Methodist College Logo

Methodist College

Peoria, IL | Private Nonprofit | College

Methodist College has an acceptance rate of 38.9%, an average net price of $41,238, and an overall rank of #623 (Grade B+). About 55.3% of students graduate within 150% of normal time (two-year average), and median earnings are $73,512 five years after graduation. Data from the U.S. Department of Education and EDsmart's 2026 rankings.

Methodist College is a private nonprofit university in Peoria, IL. Students most often pursue Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing.

Inside the classroom, students benefit from a 5:1 student-faculty ratio. Faculty pair challenging syllabi with intentional mentoring so learners keep momentum even as expectations rise.

EDsmart calculates return on investment at 38.2%, roughly 11.7 points below typical outcomes. Expect the strongest outcomes for students who appreciate an encouraging campus with room to explore and students looking for meaningful faculty access.

B+
Ranking
#623 of 1,934
How We Rank Schools Higher pay after collegeSmall campus feel
At a Glance
Ranking
#623 of 1,934 (Top 32.2%)
Tuition
$18,318
Net Price
$41,238
4-Year Tuition
$73,272
Acceptance Rate
38.9%
Transfer Rate
40.0%
Student Population
245
Student-Faculty
5:1
Grad Rate (150% time)
55.3%
Grad Rate (8-year)
61.6%
Retention Rate
Not reported
4-Yr Earnings
$73,512
ROI
Not reported

Who is Methodist College Best For?

A quick look at who tends to feel most at home here based on outcomes and campus context.

Students who thrive with close mentoring
Students aiming for strong salaries
First-gen or Pell-eligible support
Learners who value a tight-knit campus
Students seeking strong career outcomes
Students valuing supportive learning environments

EDsmart Scores Summary

Overall Ranking
#623 of 1,934
Top 32.2% of all institutions
EDsmart Score
67.8 / 100 (national index)
Curved score (top institution = 100.0)
Value Rating
3.39 / 5
Based on ROI and outcomes
Completion
B
#740 of 1,934
Affordability
C
#1,727 of 1,934
Support
A-
#144 of 1,934
Career Outcomes
B+
#318 of 1,934

Methodist College graduates 55.3% of students within 150% of normal time (two-year average; the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings), with an 8-year award rate of 61.6% and does not report first-year retention. Affordability earns a C compared with similar schools.

How we calculate this →

Cost & Financial Aid

Quick Answers

What does it cost?
Depends on income
$39,315-$47,007 annual net price based on family income.
What's the graduation rate?
Likely
55.3% graduate within 150% of normal time (two-year average; the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings). The federal 8-year award rate is 61.6%. 20.0% complete in four years (IPEDS 100% time).
What are job outcomes?
Highly likely
94.5% of alumni are employed within three years of leaving. Median earnings five years after graduation are $73,512. Pay varies by major.
Get Your Personalized Cost Estimate

The costs shown are averages. Use Methodist College's net price calculator to get an estimate based on your family's financial situation.

Calculate Your Net Price →

Total Degree Cost Summary

4-Year Total Cost (Pay with Cash)
$188,028
$47,007 × 4 years
Average Total Cost (Pay with Financial Aid)
$192,444
$41,238 × 4.7 years average
Time to Degree
Average: 4.7 years | 4-Year Rate: 20.0% | 6-Year Rate: 55.3% | 8-Year Rate: 61.6%
Most students finish in about four to five years. Four-year completion is 20.0% and six-year completion is 55.3%.

Annual Cost Comparison

Pay with Cash
$47,007
Total annual cost including tuition, books and living expenses; excluding any financial aid, grants or scholarships.
Pay with Financial Aid
$41,238
Average annual cost including tuition, books and living expenses after financial aid, grants or scholarships.

Est. annual aid gap: $5,769 Cash cost of attendance minus average net price after aid.

Cost of Undergraduate Attendance

Costs based on full-time, first-time degree- or certificate-seeking undergraduates.

View cost of attendance line items
Costs to Consider Price
Tuition and Fees $18,318
Books and Supplies $2,081
On-Campus Room and Board $13,274
On-Campus Other Expenses $8,400
Total On-Campus Cost $47,007

Tip: focus on the rows that match your living plan—commuters can swap in off-campus estimates while residential students should budget for housing, meals, and incidental fees.

Students Receiving Aid

Pell Grant
53.5%
Federal Loan
78.8%

Use these bars to gauge how many classmates rely on need-based dollars—lower Pell or loan shares may signal a wealthier student body or generous institutional grants.

EDsmart Insight: About 53.5% of Methodist College students receive Pell Grants — well above the national average, highlighting ongoing affordability priorities.

Net Price by Family Income

Average annual net price after financial aid, based on family income. Your actual cost may vary depending on your specific financial situation.

$0 - $30,000
$39,315
Average annual cost for families earning $0-$30K
$110,001+
$47,007
Average annual cost for families earning $110K+

Understanding These Numbers: Net price varies significantly by income level. Net prices range from $39,315 to $47,007 depending on family income. Use Methodist College's net price calculator for a personalized estimate.

Typical total cost estimates (~4.7 years):
$0-$30K families
~$183,470
$110K+ families
~$219,366

ROI & Career Outcomes

Return on Investment
Not reported
Based on median earnings five years after graduation vs. total degree cost
  • Median Earnings (5 Years After Graduation) $73,512
  • 10-Year Median Earnings $71,324
  • Average Years to Graduate 4.7 years
  • Average Student Debt $30,250
  • Debt-to-Earnings ~41.1%
  • Repayment Rate (3yr) 60.8%
  • Employment Rate 94.5%

Graduate Earnings Distribution

Earnings range for Methodist College graduates about 10 years after enrollment (25th percentile, median, and 75th percentile). Different horizon than median earnings five years after graduation above.

Graduates earn a median of $73,512 five years after graduation — roughly 19% above the national median.
Payback Period
2.62 years
Total Degree Cost ÷ Annual Earnings

Methodist College vs. National Average

Comparison of key performance metrics showing how Methodist College's outcomes compare to the national average across earnings, graduation rates, retention, ROI, and employment. This contextualizes Methodist College's performance within the broader higher education landscape.

Acceptance & Selectivity

Getting In

Acceptance Rate
38.9%
Moderately Selective
National Average
69%
Average acceptance rate
  • SAT Evidence-Based Reading Not reported
  • SAT Math Not reported
  • SAT Writing Not reported
  • ACT Composite Not reported
  • SAT & ACTNot required
  • Undergraduate Enrollment 245
  • Full-Time Students 53.9%
  • Part-Time Students 46.1%
  • Retention Rate Not reported
  • Grad Rate (150% time) 55.3%
  • Grad Rate (8-year) 61.6%
  • Student-Faculty Ratio 5:1

How to Get Into Methodist College

1. Meet Academic Requirements: Methodist College requires strong academic performance. Aim for test scores within the reported ranges and maintain a competitive GPA. Most admitted students rank in the top 10% of their high school class.

2. Build a Strong Application: Beyond test scores, focus on crafting compelling essays, securing strong letters of recommendation, and highlighting extracurricular activities that demonstrate leadership and commitment.

3. Understand Selectivity: With an acceptance rate of 38.9%, Methodist College is moderately selective. Consider applying early decision if available, as early applicants often have higher acceptance rates.

4. Financial Planning: Review the net price calculator and financial aid options early. Many students receive significant aid, making the actual cost lower than the sticker price.

Tip: Contact the admissions office directly for the most current application requirements, deadlines, and any special programs (like early decision or early action) that might improve your chances.

EDsmart Insight: Methodist College accepts 38.9% of applicants, making it moderately selective. Focus on strong academics, meaningful extracurriculars, and compelling essays to stand out.

Academic Programs

Undergraduate Program Distribution

Breakdown of the most popular majors and fields of study among Methodist College undergraduates. Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing, Social Work, and Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, Gen draw the most students.

  • Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing 95.5%
  • Social Work 2.3%
  • Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, Gen 2.3%
  • Health and Medical Administrative Services 0.0%
  • Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services 0.0%
  • Public Health 0.0%

Highest Earning Programs

Median earnings five years after graduation for each program. These figures help illustrate ROI by field of study and degree level.

Undergraduate Programs (Bachelor's Degrees)

  • 1. Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing $73,700

Program Choice Matters: Your program and degree level choice significantly impact career earnings.

Online Degrees & Distance Learning

U.S. Department of Education data reports fully online programs for Methodist College. Below are the most popular options based on the number of recent graduates, followed by a quick look at the breadth of online offerings by degree level.
Source: U.S. Department of Education

Most Popular Online Degrees

  • Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants (Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma, 41 graduates)
  • Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (Master's Degree, 11 graduates)
  • Health and Medical Administrative Services (Bachelor's Degree, 7 graduates)
  • Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services (Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma, 3 graduates)
  • Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma, 3 graduates)

What This School Offers Online, at a Glance

U.S. Department of Education data flags the following online degree and certificate programs for this institution. Expand each credential level to view the complete list of available subjects.

Online Bachelor's Degrees (3 programs)▼
  • Health and Medical Administrative Services
  • Social Work
  • Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General
Online Master's Degrees (1 program)▼
  • Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing
Online Undergraduate Certificates & Diplomas (4 programs)▼
  • Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants
  • Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing
  • Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services
  • Gerontology

Student Demographics

Student Population

  • Total Undergraduate Enrollment 245
  • Full-Time Students 53.9%
  • Part-Time Students 46.1%
  • Male Students 9.8%
  • Female Students 90.2%
  • Caucasian 62.0%
  • Asian 2.5%
  • Hispanic 2.9%
  • Black 24.5%
  • Pell Grant Recipients 53.5%

Racial & Ethnic Diversity

Undergraduate student body composition by racial and ethnic background. This reflects Methodist College's commitment to diversity and inclusion in admissions.

Gender Distribution

Gender breakdown of Methodist College's undergraduate population. Women make up 90.2% of the student body, while men represent 9.8%.

Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity

Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity

Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at Methodist College, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.

EDsmart Insight: Women make up 90.2% of undergraduates. 53.5% of students receive Pell Grants, well above the national average, indicating strong support for low-income students.

Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity

Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity

Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at Methodist College, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.

Our Take

Methodist College offers a private university experience at a regional scale, combining smaller class sizes with 0.0% ROI. Ranked #623 overall, the institution balances personalized attention against higher costs than public alternatives.

The $41,238 annual net price is significantly higher than public universities, offset somewhat by $73,512 median earnings. With 55.3% graduating within 150% of normal time and 0.0% returning for sophomore year, outcomes reflect the personalized support typical of smaller private institutions.

Private University Value: Methodist College's Positioning

With a B+ grade and #623 ranking, Methodist College competes in the crowded regional private university market.

The Private University Premium: At $41,238 annually, Methodist College charges more than public alternatives but typically offers smaller classes, more personalized advising, and tighter-knit campus communities. The 0.0% retention rate suggests students value this environment.

Who Benefits Most: Students who thrive in smaller, more intimate academic settings. Those seeking specific programs or values-based education aligned with the institution's mission. Students who receive merit scholarships that bring costs below $28,867 achieve particularly strong value.

Cost-Benefit Reality: The 0.0% ROI and $73,512 median earnings don't always justify the premium over public universities. Students paying full price should compare whether the personalized experience warrants $31,238+ in additional annual costs over state flagships.

Competitive Standing: Methodist College ranks #623 of 1934 institutions, with 0 schools achieving higher ROI. For students offered substantial merit aid or seeking specific programs unavailable at public universities, the value proposition strengthens significantly.

Key Takeaways

  • 55.3% graduation rate sits 7.2 points below the national 62.5% benchmark.
  • Median earnings of $73,512 run about 19% higher than national outcomes five years after graduation.
  • Average net price of $41,238 is roughly $21,330 higher than the national median of $19,908.
  • 94.5% employment rate within three years is 26.3 points above the national 68.2%.
  • 5:1 student-faculty ratio keeps advising personal and discussion-sized.

Helpfulness for Students

Green Flags
  • 5:1 student-faculty ratio keeps mentorship close and courses discussion-sized.
  • 94.5% employment rate within three years sits 26.3 points above national outcomes.
  • Career coaching and alumni mentoring help learners convert classes into early job offers.
Red Flags
  • Average net price of $41,238 is about $21,330 higher than comparable schools, so scholarship planning is key.
  • 78.8% of students borrow federal loans, outpacing typical campuses and raising repayment stakes.
  • Compare aid offers from nearby public universities to weigh the premium for smaller classes.
EDsmart Expert Analysis

EDsmart rates Methodist College—a private nonprofit university in Peoria, IL—at B+ overall. It is currently ranked #623 overall Completion earns B, Support A-, Career Outcomes B+, and Affordability C.

Grades are assigned relative to EDsmart's national bachelor's cohort using standardized outcomes (2026 methodology); they reflect how a school compares to peers, not a fixed percentage of a raw point total.

Expect about 55.3% of students to graduate within 150% of normal time. Review the cost and aid tables for a full picture of value.

Why it matters: this snapshot shows how likely you are to stay on track academically and whether the outcomes justify the price tag. Letter grades summarize cohort-relative performance—not a single exam-style score.

EDsmart Financial Snapshot

Families pay about $41,238 on average after aid, compared with a published cost near $47,007.

Institutional and federal aid lower costs by roughly $5,769 per year.

Graduates leave with a median of $30,250 in federal loans, which lines up with national norms.

About 53.5% of students receive Pell Grants, giving a snapshot of the campus income mix.

Why it matters: lining up sticker price, aid, and typical debt helps you stress-test the budget before you commit.

EDsmart Career Snapshot

Five years after graduation, alumni earn roughly $73,512 at the median. This is roughly 19% above typical U.S. college outcomes.

Roughly 94.5% of graduates are employed three years out.

Use the ROI table above to estimate how long it may take to recoup your degree costs.

Why it matters: pairing median earnings with employment rates gives you a sense of payback time after graduation.

EDsmart Admissions Snapshot

38.9% of applicants receive offers, so preparation and fit matter.

The admissions team encourages students to highlight academic strengths through transcripts, essays, and recommendations.

Prospective students can apply early for priority review and lean on the Methodist College admissions site for deadlines, visit options, and counselor contacts.

Why it matters: knowing the admit rate and application expectations lets you map out testing, essays, and deadlines with less stress.

EDsmart Verdict
3.39 / 5
Value Rating - Based on affordability and career outcomes

Your Decision Toolkit

Run the Net Price Calculator
Get your personalized cost estimate
Compare with similar schools
See how Methodist College stacks up to alternatives
Check your major's earnings
See ROI for your specific field of study
Visit the campus
Schedule a campus tour or virtual visit
Visit Methodist College Website →

Cite this profile

Add your access date when you publish.

APA (7th): EDsmart. (2026). Methodist College: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings. https://www.edsmart.org/schools/methodist-college/

MLA (9th): “Methodist College: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings.” EDsmart, 2026, www.edsmart.org/schools/methodist-college/.

Chicago: EDsmart. “Methodist College: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings.” https://www.edsmart.org/schools/methodist-college/.

Similar Schools

Institutions with similar academic profiles, selectivity, and outcomes

Nearby Schools

Other campuses you might consider

Other Illinois campuses you might consider

Aurora University
Aurora, IL
B+ #626 of 1,934
Southern Illinois University Edwardsville
Edwardsville, IL
B+ #612 of 1,934
Southern Illinois University-Carbondale
Carbondale, IL
B+ #635 of 1,934
Monmouth College
Monmouth, IL
B+ #636 of 1,934

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Methodist College's acceptance rate?

Methodist College's acceptance rate is 38.9%, based on U.S. Department of Education admissions data.

How much does Methodist College cost?

At Methodist College, listed tuition and fees are $18,318 per year, and the average net price after aid is $41,238. Use the net price calculator on this page for a personalized estimate.

What is Methodist College's ranking?

Methodist College ranks #623 overall in EDsmart's 2026 college rankings with an overall grade of B+, based on completion, affordability, support, and career outcomes.

What is Methodist College's graduation rate?

At Methodist College, the graduation rate within 150% of normal time is 55.3% (two-year average; the rate used in EDsmart rankings), and the federal 8-year award rate is 61.6%.

What are Methodist College's job outcomes?

Graduates of Methodist College report median earnings of $73,512 five years after graduation, according to U.S. Department of Education outcome data. Outcomes vary by major.

What is Methodist College's student population?

Methodist College enrolls about 245 undergraduate students, per U.S. Department of Education enrollment data.

Contact Information

  • AccreditationHigher Learning Commission (NCACHE)
  • Endowment$2.7M
  • Transfer Enrollment Rate40.0%

Data Source & Methodology ▼