Thomas University Logo

Thomas University

Thomasville, GA | Private Nonprofit | University

Thomas University has an acceptance rate of 38.3%, an average net price of $16,111, and an overall rank of #1629 (Grade C). About 27.9% of students graduate within 150% of normal time, and median earnings are $62,256 five years after graduation. Data from the U.S. Department of Education and EDsmart's 2026 rankings.

Thomas University is a private nonprofit university in Thomasville, GA. Students most often pursue Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing and Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions.

Inside the classroom, students benefit from a 12:1 student-faculty ratio, and 49.2% first-year retention. Faculty pair challenging syllabi with intentional mentoring so learners keep momentum even as expectations rise.

EDsmart calculates return on investment at 67.7%, roughly 17.8 points higher than typical outcomes. Expect the strongest outcomes for students who appreciate an encouraging campus with room to explore.

C
Ranking
#1629 of 1,934
How We Rank Schools Small campus feel
At a Glance
Ranking
#1629 of 1,934 (Top 84.2%)
Tuition
$11,640
Net Price
$16,111
4-Year Tuition
$46,560
Acceptance Rate
38.3%
Transfer Rate
0.0%
Student Population
998
Student-Faculty
12:1
Grad Rate (150% time)
27.9%
Grad Rate (8-year)
33.3%
Retention Rate
49.2%
4-Yr Earnings
$62,256
ROI
Not reported

Who is Thomas University Best For?

A quick look at who tends to feel most at home here based on outcomes and campus context.

Students who thrive with close mentoring
First-gen or Pell-eligible support
Learners who value a tight-knit campus
Students seeking strong career outcomes
Students valuing supportive learning environments

EDsmart Scores Summary

Overall Ranking
#1629 of 1,934
Top 84.2% of all institutions
EDsmart Score
15.8 / 100 (national index)
Curved score (top institution = 100.0)
Value Rating
0.79 / 5
Based on ROI and outcomes
Completion
C-
#1,793 of 1,934
Affordability
B
#663 of 1,934
Support
C+
#1,621 of 1,934
Career Outcomes
B
#1,079 of 1,934

Thomas University graduates 27.9% of students within 150% of normal time (the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings), with an 8-year award rate of 33.3% and keeps 49.2% of first-year students. Affordability earns a B compared with similar schools.

How we calculate this →

Cost & Financial Aid

Quick Answers

What does it cost?
Depends on income
$13,330-$19,419 annual net price based on family income.
What's the graduation rate?
Challenging
27.9% graduate within 150% of normal time (the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings). The federal 8-year award rate is 33.3%. 4.1% complete in four years (IPEDS 100% time).
What are job outcomes?
Highly likely
90.6% of alumni are employed within three years of leaving. Median earnings five years after graduation are $62,256. Pay varies by major.
Get Your Personalized Cost Estimate

The costs shown are averages. Use Thomas University's net price calculator to get an estimate based on your family's financial situation.

Calculate Your Net Price →

Total Degree Cost Summary

4-Year Total Cost (Pay with Cash)
$95,920
$23,980 × 4 years
Average Total Cost (Pay with Financial Aid)
$91,921
$16,111 × 5.7 years average
Time to Degree
Average: 5.7 years | 4-Year Rate: 4.1% | 6-Year Rate: 27.9% | 8-Year Rate: 33.3%
Most students finish in about four to five years. Four-year completion is 4.1% and six-year completion is 27.9%.

Annual Cost Comparison

Pay with Cash
$23,980
Total annual cost including tuition, books and living expenses; excluding any financial aid, grants or scholarships.
Pay with Financial Aid
$16,111
Average annual cost including tuition, books and living expenses after financial aid, grants or scholarships.

Est. annual aid gap: $7,869 Cash cost of attendance minus average net price after aid.

Cost of Undergraduate Attendance

Costs based on full-time, first-time degree- or certificate-seeking undergraduates.

View cost of attendance line items
Costs to Consider Price
Tuition and Fees $11,640
Books and Supplies $2,000
On-Campus Room and Board $8,140
On-Campus Other Expenses $2,200
Total On-Campus Cost $23,980

Tip: focus on the rows that match your living plan—commuters can swap in off-campus estimates while residential students should budget for housing, meals, and incidental fees.

Students Receiving Aid

Pell Grant
41.1%
Federal Loan
41.0%

Use these bars to gauge how many classmates rely on need-based dollars—lower Pell or loan shares may signal a wealthier student body or generous institutional grants.

EDsmart Insight: About 41.1% of Thomas University students receive Pell Grants — above the national average, highlighting ongoing affordability priorities.

Net Price by Family Income

Average annual net price after financial aid, based on family income. Your actual cost may vary depending on your specific financial situation.

$0 - $30,000
$13,330
Average annual cost for families earning $0-$30K
$30,001 - $48,000
$14,766
Average annual cost for families earning $30K-$48K
$48,001 - $75,000
$17,173
Average annual cost for families earning $48K-$75K
$75,001 - $110,000
$21,351
Average annual cost for families earning $75K-$110K
$110,001+
$19,419
Average annual cost for families earning $110K+

Understanding These Numbers: Net price varies significantly by income level. Net prices range from $13,330 to $19,419 depending on family income. Use Thomas University's net price calculator for a personalized estimate.

Typical total cost estimates (~5.7 years):
$0-$30K families
~$76,054
$30K-$48K families
~$84,247
$48K-$75K families
~$97,980
$75K-$110K families
~$121,818
AFFORDABILITY ALERT

If your family earns $75K-$110K: Expect to pay around $21,351/year

If your family earns $110K+: Expect to pay around $19,419/year

See all income brackets →

ROI & Career Outcomes

Return on Investment
Not reported
Based on median earnings five years after graduation vs. total degree cost
  • Median Earnings (5 Years After Graduation) $62,256
  • 10-Year Median Earnings $59,055
  • Average Years to Graduate 5.7 years
  • Average Student Debt $21,000
  • Debt-to-Earnings ~33.7%
  • Repayment Rate (3yr) 41.7%
  • Employment Rate 90.6%

Graduate Earnings Distribution

Earnings range for Thomas University graduates about 10 years after enrollment (25th percentile, median, and 75th percentile). Different horizon than median earnings five years after graduation above.

Graduates earn a median of $62,256 five years after graduation — roughly 1% above the national median.
Payback Period
1.48 years
Total Degree Cost ÷ Annual Earnings

Thomas University vs. National Average

Comparison of key performance metrics showing how Thomas University's outcomes compare to the national average across earnings, graduation rates, retention, ROI, and employment. This contextualizes Thomas University's performance within the broader higher education landscape.

Acceptance & Selectivity

Getting In

Acceptance Rate
38.3%
Moderately Selective
National Average
69%
Average acceptance rate
  • SAT Evidence-Based Reading 500-620
  • SAT Math 490-600
  • SAT Writing Not reported
  • ACT Composite 20-24
  • SAT & ACT Required
  • Undergraduate Enrollment 998
  • Full-Time Students 57.5%
  • Part-Time Students 42.5%
  • Retention Rate 49.2%
  • Grad Rate (150% time) 27.9%
  • Grad Rate (8-year) 33.3%
  • Student-Faculty Ratio 12:1

How to Get Into Thomas University

1. Meet Academic Requirements: Thomas University requires strong academic performance. Aim for test scores within the reported ranges and maintain a competitive GPA. Most admitted students rank in the top 10% of their high school class.

2. Build a Strong Application: Beyond test scores, focus on crafting compelling essays, securing strong letters of recommendation, and highlighting extracurricular activities that demonstrate leadership and commitment.

3. Understand Selectivity: With an acceptance rate of 38.3%, Thomas University is moderately selective. Consider applying early decision if available, as early applicants often have higher acceptance rates.

4. Financial Planning: Review the net price calculator and financial aid options early. Many students receive significant aid, making the actual cost lower than the sticker price.

Tip: Contact the admissions office directly for the most current application requirements, deadlines, and any special programs (like early decision or early action) that might improve your chances.

EDsmart Insight: Thomas University accepts 38.3% of applicants, making it moderately selective. Focus on strong academics, meaningful extracurriculars, and compelling essays to stand out. The middle 50% of admitted students score between 990 and 1220 on the SAT.

Academic Programs

Undergraduate Program Distribution

Breakdown of the most popular majors and fields of study among Thomas University undergraduates. Business Administration, Management and Operations, Criminal Justice and Corrections, and Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and A draw the most students.

  • Business Administration, Management and Operations 16.9%
  • Criminal Justice and Corrections 15.7%
  • Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and A 12.2%
  • Social Work 11.6%
  • Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods 11.0%
  • Biology, General 9.9%
See more majors
  • Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing 7.0%
  • Psychology, Other 5.8%

Highest Earning Programs

Median earnings five years after graduation for each program. These figures help illustrate ROI by field of study and degree level.

Undergraduate Programs (Bachelor's Degrees)

  • 1. Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing $93,635
  • 2. Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions $74,099
  • 3. Criminal Justice and Corrections $62,767
Show additional high-earning majors
  • 4. Social Work $43,476
  • 5. Business Administration, Management and Operations $36,436

Graduate Programs (Master's, Doctoral, Professional)

  • 1. Educational Administration and Supervision (Graduate/Professional Certificate) $75,186
  • 2. Educational Administration and Supervision (First Professional Degree) $73,012
  • 3. Educational Administration and Supervision (Master's Degree) $66,880
Show additional graduate majors
  • 4. Curriculum and Instruction (Master's Degree) $61,064
  • 5. Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods (Master's Degree) $59,491
  • 6. Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions (Master's Degree) $48,969
  • 7. Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions (Master's Degree) $39,302

Program Choice Matters: Undergraduate: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing grads earn $93,635—157% more than Business Administration, Management and Operations ($36,436). Graduate: Educational Administration and Supervision programs lead with $75,186 median earnings. Your program and degree level choice significantly impact career earnings.

Online Degrees & Distance Learning

U.S. Department of Education data reports fully online programs for Thomas University. Below are the most popular options based on the number of recent graduates, followed by a quick look at the breadth of online offerings by degree level.
Source: U.S. Department of Education

Most Popular Online Degrees

  • Educational Administration and Supervision (Graduate/Professional Certificate, 60 graduates)
  • Biology, General (Bachelor's Degree, 13 graduates)
  • Natural Resources Conservation and Research (Bachelor's Degree, 3 graduates)
  • Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (Bachelor's Degree, 3 graduates)
  • Multi-/Interdisciplinary Studies, General (Bachelor's Degree, 2 graduates)

What This School Offers Online, at a Glance

U.S. Department of Education data flags the following online degree and certificate programs for this institution. Expand each credential level to view the complete list of available subjects.

Online Bachelor's Degrees (8 programs)▼
  • Biology, General
  • Natural Resources Conservation and Research
  • Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
  • Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness
  • Multi-/Interdisciplinary Studies, General
  • Educational Administration and Supervision
  • Fine and Studio Arts
  • Communication and Media Studies
Online Graduate/Professional Certificates (1 program)▼
  • Educational Administration and Supervision

Student Demographics

Student Population

  • Total Undergraduate Enrollment 998
  • Full-Time Students 57.5%
  • Part-Time Students 42.5%
  • Male Students 41.5%
  • Female Students 58.5%
  • Caucasian 34.5%
  • Asian 1.5%
  • Hispanic 5.5%
  • Black 39.1%
  • Pell Grant Recipients 41.1%

Racial & Ethnic Diversity

Undergraduate student body composition by racial and ethnic background. This reflects Thomas University's commitment to diversity and inclusion in admissions.

Gender Distribution

Gender breakdown of Thomas University's undergraduate population. The university maintains a roughly balanced gender distribution across its student body.

Graduation Rate Equity Analysis

How well does Thomas University support students from different economic backgrounds?

Pell Grant Recipients
30.6%
6-year graduation rate
Non-Pell Students
36.7%
6-year graduation rate
Equity Gap
6.1 pts
good equity

What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at a similar rate as higher-income students, indicating adequate institutional support for all economic backgrounds.

Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity

Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity

Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at Thomas University, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.

EDsmart Insight: Thomas University has a diverse student body, with 34.5% identifying as White.

Graduation Rate Equity Analysis

How well does Thomas University support students from different economic backgrounds?

Pell Grant Recipients
30.6%
6-year graduation rate
Non-Pell Students
36.7%
6-year graduation rate
Equity Gap
6.1 pts
good equity

What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at a similar rate as higher-income students, indicating adequate institutional support for all economic backgrounds.

Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity

Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity

Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at Thomas University, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.

Our Take

Thomas University offers a private university experience at a regional scale, combining smaller class sizes with 0.0% ROI. Ranked #1629 overall, the institution balances personalized attention against higher costs than public alternatives.

The $16,111 annual net price is moderately higher than state schools, offset somewhat by $62,256 median earnings. With 27.9% graduating within 150% of normal time and 49.2% returning for sophomore year, outcomes reflect the personalized support typical of smaller private institutions.

Private University Value: Thomas University's Positioning

With a C grade and #1629 ranking, Thomas University competes in the crowded regional private university market.

The Private University Premium: At $16,111 annually, Thomas University charges more than public alternatives but typically offers smaller classes, more personalized advising, and tighter-knit campus communities. The 49.2% retention rate suggests students value this environment.

Who Benefits Most: Students who thrive in smaller, more intimate academic settings. Those seeking specific programs or values-based education aligned with the institution's mission. Students who receive merit scholarships that bring costs below $11,278 achieve particularly strong value.

Cost-Benefit Reality: The 0.0% ROI and $62,256 median earnings don't always justify the premium over public universities. Students paying full price should compare whether the personalized experience warrants $6,111+ in additional annual costs over state flagships.

Competitive Standing: Thomas University ranks #1629 of 1934 institutions, with 0 schools achieving higher ROI. For students offered substantial merit aid or seeking specific programs unavailable at public universities, the value proposition strengthens significantly.

Key Takeaways

  • 27.9% graduation rate sits 34.6 points below the national 62.5% benchmark.
  • 49.2% first-year retention is 27.5 points below the national norm of 76.8%.
  • Median earnings of $62,256 run about 1% higher than national outcomes five years after graduation.
  • Average net price of $16,111 is roughly $3,796 lower than the national median of $19,908.
  • 90.6% employment rate within three years is 22.4 points above the national 68.2%.

Helpfulness for Students

Green Flags
  • 12:1 student-faculty ratio keeps mentorship close and courses discussion-sized.
  • 49.2% first-year retention shows students stay engaged after the first year.
  • 90.6% employment rate within three years sits 22.4 points above national outcomes.
Red Flags
  • Budget carefully for clinical travel, off-campus housing, and practicum fees to avoid surprise costs.
  • Compare aid offers from nearby public universities to weigh the premium for smaller classes.
  • Compare aid offers from nearby public universities to weigh the premium for smaller classes.
EDsmart Expert Analysis

Thomas University, a private nonprofit university in Thomasville, GA, secures a C grade in our latest review. It holds a #1629 overall ranking Grades by category break down as Completion C-, Support C+, Career Outcomes B, and Affordability B.

Grades are assigned relative to EDsmart's national bachelor's cohort using standardized outcomes (2026 methodology); they reflect how a school compares to peers, not a fixed percentage of a raw point total.

About 49.2% of first-year students return; 27.9% graduate within 150% of normal time, with an 8-year award rate of 33.3%. Review the cost and aid tables for a full picture of value.

Why it matters: this snapshot shows how likely you are to stay on track academically and whether the outcomes justify the price tag. Letter grades summarize cohort-relative performance—not a single exam-style score.

EDsmart Financial Snapshot

Families pay about $16,111 on average after aid, compared with a published cost near $23,980.

Institutional and federal aid lower costs by roughly $7,869 per year.

Graduates leave with a median of $21,000 in federal loans, which lines up with national norms.

About 41.1% of students receive Pell Grants, giving a snapshot of the campus income mix.

Why it matters: lining up sticker price, aid, and typical debt helps you stress-test the budget before you commit.

EDsmart Career Snapshot

Median earnings come in near $62,256 five years after graduation. That sits about 1% above the national median.

Employment outcomes report about 90.6% of alumni working within three years.

Use the ROI table above to estimate how long it may take to recoup your degree costs.

Why it matters: pairing median earnings with employment rates gives you a sense of payback time after graduation.

EDsmart Admissions Snapshot

38.3% of applicants receive offers, so preparation and fit matter.

The admissions team encourages students to highlight academic strengths through transcripts, essays, and recommendations.

Prospective students can apply early for priority review and lean on the Thomas University admissions site for deadlines, visit options, and counselor contacts.

Why it matters: knowing the admit rate and application expectations lets you map out testing, essays, and deadlines with less stress.

EDsmart Verdict
0.79 / 5
Value Rating - Based on affordability and career outcomes

Your Decision Toolkit

Run the Net Price Calculator
Get your personalized cost estimate
Compare with similar schools
See how Thomas University stacks up to alternatives
Check your major's earnings
See ROI for your specific field of study
Visit the campus
Schedule a campus tour or virtual visit
Visit Thomas University Website →

Cite this profile

Add your access date when you publish.

APA (7th): EDsmart. (2026). Thomas University: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings. https://www.edsmart.org/schools/thomas-university/

MLA (9th): “Thomas University: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings.” EDsmart, 2026, www.edsmart.org/schools/thomas-university/.

Chicago: EDsmart. “Thomas University: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings.” https://www.edsmart.org/schools/thomas-university/.

Similar Schools

Institutions with similar academic profiles, selectivity, and outcomes

Nearby Schools

Other campuses you might consider

Other Georgia campuses you might consider

Reinhardt University
Waleska, GA
C #1634 of 1,934
Clark Atlanta University
Atlanta, GA
C #1622 of 1,934
Middle Georgia State University
Macon, GA
C+ #1563 of 1,934
Point University
West Point, GA
C+ #1552 of 1,934

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Thomas University's acceptance rate?

Thomas University's acceptance rate is 38.3%, based on U.S. Department of Education admissions data.

How much does Thomas University cost?

At Thomas University, listed tuition and fees are $11,640 per year, and the average net price after aid is $16,111. Use the net price calculator on this page for a personalized estimate.

What is Thomas University's ranking?

Thomas University ranks #1629 overall in EDsmart's 2026 college rankings with an overall grade of C, based on completion, affordability, support, and career outcomes.

What is Thomas University's graduation rate?

At Thomas University, the graduation rate within 150% of normal time is 27.9% (the rate used in EDsmart rankings), the federal 8-year award rate is 33.3%, and first-year retention is 49.2%.

What are Thomas University's job outcomes?

Graduates of Thomas University report median earnings of $62,256 five years after graduation, according to U.S. Department of Education outcome data. Outcomes vary by major.

What is Thomas University's student population?

Thomas University enrolls about 998 undergraduate students, per U.S. Department of Education enrollment data.

Contact Information

  • AccreditationSouthern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCC)
  • Endowment$6.4M

Data Source & Methodology ▼