Lincoln University
Lincoln University has an acceptance rate of 65.7%, annual tuition of $12,512, average net price of $14,977, and a national rank of #662 (Grade B), with a 465.7% graduation rate within 150% of normal time, about 1,539 undergraduates, and median earnings of $50,871 four years after graduation. Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard and EDsmart's 2026 rankings.
Lincoln University is a public university in Lincoln University, PA. Students most often pursue Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing and Biology.
Academically, students benefit from a 12:1 student-faculty ratio, and 73.4% first-year retention. Peer cohorts and advising networks provide scaffolding that keeps newcomers anchored during demanding semesters.
EDsmart calculates return on investment at 73.3%, roughly 23.4 points higher than typical outcomes. It's a compelling fit for students who appreciate an encouraging campus with room to explore.
Who is Lincoln University Best For?
A quick look at who tends to feel most at home here based on outcomes and campus context.
EDsmart Scores Summary
Lincoln University graduates 43.5% of students within 150% of normal time (the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings), with an 8-year award rate of 47.9% and keeps 73.4% of first-year students. Affordability earns an A compared with similar schools.
How we calculate this →Cost & Financial Aid
Quick Answers
The costs shown are averages. Use Lincoln University's net price calculator to get an estimate based on your family's financial situation.
Calculate Your Net Price →Total Degree Cost Summary
Annual Cost Comparison
Cost of Undergraduate Attendance
Costs based on full-time, first-time degree- or certificate-seeking undergraduates.
View cost of attendance line items
| Costs to Consider | Price |
|---|---|
| Tuition and Fees | $12,512 |
| Books and Supplies | $1,597 |
| On-Campus Room and Board | $11,616 |
| On-Campus Other Expenses | $3,344 |
| Total On-Campus Cost | $28,505 |
Tip: focus on the rows that match your living plan—commuters can swap in off-campus estimates while residential students should budget for housing, meals, and incidental fees.
Students Receiving Aid
Use these bars to gauge how many classmates rely on need-based dollars—lower Pell or loan shares may signal a wealthier student body or generous institutional grants.
EDsmart Insight: About 68.7% of Lincoln University students receive Pell Grants — well above the national average, highlighting ongoing affordability priorities.
Net Price by Family Income
Average annual net price after financial aid, based on family income. Your actual cost may vary depending on your specific financial situation.
Understanding These Numbers: Net price varies significantly by income level. Net prices range from $14,011 to $21,303 depending on family income. Use Lincoln University's net price calculator for a personalized estimate.
If your family earns $75K-$110K: Expect to pay around $19,881/year
If your family earns $110K+: Expect to pay around $21,303/year
See all income brackets →ROI & Career Outcomes
- Median Earnings (4 Years After Graduation) $50,871
- 10-Year Median Earnings $43,167
- Average Years to Graduate 4.6 years
- Average Student Debt $28,250
- Repayment Rate (3yr) 31.8%
- Employment Rate 82.7%
Graduate Earnings Distribution
Earnings range for Lincoln University graduates 6 years after enrollment, showing the 25th percentile, median, and 75th percentile. This illustrates the variation in outcomes across different majors and career paths.
Lincoln University vs. National Average
Comparison of key performance metrics showing how Lincoln University's outcomes compare to the national average across earnings, graduation rates, retention, ROI, and employment. This contextualizes Lincoln University's performance within the broader higher education landscape.
EDsmart Insight: Lincoln University graduates earn $50,871 median four years after graduation, -16% above the national average. Earnings vary significantly by major—research your field's outcomes.
Acceptance & Selectivity
Getting In
- SAT Evidence-Based Reading 420-500
- SAT Math 400-460
- SAT Writing Not reported
- ACT Composite Not reported
- SAT & ACT Required
- Undergraduate Enrollment 1,539
- Full-Time Students 97.7%
- Part-Time Students 2.3%
- Retention Rate 73.4%
- Grad Rate (150% time) 43.5%
- Grad Rate (8-year) 47.9%
- Student-Faculty Ratio 12:1
How to Get Into Lincoln University
1. Meet Academic Requirements: Lincoln University requires strong academic performance. Aim for test scores within the reported ranges and maintain a competitive GPA. Most admitted students rank in the top 10% of their high school class.
2. Build a Strong Application: Beyond test scores, focus on crafting compelling essays, securing strong letters of recommendation, and highlighting extracurricular activities that demonstrate leadership and commitment.
3. Understand Selectivity: With an acceptance rate of 65.7%, Lincoln University is relatively open. Consider applying early decision if available, as early applicants often have higher acceptance rates.
4. Financial Planning: Review the net price calculator and financial aid options early. Many students receive significant aid, making the actual cost lower than the sticker price.
Tip: Contact the admissions office directly for the most current application requirements, deadlines, and any special programs (like early decision or early action) that might improve your chances.
EDsmart Insight: With a 65.7% acceptance rate, Lincoln University is more accessible than highly selective schools. Meeting the test score ranges and maintaining a solid GPA significantly improves admission chances. The middle 50% of admitted students score between 820 and 960 on the SAT.
Academic Programs
Undergraduate Program Distribution
Breakdown of the most popular majors and fields of study among Lincoln University undergraduates. Human Services, General, Radio, Television, and Digital Communication, and Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, Gen draw the most students.
- Human Services, General 17.4%
- Radio, Television, and Digital Communication 12.9%
- Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, Gen 10.9%
- Criminal Justice and Corrections 8.3%
- Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing 7.4%
- Business Administration, Management and Operations 7.1%
See more majors
- Biology, General 6.0%
- Computer and Information Sciences, General 5.7%
Highest Earning Programs
Median earnings five years after graduation for each program. These figures help illustrate ROI by field of study and degree level.
Undergraduate Programs (Bachelor's Degrees)
- 1. Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing $68,662
- 2. Biology, General $59,570
- 3. Computer and Information Sciences, General $59,488
Show additional high-earning majors
- 4. Radio, Television, and Digital Communication $53,423
- 5. Criminal Justice and Corrections $52,095
- 6. Business Administration, Management and Operations $51,615
- 7. Journalism $50,643
- 8. Human Services, General $49,213
- 9. Psychology, General $33,699
- 10. Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General $32,664
Graduate Programs (Master's, Doctoral, Professional)
- 1. Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods (Master's Degree) $64,994
- 2. Human Services, General (Master's Degree) $56,003
- 3. Special Education and Teaching (Master's Degree) $55,626
Show additional graduate majors
- 4. Business Administration, Management and Operations (Master's Degree) $52,748
- 5. Finance and Financial Management Services (Master's Degree) $51,240
- 6. Clinical, Counseling and Applied Psychology (Master's Degree) $48,842
Program Choice Matters: Undergraduate: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing grads earn $68,662—110% more than Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General ($32,664). Graduate: Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods programs lead with $64,994 median earnings. Your program and degree level choice significantly impact career earnings.
Online Degrees & Distance Learning
College Scorecard reports fully online programs for Lincoln University. Below are the most popular options based on the number of recent graduates, followed by a quick look at the breadth of online offerings by degree level.
Source: U.S. Department of Education – College Scorecard
Most Popular Online Degrees
- Human Services, General (Bachelor's Degree, 61 graduates)
- Radio, Television, and Digital Communication (Bachelor's Degree, 45 graduates)
- Human Services, General (Master's Degree, 41 graduates)
- Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General (Bachelor's Degree, 38 graduates)
- Criminal Justice and Corrections (Bachelor's Degree, 29 graduates)
What This School Offers Online, at a Glance
College Scorecard flags the following online degree and certificate programs for this institution. Expand each credential level to view the complete list of available subjects.
Online Bachelor's Degrees (36 programs)▼
- Human Services, General
- Radio, Television, and Digital Communication
- Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General
- Criminal Justice and Corrections
- Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing
- Business Administration, Management and Operations
- Biology, General
- Computer and Information Sciences, General
- Psychology, General
- Political Science and Government
- Sociology
- Finance and Financial Management Services
- English Language and Literature, General
- Mathematics
- Area Studies
- Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology
- Anthropology
- Fine and Studio Arts
- Accounting and Related Services
- Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
- Music
- Engineering Science
- Religion/Religious Studies
- Chemistry
- Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods
- Research and Experimental Psychology
- Physics
- Physical Sciences
- Philosophy
- Natural Resources Conservation and Research
- Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
- Journalism
- History
- Health and Physical Education/Fitness
- Communication and Media Studies
- Clinical, Counseling and Applied Psychology
Online Master's Degrees (7 programs)▼
- Human Services, General
- Business Administration, Management and Operations
- Finance and Financial Management Services
- Clinical, Counseling and Applied Psychology
- Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods
- Special Education and Teaching
- Educational Administration and Supervision
Student Demographics
Student Population
- Total Undergraduate Enrollment 1,539
- Full-Time Students 97.7%
- Part-Time Students 2.3%
- Male Students 36.1%
- Female Students 63.9%
- Caucasian 0.7%
- Asian 0.1%
- Hispanic 5.7%
- Black 84.2%
- Pell Grant Recipients 68.7%
Racial & Ethnic Diversity
Undergraduate student body composition by racial and ethnic background. This reflects Lincoln University's commitment to diversity and inclusion in admissions.
Gender Distribution
Gender breakdown of Lincoln University's undergraduate population. The university maintains a roughly balanced gender distribution across its student body.
Graduation Rate Equity Analysis
How well does Lincoln University support students from different economic backgrounds?
What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at a different rate as higher-income students, indicating varying levels of institutional support for all economic backgrounds.
Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity
Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity
Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at Lincoln University, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.
EDsmart Insight: Lincoln University has a diverse student body, with 0.7% identifying as White. Women make up 63.9% of undergraduates. 68.7% of students receive Pell Grants, well above the national average, indicating strong support for low-income students.
Graduation Rate Equity Analysis
How well does Lincoln University support students from different economic backgrounds?
What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at a different rate as higher-income students, indicating varying levels of institutional support for all economic backgrounds.
Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity
Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity
Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at Lincoln University, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.
Our Take
Lincoln University serves as an affordable university for students seeking quality education without elite university costs. Ranked #662 nationally with a 73.3% ROI, the institution balances practical outcomes with budget-friendly pricing.
At $14,977 annually, students gain access to career-focused programs leading to $50,871 median earnings. The 43.5% graduation rate reflects reasonable completion metrics for a university. While 73.4% retention suggests adequate student support.
University Value: Lincoln University's Strengths
Ranked #662 with a B grade, Lincoln University prioritizes accessibility and local career connections over national prestige.
Primary Strengths: Universitys like Lincoln University excel at providing affordable education ($14,977 annually) with strong local employer relationships. Many programs emphasize practical skills and internships within the regional economy.
Best For: Students planning to work in the region after graduation benefit from established employer connections. Adult learners and part-time students appreciate flexible scheduling. First-generation students and budget-conscious families gain degrees without overwhelming debt.
Honest Assessment: Lincoln University's 73.4% retention and 43.5% graduation rate trail elite universities but align with typical university performance. Career outcomes ($50,871 median earnings) reflect regional job markets more than national opportunities.
Value Verdict: For students committed to regional careers, Lincoln University's 73.3% ROI and $14,977 cost deliver solid value. Those seeking national job mobility or prestigious credentials should compare against flagship state universities or targeted private scholarships.
Key Takeaways
- 43.5% graduation rate sits 19.0 points below the national 62.5% benchmark.
- 73.4% first-year retention is 3.4 points below the national norm of 76.8%.
- 73.3% return on investment is 23.4 points above the national 49.9% benchmark.
- Median earnings of $50,871 run about 16% lower than national outcomes four years after graduation.
- Average net price of $14,977 is roughly $5,102 lower than the national median of $20,079.
Helpfulness for Students
- 12:1 student-faculty ratio keeps mentorship close and courses discussion-sized.
- 73.4% first-year retention shows students stay engaged after the first year.
- 82.7% employment rate within three years sits 14.5 points above national outcomes.
- Budget carefully for clinical travel, off-campus housing, and practicum fees to avoid surprise costs.
- Compare aid offers from nearby public universities to weigh the premium for smaller classes.
- Compare aid offers from nearby public universities to weigh the premium for smaller classes.
EDsmart Expert Analysis
Lincoln University is a public university based in Lincoln University, PA and earns a B overall grade. It holds a #662 national ranking Category results include Completion (B-), Support (B), Career Outcomes (B-), and Affordability (A).
Grades are assigned relative to EDsmart's national bachelor's cohort using standardized outcomes (2026 methodology); they reflect how a school compares to peers, not a fixed percentage of a raw point total.
Student momentum is strong: 73.4% retention, 43.5% graduation within 150% of normal time, and 47.9% earning an award within eight years. Return on investment currently measures 73.3% for this program.
Why it matters: this snapshot shows how likely you are to stay on track academically and whether the outcomes justify the price tag. Letter grades summarize cohort-relative performance—not a single exam-style score.
EDsmart Financial Snapshot
Families pay about $14,977 on average after aid, compared with a published cost near $28,505.
Institutional and federal aid lower costs by roughly $13,528 per year.
Graduates leave with a median of $28,250 in federal loans, which lines up with national norms.
About 68.7% of students receive Pell Grants, giving a snapshot of the campus income mix.
Why it matters: lining up sticker price, aid, and typical debt helps you stress-test the budget before you commit.
EDsmart Career Snapshot
Graduates report median earnings of about $50,871 four years after graduation. This is roughly 16% below typical U.S. college outcomes.
The three-year employment rate is close to 82.7%.
Plan around an ROI of about 73.3% according to the Scorecard data.
Why it matters: pairing median earnings with employment rates gives you a sense of payback time after graduation.
EDsmart Admissions Snapshot
65.7% of applicants receive offers, so preparation and fit matter.
The admissions team encourages students to highlight academic strengths through transcripts, essays, and recommendations.
Prospective students can apply early for priority review and lean on the Lincoln University admissions site for deadlines, visit options, and counselor contacts.
Why it matters: knowing the admit rate and application expectations lets you map out testing, essays, and deadlines with less stress.
Your Decision Toolkit
Similar Schools
Institutions with similar academic profiles, selectivity, and outcomes
Nearby Schools
Other campuses you might consider
Other Pennsylvania campuses you might consider
Frequently Asked Questions
What is Lincoln University's acceptance rate?
Lincoln University's acceptance rate is 65.7%, based on U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard admissions data.
How much does Lincoln University cost?
At Lincoln University, listed tuition and fees are $12,512 per year, and the average net price after aid is $14,977. Use the net price calculator on this page for a personalized estimate.
What is Lincoln University's ranking?
Lincoln University ranks #662 nationally in EDsmart's 2026 college rankings with an overall grade of B, based on completion, affordability, support, and career outcomes.
What is Lincoln University's graduation rate?
At Lincoln University, the graduation rate within 150% of normal time is 465.7% (the rate used in EDsmart rankings), College Scorecard 8-year award rate is 47.9%, and first-year retention is 73.4%.
What are Lincoln University's job outcomes?
Graduates of Lincoln University report median earnings of $50,871 four years after graduation, according to College Scorecard federal outcome data. Outcomes vary by major.
What is Lincoln University's student population?
Lincoln University enrolls about 1,539 undergraduate students, per College Scorecard enrollment data.
Contact Information
- Address Lincoln University, PA 19352-0999
- Website www.lincoln.edu
- Net Price Calculator Calculate Your Cost
- Financial AidView Financial Aid Information
- AccreditationMiddle States Commission on Higher Education (MSACHE)
- Endowment$54.1M
- Transfer Enrollment Rate30.3%