Illinois Institute of Technology Logo

Illinois Institute of Technology

Chicago, IL | Private Nonprofit | 4-Year Institution

Illinois Institute of Technology has an acceptance rate of 54.9%, an average net price of $22,443, and an overall rank of #114 (Grade A). About 71.0% of students graduate within 150% of normal time, and median earnings are $94,603 five years after graduation. Data from the U.S. Department of Education and EDsmart's 2026 rankings.

Illinois Institute of Technology is a private nonprofit university in Chicago, IL. Students most often pursue Computer Science and Computer Engineering.

Day to day, students benefit from a 14:1 student-faculty ratio, and 86.0% first-year retention. Coaches and faculty advisors weave in frequent check-ins, helping students translate ambition into steady progress.

EDsmart calculates return on investment at 82.8%, roughly 32.9 points higher than typical outcomes. It's well-suited to students who appreciate an encouraging campus with room to explore.

A
Ranking
#114 of 1,934
How We Rank Schools Higher pay after college
At a Glance
Ranking
#114 of 1,934 (Top 5.9%)
Tuition
$53,398
Net Price
$22,443
4-Year Tuition
$213,592
Acceptance Rate
54.9%
Transfer Rate
0.0%
Student Population
2,833
Student-Faculty
14:1
Grad Rate (150% time)
71.0%
Grad Rate (8-year)
74.9%
Retention Rate
86.0%
4-Yr Earnings
$94,603
ROI
Not reported

Who is Illinois Institute of Technology Best For?

A quick look at who tends to feel most at home here based on outcomes and campus context.

Students aiming for strong salaries
First-gen or Pell-eligible support
Students seeking strong career outcomes
Students valuing supportive learning environments

EDsmart Scores Summary

Overall Ranking
#114 of 1,934
Top 5.9% of all institutions
EDsmart Score
94.2 / 100 (national index)
Curved score (top institution = 100.0)
Value Rating
4.71 / 5
Based on ROI and outcomes
Completion
A-
#257 of 1,934
Affordability
B-
#1,141 of 1,934
Support
B+
#483 of 1,934
Career Outcomes
A-
#144 of 1,934

Illinois Institute of Technology graduates 71.0% of students within 150% of normal time (the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings), with an 8-year award rate of 74.9% and keeps 86.0% of first-year students. Affordability earns a B- compared with similar schools.

How we calculate this →

Cost & Financial Aid

Quick Answers

What does it cost?
Depends on income
$17,590-$35,019 annual net price based on family income.
What's the graduation rate?
Likely
71.0% graduate within 150% of normal time (the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings). The federal 8-year award rate is 74.9%. 32.2% complete in four years (IPEDS 100% time).
What are job outcomes?
Highly likely
91.9% of alumni are employed within three years of leaving. Median earnings five years after graduation are $94,603. Pay varies by major.
Get Your Personalized Cost Estimate

The costs shown are averages. Use Illinois Institute of Technology's net price calculator to get an estimate based on your family's financial situation.

Calculate Your Net Price →

Total Degree Cost Summary

4-Year Total Cost (Pay with Cash)
$276,936
$69,234 × 4 years
Average Total Cost (Pay with Financial Aid)
$114,285
$22,443 × 5.1 years average
Time to Degree
Average: 5.1 years | 4-Year Rate: 32.2% | 6-Year Rate: 71.0% | 8-Year Rate: 74.9%
Most students finish in about four to five years. Four-year completion is 32.2% and six-year completion is 71.0%.

Annual Cost Comparison

Pay with Cash
$69,234
Total annual cost including tuition, books and living expenses; excluding any financial aid, grants or scholarships.
Pay with Financial Aid
$22,443
Average annual cost including tuition, books and living expenses after financial aid, grants or scholarships.

Est. annual aid gap: $46,791 Cash cost of attendance minus average net price after aid.

Cost of Undergraduate Attendance

Costs based on full-time, first-time degree- or certificate-seeking undergraduates.

View cost of attendance line items
Costs to Consider Price
Tuition and Fees $53,398
Books and Supplies $1,240
On-Campus Room and Board $18,130
On-Campus Other Expenses $4,800
Total On-Campus Cost $69,234

Tip: focus on the rows that match your living plan—commuters can swap in off-campus estimates while residential students should budget for housing, meals, and incidental fees.

Students Receiving Aid

Pell Grant
38.2%
Federal Loan
30.4%

Use these bars to gauge how many classmates rely on need-based dollars—lower Pell or loan shares may signal a wealthier student body or generous institutional grants.

EDsmart Insight: About 38.2% of Illinois Institute of Technology students receive Pell Grants — in line with the national average, highlighting ongoing affordability priorities.

Net Price by Family Income

Average annual net price after financial aid, based on family income. Your actual cost may vary depending on your specific financial situation.

$0 - $30,000
$17,590
Average annual cost for families earning $0-$30K
$30,001 - $48,000
$17,829
Average annual cost for families earning $30K-$48K
$48,001 - $75,000
$18,136
Average annual cost for families earning $48K-$75K
$75,001 - $110,000
$26,979
Average annual cost for families earning $75K-$110K
$110,001+
$35,019
Average annual cost for families earning $110K+

Understanding These Numbers: Net price varies significantly by income level. Net prices range from $17,590 to $35,019 depending on family income. Use Illinois Institute of Technology's net price calculator for a personalized estimate.

Typical total cost estimates (~5.1 years):
$0-$30K families
~$89,572
$30K-$48K families
~$90,789
$48K-$75K families
~$92,352
$75K-$110K families
~$137,383
AFFORDABILITY ALERT

If your family earns $75K-$110K: Expect to pay around $26,979/year

If your family earns $110K+: Expect to pay around $35,019/year

See all income brackets →

ROI & Career Outcomes

Return on Investment
Not reported
Based on median earnings five years after graduation vs. total degree cost
  • Median Earnings (5 Years After Graduation) $94,603
  • 10-Year Median Earnings $90,804
  • Average Years to Graduate 5.1 years
  • Average Student Debt $22,000
  • Debt-to-Earnings ~23.3%
  • Repayment Rate (3yr) 80.3%
  • Employment Rate 91.9%

Graduate Earnings Distribution

Earnings range for Illinois Institute of Technology graduates about 10 years after enrollment (25th percentile, median, and 75th percentile). Different horizon than median earnings five years after graduation above.

Graduates earn a median of $94,603 five years after graduation — roughly 54% above the national median.
Payback Period
1.21 years
Total Degree Cost ÷ Annual Earnings

Illinois Institute of Technology vs. National Average

Comparison of key performance metrics showing how Illinois Institute of Technology's outcomes compare to the national average across earnings, graduation rates, retention, ROI, and employment. This contextualizes Illinois Institute of Technology's performance within the broader higher education landscape.

Acceptance & Selectivity

Getting In

Acceptance Rate
54.9%
Less Selective
National Average
69%
Average acceptance rate
  • SAT Evidence-Based Reading 590-720
  • SAT Math 590-720
  • SAT Writing Not reported
  • ACT Composite 26-32
  • SAT & ACT Required
  • Undergraduate Enrollment 2,833
  • Full-Time Students 93.7%
  • Part-Time Students 6.3%
  • Retention Rate 86.0%
  • Grad Rate (150% time) 71.0%
  • Grad Rate (8-year) 74.9%
  • Student-Faculty Ratio 14:1

How to Get Into Illinois Institute of Technology

1. Meet Academic Requirements: Illinois Institute of Technology requires strong academic performance. Aim for test scores within the reported ranges and maintain a competitive GPA. Most admitted students rank in the top 10% of their high school class.

2. Build a Strong Application: Beyond test scores, focus on crafting compelling essays, securing strong letters of recommendation, and highlighting extracurricular activities that demonstrate leadership and commitment.

3. Understand Selectivity: With an acceptance rate of 54.9%, Illinois Institute of Technology is relatively open. Consider applying early decision if available, as early applicants often have higher acceptance rates.

4. Financial Planning: Review the net price calculator and financial aid options early. Many students receive significant aid, making the actual cost lower than the sticker price.

Tip: Contact the admissions office directly for the most current application requirements, deadlines, and any special programs (like early decision or early action) that might improve your chances.

EDsmart Insight: With a 54.9% acceptance rate, Illinois Institute of Technology is more accessible than highly selective schools. Meeting the test score ranges and maintaining a solid GPA significantly improves admission chances. The middle 50% of admitted students score between 1180 and 1440 on the SAT.

Academic Programs

Undergraduate Program Distribution

Breakdown of the most popular majors and fields of study among Illinois Institute of Technology undergraduates. Mechanical Engineering, Computer Science, and Architectural Sciences and Technology draw the most students.

  • Mechanical Engineering 14.6%
  • Computer Science 11.4%
  • Architectural Sciences and Technology 10.0%
  • Computer and Information Sciences, General 9.5%
  • Chemical Engineering 6.7%
  • Biomedical/Medical Engineering 5.9%
See more majors
  • Civil Engineering 5.9%
  • Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engine 5.9%

Highest Earning Programs

Median earnings five years after graduation for each program. These figures help illustrate ROI by field of study and degree level.

Undergraduate Programs (Bachelor's Degrees)

  • 1. Computer Science $113,931
  • 2. Computer Engineering $103,105
  • 3. Electrical, Electronics and Communications Engineering $102,309
Show additional high-earning majors
  • 4. Computer and Information Sciences, General $101,049
  • 5. Chemical Engineering $94,955
  • 6. Architectural Engineering $91,045
  • 7. Mechanical Engineering $88,837
  • 8. Civil Engineering $84,660
  • 9. Aerospace, Aeronautical and Astronautical Engineering $75,993
  • 10. Biomedical/Medical Engineering $72,853

Graduate Programs (Master's, Doctoral, Professional)

  • 1. Design and Applied Arts (Master's Degree) $161,878
  • 2. Computer Science (Master's Degree) $124,701
  • 3. Business Administration, Management and Operations (Master's Degree) $124,206
Show additional graduate majors
  • 4. Law (First Professional Degree) $109,015
  • 5. Computer and Information Sciences, General (Master's Degree) $100,846
  • 6. Mechanical Engineering (Master's Degree) $97,954
  • 7. Civil Engineering (Master's Degree) $79,898
  • 8. Architecture (Master's Degree) $76,107
  • 9. Psychology, General (Doctoral Degree) $74,025

Program Choice Matters: Undergraduate: Computer Science grads earn $113,931—56% more than Biomedical/Medical Engineering ($72,853). Graduate: Design and Applied Arts programs lead with $161,878 median earnings. Your program and degree level choice significantly impact career earnings.

Online Degrees & Distance Learning

U.S. Department of Education data reports fully online programs for Illinois Institute of Technology. Below are the most popular options based on the number of recent graduates, followed by a quick look at the breadth of online offerings by degree level.
Source: U.S. Department of Education

Most Popular Online Degrees

  • Law (First Professional Degree, 213 graduates)
  • Computer Science (Bachelor's Degree, 103 graduates)
  • Architectural Sciences and Technology (Bachelor's Degree, 89 graduates)
  • Legal Research and Advanced Professional Studies (Master's Degree, 78 graduates)
  • Mechanical Engineering (Master's Degree, 71 graduates)

What This School Offers Online, at a Glance

U.S. Department of Education data flags the following online degree and certificate programs for this institution. Expand each credential level to view the complete list of available subjects.

Online Bachelor's Degrees (42 programs)▼
  • Computer Science
  • Architectural Sciences and Technology
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Computer and Information Sciences, General
  • Civil Engineering
  • Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering
  • Chemical Engineering
  • Computer Engineering
  • Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering
  • Biomedical/Medical Engineering
  • Architectural Engineering
  • Engineering-Related Fields
  • Research and Experimental Psychology
  • Applied Mathematics
  • Business Administration, Management and Operations
  • Biology, General
  • Physics
  • Astronomy and Astrophysics
  • Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology
  • Clinical, Counseling and Applied Psychology
  • Chemistry
  • Materials Engineering
  • Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and Administration
  • Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management
  • Social Sciences, General
  • Economics
  • Statistics
  • Biomathematics, Bioinformatics, and Computational Biology
  • Radio, Television, and Digital Communication
  • Psychology, Other
  • Psychology, General
  • Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods
  • Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
  • International/Globalization Studies
  • Engineering, General
  • Engineering Physics
  • Economics and Computer Science
  • Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs, Other
  • Behavioral Sciences
  • Food Science and Technology
  • Data Science
  • Data Analytics
Online Master's Degrees (47 programs)▼
  • Legal Research and Advanced Professional Studies
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Architectural Sciences and Technology
  • Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods
  • Computer Engineering
  • Mathematics and Computer Science
  • Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering
  • Human Computer Interaction
  • Engineering-Related Fields
  • Construction Engineering
  • Civil Engineering
  • Food Science and Technology
  • Chemical Engineering
  • Biomedical/Medical Engineering
  • Engineering, Other
  • Public Health
  • Chemistry
  • Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions
  • Biology, General
  • Sustainability Studies
  • Manufacturing Engineering
  • Architectural Engineering
  • Materials Engineering
  • Psychology, General
  • Environmental/Environmental Health Engineering
  • Research and Experimental Psychology
  • Public Administration
  • Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and Administration
  • Entrepreneurial and Small Business Operations
  • Physics
  • Mechatronics, Robotics, and Automation Engineering
  • Engineering Physics
  • Design and Applied Arts
  • Operations Research
  • Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians
  • Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
  • Taxation
  • Radio, Television, and Digital Communication
  • Management Information Systems and Services
  • General Sales, Merchandising and Related Marketing Operations
  • Foods, Nutrition, and Related Services
  • Economics
  • Computer Systems Networking and Telecommunications
  • Computer Software and Media Applications
  • Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology
  • Social Sciences, General
  • Data Analytics
Online Doctoral Degrees (26 programs)▼
  • Psychology, General
  • Computer Science
  • Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Applied Mathematics
  • Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering
  • Materials Engineering
  • Architectural Sciences and Technology
  • Civil Engineering
  • Biomedical/Medical Engineering
  • Biology, General
  • Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
  • Law
  • Design and Applied Arts
  • Computer Engineering
  • Chemical Engineering
  • Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas
  • Student Counseling and Personnel Services
  • Chemistry
  • Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology
  • Architectural Engineering
  • Research and Experimental Psychology
  • Physics
  • Food Science and Technology
  • Environmental/Environmental Health Engineering
  • Clinical, Counseling and Applied Psychology
Online First Professional Degrees (1 program)▼
  • Law

Student Demographics

Student Population

  • Total Undergraduate Enrollment 2,833
  • Full-Time Students 93.7%
  • Part-Time Students 6.3%
  • Male Students 65.5%
  • Female Students 34.4%
  • Caucasian 31.4%
  • Asian 15.7%
  • Hispanic 27.9%
  • Black 5.9%
  • Pell Grant Recipients 38.2%

Racial & Ethnic Diversity

Undergraduate student body composition by racial and ethnic background. This reflects Illinois Institute of Technology's commitment to diversity and inclusion in admissions.

Gender Distribution

Gender breakdown of Illinois Institute of Technology's undergraduate population. The university maintains a roughly balanced gender distribution across its student body.

Graduation Rate Equity Analysis

How well does Illinois Institute of Technology support students from different economic backgrounds?

Pell Grant Recipients
69.6%
6-year graduation rate
Non-Pell Students
70.4%
6-year graduation rate
Equity Gap
0.8 pts
excellent equity

What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at nearly the same rate as higher-income students, indicating strong institutional support for all economic backgrounds.

Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity

Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity

Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at Illinois Institute of Technology, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.

EDsmart Insight: Illinois Institute of Technology has a diverse student body, with 31.4% identifying as White. Men make up 65.5% of undergraduates.

Graduation Rate Equity Analysis

How well does Illinois Institute of Technology support students from different economic backgrounds?

Pell Grant Recipients
69.6%
6-year graduation rate
Non-Pell Students
70.4%
6-year graduation rate
Equity Gap
0.8 pts
excellent equity

What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at nearly the same rate as higher-income students, indicating strong institutional support for all economic backgrounds.

Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity

Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity

Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at Illinois Institute of Technology, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.

Our Take

Illinois Institute of Technology offers a private university experience at a regional scale, combining smaller class sizes with 0.0% ROI. Ranked #114 overall, the institution balances personalized attention against higher costs than public alternatives.

The $22,443 annual net price is significantly higher than public universities, offset somewhat by $94,603 median earnings. With 71.0% graduating within 150% of normal time and 86.0% returning for sophomore year, outcomes reflect the personalized support typical of smaller private institutions.

Private University Value: Illinois Institute of Technology's Positioning

With an A grade and #114 ranking, Illinois Institute of Technology competes in the crowded regional private university market.

The Private University Premium: At $22,443 annually, Illinois Institute of Technology charges more than public alternatives but typically offers smaller classes, more personalized advising, and tighter-knit campus communities. The 86.0% retention rate suggests students value this environment.

Who Benefits Most: Students who thrive in smaller, more intimate academic settings. Those seeking specific programs or values-based education aligned with the institution's mission. Students who receive merit scholarships that bring costs below $15,710 achieve particularly strong value.

Cost-Benefit Reality: The 0.0% ROI and $94,603 median earnings don't always justify the premium over public universities. Students paying full price should compare whether the personalized experience warrants $12,443+ in additional annual costs over state flagships.

Competitive Standing: Illinois Institute of Technology ranks #114 of 1934 institutions, with 0 schools achieving higher ROI. For students offered substantial merit aid or seeking specific programs unavailable at public universities, the value proposition strengthens significantly.

Key Takeaways

  • 71.0% graduation rate sits 8.5 points above the national 62.5% benchmark.
  • 86.0% first-year retention is 9.2 points above the national norm of 76.8%.
  • Median earnings of $94,603 run about 54% higher than national outcomes five years after graduation.
  • Average net price of $22,443 is roughly $2,536 higher than the national median of $19,908.
  • 91.9% employment rate within three years is 23.7 points above the national 68.2%.

Helpfulness for Students

Green Flags
  • 14:1 student-faculty ratio keeps mentorship close and courses discussion-sized.
  • 86.0% first-year retention shows students stay engaged after the first year.
  • 91.9% employment rate within three years sits 23.7 points above national outcomes.
Red Flags
  • Average net price of $22,443 is about $2,536 higher than comparable schools, so scholarship planning is key.
  • Pell participation at 38.2% trails the national share by 0.4 points, so equity work remains important.
  • Compare aid offers from nearby public universities to weigh the premium for smaller classes.
EDsmart Expert Analysis

Illinois Institute of Technology is a private nonprofit university based in Chicago, IL and earns an A overall grade. It is currently ranked #114 overall Completion earns A-, Support B+, Career Outcomes A-, and Affordability B-.

Grades are assigned relative to EDsmart's national bachelor's cohort using standardized outcomes (2026 methodology); they reflect how a school compares to peers, not a fixed percentage of a raw point total.

About 86.0% of first-year students return; 71.0% graduate within 150% of normal time, with an 8-year award rate of 74.9%. Review the cost and aid tables for a full picture of value.

Why it matters: this snapshot shows how likely you are to stay on track academically and whether the outcomes justify the price tag. Letter grades summarize cohort-relative performance—not a single exam-style score.

EDsmart Financial Snapshot

Families pay about $22,443 on average after aid, compared with a published cost near $69,234.

Institutional and federal aid lower costs by roughly $46,791 per year.

Graduates leave with a median of $22,000 in federal loans, which lines up with national norms.

About 38.2% of students receive Pell Grants, giving a snapshot of the campus income mix.

Why it matters: lining up sticker price, aid, and typical debt helps you stress-test the budget before you commit.

EDsmart Career Snapshot

Five years after graduation, alumni earn roughly $94,603 at the median. This is roughly 54% above typical U.S. college outcomes.

The three-year employment rate is close to 91.9%.

Use the ROI table above to estimate how long it may take to recoup your degree costs.

Why it matters: pairing median earnings with employment rates gives you a sense of payback time after graduation.

EDsmart Admissions Snapshot

54.9% of applicants receive offers, so preparation and fit matter.

The admissions team encourages students to highlight academic strengths through transcripts, essays, and recommendations.

Prospective students can apply early for priority review and lean on the Illinois Institute of Technology admissions site for deadlines, visit options, and counselor contacts.

Why it matters: knowing the admit rate and application expectations lets you map out testing, essays, and deadlines with less stress.

EDsmart Verdict
4.71 / 5
Value Rating - Based on affordability and career outcomes

Your Decision Toolkit

Run the Net Price Calculator
Get your personalized cost estimate
Compare with similar schools
See how Illinois Institute of Technology stacks up to alternatives
Check your major's earnings
See ROI for your specific field of study
Visit the campus
Schedule a campus tour or virtual visit
Visit Illinois Institute of Technology Website →

Cite this profile

Add your access date when you publish.

APA (7th): EDsmart. (2026). Illinois Institute of Technology: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings. https://www.edsmart.org/schools/illinois-institute-of-technology/

MLA (9th): “Illinois Institute of Technology: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings.” EDsmart, 2026, www.edsmart.org/schools/illinois-institute-of-technology/.

Chicago: EDsmart. “Illinois Institute of Technology: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings.” https://www.edsmart.org/schools/illinois-institute-of-technology/.

Similar Schools

Institutions with similar academic profiles, selectivity, and outcomes

Nearby Schools

Other campuses you might consider

Other Illinois campuses you might consider

Bradley University
Peoria, IL
A #131 of 1,934
Saint Anthony College of Nursing
Rockford, IL
A #95 of 1,934
Trinity College of Nursing & Health Sciences
Rock Island, IL
A- #164 of 1,934
University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
Champaign, IL
A #51 of 1,934

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Illinois Institute of Technology's acceptance rate?

Illinois Institute of Technology's acceptance rate is 54.9%, based on U.S. Department of Education admissions data.

How much does Illinois Institute of Technology cost?

At Illinois Institute of Technology, listed tuition and fees are $53,398 per year, and the average net price after aid is $22,443. Use the net price calculator on this page for a personalized estimate.

What is Illinois Institute of Technology's ranking?

Illinois Institute of Technology ranks #114 overall in EDsmart's 2026 college rankings with an overall grade of A, based on completion, affordability, support, and career outcomes.

What is Illinois Institute of Technology's graduation rate?

At Illinois Institute of Technology, the graduation rate within 150% of normal time is 71.0% (the rate used in EDsmart rankings), the federal 8-year award rate is 74.9%, and first-year retention is 86.0%.

What are Illinois Institute of Technology's job outcomes?

Graduates of Illinois Institute of Technology report median earnings of $94,603 five years after graduation, according to U.S. Department of Education outcome data. Outcomes vary by major.

What is Illinois Institute of Technology's student population?

Illinois Institute of Technology enrolls about 2,833 undergraduate students, per U.S. Department of Education enrollment data.

Contact Information

  • AccreditationHigher Learning Commission (NCACHE)
  • Endowment$254.9M

Data Source & Methodology ▼