Occidental College Logo

Occidental College

Los Angeles, CA | Private Nonprofit | College

Occidental College has an acceptance rate of 44.2%, an average net price of $37,470, and an overall rank of #541 (Grade B+). About 79.2% of students graduate within 150% of normal time, and median earnings are $69,547 five years after graduation. Data from the U.S. Department of Education and EDsmart's 2026 rankings.

Occidental College is a private nonprofit university in Los Angeles, CA. Students most often pursue International Relations and National Security Studies and Economics.

Academically, students benefit from a 9:1 student-faculty ratio, and 89.8% first-year retention. Peer cohorts and advising networks provide scaffolding that keeps newcomers anchored during demanding semesters.

EDsmart calculates return on investment at 43.4%, roughly 6.5 points below typical outcomes. It's a compelling fit for students who appreciate an encouraging campus with room to explore and students looking for meaningful faculty access.

B+
Ranking
#541 of 1,934
How We Rank Schools Small campus feel
At a Glance
Ranking
#541 of 1,934 (Top 28%)
Tuition
$68,704
Net Price
$37,470
4-Year Tuition
$274,816
Acceptance Rate
44.2%
Transfer Rate
14.9%
Student Population
1,877
Student-Faculty
9:1
Grad Rate (150% time)
79.2%
Grad Rate (8-year)
83.8%
Retention Rate
89.8%
4-Yr Earnings
$69,547
ROI
Not reported

Who is Occidental College Best For?

A quick look at who tends to feel most at home here based on outcomes and campus context.

Students who thrive with close mentoring
Learners who value a tight-knit campus
Students seeking strong career outcomes
Students valuing supportive learning environments

EDsmart Scores Summary

Overall Ranking
#541 of 1,934
Top 28% of all institutions
EDsmart Score
72.1 / 100 (national index)
Curved score (top institution = 100.0)
Value Rating
3.60 / 5
Based on ROI and outcomes
Completion
A
#172 of 1,934
Affordability
C-
#1,848 of 1,934
Support
A-
#140 of 1,934
Career Outcomes
B+
#603 of 1,934

Occidental College graduates 79.2% of students within 150% of normal time (the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings), with an 8-year award rate of 83.8% and keeps 89.8% of first-year students. Affordability earns a C- compared with similar schools.

How we calculate this →

Cost & Financial Aid

Quick Answers

What does it cost?
Depends on income
$20,797-$53,785 annual net price based on family income.
What's the graduation rate?
Highly likely
79.2% graduate within 150% of normal time (the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings). The federal 8-year award rate is 83.8%. 68.2% complete in four years (IPEDS 100% time).
What are job outcomes?
Highly likely
92.2% of alumni are employed within three years of leaving. Median earnings five years after graduation are $69,547. Pay varies by major.
Get Your Personalized Cost Estimate

The costs shown are averages. Use Occidental College's net price calculator to get an estimate based on your family's financial situation.

Calculate Your Net Price →

Total Degree Cost Summary

4-Year Total Cost (Pay with Cash)
$354,624
$88,656 Ă— 4 years
Average Total Cost (Pay with Financial Aid)
$160,319
$37,470 Ă— 4.3 years average
Time to Degree
Average: 4.3 years | 4-Year Rate: 68.2% | 6-Year Rate: 79.2% | 8-Year Rate: 83.8%
Most students finish in about four to five years. Four-year completion is 68.2% and six-year completion is 79.2%.

Annual Cost Comparison

Pay with Cash
$88,656
Total annual cost including tuition, books and living expenses; excluding any financial aid, grants or scholarships.
Pay with Financial Aid
$37,470
Average annual cost including tuition, books and living expenses after financial aid, grants or scholarships.

Est. annual aid gap: $51,186 Cash cost of attendance minus average net price after aid.

Cost of Undergraduate Attendance

Costs based on full-time, first-time degree- or certificate-seeking undergraduates.

View cost of attendance line items
Costs to Consider Price
Tuition and Fees $68,704
Books and Supplies $1,290
On-Campus Room and Board $20,321
On-Campus Other Expenses $1,950
Total On-Campus Cost $88,656

Tip: focus on the rows that match your living plan—commuters can swap in off-campus estimates while residential students should budget for housing, meals, and incidental fees.

Students Receiving Aid

Pell Grant
19.8%
Federal Loan
38.7%

Use these bars to gauge how many classmates rely on need-based dollars—lower Pell or loan shares may signal a wealthier student body or generous institutional grants.

EDsmart Insight: About 19.8% of Occidental College students receive Pell Grants — below the national average, highlighting ongoing affordability priorities.

Net Price by Family Income

Average annual net price after financial aid, based on family income. Your actual cost may vary depending on your specific financial situation.

$0 - $30,000
$20,797
Average annual cost for families earning $0-$30K
$30,001 - $48,000
$10,724
Average annual cost for families earning $30K-$48K
$48,001 - $75,000
$25,027
Average annual cost for families earning $48K-$75K
$75,001 - $110,000
$23,892
Average annual cost for families earning $75K-$110K
$110,001+
$53,785
Average annual cost for families earning $110K+

Understanding These Numbers: Net price varies significantly by income level. Net prices range from $20,797 to $53,785 depending on family income. Use Occidental College's net price calculator for a personalized estimate.

Typical total cost estimates (~4.3 years):
$0-$30K families
~$88,982
$30K-$48K families
~$45,884
$48K-$75K families
~$107,081
$75K-$110K families
~$102,224
AFFORDABILITY ALERT

If your family earns $75K-$110K: Expect to pay around $23,892/year

If your family earns $110K+: Expect to pay around $53,785/year

See all income brackets →

ROI & Career Outcomes

Return on Investment
Not reported
Based on median earnings five years after graduation vs. total degree cost
  • Median Earnings (5 Years After Graduation) $69,547
  • 10-Year Median Earnings $79,660
  • Average Years to Graduate 4.3 years
  • Average Student Debt $21,500
  • Debt-to-Earnings ~30.9%
  • Repayment Rate (3yr) 87.6%
  • Employment Rate 92.2%

Graduate Earnings Distribution

Earnings range for Occidental College graduates about 10 years after enrollment (25th percentile, median, and 75th percentile). Different horizon than median earnings five years after graduation above.

Graduates earn a median of $69,547 five years after graduation — roughly 13% above the national median.
Payback Period
2.31 years
Total Degree Cost Ă· Annual Earnings

Occidental College vs. National Average

Comparison of key performance metrics showing how Occidental College's outcomes compare to the national average across earnings, graduation rates, retention, ROI, and employment. This contextualizes Occidental College's performance within the broader higher education landscape.

Acceptance & Selectivity

Getting In

Acceptance Rate
44.2%
Moderately Selective
National Average
69%
Average acceptance rate
  • SAT Evidence-Based Reading 690-750
  • SAT Math 690-770
  • SAT Writing Not reported
  • ACT Composite 31-34
  • SAT & ACT Required
  • Undergraduate Enrollment 1,877
  • Full-Time Students 98.9%
  • Part-Time Students 1.1%
  • Retention Rate 89.8%
  • Grad Rate (150% time) 79.2%
  • Grad Rate (8-year) 83.8%
  • Student-Faculty Ratio 9:1

How to Get Into Occidental College

1. Meet Academic Requirements: Occidental College requires strong academic performance. Aim for test scores within the reported ranges and maintain a competitive GPA. Most admitted students rank in the top 10% of their high school class.

2. Build a Strong Application: Beyond test scores, focus on crafting compelling essays, securing strong letters of recommendation, and highlighting extracurricular activities that demonstrate leadership and commitment.

3. Understand Selectivity: With an acceptance rate of 44.2%, Occidental College is moderately selective. Consider applying early decision if available, as early applicants often have higher acceptance rates.

4. Financial Planning: Review the net price calculator and financial aid options early. Many students receive significant aid, making the actual cost lower than the sticker price.

Tip: Contact the admissions office directly for the most current application requirements, deadlines, and any special programs (like early decision or early action) that might improve your chances.

EDsmart Insight: Occidental College accepts 44.2% of applicants, making it moderately selective. Focus on strong academics, meaningful extracurriculars, and compelling essays to stand out. The middle 50% of admitted students score between 1380 and 1520 on the SAT.

Academic Programs

Undergraduate Program Distribution

Breakdown of the most popular majors and fields of study among Occidental College undergraduates. Economics, International Relations and National Security Stud, and Biology, General draw the most students.

  • Economics 15.9%
  • International Relations and National Security Stud 7.7%
  • Biology, General 7.3%
  • Political Science and Government 5.6%
  • Psychology, General 5.0%
  • Film/Video and Photographic Arts 4.8%
See more majors
  • Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology 4.0%
  • Cognitive Science 3.8%

Highest Earning Programs

Median earnings five years after graduation for each program. These figures help illustrate ROI by field of study and degree level.

Undergraduate Programs (Bachelor's Degrees)

  • 1. International Relations and National Security Studies $84,200
  • 2. Economics $80,191
  • 3. Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics $70,680
Show additional high-earning majors
  • 4. Natural Resources Conservation and Research $68,098
  • 5. Biology, General $67,384
  • 6. Computer Science $63,845
  • 7. Sociology $62,892
  • 8. Political Science and Government $57,825
  • 9. Psychology, General $57,024
  • 10. Fine and Studio Arts $47,894

Program Choice Matters: Undergraduate: International Relations and National Security Studies grads earn $84,200—76% more than Fine and Studio Arts ($47,894). Your program and degree level choice significantly impact career earnings.

Online Degrees & Distance Learning

U.S. Department of Education data reports fully online programs for Occidental College. Below are the most popular options based on the number of recent graduates, followed by a quick look at the breadth of online offerings by degree level.
Source: U.S. Department of Education

Most Popular Online Degrees

  • Economics (Bachelor's Degree, 73 graduates)
  • Research and Experimental Psychology (Bachelor's Degree, 54 graduates)
  • International Relations and National Security Studies (Bachelor's Degree, 50 graduates)
  • Biology, General (Bachelor's Degree, 38 graduates)
  • Computer Science (Bachelor's Degree, 31 graduates)

What This School Offers Online, at a Glance

U.S. Department of Education data flags the following online degree and certificate programs for this institution. Expand each credential level to view the complete list of available subjects.

Online Bachelor's Degrees (30 programs)â–Ľ
  • Economics
  • Research and Experimental Psychology
  • International Relations and National Security Studies
  • Biology, General
  • Computer Science
  • Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and Services
  • Cognitive Science
  • Natural Resources Conservation and Research
  • Film/Video and Photographic Arts
  • Political Science and Government
  • Mathematics
  • Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology
  • Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness
  • Sociology
  • Music
  • Cultural Studies/Critical Theory and Analysis
  • Chemistry
  • English Language and Literature, General
  • Philosophy
  • Physics
  • History
  • Fine and Studio Arts
  • Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
  • Area Studies
  • Geological and Earth Sciences/Geosciences
  • Religion/Religious Studies
  • Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft
  • Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies
  • Multi-/Interdisciplinary Studies, General
  • East Asian Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
Online Master's Degrees (1 program)â–Ľ
  • Biology, General

Student Demographics

Student Population

  • Total Undergraduate Enrollment 1,877
  • Full-Time Students 98.9%
  • Part-Time Students 1.1%
  • Male Students 41.3%
  • Female Students 58.7%
  • Caucasian 45.6%
  • Asian 16.1%
  • Hispanic 17.6%
  • Black 4.4%
  • Pell Grant Recipients 19.8%

Racial & Ethnic Diversity

Undergraduate student body composition by racial and ethnic background. This reflects Occidental College's commitment to diversity and inclusion in admissions.

Gender Distribution

Gender breakdown of Occidental College's undergraduate population. The university maintains a roughly balanced gender distribution across its student body.

Graduation Rate Equity Analysis

How well does Occidental College support students from different economic backgrounds?

Pell Grant Recipients
71.6%
6-year graduation rate
Non-Pell Students
80.5%
6-year graduation rate
Equity Gap
8.9 pts
good equity

What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at a similar rate as higher-income students, indicating adequate institutional support for all economic backgrounds.

Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity

Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity

Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at Occidental College, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.

EDsmart Insight: Occidental College has a diverse student body, with 45.6% identifying as White. About 19.8% receive Pell Grants, below the national average of 38%, suggesting a wealthier student body or generous institutional aid.

Graduation Rate Equity Analysis

How well does Occidental College support students from different economic backgrounds?

Pell Grant Recipients
71.6%
6-year graduation rate
Non-Pell Students
80.5%
6-year graduation rate
Equity Gap
8.9 pts
good equity

What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at a similar rate as higher-income students, indicating adequate institutional support for all economic backgrounds.

Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity

Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity

Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at Occidental College, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.

Our Take

Occidental College offers a private university experience at a regional scale, combining smaller class sizes with 0.0% ROI. Ranked #541 overall, the institution balances personalized attention against higher costs than public alternatives.

The $37,470 annual net price is significantly higher than public universities, offset somewhat by $69,547 median earnings. With 79.2% graduating within 150% of normal time and 89.8% returning for sophomore year, outcomes reflect the personalized support typical of smaller private institutions.

Private University Value: Occidental College's Positioning

With a B+ grade and #541 ranking, Occidental College competes in the crowded regional private university market.

The Private University Premium: At $37,470 annually, Occidental College charges more than public alternatives but typically offers smaller classes, more personalized advising, and tighter-knit campus communities. The 89.8% retention rate suggests students value this environment.

Who Benefits Most: Students who thrive in smaller, more intimate academic settings. Those seeking specific programs or values-based education aligned with the institution's mission. Students who receive merit scholarships that bring costs below $26,229 achieve particularly strong value.

Cost-Benefit Reality: The 0.0% ROI and $69,547 median earnings don't always justify the premium over public universities. Students paying full price should compare whether the personalized experience warrants $27,470+ in additional annual costs over state flagships.

Competitive Standing: Occidental College ranks #541 of 1934 institutions, with 0 schools achieving higher ROI. For students offered substantial merit aid or seeking specific programs unavailable at public universities, the value proposition strengthens significantly.

Key Takeaways

  • 79.2% graduation rate sits 16.7 points above the national 62.5% benchmark.
  • 89.8% first-year retention is 13.0 points above the national norm of 76.8%.
  • Median earnings of $69,547 run about 13% higher than national outcomes five years after graduation.
  • Average net price of $37,470 is roughly $17,562 higher than the national median of $19,908.
  • 92.2% employment rate within three years is 24.0 points above the national 68.2%.

Helpfulness for Students

Green Flags
  • 9:1 student-faculty ratio keeps mentorship close and courses discussion-sized.
  • 89.8% first-year retention shows students stay engaged after the first year.
  • 92.2% employment rate within three years sits 24.0 points above national outcomes.
Red Flags
  • Average net price of $37,470 is about $17,562 higher than comparable schools, so scholarship planning is key.
  • Pell participation at 19.8% trails the national share by 18.8 points, so equity work remains important.
  • Compare aid offers from nearby public universities to weigh the premium for smaller classes.
EDsmart Expert Analysis

Occidental College is a private nonprofit university based in Los Angeles, CA and earns a B+ overall grade. It stands at #541 among 1934 schools Category results include Completion (A), Support (A-), Career Outcomes (B+), and Affordability (C-).

Grades are assigned relative to EDsmart's national bachelor's cohort using standardized outcomes (2026 methodology); they reflect how a school compares to peers, not a fixed percentage of a raw point total.

Student momentum is strong: 89.8% retention, 79.2% graduation within 150% of normal time, and 83.8% earning an award within eight years. Review the cost and aid tables for a full picture of value.

Why it matters: this snapshot shows how likely you are to stay on track academically and whether the outcomes justify the price tag. Letter grades summarize cohort-relative performance—not a single exam-style score.

EDsmart Financial Snapshot

Families pay about $37,470 on average after aid, compared with a published cost near $88,656.

Institutional and federal aid lower costs by roughly $51,186 per year.

Graduates leave with a median of $21,500 in federal loans, which lines up with national norms.

About 19.8% of students receive Pell Grants, giving a snapshot of the campus income mix.

Why it matters: lining up sticker price, aid, and typical debt helps you stress-test the budget before you commit.

EDsmart Career Snapshot

Graduates report median earnings of about $69,547 five years after graduation. That sits about 13% above the national median.

The three-year employment rate is close to 92.2%.

Use the ROI table above to estimate how long it may take to recoup your degree costs.

Why it matters: pairing median earnings with employment rates gives you a sense of payback time after graduation.

EDsmart Admissions Snapshot

44.2% of applicants receive offers, so preparation and fit matter.

The admissions team encourages students to highlight academic strengths through transcripts, essays, and recommendations.

Prospective students can apply early for priority review and lean on the Occidental College admissions site for deadlines, visit options, and counselor contacts.

Why it matters: knowing the admit rate and application expectations lets you map out testing, essays, and deadlines with less stress.

EDsmart Verdict
3.60 / 5
Value Rating - Based on affordability and career outcomes

Your Decision Toolkit

Run the Net Price Calculator
Get your personalized cost estimate
Compare with similar schools
See how Occidental College stacks up to alternatives
Check your major's earnings
See ROI for your specific field of study
Visit the campus
Schedule a campus tour or virtual visit
Visit Occidental College Website →

Cite this profile

Add your access date when you publish.

APA (7th): EDsmart. (2026). Occidental College: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings. https://www.edsmart.org/schools/occidental-college/

MLA (9th): “Occidental College: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings.” EDsmart, 2026, www.edsmart.org/schools/occidental-college/.

Chicago: EDsmart. “Occidental College: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings.” https://www.edsmart.org/schools/occidental-college/.

Similar Schools

Institutions with similar academic profiles, selectivity, and outcomes

Nearby Schools

Other campuses you might consider

Other California campuses you might consider

California State University-Sacramento
Sacramento, CA
B+ #530 of 1,934
University of La Verne
La Verne, CA
B+ #564 of 1,934
California State University-East Bay
Hayward, CA
B+ #516 of 1,934
Golden Gate University
San Francisco, CA
B+ #515 of 1,934

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Occidental College's acceptance rate?

Occidental College's acceptance rate is 44.2%, based on U.S. Department of Education admissions data.

How much does Occidental College cost?

At Occidental College, listed tuition and fees are $68,704 per year, and the average net price after aid is $37,470. Use the net price calculator on this page for a personalized estimate.

What is Occidental College's ranking?

Occidental College ranks #541 overall in EDsmart's 2026 college rankings with an overall grade of B+, based on completion, affordability, support, and career outcomes.

What is Occidental College's graduation rate?

At Occidental College, the graduation rate within 150% of normal time is 79.2% (the rate used in EDsmart rankings), the federal 8-year award rate is 83.8%, and first-year retention is 89.8%.

What are Occidental College's job outcomes?

Graduates of Occidental College report median earnings of $69,547 five years after graduation, according to U.S. Department of Education outcome data. Outcomes vary by major.

What is Occidental College's student population?

Occidental College enrolls about 1,877 undergraduate students, per U.S. Department of Education enrollment data.

Contact Information

  • AccreditationWestern Association of Schools and Colleges Senior Colleges and University Commission (WASCSR)
  • Endowment$604.3M
  • Transfer Enrollment Rate14.9%

Data Source & Methodology â–Ľ