Princeton University Logo

Princeton University

Princeton, NJ | Private Nonprofit | University

Princeton University has an acceptance rate of 4.6%, an average net price of $7,815, and an overall rank of #5 (Grade A+). About 97.4% of students graduate within 150% of normal time, and median earnings are $111,260 five years after graduation. Data from the U.S. Department of Education and EDsmart's 2026 rankings.

Princeton University is a private nonprofit university in Princeton, NJ. Students most often pursue Computer Engineering and Computer Science.

Day to day, students benefit from a 5:1 student-faculty ratio, and 98.4% first-year retention. Coaches and faculty advisors weave in frequent check-ins, helping students translate ambition into steady progress.

EDsmart calculates return on investment at 316.1%, roughly 266.2 points higher than typical outcomes. It's well-suited to ambitious students who thrive in an elite, research-powered setting and career-focused learners aiming for high-impact outcomes.

A+
Ranking
#5 of 1,934
How We Rank Schools Top-ranked schoolMost students finishLower tuitionHigher pay after collegeClose mentorship
At a Glance
Ranking
#5 of 1,934 (Top 0.3%)
Tuition
$65,510
Net Price
$7,815
4-Year Tuition
$262,040
Acceptance Rate
4.6%
Transfer Rate
0.3%
Student Population
5,709
Student-Faculty
5:1
Grad Rate (150% time)
97.4%
Grad Rate (8-year)
97.7%
Retention Rate
98.4%
4-Yr Earnings
$111,260
ROI
Not reported

Who is Princeton University Best For?

A quick look at who tends to feel most at home here based on outcomes and campus context.

Learners seeking elite outcomes
Students who thrive with close mentoring
Students aiming for strong salaries
Momentum seekers needing high retention
Graduation-focused planners
Students wanting a top-100 campus
Career maximizers chasing high ROI
Families tracking affordability closely

EDsmart Scores Summary

Overall Ranking
#5 of 1,934
Top 0.3% of all institutions
EDsmart Score
99.8 / 100 (national index)
Curved score (top institution = 100.0)
Value Rating
4.99 / 5
Based on ROI and outcomes
Completion
A+
#3 of 1,934
Affordability
B+
#533 of 1,934
Support
A
#13 of 1,934
Career Outcomes
A
#46 of 1,934

Princeton University graduates 97.4% of students within 150% of normal time (the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings), with an 8-year award rate of 97.7% and keeps 98.4% of first-year students. Affordability earns a B+ compared with similar schools.

How we calculate this →

Cost & Financial Aid

Quick Answers

What does it cost?
Depends on income
$7,815-$38,927 annual net price based on family income.
What's the graduation rate?
Highly likely
97.4% graduate within 150% of normal time (the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings). The federal 8-year award rate is 97.7%. 72.8% complete in four years (IPEDS 100% time).
What are job outcomes?
Highly likely
91.6% of alumni are employed within three years of leaving. Median earnings five years after graduation are $111,260. Pay varies by major.
Get Your Personalized Cost Estimate

The costs shown are averages. Use Princeton University's net price calculator to get an estimate based on your family's financial situation.

Calculate Your Net Price →

Total Degree Cost Summary

4-Year Total Cost (Pay with Cash)
$351,552
$87,888 × 4 years
Average Total Cost (Pay with Financial Aid)
$35,198
$7,815 × 4.5 years average
Time to Degree
Average: 4.5 years | 4-Year Rate: 72.8% | 6-Year Rate: 97.4% | 8-Year Rate: 97.7%
Most students finish in about four to five years. Four-year completion is 72.8% and six-year completion is 97.4%.

Annual Cost Comparison

Pay with Cash
$87,888
Total annual cost including tuition, books and living expenses; excluding any financial aid, grants or scholarships.
Pay with Financial Aid
$7,815
Average annual cost including tuition, books and living expenses after financial aid, grants or scholarships.

Est. annual aid gap: $80,073 Cash cost of attendance minus average net price after aid.

Cost of Undergraduate Attendance

Costs based on full-time, first-time degree- or certificate-seeking undergraduates.

View cost of attendance line items
Costs to Consider Price
Tuition and Fees $65,510
Books and Supplies $1,050
On-Campus Room and Board $21,170
On-Campus Other Expenses $3,950
Total On-Campus Cost $87,888

Tip: focus on the rows that match your living plan—commuters can swap in off-campus estimates while residential students should budget for housing, meals, and incidental fees.

Students Receiving Aid

Pell Grant
24.0%
Federal Loan
4.0%

Use these bars to gauge how many classmates rely on need-based dollars—lower Pell or loan shares may signal a wealthier student body or generous institutional grants.

EDsmart Insight: About 24.0% of Princeton University students receive Pell Grants — below the national average, highlighting ongoing affordability priorities.

Net Price by Family Income

Average annual net price after financial aid, based on family income. Your actual cost may vary depending on your specific financial situation.

$30,001 - $48,000
$795
Average annual cost for families earning $30K-$48K
$48,001 - $75,000
$1,346
Average annual cost for families earning $48K-$75K
$75,001 - $110,000
$4,761
Average annual cost for families earning $75K-$110K
$110,001+
$38,927
Average annual cost for families earning $110K+

Understanding These Numbers: Net price varies significantly by income level. Low-income families pay less than $795 annually, while high-income families pay $38,927. Use Princeton University's net price calculator for a personalized estimate.

Typical total cost estimates (~4.5 years):
$30K-$48K families
~$3,581
$48K-$75K families
~$6,062
$75K-$110K families
~$21,443
$110K+ families
~$175,321
AFFORDABILITY ALERT

If your family earns $75K-$110K: Expect to pay around $4,761/year

If your family earns $110K+: Expect to pay around $38,927/year

See all income brackets →

ROI & Career Outcomes

Return on Investment
Not reported
Based on median earnings five years after graduation vs. total degree cost
  • Median Earnings (5 Years After Graduation) $111,260
  • 10-Year Median Earnings $133,523
  • Average Years to Graduate 4.5 years
  • Average Student Debt $12,400
  • Debt-to-Earnings ~11.1%
  • Repayment Rate (3yr) 86.4%
  • Employment Rate 91.6%

Graduate Earnings Distribution

Earnings range for Princeton University graduates about 10 years after enrollment (25th percentile, median, and 75th percentile). Different horizon than median earnings five years after graduation above.

Graduates earn a median of $111,260 five years after graduation — roughly 81% above the national median.
Payback Period
0.32 years
Total Degree Cost ÷ Annual Earnings

Princeton University vs. National Average

Comparison of key performance metrics showing how Princeton University's outcomes compare to the national average across earnings, graduation rates, retention, ROI, and employment. This contextualizes Princeton University's performance within the broader higher education landscape.

Acceptance & Selectivity

Getting In

Acceptance Rate
4.6%
Extremely Selective
National Average
69%
Average acceptance rate
  • SAT Evidence-Based Reading 740-780
  • SAT Math 770-800
  • SAT Writing Not reported
  • ACT Composite 34-35
  • SAT & ACT Required
  • Undergraduate Enrollment 5,709
  • Full-Time Students 100.0%
  • Part-Time Students 0.0%
  • Retention Rate 98.4%
  • Grad Rate (150% time) 97.4%
  • Grad Rate (8-year) 97.7%
  • Student-Faculty Ratio 5:1

How to Get Into Princeton University

1. Meet Academic Requirements: Princeton University requires strong academic performance. Aim for test scores within the reported ranges and maintain a competitive GPA. Most admitted students rank in the top 10% of their high school class.

2. Build a Strong Application: Beyond test scores, focus on crafting compelling essays, securing strong letters of recommendation, and highlighting extracurricular activities that demonstrate leadership and commitment.

3. Understand Selectivity: With an acceptance rate of 4.6%, Princeton University is extremely selective. Consider applying early decision if available, as early applicants often have higher acceptance rates.

4. Financial Planning: Review the net price calculator and financial aid options early. Many students receive significant aid, making the actual cost lower than the sticker price.

Tip: Contact the admissions office directly for the most current application requirements, deadlines, and any special programs (like early decision or early action) that might improve your chances.

EDsmart Insight: With a 4.6% acceptance rate, Princeton University is extremely selective. Most admitted students rank in the top 10% of their class. Consider applying early decision if available, as early applicants often have higher acceptance rates. The middle 50% of admitted students score between 1510 and 1580 on the SAT.

Academic Programs

Undergraduate Program Distribution

Breakdown of the most popular majors and fields of study among Princeton University undergraduates. Computer Science, Economics, and Public Policy Analysis draw the most students.

  • Computer Science 12.5%
  • Economics 9.9%
  • Public Policy Analysis 8.5%
  • History 5.8%
  • Political Science and Government 5.5%
  • Operations Research 5.4%
See more majors
  • Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology 4.4%
  • Mechanical Engineering 4.1%

Highest Earning Programs

Median earnings five years after graduation for each program. These figures help illustrate ROI by field of study and degree level.

Undergraduate Programs (Bachelor's Degrees)

  • 1. Computer Engineering $243,825
  • 2. Computer Science $146,624
  • 3. Economics $103,041
Show additional high-earning majors
  • 4. Operations Research $100,354
  • 5. Public Policy Analysis $98,995
  • 6. Political Science and Government $94,020
  • 7. Mechanical Engineering $85,328
  • 8. Ecology, Evolution, Systematics, and Population Biology $53,038
  • 9. Research and Experimental Psychology $47,050
  • 10. History $45,363

Graduate Programs (Master's, Doctoral, Professional)

  • 1. Public Policy Analysis (Master's Degree) $112,516

Program Choice Matters: Undergraduate: Computer Engineering grads earn $243,825—437% more than History ($45,363). Graduate: Public Policy Analysis programs lead with $112,516 median earnings. Your program and degree level choice significantly impact career earnings.

Online Degrees & Distance Learning

U.S. Department of Education data reports fully online programs for Princeton University. Below are the most popular options based on the number of recent graduates, followed by a quick look at the breadth of online offerings by degree level.
Source: U.S. Department of Education

Most Popular Online Degrees

  • Computer Science (Bachelor's Degree, 201 graduates)
  • Economics (Bachelor's Degree, 132 graduates)
  • Public Policy Analysis (Bachelor's Degree, 114 graduates)
  • Public Policy Analysis (Master's Degree, 100 graduates)
  • Operations Research (Bachelor's Degree, 77 graduates)

What This School Offers Online, at a Glance

U.S. Department of Education data flags the following online degree and certificate programs for this institution. Expand each credential level to view the complete list of available subjects.

Online Bachelor's Degrees (36 programs)▼
  • Computer Science
  • Economics
  • Public Policy Analysis
  • Operations Research
  • History
  • Political Science and Government
  • Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology
  • Research and Experimental Psychology
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Mathematics
  • Ecology, Evolution, Systematics, and Population Biology
  • Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering
  • Sociology
  • Physics
  • English Language and Literature, General
  • Civil Engineering
  • Anthropology
  • Chemistry
  • Neurobiology and Neurosciences
  • Philosophy
  • Chemical Engineering
  • Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and Services
  • Fine and Studio Arts
  • Astronomy and Astrophysics
  • Religion/Religious Studies
  • Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
  • Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
  • Area Studies
  • Music
  • Architecture
  • Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies
  • Germanic Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
  • Geological and Earth Sciences/Geosciences
  • Slavic, Baltic and Albanian Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
  • Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other
  • Engineering, General
Online Master's Degrees (39 programs)▼
  • Public Policy Analysis
  • Computer Science
  • Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Applied Mathematics
  • Architectural Sciences and Technology
  • Chemistry
  • Physics
  • History
  • Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology
  • Economics
  • Mathematics
  • Civil Engineering
  • Chemical Engineering
  • Political Science and Government
  • Architecture
  • Sociology
  • Research and Experimental Psychology
  • Operations Research
  • Fine and Studio Arts
  • Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and Services
  • Geological and Earth Sciences/Geosciences
  • English Language and Literature, General
  • Anthropology
  • Neurobiology and Neurosciences
  • Music
  • Area Studies
  • Philosophy
  • Ecology, Evolution, Systematics, and Population Biology
  • Religion/Religious Studies
  • Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
  • Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
  • Biomathematics, Bioinformatics, and Computational Biology
  • Atmospheric Sciences and Meteorology
  • Astronomy and Astrophysics
  • Slavic, Baltic and Albanian Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
  • Germanic Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
  • Demography
  • Natural Resources Conservation and Research
Online Doctoral Degrees (40 programs)▼
  • Chemistry
  • Computer Science
  • Economics
  • History
  • Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering
  • Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology
  • Physics
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Astronomy and Astrophysics
  • Political Science and Government
  • Mathematics
  • Chemical Engineering
  • Area Studies
  • Operations Research
  • Civil Engineering
  • Sociology
  • Music
  • English Language and Literature, General
  • Biomathematics, Bioinformatics, and Computational Biology
  • Applied Mathematics
  • Anthropology
  • Philosophy
  • Neurobiology and Neurosciences
  • Religion/Religious Studies
  • Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and Services
  • Ecology, Evolution, Systematics, and Population Biology
  • Research and Experimental Psychology
  • Fine and Studio Arts
  • Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
  • Architecture
  • Natural Resources Conservation and Research
  • Geological and Earth Sciences/Geosciences
  • Slavic, Baltic and Albanian Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
  • Public Policy Analysis
  • Germanic Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
  • Demography
  • Atmospheric Sciences and Meteorology
  • Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
  • Engineering Physics
  • Biological/Biosystems Engineering
Online Undergraduate Certificates & Diplomas (1 program)▼
  • Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods

Student Demographics

Student Population

  • Total Undergraduate Enrollment 5,709
  • Full-Time Students 100.0%
  • Part-Time Students 0.0%
  • Male Students 49.6%
  • Female Students 50.4%
  • Caucasian 33.7%
  • Asian 23.4%
  • Hispanic 10.1%
  • Black 8.7%
  • Pell Grant Recipients 24.0%

Racial & Ethnic Diversity

Undergraduate student body composition by racial and ethnic background. This reflects Princeton University's commitment to diversity and inclusion in admissions.

Gender Distribution

Gender breakdown of Princeton University's undergraduate population. The university maintains a roughly balanced gender distribution across its student body.

Graduation Rate Equity Analysis

How well does Princeton University support students from different economic backgrounds?

Pell Grant Recipients
97.6%
6-year graduation rate
Non-Pell Students
97.3%
6-year graduation rate
Equity Gap
0.3 pts
excellent equity

What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at nearly the same rate as higher-income students, indicating strong institutional support for all economic backgrounds.

Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity

Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity

Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at Princeton University, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.

EDsmart Insight: Princeton University has a diverse student body, with 33.7% identifying as White. About 24.0% receive Pell Grants, below the national average of 38%, suggesting a wealthier student body or generous institutional aid.

Graduation Rate Equity Analysis

How well does Princeton University support students from different economic backgrounds?

Pell Grant Recipients
97.6%
6-year graduation rate
Non-Pell Students
97.3%
6-year graduation rate
Equity Gap
0.3 pts
excellent equity

What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at nearly the same rate as higher-income students, indicating strong institutional support for all economic backgrounds.

Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity

Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity

Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at Princeton University, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.

Our Take

Princeton University stands among the nation's most elite, delivering a 0.0% ROI outperforming 1934 of 1934 institutions in our analysis.

The institution achieves 72.8% four-year completion and a 97.4% graduation rate within 150% of normal time and maintains 98.4% first-year retention. However, the competitive $7,815 annual net price enhances accessibility. Post-graduation median earnings of $111,260 reflect strong career outcomes typical of selective institutions.

Value Analysis: Is Princeton University Worth It?

Ranking #5 of 1934, Princeton University delivers a A+ overall grade with 99.8/100 on EDsmart's national index (0–100 vs. all ranked schools; not a raw point total).

For High-Achieving Students: Applicants pursuing careers where institutional prestige and professional networks drive opportunities—such as finance, consulting, law, and academia—benefit most from Princeton University's brand value and alumni connections. The school's reputation provides career acceleration that may justify the premium cost for specific fields.

Financial Aid Recipients: Students receiving substantial need-based aid (bringing actual costs below $3,908 annually) access elite education at a competitive price point. Pell-eligible students often pay less here than at many public universities.

Alternative Considerations: Students in fields where skills and credentials matter more than brand name—particularly STEM, healthcare, and technical fields—should compare outcomes against public research universities offering similar education at 40-60% lower cost. Our data shows 0 institutions deliver superior ROI metrics.

Bottom Line: Princeton University excels in reputation and student experience, reflected in its 98.4% retention rate. However, value-conscious students should weigh the $7,815 annual investment against 0 alternatives offering stronger financial returns. The "best" choice depends on your field, financial situation, and career goals—not rankings alone.

Key Takeaways

  • 97.4% graduation rate sits 34.9 points above the national 62.5% benchmark.
  • 98.4% first-year retention is 21.6 points above the national norm of 76.8%.
  • Median earnings of $111,260 run about 81% higher than national outcomes five years after graduation.
  • Average net price of $7,815 is roughly $12,092 lower than the national median of $19,908.
  • 91.6% employment rate within three years is 23.4 points above the national 68.2%.

Helpfulness for Students

Green Flags
  • 5:1 student-faculty ratio keeps mentorship close and courses discussion-sized.
  • 98.4% first-year retention shows students stay engaged after the first year.
  • 91.6% employment rate within three years sits 23.4 points above national outcomes.
Red Flags
  • Pell participation at 24.0% trails the national share by 14.6 points, so equity work remains important.
  • Compare aid offers from nearby public universities to weigh the premium for smaller classes.
  • Compare aid offers from nearby public universities to weigh the premium for smaller classes.
EDsmart Expert Analysis

Princeton University, a private nonprofit university in Princeton, NJ, secures a A+ grade in our latest review. It stands at #5 among 1934 schools Grades by category break down as Completion A+, Support A, Career Outcomes A, and Affordability B+.

Grades are assigned relative to EDsmart's national bachelor's cohort using standardized outcomes (2026 methodology); they reflect how a school compares to peers, not a fixed percentage of a raw point total.

About 98.4% of first-year students return; 97.4% graduate within 150% of normal time, with an 8-year award rate of 97.7%. Review the cost and aid tables for a full picture of value.

Why it matters: this snapshot shows how likely you are to stay on track academically and whether the outcomes justify the price tag. Letter grades summarize cohort-relative performance—not a single exam-style score.

EDsmart Financial Snapshot

Families pay about $7,815 on average after aid, compared with a published cost near $87,888.

Institutional and federal aid lower costs by roughly $80,073 per year.

Graduates leave with a median of $12,400 in federal loans, which lines up with national norms.

About 24.0% of students receive Pell Grants, giving a snapshot of the campus income mix.

Why it matters: lining up sticker price, aid, and typical debt helps you stress-test the budget before you commit.

EDsmart Career Snapshot

Five years after graduation, alumni earn roughly $111,260 at the median. This is roughly 81% above typical U.S. college outcomes.

Employment outcomes report about 91.6% of alumni working within three years.

Use the ROI table above to estimate how long it may take to recoup your degree costs.

Why it matters: pairing median earnings with employment rates gives you a sense of payback time after graduation.

EDsmart Admissions Snapshot

4.6% of applicants receive offers, so preparation and fit matter.

The admissions team encourages students to highlight academic strengths through transcripts, essays, and recommendations.

Prospective students can apply early for priority review and lean on the Princeton University admissions site for deadlines, visit options, and counselor contacts.

Why it matters: knowing the admit rate and application expectations lets you map out testing, essays, and deadlines with less stress.

EDsmart Verdict
4.99 / 5
Value Rating - Based on affordability and career outcomes

Your Decision Toolkit

Run the Net Price Calculator
Get your personalized cost estimate
Compare with similar schools
See how Princeton University stacks up to alternatives
Check your major's earnings
See ROI for your specific field of study
Visit the campus
Schedule a campus tour or virtual visit
Visit Princeton University Website →

Cite this profile

Add your access date when you publish.

APA (7th): EDsmart. (2026). Princeton University: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings. https://www.edsmart.org/schools/princeton-university/

MLA (9th): “Princeton University: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings.” EDsmart, 2026, www.edsmart.org/schools/princeton-university/.

Chicago: EDsmart. “Princeton University: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings.” https://www.edsmart.org/schools/princeton-university/.

Similar Schools

Institutions with similar academic profiles, selectivity, and outcomes

Nearby Schools

Other campuses you might consider

Other New Jersey campuses you might consider

Stevens Institute of Technology
Hoboken, NJ
A #42 of 1,934
New Jersey Institute of Technology
Newark, NJ
A #79 of 1,934
Rabbinical Seminary Mkor Chaim
Lakewood, NJ
A #86 of 1,934
Rutgers University-Newark
Newark, NJ
A #104 of 1,934

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Princeton University's acceptance rate?

Princeton University's acceptance rate is 4.6%, based on U.S. Department of Education admissions data.

How much does Princeton University cost?

At Princeton University, listed tuition and fees are $65,510 per year, and the average net price after aid is $7,815. Use the net price calculator on this page for a personalized estimate.

What is Princeton University's ranking?

Princeton University ranks #5 overall in EDsmart's 2026 college rankings with an overall grade of A+, based on completion, affordability, support, and career outcomes.

What is Princeton University's graduation rate?

At Princeton University, the graduation rate within 150% of normal time is 97.4% (the rate used in EDsmart rankings), the federal 8-year award rate is 97.7%, and first-year retention is 98.4%.

What are Princeton University's job outcomes?

Graduates of Princeton University report median earnings of $111,260 five years after graduation, according to U.S. Department of Education outcome data. Outcomes vary by major.

What is Princeton University's student population?

Princeton University enrolls about 5,709 undergraduate students, per U.S. Department of Education enrollment data.

Contact Information

  • AccreditationMiddle States Commission on Higher Education (MSACHE)
  • Endowment$33.38B
  • Transfer Enrollment Rate0.3%

Data Source & Methodology ▼