Oregon State University Logo

Oregon State University

Corvallis, OR | Public | University

Oregon State University has an acceptance rate of 77.3%, an average net price of $21,504, and an overall rank of #502 (Grade B+). About 67.6% of students graduate within 150% of normal time, and median earnings are $72,442 five years after graduation. Data from the U.S. Department of Education and EDsmart's 2026 rankings.

Oregon State University is a public university in Corvallis, OR. Students most often pursue Natural Sciences and Computer Science.

Academically, students benefit from a 18:1 student-faculty ratio, and 87.8% first-year retention. Peer cohorts and advising networks provide scaffolding that keeps newcomers anchored during demanding semesters.

EDsmart calculates return on investment at 72.1%, roughly 22.2 points higher than typical outcomes. It's a compelling fit for students who appreciate an encouraging campus with room to explore.

B+
Ranking
#502 of 1,934
How We Rank Schools Higher pay after collegePublic school optionLarge campus life
At a Glance
Ranking
#502 of 1,934 (Top 26%)
Tuition
$15,117
Net Price
$21,504
4-Year Tuition
$60,468
Acceptance Rate
77.3%
Transfer Rate
16.7%
Student Population
30,743
Student-Faculty
18:1
Grad Rate (150% time)
67.6%
Grad Rate (8-year)
67.8%
Retention Rate
87.8%
4-Yr Earnings
$72,442
ROI
Not reported

Who is Oregon State University Best For?

A quick look at who tends to feel most at home here based on outcomes and campus context.

Students aiming for strong salaries
Explorers drawn to vibrant campus scale
Students seeking strong career outcomes
Students valuing supportive learning environments

EDsmart Scores Summary

Overall Ranking
#502 of 1,934
Top 26% of all institutions
EDsmart Score
74.1 / 100 (national index)
Curved score (top institution = 100.0)
Value Rating
3.70 / 5
Based on ROI and outcomes
Completion
A-
#319 of 1,934
Affordability
B-
#1,357 of 1,934
Support
B
#772 of 1,934
Career Outcomes
B
#628 of 1,934

Oregon State University graduates 67.6% of students within 150% of normal time (the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings), with an 8-year award rate of 67.8% and keeps 87.8% of first-year students. Affordability earns a B- compared with similar schools.

How we calculate this →

Cost & Financial Aid

Quick Answers

What does it cost?
Depends on income
$16,485-$29,717 annual net price based on family income.
What's the graduation rate?
Likely
67.6% graduate within 150% of normal time (the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings). The federal 8-year award rate is 67.8%. 44.8% complete in four years (IPEDS 100% time).
What are job outcomes?
Highly likely
91.1% of alumni are employed within three years of leaving. Median earnings five years after graduation are $72,442. Pay varies by major.
Get Your Personalized Cost Estimate

The costs shown are averages. Use Oregon State University's net price calculator to get an estimate based on your family's financial situation.

Calculate Your Net Price →

Total Degree Cost Summary

4-Year Total Cost (Pay with Cash)
$139,512
$34,878 × 4 years
Average Total Cost (Pay with Financial Aid)
$100,541
$21,504 × 4.7 years average
Time to Degree
Average: 4.7 years | 4-Year Rate: 44.8% | 6-Year Rate: 67.6% | 8-Year Rate: 67.8%
Most students finish in about four to five years. Four-year completion is 44.8% and six-year completion is 67.6%.

Annual Cost Comparison

Pay with Cash
$34,878
Total annual cost including tuition, books and living expenses; excluding any financial aid, grants or scholarships.
Pay with Financial Aid
$21,504
Average annual cost including tuition, books and living expenses after financial aid, grants or scholarships.

Est. annual aid gap: $13,374 Cash cost of attendance minus average net price after aid.

Cost of Undergraduate Attendance

Costs based on full-time, first-time degree- or certificate-seeking undergraduates.

View cost of attendance line items
Costs to Consider Price
Tuition and Fees $15,117
Books and Supplies $600
On-Campus Room and Board $17,205
On-Campus Other Expenses $3,696
Total On-Campus Cost $34,878

Tip: focus on the rows that match your living plan—commuters can swap in off-campus estimates while residential students should budget for housing, meals, and incidental fees.

Students Receiving Aid

Pell Grant
27.2%
Federal Loan
32.7%

Use these bars to gauge how many classmates rely on need-based dollars—lower Pell or loan shares may signal a wealthier student body or generous institutional grants.

EDsmart Insight: About 27.2% of Oregon State University students receive Pell Grants — below the national average, highlighting ongoing affordability priorities.

Net Price by Family Income

Average annual net price after financial aid, based on family income. Your actual cost may vary depending on your specific financial situation.

$0 - $30,000
$16,485
Average annual cost for families earning $0-$30K
$30,001 - $48,000
$15,853
Average annual cost for families earning $30K-$48K
$48,001 - $75,000
$16,651
Average annual cost for families earning $48K-$75K
$75,001 - $110,000
$21,090
Average annual cost for families earning $75K-$110K
$110,001+
$29,717
Average annual cost for families earning $110K+

Understanding These Numbers: Net price varies significantly by income level. Net prices range from $16,485 to $29,717 depending on family income. Use Oregon State University's net price calculator for a personalized estimate.

Typical total cost estimates (~4.7 years):
$0-$30K families
~$77,075
$30K-$48K families
~$74,120
$48K-$75K families
~$77,851
$75K-$110K families
~$98,605
AFFORDABILITY ALERT

If your family earns $75K-$110K: Expect to pay around $21,090/year

If your family earns $110K+: Expect to pay around $29,717/year

See all income brackets →

ROI & Career Outcomes

Return on Investment
Not reported
Based on median earnings five years after graduation vs. total degree cost
  • Median Earnings (5 Years After Graduation) $72,442
  • 10-Year Median Earnings $67,894
  • Average Years to Graduate 4.7 years
  • Average Student Debt $20,500
  • Debt-to-Earnings ~28.3%
  • Repayment Rate (3yr) 66.6%
  • Employment Rate 91.1%

Graduate Earnings Distribution

Earnings range for Oregon State University graduates about 10 years after enrollment (25th percentile, median, and 75th percentile). Different horizon than median earnings five years after graduation above.

Graduates earn a median of $72,442 five years after graduation — roughly 18% above the national median.
Payback Period
1.39 years
Total Degree Cost ÷ Annual Earnings

Oregon State University vs. National Average

Comparison of key performance metrics showing how Oregon State University's outcomes compare to the national average across earnings, graduation rates, retention, ROI, and employment. This contextualizes Oregon State University's performance within the broader higher education landscape.

Acceptance & Selectivity

Getting In

Acceptance Rate
77.3%
Lightly Selective
National Average
69%
Average acceptance rate
  • SAT Evidence-Based Reading 580-700
  • SAT Math 560-700
  • SAT Writing Not reported
  • ACT Composite 24-31
  • SAT & ACT Required
  • Undergraduate Enrollment 30,743
  • Full-Time Students 71.5%
  • Part-Time Students 28.5%
  • Retention Rate 87.8%
  • Grad Rate (150% time) 67.6%
  • Grad Rate (8-year) 67.8%
  • Student-Faculty Ratio 18:1

How to Get Into Oregon State University

1. Meet Academic Requirements: Oregon State University requires strong academic performance. Aim for test scores within the reported ranges and maintain a competitive GPA. Most admitted students rank in the top 10% of their high school class.

2. Build a Strong Application: Beyond test scores, focus on crafting compelling essays, securing strong letters of recommendation, and highlighting extracurricular activities that demonstrate leadership and commitment.

3. Understand Selectivity: With an acceptance rate of 77.3%, Oregon State University is relatively open. Consider applying early decision if available, as early applicants often have higher acceptance rates.

4. Financial Planning: Review the net price calculator and financial aid options early. Many students receive significant aid, making the actual cost lower than the sticker price.

Tip: Contact the admissions office directly for the most current application requirements, deadlines, and any special programs (like early decision or early action) that might improve your chances.

EDsmart Insight: With a 77.3% acceptance rate, Oregon State University is more accessible than highly selective schools. Meeting the test score ranges and maintaining a solid GPA significantly improves admission chances. The middle 50% of admitted students score between 1140 and 1400 on the SAT.

Academic Programs

Undergraduate Program Distribution

Breakdown of the most popular majors and fields of study among Oregon State University undergraduates. Computer Science, Business Administration, Management and Operations, and Mechanical Engineering draw the most students.

  • Computer Science 10.6%
  • Business Administration, Management and Operations 6.9%
  • Mechanical Engineering 4.6%
  • Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Ser 4.5%
  • Psychology, General 4.3%
  • Biology, General 3.8%
See more majors
  • Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitnes 3.6%
  • Finance and Financial Management Services 2.8%

Highest Earning Programs

Median earnings five years after graduation for each program. These figures help illustrate ROI by field of study and degree level.

Undergraduate Programs (Bachelor's Degrees)

  • 1. Natural Sciences $112,393
  • 2. Computer Science $109,905
  • 3. Construction Engineering $106,199
Show additional high-earning majors
  • 4. Electrical, Electronics and Communications Engineering $105,331
  • 5. Health/Medical Preparatory Programs $103,024
  • 6. Biomedical/Medical Engineering $96,618
  • 7. Chemical Engineering $95,971
  • 8. Mechanical Engineering $94,649
  • 9. Nuclear Engineering $94,372
  • 10. Industrial Engineering $92,997

Graduate Programs (Master's, Doctoral, Professional)

  • 1. Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and Administration (First Professional Degree) $153,136
  • 2. Education, General (Doctoral Degree) $124,171
  • 3. Veterinary Medicine (First Professional Degree) $106,174
Show additional graduate majors
  • 4. Statistics (Master's Degree) $104,485
  • 5. Mechanical Engineering (Master's Degree) $103,349
  • 6. Civil Engineering (Master's Degree) $95,640
  • 7. Business Administration, Management and Operations (Master's Degree) $93,312
  • 8. Public Health (Master's Degree) $79,489
  • 9. Forestry (Master's Degree) $76,924
  • 10. Natural Resources Management and Policy (Master's Degree) $73,952

Program Choice Matters: Undergraduate: Natural Sciences grads earn $112,393—21% more than Industrial Engineering ($92,997). Graduate: Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and Administration programs lead with $153,136 median earnings. Your program and degree level choice significantly impact career earnings.

Online Degrees & Distance Learning

U.S. Department of Education data reports fully online programs for Oregon State University. Below are the most popular options based on the number of recent graduates, followed by a quick look at the breadth of online offerings by degree level.
Source: U.S. Department of Education

Most Popular Online Degrees

  • Business Administration, Management and Operations (Bachelor's Degree, 419 graduates)
  • Biology, General (Bachelor's Degree, 193 graduates)
  • Health/Medical Preparatory Programs (Bachelor's Degree, 141 graduates)
  • Public Health (Bachelor's Degree, 112 graduates)
  • Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering (Bachelor's Degree, 109 graduates)

What This School Offers Online, at a Glance

U.S. Department of Education data flags the following online degree and certificate programs for this institution. Expand each credential level to view the complete list of available subjects.

Online Bachelor's Degrees (45 programs)▼
  • Business Administration, Management and Operations
  • Biology, General
  • Health/Medical Preparatory Programs
  • Public Health
  • Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering
  • Civil Engineering
  • Chemical Engineering
  • Animal Sciences
  • Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology
  • Mathematics
  • Manufacturing Engineering
  • Forest Engineering
  • Biomedical/Medical Engineering
  • Nutrition Sciences
  • Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
  • Industrial Engineering
  • Music
  • Physics
  • Microbiological Sciences and Immunology
  • Fine and Studio Arts
  • Food Science and Technology
  • Chemistry
  • English Language and Literature, General
  • Nuclear Engineering
  • Environmental/Environmental Health Engineering
  • Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences Business Services
  • Architectural Engineering
  • Agricultural Engineering
  • Geological and Earth Sciences/Geosciences
  • Engineering, Other
  • Agricultural Business and Management
  • Social Sciences, General
  • Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies
  • Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies
  • Biotechnology
  • Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other
  • Atmospheric Sciences and Meteorology
  • Forestry
  • Marine Sciences
  • Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft
  • Biomathematics, Bioinformatics, and Computational Biology
  • Area Studies
  • Visual and Performing Arts, General
  • International/Globalization Studies
  • Engineering Science
Online Master's Degrees (43 programs)▼
  • Environmental/Natural Resources Management and Policy
  • Civil Engineering
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Statistics
  • Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering
  • Forestry
  • Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies
  • Mechatronics, Robotics, and Automation Engineering
  • Geological and Earth Sciences/Geosciences
  • Plant Sciences
  • Mathematics
  • Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas
  • Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions
  • Pharmacology and Toxicology
  • Food Science and Technology
  • Fishing and Fisheries Sciences and Management
  • English Language and Literature, General
  • Nuclear Engineering
  • Environmental/Environmental Health Engineering
  • Chemistry
  • Botany/Plant Biology
  • Veterinary Biomedical and Clinical Sciences
  • Research and Experimental Psychology
  • Physics
  • Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other
  • Microbiological Sciences and Immunology
  • Materials Sciences
  • Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
  • Biology, General
  • Anthropology
  • Geography and Cartography
  • Chemical Engineering
  • Economics
  • Biomedical/Medical Engineering
  • Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology
  • Animal Sciences
  • Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies
  • Soil Sciences
  • Philosophy
  • Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services
  • Physiology, Pathology and Related Sciences
  • Communication and Media Studies
  • Agricultural Engineering
Online Doctoral Degrees (47 programs)▼
  • Computer Science
  • Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering
  • Public Health
  • Education, General
  • Chemistry
  • Mechatronics, Robotics, and Automation Engineering
  • Forestry
  • Civil Engineering
  • Mathematics
  • Microbiological Sciences and Immunology
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Biology, General
  • Pharmacology and Toxicology
  • Natural Resources Conservation and Research
  • Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services
  • Geological and Earth Sciences/Geosciences
  • Food Science and Technology
  • Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology
  • Public Policy Analysis
  • Physics
  • Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and Administration
  • Materials Sciences
  • Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies
  • Economics
  • Soil Sciences
  • Research and Experimental Psychology
  • Plant Sciences
  • Nuclear Engineering
  • Botany/Plant Biology
  • Veterinary Biomedical and Clinical Sciences
  • Industrial Engineering
  • Geography and Cartography
  • Biomedical/Medical Engineering
  • Statistics
  • Nutrition Sciences
  • Fishing and Fisheries Sciences and Management
  • Environmental/Environmental Health Engineering
  • Chemical Engineering
  • Cell/Cellular Biology and Anatomical Sciences
  • Business Administration, Management and Operations
  • Animal Sciences
  • Zoology/Animal Biology
  • Computer and Information Sciences, General
  • Agricultural Engineering
  • Physiology, Pathology and Related Sciences
  • History
  • Anthropology
Online Graduate/Professional Certificates (4 programs)▼
  • Peace Studies and Conflict Resolution
  • Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication
  • Gerontology
  • Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and Services
Online First Professional Degrees (3 programs)▼
  • Veterinary Medicine
  • Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and Administration
  • Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions

Student Demographics

Student Population

  • Total Undergraduate Enrollment 30,743
  • Full-Time Students 71.5%
  • Part-Time Students 28.5%
  • Male Students 50.8%
  • Female Students 49.2%
  • Caucasian 63.4%
  • Asian 8.1%
  • Hispanic 13.2%
  • Black 2.2%
  • Pell Grant Recipients 27.2%

Racial & Ethnic Diversity

Undergraduate student body composition by racial and ethnic background. This reflects Oregon State University's commitment to diversity and inclusion in admissions.

Gender Distribution

Gender breakdown of Oregon State University's undergraduate population. The university maintains a roughly balanced gender distribution across its student body.

Graduation Rate Equity Analysis

How well does Oregon State University support students from different economic backgrounds?

Pell Grant Recipients
57.9%
6-year graduation rate
Non-Pell Students
71.5%
6-year graduation rate
Equity Gap
13.6 pts
equity gap to monitor

What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at a different rate as higher-income students, indicating varying levels of institutional support for all economic backgrounds.

Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity

Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity

Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at Oregon State University, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.

Graduation Rate Equity Analysis

How well does Oregon State University support students from different economic backgrounds?

Pell Grant Recipients
57.9%
6-year graduation rate
Non-Pell Students
71.5%
6-year graduation rate
Equity Gap
13.6 pts
equity gap to monitor

What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at a different rate as higher-income students, indicating varying levels of institutional support for all economic backgrounds.

Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity

Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity

Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at Oregon State University, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.

Our Take

Oregon State University serves as an affordable university for students seeking quality education without elite university costs. Ranked #502 overall with ROI data not available, the institution balances practical outcomes with budget-friendly pricing.

At $21,504 annually, students gain access to career-focused programs leading to $72,442 median earnings. The 67.6% graduation rate reflects reasonable completion metrics for a university. While 87.8% retention suggests adequate student support.

University Value: Oregon State University's Strengths

Ranked #502 with a B+ grade, Oregon State University prioritizes accessibility and local career connections over national prestige.

Primary Strengths: Universitys like Oregon State University excel at providing affordable education ($21,504 annually) with strong local employer relationships. Many programs emphasize practical skills and internships within the regional economy.

Best For: Students planning to work in the region after graduation benefit from established employer connections. Adult learners and part-time students appreciate flexible scheduling. First-generation students and budget-conscious families gain degrees without overwhelming debt.

Honest Assessment: Oregon State University's 87.8% retention and 67.6% graduation rate trail elite universities but align with typical university performance. Career outcomes ($72,442 median earnings) reflect regional job markets more than national opportunities.

Value Verdict: For students committed to regional careers, Oregon State University and $21,504 cost deliver solid value. Those seeking national job mobility or prestigious credentials should compare against flagship state universities or targeted private scholarships.

Key Takeaways

  • 67.6% graduation rate sits 5.1 points above the national 62.5% benchmark.
  • 87.8% first-year retention is 11.0 points above the national norm of 76.8%.
  • Median earnings of $72,442 run about 18% higher than national outcomes five years after graduation.
  • Average net price of $21,504 is roughly $1,596 higher than the national median of $19,908.
  • 91.1% employment rate within three years is 22.9 points above the national 68.2%.

Helpfulness for Students

Green Flags
  • 18:1 student-faculty ratio keeps mentorship close and courses discussion-sized.
  • 87.8% first-year retention shows students stay engaged after the first year.
  • 91.1% employment rate within three years sits 22.9 points above national outcomes.
Red Flags
  • Average net price of $21,504 is about $1,596 higher than comparable schools, so scholarship planning is key.
  • Pell participation at 27.2% trails the national share by 11.4 points, so equity work remains important.
  • Compare aid offers from nearby public universities to weigh the premium for smaller classes.
EDsmart Expert Analysis

Located in Corvallis, OR, Oregon State University operates as a public university and receives a B+ from EDsmart. It stands at #502 among 1934 schools Grades by category break down as Completion A-, Support B, Career Outcomes B, and Affordability B-.

Grades are assigned relative to EDsmart's national bachelor's cohort using standardized outcomes (2026 methodology); they reflect how a school compares to peers, not a fixed percentage of a raw point total.

About 87.8% of first-year students return; 67.6% graduate within 150% of normal time, with an 8-year award rate of 67.8%. Review the cost and aid tables for a full picture of value.

Why it matters: this snapshot shows how likely you are to stay on track academically and whether the outcomes justify the price tag. Letter grades summarize cohort-relative performance—not a single exam-style score.

EDsmart Financial Snapshot

Families pay about $21,504 on average after aid, compared with a published cost near $34,878.

Institutional and federal aid lower costs by roughly $13,374 per year.

Graduates leave with a median of $20,500 in federal loans, which lines up with national norms.

About 27.2% of students receive Pell Grants, giving a snapshot of the campus income mix.

Why it matters: lining up sticker price, aid, and typical debt helps you stress-test the budget before you commit.

EDsmart Career Snapshot

Graduates report median earnings of about $72,442 five years after graduation. Compared with the national median, that's 18% higher.

The three-year employment rate is close to 91.1%.

Use the ROI table above to estimate how long it may take to recoup your degree costs.

Why it matters: pairing median earnings with employment rates gives you a sense of payback time after graduation.

EDsmart Admissions Snapshot

77.3% of applicants receive offers, so preparation and fit matter.

The admissions team encourages students to highlight academic strengths through transcripts, essays, and recommendations.

Prospective students can apply early for priority review and lean on the Oregon State University admissions site for deadlines, visit options, and counselor contacts.

Why it matters: knowing the admit rate and application expectations lets you map out testing, essays, and deadlines with less stress.

EDsmart Verdict
3.70 / 5
Value Rating - Based on affordability and career outcomes

Your Decision Toolkit

Run the Net Price Calculator
Get your personalized cost estimate
Compare with similar schools
See how Oregon State University stacks up to alternatives
Check your major's earnings
See ROI for your specific field of study
Visit the campus
Schedule a campus tour or virtual visit
Visit Oregon State University Website →

Cite this profile

Add your access date when you publish.

APA (7th): EDsmart. (2026). Oregon State University: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings. https://www.edsmart.org/schools/oregon-state-university/

MLA (9th): “Oregon State University: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings.” EDsmart, 2026, www.edsmart.org/schools/oregon-state-university/.

Chicago: EDsmart. “Oregon State University: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings.” https://www.edsmart.org/schools/oregon-state-university/.

Similar Schools

Institutions with similar academic profiles, selectivity, and outcomes

Nearby Schools

Other campuses you might consider

Other Oregon campuses you might consider

Oregon State University-Cascades Campus
Bend, OR
B+ #589 of 1,934
Warner Pacific University
Portland, OR
B #697 of 1,934
University of Oregon
Eugene, OR
B #748 of 1,934
Portland State University
Portland, OR
B #765 of 1,934

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Oregon State University's acceptance rate?

Oregon State University's acceptance rate is 77.3%, based on U.S. Department of Education admissions data.

How much does Oregon State University cost?

At Oregon State University, listed tuition and fees are $15,117 per year, and the average net price after aid is $21,504. Use the net price calculator on this page for a personalized estimate.

What is Oregon State University's ranking?

Oregon State University ranks #502 overall in EDsmart's 2026 college rankings with an overall grade of B+, based on completion, affordability, support, and career outcomes.

What is Oregon State University's graduation rate?

At Oregon State University, the graduation rate within 150% of normal time is 67.6% (the rate used in EDsmart rankings), the federal 8-year award rate is 67.8%, and first-year retention is 87.8%.

What are Oregon State University's job outcomes?

Graduates of Oregon State University report median earnings of $72,442 five years after graduation, according to U.S. Department of Education outcome data. Outcomes vary by major.

What is Oregon State University's student population?

Oregon State University enrolls about 30,743 undergraduate students, per U.S. Department of Education enrollment data.

Contact Information

  • AccreditationNorthwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU)
  • Endowment$946.9M
  • Transfer Enrollment Rate16.7%

Data Source & Methodology ▼