Liberty University Logo

Liberty University

Lynchburg, VA | Private Nonprofit | University

Liberty University has an acceptance rate of 99.0%, annual tuition of $22,465, average net price of $29,357, and a national rank of #1205 (Grade B-), with a 65.3% graduation rate within 150% of normal time, about 50,012 undergraduates, and median earnings of $57,700 four years after graduation. Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard and EDsmart's 2026 rankings.

Liberty University is a private nonprofit university in Lynchburg, VA. Students most often pursue Computer and Information Sciences and Electrical, Electronics and Communications Engineering.

Day to day, students benefit from a 18:1 student-faculty ratio, and 80.1% first-year retention. Coaches and faculty advisors weave in frequent check-ins, helping students translate ambition into steady progress.

EDsmart calculates return on investment at 45.4%, roughly 4.5 points below typical outcomes. It's well-suited to students who appreciate an encouraging campus with room to explore.

B-
Ranking
#1205 of 1,947
How We Rank Schools Large campus life
At a Glance
Ranking
#1205 of 1,947 (Top 61.9%)
Tuition
$22,465
Net Price
$29,357
4-Year Tuition
$89,860
Acceptance Rate
99.0%
Transfer Rate
1.1%
Student Population
50,012
Student-Faculty
18:1
Grad Rate (150% time)
65.3%
Grad Rate (8-year)
44.0%
Retention Rate
80.1%
4-Yr Earnings
$57,700
ROI
45.4%

Who is Liberty University Best For?

A quick look at who tends to feel most at home here based on outcomes and campus context.

First-gen or Pell-eligible support
Explorers drawn to vibrant campus scale

EDsmart Scores Summary

Overall Ranking
#1205 of 1,947
Top 61.9% of all institutions
EDsmart Score
38.2 / 100 (national index)
Curved score (top institution = 100.0)
Value Rating
1.91 / 5
Based on ROI and outcomes
Completion
B+
#561 of 1,947
Affordability
C+
#1,487 of 1,947
Support
B-
#1,188 of 1,947
Career Outcomes
B-
#1,333 of 1,947

Liberty University graduates 65.3% of students within 150% of normal time (the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings), with an 8-year award rate of 44.0% and keeps 80.1% of first-year students. Affordability earns a C+ compared with similar schools.

How we calculate this →

Cost & Financial Aid

Quick Answers

What does it cost?
Depends on income
$30,667-$30,545 annual net price based on family income.
What's the graduation rate?
Likely
65.3% graduate within 150% of normal time (the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings). The College Scorecard 8-year award rate is 44.0%. 54.7% complete in four years (IPEDS 100% time).
What are job outcomes?
Highly likely
77.6% of alumni are employed within three years of leaving. Median earnings four years after graduation are $57,700. Pay varies by major.
Get Your Personalized Cost Estimate

The costs shown are averages. Use Liberty University's net price calculator to get an estimate based on your family's financial situation.

Calculate Your Net Price →

Total Degree Cost Summary

4-Year Total Cost (Pay with Cash)
$168,100
$42,025 × 4 years
Average Total Cost (Pay with Financial Aid)
$126,990
$29,357 × 4.3 years average
Time to Degree
Average: 4.3 years | 4-Year Rate: 54.7% | 6-Year Rate: 65.3% | 8-Year Rate: 44.0%
Most students finish in about four to five years. Four-year completion is 54.7% and six-year completion is 65.3%.

Annual Cost Comparison

Pay with Cash
$42,025
Total annual cost including tuition, books and living expenses; excluding any financial aid, grants or scholarships.
Pay with Financial Aid
$29,357
Average annual cost including tuition, books and living expenses after financial aid, grants or scholarships.

Cost of Undergraduate Attendance

Costs based on full-time, first-time degree- or certificate-seeking undergraduates.

View cost of attendance line items
Costs to Consider Price
Tuition and Fees $22,465
Books and Supplies $1,596
On-Campus Room and Board $13,835
On-Campus Other Expenses $6,593
Total On-Campus Cost $42,025

Tip: focus on the rows that match your living plan—commuters can swap in off-campus estimates while residential students should budget for housing, meals, and incidental fees.

Students Receiving Aid

Pell Grant
38.3%
Federal Loan
0.0%

Use these bars to gauge how many classmates rely on need-based dollars—lower Pell or loan shares may signal a wealthier student body or generous institutional grants.

EDsmart Insight: About 38.3% of Liberty University students receive Pell Grants — in line with the national average, highlighting ongoing affordability priorities.

Net Price by Family Income

Average annual net price after financial aid, based on family income. Your actual cost may vary depending on your specific financial situation.

$0 - $30,000
$30,667
Average annual cost for families earning $0-$30K
$30,001 - $48,000
$27,807
Average annual cost for families earning $30K-$48K
$48,001 - $75,000
$27,347
Average annual cost for families earning $48K-$75K
$75,001 - $110,000
$27,142
Average annual cost for families earning $75K-$110K
$110,001+
$30,545
Average annual cost for families earning $110K+

Understanding These Numbers: Net price varies significantly by income level. Net prices range from $30,667 to $30,545 depending on family income. Use Liberty University's net price calculator for a personalized estimate.

4-Year Total Cost Estimates:
$0-$30K families
~$138,002
$30K-$48K families
~$125,132
$48K-$75K families
~$123,062
$75K-$110K families
~$122,139
AFFORDABILITY ALERT

If your family earns $75K-$110K: Expect to pay around $27,142/year

If your family earns $110K+: Expect to pay around $30,545/year

See all income brackets →

ROI & Career Outcomes

Return on Investment
45.4%
Based on 6-year median earnings vs. total degree cost
  • Median Earnings (4 Years After Graduation) $57,700
  • 10-Year Median Earnings $44,813
  • Average Years to Graduate 4.3 years
  • Average Student Debt $24,500
  • Repayment Rate (3yr) 36.7%
  • Employment Rate 77.6%

Graduate Earnings Distribution

Earnings range for Liberty University graduates 6 years after enrollment, showing the 25th percentile, median, and 75th percentile. This illustrates the variation in outcomes across different majors and career paths.

Graduates earn a median of $57,700 four years after graduation — roughly 4% below the national median.
Payback Period
2.20 years
Total Degree Cost ÷ Annual Earnings

Liberty University vs. National Average

Comparison of key performance metrics showing how Liberty University's outcomes compare to the national average across earnings, graduation rates, retention, ROI, and employment. This contextualizes Liberty University's performance within the broader higher education landscape.

EDsmart Insight: While Liberty University graduates earn $57,700 median, the 45.4% ROI suggests the investment may take longer to pay off. Consider your major choice and career goals when evaluating value.

Acceptance & Selectivity

Getting In

Acceptance Rate
99.0%
Lightly Selective
National Average
69%
Average acceptance rate
  • SAT Evidence-Based Reading Not reported
  • SAT Math Not reported
  • SAT Writing Not reported
  • ACT Composite Not reported
  • SAT & ACTNot required
  • Undergraduate Enrollment 50,012
  • Full-Time Students 64.6%
  • Part-Time Students 35.4%
  • Retention Rate 80.1%
  • Grad Rate (150% time) 65.3%
  • Grad Rate (8-year) 44.0%
  • Student-Faculty Ratio 18:1

How to Get Into Liberty University

1. Meet Academic Requirements: Liberty University requires strong academic performance. Aim for test scores within the reported ranges and maintain a competitive GPA. Most admitted students rank in the top 10% of their high school class.

2. Build a Strong Application: Beyond test scores, focus on crafting compelling essays, securing strong letters of recommendation, and highlighting extracurricular activities that demonstrate leadership and commitment.

3. Understand Selectivity: With an acceptance rate of 99.0%, Liberty University is relatively open. Consider applying early decision if available, as early applicants often have higher acceptance rates.

4. Financial Planning: Review the net price calculator and financial aid options early. Many students receive significant aid, making the actual cost lower than the sticker price.

Tip: Contact the admissions office directly for the most current application requirements, deadlines, and any special programs (like early decision or early action) that might improve your chances.

EDsmart Insight: With a 99.0% acceptance rate, Liberty University is more accessible than highly selective schools. Meeting the test score ranges and maintaining a solid GPA significantly improves admission chances.

Academic Programs

Undergraduate Program Distribution

Breakdown of the most popular majors and fields of study among Liberty University undergraduates. Business Administration, Management and Operations, Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other, and Psychology, General draw the most students.

  • Business Administration, Management and Operations 16.6%
  • Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other 15.0%
  • Psychology, General 11.4%
  • Religion/Religious Studies 7.0%
  • Criminal Justice and Corrections 6.3%
  • Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods 5.4%
See more majors
  • Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing 3.8%
  • Air Transportation 2.4%

Highest Earning Programs

Median earnings five years after graduation for each program. These figures help illustrate ROI by field of study and degree level.

Undergraduate Programs (Bachelor's Degrees)

  • 1. Computer and Information Sciences, General $116,280
  • 2. Electrical, Electronics and Communications Engineering $96,803
  • 3. Business/Commerce, General $87,241
Show additional high-earning majors
  • 4. Air Transportation $82,092
  • 5. Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing $79,773
  • 6. Management Information Systems and Services $79,707
  • 7. Military Systems and Maintenance Technology $66,126
  • 8. International Relations and National Security Studies $65,865
  • 9. Mechanical Engineering $65,794
  • 10. Accounting and Related Services $63,405

Graduate Programs (Master's, Doctoral, Professional)

  • 1. Management Information Systems and Services (Master's Degree) $126,340
  • 2. Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing (Master's Degree) $109,061
  • 3. Intelligence, Command Control and Information Operations (Master's Degree) $103,977
Show additional graduate majors
  • 4. Computer and Information Sciences, General (Master's Degree) $85,569
  • 5. Business Administration, Management and Operations (Master's Degree) $82,715
  • 6. Accounting and Related Services (Master's Degree) $77,963
  • 7. Educational Administration and Supervision (Doctoral Degree) $75,365
  • 8. Law (Master's Degree) $73,582
  • 9. Public Policy Analysis (Master's Degree) $70,825
  • 10. Clinical, Counseling and Applied Psychology (Doctoral Degree) $70,534

Program Choice Matters: Undergraduate: Computer and Information Sciences, General grads earn $116,280—83% more than Accounting and Related Services ($63,405). Graduate: Management Information Systems and Services programs lead with $126,340 median earnings. Your program and degree level choice significantly impact career earnings.

Online Degrees & Distance Learning

College Scorecard reports fully online programs for Liberty University. Below are the most popular options based on the number of recent graduates, followed by a quick look at the breadth of online offerings by degree level.
Source: U.S. Department of Education – College Scorecard

Most Popular Online Degrees

  • Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods (Bachelor's Degree, 518 graduates)
  • Computer and Information Sciences, General (Bachelor's Degree, 222 graduates)
  • Design and Applied Arts (Bachelor's Degree, 162 graduates)
  • Communication and Media Studies (Bachelor's Degree, 143 graduates)
  • Medicine (First Professional Degree, 140 graduates)

What This School Offers Online, at a Glance

College Scorecard flags the following online degree and certificate programs for this institution. Expand each credential level to view the complete list of available subjects.

Online Bachelor's Degrees (42 programs)
  • Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods
  • Computer and Information Sciences, General
  • Design and Applied Arts
  • Communication and Media Studies
  • Biology, General
  • Music
  • Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
  • Radio, Television, and Digital Communication
  • Pastoral Counseling and Specialized Ministries
  • International Relations and National Security Studies
  • Public Health
  • Apparel and Textiles
  • Film/Video and Photographic Arts
  • English Language and Literature, General
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services
  • Electrical, Electronics and Communications Engineering
  • Journalism
  • Mathematics
  • Zoology/Animal Biology
  • International/Global Studies
  • Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft
  • Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions
  • Social Sciences, General
  • Security Science and Technology
  • Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
  • Outdoor Education
  • American Sign Language
  • Computer Engineering
  • Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology
  • Industrial Engineering
  • Ecology, Evolution, Systematics, and Population Biology
  • Chemistry
  • Biopsychology
  • Cell/Cellular Biology and Anatomical Sciences
  • Business/Commerce, General
  • Human Services, General
  • Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General
  • Philosophy
  • Fine and Studio Arts
  • Biotechnology
  • Bible/Biblical Studies
Online Master's Degrees (4 programs)
  • English Language and Literature, General
  • Religion/Religious Studies
  • Psychology, General
  • Fine and Studio Arts
Online Doctoral Degrees (1 program)
  • Cell/Cellular Biology and Anatomical Sciences
Online Undergraduate Certificates & Diplomas (1 program)
  • Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies
Online First Professional Degrees (2 programs)
  • Medicine
  • Law

Student Demographics

Student Population

  • Total Undergraduate Enrollment 50,012
  • Full-Time Students 64.6%
  • Part-Time Students 35.4%
  • Male Students 45.4%
  • Female Students 54.6%
  • Caucasian 56.6%
  • Asian 1.8%
  • Hispanic 7.9%
  • Black 10.5%
  • Pell Grant Recipients 38.3%

Racial & Ethnic Diversity

Undergraduate student body composition by racial and ethnic background. This reflects Liberty University's commitment to diversity and inclusion in admissions.

Gender Distribution

Gender breakdown of Liberty University's undergraduate population. The university maintains a roughly balanced gender distribution across its student body.

Graduation Rate Equity Analysis

How well does Liberty University support students from different economic backgrounds?

Pell Grant Recipients
53.3%
6-year graduation rate
Non-Pell Students
71.9%
6-year graduation rate
Equity Gap
18.6 pts
equity gap to monitor

What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at a different rate as higher-income students, indicating varying levels of institutional support for all economic backgrounds.

Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity

Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity

Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at Liberty University, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.

Graduation Rate Equity Analysis

How well does Liberty University support students from different economic backgrounds?

Pell Grant Recipients
53.3%
6-year graduation rate
Non-Pell Students
71.9%
6-year graduation rate
Equity Gap
18.6 pts
equity gap to monitor

What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at a different rate as higher-income students, indicating varying levels of institutional support for all economic backgrounds.

Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity

Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity

Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at Liberty University, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.

Our Take

Liberty University offers a private university experience at a regional scale, combining smaller class sizes with 45.4% ROI. Ranked #1205 nationally, the institution balances personalized attention against higher costs than public alternatives.

The $29,357 annual net price is significantly higher than public universities, offset somewhat by $57,700 median earnings. With 65.3% graduating within 150% of normal time and 80.1% returning for sophomore year, outcomes reflect the personalized support typical of smaller private institutions.

Private University Value: Liberty University's Positioning

With a B- grade and #1205 ranking, Liberty University competes in the crowded regional private university market.

The Private University Premium: At $29,357 annually, Liberty University charges more than public alternatives but typically offers smaller classes, more personalized advising, and tighter-knit campus communities. The 80.1% retention rate suggests students value this environment.

Who Benefits Most: Students who thrive in smaller, more intimate academic settings. Those seeking specific programs or values-based education aligned with the institution's mission. Students who receive merit scholarships that bring costs below $20,550 achieve particularly strong value.

Cost-Benefit Reality: The 45.4% ROI and $57,700 median earnings don't always justify the premium over public universities. Students paying full price should compare whether the personalized experience warrants $19,357+ in additional annual costs over state flagships.

Competitive Standing: Liberty University ranks #1205 of 1947 institutions, with 1473 schools achieving higher ROI. For students offered substantial merit aid or seeking specific programs unavailable at public universities, the value proposition strengthens significantly.

Key Takeaways

  • 65.3% graduation rate sits 2.8 points above the national 62.5% benchmark.
  • 80.1% first-year retention is 3.3 points above the national norm of 76.8%.
  • 45.4% return on investment is 4.5 points below the national 49.9% benchmark.
  • Median earnings of $57,700 run about 4% lower than national outcomes four years after graduation.
  • Average net price of $29,357 is roughly $9,278 higher than the national median of $20,079.

Helpfulness for Students

Green Flags
  • 18:1 student-faculty ratio keeps mentorship close and courses discussion-sized.
  • 80.1% first-year retention shows students stay engaged after the first year.
  • 77.6% employment rate within three years sits 9.4 points above national outcomes.
Red Flags
  • Average net price of $29,357 is about $9,278 higher than comparable schools, so scholarship planning is key.
  • Compare aid offers from nearby public universities to weigh the premium for smaller classes.
  • Compare aid offers from nearby public universities to weigh the premium for smaller classes.
EDsmart Expert Analysis

Located in Lynchburg, VA, Liberty University operates as a private nonprofit university and receives a B- from EDsmart. It stands at #1205 among 1962 schools Grades by category break down as Completion B+, Support B-, Career Outcomes B-, and Affordability C+.

Grades are assigned relative to EDsmart's national bachelor's cohort using standardized outcomes (2026 methodology); they reflect how a school compares to peers, not a fixed percentage of a raw point total.

Student momentum is strong: 80.1% retention, 65.3% graduation within 150% of normal time, and 44.0% earning an award within eight years. EDsmart calculates the ROI at 45.4%, offering a quick value checkpoint.

Why it matters: this snapshot shows how likely you are to stay on track academically and whether the outcomes justify the price tag. Letter grades summarize cohort-relative performance—not a single exam-style score.

EDsmart Financial Snapshot

Families pay about $29,357 on average after aid, compared with a published cost near $42,025.

Institutional and federal aid lower costs by roughly $12,668 per year.

Graduates leave with a median of $24,500 in federal loans, which lines up with national norms.

About 38.3% of students receive Pell Grants, giving a snapshot of the campus income mix.

Why it matters: lining up sticker price, aid, and typical debt helps you stress-test the budget before you commit.

EDsmart Career Snapshot

Median earnings come in near $57,700 four years after graduation. This is roughly 4% below typical U.S. college outcomes.

Roughly 77.6% of graduates are employed three years out.

EDsmart lists the ROI at 45.4%, offering a quick read on value.

Why it matters: pairing median earnings with employment rates gives you a sense of payback time after graduation.

EDsmart Admissions Snapshot

99.0% of applicants receive offers, so preparation and fit matter.

The admissions team encourages students to highlight academic strengths through transcripts, essays, and recommendations.

Prospective students can apply early for priority review and lean on the Liberty University admissions site for deadlines, visit options, and counselor contacts.

Why it matters: knowing the admit rate and application expectations lets you map out testing, essays, and deadlines with less stress.

EDsmart Verdict
1.91 / 5
Value Rating - Based on affordability and career outcomes

Your Decision Toolkit

Run the Net Price Calculator
Get your personalized cost estimate
Compare with similar schools
See how Liberty University stacks up to alternatives
Check your major's earnings
See ROI for your specific field of study
Visit the campus
Schedule a campus tour or virtual visit
Visit Liberty University Website →

Similar Schools

Institutions with similar academic profiles, selectivity, and outcomes

Nearby Schools

Other campuses you might consider

Other Virginia campuses you might consider

Virginia Union University
Richmond, VA
B- #1209 of 1,947
Emory & Henry University
Emory, VA
B- #1178 of 1,947
Mary Baldwin University
Staunton, VA
B- #1147 of 1,947
Sweet Briar College
Sweet Briar, VA
B- #1138 of 1,947

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Liberty University's acceptance rate?

Liberty University's acceptance rate is 99.0%, based on U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard admissions data.

How much does Liberty University cost?

At Liberty University, listed tuition and fees are $22,465 per year, and the average net price after aid is $29,357. Use the net price calculator on this page for a personalized estimate.

What is Liberty University's ranking?

Liberty University ranks #1205 nationally in EDsmart's 2026 college rankings with an overall grade of B-, based on completion, affordability, support, and career outcomes.

What is Liberty University's graduation rate?

At Liberty University, the graduation rate within 150% of normal time is 65.3% (the rate used in EDsmart rankings), College Scorecard 8-year award rate is 44.0%, and first-year retention is 80.1%.

What are Liberty University's job outcomes?

Graduates of Liberty University report median earnings of $57,700 four years after graduation, according to College Scorecard federal outcome data. Outcomes vary by major.

What is Liberty University's student population?

Liberty University enrolls about 50,012 undergraduate students, per College Scorecard enrollment data.

Contact Information

  • AccreditationSouthern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCC)
  • Endowment$2.28B
  • Transfer Enrollment Rate1.1%

Data Source & Methodology