Lincoln University
Lincoln University has an average net price of $13,788, and an overall rank of #1669 (Grade C). About 24.3% of students graduate within 150% of normal time, and median earnings are $50,749 five years after graduation. Data from the U.S. Department of Education and EDsmart's 2027 rankings.
Lincoln University is a public university in Jefferson City, MO. Students most often pursue Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing and Agriculture.
Academically, students benefit from a 11:1 student-faculty ratio, and 59.9% first-year retention. Peer cohorts and advising networks provide scaffolding that keeps newcomers anchored during demanding semesters.
EDsmart calculates return on investment at 74.9%, roughly 25.0 points higher than typical outcomes. It's a compelling fit for students who appreciate an encouraging campus with room to explore.
Who is Lincoln University Best For?
A quick look at who tends to feel most at home here based on outcomes and campus context.
EDsmart Scores Summary
Lincoln University graduates 24.3% of students within 150% of normal time (the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings), with an 8-year award rate of 31.4% and keeps 59.9% of first-year students. Affordability earns a B+ compared with similar schools.
How we calculate this →Cost & Financial Aid
Quick Answers
The costs shown are averages. Use Lincoln University's net price calculator to get an estimate based on your family's financial situation.
Calculate Your Net Price →Total Degree Cost Summary
Annual Cost Comparison
Est. annual aid gap: $10,298 Cash cost of attendance minus average net price after aid.
Cost of Undergraduate Attendance
Costs based on full-time, first-time degree- or certificate-seeking undergraduates.
View cost of attendance line items
| Costs to Consider | Price |
|---|---|
| Tuition and Fees | $10,180 |
| Books and Supplies | $2,000 |
| On-Campus Room and Board | $11,452 |
| On-Campus Other Expenses | $3,468 |
| Total On-Campus Cost | $24,086 |
Tip: focus on the rows that match your living plan—commuters can swap in off-campus estimates while residential students should budget for housing, meals, and incidental fees.
Students Receiving Aid
Use these bars to gauge how many classmates rely on need-based dollars—lower Pell or loan shares may signal a wealthier student body or generous institutional grants.
EDsmart Insight: About 44.8% of Lincoln University students receive Pell Grants — above the national average, highlighting ongoing affordability priorities.
Net Price by Family Income
Average annual net price after financial aid, based on family income. Your actual cost may vary depending on your specific financial situation.
Understanding These Numbers: Net price varies significantly by income level. Net prices range from $12,970 to $21,108 depending on family income. Use Lincoln University's net price calculator for a personalized estimate.
If your family earns $75K-$110K: Expect to pay around $16,689/year
If your family earns $110K+: Expect to pay around $21,108/year
See all income brackets →ROI & Career Outcomes
- Median Earnings (5 Years After Graduation) $50,749
- 10-Year Median Earnings $41,642
- Average Years to Graduate 4.9 years
- Average Student Debt $18,217
- Debt-to-Earnings ~35.9%
- Repayment Rate (3yr) 32.6%
- Employment Rate 92.0%
Graduate Earnings Distribution
Earnings range for Lincoln University graduates about 10 years after enrollment (25th percentile, median, and 75th percentile). Different horizon than median earnings five years after graduation above.
Lincoln University vs. National Average
Comparison of key performance metrics showing how Lincoln University's outcomes compare to the national average across earnings, graduation rates, retention, ROI, and employment. This contextualizes Lincoln University's performance within the broader higher education landscape.
EDsmart Insight: Lincoln University graduates earn $50,749 median five years after graduation, 18% below the national average. Earnings vary significantly by major—research your field's outcomes.
Acceptance & Selectivity
Getting In
- SAT Evidence-Based Reading Not reported
- SAT Math Not reported
- SAT Writing Not reported
- ACT Composite Not reported
- SAT & ACTNot required
- Undergraduate Enrollment 1,392
- Full-Time Students 90.7%
- Part-Time Students 9.3%
- Retention Rate 59.9%
- Grad Rate (150% time) 24.3%
- Grad Rate (8-year) 31.4%
- Student-Faculty Ratio 11:1
How to Get Into Lincoln University
1. Meet Academic Requirements: Lincoln University requires strong academic performance. Aim for test scores within the reported ranges and maintain a competitive GPA. Most admitted students rank in the top 10% of their high school class.
2. Build a Strong Application: Beyond test scores, focus on crafting compelling essays, securing strong letters of recommendation, and highlighting extracurricular activities that demonstrate leadership and commitment.
3. Understand Selectivity: With an acceptance rate of Not reported, Lincoln University is selective. Consider applying early decision if available, as early applicants often have higher acceptance rates.
4. Financial Planning: Review the net price calculator and financial aid options early. Many students receive significant aid, making the actual cost lower than the sticker price.
Tip: Contact the admissions office directly for the most current application requirements, deadlines, and any special programs (like early decision or early action) that might improve your chances.
Academic Programs
Undergraduate Program Distribution
Breakdown of the most popular majors and fields of study among Lincoln University undergraduates. Business Administration, Management and Operations, Foods, Nutrition, and Related Services, and Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing draw the most students.
- Business Administration, Management and Operations 14.9%
- Foods, Nutrition, and Related Services 10.9%
- Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing 10.9%
- Criminal Justice and Corrections 9.9%
- Psychology, General 7.9%
- Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Hum 6.4%
See more majors
- Agriculture, General 5.4%
- Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods 4.5%
Highest Earning Programs
Median earnings five years after graduation for each program. These figures help illustrate ROI by field of study and degree level.
Undergraduate Programs
- 1. Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing (Bachelor's Degree) $76,254
- 2. Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing (Associate's Degree) $76,223
- 3. Agriculture, General (Bachelor's Degree) $49,924
Show additional high-earning majors
- 4. Business Administration, Management and Operations (Bachelor's Degree) $49,058
- 5. Criminal Justice and Corrections (Bachelor's Degree) $48,888
- 6. Criminal Justice and Corrections (Associate's Degree) $47,975
- 7. Health-Related Knowledge and Skills (Bachelor's Degree) $47,617
- 8. Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (Bachelor's Degree) $40,664
- 9. Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods (Bachelor's Degree) $36,414
Program Choice Matters: Undergraduate: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing grads earn $76,254—109% more than Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods ($36,414). Your program and degree level choice significantly impact career earnings.
Online Degrees & Distance Learning
U.S. Department of Education data reports fully online programs for Lincoln University. Below are the most popular options based on the number of recent graduates, followed by a quick look at the breadth of online offerings by degree level.
Source: U.S. Department of Education
Most Popular Online Degrees
- Business Administration, Management and Operations (Bachelor's Degree, 30 graduates)
- Foods, Nutrition, and Related Services (Bachelor's Degree, 22 graduates)
- Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (Bachelor's Degree, 22 graduates)
- Criminal Justice and Corrections (Bachelor's Degree, 20 graduates)
- Psychology, General (Bachelor's Degree, 16 graduates)
What This School Offers Online, at a Glance
U.S. Department of Education data flags the following online degree and certificate programs for this institution. Expand each credential level to view the complete list of available subjects.
Online Bachelor's Degrees (28 programs)▼
- Business Administration, Management and Operations
- Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing
- Foods, Nutrition, and Related Services
- Criminal Justice and Corrections
- Psychology, General
- Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
- Agriculture, General
- Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods
- Biology, General
- Social Work
- Journalism
- General Sales, Merchandising and Related Marketing Operations
- Accounting and Related Services
- Political Science and Government
- History
- English Language and Literature, General
- Chemistry
- Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas
- Information Science/Studies
- Civil Engineering Technologies/Technicians
- Special Education and Teaching
- Sociology
- Physics
- Mathematics
- Fine and Studio Arts
- Public Administration
- Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions
- Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies
Online Master's Degrees (7 programs)▼
- Social Sciences, Other
- Student Counseling and Personnel Services
- History
- Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods
- Sociology
- Natural Sciences
- Curriculum and Instruction
Online Graduate/Professional Certificates (3 programs)▼
- Student Counseling and Personnel Services
- Educational/Instructional Media Design
- Education, Other
Online Undergraduate Certificates & Diplomas (3 programs)▼
- Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas
- History
- Criminal Justice and Corrections
Student Demographics
Student Population
- Total Undergraduate Enrollment 1,392
- Full-Time Students 90.7%
- Part-Time Students 9.3%
- Male Students 42.1%
- Female Students 57.9%
- Caucasian 28.7%
- Asian 0.7%
- Hispanic 3.9%
- Black 49.9%
- Pell Grant Recipients 44.8%
Racial & Ethnic Diversity
Undergraduate student body composition by racial and ethnic background. This reflects Lincoln University's commitment to diversity and inclusion in admissions.
Gender Distribution
Gender breakdown of Lincoln University's undergraduate population. The university maintains a roughly balanced gender distribution across its student body.
Graduation Rate Equity Analysis
How well does Lincoln University support students from different economic backgrounds?
What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at a different rate as higher-income students, indicating varying levels of institutional support for all economic backgrounds.
Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity
Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity
Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at Lincoln University, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.
EDsmart Insight: Lincoln University has a diverse student body, with 28.7% identifying as White.
Graduation Rate Equity Analysis
How well does Lincoln University support students from different economic backgrounds?
What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at a different rate as higher-income students, indicating varying levels of institutional support for all economic backgrounds.
Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity
Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity
Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at Lincoln University, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.
Our Take
Lincoln University serves as an affordable university for students seeking quality education without elite university costs. Ranked #1669 overall with a 74.9% ROI, the institution balances practical outcomes with budget-friendly pricing.
At $13,788 annually, students gain access to career-focused programs leading to $50,749 median earnings. The 24.3% graduation rate reflects reasonable completion metrics for a university. While 59.9% retention suggests adequate student support.
University Value: Lincoln University's Strengths
Ranked #1669 with a C grade, Lincoln University prioritizes accessibility and local career connections over national prestige.
Primary Strengths: Universitys like Lincoln University excel at providing affordable education ($13,788 annually) with strong local employer relationships. Many programs emphasize practical skills and internships within the regional economy.
Best For: Students planning to work in the region after graduation benefit from established employer connections. Adult learners and part-time students appreciate flexible scheduling. First-generation students and budget-conscious families gain degrees without overwhelming debt.
Honest Assessment: Lincoln University's 59.9% retention and 24.3% graduation rate trail elite universities but align with typical university performance. Career outcomes ($50,749 median earnings) reflect regional job markets more than national opportunities.
Value Verdict: For students committed to regional careers, Lincoln University's 74.9% ROI and $13,788 cost deliver solid value. Those seeking national job mobility or prestigious credentials should compare against flagship state universities or targeted private scholarships.
Key Takeaways
- 24.3% graduation rate sits 38.2 points below the national 62.5% benchmark.
- 59.9% first-year retention is 16.9 points below the national norm of 76.8%.
- 74.9% return on investment is 25.0 points above the national 49.9% benchmark.
- Median earnings of $50,749 run about 18% lower than national outcomes five years after graduation.
- Average net price of $13,788 is roughly $6,093 lower than the national median of $19,881.
Helpfulness for Students
- 11:1 student-faculty ratio keeps mentorship close and courses discussion-sized.
- 59.9% first-year retention shows students stay engaged after the first year.
- 92.0% employment rate within three years sits 23.8 points above national outcomes.
- Budget carefully for clinical travel, off-campus housing, and practicum fees to avoid surprise costs.
- Compare aid offers from nearby public universities to weigh the premium for smaller classes.
- Compare aid offers from nearby public universities to weigh the premium for smaller classes.
EDsmart Expert Analysis
Lincoln University is a public university based in Jefferson City, MO and earns a C overall grade. It holds a #1669 overall ranking Category results include Completion (C-), Support (C+), Career Outcomes (B-), and Affordability (B+).
Grades are assigned relative to EDsmart's national bachelor's cohort using standardized outcomes (2027 rankings methodology); they reflect how a school compares to peers, not a fixed percentage of a raw point total.
Student momentum is strong: 59.9% retention, 24.3% graduation within 150% of normal time, and 31.4% earning an award within eight years. Return on investment currently measures 74.9% for this program.
Why it matters: this snapshot shows how likely you are to stay on track academically and whether the outcomes justify the price tag. Letter grades summarize cohort-relative performance—not a single exam-style score.
EDsmart Financial Snapshot
Families pay about $13,788 on average after aid, compared with a published cost near $24,086.
Institutional and federal aid lower costs by roughly $10,298 per year.
Graduates leave with a median of $18,217 in federal loans, which lines up with national norms.
About 44.8% of students receive Pell Grants, giving a snapshot of the campus income mix.
Why it matters: lining up sticker price, aid, and typical debt helps you stress-test the budget before you commit.
EDsmart Career Snapshot
Graduates report median earnings of about $50,749 five years after graduation. This is roughly 18% below typical U.S. college outcomes.
The three-year employment rate is close to 92.0%.
Plan around an ROI of about 74.9% according to U.S. Department of Education data.
Why it matters: pairing median earnings with employment rates gives you a sense of payback time after graduation.
EDsmart Admissions Snapshot
This institution has not reported a current acceptance rate.
The admissions team encourages students to highlight academic strengths through transcripts, essays, and recommendations.
Prospective students can apply early for priority review and lean on the Lincoln University admissions site for deadlines, visit options, and counselor contacts.
Why it matters: knowing the admit rate and application expectations lets you map out testing, essays, and deadlines with less stress.
Your Decision Toolkit
Cite this profile
Add your access date when you publish.
APA (7th): EDsmart. (2026). Lincoln University: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings. https://www.edsmart.org/schools/lincoln-university/
MLA (9th): “Lincoln University: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings.” EDsmart, 2026, www.edsmart.org/schools/lincoln-university/.
Chicago: EDsmart. “Lincoln University: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings.” https://www.edsmart.org/schools/lincoln-university/.
Similar Schools
Institutions with similar academic profiles, selectivity, and outcomes
Nearby Schools
Other campuses you might consider
Other Missouri campuses you might consider
Frequently Asked Questions
How much does Lincoln University cost?
At Lincoln University, the average net price after grants and scholarships is $13,788 per year. That covers tuition, books, and living costs, which total $24,086 a year before aid. Tuition and fees alone are $10,180. Use the net price calculator on this page for a personalized estimate.
What is Lincoln University's ranking?
Lincoln University ranks #1669 overall in EDsmart's 2027 college rankings with an overall grade of C, based on completion, affordability, support, and career outcomes.
What is Lincoln University's graduation rate?
At Lincoln University, the graduation rate within 150% of normal time is 24.3% (the rate used in EDsmart rankings), the federal 8-year award rate is 31.4%, and first-year retention is 59.9%.
What are Lincoln University's job outcomes?
Graduates of Lincoln University report median earnings of $50,749 five years after graduation, according to U.S. Department of Education outcome data. Outcomes vary by major.
What is Lincoln University's student population?
Lincoln University enrolls about 1,392 undergraduate students, per U.S. Department of Education enrollment data.
Contact Information
- Address 820 Chestnut Street, Jefferson City, MO 65101
- Website www.lincolnu.edu
- Net Price Calculator Calculate Your Cost
- Financial AidView Financial Aid Information
- AccreditationHigher Learning Commission (NCACHE)
- Endowment$3.1M
- Transfer Enrollment Rate34.8%