Institute of Culinary Education
Institute of Culinary Education is profiled below with federal outcomes data. Median earnings are $52,679 five years after graduation. Data from the U.S. Department of Education and EDsmart's 2026 rankings.
Institute of Culinary Education is a private for-profit institution in New York, NY. Students most often pursue Hospitality Administration/Management and Culinary Arts and Related Services.
Academically, students benefit from a 7:1 student-faculty ratio. Peer cohorts and advising networks provide scaffolding that keeps newcomers anchored during demanding semesters.
It's a compelling fit for students who appreciate an encouraging campus with room to explore and students looking for meaningful faculty access.
Who is Institute of Culinary Education Best For?
A quick look at who tends to feel most at home here based on outcomes and campus context.
Cost & Financial Aid
Quick Answers
The costs shown are averages. Use Institute of Culinary Education's net price calculator to get an estimate based on your family's financial situation.
Calculate Your Net Price →Total Degree Cost Summary
Annual Cost Comparison
Est. annual aid gap: Not reported Cash cost of attendance minus average net price after aid.
Cost of Program Attendance
Costs based on full-time, first-time certificate-seeking students.
View cost of attendance line items
| Costs to Consider | Price |
|---|---|
| Tuition and Fees | Not reported |
| Books and Supplies | Not reported |
| On-Campus Room and Board | Not reported |
| On-Campus Other Expenses | Not reported |
| Total On-Campus Cost | Not reported |
Tip: focus on the rows that match your living plan—commuters can swap in off-campus estimates while residential students should budget for housing, meals, and incidental fees.
Students Receiving Aid
Use these bars to gauge how many classmates rely on need-based dollars—lower Pell or loan shares may signal a wealthier student body or generous institutional grants.
EDsmart Insight: About 21.5% of Institute of Culinary Education students receive Pell Grants — below the national average, highlighting ongoing affordability priorities.
ROI & Career Outcomes
- Median Earnings (5 Years After Graduation) $52,679
- 10-Year Median Earnings $52,129
- Average Years to Graduate 1.0 years
- Average Student Debt $6,186
- Debt-to-Earnings ~11.7%
- Repayment Rate (3yr) 73.1%
- Employment Rate Not reported
Graduate Earnings Distribution
Earnings range for Institute of Culinary Education graduates about 10 years after enrollment (25th percentile, median, and 75th percentile). Different horizon than median earnings five years after graduation above.
Institute of Culinary Education vs. National Average
Comparison of key performance metrics showing how Institute of Culinary Education's outcomes compare to the national average across earnings, graduation rates, retention, ROI, and employment. This contextualizes Institute of Culinary Education's performance within the broader higher education landscape.
Acceptance & Selectivity
Getting In
- SAT Evidence-Based Reading Not reported
- SAT Math Not reported
- SAT Writing Not reported
- ACT Composite Not reported
- SAT & ACTNot required
- Undergraduate Enrollment 589
- Full-Time Students 0.0%
- Part-Time Students 100.0%
- Retention Rate Not reported
- Graduation Rate Not reported
- Student-Faculty Ratio 7:1
How to Get Into Institute of Culinary Education
1. Meet Program Requirements: Institute of Culinary Education focuses on practical skills and career readiness. Review the specific program requirements, which may include a high school diploma or equivalent, and any prerequisite coursework.
2. Prepare for Your Program: Focus on demonstrating your interest in the field and readiness for hands-on training. Some programs may require interviews or portfolio submissions.
3. Understand Admissions: Trade and certificate programs typically have open or moderately selective admissions focused on program fit rather than academic competition.
4. Financial Planning: Review the net price calculator and financial aid options early. Many students receive significant aid, making the actual cost lower than the sticker price.
Tip: Contact the admissions office directly for the most current application requirements, deadlines, and any special programs (like early decision or early action) that might improve your chances.
Academic Programs
Undergraduate Program Distribution
Breakdown of the most popular majors and fields of study among Institute of Culinary Education undergraduates. Culinary Arts and Related Services and Hospitality Administration/Management draw the most students.
- Culinary Arts and Related Services 96.8%
- Hospitality Administration/Management 3.2%
Highest Earning Programs
Median earnings five years after graduation for each program. These figures help illustrate ROI by field of study and degree level.
Certificate Programs
- 1. Hospitality Administration/Management $33,101
- 2. Culinary Arts and Related Services $22,759
Program Choice Matters: Undergraduate: Hospitality Administration/Management grads earn $33,101—45% more than Culinary Arts and Related Services ($22,759). Your program and degree level choice significantly impact career earnings.
Online Degrees & Distance Learning
U.S. Department of Education data does not list any fully online degree programs for Institute of Culinary Education. This institution may offer hybrid or partially online courses, but no fully online degree programs are reported in the latest data release.
Source: U.S. Department of Education
Student Demographics
Student Population
- Total Undergraduate Enrollment 589
- Full-Time Students 0.0%
- Part-Time Students 100.0%
- Male Students 48.9%
- Female Students 51.1%
- Caucasian 35.5%
- Asian 9.5%
- Hispanic 17.7%
- Black 14.3%
- Pell Grant Recipients 21.5%
Racial & Ethnic Diversity
Undergraduate student body composition by racial and ethnic background. This reflects Institute of Culinary Education's commitment to diversity and inclusion in admissions.
Gender Distribution
Gender breakdown of Institute of Culinary Education's undergraduate population. The university maintains a roughly balanced gender distribution across its student body.
EDsmart Insight: Institute of Culinary Education has a diverse student body, with 35.5% identifying as White. About 21.5% receive Pell Grants, below the national average of 38%, suggesting a wealthier student body or generous institutional aid.
Our Take
Institute of Culinary Education is unranked in our comprehensive analysis, achieving a Unranked overall grade with 0.0% ROI.
At $0 annually, the institution serves students seeking accessible higher education. Career outcomes and value metrics should be carefully compared against alternative institutions before enrolling.
EDsmart Assessment: Institute of Culinary Education
Unranked grade | Unranked
Performance Overview: Institute of Culinary Education's 0.0% return on investment and unranked status reflect the institution's competitive position in the higher education landscape. The $0 annual cost should be carefully weighed against expected career outcomes.
Value Considerations: Prospective students should compare Institute of Culinary Education's specific programs against alternatives, as institutional averages may not reflect individual program quality. Financial aid packages, program-specific outcomes, and career services vary significantly.
Decision Framework: Use Institute of Culinary Education's Unranked grade and unranked status as starting points, not final answers. Evaluate program-specific outcomes, campus visit impressions, financial aid offers, and career placement rates in your intended field before making enrollment decisions.
Key Takeaways
- Median earnings of $52,679 run about 15% lower than national outcomes five years after graduation.
- 7:1 student-faculty ratio keeps advising personal and discussion-sized.
Helpfulness for Students
- 7:1 student-faculty ratio keeps mentorship close and courses discussion-sized.
- Career coaching and alumni mentoring help learners convert classes into early job offers.
- Career coaching and alumni mentoring help learners convert classes into early job offers.
- Pell participation at 21.5% trails the national share by 24.9 points, so equity work remains important.
- Compare aid offers from nearby public universities to weigh the premium for smaller classes.
- Compare aid offers from nearby public universities to weigh the premium for smaller classes.
EDsmart Expert Analysis
Institute of Culinary Education, a private for-profit institution in New York, NY, secures a Unranked grade in our latest review. Category results include Completion (Unranked), Support (Unranked), Career Outcomes (Unranked), and Affordability (Unranked).
Grades are assigned relative to EDsmart's national bachelor's cohort using standardized outcomes (2026 methodology); they reflect how a school compares to peers, not a fixed percentage of a raw point total.
Review the cost and aid tables for a full picture of value.
Why it matters: this snapshot shows how likely you are to stay on track academically and whether the outcomes justify the price tag. Letter grades summarize cohort-relative performance—not a single exam-style score.
EDsmart Financial Snapshot
Review the charts above for a breakdown of tuition, aid, and typical expenses.
Aid awards vary by student profile, so completing the net price calculator is the best next step.
Graduates leave with a median of $6,186 in federal loans, which lines up with national norms.
About 21.5% of students receive Pell Grants, giving a snapshot of the campus income mix.
Why it matters: lining up sticker price, aid, and typical debt helps you stress-test the budget before you commit.
EDsmart Career Snapshot
Five years after graduation, alumni earn roughly $52,679 at the median. This is roughly 15% below typical U.S. college outcomes.
Employment figures are not reported, so explore departmental job placement stories.
Use the ROI table above to estimate how long it may take to recoup your degree costs.
Why it matters: pairing median earnings with employment rates gives you a sense of payback time after graduation.
EDsmart Admissions Snapshot
This institution has not reported a current acceptance rate.
The admissions team encourages students to highlight academic strengths through transcripts, essays, and recommendations.
Prospective students can apply early for priority review and lean on the Institute of Culinary Education admissions site for deadlines, visit options, and counselor contacts.
Why it matters: knowing the admit rate and application expectations lets you map out testing, essays, and deadlines with less stress.
Your Decision Toolkit
Cite this profile
Add your access date when you publish.
APA (7th): EDsmart. (2026). Institute of Culinary Education: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings. https://www.edsmart.org/schools/institute-of-culinary-education/
MLA (9th): “Institute of Culinary Education: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings.” EDsmart, 2026, www.edsmart.org/schools/institute-of-culinary-education/.
Chicago: EDsmart. “Institute of Culinary Education: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings.” https://www.edsmart.org/schools/institute-of-culinary-education/.
Similar Schools
Institutions with similar academic profiles, selectivity, and outcomes
Similar schools data is not available. Use our search to find comparable institutions.
Nearby Schools
Other campuses you might consider
Note: EDsmart’s national college rankings compare four-year, bachelor’s-granting institutions. Certificate- and trade-focused schools are not included in that ranking pool. The schools below are four-year references in the same state only, not peer comparisons.
Other New York campuses you might consider
Frequently Asked Questions
What are Institute of Culinary Education's job outcomes?
Graduates of Institute of Culinary Education report median earnings of $52,679 five years after graduation, according to U.S. Department of Education outcome data. Outcomes vary by major.
What is Institute of Culinary Education's student population?
Institute of Culinary Education enrolls about 589 undergraduate students, per U.S. Department of Education enrollment data.
Contact Information
- Address 225 Liberty Street, 3rd floor, New York, NY 10281
- Website www.ice.edu
- Net Price Calculator Calculate Your Cost
- Financial AidView Financial Aid Information
- AccreditationAccrediting Commission of Career Schools and Colleges (ACCSC)