North Park University Logo

North Park University

Chicago, IL | Private Nonprofit | University

North Park University has an acceptance rate of 68.5%, annual tuition of $36,710, average net price of $16,948, and a national rank of #904 (Grade B), with a 57.7% graduation rate within 150% of normal time, about 1,818 undergraduates, and median earnings of $65,399 four years after graduation. Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard and EDsmart's 2026 rankings.

North Park University is a private nonprofit university in Chicago, IL. Students most often pursue Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing and Business Administration, Management and Operations.

Inside the classroom, students benefit from a 12:1 student-faculty ratio, and 61.7% first-year retention. Faculty pair challenging syllabi with intentional mentoring so learners keep momentum even as expectations rise.

EDsmart calculates return on investment at 86.3%, roughly 36.4 points higher than typical outcomes. Expect the strongest outcomes for students who appreciate an encouraging campus with room to explore.

B
Ranking
#904 of 1,947
How We Rank Schools Small campus feel
At a Glance
Ranking
#904 of 1,947 (Top 46.4%)
Tuition
$36,710
Net Price
$16,948
4-Year Tuition
$146,840
Acceptance Rate
68.5%
Transfer Rate
0.0%
Student Population
1,818
Student-Faculty
12:1
Grad Rate (150% time)
57.7%
Grad Rate (8-year)
63.4%
Retention Rate
61.7%
4-Yr Earnings
$65,399
ROI
86.3%

Who is North Park University Best For?

A quick look at who tends to feel most at home here based on outcomes and campus context.

Students who thrive with close mentoring
First-gen or Pell-eligible support
Learners who value a tight-knit campus
Students seeking strong career outcomes
Students valuing supportive learning environments

EDsmart Scores Summary

Overall Ranking
#904 of 1,947
Top 46.4% of all institutions
EDsmart Score
53.6 / 100 (national index)
Curved score (top institution = 100.0)
Value Rating
2.68 / 5
Based on ROI and outcomes
Completion
B-
#1,225 of 1,947
Affordability
B+
#551 of 1,947
Support
B-
#1,397 of 1,947
Career Outcomes
B
#590 of 1,947

North Park University graduates 57.7% of students within 150% of normal time (the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings), with an 8-year award rate of 63.4% and keeps 61.7% of first-year students. Affordability earns a B+ compared with similar schools.

How we calculate this →

Cost & Financial Aid

Quick Answers

What does it cost?
Depends on income
$14,845-$22,964 annual net price based on family income.
What's the graduation rate?
Likely
57.7% graduate within 150% of normal time (the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings). The College Scorecard 8-year award rate is 63.4%. 44.2% complete in four years (IPEDS 100% time).
What are job outcomes?
Highly likely
86.8% of alumni are employed within three years of leaving. Median earnings four years after graduation are $65,399. Pay varies by major.
Get Your Personalized Cost Estimate

The costs shown are averages. Use North Park University's net price calculator to get an estimate based on your family's financial situation.

Calculate Your Net Price →

Total Degree Cost Summary

4-Year Total Cost (Pay with Cash)
$176,688
$44,172 × 4 years
Average Total Cost (Pay with Financial Aid)
$75,743
$16,948 × 4.5 years average
Time to Degree
Average: 4.5 years | 4-Year Rate: 44.2% | 6-Year Rate: 57.7% | 8-Year Rate: 63.4%
Most students finish in about four to five years. Four-year completion is 44.2% and six-year completion is 57.7%.

Annual Cost Comparison

Pay with Cash
$44,172
Total annual cost including tuition, books and living expenses; excluding any financial aid, grants or scholarships.
Pay with Financial Aid
$16,948
Average annual cost including tuition, books and living expenses after financial aid, grants or scholarships.

Cost of Undergraduate Attendance

Costs based on full-time, first-time degree- or certificate-seeking undergraduates.

View cost of attendance line items
Costs to Consider Price
Tuition and Fees $36,710
Books and Supplies $1,050
On-Campus Room and Board $11,090
On-Campus Other Expenses $2,500
Total On-Campus Cost $44,172

Tip: focus on the rows that match your living plan—commuters can swap in off-campus estimates while residential students should budget for housing, meals, and incidental fees.

Students Receiving Aid

Pell Grant
44.3%
Federal Loan
0.0%

Use these bars to gauge how many classmates rely on need-based dollars—lower Pell or loan shares may signal a wealthier student body or generous institutional grants.

EDsmart Insight: About 44.3% of North Park University students receive Pell Grants — above the national average, highlighting ongoing affordability priorities.

Net Price by Family Income

Average annual net price after financial aid, based on family income. Your actual cost may vary depending on your specific financial situation.

$0 - $30,000
$14,845
Average annual cost for families earning $0-$30K
$30,001 - $48,000
$14,843
Average annual cost for families earning $30K-$48K
$48,001 - $75,000
$16,067
Average annual cost for families earning $48K-$75K
$75,001 - $110,000
$19,208
Average annual cost for families earning $75K-$110K
$110,001+
$22,964
Average annual cost for families earning $110K+

Understanding These Numbers: Net price varies significantly by income level. Net prices range from $14,845 to $22,964 depending on family income. Use North Park University's net price calculator for a personalized estimate.

4-Year Total Cost Estimates:
$0-$30K families
~$66,802
$30K-$48K families
~$66,794
$48K-$75K families
~$72,302
$75K-$110K families
~$86,436
AFFORDABILITY ALERT

If your family earns $75K-$110K: Expect to pay around $19,208/year

If your family earns $110K+: Expect to pay around $22,964/year

See all income brackets →

ROI & Career Outcomes

Return on Investment
86.3%
Based on 6-year median earnings vs. total degree cost
  • Median Earnings (4 Years After Graduation) $65,399
  • 10-Year Median Earnings $59,572
  • Average Years to Graduate 4.5 years
  • Average Student Debt $25,500
  • Repayment Rate (3yr) 64.2%
  • Employment Rate 86.8%

Graduate Earnings Distribution

Earnings range for North Park University graduates 6 years after enrollment, showing the 25th percentile, median, and 75th percentile. This illustrates the variation in outcomes across different majors and career paths.

Graduates earn a median of $65,399 four years after graduation — roughly 8% above the national median.
Payback Period
1.16 years
Total Degree Cost ÷ Annual Earnings

North Park University vs. National Average

Comparison of key performance metrics showing how North Park University's outcomes compare to the national average across earnings, graduation rates, retention, ROI, and employment. This contextualizes North Park University's performance within the broader higher education landscape.

EDsmart Insight: North Park University graduates earn $65,399 median four years after graduation, +8% above the national average. Earnings vary significantly by major—research your field's outcomes.

Acceptance & Selectivity

Getting In

Acceptance Rate
68.5%
Less Selective
National Average
69%
Average acceptance rate
  • SAT Evidence-Based Reading Not reported
  • SAT Math Not reported
  • SAT Writing Not reported
  • ACT Composite Not reported
  • SAT & ACTNot required
  • Undergraduate Enrollment 1,818
  • Full-Time Students 95.2%
  • Part-Time Students 4.8%
  • Retention Rate 61.7%
  • Grad Rate (150% time) 57.7%
  • Grad Rate (8-year) 63.4%
  • Student-Faculty Ratio 12:1

How to Get Into North Park University

1. Meet Academic Requirements: North Park University requires strong academic performance. Aim for test scores within the reported ranges and maintain a competitive GPA. Most admitted students rank in the top 10% of their high school class.

2. Build a Strong Application: Beyond test scores, focus on crafting compelling essays, securing strong letters of recommendation, and highlighting extracurricular activities that demonstrate leadership and commitment.

3. Understand Selectivity: With an acceptance rate of 68.5%, North Park University is relatively open. Consider applying early decision if available, as early applicants often have higher acceptance rates.

4. Financial Planning: Review the net price calculator and financial aid options early. Many students receive significant aid, making the actual cost lower than the sticker price.

Tip: Contact the admissions office directly for the most current application requirements, deadlines, and any special programs (like early decision or early action) that might improve your chances.

EDsmart Insight: With a 68.5% acceptance rate, North Park University is more accessible than highly selective schools. Meeting the test score ranges and maintaining a solid GPA significantly improves admission chances.

Academic Programs

Undergraduate Program Distribution

Breakdown of the most popular majors and fields of study among North Park University undergraduates. Business Administration, Management and Operations, Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing, and Biology, General draw the most students.

  • Business Administration, Management and Operations 24.3%
  • Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing 15.5%
  • Biology, General 6.6%
  • Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods 4.3%
  • Psychology, General 4.3%
  • Fine and Studio Arts 4.0%
See more majors
  • Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitnes 3.6%
  • Communication and Media Studies 3.4%

Highest Earning Programs

Median earnings five years after graduation for each program. These figures help illustrate ROI by field of study and degree level.

Undergraduate Programs (Bachelor's Degrees)

  • 1. Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing $83,592
  • 2. Business Administration, Management and Operations $68,284
  • 3. Criminal Justice and Corrections $60,960
Show additional high-earning majors
  • 4. Health and Physical Education/Fitness $52,061
  • 5. Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas $49,609
  • 6. Psychology, General $49,267
  • 7. Communication and Media Studies $45,665
  • 8. Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods $42,315
  • 9. Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General $40,374
  • 10. Biology, General $33,592

Graduate Programs (Master's, Doctoral, Professional)

  • 1. Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing (Master's Degree) $116,050
  • 2. Business Administration, Management and Operations (Master's Degree) $82,188
  • 3. Education, General (Master's Degree) $66,298
Show additional graduate majors
  • 4. Clinical, Counseling and Applied Psychology (Master's Degree) $55,960

Program Choice Matters: Undergraduate: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing grads earn $83,592—149% more than Biology, General ($33,592). Graduate: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing programs lead with $116,050 median earnings. Your program and degree level choice significantly impact career earnings.

Online Degrees & Distance Learning

College Scorecard reports fully online programs for North Park University. Below are the most popular options based on the number of recent graduates, followed by a quick look at the breadth of online offerings by degree level.
Source: U.S. Department of Education – College Scorecard

Most Popular Online Degrees

  • Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (Bachelor's Degree, 73 graduates)
  • Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (Master's Degree, 52 graduates)
  • Biology, General (Bachelor's Degree, 31 graduates)
  • Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods (Master's Degree, 28 graduates)
  • Educational Administration and Supervision (Master's Degree, 23 graduates)

What This School Offers Online, at a Glance

College Scorecard flags the following online degree and certificate programs for this institution. Expand each credential level to view the complete list of available subjects.

Online Bachelor's Degrees (42 programs)
  • Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing
  • Biology, General
  • Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods
  • Psychology, General
  • Fine and Studio Arts
  • Health and Physical Education/Fitness
  • Communication and Media Studies
  • Health and Medical Administrative Services
  • Music
  • History
  • English Language and Literature, General
  • Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas
  • Sociology
  • Political Science and Government
  • Bible/Biblical Studies
  • Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions
  • Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
  • Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology
  • Philosophy
  • Mathematics
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication
  • Physics
  • Peace Studies and Conflict Resolution
  • Pastoral Counseling and Specialized Ministries
  • Natural Resources Conservation and Research
  • Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft
  • International/Global Studies
  • Chemistry
  • Social Sciences, General
  • Religious Education
  • International Business
  • Human Resources Management and Services
  • Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services
  • Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General
  • Germanic Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
  • Finance and Financial Management Services
  • Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies
  • Economics
  • Biological and Physical Sciences
  • Area Studies
  • Accounting and Related Services
Online Master's Degrees (9 programs)
  • Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing
  • Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods
  • Educational Administration and Supervision
  • Clinical, Counseling and Applied Psychology
  • Theological and Ministerial Studies
  • Music
  • Education, General
  • Bilingual, Multilingual, and Multicultural Education
  • Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions
Online Doctoral Degrees (1 program)
  • Theology and Religious Vocations, Other
Online Graduate/Professional Certificates (1 program)
  • Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing

Student Demographics

Student Population

  • Total Undergraduate Enrollment 1,818
  • Full-Time Students 95.2%
  • Part-Time Students 4.8%
  • Male Students 44.0%
  • Female Students 56.0%
  • Caucasian 28.4%
  • Asian 8.1%
  • Hispanic 34.9%
  • Black 10.6%
  • Pell Grant Recipients 44.3%

Racial & Ethnic Diversity

Undergraduate student body composition by racial and ethnic background. This reflects North Park University's commitment to diversity and inclusion in admissions.

Gender Distribution

Gender breakdown of North Park University's undergraduate population. The university maintains a roughly balanced gender distribution across its student body.

Graduation Rate Equity Analysis

How well does North Park University support students from different economic backgrounds?

Pell Grant Recipients
53.4%
6-year graduation rate
Non-Pell Students
68.6%
6-year graduation rate
Equity Gap
15.1 pts
equity gap to monitor

What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at a different rate as higher-income students, indicating varying levels of institutional support for all economic backgrounds.

Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity

Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity

Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at North Park University, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.

EDsmart Insight: North Park University has a diverse student body, with 28.4% identifying as White.

Graduation Rate Equity Analysis

How well does North Park University support students from different economic backgrounds?

Pell Grant Recipients
53.4%
6-year graduation rate
Non-Pell Students
68.6%
6-year graduation rate
Equity Gap
15.1 pts
equity gap to monitor

What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at a different rate as higher-income students, indicating varying levels of institutional support for all economic backgrounds.

Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity

Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity

Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at North Park University, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.

Our Take

North Park University offers a private university experience at a regional scale, combining smaller class sizes with 86.3% ROI. Ranked #904 nationally, the institution balances personalized attention against higher costs than public alternatives.

The $16,948 annual net price is moderately higher than state schools, offset somewhat by $65,399 median earnings. With 57.7% graduating within 150% of normal time and 61.7% returning for sophomore year, outcomes reflect the personalized support typical of smaller private institutions.

Private University Value: North Park University's Positioning

With a B grade and #904 ranking, North Park University competes in the crowded regional private university market.

The Private University Premium: At $16,948 annually, North Park University charges more than public alternatives but typically offers smaller classes, more personalized advising, and tighter-knit campus communities. The 61.7% retention rate suggests students value this environment.

Who Benefits Most: Students who thrive in smaller, more intimate academic settings. Those seeking specific programs or values-based education aligned with the institution's mission. Students who receive merit scholarships that bring costs below $11,864 achieve particularly strong value.

Cost-Benefit Reality: The 86.3% ROI and $65,399 median earnings don't always justify the premium over public universities. Students paying full price should compare whether the personalized experience warrants $6,948+ in additional annual costs over state flagships.

Competitive Standing: North Park University ranks #904 of 1947 institutions, with 447 schools achieving higher ROI. For students offered substantial merit aid or seeking specific programs unavailable at public universities, the value proposition strengthens significantly.

Key Takeaways

  • 57.7% graduation rate sits 4.8 points below the national 62.5% benchmark.
  • 61.7% first-year retention is 15.1 points below the national norm of 76.8%.
  • 86.3% return on investment is 36.4 points above the national 49.9% benchmark.
  • Median earnings of $65,399 run about 8% higher than national outcomes four years after graduation.
  • Average net price of $16,948 is roughly $3,131 lower than the national median of $20,079.

Helpfulness for Students

Green Flags
  • 12:1 student-faculty ratio keeps mentorship close and courses discussion-sized.
  • 61.7% first-year retention shows students stay engaged after the first year.
  • 86.8% employment rate within three years sits 18.6 points above national outcomes.
Red Flags
  • Budget carefully for clinical travel, off-campus housing, and practicum fees to avoid surprise costs.
  • Compare aid offers from nearby public universities to weigh the premium for smaller classes.
  • Compare aid offers from nearby public universities to weigh the premium for smaller classes.
EDsmart Expert Analysis

Located in Chicago, IL, North Park University operates as a private nonprofit university and receives a B from EDsmart. It appears at #904 in EDsmart's national list Category results include Completion (B-), Support (B-), Career Outcomes (B), and Affordability (B+).

Grades are assigned relative to EDsmart's national bachelor's cohort using standardized outcomes (2026 methodology); they reflect how a school compares to peers, not a fixed percentage of a raw point total.

61.7% of learners come back after year one while 57.7% graduate within 150% of normal time (63.4% within eight years). Return on investment currently measures 86.3% for this program.

Why it matters: this snapshot shows how likely you are to stay on track academically and whether the outcomes justify the price tag. Letter grades summarize cohort-relative performance—not a single exam-style score.

EDsmart Financial Snapshot

Families pay about $16,948 on average after aid, compared with a published cost near $44,172.

Institutional and federal aid lower costs by roughly $27,224 per year.

Graduates leave with a median of $25,500 in federal loans, which lines up with national norms.

About 44.3% of students receive Pell Grants, giving a snapshot of the campus income mix.

Why it matters: lining up sticker price, aid, and typical debt helps you stress-test the budget before you commit.

EDsmart Career Snapshot

Median earnings come in near $65,399 four years after graduation. This is roughly 8% above typical U.S. college outcomes.

Roughly 86.8% of graduates are employed three years out.

The ROI comes in near 86.3%, which you can cross-check against your financial plan.

Why it matters: pairing median earnings with employment rates gives you a sense of payback time after graduation.

EDsmart Admissions Snapshot

68.5% of applicants receive offers, so preparation and fit matter.

The admissions team encourages students to highlight academic strengths through transcripts, essays, and recommendations.

Prospective students can apply early for priority review and lean on the North Park University admissions site for deadlines, visit options, and counselor contacts.

Why it matters: knowing the admit rate and application expectations lets you map out testing, essays, and deadlines with less stress.

EDsmart Verdict
2.68 / 5
Value Rating - Based on affordability and career outcomes

Your Decision Toolkit

Run the Net Price Calculator
Get your personalized cost estimate
Compare with similar schools
See how North Park University stacks up to alternatives
Check your major's earnings
See ROI for your specific field of study
Visit the campus
Schedule a campus tour or virtual visit
Visit North Park University Website →

Similar Schools

Institutions with similar academic profiles, selectivity, and outcomes

Nearby Schools

Other campuses you might consider

Other Illinois campuses you might consider

Blackburn College
Carlinville, IL
B #900 of 1,947
Eastern Illinois University
Charleston, IL
B #963 of 1,947
National University of Health Sciences
Lombard, IL
B #839 of 1,947
Olivet Nazarene University
Bourbonnais, IL
B #815 of 1,947

Frequently Asked Questions

What is North Park University's acceptance rate?

North Park University's acceptance rate is 68.5%, based on U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard admissions data.

How much does North Park University cost?

At North Park University, listed tuition and fees are $36,710 per year, and the average net price after aid is $16,948. Use the net price calculator on this page for a personalized estimate.

What is North Park University's ranking?

North Park University ranks #904 nationally in EDsmart's 2026 college rankings with an overall grade of B, based on completion, affordability, support, and career outcomes.

What is North Park University's graduation rate?

At North Park University, the graduation rate within 150% of normal time is 57.7% (the rate used in EDsmart rankings), College Scorecard 8-year award rate is 63.4%, and first-year retention is 61.7%.

What are North Park University's job outcomes?

Graduates of North Park University report median earnings of $65,399 four years after graduation, according to College Scorecard federal outcome data. Outcomes vary by major.

What is North Park University's student population?

North Park University enrolls about 1,818 undergraduate students, per College Scorecard enrollment data.

Contact Information

  • AccreditationHigher Learning Commission (NCACHE)
  • Endowment$102.9M

Data Source & Methodology