Sam Houston State University Logo

Sam Houston State University

Huntsville, TX | Public | University

Sam Houston State University has an acceptance rate of 90.3%, an average net price of $14,788, and an overall rank of #891 (Grade B). About 55.5% of students graduate within 150% of normal time, and median earnings are $58,122 five years after graduation. Data from the U.S. Department of Education and EDsmart's 2026 rankings.

Sam Houston State University is a public university in Huntsville, TX. Students most often pursue Computer and Information Sciences and Construction Engineering Technologies.

Day to day, students benefit from a 19:1 student-faculty ratio, and 73.2% first-year retention. Coaches and faculty advisors weave in frequent check-ins, helping students translate ambition into steady progress.

EDsmart calculates return on investment at 84.6%, roughly 34.7 points higher than typical outcomes. It's well-suited to students who appreciate an encouraging campus with room to explore.

B
Ranking
#891 of 1,934
How We Rank Schools Lower tuitionPublic school option
At a Glance
Ranking
#891 of 1,934 (Top 46.1%)
Tuition
$9,228
Net Price
$14,788
4-Year Tuition
$36,912
Acceptance Rate
90.3%
Transfer Rate
22.5%
Student Population
17,743
Student-Faculty
19:1
Grad Rate (150% time)
55.5%
Grad Rate (8-year)
62.5%
Retention Rate
73.2%
4-Yr Earnings
$58,122
ROI
Not reported

Who is Sam Houston State University Best For?

A quick look at who tends to feel most at home here based on outcomes and campus context.

Families tracking affordability closely
First-gen or Pell-eligible support
Students valuing supportive learning environments

EDsmart Scores Summary

Overall Ranking
#891 of 1,934
Top 46.1% of all institutions
EDsmart Score
54.0 / 100 (national index)
Curved score (top institution = 100.0)
Value Rating
2.70 / 5
Based on ROI and outcomes
Completion
B
#879 of 1,934
Affordability
B+
#462 of 1,934
Support
C+
#1,481 of 1,934
Career Outcomes
B
#1,063 of 1,934

Sam Houston State University graduates 55.5% of students within 150% of normal time (the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings), with an 8-year award rate of 62.5% and keeps 73.2% of first-year students. Affordability earns a B+ compared with similar schools.

How we calculate this →

Cost & Financial Aid

Quick Answers

What does it cost?
Depends on income
$11,734-$23,418 annual net price based on family income.
What's the graduation rate?
Likely
55.5% graduate within 150% of normal time (the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings). The federal 8-year award rate is 62.5%. 37.6% complete in four years (IPEDS 100% time).
What are job outcomes?
Highly likely
91.9% of alumni are employed within three years of leaving. Median earnings five years after graduation are $58,122. Pay varies by major.
Get Your Personalized Cost Estimate

The costs shown are averages. Use Sam Houston State University's net price calculator to get an estimate based on your family's financial situation.

Calculate Your Net Price →

Total Degree Cost Summary

4-Year Total Cost (Pay with Cash)
$101,896
$25,474 × 4 years
Average Total Cost (Pay with Financial Aid)
$68,675
$14,788 × 4.6 years average
Time to Degree
Average: 4.6 years | 4-Year Rate: 37.6% | 6-Year Rate: 55.5% | 8-Year Rate: 62.5%
Most students finish in about four to five years. Four-year completion is 37.6% and six-year completion is 55.5%.

Annual Cost Comparison

Pay with Cash
$25,474
Total annual cost including tuition, books and living expenses; excluding any financial aid, grants or scholarships.
Pay with Financial Aid
$14,788
Average annual cost including tuition, books and living expenses after financial aid, grants or scholarships.

Est. annual aid gap: $10,686 Cash cost of attendance minus average net price after aid.

Cost of Undergraduate Attendance

Costs based on full-time, first-time degree- or certificate-seeking undergraduates.

View cost of attendance line items
Costs to Consider Price
Tuition and Fees $9,228
Books and Supplies $1,380
On-Campus Room and Board $11,984
On-Campus Other Expenses $3,866
Total On-Campus Cost $25,474

Tip: focus on the rows that match your living plan—commuters can swap in off-campus estimates while residential students should budget for housing, meals, and incidental fees.

Students Receiving Aid

Pell Grant
47.1%
Federal Loan
44.7%

Use these bars to gauge how many classmates rely on need-based dollars—lower Pell or loan shares may signal a wealthier student body or generous institutional grants.

EDsmart Insight: About 47.1% of Sam Houston State University students receive Pell Grants — above the national average, highlighting ongoing affordability priorities.

Net Price by Family Income

Average annual net price after financial aid, based on family income. Your actual cost may vary depending on your specific financial situation.

$0 - $30,000
$11,734
Average annual cost for families earning $0-$30K
$30,001 - $48,000
$11,472
Average annual cost for families earning $30K-$48K
$48,001 - $75,000
$12,286
Average annual cost for families earning $48K-$75K
$75,001 - $110,000
$17,548
Average annual cost for families earning $75K-$110K
$110,001+
$23,418
Average annual cost for families earning $110K+

Understanding These Numbers: Net price varies significantly by income level. Net prices range from $11,734 to $23,418 depending on family income. Use Sam Houston State University's net price calculator for a personalized estimate.

Typical total cost estimates (~4.6 years):
$0-$30K families
~$54,492
$30K-$48K families
~$53,276
$48K-$75K families
~$57,056
$75K-$110K families
~$81,492
AFFORDABILITY ALERT

If your family earns $75K-$110K: Expect to pay around $17,548/year

If your family earns $110K+: Expect to pay around $23,418/year

See all income brackets →

ROI & Career Outcomes

Return on Investment
Not reported
Based on median earnings five years after graduation vs. total degree cost
  • Median Earnings (5 Years After Graduation) $58,122
  • 10-Year Median Earnings $56,877
  • Average Years to Graduate 4.6 years
  • Average Student Debt $21,000
  • Debt-to-Earnings ~36.1%
  • Repayment Rate (3yr) 58.2%
  • Employment Rate 91.9%

Graduate Earnings Distribution

Earnings range for Sam Houston State University graduates about 10 years after enrollment (25th percentile, median, and 75th percentile). Different horizon than median earnings five years after graduation above.

Graduates earn a median of $58,122 five years after graduation — roughly 6% below the national median.
Payback Period
1.18 years
Total Degree Cost ÷ Annual Earnings

Sam Houston State University vs. National Average

Comparison of key performance metrics showing how Sam Houston State University's outcomes compare to the national average across earnings, graduation rates, retention, ROI, and employment. This contextualizes Sam Houston State University's performance within the broader higher education landscape.

Acceptance & Selectivity

Getting In

Acceptance Rate
90.3%
Lightly Selective
National Average
69%
Average acceptance rate
  • SAT Evidence-Based Reading 480-570
  • SAT Math 450-550
  • SAT Writing Not reported
  • ACT Composite 17-24
  • SAT & ACT Required
  • Undergraduate Enrollment 17,743
  • Full-Time Students 83.5%
  • Part-Time Students 16.4%
  • Retention Rate 73.2%
  • Grad Rate (150% time) 55.5%
  • Grad Rate (8-year) 62.5%
  • Student-Faculty Ratio 19:1

How to Get Into Sam Houston State University

1. Meet Academic Requirements: Sam Houston State University requires strong academic performance. Aim for test scores within the reported ranges and maintain a competitive GPA. Most admitted students rank in the top 10% of their high school class.

2. Build a Strong Application: Beyond test scores, focus on crafting compelling essays, securing strong letters of recommendation, and highlighting extracurricular activities that demonstrate leadership and commitment.

3. Understand Selectivity: With an acceptance rate of 90.3%, Sam Houston State University is relatively open. Consider applying early decision if available, as early applicants often have higher acceptance rates.

4. Financial Planning: Review the net price calculator and financial aid options early. Many students receive significant aid, making the actual cost lower than the sticker price.

Tip: Contact the admissions office directly for the most current application requirements, deadlines, and any special programs (like early decision or early action) that might improve your chances.

EDsmart Insight: With a 90.3% acceptance rate, Sam Houston State University is more accessible than highly selective schools. Meeting the test score ranges and maintaining a solid GPA significantly improves admission chances. The middle 50% of admitted students score between 930 and 1120 on the SAT.

Academic Programs

Undergraduate Program Distribution

Breakdown of the most popular majors and fields of study among Sam Houston State University undergraduates. Criminal Justice and Corrections, Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other, and Business/Commerce, General draw the most students.

  • Criminal Justice and Corrections 20.1%
  • Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other 10.0%
  • Business/Commerce, General 6.6%
  • Psychology, General 4.7%
  • Communication and Media Studies 4.2%
  • Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitnes 3.3%
See more majors
  • Accounting and Related Services 3.2%
  • Finance and Financial Management Services 3.2%

Highest Earning Programs

Median earnings five years after graduation for each program. These figures help illustrate ROI by field of study and degree level.

Undergraduate Programs (Bachelor's Degrees)

  • 1. Computer and Information Sciences, General $97,361
  • 2. Construction Engineering Technologies $89,884
  • 3. Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing $85,287
Show additional high-earning majors
  • 4. Finance and Financial Management Services $72,461
  • 5. Agricultural Business and Management $69,969
  • 6. Agricultural Mechanization $69,696
  • 7. Accounting and Related Services $69,480
  • 8. Management Information Systems and Services $67,102
  • 9. Human Resources Management and Services $61,587
  • 10. Business Administration, Management and Operations $60,416

Graduate Programs (Master's, Doctoral, Professional)

  • 1. Accounting and Related Services (Master's Degree) $99,805
  • 2. Business Administration, Management and Operations (Master's Degree) $99,411
  • 3. Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management (Master's Degree) $97,900
Show additional graduate majors
  • 4. Criminal Justice and Corrections (Master's Degree) $91,329
  • 5. Educational Administration and Supervision (Doctoral Degree) $82,747
  • 6. Music (Master's Degree) $76,384
  • 7. Special Education and Teaching (Master's Degree) $68,891
  • 8. Education, Other (Master's Degree) $65,180
  • 9. Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas (Master's Degree) $64,598
  • 10. Educational Administration and Supervision (Master's Degree) $64,167

Program Choice Matters: Undergraduate: Computer and Information Sciences, General grads earn $97,361—61% more than Business Administration, Management and Operations ($60,416). Graduate: Accounting and Related Services programs lead with $99,805 median earnings. Your program and degree level choice significantly impact career earnings.

Online Degrees & Distance Learning

U.S. Department of Education data reports fully online programs for Sam Houston State University. Below are the most popular options based on the number of recent graduates, followed by a quick look at the breadth of online offerings by degree level.
Source: U.S. Department of Education

Most Popular Online Degrees

  • Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods (Bachelor's Degree, 303 graduates)
  • Psychology, General (Bachelor's Degree, 263 graduates)
  • Communication and Media Studies (Bachelor's Degree, 198 graduates)
  • Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness (Bachelor's Degree, 141 graduates)
  • Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General (Bachelor's Degree, 123 graduates)

What This School Offers Online, at a Glance

U.S. Department of Education data flags the following online degree and certificate programs for this institution. Expand each credential level to view the complete list of available subjects.

Online Bachelor's Degrees (53 programs)▼
  • Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods
  • Psychology, General
  • Communication and Media Studies
  • Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness
  • Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General
  • Biology, General
  • Finance and Financial Management Services
  • Animal Sciences
  • Marketing
  • Public Health
  • Accounting and Related Services
  • Construction Engineering Technology/Technician
  • Music
  • Graphic Communications
  • Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft
  • Agricultural Business and Management
  • English Language and Literature, General
  • Computer Engineering Technologies/Technicians
  • Computer and Information Sciences, General
  • Human Resources Management and Services
  • Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other
  • Chemistry
  • Fine and Studio Arts
  • Dance
  • Design and Applied Arts
  • Management Information Systems and Services
  • Agriculture, General
  • Drafting/Design Engineering Technologies/Technicians
  • Radio, Television, and Digital Communication
  • Plant Sciences
  • Mathematics
  • International Business
  • Agricultural Mechanization
  • Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions
  • Foods, Nutrition, and Related Services
  • Natural Resources Conservation and Research
  • Entrepreneurial and Small Business Operations
  • Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General
  • Geological and Earth Sciences/Geosciences
  • Geography and Cartography
  • Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
  • Film/Video and Photographic Arts
  • Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management
  • Physics
  • Philosophy
  • Agricultural Public Services
  • Business/Managerial Economics
  • Biological and Physical Sciences
  • Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies/Technicians
  • Data Science
  • Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions
  • Social and Philosophical Foundations of Education
  • Educational/Instructional Media Design
Online Master's Degrees (24 programs)▼
  • Educational Administration and Supervision
  • Clinical, Counseling and Applied Psychology
  • Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language
  • Music
  • Student Counseling and Personnel Services
  • Accounting and Related Services
  • Agriculture, General
  • Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness
  • Biology, General
  • Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas
  • Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies
  • Security Science and Technology
  • Computer and Information Sciences, General
  • Statistics
  • Dietetics and Clinical Nutrition Services
  • Dance
  • Psychology, General
  • International and Comparative Education
  • English Language and Literature, General
  • Chemistry
  • Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions
  • Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
  • Research and Experimental Psychology
  • Fine and Studio Arts
Online Doctoral Degrees (9 programs)▼
  • Educational Administration and Supervision
  • Clinical, Counseling and Applied Psychology
  • Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas
  • Education, Other
  • Student Counseling and Personnel Services
  • Criminal Justice and Corrections
  • Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management
  • Security Science and Technology
  • Curriculum and Instruction
Online Graduate/Professional Certificates (5 programs)▼
  • Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions
  • Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication
  • Music
  • Educational Assessment, Evaluation, and Research
  • Community Organization and Advocacy
Online Undergraduate Certificates & Diplomas (4 programs)▼
  • Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies
  • Natural Resources Conservation and Research
  • Music
  • Homeland Security
Online First Professional Degrees (1 program)▼
  • Medicine

Student Demographics

Student Population

  • Total Undergraduate Enrollment 17,743
  • Full-Time Students 83.5%
  • Part-Time Students 16.4%
  • Male Students 37.5%
  • Female Students 62.5%
  • Caucasian 44.3%
  • Asian 2.1%
  • Hispanic 29.0%
  • Black 17.9%
  • Pell Grant Recipients 47.1%

Racial & Ethnic Diversity

Undergraduate student body composition by racial and ethnic background. This reflects Sam Houston State University's commitment to diversity and inclusion in admissions.

Gender Distribution

Gender breakdown of Sam Houston State University's undergraduate population. The university maintains a roughly balanced gender distribution across its student body.

Graduation Rate Equity Analysis

How well does Sam Houston State University support students from different economic backgrounds?

Pell Grant Recipients
53.0%
6-year graduation rate
Non-Pell Students
58.1%
6-year graduation rate
Equity Gap
5.0 pts
good equity

What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at a similar rate as higher-income students, indicating adequate institutional support for all economic backgrounds.

Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity

Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity

Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at Sam Houston State University, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.

EDsmart Insight: Sam Houston State University has a diverse student body, with 44.3% identifying as White. Women make up 62.5% of undergraduates.

Graduation Rate Equity Analysis

How well does Sam Houston State University support students from different economic backgrounds?

Pell Grant Recipients
53.0%
6-year graduation rate
Non-Pell Students
58.1%
6-year graduation rate
Equity Gap
5.0 pts
good equity

What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at a similar rate as higher-income students, indicating adequate institutional support for all economic backgrounds.

Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity

Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity

Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at Sam Houston State University, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.

Our Take

Sam Houston State University serves as an affordable university for students seeking quality education without elite university costs. Ranked #891 overall with ROI data not available, the institution balances practical outcomes with budget-friendly pricing.

At $14,788 annually, students gain access to career-focused programs leading to $58,122 median earnings. The 55.5% graduation rate reflects reasonable completion metrics for a university. While 73.2% retention suggests adequate student support.

University Value: Sam Houston State University's Strengths

Ranked #891 with a B grade, Sam Houston State University prioritizes accessibility and local career connections over national prestige.

Primary Strengths: Universitys like Sam Houston State University excel at providing affordable education ($14,788 annually) with strong local employer relationships. Many programs emphasize practical skills and internships within the regional economy.

Best For: Students planning to work in the region after graduation benefit from established employer connections. Adult learners and part-time students appreciate flexible scheduling. First-generation students and budget-conscious families gain degrees without overwhelming debt.

Honest Assessment: Sam Houston State University's 73.2% retention and 55.5% graduation rate trail elite universities but align with typical university performance. Career outcomes ($58,122 median earnings) reflect regional job markets more than national opportunities.

Value Verdict: For students committed to regional careers, Sam Houston State University and $14,788 cost deliver solid value. Those seeking national job mobility or prestigious credentials should compare against flagship state universities or targeted private scholarships.

Key Takeaways

  • 55.5% graduation rate sits 7.0 points below the national 62.5% benchmark.
  • 73.2% first-year retention is 3.5 points below the national norm of 76.8%.
  • Median earnings of $58,122 run about 6% lower than national outcomes five years after graduation.
  • Average net price of $14,788 is roughly $5,120 lower than the national median of $19,908.
  • 91.9% employment rate within three years is 23.7 points above the national 68.2%.

Helpfulness for Students

Green Flags
  • 19:1 student-faculty ratio keeps mentorship close and courses discussion-sized.
  • 73.2% first-year retention shows students stay engaged after the first year.
  • 91.9% employment rate within three years sits 23.7 points above national outcomes.
Red Flags
  • Budget carefully for clinical travel, off-campus housing, and practicum fees to avoid surprise costs.
  • Compare aid offers from nearby public universities to weigh the premium for smaller classes.
  • Compare aid offers from nearby public universities to weigh the premium for smaller classes.
EDsmart Expert Analysis

Sam Houston State University, a public university in Huntsville, TX, secures a B grade in our latest review. It stands at #891 among 1934 schools Category results include Completion (B), Support (C+), Career Outcomes (B), and Affordability (B+).

Grades are assigned relative to EDsmart's national bachelor's cohort using standardized outcomes (2026 methodology); they reflect how a school compares to peers, not a fixed percentage of a raw point total.

73.2% of learners come back after year one while 55.5% graduate within 150% of normal time (62.5% within eight years). Review the cost and aid tables for a full picture of value.

Why it matters: this snapshot shows how likely you are to stay on track academically and whether the outcomes justify the price tag. Letter grades summarize cohort-relative performance—not a single exam-style score.

EDsmart Financial Snapshot

Families pay about $14,788 on average after aid, compared with a published cost near $25,474.

Institutional and federal aid lower costs by roughly $10,686 per year.

Graduates leave with a median of $21,000 in federal loans, which lines up with national norms.

About 47.1% of students receive Pell Grants, giving a snapshot of the campus income mix.

Why it matters: lining up sticker price, aid, and typical debt helps you stress-test the budget before you commit.

EDsmart Career Snapshot

Five years after graduation, alumni earn roughly $58,122 at the median. Compared with the national median, that's 6% lower.

The three-year employment rate is close to 91.9%.

Use the ROI table above to estimate how long it may take to recoup your degree costs.

Why it matters: pairing median earnings with employment rates gives you a sense of payback time after graduation.

EDsmart Admissions Snapshot

90.3% of applicants receive offers, so preparation and fit matter.

The admissions team encourages students to highlight academic strengths through transcripts, essays, and recommendations.

Prospective students can apply early for priority review and lean on the Sam Houston State University admissions site for deadlines, visit options, and counselor contacts.

Why it matters: knowing the admit rate and application expectations lets you map out testing, essays, and deadlines with less stress.

EDsmart Verdict
2.70 / 5
Value Rating - Based on affordability and career outcomes

Your Decision Toolkit

Run the Net Price Calculator
Get your personalized cost estimate
Compare with similar schools
See how Sam Houston State University stacks up to alternatives
Check your major's earnings
See ROI for your specific field of study
Visit the campus
Schedule a campus tour or virtual visit
Visit Sam Houston State University Website →

Cite this profile

Add your access date when you publish.

APA (7th): EDsmart. (2026). Sam Houston State University: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings. https://www.edsmart.org/schools/sam-houston-state-university/

MLA (9th): “Sam Houston State University: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings.” EDsmart, 2026, www.edsmart.org/schools/sam-houston-state-university/.

Chicago: EDsmart. “Sam Houston State University: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings.” https://www.edsmart.org/schools/sam-houston-state-university/.

Similar Schools

Institutions with similar academic profiles, selectivity, and outcomes

Nearby Schools

Other campuses you might consider

Other Texas campuses you might consider

University of Houston-Clear Lake
Houston, TX
B #873 of 1,934
Texas State University
San Marcos, TX
B #910 of 1,934
West Coast University-Texas
Richardson, TX
B #917 of 1,934
University of the Incarnate Word
San Antonio, TX
B #842 of 1,934

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Sam Houston State University's acceptance rate?

Sam Houston State University's acceptance rate is 90.3%, based on U.S. Department of Education admissions data.

How much does Sam Houston State University cost?

At Sam Houston State University, listed tuition and fees are $9,228 per year, and the average net price after aid is $14,788. Use the net price calculator on this page for a personalized estimate.

What is Sam Houston State University's ranking?

Sam Houston State University ranks #891 overall in EDsmart's 2026 college rankings with an overall grade of B, based on completion, affordability, support, and career outcomes.

What is Sam Houston State University's graduation rate?

At Sam Houston State University, the graduation rate within 150% of normal time is 55.5% (the rate used in EDsmart rankings), the federal 8-year award rate is 62.5%, and first-year retention is 73.2%.

What are Sam Houston State University's job outcomes?

Graduates of Sam Houston State University report median earnings of $58,122 five years after graduation, according to U.S. Department of Education outcome data. Outcomes vary by major.

What is Sam Houston State University's student population?

Sam Houston State University enrolls about 17,743 undergraduate students, per U.S. Department of Education enrollment data.

Contact Information

  • AccreditationSouthern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCC)
  • Endowment$163.7M
  • Transfer Enrollment Rate22.5%

Data Source & Methodology ▼