Our Lady of the Lake University Logo

Our Lady of the Lake University

San Antonio, TX | Private Nonprofit | University

Our Lady of the Lake University has annual tuition of $32,106, average net price of $16,442, and a national rank of #948 (Grade B), with a 46.1% graduation rate within 150% of normal time, about 1,066 undergraduates, and median earnings of $55,876 four years after graduation. Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard and EDsmart's 2026 rankings.

Our Lady of the Lake University is a private nonprofit university in San Antonio, TX. Students most often pursue Business Administration, Management and Operations and Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods.

Academically, students benefit from a 11:1 student-faculty ratio, and 62.8% first-year retention. Peer cohorts and advising networks provide scaffolding that keeps newcomers anchored during demanding semesters.

EDsmart calculates return on investment at 75.3%, roughly 25.4 points higher than typical outcomes. It's a compelling fit for students who appreciate an encouraging campus with room to explore.

B
Ranking
#948 of 1,947
How We Rank Schools Small campus feel
At a Glance
Ranking
#948 of 1,947 (Top 48.7%)
Tuition
$32,106
Net Price
$16,442
4-Year Tuition
$128,424
Acceptance Rate
Not reported
Transfer Rate
0.0%
Student Population
1,066
Student-Faculty
11:1
Grad Rate (150% time)
46.1%
Grad Rate (8-year)
46.9%
Retention Rate
62.8%
4-Yr Earnings
$55,876
ROI
75.3%

Who is Our Lady of the Lake University Best For?

A quick look at who tends to feel most at home here based on outcomes and campus context.

Students who thrive with close mentoring
First-gen or Pell-eligible support
Learners who value a tight-knit campus
Students valuing supportive learning environments

EDsmart Scores Summary

Overall Ranking
#948 of 1,947
Top 48.7% of all institutions
EDsmart Score
51.4 / 100 (national index)
Curved score (top institution = 100.0)
Value Rating
2.57 / 5
Based on ROI and outcomes
Completion
C+
#1,480 of 1,947
Affordability
A-
#303 of 1,947
Support
B-
#1,278 of 1,947
Career Outcomes
B
#922 of 1,947

Our Lady of the Lake University graduates 46.1% of students within 150% of normal time (the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings), with an 8-year award rate of 46.9% and keeps 62.8% of first-year students. Affordability earns an A- compared with similar schools.

How we calculate this →

Cost & Financial Aid

Quick Answers

What does it cost?
Depends on income
$16,236-$19,100 annual net price based on family income.
What's the graduation rate?
Somewhat likely
46.1% graduate within 150% of normal time (the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings). The College Scorecard 8-year award rate is 46.9%. 34.3% complete in four years (IPEDS 100% time).
What are job outcomes?
Highly likely
90.1% of alumni are employed within three years of leaving. Median earnings four years after graduation are $55,876. Pay varies by major.
Get Your Personalized Cost Estimate

The costs shown are averages. Use Our Lady of the Lake University's net price calculator to get an estimate based on your family's financial situation.

Calculate Your Net Price →

Total Degree Cost Summary

4-Year Total Cost (Pay with Cash)
$171,460
$42,865 × 4 years
Average Total Cost (Pay with Financial Aid)
$74,176
$16,442 × 4.5 years average
Time to Degree
Average: 4.5 years | 4-Year Rate: 34.3% | 6-Year Rate: 46.1% | 8-Year Rate: 46.9%
Most students finish in about four to five years. Four-year completion is 34.3% and six-year completion is 46.1%.

Annual Cost Comparison

Pay with Cash
$42,865
Total annual cost including tuition, books and living expenses; excluding any financial aid, grants or scholarships.
Pay with Financial Aid
$16,442
Average annual cost including tuition, books and living expenses after financial aid, grants or scholarships.

Cost of Undergraduate Attendance

Costs based on full-time, first-time degree- or certificate-seeking undergraduates.

View cost of attendance line items
Costs to Consider Price
Tuition and Fees $32,106
Books and Supplies $0
On-Campus Room and Board $11,088
On-Campus Other Expenses $4,320
Total On-Campus Cost $42,865

Tip: focus on the rows that match your living plan—commuters can swap in off-campus estimates while residential students should budget for housing, meals, and incidental fees.

Students Receiving Aid

Pell Grant
57.2%
Federal Loan
0.0%

Use these bars to gauge how many classmates rely on need-based dollars—lower Pell or loan shares may signal a wealthier student body or generous institutional grants.

EDsmart Insight: About 57.2% of Our Lady of the Lake University students receive Pell Grants — well above the national average, highlighting ongoing affordability priorities.

Net Price by Family Income

Average annual net price after financial aid, based on family income. Your actual cost may vary depending on your specific financial situation.

$0 - $30,000
$16,236
Average annual cost for families earning $0-$30K
$30,001 - $48,000
$18,595
Average annual cost for families earning $30K-$48K
$48,001 - $75,000
$17,225
Average annual cost for families earning $48K-$75K
$75,001 - $110,000
$17,118
Average annual cost for families earning $75K-$110K
$110,001+
$19,100
Average annual cost for families earning $110K+

Understanding These Numbers: Net price varies significantly by income level. Net prices range from $16,236 to $19,100 depending on family income. Use Our Lady of the Lake University's net price calculator for a personalized estimate.

4-Year Total Cost Estimates:
$0-$30K families
~$73,062
$30K-$48K families
~$83,678
$48K-$75K families
~$77,512
$75K-$110K families
~$77,031
AFFORDABILITY ALERT

If your family earns $75K-$110K: Expect to pay around $17,118/year

If your family earns $110K+: Expect to pay around $19,100/year

See all income brackets →

ROI & Career Outcomes

Return on Investment
75.3%
Based on 6-year median earnings vs. total degree cost
  • Median Earnings (4 Years After Graduation) $55,876
  • 10-Year Median Earnings $48,675
  • Average Years to Graduate 4.5 years
  • Average Student Debt $24,999
  • Repayment Rate (3yr) 47.6%
  • Employment Rate 90.1%

Graduate Earnings Distribution

Earnings range for Our Lady of the Lake University graduates 6 years after enrollment, showing the 25th percentile, median, and 75th percentile. This illustrates the variation in outcomes across different majors and career paths.

Graduates earn a median of $55,876 four years after graduation — roughly 7% below the national median.
Payback Period
1.33 years
Total Degree Cost ÷ Annual Earnings

Our Lady of the Lake University vs. National Average

Comparison of key performance metrics showing how Our Lady of the Lake University's outcomes compare to the national average across earnings, graduation rates, retention, ROI, and employment. This contextualizes Our Lady of the Lake University's performance within the broader higher education landscape.

EDsmart Insight: Our Lady of the Lake University graduates earn $55,876 median four years after graduation, -7% above the national average. Earnings vary significantly by major—research your field's outcomes.

Acceptance & Selectivity

Getting In

Acceptance Rate
Not reported
Extremely Selective
National Average
69%
Average acceptance rate
  • SAT Evidence-Based Reading Not reported
  • SAT Math Not reported
  • SAT Writing Not reported
  • ACT Composite Not reported
  • SAT & ACTNot required
  • Undergraduate Enrollment 1,066
  • Full-Time Students 88.9%
  • Part-Time Students 11.1%
  • Retention Rate 62.8%
  • Grad Rate (150% time) 46.1%
  • Grad Rate (8-year) 32.6%
  • Student-Faculty Ratio 11:1

How to Get Into Our Lady of the Lake University

1. Meet Academic Requirements: Our Lady of the Lake University requires strong academic performance. Aim for test scores within the reported ranges and maintain a competitive GPA. Most admitted students rank in the top 10% of their high school class.

2. Build a Strong Application: Beyond test scores, focus on crafting compelling essays, securing strong letters of recommendation, and highlighting extracurricular activities that demonstrate leadership and commitment.

3. Understand Selectivity: With an acceptance rate of Not reported, Our Lady of the Lake University is selective. Consider applying early decision if available, as early applicants often have higher acceptance rates.

4. Financial Planning: Review the net price calculator and financial aid options early. Many students receive significant aid, making the actual cost lower than the sticker price.

Tip: Contact the admissions office directly for the most current application requirements, deadlines, and any special programs (like early decision or early action) that might improve your chances.

Academic Programs

Undergraduate Program Distribution

Breakdown of the most popular majors and fields of study among Our Lady of the Lake University undergraduates. Social Work, Psychology, General, and Criminal Justice and Corrections draw the most students.

  • Social Work 16.3%
  • Psychology, General 15.0%
  • Criminal Justice and Corrections 9.5%
  • Communication Disorders Sciences and Services 9.5%
  • Business Administration, Management and Operations 8.5%
  • Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitnes 7.5%
See more majors
  • Biology, General 4.4%
  • Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods 4.1%

Highest Earning Programs

Median earnings five years after graduation for each program. These figures help illustrate ROI by field of study and degree level.

Undergraduate Programs (Bachelor's Degrees)

  • 1. Business Administration, Management and Operations $56,243
  • 2. Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods $56,229
  • 3. Communication Disorders Sciences and Services $55,643
Show additional high-earning majors
  • 4. Social Work $51,895
  • 5. Psychology, General $49,176
  • 6. Health and Physical Education/Fitness $44,795
  • 7. Criminal Justice and Corrections $42,014
  • 8. Biology, General $18,452

Graduate Programs (Master's, Doctoral, Professional)

  • 1. Business Administration, Management and Operations (Doctoral Degree) $89,141
  • 2. Health and Medical Administrative Services (Master's Degree) $80,610
  • 3. Communication Disorders Sciences and Services (Master's Degree) $71,086
Show additional graduate majors
  • 4. Business Administration, Management and Operations (Master's Degree) $66,198
  • 5. Social Work (Master's Degree) $60,372
  • 6. Student Counseling and Personnel Services (Master's Degree) $57,562
  • 7. Clinical, Counseling and Applied Psychology (Master's Degree) $56,480
  • 8. Psychology, General (Master's Degree) $46,346

Program Choice Matters: Undergraduate: Business Administration, Management and Operations grads earn $56,243—205% more than Biology, General ($18,452). Graduate: Business Administration, Management and Operations programs lead with $89,141 median earnings. Your program and degree level choice significantly impact career earnings.

Online Degrees & Distance Learning

College Scorecard reports fully online programs for Our Lady of the Lake University. Below are the most popular options based on the number of recent graduates, followed by a quick look at the breadth of online offerings by degree level.
Source: U.S. Department of Education – College Scorecard

Most Popular Online Degrees

  • Business Administration, Management and Operations (Master's Degree, 81 graduates)
  • Psychology, General (Bachelor's Degree, 44 graduates)
  • Clinical, Counseling and Applied Psychology (Master's Degree, 32 graduates)
  • Business Administration, Management and Operations (Doctoral Degree, 29 graduates)
  • Communication Disorders Sciences and Services (Bachelor's Degree, 28 graduates)

What This School Offers Online, at a Glance

College Scorecard flags the following online degree and certificate programs for this institution. Expand each credential level to view the complete list of available subjects.

Online Bachelor's Degrees (39 programs)
  • Psychology, General
  • Communication Disorders Sciences and Services
  • Business Administration, Management and Operations
  • Health and Physical Education/Fitness
  • Biology, General
  • Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods
  • Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management
  • Accounting and Related Services
  • Political Science and Government
  • English Language and Literature, General
  • Special Education and Teaching
  • Sociology
  • Religion/Religious Studies
  • Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas
  • Finance and Financial Management Services
  • Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language
  • Religious/Sacred Music
  • Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication
  • Multi-/Interdisciplinary Studies, General
  • Chemistry
  • Bilingual, Multilingual, and Multicultural Education
  • Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
  • Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies
  • Radio, Television, and Digital Communication
  • Mathematics
  • Journalism
  • Fine and Studio Arts
  • Computer and Information Sciences, General
  • Natural Sciences
  • Music
  • Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and Services
  • Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
  • History
  • Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General
  • Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies
  • Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft
  • Business/Managerial Economics
  • Biomathematics, Bioinformatics, and Computational Biology
  • Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology
Online Master's Degrees (13 programs)
  • Business Administration, Management and Operations
  • Clinical, Counseling and Applied Psychology
  • Communication Disorders Sciences and Services
  • Finance and Financial Management Services
  • English Language and Literature, General
  • Accounting and Related Services
  • Sociology
  • Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas
  • Special Education and Teaching
  • Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions
  • Educational Administration and Supervision
  • Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General
  • Curriculum and Instruction
Online Doctoral Degrees (1 program)
  • Business Administration, Management and Operations
Online First Professional Degrees (1 program)
  • Clinical, Counseling and Applied Psychology

Student Demographics

Student Population

  • Total Undergraduate Enrollment 1,066
  • Full-Time Students 88.9%
  • Part-Time Students 11.1%
  • Male Students 32.6%
  • Female Students 67.5%
  • Caucasian 7.8%
  • Asian 0.3%
  • Hispanic 73.7%
  • Black 7.6%
  • Pell Grant Recipients 57.2%

Racial & Ethnic Diversity

Undergraduate student body composition by racial and ethnic background. This reflects Our Lady of the Lake University's commitment to diversity and inclusion in admissions.

Gender Distribution

Gender breakdown of Our Lady of the Lake University's undergraduate population. The university maintains a roughly balanced gender distribution across its student body.

Graduation Rate Equity Analysis

How well does Our Lady of the Lake University support students from different economic backgrounds?

Pell Grant Recipients
42.2%
6-year graduation rate
Non-Pell Students
46.2%
6-year graduation rate
Equity Gap
4.1 pts
excellent equity

What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at nearly the same rate as higher-income students, indicating strong institutional support for all economic backgrounds.

Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity

Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity

Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at Our Lady of the Lake University, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.

EDsmart Insight: Our Lady of the Lake University has a diverse student body, with 7.8% identifying as White. Women make up 67.5% of undergraduates. 57.2% of students receive Pell Grants, well above the national average, indicating strong support for low-income students.

Graduation Rate Equity Analysis

How well does Our Lady of the Lake University support students from different economic backgrounds?

Pell Grant Recipients
42.2%
6-year graduation rate
Non-Pell Students
46.2%
6-year graduation rate
Equity Gap
4.1 pts
excellent equity

What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at nearly the same rate as higher-income students, indicating strong institutional support for all economic backgrounds.

Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity

Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity

Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at Our Lady of the Lake University, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.

Our Take

Our Lady of the Lake University offers a private university experience at a regional scale, combining smaller class sizes with 75.3% ROI. Ranked #948 nationally, the institution balances personalized attention against higher costs than public alternatives.

The $16,442 annual net price is moderately higher than state schools, offset somewhat by $55,876 median earnings. With 46.1% graduating within 150% of normal time and 62.8% returning for sophomore year, outcomes reflect the personalized support typical of smaller private institutions.

Private University Value: Our Lady of the Lake University's Positioning

With a B grade and #948 ranking, Our Lady of the Lake University competes in the crowded regional private university market.

The Private University Premium: At $16,442 annually, Our Lady of the Lake University charges more than public alternatives but typically offers smaller classes, more personalized advising, and tighter-knit campus communities. The 62.8% retention rate suggests students value this environment.

Who Benefits Most: Students who thrive in smaller, more intimate academic settings. Those seeking specific programs or values-based education aligned with the institution's mission. Students who receive merit scholarships that bring costs below $11,509 achieve particularly strong value.

Cost-Benefit Reality: The 75.3% ROI and $55,876 median earnings don't always justify the premium over public universities. Students paying full price should compare whether the personalized experience warrants $6,442+ in additional annual costs over state flagships.

Competitive Standing: Our Lady of the Lake University ranks #948 of 1947 institutions, with 642 schools achieving higher ROI. For students offered substantial merit aid or seeking specific programs unavailable at public universities, the value proposition strengthens significantly.

Key Takeaways

  • 46.1% graduation rate sits 16.4 points below the national 62.5% benchmark.
  • 62.8% first-year retention is 14.0 points below the national norm of 76.8%.
  • 75.3% return on investment is 25.4 points above the national 49.9% benchmark.
  • Median earnings of $55,876 run about 7% lower than national outcomes four years after graduation.
  • Average net price of $16,442 is roughly $3,637 lower than the national median of $20,079.

Helpfulness for Students

Green Flags
  • 11:1 student-faculty ratio keeps mentorship close and courses discussion-sized.
  • 62.8% first-year retention shows students stay engaged after the first year.
  • 90.1% employment rate within three years sits 21.9 points above national outcomes.
Red Flags
  • Budget carefully for clinical travel, off-campus housing, and practicum fees to avoid surprise costs.
  • Compare aid offers from nearby public universities to weigh the premium for smaller classes.
  • Compare aid offers from nearby public universities to weigh the premium for smaller classes.
EDsmart Expert Analysis

Located in San Antonio, TX, Our Lady of the Lake University operates as a private nonprofit university and receives a B from EDsmart. It stands at #948 among 1962 schools Completion earns C+, Support B-, Career Outcomes B, and Affordability A-.

Grades are assigned relative to EDsmart's national bachelor's cohort using standardized outcomes (2026 methodology); they reflect how a school compares to peers, not a fixed percentage of a raw point total.

62.8% of learners come back after year one while 46.1% graduate within 150% of normal time (46.9% within eight years). Return on investment currently measures 75.3% for this program.

Why it matters: this snapshot shows how likely you are to stay on track academically and whether the outcomes justify the price tag. Letter grades summarize cohort-relative performance—not a single exam-style score.

EDsmart Financial Snapshot

Families pay about $16,442 on average after aid, compared with a published cost near $42,865.

Institutional and federal aid lower costs by roughly $26,423 per year.

Graduates leave with a median of $24,999 in federal loans, which lines up with national norms.

About 57.2% of students receive Pell Grants, giving a snapshot of the campus income mix.

Why it matters: lining up sticker price, aid, and typical debt helps you stress-test the budget before you commit.

EDsmart Career Snapshot

Six years in, alumni earn roughly $55,876 at the median. This is roughly 7% below typical U.S. college outcomes.

Employment outcomes report about 90.1% of alumni working within three years.

Plan around an ROI of about 75.3% according to the Scorecard data.

Why it matters: pairing median earnings with employment rates gives you a sense of payback time after graduation.

EDsmart Admissions Snapshot

This institution has not reported a current acceptance rate.

The admissions team encourages students to highlight academic strengths through transcripts, essays, and recommendations.

Prospective students can apply early for priority review and lean on the Our Lady of the Lake University admissions site for deadlines, visit options, and counselor contacts.

Why it matters: knowing the admit rate and application expectations lets you map out testing, essays, and deadlines with less stress.

EDsmart Verdict
2.57 / 5
Value Rating - Based on affordability and career outcomes

Your Decision Toolkit

Run the Net Price Calculator
Get your personalized cost estimate
Compare with similar schools
See how Our Lady of the Lake University stacks up to alternatives
Check your major's earnings
See ROI for your specific field of study
Visit the campus
Schedule a campus tour or virtual visit
Visit Our Lady of the Lake University Website →

Similar Schools

Institutions with similar academic profiles, selectivity, and outcomes

Nearby Schools

Other campuses you might consider

Other Texas campuses you might consider

Sam Houston State University
Huntsville, TX
B #951 of 1,947
Abilene Christian University
Abilene, TX
B #953 of 1,947
University of North Texas
Denton, TX
B #999 of 1,947
LeTourneau University
Longview, TX
B #1002 of 1,947

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does Our Lady of the Lake University cost?

At Our Lady of the Lake University, listed tuition and fees are $32,106 per year, and the average net price after aid is $16,442. Use the net price calculator on this page for a personalized estimate.

What is Our Lady of the Lake University's ranking?

Our Lady of the Lake University ranks #948 nationally in EDsmart's 2026 college rankings with an overall grade of B, based on completion, affordability, support, and career outcomes.

What is Our Lady of the Lake University's graduation rate?

At Our Lady of the Lake University, the graduation rate within 150% of normal time is 46.1% (the rate used in EDsmart rankings), College Scorecard 8-year award rate is 46.9%, and first-year retention is 62.8%.

What are Our Lady of the Lake University's job outcomes?

Graduates of Our Lady of the Lake University report median earnings of $55,876 four years after graduation, according to College Scorecard federal outcome data. Outcomes vary by major.

What is Our Lady of the Lake University's student population?

Our Lady of the Lake University enrolls about 1,066 undergraduate students, per College Scorecard enrollment data.

Contact Information

  • AccreditationSouthern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCC)
  • Endowment$43.7M

Data Source & Methodology