Roosevelt University Logo

Roosevelt University

Chicago, IL | Private Nonprofit | University

Roosevelt University has an acceptance rate of 97.2%, an average net price of $21,512, and an overall rank of #1445 (Grade C+). About 34.0% of students graduate within 150% of normal time, and median earnings are $59,041 five years after graduation. Data from the U.S. Department of Education and EDsmart's 2026 rankings.

Roosevelt University is a private nonprofit university in Chicago, IL. Students most often pursue Liberal Arts and Sciences Studies and Humanities and Finance and Financial Management Services.

Day to day, students benefit from a 11:1 student-faculty ratio, and 61.6% first-year retention. Coaches and faculty advisors weave in frequent check-ins, helping students translate ambition into steady progress.

EDsmart calculates return on investment at 68.6%, roughly 18.7 points higher than typical outcomes. It's well-suited to students who appreciate an encouraging campus with room to explore.

C+
Ranking
#1445 of 1,934
How We Rank Schools
At a Glance
Ranking
#1445 of 1,934 (Top 74.7%)
Tuition
$23,154
Net Price
$21,512
4-Year Tuition
$92,616
Acceptance Rate
97.2%
Transfer Rate
29.1%
Student Population
2,849
Student-Faculty
11:1
Grad Rate (150% time)
34.0%
Grad Rate (8-year)
49.7%
Retention Rate
61.6%
4-Yr Earnings
$59,041
ROI
Not reported

Who is Roosevelt University Best For?

A quick look at who tends to feel most at home here based on outcomes and campus context.

Students who thrive with close mentoring
First-gen or Pell-eligible support
Students valuing supportive learning environments

EDsmart Scores Summary

Overall Ranking
#1445 of 1,934
Top 74.7% of all institutions
EDsmart Score
25.3 / 100 (national index)
Curved score (top institution = 100.0)
Value Rating
1.27 / 5
Based on ROI and outcomes
Completion
C
#1,677 of 1,934
Affordability
B
#661 of 1,934
Support
B-
#1,316 of 1,934
Career Outcomes
B-
#1,170 of 1,934

Roosevelt University graduates 34.0% of students within 150% of normal time (the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings), with an 8-year award rate of 49.7% and keeps 61.6% of first-year students. Affordability earns a B compared with similar schools.

How we calculate this →

Cost & Financial Aid

Quick Answers

What does it cost?
Depends on income
$19,101-$27,989 annual net price based on family income.
What's the graduation rate?
Challenging
34.0% graduate within 150% of normal time (the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings). The federal 8-year award rate is 49.7%. 40.2% complete in four years (IPEDS 100% time).
What are job outcomes?
Highly likely
90.6% of alumni are employed within three years of leaving. Median earnings five years after graduation are $59,041. Pay varies by major.
Get Your Personalized Cost Estimate

The costs shown are averages. Use Roosevelt University's net price calculator to get an estimate based on your family's financial situation.

Calculate Your Net Price →

Total Degree Cost Summary

4-Year Total Cost (Pay with Cash)
$148,472
$37,118 × 4 years
Average Total Cost (Pay with Financial Aid)
$86,048
$21,512 × 4.0 years average
Time to Degree
Average: 4.0 years | 4-Year Rate: 40.2% | 6-Year Rate: 34.0% | 8-Year Rate: 49.7%
Most students finish in about four to five years. Four-year completion is 40.2% and six-year completion is 34.0%.

Annual Cost Comparison

Pay with Cash
$37,118
Total annual cost including tuition, books and living expenses; excluding any financial aid, grants or scholarships.
Pay with Financial Aid
$21,512
Average annual cost including tuition, books and living expenses after financial aid, grants or scholarships.

Est. annual aid gap: $15,606 Cash cost of attendance minus average net price after aid.

Cost of Undergraduate Attendance

Costs based on full-time, first-time degree- or certificate-seeking undergraduates.

View cost of attendance line items
Costs to Consider Price
Tuition and Fees $23,154
Books and Supplies $1,200
On-Campus Room and Board $16,502
On-Campus Other Expenses $5,498
Total On-Campus Cost $37,118

Tip: focus on the rows that match your living plan—commuters can swap in off-campus estimates while residential students should budget for housing, meals, and incidental fees.

Students Receiving Aid

Pell Grant
56.0%
Federal Loan
53.4%

Use these bars to gauge how many classmates rely on need-based dollars—lower Pell or loan shares may signal a wealthier student body or generous institutional grants.

EDsmart Insight: About 56.0% of Roosevelt University students receive Pell Grants — well above the national average, highlighting ongoing affordability priorities.

Net Price by Family Income

Average annual net price after financial aid, based on family income. Your actual cost may vary depending on your specific financial situation.

$0 - $30,000
$19,101
Average annual cost for families earning $0-$30K
$30,001 - $48,000
$19,773
Average annual cost for families earning $30K-$48K
$48,001 - $75,000
$20,322
Average annual cost for families earning $48K-$75K
$75,001 - $110,000
$23,974
Average annual cost for families earning $75K-$110K
$110,001+
$27,989
Average annual cost for families earning $110K+

Understanding These Numbers: Net price varies significantly by income level. Net prices range from $19,101 to $27,989 depending on family income. Use Roosevelt University's net price calculator for a personalized estimate.

Typical total cost estimates (~4 years):
$0-$30K families
~$76,404
$30K-$48K families
~$79,092
$48K-$75K families
~$81,288
$75K-$110K families
~$95,896
AFFORDABILITY ALERT

If your family earns $75K-$110K: Expect to pay around $23,974/year

If your family earns $110K+: Expect to pay around $27,989/year

See all income brackets →

ROI & Career Outcomes

Return on Investment
Not reported
Based on median earnings five years after graduation vs. total degree cost
  • Median Earnings (5 Years After Graduation) $59,041
  • 10-Year Median Earnings $56,800
  • Average Years to Graduate 4.0 years
  • Average Student Debt $20,000
  • Debt-to-Earnings ~33.9%
  • Repayment Rate (3yr) 45.6%
  • Employment Rate 90.6%

Graduate Earnings Distribution

Earnings range for Roosevelt University graduates about 10 years after enrollment (25th percentile, median, and 75th percentile). Different horizon than median earnings five years after graduation above.

Graduates earn a median of $59,041 five years after graduation — roughly 4% below the national median.
Payback Period
1.46 years
Total Degree Cost ÷ Annual Earnings

Roosevelt University vs. National Average

Comparison of key performance metrics showing how Roosevelt University's outcomes compare to the national average across earnings, graduation rates, retention, ROI, and employment. This contextualizes Roosevelt University's performance within the broader higher education landscape.

Acceptance & Selectivity

Getting In

Acceptance Rate
97.2%
Lightly Selective
National Average
69%
Average acceptance rate
  • SAT Evidence-Based Reading 465-600
  • SAT Math 430-575
  • SAT Writing Not reported
  • ACT Composite 18-26
  • SAT & ACT Required
  • Undergraduate Enrollment 2,849
  • Full-Time Students 88.3%
  • Part-Time Students 11.7%
  • Retention Rate 61.6%
  • Grad Rate (150% time) 34.0%
  • Grad Rate (8-year) 49.7%
  • Student-Faculty Ratio 11:1

How to Get Into Roosevelt University

1. Meet Academic Requirements: Roosevelt University requires strong academic performance. Aim for test scores within the reported ranges and maintain a competitive GPA. Most admitted students rank in the top 10% of their high school class.

2. Build a Strong Application: Beyond test scores, focus on crafting compelling essays, securing strong letters of recommendation, and highlighting extracurricular activities that demonstrate leadership and commitment.

3. Understand Selectivity: With an acceptance rate of 97.2%, Roosevelt University is relatively open. Consider applying early decision if available, as early applicants often have higher acceptance rates.

4. Financial Planning: Review the net price calculator and financial aid options early. Many students receive significant aid, making the actual cost lower than the sticker price.

Tip: Contact the admissions office directly for the most current application requirements, deadlines, and any special programs (like early decision or early action) that might improve your chances.

EDsmart Insight: With a 97.2% acceptance rate, Roosevelt University is more accessible than highly selective schools. Meeting the test score ranges and maintaining a solid GPA significantly improves admission chances. The middle 50% of admitted students score between 895 and 1175 on the SAT.

Academic Programs

Undergraduate Program Distribution

Breakdown of the most popular majors and fields of study among Roosevelt University undergraduates. Business/Commerce, General, Psychology, General, and Accounting and Related Services draw the most students.

  • Business/Commerce, General 14.9%
  • Psychology, General 10.1%
  • Accounting and Related Services 6.5%
  • Hospitality Administration/Management 5.5%
  • Biology, General 5.2%
  • Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft 5.2%
See more majors
  • Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and A 4.7%
  • Criminal Justice and Corrections 3.5%

Highest Earning Programs

Median earnings five years after graduation for each program. These figures help illustrate ROI by field of study and degree level.

Undergraduate Programs (Bachelor's Degrees)

  • 1. Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities $88,995
  • 2. Finance and Financial Management Services $75,948
  • 3. Accounting and Related Services $75,822
Show additional high-earning majors
  • 4. Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing $75,231
  • 5. Marketing $72,354
  • 6. Human Resources Management and Services $70,329
  • 7. Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods $66,723
  • 8. Legal Support Services $66,600
  • 9. Biology, General $63,705
  • 10. Computer Science $63,092

Graduate Programs (Master's, Doctoral, Professional)

  • 1. Educational Administration and Supervision (Master's Degree) $100,024
  • 2. Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and Administration (Doctoral Degree) $97,844
  • 3. Biotechnology (Master's Degree) $89,530
Show additional graduate majors
  • 4. Business Administration, Management and Operations (Master's Degree) $88,486
  • 5. Human Resources Management and Services (Master's Degree) $83,120
  • 6. Management Information Systems and Services (Master's Degree) $81,047
  • 7. Accounting and Related Services (Master's Degree) $80,824
  • 8. Clinical, Counseling and Applied Psychology (Doctoral Degree) $70,211
  • 9. Bilingual, Multilingual, and Multicultural Education (Master's Degree) $69,833
  • 10. Business/Corporate Communications (Master's Degree) $68,476

Program Choice Matters: Undergraduate: Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities grads earn $88,995—41% more than Computer Science ($63,092). Graduate: Educational Administration and Supervision programs lead with $100,024 median earnings. Your program and degree level choice significantly impact career earnings.

Online Degrees & Distance Learning

U.S. Department of Education data reports fully online programs for Roosevelt University. Below are the most popular options based on the number of recent graduates, followed by a quick look at the breadth of online offerings by degree level.
Source: U.S. Department of Education

Most Popular Online Degrees

  • Clinical, Counseling and Applied Psychology (Master's Degree, 93 graduates)
  • Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and Administration (First Professional Degree, 57 graduates)
  • Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft (Bachelor's Degree, 52 graduates)
  • Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods (Bachelor's Degree, 50 graduates)
  • Music (Master's Degree, 49 graduates)

What This School Offers Online, at a Glance

U.S. Department of Education data flags the following online degree and certificate programs for this institution. Expand each credential level to view the complete list of available subjects.

Online Bachelor's Degrees (52 programs)▼
  • Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft
  • Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods
  • Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods
  • Criminal Justice and Corrections
  • Biology, General
  • Hospitality Administration/Management
  • Accounting and Related Services
  • Music
  • Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General
  • Marketing
  • Health and Medical Administrative Services
  • Special Education and Teaching
  • Finance and Financial Management Services
  • Computer Science
  • Legal Support Services
  • Human Resources Management and Services
  • Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions
  • Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions
  • Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing
  • Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management
  • Business/Corporate Communications
  • Business/Commerce, General
  • Sociology
  • Design and Applied Arts
  • Mathematics
  • History
  • English Language and Literature, General
  • Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology
  • Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas
  • Real Estate
  • International Relations and National Security Studies
  • Business Administration, Management and Operations
  • Sustainability Studies
  • Education, General
  • Economics
  • Computer and Information Sciences, General
  • Social Sciences, General
  • Philosophy
  • Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs, Other
  • Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other
  • Computer Software and Media Applications
  • Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication
  • Public Administration
  • Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
  • Journalism
  • Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies
  • Entrepreneurial and Small Business Operations
  • Culinary Arts and Related Services
  • Computer Systems Networking and Telecommunications
  • Communication and Media Studies
  • Chemistry
  • Biotechnology
Online Master's Degrees (38 programs)▼
  • Clinical, Counseling and Applied Psychology
  • Music
  • Biology, General
  • Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods
  • Human Resources Management and Services
  • Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions
  • Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft
  • Special Education and Teaching
  • Arts, Entertainment, and Media Management
  • Student Counseling and Personnel Services
  • Accounting and Related Services
  • Business/Corporate Communications
  • Real Estate
  • Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies
  • Public Administration
  • Dispute Resolution
  • Psychology, General
  • Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods
  • Hospitality Administration/Management
  • History
  • Computer Science
  • Mathematics
  • Economics
  • Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management
  • Biotechnology
  • Urban Studies/Affairs
  • Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness
  • Sociology
  • Political Science and Government
  • Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
  • Journalism
  • Information Science/Studies
  • Human Services, General
  • Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies
  • English Language and Literature, General
  • Education, Other
  • Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions
  • Business/Commerce, General
Online Doctoral Degrees (2 programs)▼
  • Clinical, Counseling and Applied Psychology
  • Educational Administration and Supervision
Online Graduate/Professional Certificates (9 programs)▼
  • Music
  • Psychology, General
  • Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and Administration
  • Human Resources Management and Services
  • Health Professions Education, Ethics, and Humanities
  • Education, Other
  • Business Administration, Management and Operations
  • Dispute Resolution
  • Legal Support Services
Online First Professional Degrees (2 programs)▼
  • Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and Administration
  • Clinical, Counseling and Applied Psychology

Student Demographics

Student Population

  • Total Undergraduate Enrollment 2,849
  • Full-Time Students 88.3%
  • Part-Time Students 11.7%
  • Male Students 37.1%
  • Female Students 62.9%
  • Caucasian 27.3%
  • Asian 4.2%
  • Hispanic 34.7%
  • Black 21.5%
  • Pell Grant Recipients 56.0%

Racial & Ethnic Diversity

Undergraduate student body composition by racial and ethnic background. This reflects Roosevelt University's commitment to diversity and inclusion in admissions.

Gender Distribution

Gender breakdown of Roosevelt University's undergraduate population. The university maintains a roughly balanced gender distribution across its student body.

Graduation Rate Equity Analysis

How well does Roosevelt University support students from different economic backgrounds?

Pell Grant Recipients
24.1%
6-year graduation rate
Non-Pell Students
50.9%
6-year graduation rate
Equity Gap
26.9 pts
equity gap to monitor

What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at a different rate as higher-income students, indicating varying levels of institutional support for all economic backgrounds.

Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity

Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity

Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at Roosevelt University, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.

EDsmart Insight: Roosevelt University has a diverse student body, with 27.3% identifying as White. Women make up 62.9% of undergraduates. 56.0% of students receive Pell Grants, well above the national average, indicating strong support for low-income students.

Graduation Rate Equity Analysis

How well does Roosevelt University support students from different economic backgrounds?

Pell Grant Recipients
24.1%
6-year graduation rate
Non-Pell Students
50.9%
6-year graduation rate
Equity Gap
26.9 pts
equity gap to monitor

What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at a different rate as higher-income students, indicating varying levels of institutional support for all economic backgrounds.

Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity

Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity

Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at Roosevelt University, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.

Our Take

Roosevelt University offers a private university experience at a regional scale, combining smaller class sizes with 0.0% ROI. Ranked #1445 overall, the institution balances personalized attention against higher costs than public alternatives.

The $21,512 annual net price is significantly higher than public universities, offset somewhat by $59,041 median earnings. With 34.0% graduating within 150% of normal time and 61.6% returning for sophomore year, outcomes reflect the personalized support typical of smaller private institutions.

Private University Value: Roosevelt University's Positioning

With a C+ grade and #1445 ranking, Roosevelt University competes in the crowded regional private university market.

The Private University Premium: At $21,512 annually, Roosevelt University charges more than public alternatives but typically offers smaller classes, more personalized advising, and tighter-knit campus communities. The 61.6% retention rate suggests students value this environment.

Who Benefits Most: Students who thrive in smaller, more intimate academic settings. Those seeking specific programs or values-based education aligned with the institution's mission. Students who receive merit scholarships that bring costs below $15,058 achieve particularly strong value.

Cost-Benefit Reality: The 0.0% ROI and $59,041 median earnings don't always justify the premium over public universities. Students paying full price should compare whether the personalized experience warrants $11,512+ in additional annual costs over state flagships.

Competitive Standing: Roosevelt University ranks #1445 of 1934 institutions, with 0 schools achieving higher ROI. For students offered substantial merit aid or seeking specific programs unavailable at public universities, the value proposition strengthens significantly.

Key Takeaways

  • 34.0% graduation rate sits 28.5 points below the national 62.5% benchmark.
  • 61.6% first-year retention is 15.2 points below the national norm of 76.8%.
  • Median earnings of $59,041 run about 4% lower than national outcomes five years after graduation.
  • Average net price of $21,512 is roughly $1,604 higher than the national median of $19,908.
  • 90.6% employment rate within three years is 22.4 points above the national 68.2%.

Helpfulness for Students

Green Flags
  • 11:1 student-faculty ratio keeps mentorship close and courses discussion-sized.
  • 61.6% first-year retention shows students stay engaged after the first year.
  • 90.6% employment rate within three years sits 22.4 points above national outcomes.
Red Flags
  • Average net price of $21,512 is about $1,604 higher than comparable schools, so scholarship planning is key.
  • 53.4% of students borrow federal loans, outpacing typical campuses and raising repayment stakes.
  • Compare aid offers from nearby public universities to weigh the premium for smaller classes.
EDsmart Expert Analysis

Roosevelt University is a private nonprofit university based in Chicago, IL and earns a C+ overall grade. It holds a #1445 overall ranking Category results include Completion (C), Support (B-), Career Outcomes (B-), and Affordability (B).

Grades are assigned relative to EDsmart's national bachelor's cohort using standardized outcomes (2026 methodology); they reflect how a school compares to peers, not a fixed percentage of a raw point total.

Student momentum is strong: 61.6% retention, 34.0% graduation within 150% of normal time, and 49.7% earning an award within eight years. Review the cost and aid tables for a full picture of value.

Why it matters: this snapshot shows how likely you are to stay on track academically and whether the outcomes justify the price tag. Letter grades summarize cohort-relative performance—not a single exam-style score.

EDsmart Financial Snapshot

Families pay about $21,512 on average after aid, compared with a published cost near $37,118.

Institutional and federal aid lower costs by roughly $15,606 per year.

Graduates leave with a median of $20,000 in federal loans, which lines up with national norms.

About 56.0% of students receive Pell Grants, giving a snapshot of the campus income mix.

Why it matters: lining up sticker price, aid, and typical debt helps you stress-test the budget before you commit.

EDsmart Career Snapshot

Median earnings come in near $59,041 five years after graduation. This is roughly 4% below typical U.S. college outcomes.

Employment outcomes report about 90.6% of alumni working within three years.

Use the ROI table above to estimate how long it may take to recoup your degree costs.

Why it matters: pairing median earnings with employment rates gives you a sense of payback time after graduation.

EDsmart Admissions Snapshot

97.2% of applicants receive offers, so preparation and fit matter.

The admissions team encourages students to highlight academic strengths through transcripts, essays, and recommendations.

Prospective students can apply early for priority review and lean on the Roosevelt University admissions site for deadlines, visit options, and counselor contacts.

Why it matters: knowing the admit rate and application expectations lets you map out testing, essays, and deadlines with less stress.

EDsmart Verdict
1.27 / 5
Value Rating - Based on affordability and career outcomes

Your Decision Toolkit

Run the Net Price Calculator
Get your personalized cost estimate
Compare with similar schools
See how Roosevelt University stacks up to alternatives
Check your major's earnings
See ROI for your specific field of study
Visit the campus
Schedule a campus tour or virtual visit
Visit Roosevelt University Website →

Cite this profile

Add your access date when you publish.

APA (7th): EDsmart. (2026). Roosevelt University: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings. https://www.edsmart.org/schools/roosevelt-university/

MLA (9th): “Roosevelt University: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings.” EDsmart, 2026, www.edsmart.org/schools/roosevelt-university/.

Chicago: EDsmart. “Roosevelt University: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings.” https://www.edsmart.org/schools/roosevelt-university/.

Similar Schools

Institutions with similar academic profiles, selectivity, and outcomes

Nearby Schools

Other campuses you might consider

Other Illinois campuses you might consider

Eureka College
Eureka, IL
C+ #1390 of 1,934
Blackburn College
Carlinville, IL
B- #1344 of 1,934
Governors State University
University Park, IL
C+ #1549 of 1,934
Quincy University
Quincy, IL
B- #1340 of 1,934

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Roosevelt University's acceptance rate?

Roosevelt University's acceptance rate is 97.2%, based on U.S. Department of Education admissions data.

How much does Roosevelt University cost?

At Roosevelt University, listed tuition and fees are $23,154 per year, and the average net price after aid is $21,512. Use the net price calculator on this page for a personalized estimate.

What is Roosevelt University's ranking?

Roosevelt University ranks #1445 overall in EDsmart's 2026 college rankings with an overall grade of C+, based on completion, affordability, support, and career outcomes.

What is Roosevelt University's graduation rate?

At Roosevelt University, the graduation rate within 150% of normal time is 34.0% (the rate used in EDsmart rankings), the federal 8-year award rate is 49.7%, and first-year retention is 61.6%.

What are Roosevelt University's job outcomes?

Graduates of Roosevelt University report median earnings of $59,041 five years after graduation, according to U.S. Department of Education outcome data. Outcomes vary by major.

What is Roosevelt University's student population?

Roosevelt University enrolls about 2,849 undergraduate students, per U.S. Department of Education enrollment data.

Contact Information

  • AccreditationHigher Learning Commission (NCACHE)
  • Endowment$137.1M
  • Transfer Enrollment Rate29.1%

Data Source & Methodology ▼