. Computer Science $220,204
- 2. Mathematics and Computer Science $166,573
- 3. Engineering, General $123,894
Program Choice Matters: Undergraduate: Computer Science grads earn $220,204—78% more than Engineering, General ($123,894). Your program and degree level choice significantly impact career earnings.
Online Degrees & Distance Learning
U.S. Department of Education data reports fully online programs for Harvey Mudd College. Below are the most popular options based on the number of recent graduates, followed by a quick look at the breadth of online offerings by degree level.
Source: U.S. Department of Education
Most Popular Online Degrees
- Computer Science (Bachelor's Degree, 55 graduates)
- Engineering, General (Bachelor's Degree, 53 graduates)
- Mathematics and Computer Science (Bachelor's Degree, 44 graduates)
- Physics (Bachelor's Degree, 18 graduates)
- Mathematics (Bachelor's Degree, 16 graduates)
What This School Offers Online, at a Glance
U.S. Department of Education data flags the following online degree and certificate programs for this institution. Expand each credential level to view the complete list of available subjects.
Online Bachelor's Degrees (16 programs)â–Ľ
- Computer Science
- Engineering, General
- Mathematics and Computer Science
- Physics
- Mathematics
- Biomathematics, Bioinformatics, and Computational Biology
- Chemistry
- Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology
- Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other
- Communication and Media Studies
- Biology, General
- History
- Natural Resources Conservation and Research
- Fine and Studio Arts
- Economics
- Area Studies
Student Demographics
Student Population
- Total Undergraduate Enrollment 921
- Full-Time Students 99.8%
- Part-Time Students 0.2%
- Male Students 49.3%
- Female Students 50.7%
- Caucasian 24.4%
- Asian 20.2%
- Hispanic 22.0%
- Black 5.2%
- Pell Grant Recipients 20.0%
Racial & Ethnic Diversity
Undergraduate student body composition by racial and ethnic background. This reflects Harvey Mudd College's commitment to diversity and inclusion in admissions.
Gender Distribution
Gender breakdown of Harvey Mudd College's undergraduate population. The university maintains a roughly balanced gender distribution across its student body.
Graduation Rate Equity Analysis
How well does Harvey Mudd College support students from different economic backgrounds?
What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at a similar rate as higher-income students, indicating adequate institutional support for all economic backgrounds.
Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity
Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity
Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at Harvey Mudd College, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.
EDsmart Insight: Harvey Mudd College has a diverse student body, with 24.4% identifying as White. About 20.0% receive Pell Grants, below the national average of 38%, suggesting a wealthier student body or generous institutional aid.
Graduation Rate Equity Analysis
How well does Harvey Mudd College support students from different economic backgrounds?
What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at a similar rate as higher-income students, indicating adequate institutional support for all economic backgrounds.
Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity
Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity
Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at Harvey Mudd College, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.
Our Take
Harvey Mudd College ranks among the country's most prestigious, delivering a 0.0% ROI outperforming 1934 of 1934 institutions in our analysis.
The institution achieves 81.2% four-year completion and a 93.3% graduation rate within 150% of normal time and maintains 96.4% first-year retention. However, the $39,347 annual net price positions this institution at the higher end of college costs. Post-graduation median earnings of $146,840 reflect strong career outcomes typical of selective institutions.
Value Analysis: Is Harvey Mudd College Worth It?
Ranking #24 of 1934, Harvey Mudd College delivers a A+ overall grade with 98.8/100 on EDsmart's national index (0–100 vs. all ranked schools; not a raw point total).
For High-Achieving Students: Applicants pursuing careers where institutional prestige and professional networks drive opportunities—such as finance, consulting, law, and academia—benefit most from Harvey Mudd College's brand value and alumni connections. The school's reputation provides career acceleration that may justify the premium cost for specific fields.
Financial Aid Recipients: Students receiving substantial need-based aid (bringing actual costs below $19,674 annually) access elite education at a competitive price point. Pell-eligible students often pay less here than at many public universities.
Alternative Considerations: Students in fields where skills and credentials matter more than brand name—particularly STEM, healthcare, and technical fields—should compare outcomes against public research universities offering similar education at 40-60% lower cost. Our data shows 0 institutions deliver superior ROI metrics.
Bottom Line: Harvey Mudd College excels in reputation and student experience, reflected in its 96.4% retention rate. However, value-conscious students should weigh the $39,347 annual investment against 0 alternatives offering stronger financial returns. The "best" choice depends on your field, financial situation, and career goals—not rankings alone.
Key Takeaways
- 93.3% graduation rate sits 30.8 points above the national 62.5% benchmark.
- 96.4% first-year retention is 19.6 points above the national norm of 76.8%.
- Median earnings of $146,840 run about 138% higher than national outcomes five years after graduation.
- Average net price of $39,347 is roughly $19,440 higher than the national median of $19,908.
- 91.4% employment rate within three years is 23.2 points above the national 68.2%.
Helpfulness for Students
- 8:1 student-faculty ratio keeps mentorship close and courses discussion-sized.
- 96.4% first-year retention shows students stay engaged after the first year.
- 91.4% employment rate within three years sits 23.2 points above national outcomes.
- Average net price of $39,347 is about $19,440 higher than comparable schools, so scholarship planning is key.
- Pell participation at 20.0% trails the national share by 18.7 points, so equity work remains important.
- Compare aid offers from nearby public universities to weigh the premium for smaller classes.
EDsmart Expert Analysis
EDsmart rates Harvey Mudd College—a private nonprofit university in Claremont, CA—at A+ overall. It stands at #24 among 1934 schools Category results include Completion (A+), Support (A), Career Outcomes (A+), and Affordability (D+).
Grades are assigned relative to EDsmart's national bachelor's cohort using standardized outcomes (2026 methodology); they reflect how a school compares to peers, not a fixed percentage of a raw point total.
96.4% of learners come back after year one while 93.3% graduate within 150% of normal time (93.5% within eight years). Review the cost and aid tables for a full picture of value.
Why it matters: this snapshot shows how likely you are to stay on track academically and whether the outcomes justify the price tag. Letter grades summarize cohort-relative performance—not a single exam-style score.
EDsmart Financial Snapshot
Families pay about $39,347 on average after aid, compared with a published cost near $93,131.
Institutional and federal aid lower costs by roughly $53,784 per year.
Graduates leave with a median of $25,000 in federal loans, which lines up with national norms.
About 20.0% of students receive Pell Grants, giving a snapshot of the campus income mix.
Why it matters: lining up sticker price, aid, and typical debt helps you stress-test the budget before you commit.
EDsmart Career Snapshot
Graduates report median earnings of about $146,840 five years after graduation. Compared with the national median, that's 138% higher.
The three-year employment rate is close to 91.4%.
Use the ROI table above to estimate how long it may take to recoup your degree costs.
Why it matters: pairing median earnings with employment rates gives you a sense of payback time after graduation.
EDsmart Admissions Snapshot
12.7% of applicants receive offers, so preparation and fit matter.
The admissions team encourages students to highlight academic strengths through transcripts, essays, and recommendations.
Prospective students can apply early for priority review and lean on the Harvey Mudd College admissions site for deadlines, visit options, and counselor contacts.
Why it matters: knowing the admit rate and application expectations lets you map out testing, essays, and deadlines with less stress.
Your Decision Toolkit
Cite this profile
Add your access date when you publish.
APA (7th): EDsmart. (2026). Harvey Mudd College: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings. https://www.edsmart.org/schools/harvey-mudd-college/
MLA (9th): “Harvey Mudd College: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings.” EDsmart, 2026, www.edsmart.org/schools/harvey-mudd-college/.
Chicago: EDsmart. “Harvey Mudd College: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings.” https://www.edsmart.org/schools/harvey-mudd-college/.
Similar Schools
Institutions with similar academic profiles, selectivity, and outcomes
Nearby Schools
Other campuses you might consider
Other California campuses you might consider
Frequently Asked Questions
What is Harvey Mudd College's acceptance rate?
Harvey Mudd College's acceptance rate is 12.7%, based on U.S. Department of Education admissions data.
How much does Harvey Mudd College cost?
At Harvey Mudd College, listed tuition and fees are $73,100 per year, and the average net price after aid is $39,347. Use the net price calculator on this page for a personalized estimate.
What is Harvey Mudd College's ranking?
Harvey Mudd College ranks #24 overall in EDsmart's 2026 college rankings with an overall grade of A+, based on completion, affordability, support, and career outcomes.
What is Harvey Mudd College's graduation rate?
At Harvey Mudd College, the graduation rate within 150% of normal time is 93.3% (the rate used in EDsmart rankings), the federal 8-year award rate is 93.5%, and first-year retention is 96.4%.
What are Harvey Mudd College's job outcomes?
Graduates of Harvey Mudd College report median earnings of $146,840 five years after graduation, according to U.S. Department of Education outcome data. Outcomes vary by major.
What is Harvey Mudd College's student population?
Harvey Mudd College enrolls about 921 undergraduate students, per U.S. Department of Education enrollment data.
Contact Information
- Address 301 Platt Blvd., Claremont, CA 91711
- Website www.hmc.edu
- Net Price Calculator Calculate Your Cost
- Financial AidView Financial Aid Information
- AccreditationWestern Association of Schools and Colleges Senior Colleges and University Commission (WASCSR)
- Endowment$413.0M
- Transfer Enrollment Rate4.9%