Monmouth University Logo

Monmouth University

West Long Branch, NJ | Private Nonprofit | University

Monmouth University has an acceptance rate of 89.0%, an average net price of $30,978, and an overall rank of #512 (Grade B+). About 72.2% of students graduate within 150% of normal time, and median earnings are $68,763 five years after graduation. Data from the U.S. Department of Education and EDsmart's 2026 rankings.

Monmouth University is a private nonprofit university in West Long Branch, NJ. Students most often pursue Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing and Computer and Information Sciences.

Day to day, students benefit from a 12:1 student-faculty ratio, and 79.9% first-year retention. Coaches and faculty advisors weave in frequent check-ins, helping students translate ambition into steady progress.

EDsmart calculates return on investment at 52.4%, roughly 2.5 points higher than typical outcomes. It's well-suited to students who appreciate an encouraging campus with room to explore.

B+
Ranking
#512 of 1,934
How We Rank Schools
At a Glance
Ranking
#512 of 1,934 (Top 26.5%)
Tuition
$48,299
Net Price
$30,978
4-Year Tuition
$193,196
Acceptance Rate
89.0%
Transfer Rate
22.6%
Student Population
3,684
Student-Faculty
12:1
Grad Rate (150% time)
72.2%
Grad Rate (8-year)
72.6%
Retention Rate
79.9%
4-Yr Earnings
$68,763
ROI
Not reported

Who is Monmouth University Best For?

A quick look at who tends to feel most at home here based on outcomes and campus context.

Students who thrive with close mentoring
Students seeking strong career outcomes
Students valuing supportive learning environments

EDsmart Scores Summary

Overall Ranking
#512 of 1,934
Top 26.5% of all institutions
EDsmart Score
73.6 / 100 (national index)
Curved score (top institution = 100.0)
Value Rating
3.68 / 5
Based on ROI and outcomes
Completion
A-
#367 of 1,934
Affordability
C
#1,638 of 1,934
Support
B+
#561 of 1,934
Career Outcomes
B+
#374 of 1,934

Monmouth University graduates 72.2% of students within 150% of normal time (the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings), with an 8-year award rate of 72.6% and keeps 79.9% of first-year students. Affordability earns a C compared with similar schools.

How we calculate this →

Cost & Financial Aid

Quick Answers

What does it cost?
Depends on income
$18,657-$40,191 annual net price based on family income.
What's the graduation rate?
Likely
72.2% graduate within 150% of normal time (the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings). The federal 8-year award rate is 72.6%. 63.7% complete in four years (IPEDS 100% time).
What are job outcomes?
Highly likely
95.2% of alumni are employed within three years of leaving. Median earnings five years after graduation are $68,763. Pay varies by major.
Get Your Personalized Cost Estimate

The costs shown are averages. Use Monmouth University's net price calculator to get an estimate based on your family's financial situation.

Calculate Your Net Price →

Total Degree Cost Summary

4-Year Total Cost (Pay with Cash)
$255,068
$63,767 Ă— 4 years
Average Total Cost (Pay with Financial Aid)
$131,171
$30,978 Ă— 4.2 years average
Time to Degree
Average: 4.2 years | 4-Year Rate: 63.7% | 6-Year Rate: 72.2% | 8-Year Rate: 72.6%
Most students finish in about four to five years. Four-year completion is 63.7% and six-year completion is 72.2%.

Annual Cost Comparison

Pay with Cash
$63,767
Total annual cost including tuition, books and living expenses; excluding any financial aid, grants or scholarships.
Pay with Financial Aid
$30,978
Average annual cost including tuition, books and living expenses after financial aid, grants or scholarships.

Est. annual aid gap: $32,789 Cash cost of attendance minus average net price after aid.

Cost of Undergraduate Attendance

Costs based on full-time, first-time degree- or certificate-seeking undergraduates.

View cost of attendance line items
Costs to Consider Price
Tuition and Fees $48,299
Books and Supplies $1,000
On-Campus Room and Board $18,336
On-Campus Other Expenses $4,878
Total On-Campus Cost $63,767

Tip: focus on the rows that match your living plan—commuters can swap in off-campus estimates while residential students should budget for housing, meals, and incidental fees.

Students Receiving Aid

Pell Grant
34.7%
Federal Loan
64.3%

Use these bars to gauge how many classmates rely on need-based dollars—lower Pell or loan shares may signal a wealthier student body or generous institutional grants.

EDsmart Insight: About 34.7% of Monmouth University students receive Pell Grants — slightly below the national average, highlighting ongoing affordability priorities.

Net Price by Family Income

Average annual net price after financial aid, based on family income. Your actual cost may vary depending on your specific financial situation.

$0 - $30,000
$18,657
Average annual cost for families earning $0-$30K
$30,001 - $48,000
$16,534
Average annual cost for families earning $30K-$48K
$48,001 - $75,000
$26,514
Average annual cost for families earning $48K-$75K
$75,001 - $110,000
$33,021
Average annual cost for families earning $75K-$110K
$110,001+
$40,191
Average annual cost for families earning $110K+

Understanding These Numbers: Net price varies significantly by income level. Net prices range from $18,657 to $40,191 depending on family income. Use Monmouth University's net price calculator for a personalized estimate.

Typical total cost estimates (~4.2 years):
$0-$30K families
~$79,000
$30K-$48K families
~$70,010
$48K-$75K families
~$112,269
$75K-$110K families
~$139,821
AFFORDABILITY ALERT

If your family earns $75K-$110K: Expect to pay around $33,021/year

If your family earns $110K+: Expect to pay around $40,191/year

See all income brackets →

ROI & Career Outcomes

Return on Investment
Not reported
Based on median earnings five years after graduation vs. total degree cost
  • Median Earnings (5 Years After Graduation) $68,763
  • 10-Year Median Earnings $72,737
  • Average Years to Graduate 4.2 years
  • Average Student Debt $25,500
  • Debt-to-Earnings ~37.1%
  • Repayment Rate (3yr) 72.3%
  • Employment Rate 95.2%

Graduate Earnings Distribution

Earnings range for Monmouth University graduates about 10 years after enrollment (25th percentile, median, and 75th percentile). Different horizon than median earnings five years after graduation above.

Graduates earn a median of $68,763 five years after graduation — roughly 12% above the national median.
Payback Period
1.91 years
Total Degree Cost Ă· Annual Earnings

Monmouth University vs. National Average

Comparison of key performance metrics showing how Monmouth University's outcomes compare to the national average across earnings, graduation rates, retention, ROI, and employment. This contextualizes Monmouth University's performance within the broader higher education landscape.

Acceptance & Selectivity

Getting In

Acceptance Rate
89.0%
Lightly Selective
National Average
69%
Average acceptance rate
  • SAT Evidence-Based Reading 580-660
  • SAT Math 560-650
  • SAT Writing Not reported
  • ACT Composite 24-29
  • SAT & ACT Required
  • Undergraduate Enrollment 3,684
  • Full-Time Students 97.5%
  • Part-Time Students 2.5%
  • Retention Rate 79.9%
  • Grad Rate (150% time) 72.2%
  • Grad Rate (8-year) 72.6%
  • Student-Faculty Ratio 12:1

How to Get Into Monmouth University

1. Meet Academic Requirements: Monmouth University requires strong academic performance. Aim for test scores within the reported ranges and maintain a competitive GPA. Most admitted students rank in the top 10% of their high school class.

2. Build a Strong Application: Beyond test scores, focus on crafting compelling essays, securing strong letters of recommendation, and highlighting extracurricular activities that demonstrate leadership and commitment.

3. Understand Selectivity: With an acceptance rate of 89.0%, Monmouth University is relatively open. Consider applying early decision if available, as early applicants often have higher acceptance rates.

4. Financial Planning: Review the net price calculator and financial aid options early. Many students receive significant aid, making the actual cost lower than the sticker price.

Tip: Contact the admissions office directly for the most current application requirements, deadlines, and any special programs (like early decision or early action) that might improve your chances.

EDsmart Insight: With a 89.0% acceptance rate, Monmouth University is more accessible than highly selective schools. Meeting the test score ranges and maintaining a solid GPA significantly improves admission chances. The middle 50% of admitted students score between 1140 and 1310 on the SAT.

Academic Programs

Undergraduate Program Distribution

Breakdown of the most popular majors and fields of study among Monmouth University undergraduates. Business Administration, Management and Operations, Communication and Media Studies, and Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, Gen draw the most students.

  • Business Administration, Management and Operations 26.9%
  • Communication and Media Studies 8.6%
  • Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, Gen 7.4%
  • Psychology, General 5.2%
  • Education, General 4.9%
  • Biology, General 4.9%
See more majors
  • English Language and Literature, General 4.1%
  • Criminal Justice and Corrections 3.7%

Highest Earning Programs

Median earnings five years after graduation for each program. These figures help illustrate ROI by field of study and degree level.

Undergraduate Programs (Bachelor's Degrees)

  • 1. Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing $88,812
  • 2. Computer and Information Sciences, General $88,775
  • 3. Business Administration, Management and Operations $81,305
Show additional high-earning majors
  • 4. Mathematics $73,949
  • 5. Biology, General $72,096
  • 6. Political Science and Government $68,531
  • 7. Chemistry $66,546
  • 8. Health and Medical Administrative Services $65,891
  • 9. Criminal Justice and Corrections $63,503
  • 10. Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General $61,672

Graduate Programs (Master's, Doctoral, Professional)

  • 1. Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing (Master's Degree) $131,719
  • 2. Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions (Master's Degree) $115,351
  • 3. Business Administration, Management and Operations (Master's Degree) $99,582
Show additional graduate majors
  • 4. Homeland Security (Master's Degree) $78,542
  • 5. Public Policy Analysis (Master's Degree) $76,453
  • 6. English Language and Literature, General (Master's Degree) $74,792
  • 7. Special Education and Teaching (Master's Degree) $69,183
  • 8. Education, General (Graduate/Professional Certificate) $68,949
  • 9. Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions (Master's Degree) $63,483
  • 10. Social Work (Master's Degree) $62,567

Program Choice Matters: Undergraduate: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing grads earn $88,812—44% more than Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General ($61,672). Graduate: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing programs lead with $131,719 median earnings. Your program and degree level choice significantly impact career earnings.

Online Degrees & Distance Learning

U.S. Department of Education data reports fully online programs for Monmouth University. Below are the most popular options based on the number of recent graduates, followed by a quick look at the breadth of online offerings by degree level.
Source: U.S. Department of Education

Most Popular Online Degrees

  • Business Administration, Management and Operations (Bachelor's Degree, 295 graduates)
  • Business Administration, Management and Operations (Master's Degree, 82 graduates)
  • Communication and Media Studies (Bachelor's Degree, 80 graduates)
  • Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General (Bachelor's Degree, 80 graduates)
  • Social Work (Master's Degree, 67 graduates)

What This School Offers Online, at a Glance

U.S. Department of Education data flags the following online degree and certificate programs for this institution. Expand each credential level to view the complete list of available subjects.

Online Bachelor's Degrees (30 programs)â–Ľ
  • Business Administration, Management and Operations
  • Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General
  • Communication and Media Studies
  • Education, General
  • Psychology, General
  • English Language and Literature, General
  • Criminal Justice and Corrections
  • Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness
  • Social Work
  • Biology, General
  • Computer and Information Sciences, General
  • Political Science and Government
  • Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing
  • Homeland Security
  • History
  • Music
  • Ecology, Evolution, Systematics, and Population Biology
  • Design and Applied Arts
  • Mathematics
  • Anthropology
  • Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods
  • Chemistry
  • Computer Engineering
  • Sociology
  • Fine and Studio Arts
  • Special Education and Teaching
  • Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions
  • Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
  • History and Political Science
  • Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other
Online Master's Degrees (20 programs)â–Ľ
  • Business Administration, Management and Operations
  • Social Work
  • Education, General
  • Communication Disorders Sciences and Services
  • Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing
  • Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions
  • Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions
  • Criminal Justice and Corrections
  • Student Counseling and Personnel Services
  • Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication
  • Anthropology
  • Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies
  • Computer and Information Sciences, General
  • History
  • English Language and Literature, General
  • Computer Engineering
  • Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas
  • Data Science
  • Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management
  • Radio, Television, and Digital Communication
Online Graduate/Professional Certificates (11 programs)â–Ľ
  • Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing
  • Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication
  • Archeology
  • Student Counseling and Personnel Services
  • Geography and Cartography
  • Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies
  • Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions
  • Accounting and Related Services
  • Social Work
  • Health Professions Education, Ethics, and Humanities
  • Criminal Justice and Corrections
Online Undergraduate Certificates & Diplomas (4 programs)â–Ľ
  • Computer and Information Sciences, General
  • Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
  • Gerontology
  • Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies
Online First Professional Degrees (2 programs)â–Ľ
  • Educational Administration and Supervision
  • Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions

Student Demographics

Student Population

  • Total Undergraduate Enrollment 3,684
  • Full-Time Students 97.5%
  • Part-Time Students 2.5%
  • Male Students 36.7%
  • Female Students 63.3%
  • Caucasian 67.5%
  • Asian 2.2%
  • Hispanic 18.1%
  • Black 5.4%
  • Pell Grant Recipients 34.7%

Racial & Ethnic Diversity

Undergraduate student body composition by racial and ethnic background. This reflects Monmouth University's commitment to diversity and inclusion in admissions.

Gender Distribution

Gender breakdown of Monmouth University's undergraduate population. The university maintains a roughly balanced gender distribution across its student body.

Graduation Rate Equity Analysis

How well does Monmouth University support students from different economic backgrounds?

Pell Grant Recipients
69.1%
6-year graduation rate
Non-Pell Students
74.9%
6-year graduation rate
Equity Gap
5.8 pts
good equity

What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at a similar rate as higher-income students, indicating adequate institutional support for all economic backgrounds.

Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity

Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity

Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at Monmouth University, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.

EDsmart Insight: Women make up 63.3% of undergraduates.

Graduation Rate Equity Analysis

How well does Monmouth University support students from different economic backgrounds?

Pell Grant Recipients
69.1%
6-year graduation rate
Non-Pell Students
74.9%
6-year graduation rate
Equity Gap
5.8 pts
good equity

What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at a similar rate as higher-income students, indicating adequate institutional support for all economic backgrounds.

Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity

Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity

Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at Monmouth University, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.

Our Take

Monmouth University offers a private university experience at a regional scale, combining smaller class sizes with 0.0% ROI. Ranked #512 overall, the institution balances personalized attention against higher costs than public alternatives.

The $30,978 annual net price is significantly higher than public universities, offset somewhat by $68,763 median earnings. With 72.2% graduating within 150% of normal time and 79.9% returning for sophomore year, outcomes reflect the personalized support typical of smaller private institutions.

Private University Value: Monmouth University's Positioning

With a B+ grade and #512 ranking, Monmouth University competes in the crowded regional private university market.

The Private University Premium: At $30,978 annually, Monmouth University charges more than public alternatives but typically offers smaller classes, more personalized advising, and tighter-knit campus communities. The 79.9% retention rate suggests students value this environment.

Who Benefits Most: Students who thrive in smaller, more intimate academic settings. Those seeking specific programs or values-based education aligned with the institution's mission. Students who receive merit scholarships that bring costs below $21,685 achieve particularly strong value.

Cost-Benefit Reality: The 0.0% ROI and $68,763 median earnings don't always justify the premium over public universities. Students paying full price should compare whether the personalized experience warrants $20,978+ in additional annual costs over state flagships.

Competitive Standing: Monmouth University ranks #512 of 1934 institutions, with 0 schools achieving higher ROI. For students offered substantial merit aid or seeking specific programs unavailable at public universities, the value proposition strengthens significantly.

Key Takeaways

  • 72.2% graduation rate sits 9.7 points above the national 62.5% benchmark.
  • 79.9% first-year retention is 3.1 points above the national norm of 76.8%.
  • Median earnings of $68,763 run about 12% higher than national outcomes five years after graduation.
  • Average net price of $30,978 is roughly $11,070 higher than the national median of $19,908.
  • 95.2% employment rate within three years is 27.0 points above the national 68.2%.

Helpfulness for Students

Green Flags
  • 12:1 student-faculty ratio keeps mentorship close and courses discussion-sized.
  • 79.9% first-year retention shows students stay engaged after the first year.
  • 95.2% employment rate within three years sits 27.0 points above national outcomes.
Red Flags
  • Average net price of $30,978 is about $11,070 higher than comparable schools, so scholarship planning is key.
  • Pell participation at 34.7% trails the national share by 4.0 points, so equity work remains important.
  • 64.3% of students borrow federal loans, outpacing typical campuses and raising repayment stakes.
EDsmart Expert Analysis

Monmouth University, a private nonprofit university in West Long Branch, NJ, secures a B+ grade in our latest review. It stands at #512 among 1934 schools Grades by category break down as Completion A-, Support B+, Career Outcomes B+, and Affordability C.

Grades are assigned relative to EDsmart's national bachelor's cohort using standardized outcomes (2026 methodology); they reflect how a school compares to peers, not a fixed percentage of a raw point total.

About 79.9% of first-year students return; 72.2% graduate within 150% of normal time, with an 8-year award rate of 72.6%. Review the cost and aid tables for a full picture of value.

Why it matters: this snapshot shows how likely you are to stay on track academically and whether the outcomes justify the price tag. Letter grades summarize cohort-relative performance—not a single exam-style score.

EDsmart Financial Snapshot

Families pay about $30,978 on average after aid, compared with a published cost near $63,767.

Institutional and federal aid lower costs by roughly $32,789 per year.

Graduates leave with a median of $25,500 in federal loans, which lines up with national norms.

About 34.7% of students receive Pell Grants, giving a snapshot of the campus income mix.

Why it matters: lining up sticker price, aid, and typical debt helps you stress-test the budget before you commit.

EDsmart Career Snapshot

Graduates report median earnings of about $68,763 five years after graduation. Compared with the national median, that's 12% higher.

The three-year employment rate is close to 95.2%.

Use the ROI table above to estimate how long it may take to recoup your degree costs.

Why it matters: pairing median earnings with employment rates gives you a sense of payback time after graduation.

EDsmart Admissions Snapshot

89.0% of applicants receive offers, so preparation and fit matter.

The admissions team encourages students to highlight academic strengths through transcripts, essays, and recommendations.

Prospective students can apply early for priority review and lean on the Monmouth University admissions site for deadlines, visit options, and counselor contacts.

Why it matters: knowing the admit rate and application expectations lets you map out testing, essays, and deadlines with less stress.

EDsmart Verdict
3.68 / 5
Value Rating - Based on affordability and career outcomes

Your Decision Toolkit

Run the Net Price Calculator
Get your personalized cost estimate
Compare with similar schools
See how Monmouth University stacks up to alternatives
Check your major's earnings
See ROI for your specific field of study
Visit the campus
Schedule a campus tour or virtual visit
Visit Monmouth University Website →

Cite this profile

Add your access date when you publish.

APA (7th): EDsmart. (2026). Monmouth University: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings. https://www.edsmart.org/schools/monmouth-university/

MLA (9th): “Monmouth University: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings.” EDsmart, 2026, www.edsmart.org/schools/monmouth-university/.

Chicago: EDsmart. “Monmouth University: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings.” https://www.edsmart.org/schools/monmouth-university/.

Similar Schools

Institutions with similar academic profiles, selectivity, and outcomes

Nearby Schools

Other campuses you might consider

Other New Jersey campuses you might consider

Beth Medrash of Asbury Park
Lakewood, NJ
B+ #498 of 1,934
Rowan University
Glassboro, NJ
B+ #528 of 1,934
Fairleigh Dickinson University-Florham Campus
Madison, NJ
B+ #537 of 1,934
Saint Elizabeth University
Morristown, NJ
B+ #575 of 1,934

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Monmouth University's acceptance rate?

Monmouth University's acceptance rate is 89.0%, based on U.S. Department of Education admissions data.

How much does Monmouth University cost?

At Monmouth University, listed tuition and fees are $48,299 per year, and the average net price after aid is $30,978. Use the net price calculator on this page for a personalized estimate.

What is Monmouth University's ranking?

Monmouth University ranks #512 overall in EDsmart's 2026 college rankings with an overall grade of B+, based on completion, affordability, support, and career outcomes.

What is Monmouth University's graduation rate?

At Monmouth University, the graduation rate within 150% of normal time is 72.2% (the rate used in EDsmart rankings), the federal 8-year award rate is 72.6%, and first-year retention is 79.9%.

What are Monmouth University's job outcomes?

Graduates of Monmouth University report median earnings of $68,763 five years after graduation, according to U.S. Department of Education outcome data. Outcomes vary by major.

What is Monmouth University's student population?

Monmouth University enrolls about 3,684 undergraduate students, per U.S. Department of Education enrollment data.

Contact Information

  • AccreditationMiddle States Commission on Higher Education (MSACHE)
  • Endowment$153.2M
  • Transfer Enrollment Rate22.6%

Data Source & Methodology â–Ľ