Polytechnic University of Puerto Rico-Orlando
Polytechnic University of Puerto Rico-Orlando has annual tuition of $14,547, average net price of $16,577, and a national rank of #1520 (Grade C+), with a 33.3% graduation rate within 150% of normal time, about 96 undergraduates, and median earnings of $69,903 four years after graduation. Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard and EDsmart's 2026 rankings.
Polytechnic University of Puerto Rico-Orlando is a private nonprofit university in Orlando, FL. Students most often pursue Electrical, Electronics and Communications Engineering and Mechanical Engineering.
Academically, students benefit from a 5:1 student-faculty ratio, and 37.5% first-year retention. Peer cohorts and advising networks provide scaffolding that keeps newcomers anchored during demanding semesters.
EDsmart calculates return on investment at 84.3%, roughly 34.4 points higher than typical outcomes. It's a compelling fit for students who appreciate an encouraging campus with room to explore and students looking for meaningful faculty access.
Who is Polytechnic University of Puerto Rico-Orlando Best For?
A quick look at who tends to feel most at home here based on outcomes and campus context.
EDsmart Scores Summary
Polytechnic University of Puerto Rico-Orlando graduates 33.3% of students within 150% of normal time (the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings), with an 8-year award rate of 29.2% and keeps 37.5% of first-year students. Affordability earns an A- compared with similar schools.
How we calculate this →Cost & Financial Aid
Quick Answers
The costs shown are averages. Use Polytechnic University of Puerto Rico-Orlando's net price calculator to get an estimate based on your family's financial situation.
Calculate Your Net Price →Total Degree Cost Summary
Annual Cost Comparison
Cost of Undergraduate Attendance
Costs based on full-time, first-time degree- or certificate-seeking undergraduates.
View cost of attendance line items
| Costs to Consider | Price |
|---|---|
| Tuition and Fees | $14,547 |
| Books and Supplies | $2,775 |
| On-Campus Room and Board | Not reported |
| On-Campus Other Expenses | Not reported |
| Total On-Campus Cost | $23,011 |
Tip: focus on the rows that match your living plan—commuters can swap in off-campus estimates while residential students should budget for housing, meals, and incidental fees.
Students Receiving Aid
Use these bars to gauge how many classmates rely on need-based dollars—lower Pell or loan shares may signal a wealthier student body or generous institutional grants.
EDsmart Insight: About 58.8% of Polytechnic University of Puerto Rico-Orlando students receive Pell Grants — well above the national average, highlighting ongoing affordability priorities.
Net Price by Family Income
Average annual net price after financial aid, based on family income. Your actual cost may vary depending on your specific financial situation.
Understanding These Numbers: Net price varies significantly by income level. Net prices range from $16,917 to $15,897 depending on family income. Use Polytechnic University of Puerto Rico-Orlando's net price calculator for a personalized estimate.
ROI & Career Outcomes
- Median Earnings (4 Years After Graduation) $69,903
- 10-Year Median Earnings $47,540
- Average Years to Graduate 5.0 years
- Average Student Debt $22,564
- Repayment Rate (3yr) 53.4%
- Employment Rate 84.7%
Graduate Earnings Distribution
Earnings range for Polytechnic University of Puerto Rico-Orlando graduates 6 years after enrollment, showing the 25th percentile, median, and 75th percentile. This illustrates the variation in outcomes across different majors and career paths.
Polytechnic University of Puerto Rico-Orlando vs. National Average
Comparison of key performance metrics showing how Polytechnic University of Puerto Rico-Orlando's outcomes compare to the national average across earnings, graduation rates, retention, ROI, and employment. This contextualizes Polytechnic University of Puerto Rico-Orlando's performance within the broader higher education landscape.
EDsmart Insight: Polytechnic University of Puerto Rico-Orlando graduates earn $69,903 median four years after graduation, +16% above the national average. Earnings vary significantly by major—research your field's outcomes.
Acceptance & Selectivity
Getting In
- SAT Evidence-Based Reading Not reported
- SAT Math Not reported
- SAT Writing Not reported
- ACT Composite Not reported
- SAT & ACTNot required
- Undergraduate Enrollment 96
- Full-Time Students 16.7%
- Part-Time Students 83.3%
- Retention Rate 37.5%
- Grad Rate (150% time) 33.3%
- Grad Rate (8-year) 29.2%
- Student-Faculty Ratio 5:1
How to Get Into Polytechnic University of Puerto Rico-Orlando
1. Meet Academic Requirements: Polytechnic University of Puerto Rico-Orlando requires strong academic performance. Aim for test scores within the reported ranges and maintain a competitive GPA. Most admitted students rank in the top 10% of their high school class.
2. Build a Strong Application: Beyond test scores, focus on crafting compelling essays, securing strong letters of recommendation, and highlighting extracurricular activities that demonstrate leadership and commitment.
3. Understand Selectivity: With an acceptance rate of Not reported, Polytechnic University of Puerto Rico-Orlando is selective. Consider applying early decision if available, as early applicants often have higher acceptance rates.
4. Financial Planning: Review the net price calculator and financial aid options early. Many students receive significant aid, making the actual cost lower than the sticker price.
Tip: Contact the admissions office directly for the most current application requirements, deadlines, and any special programs (like early decision or early action) that might improve your chances.
Academic Programs
Undergraduate Program Distribution
Breakdown of the most popular majors and fields of study among Polytechnic University of Puerto Rico-Orlando undergraduates. Business Administration, Management and Operations, Civil Engineering, and Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engine draw the most students.
- Business Administration, Management and Operations 40.6%
- Civil Engineering 15.6%
- Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engine 15.6%
- Mechanical Engineering 15.6%
- Computer Engineering 9.4%
- Computer Science 3.1%
See more majors
- Environmental Control Technologies/Technicians 0.0%
Highest Earning Programs
Median earnings five years after graduation for each program. These figures help illustrate ROI by field of study and degree level.
Undergraduate Programs (Bachelor's Degrees)
- 1. Electrical, Electronics and Communications Engineering $74,436
- 2. Mechanical Engineering $65,413
- 3. Civil Engineering $63,518
Show additional high-earning majors
- 4. Computer Engineering $60,492
Graduate Programs (Master's, Doctoral, Professional)
- 1. Engineering-Related Fields (Master's Degree) $80,991
- 2. Business Administration, Management and Operations (Master's Degree) $64,911
Program Choice Matters: Undergraduate: Electrical, Electronics and Communications Engineering grads earn $74,436—23% more than Computer Engineering ($60,492). Graduate: Engineering-Related Fields programs lead with $80,991 median earnings. Your program and degree level choice significantly impact career earnings.
Online Degrees & Distance Learning
College Scorecard reports fully online programs for Polytechnic University of Puerto Rico-Orlando. Below are the most popular options based on the number of recent graduates, followed by a quick look at the breadth of online offerings by degree level.
Source: U.S. Department of Education – College Scorecard
Most Popular Online Degrees
- Civil Engineering (Bachelor's Degree, 5 graduates)
- Electrical, Electronics and Communications Engineering (Bachelor's Degree, 5 graduates)
- Mechanical Engineering (Bachelor's Degree, 5 graduates)
What This School Offers Online, at a Glance
College Scorecard flags the following online degree and certificate programs for this institution. Expand each credential level to view the complete list of available subjects.
Online Bachelor's Degrees (3 programs)▼
- Mechanical Engineering
- Electrical, Electronics and Communications Engineering
- Civil Engineering
Student Demographics
Student Population
- Total Undergraduate Enrollment 96
- Full-Time Students 16.7%
- Part-Time Students 83.3%
- Male Students 71.9%
- Female Students 28.1%
- Caucasian 1.0%
- Asian 0.0%
- Hispanic 93.8%
- Black 4.2%
- Pell Grant Recipients 58.8%
Racial & Ethnic Diversity
Undergraduate student body composition by racial and ethnic background. This reflects Polytechnic University of Puerto Rico-Orlando's commitment to diversity and inclusion in admissions.
Gender Distribution
Gender breakdown of Polytechnic University of Puerto Rico-Orlando's undergraduate population. Women make up 28.1% of the student body, while men represent 71.9%.
Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity
Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity
Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at Polytechnic University of Puerto Rico-Orlando, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.
EDsmart Insight: Polytechnic University of Puerto Rico-Orlando has a diverse student body, with 1.0% identifying as White. Men make up 71.9% of undergraduates. 58.8% of students receive Pell Grants, well above the national average, indicating strong support for low-income students.
Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity
Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity
Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at Polytechnic University of Puerto Rico-Orlando, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.
Our Take
Polytechnic University of Puerto Rico-Orlando offers a private university experience at a regional scale, combining smaller class sizes with 84.3% ROI. Ranked #1520 nationally, the institution balances personalized attention against higher costs than public alternatives.
The $16,577 annual net price is moderately higher than state schools, offset somewhat by $69,903 median earnings. With 33.3% graduating within 150% of normal time and 37.5% returning for sophomore year, outcomes reflect the personalized support typical of smaller private institutions.
Private University Value: Polytechnic University of Puerto Rico-Orlando's Positioning
With a C+ grade and #1520 ranking, Polytechnic University of Puerto Rico-Orlando competes in the crowded regional private university market.
The Private University Premium: At $16,577 annually, Polytechnic University of Puerto Rico-Orlando charges more than public alternatives but typically offers smaller classes, more personalized advising, and tighter-knit campus communities. The 37.5% retention rate suggests students value this environment.
Who Benefits Most: Students who thrive in smaller, more intimate academic settings. Those seeking specific programs or values-based education aligned with the institution's mission. Students who receive merit scholarships that bring costs below $11,604 achieve particularly strong value.
Cost-Benefit Reality: The 84.3% ROI and $69,903 median earnings don't always justify the premium over public universities. Students paying full price should compare whether the personalized experience warrants $6,577+ in additional annual costs over state flagships.
Competitive Standing: Polytechnic University of Puerto Rico-Orlando ranks #1520 of 1947 institutions, with 491 schools achieving higher ROI. For students offered substantial merit aid or seeking specific programs unavailable at public universities, the value proposition strengthens significantly.
Key Takeaways
- 33.3% graduation rate sits 29.2 points below the national 62.5% benchmark.
- 37.5% first-year retention is 39.3 points below the national norm of 76.8%.
- 84.3% return on investment is 34.4 points above the national 49.9% benchmark.
- Median earnings of $69,903 run about 16% higher than national outcomes four years after graduation.
- Average net price of $16,577 is roughly $3,502 lower than the national median of $20,079.
Helpfulness for Students
- 5:1 student-faculty ratio keeps mentorship close and courses discussion-sized.
- 37.5% first-year retention shows students stay engaged after the first year.
- 84.7% employment rate within three years sits 16.5 points above national outcomes.
- Budget carefully for clinical travel, off-campus housing, and practicum fees to avoid surprise costs.
- Compare aid offers from nearby public universities to weigh the premium for smaller classes.
- Compare aid offers from nearby public universities to weigh the premium for smaller classes.
EDsmart Expert Analysis
Polytechnic University of Puerto Rico-Orlando, a private nonprofit university in Orlando, FL, secures a C+ grade in our latest review. It holds a #1520 national ranking Category results include Completion (C-), Support (C+), Career Outcomes (B+), and Affordability (A-).
Grades are assigned relative to EDsmart's national bachelor's cohort using standardized outcomes (2026 methodology); they reflect how a school compares to peers, not a fixed percentage of a raw point total.
37.5% of learners come back after year one while 33.3% graduate within 150% of normal time (29.2% within eight years). The reported ROI is 84.3%, a figure families can weigh against cost and aid details above.
Why it matters: this snapshot shows how likely you are to stay on track academically and whether the outcomes justify the price tag. Letter grades summarize cohort-relative performance—not a single exam-style score.
EDsmart Financial Snapshot
Families pay about $16,577 on average after aid, compared with a published cost near $23,011.
Institutional and federal aid lower costs by roughly $6,434 per year.
Graduates leave with a median of $22,564 in federal loans, which lines up with national norms.
About 58.8% of students receive Pell Grants, giving a snapshot of the campus income mix.
Why it matters: lining up sticker price, aid, and typical debt helps you stress-test the budget before you commit.
EDsmart Career Snapshot
Six years in, alumni earn roughly $69,903 at the median. This is roughly 16% above typical U.S. college outcomes.
The three-year employment rate is close to 84.7%.
The ROI comes in near 84.3%, which you can cross-check against your financial plan.
Why it matters: pairing median earnings with employment rates gives you a sense of payback time after graduation.
EDsmart Admissions Snapshot
This institution has not reported a current acceptance rate.
The admissions team encourages students to highlight academic strengths through transcripts, essays, and recommendations.
Prospective students can apply early for priority review and lean on the Polytechnic University of Puerto Rico-Orlando admissions site for deadlines, visit options, and counselor contacts.
Why it matters: knowing the admit rate and application expectations lets you map out testing, essays, and deadlines with less stress.
Your Decision Toolkit
Similar Schools
Institutions with similar academic profiles, selectivity, and outcomes
Nearby Schools
Other campuses you might consider
Other Florida campuses you might consider
Frequently Asked Questions
How much does Polytechnic University of Puerto Rico-Orlando cost?
At Polytechnic University of Puerto Rico-Orlando, listed tuition and fees are $14,547 per year, and the average net price after aid is $16,577. Use the net price calculator on this page for a personalized estimate.
What is Polytechnic University of Puerto Rico-Orlando's ranking?
Polytechnic University of Puerto Rico-Orlando ranks #1520 nationally in EDsmart's 2026 college rankings with an overall grade of C+, based on completion, affordability, support, and career outcomes.
What is Polytechnic University of Puerto Rico-Orlando's graduation rate?
At Polytechnic University of Puerto Rico-Orlando, the graduation rate within 150% of normal time is 33.3% (the rate used in EDsmart rankings), College Scorecard 8-year award rate is 29.2%, and first-year retention is 37.5%.
What are Polytechnic University of Puerto Rico-Orlando's job outcomes?
Graduates of Polytechnic University of Puerto Rico-Orlando report median earnings of $69,903 four years after graduation, according to College Scorecard federal outcome data. Outcomes vary by major.
What is Polytechnic University of Puerto Rico-Orlando's student population?
Polytechnic University of Puerto Rico-Orlando enrolls about 96 undergraduate students, per College Scorecard enrollment data.
Contact Information
- Address Orlando, FL 32825
- Website www.pupr.edu/orlando
- Net Price Calculator Calculate Your Cost
- Financial AidView Financial Aid Information
- AccreditationMiddle States Commission on Higher Education (MSACHE)
- Transfer Enrollment Rate16.7%