Pace University Logo

Pace University

New York, NY | Private Nonprofit | University

Pace University has an acceptance rate of 75.9%, an average net price of $30,721, and an overall rank of #918 (Grade B). About 55.6% of students graduate within 150% of normal time, and median earnings are $79,846 five years after graduation. Data from the U.S. Department of Education and EDsmart's 2026 rankings.

Pace University is a private nonprofit university in New York, NY. Students most often pursue Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing and Information Science/Studies.

Academically, students benefit from a 14:1 student-faculty ratio, and 75.5% first-year retention. Peer cohorts and advising networks provide scaffolding that keeps newcomers anchored during demanding semesters.

EDsmart calculates return on investment at 58.2%, roughly 8.3 points higher than typical outcomes. It's a compelling fit for students who appreciate an encouraging campus with room to explore.

B
Ranking
#918 of 1,934
How We Rank Schools Higher pay after college
At a Glance
Ranking
#918 of 1,934 (Top 47.5%)
Tuition
$54,875
Net Price
$30,721
4-Year Tuition
$219,500
Acceptance Rate
75.9%
Transfer Rate
28.1%
Student Population
7,665
Student-Faculty
14:1
Grad Rate (150% time)
55.6%
Grad Rate (8-year)
63.8%
Retention Rate
75.5%
4-Yr Earnings
$79,846
ROI
Not reported

Who is Pace University Best For?

A quick look at who tends to feel most at home here based on outcomes and campus context.

Students aiming for strong salaries
Students seeking strong career outcomes
Students valuing supportive learning environments

EDsmart Scores Summary

Overall Ranking
#918 of 1,934
Top 47.5% of all institutions
EDsmart Score
52.6 / 100 (national index)
Curved score (top institution = 100.0)
Value Rating
2.63 / 5
Based on ROI and outcomes
Completion
B
#763 of 1,934
Affordability
C
#1,654 of 1,934
Support
B
#942 of 1,934
Career Outcomes
B+
#319 of 1,934

Pace University graduates 55.6% of students within 150% of normal time (the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings), with an 8-year award rate of 63.8% and keeps 75.5% of first-year students. Affordability earns a C compared with similar schools.

How we calculate this →

Cost & Financial Aid

Quick Answers

What does it cost?
Depends on income
$27,012-$37,189 annual net price based on family income.
What's the graduation rate?
Likely
55.6% graduate within 150% of normal time (the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings). The federal 8-year award rate is 63.8%. 42.6% complete in four years (IPEDS 100% time).
What are job outcomes?
Highly likely
92.6% of alumni are employed within three years of leaving. Median earnings five years after graduation are $79,846. Pay varies by major.
Get Your Personalized Cost Estimate

The costs shown are averages. Use Pace University's net price calculator to get an estimate based on your family's financial situation.

Calculate Your Net Price →

Total Degree Cost Summary

4-Year Total Cost (Pay with Cash)
$290,208
$72,552 × 4 years
Average Total Cost (Pay with Financial Aid)
$137,251
$30,721 × 4.5 years average
Time to Degree
Average: 4.5 years | 4-Year Rate: 42.6% | 6-Year Rate: 55.6% | 8-Year Rate: 63.8%
Most students finish in about four to five years. Four-year completion is 42.6% and six-year completion is 55.6%.

Annual Cost Comparison

Pay with Cash
$72,552
Total annual cost including tuition, books and living expenses; excluding any financial aid, grants or scholarships.
Pay with Financial Aid
$30,721
Average annual cost including tuition, books and living expenses after financial aid, grants or scholarships.

Est. annual aid gap: $41,831 Cash cost of attendance minus average net price after aid.

Cost of Undergraduate Attendance

Costs based on full-time, first-time degree- or certificate-seeking undergraduates.

View cost of attendance line items
Costs to Consider Price
Tuition and Fees $54,875
Books and Supplies $1,000
On-Campus Room and Board $23,018
On-Campus Other Expenses $3,954
Total On-Campus Cost $72,552

Tip: focus on the rows that match your living plan—commuters can swap in off-campus estimates while residential students should budget for housing, meals, and incidental fees.

Students Receiving Aid

Pell Grant
32.8%
Federal Loan
48.0%

Use these bars to gauge how many classmates rely on need-based dollars—lower Pell or loan shares may signal a wealthier student body or generous institutional grants.

EDsmart Insight: About 32.8% of Pace University students receive Pell Grants — slightly below the national average, highlighting ongoing affordability priorities.

Net Price by Family Income

Average annual net price after financial aid, based on family income. Your actual cost may vary depending on your specific financial situation.

$0 - $30,000
$27,012
Average annual cost for families earning $0-$30K
$30,001 - $48,000
$26,470
Average annual cost for families earning $30K-$48K
$48,001 - $75,000
$27,645
Average annual cost for families earning $48K-$75K
$75,001 - $110,000
$30,846
Average annual cost for families earning $75K-$110K
$110,001+
$37,189
Average annual cost for families earning $110K+

Understanding These Numbers: Net price varies significantly by income level. Net prices range from $27,012 to $37,189 depending on family income. Use Pace University's net price calculator for a personalized estimate.

Typical total cost estimates (~4.5 years):
$0-$30K families
~$120,680
$30K-$48K families
~$118,259
$48K-$75K families
~$123,508
$75K-$110K families
~$137,809
AFFORDABILITY ALERT

If your family earns $75K-$110K: Expect to pay around $30,846/year

If your family earns $110K+: Expect to pay around $37,189/year

See all income brackets →

ROI & Career Outcomes

Return on Investment
Not reported
Based on median earnings five years after graduation vs. total degree cost
  • Median Earnings (5 Years After Graduation) $79,846
  • 10-Year Median Earnings $77,411
  • Average Years to Graduate 4.5 years
  • Average Student Debt $21,500
  • Debt-to-Earnings ~26.9%
  • Repayment Rate (3yr) 63.6%
  • Employment Rate 92.6%

Graduate Earnings Distribution

Earnings range for Pace University graduates about 10 years after enrollment (25th percentile, median, and 75th percentile). Different horizon than median earnings five years after graduation above.

Graduates earn a median of $79,846 five years after graduation — roughly 30% above the national median.
Payback Period
1.72 years
Total Degree Cost ÷ Annual Earnings

Pace University vs. National Average

Comparison of key performance metrics showing how Pace University's outcomes compare to the national average across earnings, graduation rates, retention, ROI, and employment. This contextualizes Pace University's performance within the broader higher education landscape.

Acceptance & Selectivity

Getting In

Acceptance Rate
75.9%
Lightly Selective
National Average
69%
Average acceptance rate
  • SAT Evidence-Based Reading 600-680
  • SAT Math 580-660
  • SAT Writing Not reported
  • ACT Composite 24-29
  • SAT & ACT Required
  • Undergraduate Enrollment 7,665
  • Full-Time Students 96.3%
  • Part-Time Students 3.7%
  • Retention Rate 75.5%
  • Grad Rate (150% time) 55.6%
  • Grad Rate (8-year) 63.8%
  • Student-Faculty Ratio 14:1

How to Get Into Pace University

1. Meet Academic Requirements: Pace University requires strong academic performance. Aim for test scores within the reported ranges and maintain a competitive GPA. Most admitted students rank in the top 10% of their high school class.

2. Build a Strong Application: Beyond test scores, focus on crafting compelling essays, securing strong letters of recommendation, and highlighting extracurricular activities that demonstrate leadership and commitment.

3. Understand Selectivity: With an acceptance rate of 75.9%, Pace University is relatively open. Consider applying early decision if available, as early applicants often have higher acceptance rates.

4. Financial Planning: Review the net price calculator and financial aid options early. Many students receive significant aid, making the actual cost lower than the sticker price.

Tip: Contact the admissions office directly for the most current application requirements, deadlines, and any special programs (like early decision or early action) that might improve your chances.

EDsmart Insight: With a 75.9% acceptance rate, Pace University is more accessible than highly selective schools. Meeting the test score ranges and maintaining a solid GPA significantly improves admission chances. The middle 50% of admitted students score between 1180 and 1340 on the SAT.

Academic Programs

Undergraduate Program Distribution

Breakdown of the most popular majors and fields of study among Pace University undergraduates. Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing, Accounting and Related Services, and Finance and Financial Management Services draw the most students.

  • Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing 11.5%
  • Accounting and Related Services 6.9%
  • Finance and Financial Management Services 6.5%
  • Communication and Media Studies 6.4%
  • Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communi 5.4%
  • Business Administration, Management and Operations 4.8%
See more majors
  • Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft 4.7%
  • Economics 3.8%

Highest Earning Programs

Median earnings five years after graduation for each program. These figures help illustrate ROI by field of study and degree level.

Undergraduate Programs (Bachelor's Degrees)

  • 1. Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing $113,091
  • 2. Information Science/Studies $106,489
  • 3. Economics $100,496
Show additional high-earning majors
  • 4. Business/Commerce, General $99,308
  • 5. Finance and Financial Management Services $98,341
  • 6. Accounting and Related Services $97,717
  • 7. Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management $93,861
  • 8. Computer Science $88,108
  • 9. Marketing $85,031
  • 10. Communication and Media Studies $72,510

Graduate Programs (Master's, Doctoral, Professional)

  • 1. Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing (Doctoral Degree) $180,068
  • 2. Business Administration, Management and Operations (Master's Degree) $162,466
  • 3. Educational Administration and Supervision (Master's Degree) $143,103
Show additional graduate majors
  • 4. Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions (Master's Degree) $137,027
  • 5. Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing (Master's Degree) $136,308
  • 6. Human Resources Management and Services (Master's Degree) $136,022
  • 7. Computer Science (Master's Degree) $116,499
  • 8. Computer Software and Media Applications (Master's Degree) $110,053
  • 9. Accounting and Related Services (Master's Degree) $109,620
  • 10. Finance and Financial Management Services (Master's Degree) $107,462

Program Choice Matters: Undergraduate: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing grads earn $113,091—56% more than Communication and Media Studies ($72,510). Graduate: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing programs lead with $180,068 median earnings. Your program and degree level choice significantly impact career earnings.

Online Degrees & Distance Learning

U.S. Department of Education data reports fully online programs for Pace University. Below are the most popular options based on the number of recent graduates, followed by a quick look at the breadth of online offerings by degree level.
Source: U.S. Department of Education

Most Popular Online Degrees

  • Law (First Professional Degree, 257 graduates)
  • Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (Bachelor's Degree, 218 graduates)
  • Special Education and Teaching (Master's Degree, 186 graduates)
  • Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (Master's Degree, 145 graduates)
  • Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions (Master's Degree, 117 graduates)

What This School Offers Online, at a Glance

U.S. Department of Education data flags the following online degree and certificate programs for this institution. Expand each credential level to view the complete list of available subjects.

Online Bachelor's Degrees (53 programs)▼
  • Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing
  • Communication and Media Studies
  • Business Administration, Management and Operations
  • Finance and Financial Management Services
  • Accounting and Related Services
  • Film/Video and Photographic Arts
  • Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication
  • Research and Experimental Psychology
  • Arts, Entertainment, and Media Management
  • Criminal Justice and Corrections
  • Computer Science
  • Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft
  • Biology, General
  • Economics
  • Political Science and Government
  • Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General
  • Clinical, Counseling and Applied Psychology
  • Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods
  • Marketing
  • Literature
  • Fine and Studio Arts
  • Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management
  • Dance
  • Natural Resources Conservation and Research
  • Entrepreneurial and Small Business Operations
  • Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
  • Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas
  • Radio, Television, and Digital Communication
  • International Business
  • Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies
  • Sociology and Anthropology
  • Philosophy and Religious Studies, General
  • History
  • Information Science/Studies
  • Human Resources Management and Services
  • Security Science and Technology
  • Neurobiology and Neurosciences
  • Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods
  • English Language and Literature, General
  • Peace Studies and Conflict Resolution
  • Hospitality Administration/Management
  • Chemistry
  • Journalism
  • Communication Disorders Sciences and Services
  • Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology
  • Mathematics
  • Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and Services
  • Area Studies
  • Special Education and Teaching
  • Psychology, General
  • Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other
  • Health and Medical Administrative Services
  • Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technologies/Technicians
Online Master's Degrees (35 programs)▼
  • Special Education and Teaching
  • Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing
  • Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions
  • Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods
  • History
  • Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods
  • Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions
  • Publishing
  • Research and Experimental Psychology
  • Radio, Television, and Digital Communication
  • Data Analytics
  • Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft
  • Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions
  • Human Resources Management and Services
  • Educational Administration and Supervision
  • Communication Disorders Sciences and Services
  • Arts, Entertainment, and Media Management
  • Nutrition Sciences
  • Security Science and Technology
  • Legal Research and Advanced Professional Studies
  • Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language
  • Economics
  • Natural Resources Conservation and Research
  • Non-Professional Legal Studies
  • International Business
  • Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology
  • Behavioral Sciences
  • Health and Medical Administrative Services
  • Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technologies/Technicians
  • Computer Systems Analysis
  • Education, Other
  • Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General
  • Entrepreneurial and Small Business Operations
  • Computer Software and Media Applications
  • Social Sciences, General
Online Doctoral Degrees (4 programs)▼
  • Research and Experimental Psychology
  • Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions
  • Business/Commerce, General
  • Computer Science
Online Graduate/Professional Certificates (9 programs)▼
  • Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing
  • Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language
  • Publishing
  • Special Education and Teaching
  • Health Professions Education, Ethics, and Humanities
  • Bilingual, Multilingual, and Multicultural Education
  • Health and Medical Administrative Services
  • Educational Administration and Supervision
  • Business Administration, Management and Operations
Online Undergraduate Certificates & Diplomas (3 programs)▼
  • Natural Resources Conservation and Research
  • Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technologies/Technicians
  • Accounting and Related Services
Online First Professional Degrees (4 programs)▼
  • Law
  • Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing
  • Legal Research and Advanced Professional Studies
  • Computer and Information Sciences, General

Student Demographics

Student Population

  • Total Undergraduate Enrollment 7,665
  • Full-Time Students 96.3%
  • Part-Time Students 3.7%
  • Male Students 34.6%
  • Female Students 65.4%
  • Caucasian 44.4%
  • Asian 7.5%
  • Hispanic 24.5%
  • Black 11.9%
  • Pell Grant Recipients 32.8%

Racial & Ethnic Diversity

Undergraduate student body composition by racial and ethnic background. This reflects Pace University's commitment to diversity and inclusion in admissions.

Gender Distribution

Gender breakdown of Pace University's undergraduate population. The university maintains a roughly balanced gender distribution across its student body.

Graduation Rate Equity Analysis

How well does Pace University support students from different economic backgrounds?

Pell Grant Recipients
47.4%
6-year graduation rate
Non-Pell Students
60.2%
6-year graduation rate
Equity Gap
12.8 pts
equity gap to monitor

What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at a different rate as higher-income students, indicating varying levels of institutional support for all economic backgrounds.

Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity

Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity

Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at Pace University, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.

EDsmart Insight: Pace University has a diverse student body, with 44.4% identifying as White. Women make up 65.4% of undergraduates.

Graduation Rate Equity Analysis

How well does Pace University support students from different economic backgrounds?

Pell Grant Recipients
47.4%
6-year graduation rate
Non-Pell Students
60.2%
6-year graduation rate
Equity Gap
12.8 pts
equity gap to monitor

What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at a different rate as higher-income students, indicating varying levels of institutional support for all economic backgrounds.

Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity

Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity

Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at Pace University, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.

Our Take

Pace University offers a private university experience at a regional scale, combining smaller class sizes with 0.0% ROI. Ranked #918 overall, the institution balances personalized attention against higher costs than public alternatives.

The $30,721 annual net price is significantly higher than public universities, offset somewhat by $79,846 median earnings. With 55.6% graduating within 150% of normal time and 75.5% returning for sophomore year, outcomes reflect the personalized support typical of smaller private institutions.

Private University Value: Pace University's Positioning

With a B grade and #918 ranking, Pace University competes in the crowded regional private university market.

The Private University Premium: At $30,721 annually, Pace University charges more than public alternatives but typically offers smaller classes, more personalized advising, and tighter-knit campus communities. The 75.5% retention rate suggests students value this environment.

Who Benefits Most: Students who thrive in smaller, more intimate academic settings. Those seeking specific programs or values-based education aligned with the institution's mission. Students who receive merit scholarships that bring costs below $21,505 achieve particularly strong value.

Cost-Benefit Reality: The 0.0% ROI and $79,846 median earnings don't always justify the premium over public universities. Students paying full price should compare whether the personalized experience warrants $20,721+ in additional annual costs over state flagships.

Competitive Standing: Pace University ranks #918 of 1934 institutions, with 0 schools achieving higher ROI. For students offered substantial merit aid or seeking specific programs unavailable at public universities, the value proposition strengthens significantly.

Key Takeaways

  • 55.6% graduation rate sits 6.9 points below the national 62.5% benchmark.
  • 75.5% first-year retention is 1.3 points below the national norm of 76.8%.
  • Median earnings of $79,846 run about 30% higher than national outcomes five years after graduation.
  • Average net price of $30,721 is roughly $10,814 higher than the national median of $19,908.
  • 92.6% employment rate within three years is 24.4 points above the national 68.2%.

Helpfulness for Students

Green Flags
  • 14:1 student-faculty ratio keeps mentorship close and courses discussion-sized.
  • 75.5% first-year retention shows students stay engaged after the first year.
  • 92.6% employment rate within three years sits 24.4 points above national outcomes.
Red Flags
  • Average net price of $30,721 is about $10,814 higher than comparable schools, so scholarship planning is key.
  • Pell participation at 32.8% trails the national share by 5.8 points, so equity work remains important.
  • 48.0% of students borrow federal loans, outpacing typical campuses and raising repayment stakes.
EDsmart Expert Analysis

Pace University is a private nonprofit university based in New York, NY and earns a B overall grade. It is currently ranked #918 overall Category results include Completion (B), Support (B), Career Outcomes (B+), and Affordability (C).

Grades are assigned relative to EDsmart's national bachelor's cohort using standardized outcomes (2026 methodology); they reflect how a school compares to peers, not a fixed percentage of a raw point total.

75.5% of learners come back after year one while 55.6% graduate within 150% of normal time (63.8% within eight years). Review the cost and aid tables for a full picture of value.

Why it matters: this snapshot shows how likely you are to stay on track academically and whether the outcomes justify the price tag. Letter grades summarize cohort-relative performance—not a single exam-style score.

EDsmart Financial Snapshot

Families pay about $30,721 on average after aid, compared with a published cost near $72,552.

Institutional and federal aid lower costs by roughly $41,831 per year.

Graduates leave with a median of $21,500 in federal loans, which lines up with national norms.

About 32.8% of students receive Pell Grants, giving a snapshot of the campus income mix.

Why it matters: lining up sticker price, aid, and typical debt helps you stress-test the budget before you commit.

EDsmart Career Snapshot

Graduates report median earnings of about $79,846 five years after graduation. That sits about 30% above the national median.

Roughly 92.6% of graduates are employed three years out.

Use the ROI table above to estimate how long it may take to recoup your degree costs.

Why it matters: pairing median earnings with employment rates gives you a sense of payback time after graduation.

EDsmart Admissions Snapshot

75.9% of applicants receive offers, so preparation and fit matter.

The admissions team encourages students to highlight academic strengths through transcripts, essays, and recommendations.

Prospective students can apply early for priority review and lean on the Pace University admissions site for deadlines, visit options, and counselor contacts.

Why it matters: knowing the admit rate and application expectations lets you map out testing, essays, and deadlines with less stress.

EDsmart Verdict
2.63 / 5
Value Rating - Based on affordability and career outcomes

Your Decision Toolkit

Run the Net Price Calculator
Get your personalized cost estimate
Compare with similar schools
See how Pace University stacks up to alternatives
Check your major's earnings
See ROI for your specific field of study
Visit the campus
Schedule a campus tour or virtual visit
Visit Pace University Website →

Cite this profile

Add your access date when you publish.

APA (7th): EDsmart. (2026). Pace University: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings. https://www.edsmart.org/schools/pace-university/

MLA (9th): “Pace University: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings.” EDsmart, 2026, www.edsmart.org/schools/pace-university/.

Chicago: EDsmart. “Pace University: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings.” https://www.edsmart.org/schools/pace-university/.

Similar Schools

Institutions with similar academic profiles, selectivity, and outcomes

Nearby Schools

Other campuses you might consider

Other New York campuses you might consider

Mercy University
Dobbs Ferry, NY
B #916 of 1,934
SUNY Brockport
Brockport, NY
B #932 of 1,934
Mount Saint Mary College
Newburgh, NY
B #893 of 1,934
United Talmudical Seminary
Brooklyn, NY
B #884 of 1,934

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Pace University's acceptance rate?

Pace University's acceptance rate is 75.9%, based on U.S. Department of Education admissions data.

How much does Pace University cost?

At Pace University, listed tuition and fees are $54,875 per year, and the average net price after aid is $30,721. Use the net price calculator on this page for a personalized estimate.

What is Pace University's ranking?

Pace University ranks #918 overall in EDsmart's 2026 college rankings with an overall grade of B, based on completion, affordability, support, and career outcomes.

What is Pace University's graduation rate?

At Pace University, the graduation rate within 150% of normal time is 55.6% (the rate used in EDsmart rankings), the federal 8-year award rate is 63.8%, and first-year retention is 75.5%.

What are Pace University's job outcomes?

Graduates of Pace University report median earnings of $79,846 five years after graduation, according to U.S. Department of Education outcome data. Outcomes vary by major.

What is Pace University's student population?

Pace University enrolls about 7,665 undergraduate students, per U.S. Department of Education enrollment data.

Contact Information

  • AccreditationMiddle States Commission on Higher Education (MSACHE)
  • Endowment$232.4M
  • Transfer Enrollment Rate28.1%

Data Source & Methodology ▼