Portland State University Logo

Portland State University

Portland, OR | Public | University

Portland State University has an acceptance rate of 90.9%, an average net price of $8,337, and an overall rank of #765 (Grade B). About 52.9% of students graduate within 150% of normal time, and median earnings are $63,548 five years after graduation. Data from the U.S. Department of Education and EDsmart's 2026 rankings.

Portland State University is a public university in Portland, OR. Students most often pursue Computer Science and Electrical, Electronics and Communications Engineering.

Inside the classroom, students benefit from a 17:1 student-faculty ratio, and 76.1% first-year retention. Faculty pair challenging syllabi with intentional mentoring so learners keep momentum even as expectations rise.

EDsmart calculates return on investment at 161.9%, roughly 112.0 points higher than typical outcomes. Expect the strongest outcomes for students who appreciate an encouraging campus with room to explore and career-focused learners aiming for high-impact outcomes.

B
Ranking
#765 of 1,934
How We Rank Schools Lower tuitionPublic school option
At a Glance
Ranking
#765 of 1,934 (Top 39.6%)
Tuition
$12,315
Net Price
$8,337
4-Year Tuition
$49,260
Acceptance Rate
90.9%
Transfer Rate
23.3%
Student Population
13,182
Student-Faculty
17:1
Grad Rate (150% time)
52.9%
Grad Rate (8-year)
58.7%
Retention Rate
76.1%
4-Yr Earnings
$63,548
ROI
Not reported

Who is Portland State University Best For?

A quick look at who tends to feel most at home here based on outcomes and campus context.

Families tracking affordability closely
First-gen or Pell-eligible support
Students seeking strong career outcomes
Students valuing supportive learning environments

EDsmart Scores Summary

Overall Ranking
#765 of 1,934
Top 39.6% of all institutions
EDsmart Score
60.5 / 100 (national index)
Curved score (top institution = 100.0)
Value Rating
3.02 / 5
Based on ROI and outcomes
Completion
B
#996 of 1,934
Affordability
A-
#230 of 1,934
Support
B-
#1,274 of 1,934
Career Outcomes
B-
#1,270 of 1,934

Portland State University graduates 52.9% of students within 150% of normal time (the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings), with an 8-year award rate of 58.7% and keeps 76.1% of first-year students. Affordability earns an A- compared with similar schools.

How we calculate this →

Cost & Financial Aid

Quick Answers

What does it cost?
Depends on income
$6,255-$17,621 annual net price based on family income.
What's the graduation rate?
Somewhat likely
52.9% graduate within 150% of normal time (the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings). The federal 8-year award rate is 58.7%. 34.2% complete in four years (IPEDS 100% time).
What are job outcomes?
Highly likely
88.2% of alumni are employed within three years of leaving. Median earnings five years after graduation are $63,548. Pay varies by major.
Get Your Personalized Cost Estimate

The costs shown are averages. Use Portland State University's net price calculator to get an estimate based on your family's financial situation.

Calculate Your Net Price →

Total Degree Cost Summary

4-Year Total Cost (Pay with Cash)
$82,244
$20,561 × 4 years
Average Total Cost (Pay with Financial Aid)
$39,246
$8,337 × 4.7 years average
Time to Degree
Average: 4.7 years | 4-Year Rate: 34.2% | 6-Year Rate: 52.9% | 8-Year Rate: 58.7%
Most students finish in about four to five years. Four-year completion is 34.2% and six-year completion is 52.9%.

Annual Cost Comparison

Pay with Cash
$20,561
Total annual cost including tuition, books and living expenses; excluding any financial aid, grants or scholarships.
Pay with Financial Aid
$8,337
Average annual cost including tuition, books and living expenses after financial aid, grants or scholarships.

Est. annual aid gap: $12,224 Cash cost of attendance minus average net price after aid.

Cost of Undergraduate Attendance

Costs based on full-time, first-time degree- or certificate-seeking undergraduates.

View cost of attendance line items
Costs to Consider Price
Tuition and Fees $12,315
Books and Supplies $750
On-Campus Room and Board $15,783
On-Campus Other Expenses $2,580
Total On-Campus Cost $20,561

Tip: focus on the rows that match your living plan—commuters can swap in off-campus estimates while residential students should budget for housing, meals, and incidental fees.

Students Receiving Aid

Pell Grant
46.3%
Federal Loan
32.0%

Use these bars to gauge how many classmates rely on need-based dollars—lower Pell or loan shares may signal a wealthier student body or generous institutional grants.

EDsmart Insight: About 46.3% of Portland State University students receive Pell Grants — above the national average, highlighting ongoing affordability priorities.

Net Price by Family Income

Average annual net price after financial aid, based on family income. Your actual cost may vary depending on your specific financial situation.

$0 - $30,000
$6,255
Average annual cost for families earning $0-$30K
$30,001 - $48,000
$5,757
Average annual cost for families earning $30K-$48K
$48,001 - $75,000
$7,522
Average annual cost for families earning $48K-$75K
$75,001 - $110,000
$10,215
Average annual cost for families earning $75K-$110K
$110,001+
$17,621
Average annual cost for families earning $110K+

Understanding These Numbers: Net price varies significantly by income level. Net prices range from $6,255 to $17,621 depending on family income. Use Portland State University's net price calculator for a personalized estimate.

Typical total cost estimates (~4.7 years):
$0-$30K families
~$29,445
$30K-$48K families
~$27,101
$48K-$75K families
~$35,410
$75K-$110K families
~$48,087
AFFORDABILITY ALERT

If your family earns $75K-$110K: Expect to pay around $10,215/year

If your family earns $110K+: Expect to pay around $17,621/year

See all income brackets →

ROI & Career Outcomes

Return on Investment
Not reported
Based on median earnings five years after graduation vs. total degree cost
  • Median Earnings (5 Years After Graduation) $63,548
  • 10-Year Median Earnings $62,447
  • Average Years to Graduate 4.7 years
  • Average Student Debt $19,489
  • Debt-to-Earnings ~30.7%
  • Repayment Rate (3yr) 54.0%
  • Employment Rate 88.2%

Graduate Earnings Distribution

Earnings range for Portland State University graduates about 10 years after enrollment (25th percentile, median, and 75th percentile). Different horizon than median earnings five years after graduation above.

Graduates earn a median of $63,548 five years after graduation — roughly 3% above the national median.
Payback Period
0.62 years
Total Degree Cost ÷ Annual Earnings

Portland State University vs. National Average

Comparison of key performance metrics showing how Portland State University's outcomes compare to the national average across earnings, graduation rates, retention, ROI, and employment. This contextualizes Portland State University's performance within the broader higher education landscape.

Acceptance & Selectivity

Getting In

Acceptance Rate
90.9%
Lightly Selective
National Average
69%
Average acceptance rate
  • SAT Evidence-Based Reading Not reported
  • SAT Math Not reported
  • SAT Writing Not reported
  • ACT Composite Not reported
  • SAT & ACTNot required
  • Undergraduate Enrollment 13,182
  • Full-Time Students 75.9%
  • Part-Time Students 24.1%
  • Retention Rate 76.1%
  • Grad Rate (150% time) 52.9%
  • Grad Rate (8-year) 58.7%
  • Student-Faculty Ratio 17:1

How to Get Into Portland State University

1. Meet Academic Requirements: Portland State University requires strong academic performance. Aim for test scores within the reported ranges and maintain a competitive GPA. Most admitted students rank in the top 10% of their high school class.

2. Build a Strong Application: Beyond test scores, focus on crafting compelling essays, securing strong letters of recommendation, and highlighting extracurricular activities that demonstrate leadership and commitment.

3. Understand Selectivity: With an acceptance rate of 90.9%, Portland State University is relatively open. Consider applying early decision if available, as early applicants often have higher acceptance rates.

4. Financial Planning: Review the net price calculator and financial aid options early. Many students receive significant aid, making the actual cost lower than the sticker price.

Tip: Contact the admissions office directly for the most current application requirements, deadlines, and any special programs (like early decision or early action) that might improve your chances.

EDsmart Insight: With a 90.9% acceptance rate, Portland State University is more accessible than highly selective schools. Meeting the test score ranges and maintaining a solid GPA significantly improves admission chances.

Academic Programs

Undergraduate Program Distribution

Breakdown of the most popular majors and fields of study among Portland State University undergraduates. Psychology, General, Business Administration, Management and Operations, and Social Sciences, General draw the most students.

  • Psychology, General 7.1%
  • Business Administration, Management and Operations 7.0%
  • Social Sciences, General 4.9%
  • Marketing 4.3%
  • Biology, General 4.0%
  • Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Hum 3.8%
See more majors
  • Computer Science 3.7%
  • Finance and Financial Management Services 3.4%

Highest Earning Programs

Median earnings five years after graduation for each program. These figures help illustrate ROI by field of study and degree level.

Undergraduate Programs (Bachelor's Degrees)

  • 1. Computer Science $126,086
  • 2. Electrical, Electronics and Communications Engineering $104,747
  • 3. Mechanical Engineering $88,755
Show additional high-earning majors
  • 4. Civil Engineering $87,595
  • 5. Computer Engineering $87,259
  • 6. Chemistry $84,800
  • 7. Physics $84,248
  • 8. Finance and Financial Management Services $80,287
  • 9. Business Administration, Management and Operations $76,365
  • 10. Accounting and Related Services $74,599

Graduate Programs (Master's, Doctoral, Professional)

  • 1. Business Administration, Management and Operations (Master's Degree) $129,008
  • 2. Electrical, Electronics and Communications Engineering (Master's Degree) $127,704
  • 3. Finance and Financial Management Services (Master's Degree) $111,207
Show additional graduate majors
  • 4. Computer Science (Master's Degree) $105,287
  • 5. Mechanical Engineering (Master's Degree) $97,958
  • 6. Public Administration (Master's Degree) $94,288
  • 7. Civil Engineering (Master's Degree) $92,460
  • 8. Health and Medical Administrative Services (Master's Degree) $89,636
  • 9. Accounting and Related Services (Post-Baccalaureate Certificate) $83,720
  • 10. City/Urban, Community and Regional Planning (Master's Degree) $79,384

Program Choice Matters: Undergraduate: Computer Science grads earn $126,086—69% more than Accounting and Related Services ($74,599). Graduate: Business Administration, Management and Operations programs lead with $129,008 median earnings. Your program and degree level choice significantly impact career earnings.

Online Degrees & Distance Learning

U.S. Department of Education data reports fully online programs for Portland State University. Below are the most popular options based on the number of recent graduates, followed by a quick look at the breadth of online offerings by degree level.
Source: U.S. Department of Education

Most Popular Online Degrees

  • Psychology, General (Bachelor's Degree, 350 graduates)
  • Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods (Graduate/Professional Certificate, 266 graduates)
  • Marketing (Bachelor's Degree, 192 graduates)
  • Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General (Bachelor's Degree, 164 graduates)
  • Biology, General (Bachelor's Degree, 161 graduates)

What This School Offers Online, at a Glance

U.S. Department of Education data flags the following online degree and certificate programs for this institution. Expand each credential level to view the complete list of available subjects.

Online Bachelor's Degrees (56 programs)▼
  • Psychology, General
  • Marketing
  • Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General
  • Biology, General
  • Computer Science
  • Public Health
  • Finance and Financial Management Services
  • Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other
  • Design and Applied Arts
  • English Language and Literature, General
  • Political Science and Government
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Communication and Media Studies
  • Natural Resources Conservation and Research
  • Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services
  • Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering
  • Sociology
  • Civil Engineering
  • History
  • Film/Video and Photographic Arts
  • Computer and Information Sciences, General
  • Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services, Other
  • Fine and Studio Arts
  • Mathematics
  • Economics
  • Architecture
  • Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies
  • Anthropology
  • Geological and Earth Sciences/Geosciences
  • Community Organization and Advocacy
  • Urban Studies/Affairs
  • Music
  • Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies
  • Computer Engineering
  • International Relations and National Security Studies
  • Chemistry
  • Physics
  • Audiovisual Communications Technologies/Technicians
  • Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
  • Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and Services
  • Geography and Cartography
  • Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology
  • Special Education and Teaching
  • Data Science
  • Environmental/Environmental Health Engineering
  • East Asian Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
  • Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft
  • Slavic, Baltic and Albanian Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
  • Peace Studies and Conflict Resolution
  • Germanic Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
  • Religion/Religious Studies
  • Middle/Near Eastern and Semitic Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
  • Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas
  • Real Estate
  • Management Information Systems and Services
  • Dance
Online Master's Degrees (63 programs)▼
  • Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Education, General
  • Business Administration, Management and Operations
  • Computer Science
  • Public Health
  • Communication Disorders Sciences and Services
  • Educational Administration and Supervision
  • Student Counseling and Personnel Services
  • City/Urban, Community, and Regional Planning
  • Public Administration
  • Publishing
  • Real Estate
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Engineering-Related Fields
  • Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies
  • Health and Medical Administrative Services
  • Architecture
  • Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language
  • Applied Mathematics
  • Public Policy Analysis
  • Statistics
  • English Language and Literature, General
  • Music
  • Civil Engineering
  • Mathematics
  • Geography and Cartography
  • Economics
  • Systems Engineering
  • Materials Engineering
  • Communication and Media Studies
  • Anthropology
  • Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
  • Natural Resources Conservation and Research
  • Fine and Studio Arts
  • Sociology
  • Criminal Justice and Corrections
  • Geological and Earth Sciences/Geosciences
  • Environmental/Natural Resources Management and Policy
  • Biomathematics, Bioinformatics, and Computational Biology
  • Homeland Security
  • History
  • Urban Studies/Affairs
  • Psychology, General
  • Physics
  • Peace Studies and Conflict Resolution
  • Finance and Financial Management Services
  • Political Science and Government
  • East Asian Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
  • Biology, General
  • Systems Science and Theory
  • Germanic Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
  • Chemistry
  • Social Sciences, General
  • Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other
  • Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and Services
  • Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
  • International Business
  • Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, Other
  • Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering
  • Educational/Instructional Media Design
  • Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft
  • Computer Engineering
  • Biological and Physical Sciences
Online Doctoral Degrees (22 programs)▼
  • Social Work
  • Public Policy Analysis
  • Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas
  • Educational Administration and Supervision
  • Curriculum and Instruction
  • Clinical, Counseling and Applied Psychology
  • Physics
  • Engineering-Related Fields
  • Computer Science
  • Urban Studies/Affairs
  • Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Civil Engineering
  • Chemistry
  • Sociology
  • Mathematics
  • Systems Science and Theory
  • Special Education and Teaching
  • Public Health
  • Natural Resources Conservation and Research
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering
  • Biology, General
Online Graduate/Professional Certificates (53 programs)▼
  • Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods
  • Real Estate
  • Educational Administration and Supervision
  • Business Administration, Management and Operations
  • Materials Engineering
  • Special Education and Teaching
  • Geography and Cartography
  • Engineering-Related Fields
  • Economics
  • Gerontology
  • Foods, Nutrition, and Related Services
  • Entrepreneurial and Small Business Operations
  • Specialized Sales, Merchandising and Marketing Operations
  • Human Resources Management and Services
  • Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management
  • Homeland Security
  • Geological and Earth Sciences/Geosciences
  • Environmental Design
  • Peace Studies and Conflict Resolution
  • Engineering, Other
  • Public Policy Analysis
  • Public Administration
  • Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies
  • Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General
  • Education, General
  • City/Urban, Community, and Regional Planning
  • Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods
  • Music
  • Demography
  • Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services, Other
  • Biomathematics, Bioinformatics, and Computational Biology
  • Architecture and Related Services, Other
  • Applied Statistics
  • Turkic, Uralic-Altaic, Caucasian, and Central Asian Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
  • Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language
  • Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas
  • Student Counseling and Personnel Services
  • Statistics
  • Slavic, Baltic and Albanian Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
  • Public Health
  • Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions
  • Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and Services
  • Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
  • International Business
  • General Sales, Merchandising and Related Marketing Operations
  • Fine and Studio Arts
  • Environmental/Natural Resources Management and Policy
  • Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering
  • Dance
  • Computer Engineering
  • Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs, Other
  • Business/Corporate Communications
  • Area Studies
Online Undergraduate Certificates & Diplomas (21 programs)▼
  • Communication Disorders Sciences and Services
  • General Sales, Merchandising and Related Marketing Operations
  • Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language
  • International Business
  • Business/Corporate Communications
  • Entrepreneurial and Small Business Operations
  • Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
  • Foods, Nutrition, and Related Services
  • Slavic, Baltic and Albanian Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
  • International/Globalization Studies
  • Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and Services
  • Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies
  • Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other
  • Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods
  • Fine and Studio Arts
  • Sustainability Studies
  • Business Administration, Management and Operations
  • Area Studies
  • Environmental/Natural Resources Management and Policy
  • Foreign Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, Other
  • Cultural Studies and Comparative Literature

Student Demographics

Student Population

  • Total Undergraduate Enrollment 13,182
  • Full-Time Students 75.9%
  • Part-Time Students 24.1%
  • Male Students 43.8%
  • Female Students 56.2%
  • Caucasian 46.5%
  • Asian 10.1%
  • Hispanic 23.2%
  • Black 5.7%
  • Pell Grant Recipients 46.3%

Racial & Ethnic Diversity

Undergraduate student body composition by racial and ethnic background. This reflects Portland State University's commitment to diversity and inclusion in admissions.

Gender Distribution

Gender breakdown of Portland State University's undergraduate population. The university maintains a roughly balanced gender distribution across its student body.

Graduation Rate Equity Analysis

How well does Portland State University support students from different economic backgrounds?

Pell Grant Recipients
51.7%
6-year graduation rate
Non-Pell Students
55.0%
6-year graduation rate
Equity Gap
3.3 pts
excellent equity

What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at nearly the same rate as higher-income students, indicating strong institutional support for all economic backgrounds.

Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity

Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity

Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at Portland State University, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.

EDsmart Insight: Portland State University has a diverse student body, with 46.5% identifying as White.

Graduation Rate Equity Analysis

How well does Portland State University support students from different economic backgrounds?

Pell Grant Recipients
51.7%
6-year graduation rate
Non-Pell Students
55.0%
6-year graduation rate
Equity Gap
3.3 pts
excellent equity

What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at nearly the same rate as higher-income students, indicating strong institutional support for all economic backgrounds.

Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity

Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity

Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at Portland State University, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.

Our Take

Portland State University serves as an affordable university for students seeking quality education without elite university costs. Ranked #765 overall with ROI data not available, the institution balances practical outcomes with budget-friendly pricing.

At $8,337 annually, students gain access to career-focused programs leading to $63,548 median earnings. The 52.9% graduation rate reflects reasonable completion metrics for a university. While 76.1% retention suggests adequate student support.

University Value: Portland State University's Strengths

Ranked #765 with a B grade, Portland State University prioritizes accessibility and local career connections over national prestige.

Primary Strengths: Universitys like Portland State University excel at providing affordable education ($8,337 annually) with strong local employer relationships. Many programs emphasize practical skills and internships within the regional economy.

Best For: Students planning to work in the region after graduation benefit from established employer connections. Adult learners and part-time students appreciate flexible scheduling. First-generation students and budget-conscious families gain degrees without overwhelming debt.

Honest Assessment: Portland State University's 76.1% retention and 52.9% graduation rate trail elite universities but align with typical university performance. Career outcomes ($63,548 median earnings) reflect regional job markets more than national opportunities.

Value Verdict: For students committed to regional careers, Portland State University and $8,337 cost deliver solid value. Those seeking national job mobility or prestigious credentials should compare against flagship state universities or targeted private scholarships.

Key Takeaways

  • 52.9% graduation rate sits 9.6 points below the national 62.5% benchmark.
  • 76.1% first-year retention is 0.7 points below the national norm of 76.8%.
  • Median earnings of $63,548 run about 3% higher than national outcomes five years after graduation.
  • Average net price of $8,337 is roughly $11,570 lower than the national median of $19,908.
  • 88.2% employment rate within three years is 20.0 points above the national 68.2%.

Helpfulness for Students

Green Flags
  • 17:1 student-faculty ratio keeps mentorship close and courses discussion-sized.
  • 76.1% first-year retention shows students stay engaged after the first year.
  • 88.2% employment rate within three years sits 20.0 points above national outcomes.
Red Flags
  • Budget carefully for clinical travel, off-campus housing, and practicum fees to avoid surprise costs.
  • Compare aid offers from nearby public universities to weigh the premium for smaller classes.
  • Compare aid offers from nearby public universities to weigh the premium for smaller classes.
EDsmart Expert Analysis

EDsmart rates Portland State University—a public university in Portland, OR—at B overall. It holds a #765 overall ranking Completion earns B, Support B-, Career Outcomes B-, and Affordability A-.

Grades are assigned relative to EDsmart's national bachelor's cohort using standardized outcomes (2026 methodology); they reflect how a school compares to peers, not a fixed percentage of a raw point total.

About 76.1% of first-year students return; 52.9% graduate within 150% of normal time, with an 8-year award rate of 58.7%. Review the cost and aid tables for a full picture of value.

Why it matters: this snapshot shows how likely you are to stay on track academically and whether the outcomes justify the price tag. Letter grades summarize cohort-relative performance—not a single exam-style score.

EDsmart Financial Snapshot

Families pay about $8,337 on average after aid, compared with a published cost near $20,561.

Institutional and federal aid lower costs by roughly $12,224 per year.

Graduates leave with a median of $19,489 in federal loans, which lines up with national norms.

About 46.3% of students receive Pell Grants, giving a snapshot of the campus income mix.

Why it matters: lining up sticker price, aid, and typical debt helps you stress-test the budget before you commit.

EDsmart Career Snapshot

Graduates report median earnings of about $63,548 five years after graduation. This is roughly 3% above typical U.S. college outcomes.

The three-year employment rate is close to 88.2%.

Use the ROI table above to estimate how long it may take to recoup your degree costs.

Why it matters: pairing median earnings with employment rates gives you a sense of payback time after graduation.

EDsmart Admissions Snapshot

90.9% of applicants receive offers, so preparation and fit matter.

The admissions team encourages students to highlight academic strengths through transcripts, essays, and recommendations.

Prospective students can apply early for priority review and lean on the Portland State University admissions site for deadlines, visit options, and counselor contacts.

Why it matters: knowing the admit rate and application expectations lets you map out testing, essays, and deadlines with less stress.

EDsmart Verdict
3.02 / 5
Value Rating - Based on affordability and career outcomes

Your Decision Toolkit

Run the Net Price Calculator
Get your personalized cost estimate
Compare with similar schools
See how Portland State University stacks up to alternatives
Check your major's earnings
See ROI for your specific field of study
Visit the campus
Schedule a campus tour or virtual visit
Visit Portland State University Website →

Cite this profile

Add your access date when you publish.

APA (7th): EDsmart. (2026). Portland State University: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings. https://www.edsmart.org/schools/portland-state-university/

MLA (9th): “Portland State University: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings.” EDsmart, 2026, www.edsmart.org/schools/portland-state-university/.

Chicago: EDsmart. “Portland State University: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings.” https://www.edsmart.org/schools/portland-state-university/.

Similar Schools

Institutions with similar academic profiles, selectivity, and outcomes

Nearby Schools

Other campuses you might consider

Other Oregon campuses you might consider

University of Oregon
Eugene, OR
B #748 of 1,934
Pacific University
Forest Grove, OR
B #808 of 1,934
Willamette University
Salem, OR
B #811 of 1,934
Oregon State University-Cascades Campus
Bend, OR
B+ #589 of 1,934

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Portland State University's acceptance rate?

Portland State University's acceptance rate is 90.9%, based on U.S. Department of Education admissions data.

How much does Portland State University cost?

At Portland State University, listed tuition and fees are $12,315 per year, and the average net price after aid is $8,337. Use the net price calculator on this page for a personalized estimate.

What is Portland State University's ranking?

Portland State University ranks #765 overall in EDsmart's 2026 college rankings with an overall grade of B, based on completion, affordability, support, and career outcomes.

What is Portland State University's graduation rate?

At Portland State University, the graduation rate within 150% of normal time is 52.9% (the rate used in EDsmart rankings), the federal 8-year award rate is 58.7%, and first-year retention is 76.1%.

What are Portland State University's job outcomes?

Graduates of Portland State University report median earnings of $63,548 five years after graduation, according to U.S. Department of Education outcome data. Outcomes vary by major.

What is Portland State University's student population?

Portland State University enrolls about 13,182 undergraduate students, per U.S. Department of Education enrollment data.

Contact Information

  • AccreditationNorthwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU)
  • Endowment$112.2M
  • Transfer Enrollment Rate23.3%

Data Source & Methodology ▼