Southeastern Oklahoma State University Logo

Southeastern Oklahoma State University

Durant, OK | Public | University

Southeastern Oklahoma State University has an acceptance rate of 76.4%, an average net price of $7,565, and an overall rank of #1619 (Grade C). About 31.5% of students graduate within 150% of normal time, and median earnings are $52,239 five years after graduation. Data from the U.S. Department of Education and EDsmart's 2026 rankings.

Southeastern Oklahoma State University is a public university in Durant, OK. Students most often pursue Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods and Quality Control and Safety Technologies/Technicians.

Academically, students benefit from a 25:1 student-faculty ratio, and 63.4% first-year retention. Peer cohorts and advising networks provide scaffolding that keeps newcomers anchored during demanding semesters.

EDsmart calculates return on investment at 138.1%, roughly 88.2 points higher than typical outcomes. It's a compelling fit for students who appreciate an encouraging campus with room to explore and career-focused learners aiming for high-impact outcomes.

C
Ranking
#1619 of 1,934
How We Rank Schools Lower tuitionPublic school option
At a Glance
Ranking
#1619 of 1,934 (Top 83.7%)
Tuition
$7,800
Net Price
$7,565
4-Year Tuition
$31,200
Acceptance Rate
76.4%
Transfer Rate
13.0%
Student Population
3,018
Student-Faculty
25:1
Grad Rate (150% time)
31.5%
Grad Rate (8-year)
40.6%
Retention Rate
63.4%
4-Yr Earnings
$52,239
ROI
Not reported

Who is Southeastern Oklahoma State University Best For?

A quick look at who tends to feel most at home here based on outcomes and campus context.

Families tracking affordability closely
First-gen or Pell-eligible support

EDsmart Scores Summary

Overall Ranking
#1619 of 1,934
Top 83.7% of all institutions
EDsmart Score
16.3 / 100 (national index)
Curved score (top institution = 100.0)
Value Rating
0.82 / 5
Based on ROI and outcomes
Completion
C
#1,658 of 1,934
Affordability
A-
#203 of 1,934
Support
C-
#1,825 of 1,934
Career Outcomes
C+
#1,531 of 1,934

Southeastern Oklahoma State University graduates 31.5% of students within 150% of normal time (the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings), with an 8-year award rate of 40.6% and keeps 63.4% of first-year students. Affordability earns an A- compared with similar schools.

How we calculate this →

Cost & Financial Aid

Quick Answers

What does it cost?
Depends on income
$6,585-$9,513 annual net price based on family income.
What's the graduation rate?
Challenging
31.5% graduate within 150% of normal time (the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings). The federal 8-year award rate is 40.6%. 15.7% complete in four years (IPEDS 100% time).
What are job outcomes?
Highly likely
88.3% of alumni are employed within three years of leaving. Median earnings five years after graduation are $52,239. Pay varies by major.
Get Your Personalized Cost Estimate

The costs shown are averages. Use Southeastern Oklahoma State University's net price calculator to get an estimate based on your family's financial situation.

Calculate Your Net Price →

Total Degree Cost Summary

4-Year Total Cost (Pay with Cash)
$69,284
$17,321 × 4 years
Average Total Cost (Pay with Financial Aid)
$37,823
$7,565 × 5.0 years average
Time to Degree
Average: 5.0 years | 4-Year Rate: 15.7% | 6-Year Rate: 31.5% | 8-Year Rate: 40.6%
Most students finish in about four to five years. Four-year completion is 15.7% and six-year completion is 31.5%.

Annual Cost Comparison

Pay with Cash
$17,321
Total annual cost including tuition, books and living expenses; excluding any financial aid, grants or scholarships.
Pay with Financial Aid
$7,565
Average annual cost including tuition, books and living expenses after financial aid, grants or scholarships.

Est. annual aid gap: $9,756 Cash cost of attendance minus average net price after aid.

Cost of Undergraduate Attendance

Costs based on full-time, first-time degree- or certificate-seeking undergraduates.

View cost of attendance line items
Costs to Consider Price
Tuition and Fees $7,800
Books and Supplies $1,800
On-Campus Room and Board $7,440
On-Campus Other Expenses $3,016
Total On-Campus Cost $17,321

Tip: focus on the rows that match your living plan—commuters can swap in off-campus estimates while residential students should budget for housing, meals, and incidental fees.

Students Receiving Aid

Pell Grant
47.2%
Federal Loan
29.9%

Use these bars to gauge how many classmates rely on need-based dollars—lower Pell or loan shares may signal a wealthier student body or generous institutional grants.

EDsmart Insight: About 47.2% of Southeastern Oklahoma State University students receive Pell Grants — above the national average, highlighting ongoing affordability priorities.

Net Price by Family Income

Average annual net price after financial aid, based on family income. Your actual cost may vary depending on your specific financial situation.

$0 - $30,000
$6,585
Average annual cost for families earning $0-$30K
$30,001 - $48,000
$6,004
Average annual cost for families earning $30K-$48K
$48,001 - $75,000
$7,450
Average annual cost for families earning $48K-$75K
$75,001 - $110,000
$9,737
Average annual cost for families earning $75K-$110K
$110,001+
$9,513
Average annual cost for families earning $110K+

Understanding These Numbers: Net price varies significantly by income level. Net prices range from $6,585 to $9,513 depending on family income. Use Southeastern Oklahoma State University's net price calculator for a personalized estimate.

Typical total cost estimates (~5 years):
$0-$30K families
~$32,923
$30K-$48K families
~$30,018
$48K-$75K families
~$37,248
$75K-$110K families
~$48,682
AFFORDABILITY ALERT

If your family earns $75K-$110K: Expect to pay around $9,737/year

If your family earns $110K+: Expect to pay around $9,513/year

See all income brackets →

ROI & Career Outcomes

Return on Investment
Not reported
Based on median earnings five years after graduation vs. total degree cost
  • Median Earnings (5 Years After Graduation) $52,239
  • 10-Year Median Earnings $48,391
  • Average Years to Graduate 5.0 years
  • Average Student Debt $17,750
  • Debt-to-Earnings ~34.0%
  • Repayment Rate (3yr) 50.0%
  • Employment Rate 88.3%

Graduate Earnings Distribution

Earnings range for Southeastern Oklahoma State University graduates about 10 years after enrollment (25th percentile, median, and 75th percentile). Different horizon than median earnings five years after graduation above.

Graduates earn a median of $52,239 five years after graduation — roughly 15% below the national median.
Payback Period
0.72 years
Total Degree Cost ÷ Annual Earnings

Southeastern Oklahoma State University vs. National Average

Comparison of key performance metrics showing how Southeastern Oklahoma State University's outcomes compare to the national average across earnings, graduation rates, retention, ROI, and employment. This contextualizes Southeastern Oklahoma State University's performance within the broader higher education landscape.

Acceptance & Selectivity

Getting In

Acceptance Rate
76.4%
Lightly Selective
National Average
69%
Average acceptance rate
  • SAT Evidence-Based Reading 490-593
  • SAT Math 490-593
  • SAT Writing Not reported
  • ACT Composite 18-24
  • SAT & ACT Required
  • Undergraduate Enrollment 3,018
  • Full-Time Students 75.2%
  • Part-Time Students 24.9%
  • Retention Rate 63.4%
  • Grad Rate (150% time) 31.5%
  • Grad Rate (8-year) 40.6%
  • Student-Faculty Ratio 25:1

How to Get Into Southeastern Oklahoma State University

1. Meet Academic Requirements: Southeastern Oklahoma State University requires strong academic performance. Aim for test scores within the reported ranges and maintain a competitive GPA. Most admitted students rank in the top 10% of their high school class.

2. Build a Strong Application: Beyond test scores, focus on crafting compelling essays, securing strong letters of recommendation, and highlighting extracurricular activities that demonstrate leadership and commitment.

3. Understand Selectivity: With an acceptance rate of 76.4%, Southeastern Oklahoma State University is relatively open. Consider applying early decision if available, as early applicants often have higher acceptance rates.

4. Financial Planning: Review the net price calculator and financial aid options early. Many students receive significant aid, making the actual cost lower than the sticker price.

Tip: Contact the admissions office directly for the most current application requirements, deadlines, and any special programs (like early decision or early action) that might improve your chances.

EDsmart Insight: With a 76.4% acceptance rate, Southeastern Oklahoma State University is more accessible than highly selective schools. Meeting the test score ranges and maintaining a solid GPA significantly improves admission chances. The middle 50% of admitted students score between 980 and 1186 on the SAT.

Academic Programs

Undergraduate Program Distribution

Breakdown of the most popular majors and fields of study among Southeastern Oklahoma State University undergraduates. Quality Control and Safety Technologies/Technician, Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Hum, and Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods draw the most students.

  • Quality Control and Safety Technologies/Technician 15.8%
  • Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Hum 15.8%
  • Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods 7.7%
  • Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Ser 5.1%
  • Business Administration, Management and Operations 4.9%
  • Criminal Justice and Corrections 4.7%
See more majors
  • Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods 4.6%
  • Biology, General 4.4%

Highest Earning Programs

Median earnings five years after graduation for each program. These figures help illustrate ROI by field of study and degree level.

Undergraduate Programs (Bachelor's Degrees)

  • 1. Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods $64,001
  • 2. Quality Control and Safety Technologies/Technicians $58,971
  • 3. Computer and Information Sciences, General $55,922
Show additional high-earning majors
  • 4. Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas $45,996
  • 5. Accounting and Related Services $44,992
  • 6. Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities $42,648
  • 7. Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods $42,599
  • 8. Criminal Justice and Corrections $34,958
  • 9. Business Administration, Management and Operations $34,947
  • 10. Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services $32,997

Graduate Programs (Master's, Doctoral, Professional)

  • 1. Aerospace, Aeronautical and Astronautical Engineering (Master's Degree) $96,479
  • 2. Quality Control and Safety Technologies/Technicians (Master's Degree) $80,651
  • 3. Business Administration, Management and Operations (Master's Degree) $76,648
Show additional graduate majors
  • 4. Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies (Master's Degree) $62,250
  • 5. Student Counseling and Personnel Services (Master's Degree) $57,536
  • 6. Educational Administration and Supervision (Master's Degree) $55,281
  • 7. Health and Physical Education/Fitness (Master's Degree) $53,961
  • 8. Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods (Master's Degree) $52,632
  • 9. Clinical, Counseling and Applied Psychology (Master's Degree) $46,473

Program Choice Matters: Undergraduate: Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods grads earn $64,001—94% more than Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services ($32,997). Graduate: Aerospace, Aeronautical and Astronautical Engineering programs lead with $96,479 median earnings. Your program and degree level choice significantly impact career earnings.

Online Degrees & Distance Learning

U.S. Department of Education data reports fully online programs for Southeastern Oklahoma State University. Below are the most popular options based on the number of recent graduates, followed by a quick look at the breadth of online offerings by degree level.
Source: U.S. Department of Education

Most Popular Online Degrees

  • Business Administration, Management and Operations (Master's Degree, 350 graduates)
  • Air Transportation (Master's Degree, 42 graduates)
  • Air Transportation (Bachelor's Degree, 35 graduates)
  • Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods (Bachelor's Degree, 17 graduates)
  • Biology, General (Bachelor's Degree, 17 graduates)

What This School Offers Online, at a Glance

U.S. Department of Education data flags the following online degree and certificate programs for this institution. Expand each credential level to view the complete list of available subjects.

Online Bachelor's Degrees (17 programs)▼
  • Air Transportation
  • Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods
  • Biology, General
  • Psychology, General
  • Finance and Financial Management Services
  • Chemistry
  • Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas
  • History
  • Fine and Studio Arts
  • Natural Resources Conservation and Research
  • Mathematics
  • Sociology
  • Special Education and Teaching
  • Political Science and Government
  • Music
  • Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft
  • Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
Online Master's Degrees (4 programs)▼
  • Business Administration, Management and Operations
  • Air Transportation
  • Quality Control and Safety Technologies/Technicians
  • Clinical, Counseling and Applied Psychology

Student Demographics

Student Population

  • Total Undergraduate Enrollment 3,018
  • Full-Time Students 75.2%
  • Part-Time Students 24.9%
  • Male Students 42.4%
  • Female Students 57.6%
  • Caucasian 52.6%
  • Asian 0.9%
  • Hispanic 9.7%
  • Black 6.4%
  • Pell Grant Recipients 47.2%

Racial & Ethnic Diversity

Undergraduate student body composition by racial and ethnic background. This reflects Southeastern Oklahoma State University's commitment to diversity and inclusion in admissions.

Gender Distribution

Gender breakdown of Southeastern Oklahoma State University's undergraduate population. The university maintains a roughly balanced gender distribution across its student body.

Graduation Rate Equity Analysis

How well does Southeastern Oklahoma State University support students from different economic backgrounds?

Pell Grant Recipients
23.1%
6-year graduation rate
Non-Pell Students
40.8%
6-year graduation rate
Equity Gap
17.7 pts
equity gap to monitor

What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at a different rate as higher-income students, indicating varying levels of institutional support for all economic backgrounds.

Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity

Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity

Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at Southeastern Oklahoma State University, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.

Graduation Rate Equity Analysis

How well does Southeastern Oklahoma State University support students from different economic backgrounds?

Pell Grant Recipients
23.1%
6-year graduation rate
Non-Pell Students
40.8%
6-year graduation rate
Equity Gap
17.7 pts
equity gap to monitor

What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at a different rate as higher-income students, indicating varying levels of institutional support for all economic backgrounds.

Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity

Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity

Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at Southeastern Oklahoma State University, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.

Our Take

Southeastern Oklahoma State University serves as a highly accessible university for students seeking quality education without elite university costs. Ranked #1619 overall with ROI data not available, the institution balances practical outcomes with budget-friendly pricing.

At $7,565 annually, students gain access to career-focused programs leading to $52,239 median earnings. The 31.5% graduation rate reflects reasonable completion metrics for a university. While 63.4% retention suggests adequate student support.

University Value: Southeastern Oklahoma State University's Strengths

Ranked #1619 with a C grade, Southeastern Oklahoma State University prioritizes accessibility and local career connections over national prestige.

Primary Strengths: Universitys like Southeastern Oklahoma State University excel at providing affordable education ($7,565 annually) with strong local employer relationships. Many programs emphasize practical skills and internships within the regional economy.

Best For: Students planning to work in the region after graduation benefit from established employer connections. Adult learners and part-time students appreciate flexible scheduling. First-generation students and budget-conscious families gain degrees without overwhelming debt.

Honest Assessment: Southeastern Oklahoma State University's 63.4% retention and 31.5% graduation rate trail elite universities but align with typical university performance. Career outcomes ($52,239 median earnings) reflect regional job markets more than national opportunities.

Value Verdict: For students committed to regional careers, Southeastern Oklahoma State University and $7,565 cost deliver solid value. Those seeking national job mobility or prestigious credentials should compare against flagship state universities or targeted private scholarships.

Key Takeaways

  • 31.5% graduation rate sits 31.0 points below the national 62.5% benchmark.
  • 63.4% first-year retention is 13.4 points below the national norm of 76.8%.
  • Median earnings of $52,239 run about 15% lower than national outcomes five years after graduation.
  • Average net price of $7,565 is roughly $12,342 lower than the national median of $19,908.
  • 88.3% employment rate within three years is 20.1 points above the national 68.2%.

Helpfulness for Students

Green Flags
  • 25:1 student-faculty ratio keeps mentorship close and courses discussion-sized.
  • 63.4% first-year retention shows students stay engaged after the first year.
  • 88.3% employment rate within three years sits 20.1 points above national outcomes.
Red Flags
  • Budget carefully for clinical travel, off-campus housing, and practicum fees to avoid surprise costs.
  • Compare aid offers from nearby public universities to weigh the premium for smaller classes.
  • Compare aid offers from nearby public universities to weigh the premium for smaller classes.
EDsmart Expert Analysis

Southeastern Oklahoma State University is a public university based in Durant, OK and earns a C overall grade. It appears at #1619 in EDsmart's rankings Completion earns C, Support C-, Career Outcomes C+, and Affordability A-.

Grades are assigned relative to EDsmart's national bachelor's cohort using standardized outcomes (2026 methodology); they reflect how a school compares to peers, not a fixed percentage of a raw point total.

Student momentum is strong: 63.4% retention, 31.5% graduation within 150% of normal time, and 40.6% earning an award within eight years. Review the cost and aid tables for a full picture of value.

Why it matters: this snapshot shows how likely you are to stay on track academically and whether the outcomes justify the price tag. Letter grades summarize cohort-relative performance—not a single exam-style score.

EDsmart Financial Snapshot

Families pay about $7,565 on average after aid, compared with a published cost near $17,321.

Institutional and federal aid lower costs by roughly $9,756 per year.

Graduates leave with a median of $17,750 in federal loans, which lines up with national norms.

About 47.2% of students receive Pell Grants, giving a snapshot of the campus income mix.

Why it matters: lining up sticker price, aid, and typical debt helps you stress-test the budget before you commit.

EDsmart Career Snapshot

Graduates report median earnings of about $52,239 five years after graduation. This is roughly 15% below typical U.S. college outcomes.

The three-year employment rate is close to 88.3%.

Use the ROI table above to estimate how long it may take to recoup your degree costs.

Why it matters: pairing median earnings with employment rates gives you a sense of payback time after graduation.

EDsmart Admissions Snapshot

76.4% of applicants receive offers, so preparation and fit matter.

The admissions team encourages students to highlight academic strengths through transcripts, essays, and recommendations.

Prospective students can apply early for priority review and lean on the Southeastern Oklahoma State University admissions site for deadlines, visit options, and counselor contacts.

Why it matters: knowing the admit rate and application expectations lets you map out testing, essays, and deadlines with less stress.

EDsmart Verdict
0.82 / 5
Value Rating - Based on affordability and career outcomes

Your Decision Toolkit

Run the Net Price Calculator
Get your personalized cost estimate
Compare with similar schools
See how Southeastern Oklahoma State University stacks up to alternatives
Check your major's earnings
See ROI for your specific field of study
Visit the campus
Schedule a campus tour or virtual visit
Visit Southeastern Oklahoma State University Website →

Cite this profile

Add your access date when you publish.

APA (7th): EDsmart. (2026). Southeastern Oklahoma State University: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings. https://www.edsmart.org/schools/southeastern-oklahoma-state-university/

MLA (9th): “Southeastern Oklahoma State University: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings.” EDsmart, 2026, www.edsmart.org/schools/southeastern-oklahoma-state-university/.

Chicago: EDsmart. “Southeastern Oklahoma State University: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings.” https://www.edsmart.org/schools/southeastern-oklahoma-state-university/.

Similar Schools

Institutions with similar academic profiles, selectivity, and outcomes

Nearby Schools

Other campuses you might consider

Other Oklahoma campuses you might consider

University of Central Oklahoma
Edmond, OK
C #1613 of 1,934
Mid-America Christian University
Oklahoma City, OK
C #1640 of 1,934
East Central University
Ada, OK
C #1652 of 1,934
Cameron University
Lawton, OK
C #1665 of 1,934

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Southeastern Oklahoma State University's acceptance rate?

Southeastern Oklahoma State University's acceptance rate is 76.4%, based on U.S. Department of Education admissions data.

How much does Southeastern Oklahoma State University cost?

At Southeastern Oklahoma State University, listed tuition and fees are $7,800 per year, and the average net price after aid is $7,565. Use the net price calculator on this page for a personalized estimate.

What is Southeastern Oklahoma State University's ranking?

Southeastern Oklahoma State University ranks #1619 overall in EDsmart's 2026 college rankings with an overall grade of C, based on completion, affordability, support, and career outcomes.

What is Southeastern Oklahoma State University's graduation rate?

At Southeastern Oklahoma State University, the graduation rate within 150% of normal time is 31.5% (the rate used in EDsmart rankings), the federal 8-year award rate is 40.6%, and first-year retention is 63.4%.

What are Southeastern Oklahoma State University's job outcomes?

Graduates of Southeastern Oklahoma State University report median earnings of $52,239 five years after graduation, according to U.S. Department of Education outcome data. Outcomes vary by major.

What is Southeastern Oklahoma State University's student population?

Southeastern Oklahoma State University enrolls about 3,018 undergraduate students, per U.S. Department of Education enrollment data.

Contact Information

  • AccreditationHigher Learning Commission (NCACHE)
  • Endowment$31.2M
  • Transfer Enrollment Rate13.0%

Data Source & Methodology ▼