Moravian University Logo

Moravian University

Bethlehem, PA | Private Nonprofit | University

Moravian University has an acceptance rate of 54.2%, an average net price of $35,264, and an overall rank of #556 (Grade B+). About 74.2% of students graduate within 150% of normal time, and median earnings are $68,965 five years after graduation. Data from the U.S. Department of Education and EDsmart's 2026 rankings.

Moravian University is a private nonprofit university in Bethlehem, PA. Students most often pursue Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing and Business Administration, Management and Operations.

Academically, students benefit from a 10:1 student-faculty ratio, and 79.2% first-year retention. Peer cohorts and advising networks provide scaffolding that keeps newcomers anchored during demanding semesters.

EDsmart calculates return on investment at 47.8%, roughly 2.1 points below typical outcomes. It's a compelling fit for students who appreciate an encouraging campus with room to explore and students looking for meaningful faculty access.

B+
Ranking
#556 of 1,934
How We Rank Schools Small campus feel
At a Glance
Ranking
#556 of 1,934 (Top 28.7%)
Tuition
$55,560
Net Price
$35,264
4-Year Tuition
$222,240
Acceptance Rate
54.2%
Transfer Rate
17.6%
Student Population
1,949
Student-Faculty
10:1
Grad Rate (150% time)
74.2%
Grad Rate (8-year)
70.2%
Retention Rate
79.2%
4-Yr Earnings
$68,965
ROI
Not reported

Who is Moravian University Best For?

A quick look at who tends to feel most at home here based on outcomes and campus context.

Students who thrive with close mentoring
First-gen or Pell-eligible support
Learners who value a tight-knit campus
Students seeking strong career outcomes
Students valuing supportive learning environments

EDsmart Scores Summary

Overall Ranking
#556 of 1,934
Top 28.7% of all institutions
EDsmart Score
71.3 / 100 (national index)
Curved score (top institution = 100.0)
Value Rating
3.57 / 5
Based on ROI and outcomes
Completion
A-
#356 of 1,934
Affordability
C
#1,733 of 1,934
Support
B+
#389 of 1,934
Career Outcomes
B+
#362 of 1,934

Moravian University graduates 74.2% of students within 150% of normal time (the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings), with an 8-year award rate of 70.2% and keeps 79.2% of first-year students. Affordability earns a C compared with similar schools.

How we calculate this →

Cost & Financial Aid

Quick Answers

What does it cost?
Depends on income
$29,364-$39,734 annual net price based on family income.
What's the graduation rate?
Likely
74.2% graduate within 150% of normal time (the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings). The federal 8-year award rate is 70.2%. 71.0% complete in four years (IPEDS 100% time).
What are job outcomes?
Highly likely
95.3% of alumni are employed within three years of leaving. Median earnings five years after graduation are $68,965. Pay varies by major.
Get Your Personalized Cost Estimate

The costs shown are averages. Use Moravian University's net price calculator to get an estimate based on your family's financial situation.

Calculate Your Net Price →

Total Degree Cost Summary

4-Year Total Cost (Pay with Cash)
$288,980
$72,245 Ă— 4 years
Average Total Cost (Pay with Financial Aid)
$144,172
$35,264 Ă— 4.1 years average
Time to Degree
Average: 4.1 years | 4-Year Rate: 71.0% | 6-Year Rate: 74.2% | 8-Year Rate: 70.2%
Most students finish in about four to five years. Four-year completion is 71.0% and six-year completion is 74.2%.

Annual Cost Comparison

Pay with Cash
$72,245
Total annual cost including tuition, books and living expenses; excluding any financial aid, grants or scholarships.
Pay with Financial Aid
$35,264
Average annual cost including tuition, books and living expenses after financial aid, grants or scholarships.

Est. annual aid gap: $36,981 Cash cost of attendance minus average net price after aid.

Cost of Undergraduate Attendance

Costs based on full-time, first-time degree- or certificate-seeking undergraduates.

View cost of attendance line items
Costs to Consider Price
Tuition and Fees $55,560
Books and Supplies $1,200
On-Campus Room and Board $16,286
On-Campus Other Expenses $5,492
Total On-Campus Cost $72,245

Tip: focus on the rows that match your living plan—commuters can swap in off-campus estimates while residential students should budget for housing, meals, and incidental fees.

Students Receiving Aid

Pell Grant
36.3%
Federal Loan
74.9%

Use these bars to gauge how many classmates rely on need-based dollars—lower Pell or loan shares may signal a wealthier student body or generous institutional grants.

EDsmart Insight: About 36.3% of Moravian University students receive Pell Grants — in line with the national average, highlighting ongoing affordability priorities.

Net Price by Family Income

Average annual net price after financial aid, based on family income. Your actual cost may vary depending on your specific financial situation.

$0 - $30,000
$29,364
Average annual cost for families earning $0-$30K
$30,001 - $48,000
$31,333
Average annual cost for families earning $30K-$48K
$48,001 - $75,000
$30,162
Average annual cost for families earning $48K-$75K
$75,001 - $110,000
$36,878
Average annual cost for families earning $75K-$110K
$110,001+
$39,734
Average annual cost for families earning $110K+

Understanding These Numbers: Net price varies significantly by income level. Net prices range from $29,364 to $39,734 depending on family income. Use Moravian University's net price calculator for a personalized estimate.

Typical total cost estimates (~4.1 years):
$0-$30K families
~$120,051
$30K-$48K families
~$128,101
$48K-$75K families
~$123,313
$75K-$110K families
~$150,771
AFFORDABILITY ALERT

If your family earns $75K-$110K: Expect to pay around $36,878/year

If your family earns $110K+: Expect to pay around $39,734/year

See all income brackets →

ROI & Career Outcomes

Return on Investment
Not reported
Based on median earnings five years after graduation vs. total degree cost
  • Median Earnings (5 Years After Graduation) $68,965
  • 10-Year Median Earnings $66,967
  • Average Years to Graduate 4.1 years
  • Average Student Debt $26,715
  • Debt-to-Earnings ~38.7%
  • Repayment Rate (3yr) 77.4%
  • Employment Rate 95.3%

Graduate Earnings Distribution

Earnings range for Moravian University graduates about 10 years after enrollment (25th percentile, median, and 75th percentile). Different horizon than median earnings five years after graduation above.

Graduates earn a median of $68,965 five years after graduation — roughly 12% above the national median.
Payback Period
2.09 years
Total Degree Cost Ă· Annual Earnings

Moravian University vs. National Average

Comparison of key performance metrics showing how Moravian University's outcomes compare to the national average across earnings, graduation rates, retention, ROI, and employment. This contextualizes Moravian University's performance within the broader higher education landscape.

Acceptance & Selectivity

Getting In

Acceptance Rate
54.2%
Less Selective
National Average
69%
Average acceptance rate
  • SAT Evidence-Based Reading 540-655
  • SAT Math 530-630
  • SAT Writing Not reported
  • ACT Composite 24-29
  • SAT & ACT Required
  • Undergraduate Enrollment 1,949
  • Full-Time Students 95.2%
  • Part-Time Students 4.8%
  • Retention Rate 79.2%
  • Grad Rate (150% time) 74.2%
  • Grad Rate (8-year) 70.2%
  • Student-Faculty Ratio 10:1

How to Get Into Moravian University

1. Meet Academic Requirements: Moravian University requires strong academic performance. Aim for test scores within the reported ranges and maintain a competitive GPA. Most admitted students rank in the top 10% of their high school class.

2. Build a Strong Application: Beyond test scores, focus on crafting compelling essays, securing strong letters of recommendation, and highlighting extracurricular activities that demonstrate leadership and commitment.

3. Understand Selectivity: With an acceptance rate of 54.2%, Moravian University is relatively open. Consider applying early decision if available, as early applicants often have higher acceptance rates.

4. Financial Planning: Review the net price calculator and financial aid options early. Many students receive significant aid, making the actual cost lower than the sticker price.

Tip: Contact the admissions office directly for the most current application requirements, deadlines, and any special programs (like early decision or early action) that might improve your chances.

EDsmart Insight: With a 54.2% acceptance rate, Moravian University is more accessible than highly selective schools. Meeting the test score ranges and maintaining a solid GPA significantly improves admission chances. The middle 50% of admitted students score between 1070 and 1285 on the SAT.

Academic Programs

Undergraduate Program Distribution

Breakdown of the most popular majors and fields of study among Moravian University undergraduates. Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing, Business Administration, Management and Operations, and Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, Gen draw the most students.

  • Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing 22.6%
  • Business Administration, Management and Operations 11.3%
  • Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, Gen 8.4%
  • Psychology, General 7.8%
  • Sociology 5.0%
  • Economics 4.4%
See more majors
  • Accounting and Related Services 4.2%
  • Biology, General 3.8%

Highest Earning Programs

Median earnings five years after graduation for each program. These figures help illustrate ROI by field of study and degree level.

Undergraduate Programs (Bachelor's Degrees)

  • 1. Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing $88,645
  • 2. Business Administration, Management and Operations $67,745
  • 3. Biology, General $60,149
Show additional high-earning majors
  • 4. Economics $53,999
  • 5. Psychology, General $53,108
  • 6. Computer Science $52,133
  • 7. Accounting and Related Services $51,980
  • 8. Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas $46,600
  • 9. Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other $37,824
  • 10. Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General $35,991

Graduate Programs (Master's, Doctoral, Professional)

  • 1. Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing (Master's Degree) $118,958
  • 2. Business Administration, Management and Operations (Master's Degree) $64,701
  • 3. Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions (Master's Degree) $45,439

Program Choice Matters: Undergraduate: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing grads earn $88,645—146% more than Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General ($35,991). Graduate: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing programs lead with $118,958 median earnings. Your program and degree level choice significantly impact career earnings.

Online Degrees & Distance Learning

U.S. Department of Education data reports fully online programs for Moravian University. Below are the most popular options based on the number of recent graduates, followed by a quick look at the breadth of online offerings by degree level.
Source: U.S. Department of Education

Most Popular Online Degrees

  • Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (Bachelor's Degree, 117 graduates)
  • Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General (Bachelor's Degree, 47 graduates)
  • Psychology, General (Bachelor's Degree, 44 graduates)
  • Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (Master's Degree, 34 graduates)
  • Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions (Master's Degree, 32 graduates)

What This School Offers Online, at a Glance

U.S. Department of Education data flags the following online degree and certificate programs for this institution. Expand each credential level to view the complete list of available subjects.

Online Bachelor's Degrees (35 programs)â–Ľ
  • Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing
  • Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General
  • Psychology, General
  • English Language and Literature, General
  • Biology, General
  • Accounting and Related Services
  • Sociology
  • Economics
  • Music
  • Computer Science
  • Political Science and Government
  • Fine and Studio Arts
  • Special Education and Teaching
  • History
  • Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other
  • Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology
  • Mathematics
  • Public Health
  • Natural Resources Conservation and Research
  • Physics
  • Chemistry
  • Neurobiology and Neurosciences
  • Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
  • Philosophy
  • Communication and Media Studies
  • Germanic Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
  • Area Studies
  • Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language
  • Religion/Religious Studies
  • Marketing
  • International Business
  • Finance and Financial Management Services
  • Data Science
  • Biological and Physical Sciences
  • Clinical, Counseling and Applied Psychology
Online Master's Degrees (13 programs)â–Ľ
  • Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing
  • Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions
  • Communication Disorders Sciences and Services
  • Curriculum and Instruction
  • Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions
  • Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions
  • Health Professions Education, Ethics, and Humanities
  • Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft
  • Theological and Ministerial Studies
  • Pastoral Counseling and Specialized Ministries
  • Student Counseling and Personnel Services
  • Social Work
  • Education, General
Online Doctoral Degrees (1 program)â–Ľ
  • Educational Administration and Supervision
Online Graduate/Professional Certificates (8 programs)â–Ľ
  • Theology and Religious Vocations, Other
  • Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing
  • Health Professions Education, Ethics, and Humanities
  • Finance and Financial Management Services
  • Accounting and Related Services
  • Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
  • Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
  • Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services
Online Undergraduate Certificates & Diplomas (2 programs)â–Ľ
  • Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
  • Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
Online First Professional Degrees (2 programs)â–Ľ
  • Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions
  • Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions

Student Demographics

Student Population

  • Total Undergraduate Enrollment 1,949
  • Full-Time Students 95.2%
  • Part-Time Students 4.8%
  • Male Students 38.8%
  • Female Students 61.2%
  • Caucasian 65.2%
  • Asian 2.6%
  • Hispanic 17.5%
  • Black 6.2%
  • Pell Grant Recipients 36.3%

Racial & Ethnic Diversity

Undergraduate student body composition by racial and ethnic background. This reflects Moravian University's commitment to diversity and inclusion in admissions.

Gender Distribution

Gender breakdown of Moravian University's undergraduate population. The university maintains a roughly balanced gender distribution across its student body.

Graduation Rate Equity Analysis

How well does Moravian University support students from different economic backgrounds?

Pell Grant Recipients
70.5%
6-year graduation rate
Non-Pell Students
74.5%
6-year graduation rate
Equity Gap
4.0 pts
excellent equity

What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at nearly the same rate as higher-income students, indicating strong institutional support for all economic backgrounds.

Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity

Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity

Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at Moravian University, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.

EDsmart Insight: Women make up 61.2% of undergraduates.

Graduation Rate Equity Analysis

How well does Moravian University support students from different economic backgrounds?

Pell Grant Recipients
70.5%
6-year graduation rate
Non-Pell Students
74.5%
6-year graduation rate
Equity Gap
4.0 pts
excellent equity

What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at nearly the same rate as higher-income students, indicating strong institutional support for all economic backgrounds.

Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity

Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity

Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at Moravian University, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.

Our Take

Moravian University offers a private university experience at a regional scale, combining smaller class sizes with 0.0% ROI. Ranked #556 overall, the institution balances personalized attention against higher costs than public alternatives.

The $35,264 annual net price is significantly higher than public universities, offset somewhat by $68,965 median earnings. With 74.2% graduating within 150% of normal time and 79.2% returning for sophomore year, outcomes reflect the personalized support typical of smaller private institutions.

Private University Value: Moravian University's Positioning

With a B+ grade and #556 ranking, Moravian University competes in the crowded regional private university market.

The Private University Premium: At $35,264 annually, Moravian University charges more than public alternatives but typically offers smaller classes, more personalized advising, and tighter-knit campus communities. The 79.2% retention rate suggests students value this environment.

Who Benefits Most: Students who thrive in smaller, more intimate academic settings. Those seeking specific programs or values-based education aligned with the institution's mission. Students who receive merit scholarships that bring costs below $24,685 achieve particularly strong value.

Cost-Benefit Reality: The 0.0% ROI and $68,965 median earnings don't always justify the premium over public universities. Students paying full price should compare whether the personalized experience warrants $25,264+ in additional annual costs over state flagships.

Competitive Standing: Moravian University ranks #556 of 1934 institutions, with 0 schools achieving higher ROI. For students offered substantial merit aid or seeking specific programs unavailable at public universities, the value proposition strengthens significantly.

Key Takeaways

  • 74.2% graduation rate sits 11.7 points above the national 62.5% benchmark.
  • 79.2% first-year retention is 2.4 points above the national norm of 76.8%.
  • Median earnings of $68,965 run about 12% higher than national outcomes five years after graduation.
  • Average net price of $35,264 is roughly $15,356 higher than the national median of $19,908.
  • 95.3% employment rate within three years is 27.1 points above the national 68.2%.

Helpfulness for Students

Green Flags
  • 10:1 student-faculty ratio keeps mentorship close and courses discussion-sized.
  • 79.2% first-year retention shows students stay engaged after the first year.
  • 95.3% employment rate within three years sits 27.1 points above national outcomes.
Red Flags
  • Average net price of $35,264 is about $15,356 higher than comparable schools, so scholarship planning is key.
  • Pell participation at 36.3% trails the national share by 2.3 points, so equity work remains important.
  • 74.9% of students borrow federal loans, outpacing typical campuses and raising repayment stakes.
EDsmart Expert Analysis

Moravian University is a private nonprofit university based in Bethlehem, PA and earns a B+ overall grade. It stands at #556 among 1934 schools Grades by category break down as Completion A-, Support B+, Career Outcomes B+, and Affordability C.

Grades are assigned relative to EDsmart's national bachelor's cohort using standardized outcomes (2026 methodology); they reflect how a school compares to peers, not a fixed percentage of a raw point total.

Student momentum is strong: 79.2% retention, 74.2% graduation within 150% of normal time, and 70.2% earning an award within eight years. Review the cost and aid tables for a full picture of value.

Why it matters: this snapshot shows how likely you are to stay on track academically and whether the outcomes justify the price tag. Letter grades summarize cohort-relative performance—not a single exam-style score.

EDsmart Financial Snapshot

Families pay about $35,264 on average after aid, compared with a published cost near $72,245.

Institutional and federal aid lower costs by roughly $36,981 per year.

Graduates leave with a median of $26,715 in federal loans, which lines up with national norms.

About 36.3% of students receive Pell Grants, giving a snapshot of the campus income mix.

Why it matters: lining up sticker price, aid, and typical debt helps you stress-test the budget before you commit.

EDsmart Career Snapshot

Graduates report median earnings of about $68,965 five years after graduation. Compared with the national median, that's 12% higher.

Roughly 95.3% of graduates are employed three years out.

Use the ROI table above to estimate how long it may take to recoup your degree costs.

Why it matters: pairing median earnings with employment rates gives you a sense of payback time after graduation.

EDsmart Admissions Snapshot

54.2% of applicants receive offers, so preparation and fit matter.

The admissions team encourages students to highlight academic strengths through transcripts, essays, and recommendations.

Prospective students can apply early for priority review and lean on the Moravian University admissions site for deadlines, visit options, and counselor contacts.

Why it matters: knowing the admit rate and application expectations lets you map out testing, essays, and deadlines with less stress.

EDsmart Verdict
3.57 / 5
Value Rating - Based on affordability and career outcomes

Your Decision Toolkit

Run the Net Price Calculator
Get your personalized cost estimate
Compare with similar schools
See how Moravian University stacks up to alternatives
Check your major's earnings
See ROI for your specific field of study
Visit the campus
Schedule a campus tour or virtual visit
Visit Moravian University Website →

Cite this profile

Add your access date when you publish.

APA (7th): EDsmart. (2026). Moravian University: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings. https://www.edsmart.org/schools/moravian-university/

MLA (9th): “Moravian University: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings.” EDsmart, 2026, www.edsmart.org/schools/moravian-university/.

Chicago: EDsmart. “Moravian University: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings.” https://www.edsmart.org/schools/moravian-university/.

Similar Schools

Institutions with similar academic profiles, selectivity, and outcomes

Nearby Schools

Other campuses you might consider

Other Pennsylvania campuses you might consider

Saint Francis University
Loretto, PA
B+ #561 of 1,934
Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Erie-Behrend College
Erie, PA
B+ #566 of 1,934
La Salle University
Philadelphia, PA
B+ #545 of 1,934
Saint Joseph's University - Lancaster
Lancaster, PA
B+ #540 of 1,934

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Moravian University's acceptance rate?

Moravian University's acceptance rate is 54.2%, based on U.S. Department of Education admissions data.

How much does Moravian University cost?

At Moravian University, listed tuition and fees are $55,560 per year, and the average net price after aid is $35,264. Use the net price calculator on this page for a personalized estimate.

What is Moravian University's ranking?

Moravian University ranks #556 overall in EDsmart's 2026 college rankings with an overall grade of B+, based on completion, affordability, support, and career outcomes.

What is Moravian University's graduation rate?

At Moravian University, the graduation rate within 150% of normal time is 74.2% (the rate used in EDsmart rankings), the federal 8-year award rate is 70.2%, and first-year retention is 79.2%.

What are Moravian University's job outcomes?

Graduates of Moravian University report median earnings of $68,965 five years after graduation, according to U.S. Department of Education outcome data. Outcomes vary by major.

What is Moravian University's student population?

Moravian University enrolls about 1,949 undergraduate students, per U.S. Department of Education enrollment data.

Contact Information

  • AccreditationMiddle States Commission on Higher Education (MSACHE)
  • Endowment$138.4M
  • Transfer Enrollment Rate17.6%

Data Source & Methodology â–Ľ