Pfeiffer University
Pfeiffer University has an acceptance rate of 96.0%, an average net price of $22,696, and an overall rank of #1095 (Grade B-). About 48.0% of students graduate within 150% of normal time, and median earnings are $57,852 five years after graduation. Data from the U.S. Department of Education and EDsmart's 2026 rankings.
Pfeiffer University is a private nonprofit university in Misenheimer, NC. Students most often pursue Business Administration, Management and Operations and Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing.
Academically, students benefit from a 11:1 student-faculty ratio, and 72.3% first-year retention. Peer cohorts and advising networks provide scaffolding that keeps newcomers anchored during demanding semesters.
EDsmart calculates return on investment at 58.2%, roughly 8.3 points higher than typical outcomes. It's a compelling fit for students who appreciate an encouraging campus with room to explore.
Who is Pfeiffer University Best For?
A quick look at who tends to feel most at home here based on outcomes and campus context.
EDsmart Scores Summary
Pfeiffer University graduates 48.0% of students within 150% of normal time (the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings), with an 8-year award rate of 46.5% and keeps 72.3% of first-year students. Affordability earns a B compared with similar schools.
How we calculate this →Cost & Financial Aid
Quick Answers
The costs shown are averages. Use Pfeiffer University's net price calculator to get an estimate based on your family's financial situation.
Calculate Your Net Price →Total Degree Cost Summary
Annual Cost Comparison
Est. annual aid gap: $27,428 Cash cost of attendance minus average net price after aid.
Cost of Undergraduate Attendance
Costs based on full-time, first-time degree- or certificate-seeking undergraduates.
View cost of attendance line items
| Costs to Consider | Price |
|---|---|
| Tuition and Fees | $38,430 |
| Books and Supplies | $1,500 |
| On-Campus Room and Board | $13,180 |
| On-Campus Other Expenses | $3,000 |
| Total On-Campus Cost | $50,124 |
Tip: focus on the rows that match your living plan—commuters can swap in off-campus estimates while residential students should budget for housing, meals, and incidental fees.
Students Receiving Aid
Use these bars to gauge how many classmates rely on need-based dollars—lower Pell or loan shares may signal a wealthier student body or generous institutional grants.
EDsmart Insight: About 49.4% of Pfeiffer University students receive Pell Grants — well above the national average, highlighting ongoing affordability priorities.
Net Price by Family Income
Average annual net price after financial aid, based on family income. Your actual cost may vary depending on your specific financial situation.
Understanding These Numbers: Net price varies significantly by income level. Net prices range from $19,899 to $28,022 depending on family income. Use Pfeiffer University's net price calculator for a personalized estimate.
If your family earns $75K-$110K: Expect to pay around $23,847/year
If your family earns $110K+: Expect to pay around $28,022/year
See all income brackets →ROI & Career Outcomes
- Median Earnings (5 Years After Graduation) $57,852
- 10-Year Median Earnings $54,743
- Average Years to Graduate 4.4 years
- Average Student Debt $23,293
- Debt-to-Earnings ~40.3%
- Repayment Rate (3yr) 54.6%
- Employment Rate 94.4%
Graduate Earnings Distribution
Earnings range for Pfeiffer University graduates about 10 years after enrollment (25th percentile, median, and 75th percentile). Different horizon than median earnings five years after graduation above.
Pfeiffer University vs. National Average
Comparison of key performance metrics showing how Pfeiffer University's outcomes compare to the national average across earnings, graduation rates, retention, ROI, and employment. This contextualizes Pfeiffer University's performance within the broader higher education landscape.
Acceptance & Selectivity
Getting In
- SAT Evidence-Based Reading Not reported
- SAT Math Not reported
- SAT Writing Not reported
- ACT Composite Not reported
- SAT & ACTNot required
- Undergraduate Enrollment 655
- Full-Time Students 97.1%
- Part-Time Students 2.9%
- Retention Rate 72.3%
- Grad Rate (150% time) 48.0%
- Grad Rate (8-year) 46.5%
- Student-Faculty Ratio 11:1
How to Get Into Pfeiffer University
1. Meet Academic Requirements: Pfeiffer University requires strong academic performance. Aim for test scores within the reported ranges and maintain a competitive GPA. Most admitted students rank in the top 10% of their high school class.
2. Build a Strong Application: Beyond test scores, focus on crafting compelling essays, securing strong letters of recommendation, and highlighting extracurricular activities that demonstrate leadership and commitment.
3. Understand Selectivity: With an acceptance rate of 96.0%, Pfeiffer University is relatively open. Consider applying early decision if available, as early applicants often have higher acceptance rates.
4. Financial Planning: Review the net price calculator and financial aid options early. Many students receive significant aid, making the actual cost lower than the sticker price.
Tip: Contact the admissions office directly for the most current application requirements, deadlines, and any special programs (like early decision or early action) that might improve your chances.
EDsmart Insight: With a 96.0% acceptance rate, Pfeiffer University is more accessible than highly selective schools. Meeting the test score ranges and maintaining a solid GPA significantly improves admission chances.
Academic Programs
Undergraduate Program Distribution
Breakdown of the most popular majors and fields of study among Pfeiffer University undergraduates. Business Administration, Management and Operations, Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitnes, and Public Administration and Social Service Professio draw the most students.
- Business Administration, Management and Operations 21.3%
- Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitnes 10.3%
- Public Administration and Social Service Professio 9.0%
- Psychology, General 7.1%
- Criminal Justice and Corrections 7.1%
- Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing 5.8%
See more majors
- Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods 4.5%
- Biology, General 4.5%
Highest Earning Programs
Median earnings five years after graduation for each program. These figures help illustrate ROI by field of study and degree level.
Undergraduate Programs (Bachelor's Degrees)
- 1. Business Administration, Management and Operations $67,479
- 2. Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing $66,499
- 3. Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods $39,701
Show additional high-earning majors
- 4. Health and Physical Education/Fitness $26,744
Graduate Programs (Master's, Doctoral, Professional)
- 1. Business Administration, Management and Operations (Master's Degree) $86,429
- 2. Health and Medical Administrative Services (Master's Degree) $82,325
- 3. Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions (Master's Degree) $56,796
Program Choice Matters: Undergraduate: Business Administration, Management and Operations grads earn $67,479—152% more than Health and Physical Education/Fitness ($26,744). Graduate: Business Administration, Management and Operations programs lead with $86,429 median earnings. Your program and degree level choice significantly impact career earnings.
Online Degrees & Distance Learning
U.S. Department of Education data reports fully online programs for Pfeiffer University. Below are the most popular options based on the number of recent graduates, followed by a quick look at the breadth of online offerings by degree level.
Source: U.S. Department of Education
Most Popular Online Degrees
- Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions (Master's Degree, 33 graduates)
- Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions (Master's Degree, 28 graduates)
- Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness (Bachelor's Degree, 24 graduates)
- Biology, General (Bachelor's Degree, 18 graduates)
- Psychology, General (Bachelor's Degree, 13 graduates)
What This School Offers Online, at a Glance
U.S. Department of Education data flags the following online degree and certificate programs for this institution. Expand each credential level to view the complete list of available subjects.
Online Bachelor's Degrees (19 programs)â–Ľ
- Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness
- Biology, General
- Psychology, General
- Computer and Information Sciences, General
- Communication and Media Studies
- Natural Resources Conservation and Research
- Design and Applied Arts
- Accounting and Related Services
- History
- English Language and Literature, General
- Religion/Religious Studies
- Religious Music and Worship
- Music
- Chemistry
- Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas
- Mathematics
- Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services
- Health/Medical Preparatory Programs
- Fine and Studio Arts
Online Master's Degrees (3 programs)â–Ľ
- Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions
- Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions
- Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions
Student Demographics
Student Population
- Total Undergraduate Enrollment 655
- Full-Time Students 97.1%
- Part-Time Students 2.9%
- Male Students 55.7%
- Female Students 44.3%
- Caucasian 62.6%
- Asian 0.5%
- Hispanic 10.8%
- Black 16.6%
- Pell Grant Recipients 49.4%
Racial & Ethnic Diversity
Undergraduate student body composition by racial and ethnic background. This reflects Pfeiffer University's commitment to diversity and inclusion in admissions.
Gender Distribution
Gender breakdown of Pfeiffer University's undergraduate population. The university maintains a roughly balanced gender distribution across its student body.
Graduation Rate Equity Analysis
How well does Pfeiffer University support students from different economic backgrounds?
What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at a different rate as higher-income students, indicating varying levels of institutional support for all economic backgrounds.
Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity
Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity
Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at Pfeiffer University, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.
Graduation Rate Equity Analysis
How well does Pfeiffer University support students from different economic backgrounds?
What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at a different rate as higher-income students, indicating varying levels of institutional support for all economic backgrounds.
Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity
Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity
Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at Pfeiffer University, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.
Our Take
Pfeiffer University offers a private university experience at a regional scale, combining smaller class sizes with 0.0% ROI. Ranked #1095 overall, the institution balances personalized attention against higher costs than public alternatives.
The $22,696 annual net price is significantly higher than public universities, offset somewhat by $57,852 median earnings. With 48.0% graduating within 150% of normal time and 72.3% returning for sophomore year, outcomes reflect the personalized support typical of smaller private institutions.
Private University Value: Pfeiffer University's Positioning
With a B- grade and #1095 ranking, Pfeiffer University competes in the crowded regional private university market.
The Private University Premium: At $22,696 annually, Pfeiffer University charges more than public alternatives but typically offers smaller classes, more personalized advising, and tighter-knit campus communities. The 72.3% retention rate suggests students value this environment.
Who Benefits Most: Students who thrive in smaller, more intimate academic settings. Those seeking specific programs or values-based education aligned with the institution's mission. Students who receive merit scholarships that bring costs below $15,887 achieve particularly strong value.
Cost-Benefit Reality: The 0.0% ROI and $57,852 median earnings don't always justify the premium over public universities. Students paying full price should compare whether the personalized experience warrants $12,696+ in additional annual costs over state flagships.
Competitive Standing: Pfeiffer University ranks #1095 of 1934 institutions, with 0 schools achieving higher ROI. For students offered substantial merit aid or seeking specific programs unavailable at public universities, the value proposition strengthens significantly.
Key Takeaways
- 48.0% graduation rate sits 14.5 points below the national 62.5% benchmark.
- 72.3% first-year retention is 4.5 points below the national norm of 76.8%.
- Median earnings of $57,852 run about 6% lower than national outcomes five years after graduation.
- Average net price of $22,696 is roughly $2,788 higher than the national median of $19,908.
- 94.4% employment rate within three years is 26.2 points above the national 68.2%.
Helpfulness for Students
- 11:1 student-faculty ratio keeps mentorship close and courses discussion-sized.
- 72.3% first-year retention shows students stay engaged after the first year.
- 94.4% employment rate within three years sits 26.2 points above national outcomes.
- Average net price of $22,696 is about $2,788 higher than comparable schools, so scholarship planning is key.
- 65.7% of students borrow federal loans, outpacing typical campuses and raising repayment stakes.
- Compare aid offers from nearby public universities to weigh the premium for smaller classes.
EDsmart Expert Analysis
EDsmart rates Pfeiffer University—a private nonprofit university in Misenheimer, NC—at B- overall. It stands at #1095 among 1934 schools Category results include Completion (C+), Support (B), Career Outcomes (B), and Affordability (B).
Grades are assigned relative to EDsmart's national bachelor's cohort using standardized outcomes (2026 methodology); they reflect how a school compares to peers, not a fixed percentage of a raw point total.
About 72.3% of first-year students return; 48.0% graduate within 150% of normal time, with an 8-year award rate of 46.5%. Review the cost and aid tables for a full picture of value.
Why it matters: this snapshot shows how likely you are to stay on track academically and whether the outcomes justify the price tag. Letter grades summarize cohort-relative performance—not a single exam-style score.
EDsmart Financial Snapshot
Families pay about $22,696 on average after aid, compared with a published cost near $50,124.
Institutional and federal aid lower costs by roughly $27,428 per year.
Graduates leave with a median of $23,293 in federal loans, which lines up with national norms.
About 49.4% of students receive Pell Grants, giving a snapshot of the campus income mix.
Why it matters: lining up sticker price, aid, and typical debt helps you stress-test the budget before you commit.
EDsmart Career Snapshot
Graduates report median earnings of about $57,852 five years after graduation. Compared with the national median, that's 6% lower.
The three-year employment rate is close to 94.4%.
Use the ROI table above to estimate how long it may take to recoup your degree costs.
Why it matters: pairing median earnings with employment rates gives you a sense of payback time after graduation.
EDsmart Admissions Snapshot
96.0% of applicants receive offers, so preparation and fit matter.
The admissions team encourages students to highlight academic strengths through transcripts, essays, and recommendations.
Prospective students can apply early for priority review and lean on the Pfeiffer University admissions site for deadlines, visit options, and counselor contacts.
Why it matters: knowing the admit rate and application expectations lets you map out testing, essays, and deadlines with less stress.
Your Decision Toolkit
Cite this profile
Add your access date when you publish.
APA (7th): EDsmart. (2026). Pfeiffer University: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings. https://www.edsmart.org/schools/pfeiffer-university/
MLA (9th): “Pfeiffer University: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings.” EDsmart, 2026, www.edsmart.org/schools/pfeiffer-university/.
Chicago: EDsmart. “Pfeiffer University: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings.” https://www.edsmart.org/schools/pfeiffer-university/.
Similar Schools
Institutions with similar academic profiles, selectivity, and outcomes
Nearby Schools
Other campuses you might consider
Other North Carolina campuses you might consider
Frequently Asked Questions
What is Pfeiffer University's acceptance rate?
Pfeiffer University's acceptance rate is 96.0%, based on U.S. Department of Education admissions data.
How much does Pfeiffer University cost?
At Pfeiffer University, listed tuition and fees are $38,430 per year, and the average net price after aid is $22,696. Use the net price calculator on this page for a personalized estimate.
What is Pfeiffer University's ranking?
Pfeiffer University ranks #1095 overall in EDsmart's 2026 college rankings with an overall grade of B-, based on completion, affordability, support, and career outcomes.
What is Pfeiffer University's graduation rate?
At Pfeiffer University, the graduation rate within 150% of normal time is 48.0% (the rate used in EDsmart rankings), the federal 8-year award rate is 46.5%, and first-year retention is 72.3%.
What are Pfeiffer University's job outcomes?
Graduates of Pfeiffer University report median earnings of $57,852 five years after graduation, according to U.S. Department of Education outcome data. Outcomes vary by major.
What is Pfeiffer University's student population?
Pfeiffer University enrolls about 655 undergraduate students, per U.S. Department of Education enrollment data.
Contact Information
- Address 48380 US Hwy 52N, Misenheimer, NC 28109-0960
- Website www.pfeiffer.edu
- Net Price Calculator Calculate Your Cost
- Financial AidView Financial Aid Information
- AccreditationSouthern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCC)
- Endowment$17.6M
- Transfer Enrollment Rate33.3%