Otis College of Art and Design
Otis College of Art and Design has an acceptance rate of 81.8%, an average net price of $50,943, and an overall rank of #1748 (Grade C). About 58.0% of students graduate within 150% of normal time, and median earnings are $54,795 five years after graduation. Data from the U.S. Department of Education and EDsmart's 2027 rankings.
Otis College of Art and Design is a private nonprofit university in Los Angeles, CA. Students most often pursue Design and Applied Arts and Visual and Performing Arts.
Academically, students benefit from a 9:1 student-faculty ratio, and 74.5% first-year retention. Peer cohorts and advising networks provide scaffolding that keeps newcomers anchored during demanding semesters.
EDsmart calculates return on investment at 23.5%, roughly 26.4 points below typical outcomes. It's a compelling fit for students who appreciate an encouraging campus with room to explore and students looking for meaningful faculty access.
Who is Otis College of Art and Design Best For?
A quick look at who tends to feel most at home here based on outcomes and campus context.
EDsmart Scores Summary
Otis College of Art and Design graduates 58.0% of students within 150% of normal time (the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings), with an 8-year award rate of 65.3% and keeps 74.5% of first-year students. Affordability earns a D compared with similar schools.
How we calculate this →Cost & Financial Aid
Quick Answers
The costs shown are averages. Use Otis College of Art and Design's net price calculator to get an estimate based on your family's financial situation.
Calculate Your Net Price →Total Degree Cost Summary
Annual Cost Comparison
Est. annual aid gap: $27,120 Cash cost of attendance minus average net price after aid.
Cost of Undergraduate Attendance
Costs based on full-time, first-time degree- or certificate-seeking undergraduates.
View cost of attendance line items
| Costs to Consider | Price |
|---|---|
| Tuition and Fees | $58,143 |
| Books and Supplies | $1,090 |
| On-Campus Room and Board | $23,230 |
| On-Campus Other Expenses | $4,611 |
| Total On-Campus Cost | $78,063 |
Tip: focus on the rows that match your living plan—commuters can swap in off-campus estimates while residential students should budget for housing, meals, and incidental fees.
Students Receiving Aid
Use these bars to gauge how many classmates rely on need-based dollars—lower Pell or loan shares may signal a wealthier student body or generous institutional grants.
EDsmart Insight: About 41.4% of Otis College of Art and Design students receive Pell Grants — above the national average, highlighting ongoing affordability priorities.
Net Price by Family Income
Average annual net price after financial aid, based on family income. Your actual cost may vary depending on your specific financial situation.
Understanding These Numbers: Net price varies significantly by income level. Net prices range from $43,134 to $56,750 depending on family income. Use Otis College of Art and Design's net price calculator for a personalized estimate.
If your family earns $75K-$110K: Expect to pay around $48,898/year
If your family earns $110K+: Expect to pay around $56,750/year
See all income brackets →ROI & Career Outcomes
- Median Earnings (5 Years After Graduation) $54,795
- 10-Year Median Earnings $70,469
- Average Years to Graduate 4.6 years
- Average Student Debt $26,500
- Debt-to-Earnings ~48.4%
- Repayment Rate (3yr) 69.4%
- Employment Rate 84.5%
Graduate Earnings Distribution
Earnings range for Otis College of Art and Design graduates about 10 years after enrollment (25th percentile, median, and 75th percentile). Different horizon than median earnings five years after graduation above.
Otis College of Art and Design vs. National Average
Comparison of key performance metrics showing how Otis College of Art and Design's outcomes compare to the national average across earnings, graduation rates, retention, ROI, and employment. This contextualizes Otis College of Art and Design's performance within the broader higher education landscape.
EDsmart Insight: While Otis College of Art and Design graduates earn $54,795 median, the 23.5% ROI suggests the investment may take longer to pay off. Consider your major choice and career goals when evaluating value.
Acceptance & Selectivity
Getting In
- SAT Evidence-Based Reading 665-720
- SAT Math 600-675
- SAT Writing Not reported
- ACT Composite Not reported
- SAT & ACT Required
- Undergraduate Enrollment 1,223
- Full-Time Students 98.2%
- Part-Time Students 1.8%
- Retention Rate 74.5%
- Grad Rate (150% time) 58.0%
- Grad Rate (8-year) 65.3%
- Student-Faculty Ratio 9:1
How to Get Into Otis College of Art and Design
1. Meet Academic Requirements: Otis College of Art and Design requires strong academic performance. Aim for test scores within the reported ranges and maintain a competitive GPA. Most admitted students rank in the top 10% of their high school class.
2. Build a Strong Application: Beyond test scores, focus on crafting compelling essays, securing strong letters of recommendation, and highlighting extracurricular activities that demonstrate leadership and commitment.
3. Understand Selectivity: With an acceptance rate of 81.8%, Otis College of Art and Design is relatively open. Consider applying early decision if available, as early applicants often have higher acceptance rates.
4. Financial Planning: Review the net price calculator and financial aid options early. Many students receive significant aid, making the actual cost lower than the sticker price.
Tip: Contact the admissions office directly for the most current application requirements, deadlines, and any special programs (like early decision or early action) that might improve your chances.
EDsmart Insight: With a 81.8% acceptance rate, Otis College of Art and Design is more accessible than highly selective schools. Meeting the test score ranges and maintaining a solid GPA significantly improves admission chances. The middle 50% of admitted students score between 1265 and 1395 on the SAT.
Academic Programs
Undergraduate Program Distribution
Breakdown of the most popular majors and fields of study among Otis College of Art and Design undergraduates. Visual and Performing Arts, General, Design and Applied Arts, and Fine and Studio Arts draw the most students.
- Visual and Performing Arts, General 43.0%
- Design and Applied Arts 40.4%
- Fine and Studio Arts 11.1%
- Environmental Design 5.5%
Highest Earning Programs
Median earnings five years after graduation for each program. These figures help illustrate ROI by field of study and degree level.
Undergraduate Programs (Bachelor's Degrees)
- 1. Design and Applied Arts $59,769
- 2. Visual and Performing Arts, General $58,732
- 3. Fine and Studio Arts $32,288
Program Choice Matters: Undergraduate: Design and Applied Arts grads earn $59,769—85% more than Fine and Studio Arts ($32,288). Your program and degree level choice significantly impact career earnings.
Online Degrees & Distance Learning
U.S. Department of Education data reports fully online programs for Otis College of Art and Design. Below are the most popular options based on the number of recent graduates, followed by a quick look at the breadth of online offerings by degree level.
Source: U.S. Department of Education
Most Popular Online Degrees
- Visual and Performing Arts, General (Bachelor's Degree, 101 graduates)
- Design and Applied Arts (Bachelor's Degree, 95 graduates)
- Fine and Studio Arts (Bachelor's Degree, 26 graduates)
- Environmental Design (Bachelor's Degree, 13 graduates)
- Fine and Studio Arts (Master's Degree, 11 graduates)
What This School Offers Online, at a Glance
U.S. Department of Education data flags the following online degree and certificate programs for this institution. Expand each credential level to view the complete list of available subjects.
Online Bachelor's Degrees (4 programs)▼
- Visual and Performing Arts, General
- Design and Applied Arts
- Fine and Studio Arts
- Environmental Design
Online Master's Degrees (2 programs)▼
- Fine and Studio Arts
- Design and Applied Arts
Student Demographics
Student Population
- Total Undergraduate Enrollment 1,223
- Full-Time Students 98.2%
- Part-Time Students 1.8%
- Male Students 29.1%
- Female Students 70.9%
- Caucasian 24.9%
- Asian 18.7%
- Hispanic 23.4%
- Black 6.0%
- Pell Grant Recipients 41.4%
Racial & Ethnic Diversity
Undergraduate student body composition by racial and ethnic background. This reflects Otis College of Art and Design's commitment to diversity and inclusion in admissions.
Gender Distribution
Gender breakdown of Otis College of Art and Design's undergraduate population. Women make up 70.9% of the student body, while men represent 29.1%.
Graduation Rate Equity Analysis
How well does Otis College of Art and Design support students from different economic backgrounds?
What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at nearly the same rate as higher-income students, indicating strong institutional support for all economic backgrounds.
Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity
Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity
Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at Otis College of Art and Design, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.
EDsmart Insight: Otis College of Art and Design has a diverse student body, with 24.9% identifying as White. Women make up 70.9% of undergraduates.
Graduation Rate Equity Analysis
How well does Otis College of Art and Design support students from different economic backgrounds?
What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at nearly the same rate as higher-income students, indicating strong institutional support for all economic backgrounds.
Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity
Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity
Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at Otis College of Art and Design, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.
Our Take
Otis College of Art and Design offers a private university experience at a regional scale, combining smaller class sizes with 23.5% ROI. Ranked #1748 overall, the institution balances personalized attention against higher costs than public alternatives.
The $50,943 annual net price is significantly higher than public universities, offset somewhat by $54,795 median earnings. With 58.0% graduating within 150% of normal time and 74.5% returning for sophomore year, outcomes reflect the personalized support typical of smaller private institutions.
Private University Value: Otis College of Art and Design's Positioning
With a C grade and #1748 ranking, Otis College of Art and Design competes in the crowded regional private university market.
The Private University Premium: At $50,943 annually, Otis College of Art and Design charges more than public alternatives but typically offers smaller classes, more personalized advising, and tighter-knit campus communities. The 74.5% retention rate suggests students value this environment.
Who Benefits Most: Students who thrive in smaller, more intimate academic settings. Those seeking specific programs or values-based education aligned with the institution's mission. Students who receive merit scholarships that bring costs below $35,660 achieve particularly strong value.
Cost-Benefit Reality: The 23.5% ROI and $54,795 median earnings don't always justify the premium over public universities. Students paying full price should compare whether the personalized experience warrants $40,943+ in additional annual costs over state flagships.
Competitive Standing: Otis College of Art and Design ranks #1748 of 1955 institutions, with 1715 schools achieving higher ROI. For students offered substantial merit aid or seeking specific programs unavailable at public universities, the value proposition strengthens significantly.
Key Takeaways
- 58.0% graduation rate sits 4.5 points below the national 62.5% benchmark.
- 74.5% first-year retention is 2.3 points below the national norm of 76.8%.
- 23.5% return on investment is 26.4 points below the national 49.9% benchmark.
- Median earnings of $54,795 run about 11% lower than national outcomes five years after graduation.
- Average net price of $50,943 is roughly $31,062 higher than the national median of $19,881.
Helpfulness for Students
- 9:1 student-faculty ratio keeps mentorship close and courses discussion-sized.
- 74.5% first-year retention shows students stay engaged after the first year.
- 84.5% employment rate within three years sits 16.3 points above national outcomes.
- Average net price of $50,943 is about $31,062 higher than comparable schools, so scholarship planning is key.
- 47.2% of students borrow federal loans, outpacing typical campuses and raising repayment stakes.
- Compare aid offers from nearby public universities to weigh the premium for smaller classes.
EDsmart Expert Analysis
Located in Los Angeles, CA, Otis College of Art and Design operates as a private nonprofit university and receives a C from EDsmart. It is currently ranked #1748 overall Completion earns B, Support B+, Career Outcomes C, and Affordability D.
Grades are assigned relative to EDsmart's national bachelor's cohort using standardized outcomes (2027 rankings methodology); they reflect how a school compares to peers, not a fixed percentage of a raw point total.
About 74.5% of first-year students return; 58.0% graduate within 150% of normal time, with an 8-year award rate of 65.3%. The reported ROI is 23.5%, a figure families can weigh against cost and aid details above.
Why it matters: this snapshot shows how likely you are to stay on track academically and whether the outcomes justify the price tag. Letter grades summarize cohort-relative performance—not a single exam-style score.
EDsmart Financial Snapshot
Families pay about $50,943 on average after aid, compared with a published cost near $78,063.
Institutional and federal aid lower costs by roughly $27,120 per year.
Graduates leave with a median of $26,500 in federal loans, which lines up with national norms.
About 41.4% of students receive Pell Grants, giving a snapshot of the campus income mix.
Why it matters: lining up sticker price, aid, and typical debt helps you stress-test the budget before you commit.
EDsmart Career Snapshot
Five years after graduation, graduates earn roughly $54,795 at the median. Compared with the national median, that's 11% lower.
The three-year employment rate is close to 84.5%.
The ROI comes in near 23.5%, which you can cross-check against your financial plan.
Why it matters: pairing median earnings with employment rates gives you a sense of payback time after graduation.
EDsmart Admissions Snapshot
81.8% of applicants receive offers, so preparation and fit matter.
The admissions team encourages students to highlight academic strengths through transcripts, essays, and recommendations.
Prospective students can apply early for priority review and lean on the Otis College of Art and Design admissions site for deadlines, visit options, and counselor contacts.
Why it matters: knowing the admit rate and application expectations lets you map out testing, essays, and deadlines with less stress.
Your Decision Toolkit
Cite this profile
Add your access date when you publish.
APA (7th): EDsmart. (2026). Otis College of Art and Design: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings. https://www.edsmart.org/schools/otis-college-of-art-and-design/
MLA (9th): “Otis College of Art and Design: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings.” EDsmart, 2026, www.edsmart.org/schools/otis-college-of-art-and-design/.
Chicago: EDsmart. “Otis College of Art and Design: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings.” https://www.edsmart.org/schools/otis-college-of-art-and-design/.
Similar Schools
Institutions with similar academic profiles, selectivity, and outcomes
Nearby Schools
Other campuses you might consider
Other California campuses you might consider
Frequently Asked Questions
What is Otis College of Art and Design's acceptance rate?
Otis College of Art and Design's acceptance rate is 81.8%, based on U.S. Department of Education admissions data.
How much does Otis College of Art and Design cost?
At Otis College of Art and Design, the average net price after grants and scholarships is $50,943 per year. That covers tuition, books, and living costs, which total $78,063 a year before aid. Tuition and fees alone are $58,143. Use the net price calculator on this page for a personalized estimate.
What is Otis College of Art and Design's ranking?
Otis College of Art and Design ranks #1748 overall in EDsmart's 2027 college rankings with an overall grade of C, based on completion, affordability, support, and career outcomes.
What is Otis College of Art and Design's graduation rate?
At Otis College of Art and Design, the graduation rate within 150% of normal time is 58.0% (the rate used in EDsmart rankings), the federal 8-year award rate is 65.3%, and first-year retention is 74.5%.
What are Otis College of Art and Design's job outcomes?
Graduates of Otis College of Art and Design report median earnings of $54,795 five years after graduation, according to U.S. Department of Education outcome data. Outcomes vary by major.
What is Otis College of Art and Design's student population?
Otis College of Art and Design enrolls about 1,223 undergraduate students, per U.S. Department of Education enrollment data.
Contact Information
- Address 9045 Lincoln Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90045-3505
- Website www.otis.edu
- Net Price Calculator Calculate Your Cost
- Financial AidView Financial Aid Information
- AccreditationWestern Association of Schools and Colleges Senior Colleges and University Commission (WASCSR)
- Endowment$22.8M
- Transfer Enrollment Rate21.2%