Paul Quinn College Logo

Paul Quinn College

Dallas, TX | Private Nonprofit | College

Paul Quinn College has an acceptance rate of 40.3%, annual tuition of $13,498, average net price of $12,709, and a national rank of #1828 (Grade C-), with a 26.9% graduation rate within 150% of normal time, about 620 undergraduates, and median earnings of $27,021 four years after graduation. Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard and EDsmart's 2026 rankings.

Paul Quinn College is a private nonprofit university in Dallas, TX. Students most often pursue health and life sciences.

Day to day, students benefit from a 20:1 student-faculty ratio, and 49.0% first-year retention. Coaches and faculty advisors weave in frequent check-ins, helping students translate ambition into steady progress.

EDsmart calculates return on investment at 45.0%, roughly 4.9 points below typical outcomes. It's well-suited to students who appreciate an encouraging campus with room to explore.

C-
Ranking
#1828 of 1,947
How We Rank Schools Lower tuitionSmall campus feel
At a Glance
Ranking
#1828 of 1,947 (Top 93.9%)
Tuition
$13,498
Net Price
$12,709
4-Year Tuition
$53,992
Acceptance Rate
40.3%
Transfer Rate
12.7%
Student Population
620
Student-Faculty
20:1
Grad Rate (150% time)
26.9%
Grad Rate (8-year)
28.4%
Retention Rate
49.0%
4-Yr Earnings
$27,021
ROI
45.0%

Who is Paul Quinn College Best For?

A quick look at who tends to feel most at home here based on outcomes and campus context.

Families tracking affordability closely
First-gen or Pell-eligible support
Learners who value a tight-knit campus

EDsmart Scores Summary

Overall Ranking
#1828 of 1,947
Top 93.9% of all institutions
EDsmart Score
6.2 / 100 (national index)
Curved score (top institution = 100.0)
Value Rating
0.31 / 5
Based on ROI and outcomes
Completion
C-
#1,838 of 1,947
Affordability
A
#137 of 1,947
Support
C-
#1,861 of 1,947
Career Outcomes
C
#1,708 of 1,947

Paul Quinn College graduates 26.9% of students within 150% of normal time (the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings), with an 8-year award rate of 28.4% and keeps 49.0% of first-year students. Affordability earns an A compared with similar schools.

How we calculate this →

Cost & Financial Aid

Quick Answers

What does it cost?
Depends on income
$11,443-$18,556 annual net price based on family income.
What's the graduation rate?
Challenging
26.9% graduate within 150% of normal time (the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings). The College Scorecard 8-year award rate is 28.4%. 17.2% complete in four years (IPEDS 100% time).
What are job outcomes?
Highly likely
85.3% of alumni are employed within three years of leaving. Median earnings four years after graduation are $27,021. Pay varies by major.
Get Your Personalized Cost Estimate

The costs shown are averages. Use Paul Quinn College's net price calculator to get an estimate based on your family's financial situation.

Calculate Your Net Price →

Total Degree Cost Summary

4-Year Total Cost (Pay with Cash)
$94,348
$23,587 × 4 years
Average Total Cost (Pay with Financial Aid)
$60,021
$12,709 × 4.7 years average
Time to Degree
Average: 4.7 years | 4-Year Rate: 17.2% | 6-Year Rate: 26.9% | 8-Year Rate: 28.4%
Most students finish in about four to five years. Four-year completion is 17.2% and six-year completion is 26.9%.

Annual Cost Comparison

Pay with Cash
$23,587
Total annual cost including tuition, books and living expenses; excluding any financial aid, grants or scholarships.
Pay with Financial Aid
$12,709
Average annual cost including tuition, books and living expenses after financial aid, grants or scholarships.

Cost of Undergraduate Attendance

Costs based on full-time, first-time degree- or certificate-seeking undergraduates.

View cost of attendance line items
Costs to Consider Price
Tuition and Fees $13,498
Books and Supplies $1,000
On-Campus Room and Board $7,650
On-Campus Other Expenses $3,200
Total On-Campus Cost $23,587

Tip: focus on the rows that match your living plan—commuters can swap in off-campus estimates while residential students should budget for housing, meals, and incidental fees.

Students Receiving Aid

Pell Grant
67.3%
Federal Loan
0.0%

Use these bars to gauge how many classmates rely on need-based dollars—lower Pell or loan shares may signal a wealthier student body or generous institutional grants.

EDsmart Insight: About 67.3% of Paul Quinn College students receive Pell Grants — well above the national average, highlighting ongoing affordability priorities.

Net Price by Family Income

Average annual net price after financial aid, based on family income. Your actual cost may vary depending on your specific financial situation.

$0 - $30,000
$11,443
Average annual cost for families earning $0-$30K
$30,001 - $48,000
$12,053
Average annual cost for families earning $30K-$48K
$48,001 - $75,000
$13,626
Average annual cost for families earning $48K-$75K
$75,001 - $110,000
$15,230
Average annual cost for families earning $75K-$110K
$110,001+
$18,556
Average annual cost for families earning $110K+

Understanding These Numbers: Net price varies significantly by income level. Net prices range from $11,443 to $18,556 depending on family income. Use Paul Quinn College's net price calculator for a personalized estimate.

4-Year Total Cost Estimates:
$0-$30K families
~$51,494
$30K-$48K families
~$54,238
$48K-$75K families
~$61,317
$75K-$110K families
~$68,535
AFFORDABILITY ALERT

If your family earns $75K-$110K: Expect to pay around $15,230/year

If your family earns $110K+: Expect to pay around $18,556/year

See all income brackets →

ROI & Career Outcomes

Return on Investment
45.0%
Based on 6-year median earnings vs. total degree cost
  • Median Earnings (4 Years After Graduation) $27,021
  • 10-Year Median Earnings $29,288
  • Average Years to Graduate 4.7 years
  • Average Student Debt $23,373
  • Repayment Rate (3yr) 20.5%
  • Employment Rate 85.3%

Graduate Earnings Distribution

Earnings range for Paul Quinn College graduates 6 years after enrollment, showing the 25th percentile, median, and 75th percentile. This illustrates the variation in outcomes across different majors and career paths.

Graduates earn a median of $27,021 four years after graduation — roughly 55% below the national median.
Payback Period
2.22 years
Total Degree Cost ÷ Annual Earnings

Paul Quinn College vs. National Average

Comparison of key performance metrics showing how Paul Quinn College's outcomes compare to the national average across earnings, graduation rates, retention, ROI, and employment. This contextualizes Paul Quinn College's performance within the broader higher education landscape.

EDsmart Insight: While Paul Quinn College graduates earn $27,021 median, the 45.0% ROI suggests the investment may take longer to pay off. Consider your major choice and career goals when evaluating value.

Acceptance & Selectivity

Getting In

Acceptance Rate
40.3%
Moderately Selective
National Average
69%
Average acceptance rate
  • SAT Evidence-Based Reading Not reported
  • SAT Math Not reported
  • SAT Writing Not reported
  • ACT Composite Not reported
  • SAT & ACTNot required
  • Undergraduate Enrollment 620
  • Full-Time Students 60.8%
  • Part-Time Students 39.2%
  • Retention Rate 49.0%
  • Grad Rate (150% time) 26.9%
  • Grad Rate (8-year) 28.4%
  • Student-Faculty Ratio 20:1

How to Get Into Paul Quinn College

1. Meet Academic Requirements: Paul Quinn College requires strong academic performance. Aim for test scores within the reported ranges and maintain a competitive GPA. Most admitted students rank in the top 10% of their high school class.

2. Build a Strong Application: Beyond test scores, focus on crafting compelling essays, securing strong letters of recommendation, and highlighting extracurricular activities that demonstrate leadership and commitment.

3. Understand Selectivity: With an acceptance rate of 40.3%, Paul Quinn College is moderately selective. Consider applying early decision if available, as early applicants often have higher acceptance rates.

4. Financial Planning: Review the net price calculator and financial aid options early. Many students receive significant aid, making the actual cost lower than the sticker price.

Tip: Contact the admissions office directly for the most current application requirements, deadlines, and any special programs (like early decision or early action) that might improve your chances.

EDsmart Insight: Paul Quinn College accepts 40.3% of applicants, making it moderately selective. Focus on strong academics, meaningful extracurriculars, and compelling essays to stand out.

Academic Programs

Undergraduate Program Distribution

Breakdown of the most popular majors and fields of study among Paul Quinn College undergraduates. Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, Gen, Business Administration, Management and Operations, and Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Hum draw the most students.

  • Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, Gen 21.0%
  • Business Administration, Management and Operations 17.7%
  • Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Hum 14.5%
  • Entrepreneurial and Small Business Operations 11.3%
  • Non-Professional Legal Studies 9.7%
  • Communication and Media Studies 8.1%
See more majors
  • Psychology, General 8.1%
  • Accounting and Related Services 3.2%

Online Degrees & Distance Learning

College Scorecard reports fully online programs for Paul Quinn College. Below are the most popular options based on the number of recent graduates, followed by a quick look at the breadth of online offerings by degree level.
Source: U.S. Department of Education – College Scorecard

Most Popular Online Degrees

  • Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General (Bachelor's Degree, 13 graduates)
  • Business Administration, Management and Operations (Bachelor's Degree, 11 graduates)
  • Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (Bachelor's Degree, 9 graduates)
  • Entrepreneurial and Small Business Operations (Bachelor's Degree, 7 graduates)
  • Non-Professional General Legal Studies (Undergraduate) (Bachelor's Degree, 6 graduates)

What This School Offers Online, at a Glance

College Scorecard flags the following online degree and certificate programs for this institution. Expand each credential level to view the complete list of available subjects.

Online Bachelor's Degrees (20 programs)
  • Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General
  • Business Administration, Management and Operations
  • Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
  • Entrepreneurial and Small Business Operations
  • Non-Professional General Legal Studies (Undergraduate)
  • Psychology, General
  • Communication and Media Studies
  • Accounting and Related Services
  • Religion/Religious Studies
  • Political Science and Government
  • Biology, General
  • Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas
  • Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods
  • Multi-/Interdisciplinary Studies, General
  • Mathematics
  • History
  • Health and Physical Education/Fitness
  • English Language and Literature, General
  • Education, General
  • Criminal Justice and Corrections

Student Demographics

Student Population

  • Total Undergraduate Enrollment 620
  • Full-Time Students 60.8%
  • Part-Time Students 39.2%
  • Male Students 35.6%
  • Female Students 64.3%
  • Caucasian 7.1%
  • Asian 0.3%
  • Hispanic 13.7%
  • Black 69.0%
  • Pell Grant Recipients 67.3%

Racial & Ethnic Diversity

Undergraduate student body composition by racial and ethnic background. This reflects Paul Quinn College's commitment to diversity and inclusion in admissions.

Gender Distribution

Gender breakdown of Paul Quinn College's undergraduate population. The university maintains a roughly balanced gender distribution across its student body.

Graduation Rate Equity Analysis

How well does Paul Quinn College support students from different economic backgrounds?

Pell Grant Recipients
26.2%
6-year graduation rate
Non-Pell Students
50.0%
6-year graduation rate
Equity Gap
23.8 pts
equity gap to monitor

What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at a different rate as higher-income students, indicating varying levels of institutional support for all economic backgrounds.

Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity

Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity

Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at Paul Quinn College, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.

EDsmart Insight: Paul Quinn College has a diverse student body, with 7.1% identifying as White. Women make up 64.3% of undergraduates. 67.3% of students receive Pell Grants, well above the national average, indicating strong support for low-income students.

Graduation Rate Equity Analysis

How well does Paul Quinn College support students from different economic backgrounds?

Pell Grant Recipients
26.2%
6-year graduation rate
Non-Pell Students
50.0%
6-year graduation rate
Equity Gap
23.8 pts
equity gap to monitor

What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at a different rate as higher-income students, indicating varying levels of institutional support for all economic backgrounds.

Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity

Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity

Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at Paul Quinn College, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.

Our Take

Paul Quinn College offers a private university experience at a regional scale, combining smaller class sizes with 45.0% ROI. Ranked #1828 nationally, the institution balances personalized attention against higher costs than public alternatives.

The $12,709 annual net price is competitive with public out-of-state tuition, offset somewhat by $27,021 median earnings. With 26.9% graduating within 150% of normal time and 49.0% returning for sophomore year, outcomes reflect the personalized support typical of smaller private institutions.

Private University Value: Paul Quinn College's Positioning

With a C- grade and #1828 ranking, Paul Quinn College competes in the crowded regional private university market.

The Private University Premium: At $12,709 annually, Paul Quinn College charges more than public alternatives but typically offers smaller classes, more personalized advising, and tighter-knit campus communities. The 49.0% retention rate suggests students value this environment.

Who Benefits Most: Students who thrive in smaller, more intimate academic settings. Those seeking specific programs or values-based education aligned with the institution's mission. Students who receive merit scholarships that bring costs below $8,896 achieve particularly strong value.

Cost-Benefit Reality: The 45.0% ROI and $27,021 median earnings don't always justify the premium over public universities. Students paying full price should compare whether the personalized experience warrants $2,709+ in additional annual costs over state flagships.

Competitive Standing: Paul Quinn College ranks #1828 of 1947 institutions, with 1482 schools achieving higher ROI. For students offered substantial merit aid or seeking specific programs unavailable at public universities, the value proposition strengthens significantly.

Key Takeaways

  • 26.9% graduation rate sits 35.6 points below the national 62.5% benchmark.
  • 49.0% first-year retention is 27.8 points below the national norm of 76.8%.
  • 45.0% return on investment is 4.9 points below the national 49.9% benchmark.
  • Median earnings of $27,021 run about 55% lower than national outcomes four years after graduation.
  • Average net price of $12,709 is roughly $7,370 lower than the national median of $20,079.

Helpfulness for Students

Green Flags
  • 20:1 student-faculty ratio keeps mentorship close and courses discussion-sized.
  • 49.0% first-year retention shows students stay engaged after the first year.
  • 85.3% employment rate within three years sits 17.1 points above national outcomes.
Red Flags
  • Budget carefully for clinical travel, off-campus housing, and practicum fees to avoid surprise costs.
  • Compare aid offers from nearby public universities to weigh the premium for smaller classes.
  • Compare aid offers from nearby public universities to weigh the premium for smaller classes.
EDsmart Expert Analysis

Paul Quinn College, a private nonprofit university in Dallas, TX, secures a C- grade in our latest review. It stands at #1828 among 1962 schools Grades by category break down as Completion C-, Support C-, Career Outcomes C, and Affordability A.

Grades are assigned relative to EDsmart's national bachelor's cohort using standardized outcomes (2026 methodology); they reflect how a school compares to peers, not a fixed percentage of a raw point total.

About 49.0% of first-year students return; 26.9% graduate within 150% of normal time, with an 8-year award rate of 28.4%. Return on investment currently measures 45.0% for this program.

Why it matters: this snapshot shows how likely you are to stay on track academically and whether the outcomes justify the price tag. Letter grades summarize cohort-relative performance—not a single exam-style score.

EDsmart Financial Snapshot

Families pay about $12,709 on average after aid, compared with a published cost near $23,587.

Institutional and federal aid lower costs by roughly $10,878 per year.

Graduates leave with a median of $23,373 in federal loans, which lines up with national norms.

About 67.3% of students receive Pell Grants, giving a snapshot of the campus income mix.

Why it matters: lining up sticker price, aid, and typical debt helps you stress-test the budget before you commit.

EDsmart Career Snapshot

Six years in, alumni earn roughly $27,021 at the median. That sits about 55% below the national median.

The three-year employment rate is close to 85.3%.

EDsmart lists the ROI at 45.0%, offering a quick read on value.

Why it matters: pairing median earnings with employment rates gives you a sense of payback time after graduation.

EDsmart Admissions Snapshot

40.3% of applicants receive offers, so preparation and fit matter.

The admissions team encourages students to highlight academic strengths through transcripts, essays, and recommendations.

Prospective students can apply early for priority review and lean on the Paul Quinn College admissions site for deadlines, visit options, and counselor contacts.

Why it matters: knowing the admit rate and application expectations lets you map out testing, essays, and deadlines with less stress.

EDsmart Verdict
0.31 / 5
Value Rating - Based on affordability and career outcomes

Your Decision Toolkit

Run the Net Price Calculator
Get your personalized cost estimate
Compare with similar schools
See how Paul Quinn College stacks up to alternatives
Check your major's earnings
See ROI for your specific field of study
Visit the campus
Schedule a campus tour or virtual visit
Visit Paul Quinn College Website →

Similar Schools

Institutions with similar academic profiles, selectivity, and outcomes

Nearby Schools

Other campuses you might consider

Other Texas campuses you might consider

Texas College
Tyler, TX
C- #1830 of 1,947
Wayland Baptist University
Plainview, TX
C- #1816 of 1,947
North American University
Stafford, TX
C- #1808 of 1,947
South University-Austin
Round Rock, TX
D+ #1886 of 1,947

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Paul Quinn College's acceptance rate?

Paul Quinn College's acceptance rate is 40.3%, based on U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard admissions data.

How much does Paul Quinn College cost?

At Paul Quinn College, listed tuition and fees are $13,498 per year, and the average net price after aid is $12,709. Use the net price calculator on this page for a personalized estimate.

What is Paul Quinn College's ranking?

Paul Quinn College ranks #1828 nationally in EDsmart's 2026 college rankings with an overall grade of C-, based on completion, affordability, support, and career outcomes.

What is Paul Quinn College's graduation rate?

At Paul Quinn College, the graduation rate within 150% of normal time is 26.9% (the rate used in EDsmart rankings), College Scorecard 8-year award rate is 28.4%, and first-year retention is 49.0%.

What are Paul Quinn College's job outcomes?

Graduates of Paul Quinn College report median earnings of $27,021 four years after graduation, according to College Scorecard federal outcome data. Outcomes vary by major.

What is Paul Quinn College's student population?

Paul Quinn College enrolls about 620 undergraduate students, per College Scorecard enrollment data.

Contact Information

  • AccreditationTransnational Association of Christian Colleges and Schools (TRACS)
  • Endowment$4.5M
  • Transfer Enrollment Rate12.7%

Data Source & Methodology