Hope International University Logo

Hope International University

Fullerton, CA | Private Nonprofit | University

Hope International University has an acceptance rate of 33.0%, an average net price of $31,029, and an overall rank of #1732 (Grade C). About 53.2% of students graduate within 150% of normal time, and median earnings are $51,918 five years after graduation. Data from the U.S. Department of Education and EDsmart's 2026 rankings.

Hope International University is a private nonprofit university in Fullerton, CA. Students most often pursue Business Administration, Management and Operations and Psychology.

Academically, students benefit from a 13:1 student-faculty ratio, and 52.4% first-year retention. Peer cohorts and advising networks provide scaffolding that keeps newcomers anchored during demanding semesters.

EDsmart calculates return on investment at 29.1%, roughly 20.8 points below typical outcomes. It's a compelling fit for students who appreciate an encouraging campus with room to explore.

C
Ranking
#1732 of 1,934
How We Rank Schools Small campus feel
At a Glance
Ranking
#1732 of 1,934 (Top 89.6%)
Tuition
$38,650
Net Price
$31,029
4-Year Tuition
$154,600
Acceptance Rate
33.0%
Transfer Rate
0.0%
Student Population
564
Student-Faculty
13:1
Grad Rate (150% time)
53.2%
Grad Rate (8-year)
46.4%
Retention Rate
52.4%
4-Yr Earnings
$51,918
ROI
Not reported

Who is Hope International University Best For?

A quick look at who tends to feel most at home here based on outcomes and campus context.

First-gen or Pell-eligible support
Learners who value a tight-knit campus
Students valuing supportive learning environments

EDsmart Scores Summary

Overall Ranking
#1732 of 1,934
Top 89.6% of all institutions
EDsmart Score
10.5 / 100 (national index)
Curved score (top institution = 100.0)
Value Rating
0.52 / 5
Based on ROI and outcomes
Completion
C+
#1,365 of 1,934
Affordability
C+
#1,541 of 1,934
Support
C+
#1,530 of 1,934
Career Outcomes
C+
#1,615 of 1,934

Hope International University graduates 53.2% of students within 150% of normal time (the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings), with an 8-year award rate of 46.4% and keeps 52.4% of first-year students. Affordability earns a C+ compared with similar schools.

How we calculate this →

Cost & Financial Aid

Quick Answers

What does it cost?
Depends on income
$29,646-$34,732 annual net price based on family income.
What's the graduation rate?
Somewhat likely
53.2% graduate within 150% of normal time (the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings). The federal 8-year award rate is 46.4%. 6.4% complete in four years (IPEDS 100% time).
What are job outcomes?
Highly likely
86.4% of alumni are employed within three years of leaving. Median earnings five years after graduation are $51,918. Pay varies by major.
Get Your Personalized Cost Estimate

The costs shown are averages. Use Hope International University's net price calculator to get an estimate based on your family's financial situation.

Calculate Your Net Price →

Total Degree Cost Summary

4-Year Total Cost (Pay with Cash)
$214,036
$53,509 × 4 years
Average Total Cost (Pay with Financial Aid)
$178,686
$31,029 × 5.8 years average
Time to Degree
Average: 5.8 years | 4-Year Rate: 6.4% | 6-Year Rate: 53.2% | 8-Year Rate: 46.4%
Most students finish in about four to five years. Four-year completion is 6.4% and six-year completion is 53.2%.

Annual Cost Comparison

Pay with Cash
$53,509
Total annual cost including tuition, books and living expenses; excluding any financial aid, grants or scholarships.
Pay with Financial Aid
$31,029
Average annual cost including tuition, books and living expenses after financial aid, grants or scholarships.

Est. annual aid gap: $22,480 Cash cost of attendance minus average net price after aid.

Cost of Undergraduate Attendance

Costs based on full-time, first-time degree- or certificate-seeking undergraduates.

View cost of attendance line items
Costs to Consider Price
Tuition and Fees $38,650
Books and Supplies $1,089
On-Campus Room and Board $13,200
On-Campus Other Expenses $3,285
Total On-Campus Cost $53,509

Tip: focus on the rows that match your living plan—commuters can swap in off-campus estimates while residential students should budget for housing, meals, and incidental fees.

Students Receiving Aid

Pell Grant
43.0%
Federal Loan
52.2%

Use these bars to gauge how many classmates rely on need-based dollars—lower Pell or loan shares may signal a wealthier student body or generous institutional grants.

EDsmart Insight: About 43.0% of Hope International University students receive Pell Grants — above the national average, highlighting ongoing affordability priorities.

Net Price by Family Income

Average annual net price after financial aid, based on family income. Your actual cost may vary depending on your specific financial situation.

$0 - $30,000
$29,646
Average annual cost for families earning $0-$30K
$30,001 - $48,000
$34,669
Average annual cost for families earning $30K-$48K
$48,001 - $75,000
$33,850
Average annual cost for families earning $48K-$75K
$75,001 - $110,000
$36,340
Average annual cost for families earning $75K-$110K
$110,001+
$34,732
Average annual cost for families earning $110K+

Understanding These Numbers: Net price varies significantly by income level. Net prices range from $29,646 to $34,732 depending on family income. Use Hope International University's net price calculator for a personalized estimate.

Typical total cost estimates (~5.8 years):
$0-$30K families
~$170,722
$30K-$48K families
~$199,648
$48K-$75K families
~$194,932
$75K-$110K families
~$209,271
AFFORDABILITY ALERT

If your family earns $75K-$110K: Expect to pay around $36,340/year

If your family earns $110K+: Expect to pay around $34,732/year

See all income brackets →

ROI & Career Outcomes

Return on Investment
Not reported
Based on median earnings five years after graduation vs. total degree cost
  • Median Earnings (5 Years After Graduation) $51,918
  • 10-Year Median Earnings $51,254
  • Average Years to Graduate 5.8 years
  • Average Student Debt $19,500
  • Debt-to-Earnings ~37.6%
  • Repayment Rate (3yr) 54.5%
  • Employment Rate 86.4%

Graduate Earnings Distribution

Earnings range for Hope International University graduates about 10 years after enrollment (25th percentile, median, and 75th percentile). Different horizon than median earnings five years after graduation above.

Graduates earn a median of $51,918 five years after graduation — roughly 16% below the national median.
Payback Period
3.44 years
Total Degree Cost ÷ Annual Earnings

Hope International University vs. National Average

Comparison of key performance metrics showing how Hope International University's outcomes compare to the national average across earnings, graduation rates, retention, ROI, and employment. This contextualizes Hope International University's performance within the broader higher education landscape.

Acceptance & Selectivity

Getting In

Acceptance Rate
33.0%
Moderately Selective
National Average
69%
Average acceptance rate
  • SAT Evidence-Based Reading 420-570
  • SAT Math 420-650
  • SAT Writing Not reported
  • ACT Composite Not reported
  • SAT & ACT Required
  • Undergraduate Enrollment 564
  • Full-Time Students 88.7%
  • Part-Time Students 11.3%
  • Retention Rate 52.4%
  • Grad Rate (150% time) 53.2%
  • Grad Rate (8-year) 46.4%
  • Student-Faculty Ratio 13:1

How to Get Into Hope International University

1. Meet Academic Requirements: Hope International University requires strong academic performance. Aim for test scores within the reported ranges and maintain a competitive GPA. Most admitted students rank in the top 10% of their high school class.

2. Build a Strong Application: Beyond test scores, focus on crafting compelling essays, securing strong letters of recommendation, and highlighting extracurricular activities that demonstrate leadership and commitment.

3. Understand Selectivity: With an acceptance rate of 33.0%, Hope International University is moderately selective. Consider applying early decision if available, as early applicants often have higher acceptance rates.

4. Financial Planning: Review the net price calculator and financial aid options early. Many students receive significant aid, making the actual cost lower than the sticker price.

Tip: Contact the admissions office directly for the most current application requirements, deadlines, and any special programs (like early decision or early action) that might improve your chances.

EDsmart Insight: Hope International University accepts 33.0% of applicants, making it moderately selective. Focus on strong academics, meaningful extracurriculars, and compelling essays to stand out. The middle 50% of admitted students score between 840 and 1220 on the SAT.

Academic Programs

Undergraduate Program Distribution

Breakdown of the most popular majors and fields of study among Hope International University undergraduates. Business Administration, Management and Operations, Education, General, and Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Ser draw the most students.

  • Business Administration, Management and Operations 33.1%
  • Education, General 12.2%
  • Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Ser 10.5%
  • Social Sciences, General 10.5%
  • Theological and Ministerial Studies 9.9%
  • Psychology, General 9.3%
See more majors
  • Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Hum 5.2%
  • Bible/Biblical Studies 2.9%

Highest Earning Programs

Median earnings five years after graduation for each program. These figures help illustrate ROI by field of study and degree level.

Undergraduate Programs (Bachelor's Degrees)

  • 1. Business Administration, Management and Operations $57,863
  • 2. Psychology, General $52,187

Graduate Programs (Master's, Doctoral, Professional)

  • 1. Educational Administration and Supervision (Master's Degree) $82,668
  • 2. Clinical, Counseling and Applied Psychology (Master's Degree) $66,167
  • 3. Social and Philosophical Foundations of Education (Master's Degree) $61,817
Show additional graduate majors
  • 4. Theological and Ministerial Studies (Master's Degree) $42,880

Program Choice Matters: Undergraduate: Business Administration, Management and Operations grads earn $57,863—11% more than Psychology, General ($52,187). Graduate: Educational Administration and Supervision programs lead with $82,668 median earnings. Your program and degree level choice significantly impact career earnings.

Online Degrees & Distance Learning

U.S. Department of Education data reports fully online programs for Hope International University. Below are the most popular options based on the number of recent graduates, followed by a quick look at the breadth of online offerings by degree level.
Source: U.S. Department of Education

Most Popular Online Degrees

  • Psychology, General (Bachelor's Degree, 23 graduates)
  • Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness (Bachelor's Degree, 22 graduates)
  • Social Sciences, General (Bachelor's Degree, 9 graduates)
  • Religious Music and Worship (Bachelor's Degree, 4 graduates)
  • Religious Music and Worship (Master's Degree, 4 graduates)

What This School Offers Online, at a Glance

U.S. Department of Education data flags the following online degree and certificate programs for this institution. Expand each credential level to view the complete list of available subjects.

Online Bachelor's Degrees (10 programs)▼
  • Psychology, General
  • Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness
  • Social Sciences, General
  • Religious Music and Worship
  • Pastoral Counseling and Specialized Ministries
  • English Language and Literature, General
  • Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas
  • Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods
  • Missions/Missionary Studies and Missiology
  • Bible/Biblical Studies
Online Master's Degrees (2 programs)▼
  • Religious Music and Worship
  • Special Education and Teaching
Online Doctoral Degrees (1 program)▼
  • Clinical, Counseling and Applied Psychology

Student Demographics

Student Population

  • Total Undergraduate Enrollment 564
  • Full-Time Students 88.7%
  • Part-Time Students 11.3%
  • Male Students 45.9%
  • Female Students 54.1%
  • Caucasian 28.7%
  • Asian 4.3%
  • Hispanic 29.3%
  • Black 7.4%
  • Pell Grant Recipients 43.0%

Racial & Ethnic Diversity

Undergraduate student body composition by racial and ethnic background. This reflects Hope International University's commitment to diversity and inclusion in admissions.

Gender Distribution

Gender breakdown of Hope International University's undergraduate population. The university maintains a roughly balanced gender distribution across its student body.

Graduation Rate Equity Analysis

How well does Hope International University support students from different economic backgrounds?

Pell Grant Recipients
36.5%
6-year graduation rate
Non-Pell Students
10.0%
6-year graduation rate
Equity Gap
26.5 pts
equity gap to monitor

What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at a different rate as higher-income students, indicating varying levels of institutional support for all economic backgrounds.

Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity

Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity

Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at Hope International University, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.

EDsmart Insight: Hope International University has a diverse student body, with 28.7% identifying as White.

Graduation Rate Equity Analysis

How well does Hope International University support students from different economic backgrounds?

Pell Grant Recipients
36.5%
6-year graduation rate
Non-Pell Students
10.0%
6-year graduation rate
Equity Gap
26.5 pts
equity gap to monitor

What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at a different rate as higher-income students, indicating varying levels of institutional support for all economic backgrounds.

Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity

Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity

Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at Hope International University, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.

Our Take

Hope International University offers a private university experience at a regional scale, combining smaller class sizes with 0.0% ROI. Ranked #1732 overall, the institution balances personalized attention against higher costs than public alternatives.

The $31,029 annual net price is significantly higher than public universities, offset somewhat by $51,918 median earnings. With 53.2% graduating within 150% of normal time and 52.4% returning for sophomore year, outcomes reflect the personalized support typical of smaller private institutions.

Private University Value: Hope International University's Positioning

With a C grade and #1732 ranking, Hope International University competes in the crowded regional private university market.

The Private University Premium: At $31,029 annually, Hope International University charges more than public alternatives but typically offers smaller classes, more personalized advising, and tighter-knit campus communities. The 52.4% retention rate suggests students value this environment.

Who Benefits Most: Students who thrive in smaller, more intimate academic settings. Those seeking specific programs or values-based education aligned with the institution's mission. Students who receive merit scholarships that bring costs below $21,720 achieve particularly strong value.

Cost-Benefit Reality: The 0.0% ROI and $51,918 median earnings don't always justify the premium over public universities. Students paying full price should compare whether the personalized experience warrants $21,029+ in additional annual costs over state flagships.

Competitive Standing: Hope International University ranks #1732 of 1934 institutions, with 0 schools achieving higher ROI. For students offered substantial merit aid or seeking specific programs unavailable at public universities, the value proposition strengthens significantly.

Key Takeaways

  • 53.2% graduation rate sits 9.3 points below the national 62.5% benchmark.
  • 52.4% first-year retention is 24.4 points below the national norm of 76.8%.
  • Median earnings of $51,918 run about 16% lower than national outcomes five years after graduation.
  • Average net price of $31,029 is roughly $11,122 higher than the national median of $19,908.
  • 86.4% employment rate within three years is 18.2 points above the national 68.2%.

Helpfulness for Students

Green Flags
  • 13:1 student-faculty ratio keeps mentorship close and courses discussion-sized.
  • 52.4% first-year retention shows students stay engaged after the first year.
  • 86.4% employment rate within three years sits 18.2 points above national outcomes.
Red Flags
  • Average net price of $31,029 is about $11,122 higher than comparable schools, so scholarship planning is key.
  • 52.2% of students borrow federal loans, outpacing typical campuses and raising repayment stakes.
  • Compare aid offers from nearby public universities to weigh the premium for smaller classes.
EDsmart Expert Analysis

Hope International University, a private nonprofit university in Fullerton, CA, secures a C grade in our latest review. It holds a #1732 overall ranking Grades by category break down as Completion C+, Support C+, Career Outcomes C+, and Affordability C+.

Grades are assigned relative to EDsmart's national bachelor's cohort using standardized outcomes (2026 methodology); they reflect how a school compares to peers, not a fixed percentage of a raw point total.

52.4% of learners come back after year one while 53.2% graduate within 150% of normal time (46.4% within eight years). Review the cost and aid tables for a full picture of value.

Why it matters: this snapshot shows how likely you are to stay on track academically and whether the outcomes justify the price tag. Letter grades summarize cohort-relative performance—not a single exam-style score.

EDsmart Financial Snapshot

Families pay about $31,029 on average after aid, compared with a published cost near $53,509.

Institutional and federal aid lower costs by roughly $22,480 per year.

Graduates leave with a median of $19,500 in federal loans, which lines up with national norms.

About 43.0% of students receive Pell Grants, giving a snapshot of the campus income mix.

Why it matters: lining up sticker price, aid, and typical debt helps you stress-test the budget before you commit.

EDsmart Career Snapshot

Graduates report median earnings of about $51,918 five years after graduation. This is roughly 16% below typical U.S. college outcomes.

Roughly 86.4% of graduates are employed three years out.

Use the ROI table above to estimate how long it may take to recoup your degree costs.

Why it matters: pairing median earnings with employment rates gives you a sense of payback time after graduation.

EDsmart Admissions Snapshot

33.0% of applicants receive offers, so preparation and fit matter.

The admissions team encourages students to highlight academic strengths through transcripts, essays, and recommendations.

Prospective students can apply early for priority review and lean on the Hope International University admissions site for deadlines, visit options, and counselor contacts.

Why it matters: knowing the admit rate and application expectations lets you map out testing, essays, and deadlines with less stress.

EDsmart Verdict
0.52 / 5
Value Rating - Based on affordability and career outcomes

Your Decision Toolkit

Run the Net Price Calculator
Get your personalized cost estimate
Compare with similar schools
See how Hope International University stacks up to alternatives
Check your major's earnings
See ROI for your specific field of study
Visit the campus
Schedule a campus tour or virtual visit
Visit Hope International University Website →

Cite this profile

Add your access date when you publish.

APA (7th): EDsmart. (2026). Hope International University: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings. https://www.edsmart.org/schools/hope-international-university/

MLA (9th): “Hope International University: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings.” EDsmart, 2026, www.edsmart.org/schools/hope-international-university/.

Chicago: EDsmart. “Hope International University: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings.” https://www.edsmart.org/schools/hope-international-university/.

Similar Schools

Institutions with similar academic profiles, selectivity, and outcomes

Nearby Schools

Other campuses you might consider

Other California campuses you might consider

New York Film Academy
Burbank, CA
C #1731 of 1,934
Otis College of Art and Design
Los Angeles, CA
C #1727 of 1,934
Simpson University
Redding, CA
C #1737 of 1,934
University of Silicon Valley
San Jose, CA
C #1739 of 1,934

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Hope International University's acceptance rate?

Hope International University's acceptance rate is 33.0%, based on U.S. Department of Education admissions data.

How much does Hope International University cost?

At Hope International University, listed tuition and fees are $38,650 per year, and the average net price after aid is $31,029. Use the net price calculator on this page for a personalized estimate.

What is Hope International University's ranking?

Hope International University ranks #1732 overall in EDsmart's 2026 college rankings with an overall grade of C, based on completion, affordability, support, and career outcomes.

What is Hope International University's graduation rate?

At Hope International University, the graduation rate within 150% of normal time is 53.2% (the rate used in EDsmart rankings), the federal 8-year award rate is 46.4%, and first-year retention is 52.4%.

What are Hope International University's job outcomes?

Graduates of Hope International University report median earnings of $51,918 five years after graduation, according to U.S. Department of Education outcome data. Outcomes vary by major.

What is Hope International University's student population?

Hope International University enrolls about 564 undergraduate students, per U.S. Department of Education enrollment data.

Contact Information

  • AccreditationWestern Association of Schools and Colleges Senior Colleges and University Commission (WASCSR)
  • Endowment$9.4M

Data Source & Methodology ▼