South University, Tampa
South University, Tampa has an average net price of $20,434, and an overall rank of #1782 (Grade C). About 23.3% of students graduate within 150% of normal time, and median earnings are $68,975 four years after graduation. Data from the U.S. Department of Education and EDsmart's 2026 rankings.
South University, Tampa is a private nonprofit university in Tampa, FL. Students most often pursue Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing and Information Science/Studies.
Day to day, students benefit from a 14:1 student-faculty ratio, and 50.0% first-year retention. Coaches and faculty advisors weave in frequent check-ins, helping students translate ambition into steady progress.
EDsmart calculates return on investment at 76.0%, roughly 26.1 points higher than typical outcomes. It's well-suited to students who appreciate an encouraging campus with room to explore.
Data sources: Enrollment, cost, retention, graduation, and earnings figures for South University, Tampa are from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard and IPEDS unless otherwise noted. EDsmart rankings use proprietary methodology described below.
Who is South University, Tampa Best For?
A quick look at who tends to feel most at home here based on outcomes and campus context.
EDsmart Scores Summary
South University, Tampa graduates 23.3% of students within 150% of normal time (the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings), with an 8-year award rate of 48.4% and keeps 50.0% of first-year students. Affordability earns a B compared with similar schools.
How we calculate this →Cost & Financial Aid
Quick Answers
The costs shown are averages. Use South University, Tampa's net price calculator to get an estimate based on your family's financial situation.
Calculate Your Net Price →Total Degree Cost Summary
Annual Cost Comparison
Est. annual aid gap: $9,980 Cash cost of attendance minus average net price after aid.
Cost of Undergraduate Attendance
Costs based on full-time, first-time degree- or certificate-seeking undergraduates.
View cost of attendance line items
| Costs to Consider | Price |
|---|---|
| Tuition and Fees | $18,145 |
| Books and Supplies | $540 |
| On-Campus Room and Board | Not reported |
| On-Campus Other Expenses | Not reported |
| Total On-Campus Cost | $30,414 |
Tip: focus on the rows that match your living plan—commuters can swap in off-campus estimates while residential students should budget for housing, meals, and incidental fees.
Students Receiving Aid
Use these bars to gauge how many classmates rely on need-based dollars—lower Pell or loan shares may signal a wealthier student body or generous institutional grants.
EDsmart Insight: About 49.0% of South University, Tampa students receive Pell Grants — well above the national average, highlighting ongoing affordability priorities.
Net Price by Family Income
Average annual net price after financial aid, based on family income. Your actual cost may vary depending on your specific financial situation.
Understanding These Numbers: Net price varies significantly by income level. Net prices range from $20,347 to $22,442 depending on family income. Use South University, Tampa's net price calculator for a personalized estimate.
ROI & Career Outcomes
- Median Earnings (4 Years After Graduation) $68,975
- 10-Year Median Earnings $34,421
- Average Years to Graduate 4.4 years
- Average Student Debt $26,123
- Debt-to-Earnings ~37.9%
- Repayment Rate (3yr) 25.5%
- Employment Rate 75.5%
Graduate Earnings Distribution
Earnings range for South University, Tampa graduates about 10 years after enrollment (25th percentile, median, and 75th percentile). Different horizon than median earnings four years after graduation above.
South University, Tampa vs. National Average
Comparison of key performance metrics showing how South University, Tampa's outcomes compare to the national average across earnings, graduation rates, retention, ROI, and employment. This contextualizes South University, Tampa's performance within the broader higher education landscape.
EDsmart Insight: South University, Tampa graduates earn $68,975 median four years after graduation, +14% above the national average. Earnings vary significantly by major—research your field's outcomes.
Acceptance & Selectivity
Getting In
- SAT Evidence-Based Reading Not reported
- SAT Math Not reported
- SAT Writing Not reported
- ACT Composite Not reported
- SAT & ACTNot required
- Undergraduate Enrollment 388
- Full-Time Students 72.9%
- Part-Time Students 27.1%
- Retention Rate 50.0%
- Grad Rate (150% time) 23.3%
- Grad Rate (8-year) 48.4%
- Student-Faculty Ratio 14:1
How to Get Into South University, Tampa
Application Process: Contact the South University, Tampa admissions office for current application requirements, deadlines, and program-specific prerequisites.
Required Materials: Submit your application, official transcripts, and any documentation requested by admissions. Requirements vary by program.
Financial Planning: Review the net price calculator and financial aid options early. Many students receive grants and scholarships that reduce out-of-pocket cost.
Sources: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard | IPEDS | Contact the admissions office for the most current requirements.
Academic Programs
Undergraduate Program Distribution
Breakdown of the most popular majors and fields of study among South University, Tampa undergraduates. Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing, Psychology, General, and Information Science/Studies draw the most students.
- Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing 94.9%
- Psychology, General 2.2%
- Information Science/Studies 0.7%
- Health and Medical Administrative Services 0.7%
- Public Health 0.7%
- Business Administration, Management and Operations 0.7%
See more majors
- Criminal Justice and Corrections 0.0%
Highest Earning Programs
Median earnings five years after graduation for each program. These figures help illustrate ROI by field of study and degree level.
Undergraduate Programs (Bachelor's Degrees)
- 1. Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing $90,784
- 2. Information Science/Studies $67,229
- 3. Business Administration, Management and Operations $54,466
Show additional high-earning majors
- 4. Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services $47,529
- 5. Criminal Justice and Corrections $47,301
- 6. Health and Medical Administrative Services $45,275
- 7. Psychology, General $38,844
- 8. Health and Medical Administrative Services $36,560
- 9. Public Health $34,789
Graduate Programs (Master's, Doctoral, Professional)
- 1. Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions (Master's Degree) $121,963
- 2. Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing (Graduate/Professional Certificate) $119,946
- 3. Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing (Master's Degree) $118,330
Show additional graduate majors
- 4. Bioethics/Medical Ethics (Master's Degree) $96,443
- 5. Information Science/Studies (Master's Degree) $88,529
- 6. Health and Medical Administrative Services (Master's Degree) $63,788
- 7. Business Administration, Management and Operations (Master's Degree) $60,102
- 8. Human Resources Management and Services (Master's Degree) $59,417
- 9. Criminal Justice and Corrections (Master's Degree) $42,437
Program Choice Matters: Undergraduate: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing grads earn $90,784—161% more than Public Health ($34,789). Graduate: Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions programs lead with $121,963 median earnings. Your program and degree level choice significantly impact career earnings.
Online Degrees & Distance Learning
College Scorecard reports fully online programs for South University, Tampa. Below are the most popular options based on the number of recent graduates, followed by a quick look at the breadth of online offerings by degree level.
Source: U.S. Department of Education – College Scorecard
Most Popular Online Degrees
- Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (Bachelor's Degree, 129 graduates)
- Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (Master's Degree, 66 graduates)
- Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services (Associate's Degree, 52 graduates)
- Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions (Master's Degree, 47 graduates)
- Health and Medical Administrative Services (Master's Degree, 10 graduates)
What This School Offers Online, at a Glance
College Scorecard flags the following online degree and certificate programs for this institution. Expand each credential level to view the complete list of available subjects.
Online Bachelor's Degrees (7 programs)▼
- Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing
- Psychology, General
- Public Health
- Information Science/Studies
- Health and Medical Administrative Services
- Business Administration, Management and Operations
- Criminal Justice and Corrections
Online Master's Degrees (8 programs)▼
- Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing
- Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions
- Health and Medical Administrative Services
- Information Science/Studies
- Business Administration, Management and Operations
- Criminal Justice and Corrections
- Human Resources Management and Services
- Bioethics/Medical Ethics
Online Graduate/Professional Certificates (1 program)▼
- Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing
Online First Professional Degrees (1 program)▼
- Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing
Student Demographics
Student Population
- Total Undergraduate Enrollment 388
- Full-Time Students 72.9%
- Part-Time Students 27.1%
- Male Students 25.3%
- Female Students 74.7%
- Caucasian 21.1%
- Asian 1.8%
- Hispanic 36.9%
- Black 28.9%
- Pell Grant Recipients 49.0%
Racial & Ethnic Diversity
Undergraduate student body composition by racial and ethnic background. This reflects South University, Tampa's commitment to diversity and inclusion in admissions.
Gender Distribution
Gender breakdown of South University, Tampa's undergraduate population. Women make up 74.7% of the student body, while men represent 25.3%.
Graduation Rate Equity Analysis
How well does South University, Tampa support students from different economic backgrounds?
What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at a different rate as higher-income students, indicating varying levels of institutional support for all economic backgrounds.
Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity
Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity
Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at South University, Tampa, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.
EDsmart Insight: South University, Tampa has a diverse student body, with 21.1% identifying as White. Women make up 74.7% of undergraduates.
Graduation Rate Equity Analysis
How well does South University, Tampa support students from different economic backgrounds?
What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at a different rate as higher-income students, indicating varying levels of institutional support for all economic backgrounds.
Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity
Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity
Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at South University, Tampa, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.
Our Take
South University, Tampa offers a private university experience at a regional scale, combining smaller class sizes with 76.0% ROI. Ranked #1782 nationally, the institution balances personalized attention against higher costs than public alternatives.
The $20,434 annual net price is significantly higher than public universities, offset somewhat by $68,975 median earnings. With 23.3% graduating within 150% of normal time and 50.0% returning for sophomore year, outcomes reflect the personalized support typical of smaller private institutions.
Private University Value: South University, Tampa's Positioning
With a C grade and #1782 ranking, South University, Tampa competes in the crowded regional private university market.
The Private University Premium: At $20,434 annually, South University, Tampa charges more than public alternatives but typically offers smaller classes, more personalized advising, and tighter-knit campus communities. The 50.0% retention rate suggests students value this environment.
Who Benefits Most: Students who thrive in smaller, more intimate academic settings. Those seeking specific programs or values-based education aligned with the institution's mission. Students who receive merit scholarships that bring costs below $14,304 achieve particularly strong value.
Cost-Benefit Reality: The 76.0% ROI and $68,975 median earnings don't always justify the premium over public universities. Students paying full price should compare whether the personalized experience warrants $10,434+ in additional annual costs over state flagships.
Competitive Standing: South University, Tampa ranks #1782 of 1959 institutions, with 625 schools achieving higher ROI. For students offered substantial merit aid or seeking specific programs unavailable at public universities, the value proposition strengthens significantly.
Key Takeaways
- 23.3% graduation rate sits 39.2 points below the national 62.5% benchmark.
- 50.0% first-year retention is 26.8 points below the national norm of 76.8%.
- 76.0% return on investment is 26.1 points above the national 49.9% benchmark.
- Median earnings of $68,975 run about 14% higher than national outcomes four years after graduation.
- Average net price of $20,434 is roughly $369 higher than the national median of $20,065.
Helpfulness for Students
- 14:1 student-faculty ratio keeps mentorship close and courses discussion-sized.
- 50.0% first-year retention shows students stay engaged after the first year.
- 75.5% employment rate within three years sits 7.3 points above national outcomes.
- Average net price of $20,434 is about $369 higher than comparable schools, so scholarship planning is key.
- 60.0% of students borrow federal loans, outpacing typical campuses and raising repayment stakes.
- Compare aid offers from nearby public universities to weigh the premium for smaller classes.
EDsmart Expert Analysis
Located in Tampa, FL, South University, Tampa operates as a private nonprofit university and receives a C from EDsmart. It is currently ranked #1782 nationally Grades by category break down as Completion C-, Support C, Career Outcomes B, and Affordability B.
Grades are assigned relative to EDsmart's national bachelor's cohort using standardized outcomes (2026 methodology); they reflect how a school compares to peers, not a fixed percentage of a raw point total.
Student momentum is strong: 50.0% retention, 23.3% graduation within 150% of normal time, and 48.4% earning an award within eight years. Return on investment currently measures 76.0% for this program.
Why it matters: this snapshot shows how likely you are to stay on track academically and whether the outcomes justify the price tag. Letter grades summarize cohort-relative performance—not a single exam-style score.
EDsmart Financial Snapshot
Families pay about $20,434 on average after aid, compared with a published cost near $30,414.
Institutional and federal aid lower costs by roughly $9,980 per year.
Graduates leave with a median of $26,123 in federal loans, which lines up with national norms.
About 49.0% of students receive Pell Grants, giving a snapshot of the campus income mix.
Why it matters: lining up sticker price, aid, and typical debt helps you stress-test the budget before you commit.
EDsmart Career Snapshot
Median earnings come in near $68,975 four years after graduation. That sits about 14% above the national median.
The three-year employment rate is close to 75.5%.
EDsmart lists the ROI at 76.0%, offering a quick read on value.
Why it matters: pairing median earnings with employment rates gives you a sense of payback time after graduation.
EDsmart Admissions Snapshot
This institution has not reported a current acceptance rate.
The admissions team encourages students to highlight academic strengths through transcripts, essays, and recommendations.
Prospective students can apply early for priority review and lean on the South University, Tampa admissions site for deadlines, visit options, and counselor contacts.
Why it matters: knowing the admit rate and application expectations lets you map out testing, essays, and deadlines with less stress.
Your Decision Toolkit
Cite this profile
Add your access date when you publish.
APA (7th): EDsmart. (2026). South University, Tampa: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings. https://www.edsmart.org/schools/south-university-tampa/
MLA (9th): “South University, Tampa: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings.” EDsmart, 2026, www.edsmart.org/schools/south-university-tampa/.
Chicago: EDsmart. “South University, Tampa: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings.” https://www.edsmart.org/schools/south-university-tampa/.
Similar Schools
Institutions with similar academic profiles, selectivity, and outcomes
Nearby Schools
Other campuses you might consider
Other Florida campuses you might consider
Frequently Asked Questions
How much does South University, Tampa cost?
At South University, Tampa, listed tuition and fees are $18,145 per year, and the average net price after aid is $20,434. Use the net price calculator on this page for a personalized estimate.
What is South University, Tampa's ranking?
South University, Tampa ranks #1782 overall in EDsmart's 2026 college rankings with an overall grade of C, based on completion, affordability, support, and career outcomes.
What is South University, Tampa's graduation rate?
At South University, Tampa, the graduation rate within 150% of normal time is 23.3% (the rate used in EDsmart rankings), College Scorecard 8-year award rate is 48.4%, and first-year retention is 50.0%.
What are South University, Tampa's job outcomes?
Graduates of South University, Tampa report median earnings of $68,975 four years after graduation, according to College Scorecard federal outcome data. Outcomes vary by major.
What is South University, Tampa's student population?
South University, Tampa enrolls about 388 undergraduate students, per College Scorecard enrollment data.
Contact Information
- Address 4401 N Himes Ave, Suite 175, Tampa, FL 33614-7095
- Website www.southuniversity.edu/tampa#location=Tampa, FL
- Net Price Calculator Calculate Your Cost
- Financial AidView Financial Aid Information
- AccreditationSouthern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCC)