Oregon Health & Science University Logo

Oregon Health & Science University

Portland, OR | Public | University

Oregon Health & Science University has an overall rank of #89 (Grade A). The 8-year graduation rate is 95.1%, and median earnings are $107,637 five years after graduation. Data from the U.S. Department of Education and EDsmart's 2026 rankings.

Oregon Health & Science University is a public university in Portland, OR. Students most often pursue Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing and Medical Clinical Sciences/Graduate Medical Studies.

Day to day, students benefit from a 5:1 student-faculty ratio. Coaches and faculty advisors weave in frequent check-ins, helping students translate ambition into steady progress.

It's well-suited to students who appreciate an encouraging campus with room to explore and students looking for meaningful faculty access.

A
Ranking
#89 of 1,934
How We Rank Schools Top-100 optionHigher pay after collegePublic school optionSmall campus feel
At a Glance
Ranking
#89 of 1,934 (Top 4.6%)
Tuition
Not reported
Net Price
Not reported
Acceptance Rate
Not reported
Transfer Rate
Not reported
Student Population
836
Student-Faculty
5:1
Grad Rate (8-year)
95.1%
Retention Rate
Not reported
4-Yr Earnings
$107,637
ROI
Not reported

Who is Oregon Health & Science University Best For?

A quick look at who tends to feel most at home here based on outcomes and campus context.

Students who thrive with close mentoring
Students aiming for strong salaries
Students wanting a top-100 campus
Career maximizers chasing high ROI
Families tracking affordability closely
Learners who value a tight-knit campus
Students seeking strong career outcomes
Students valuing supportive learning environments

EDsmart Scores Summary

Overall Ranking
#89 of 1,934
Top 4.6% of all institutions
EDsmart Score
95.4 / 100 (national index)
Curved score (top institution = 100.0)
Value Rating
4.77 / 5
Based on ROI and outcomes
Completion
B
#884 of 1,934
Affordability
B-
#1,160 of 1,934
Support
A-
#218 of 1,934
Career Outcomes
A+
#12 of 1,934

Oregon Health & Science University reports an 8-year award rate of 95.1% and does not report first-year retention. Affordability earns a B- compared with similar schools.

How we calculate this →

Cost & Financial Aid

Quick Answers

What does it cost?
Depends on income
$0 average net price after aid.
What's the graduation rate?
Highly likely
95.1% earn an award within eight years of entry.
What are job outcomes?
Highly likely
97.2% of alumni are employed within three years of leaving. Median earnings five years after graduation are $107,637. Pay varies by major.
Get Your Personalized Cost Estimate

The costs shown are averages. Use Oregon Health & Science University's net price calculator to get an estimate based on your family's financial situation.

Calculate Your Net Price →

Total Degree Cost Summary

4-Year Total Cost (Pay with Cash)
N/A
Not reported
Average Total Cost (Pay with Financial Aid)
N/A
Not reported × 4.5 years average
Time to Degree
Average: 4.0 years | 4-Year Rate: N/A | 6-Year Rate: Not reported | 8-Year Rate: 95.1%
Completion rate data is not available for this institution.

Annual Cost Comparison

Pay with Cash
Not reported
Total annual cost including tuition, books and living expenses; excluding any financial aid, grants or scholarships.
Pay with Financial Aid
Not reported
Average annual cost including tuition, books and living expenses after financial aid, grants or scholarships.

Est. annual aid gap: Not reported Cash cost of attendance minus average net price after aid.

Cost of Undergraduate Attendance

Costs based on full-time, first-time degree- or certificate-seeking undergraduates.

View cost of attendance line items
Costs to Consider Price
Tuition and Fees Not reported
Books and Supplies Not reported
On-Campus Room and Board Not reported
On-Campus Other Expenses Not reported
Total On-Campus Cost Not reported

Tip: focus on the rows that match your living plan—commuters can swap in off-campus estimates while residential students should budget for housing, meals, and incidental fees.

Students Receiving Aid

Pell Grant
30.5%
Federal Loan
55.4%

Use these bars to gauge how many classmates rely on need-based dollars—lower Pell or loan shares may signal a wealthier student body or generous institutional grants.

EDsmart Insight: About 30.5% of Oregon Health & Science University students receive Pell Grants — slightly below the national average, highlighting ongoing affordability priorities.

ROI & Career Outcomes

Return on Investment
Not reported
Based on median earnings five years after graduation vs. total degree cost
  • Median Earnings (5 Years After Graduation) $107,637
  • 10-Year Median Earnings $109,788
  • Average Years to Graduate 4.0 years
  • Average Student Debt $16,625
  • Debt-to-Earnings ~15.4%
  • Repayment Rate (3yr) 86.9%
  • Employment Rate 97.2%

Graduate Earnings Distribution

Earnings range for Oregon Health & Science University graduates about 10 years after enrollment (25th percentile, median, and 75th percentile). Different horizon than median earnings five years after graduation above.

Graduates earn a median of $107,637 five years after graduation — roughly 75% above the national median.
Payback Period
Not reported
Total Degree Cost ÷ Annual Earnings

Oregon Health & Science University vs. National Average

Comparison of key performance metrics showing how Oregon Health & Science University's outcomes compare to the national average across earnings, graduation rates, retention, ROI, and employment. This contextualizes Oregon Health & Science University's performance within the broader higher education landscape.

Acceptance & Selectivity

Getting In

Acceptance Rate
Not reported
Extremely Selective
National Average
69%
Average acceptance rate
  • SAT Evidence-Based Reading Not reported
  • SAT Math Not reported
  • SAT Writing Not reported
  • ACT Composite Not reported
  • SAT & ACTNot required
  • Undergraduate Enrollment 836
  • Full-Time Students 48.1%
  • Part-Time Students 51.9%
  • Retention Rate Not reported
  • Graduation Rate Not reported
  • Student-Faculty Ratio 5:1

How to Get Into Oregon Health & Science University

1. Meet Academic Requirements: Oregon Health & Science University requires strong academic performance. Aim for test scores within the reported ranges and maintain a competitive GPA. Most admitted students rank in the top 10% of their high school class.

2. Build a Strong Application: Beyond test scores, focus on crafting compelling essays, securing strong letters of recommendation, and highlighting extracurricular activities that demonstrate leadership and commitment.

3. Understand Selectivity: With an acceptance rate of Not reported, Oregon Health & Science University is selective. Consider applying early decision if available, as early applicants often have higher acceptance rates.

4. Financial Planning: Review the net price calculator and financial aid options early. Many students receive significant aid, making the actual cost lower than the sticker price.

Tip: Contact the admissions office directly for the most current application requirements, deadlines, and any special programs (like early decision or early action) that might improve your chances.

Academic Programs

Undergraduate Program Distribution

Breakdown of the most popular majors and fields of study among Oregon Health & Science University undergraduates. Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing and Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions draw the most students.

  • Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing 97.9%
  • Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions 2.1%

Highest Earning Programs

Median earnings five years after graduation for each program. These figures help illustrate ROI by field of study and degree level.

Undergraduate Programs (Bachelor's Degrees)

  • 1. Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing $102,494

Graduate Programs (Master's, Doctoral, Professional)

  • 1. Medical Clinical Sciences/Graduate Medical Studies (Master's Degree) $332,843
  • 2. Medicine (First Professional Degree) $212,674
  • 3. Dentistry (First Professional Degree) $178,773
Show additional graduate majors
  • 4. Advanced/Graduate Dentistry and Oral Sciences (Graduate/Professional Certificate) $166,967
  • 5. Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing (Master's Degree) $142,116
  • 6. Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing (First Professional Degree) $137,922
  • 7. Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions (Master's Degree) $136,236
  • 8. Biomathematics, Bioinformatics, and Computational Biology (Master's Degree) $127,264
  • 9. Health and Medical Administrative Services (Master's Degree) $126,224
  • 10. Public Health (Master's Degree) $115,507

Program Choice Matters: Graduate: Medical Clinical Sciences/Graduate Medical Studies programs lead with $332,843 median earnings. Your program and degree level choice significantly impact career earnings.

Online Degrees & Distance Learning

U.S. Department of Education data reports fully online programs for Oregon Health & Science University. Below are the most popular options based on the number of recent graduates, followed by a quick look at the breadth of online offerings by degree level.
Source: U.S. Department of Education

Most Popular Online Degrees

  • Medicine (First Professional Degree, 166 graduates)
  • Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (First Professional Degree, 77 graduates)
  • Dentistry (First Professional Degree, 74 graduates)
  • Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions (Master's Degree, 40 graduates)
  • Medical Clinical Sciences/Graduate Medical Studies (Master's Degree, 20 graduates)

What This School Offers Online, at a Glance

U.S. Department of Education data flags the following online degree and certificate programs for this institution. Expand each credential level to view the complete list of available subjects.

Online Bachelor's Degrees (1 program)▼
  • Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions
Online Master's Degrees (10 programs)▼
  • Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions
  • Medical Clinical Sciences/Graduate Medical Studies
  • Health Professions Education, Ethics, and Humanities
  • Biomathematics, Bioinformatics, and Computational Biology
  • Foods, Nutrition, and Related Services
  • Advanced/Graduate Dentistry and Oral Sciences
  • Neurobiology and Neurosciences
  • Cell/Cellular Biology and Anatomical Sciences
  • Biomedical/Medical Engineering
  • Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology
Online Doctoral Degrees (14 programs)▼
  • Neurobiology and Neurosciences
  • Biomedical/Medical Engineering
  • Physiology, Pathology and Related Sciences
  • Biomathematics, Bioinformatics, and Computational Biology
  • Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing
  • Cell/Cellular Biology and Anatomical Sciences
  • Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas
  • Public Health
  • Pharmacology and Toxicology
  • Microbiological Sciences and Immunology
  • Medical Illustration and Informatics
  • Genetics
  • Computer Engineering
  • Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology
Online Graduate/Professional Certificates (5 programs)▼
  • Dietetics and Clinical Nutrition Services
  • Medical Clinical Sciences/Graduate Medical Studies
  • Advanced/Graduate Dentistry and Oral Sciences
  • Biomathematics, Bioinformatics, and Computational Biology
  • Public Health
Online First Professional Degrees (3 programs)▼
  • Medicine
  • Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing
  • Dentistry

Student Demographics

Student Population

  • Total Undergraduate Enrollment 836
  • Full-Time Students 48.1%
  • Part-Time Students 51.9%
  • Male Students 18.4%
  • Female Students 81.6%
  • Caucasian 62.4%
  • Asian 6.0%
  • Hispanic 20.6%
  • Black 2.4%
  • Pell Grant Recipients 30.5%

Racial & Ethnic Diversity

Undergraduate student body composition by racial and ethnic background. This reflects Oregon Health & Science University's commitment to diversity and inclusion in admissions.

Gender Distribution

Gender breakdown of Oregon Health & Science University's undergraduate population. Women make up 81.6% of the student body, while men represent 18.4%.

Graduation Rate Equity Analysis

How well does Oregon Health & Science University support students from different economic backgrounds?

Pell Grant Recipients
69.2%
6-year graduation rate
Non-Pell Students
86.6%
6-year graduation rate
Equity Gap
17.4 pts
equity gap to monitor

What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at a different rate as higher-income students, indicating varying levels of institutional support for all economic backgrounds.

EDsmart Insight: Women make up 81.6% of undergraduates.

Graduation Rate Equity Analysis

How well does Oregon Health & Science University support students from different economic backgrounds?

Pell Grant Recipients
69.2%
6-year graduation rate
Non-Pell Students
86.6%
6-year graduation rate
Equity Gap
17.4 pts
equity gap to monitor

What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at a different rate as higher-income students, indicating varying levels of institutional support for all economic backgrounds.

Our Take

Ranking #89 overall, Oregon Health & Science University combines competitive admissions with 0.0% ROI, positioning itself among America's stronger universities. The institution balances academic rigor with $107,637 in median post-graduation earnings.

Students graduate within 150% of normal time at a 0.0% rate, with 0.0% retention reflecting solid satisfaction. The $0 annual net price falls in the moderate range, though 0 institutions deliver comparable outcomes at lower costs.

Competitive Selective University: Oregon Health & Science University's Market Position

A grade | #89 of 1934 | 95.4/100 on EDsmart's national index (0–100 vs. all ranked schools; not a raw point total)

Competitive Positioning: Oregon Health & Science University occupies the competitive selective tier—not elite enough for automatic career advantages, but strong enough to provide quality education and reasonable outcomes. The 0.0% ROI reflects this middle ground: better than most, but not top-tier.

Value for Money: $0 annually produces $107,637 median earnings—a reasonable but not exceptional return. Students choosing Oregon Health & Science University should evaluate whether the institution's specific programs, location, or campus culture justify costs versus higher-ROI alternatives.

Who Succeeds Here: Self-directed students who maximize campus resources (research, internships, networking) achieve outcomes rivaling higher-ranked schools. Students seeking specific programs or geographic locations find strong value. Those needing extensive hand-holding may struggle in larger university environments.

Final Assessment: Oregon Health & Science University's #89 ranking and A grade reflect solid performance across metrics. With 0 schools offering better ROI, value-focused students should compare carefully. However, for students who fit the institution's culture and programs, outcomes justify investment.

Key Takeaways

  • Median earnings of $107,637 run about 75% higher than national outcomes five years after graduation.
  • 97.2% employment rate within three years is 29.0 points above the national 68.2%.
  • 5:1 student-faculty ratio keeps advising personal and discussion-sized.
  • #89 of 1,934 national placement reflects steady performance among comparable institutions.

Helpfulness for Students

Green Flags
  • 5:1 student-faculty ratio keeps mentorship close and courses discussion-sized.
  • 97.2% employment rate within three years sits 29.0 points above national outcomes.
  • Career coaching and alumni mentoring help learners convert classes into early job offers.
Red Flags
  • Pell participation at 30.5% trails the national share by 8.1 points, so equity work remains important.
  • 55.4% of students borrow federal loans, outpacing typical campuses and raising repayment stakes.
  • Compare aid offers from nearby public universities to weigh the premium for smaller classes.
EDsmart Expert Analysis

Located in Portland, OR, Oregon Health & Science University operates as a public university and receives a A from EDsmart. It stands at #89 among 1934 schools Completion earns B, Support A-, Career Outcomes A+, and Affordability B-.

Grades are assigned relative to EDsmart's national bachelor's cohort using standardized outcomes (2026 methodology); they reflect how a school compares to peers, not a fixed percentage of a raw point total.

The eight-year award rate hovers around 95.1%. Review the cost and aid tables for a full picture of value.

Why it matters: this snapshot shows how likely you are to stay on track academically and whether the outcomes justify the price tag. Letter grades summarize cohort-relative performance—not a single exam-style score.

EDsmart Financial Snapshot

Review the charts above for a breakdown of tuition, aid, and typical expenses.

Aid awards vary by student profile, so completing the net price calculator is the best next step.

Graduates leave with a median of $16,625 in federal loans, which lines up with national norms.

About 30.5% of students receive Pell Grants, giving a snapshot of the campus income mix.

Why it matters: lining up sticker price, aid, and typical debt helps you stress-test the budget before you commit.

EDsmart Career Snapshot

Median earnings come in near $107,637 five years after graduation. Compared with the national median, that's 75% higher.

The three-year employment rate is close to 97.2%.

Use the ROI table above to estimate how long it may take to recoup your degree costs.

Why it matters: pairing median earnings with employment rates gives you a sense of payback time after graduation.

EDsmart Admissions Snapshot

This institution has not reported a current acceptance rate.

The admissions team encourages students to highlight academic strengths through transcripts, essays, and recommendations.

Prospective students can apply early for priority review and lean on the Oregon Health & Science University admissions site for deadlines, visit options, and counselor contacts.

Why it matters: knowing the admit rate and application expectations lets you map out testing, essays, and deadlines with less stress.

EDsmart Verdict
4.77 / 5
Value Rating - Based on affordability and career outcomes

Your Decision Toolkit

Run the Net Price Calculator
Get your personalized cost estimate
Compare with similar schools
See how Oregon Health & Science University stacks up to alternatives
Check your major's earnings
See ROI for your specific field of study
Visit the campus
Schedule a campus tour or virtual visit
Visit Oregon Health & Science University Website →

Cite this profile

Add your access date when you publish.

APA (7th): EDsmart. (2026). Oregon Health & Science University: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings. https://www.edsmart.org/schools/oregon-health-science-university/

MLA (9th): “Oregon Health & Science University: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings.” EDsmart, 2026, www.edsmart.org/schools/oregon-health-science-university/.

Chicago: EDsmart. “Oregon Health & Science University: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings.” https://www.edsmart.org/schools/oregon-health-science-university/.

Similar Schools

Institutions with similar academic profiles, selectivity, and outcomes

Nearby Schools

Other campuses you might consider

Other Oregon campuses you might consider

Linfield University
McMinnville, OR
A- #219 of 1,934
Oregon State University
Corvallis, OR
B+ #502 of 1,934
Oregon State University-Cascades Campus
Bend, OR
B+ #589 of 1,934
University of Oregon
Eugene, OR
B #748 of 1,934

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Oregon Health & Science University's ranking?

Oregon Health & Science University ranks #89 overall in EDsmart's 2026 college rankings with an overall grade of A, based on completion, affordability, support, and career outcomes.

What is Oregon Health & Science University's graduation rate?

At Oregon Health & Science University, the the federal 8-year award rate is 95.1%.

What are Oregon Health & Science University's job outcomes?

Graduates of Oregon Health & Science University report median earnings of $107,637 five years after graduation, according to U.S. Department of Education outcome data. Outcomes vary by major.

What is Oregon Health & Science University's student population?

Oregon Health & Science University enrolls about 836 undergraduate students, per U.S. Department of Education enrollment data.

Contact Information

  • AccreditationNorthwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU)
  • Endowment$1.26B

Data Source & Methodology ▼