University of Florida-Online
University of Florida-Online has an acceptance rate of 61.3%, annual tuition of $3,876, average net price of $4,815, and a national rank of #992 (Grade B), with a 84.7% graduation rate within 150% of normal time, about 4,627 undergraduates, and median earnings of $77,321 four years after graduation. Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard and EDsmart's 2026 rankings.
University of Florida-Online is a public university in Gainesville, FL. Students most often pursue Computer and Information Sciences and Mechanical Engineering.
Inside the classroom, students benefit from a 61:1 student-faculty ratio, and 94.8% first-year retention. Faculty pair challenging syllabi with intentional mentoring so learners keep momentum even as expectations rise.
EDsmart calculates return on investment at 343.8%, roughly 293.9 points higher than typical outcomes. Expect the strongest outcomes for students who appreciate an encouraging campus with room to explore and career-focused learners aiming for high-impact outcomes.
Who is University of Florida-Online Best For?
A quick look at who tends to feel most at home here based on outcomes and campus context.
EDsmart Scores Summary
University of Florida-Online graduates 84.7% of students within 150% of normal time (the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings), with an 8-year award rate of 63.3% and keeps 94.8% of first-year students. Affordability earns an A- compared with similar schools.
How we calculate this →Cost & Financial Aid
Quick Answers
The costs shown are averages. Use University of Florida-Online's net price calculator to get an estimate based on your family's financial situation.
Calculate Your Net Price →Total Degree Cost Summary
Annual Cost Comparison
Cost of Undergraduate Attendance
Costs based on full-time, first-time degree- or certificate-seeking undergraduates.
View cost of attendance line items
| Costs to Consider | Price |
|---|---|
| Tuition and Fees | $3,876 |
| Books and Supplies | $810 |
| On-Campus Room and Board | Not reported |
| On-Campus Other Expenses | Not reported |
| Total On-Campus Cost | $17,843 |
Tip: focus on the rows that match your living plan—commuters can swap in off-campus estimates while residential students should budget for housing, meals, and incidental fees.
Students Receiving Aid
Use these bars to gauge how many classmates rely on need-based dollars—lower Pell or loan shares may signal a wealthier student body or generous institutional grants.
EDsmart Insight: About 21.8% of University of Florida-Online students receive Pell Grants — below the national average, highlighting ongoing affordability priorities.
Net Price by Family Income
Average annual net price after financial aid, based on family income. Your actual cost may vary depending on your specific financial situation.
Understanding These Numbers: Net price varies significantly by income level. Low-income families pay less than $1,477 annually, while high-income families pay $12,923. Use University of Florida-Online's net price calculator for a personalized estimate.
If your family earns $75K-$110K: Expect to pay around $8,947/year
If your family earns $110K+: Expect to pay around $12,923/year
See all income brackets →ROI & Career Outcomes
- Median Earnings (4 Years After Graduation) $77,321
- 10-Year Median Earnings $71,588
- Average Years to Graduate 4.7 years
- Average Student Debt $15,000
- Repayment Rate (3yr) 68.8%
- Employment Rate 87.9%
Graduate Earnings Distribution
Earnings range for University of Florida-Online graduates 6 years after enrollment, showing the 25th percentile, median, and 75th percentile. This illustrates the variation in outcomes across different majors and career paths.
University of Florida-Online vs. National Average
Comparison of key performance metrics showing how University of Florida-Online's outcomes compare to the national average across earnings, graduation rates, retention, ROI, and employment. This contextualizes University of Florida-Online's performance within the broader higher education landscape.
EDsmart Insight: With a 343.8% return on investment, University of Florida-Online delivers exceptional value. Graduates earn $77,321 median—+28% above the national average—making this a strong investment for career-focused students.
Acceptance & Selectivity
Getting In
- SAT Evidence-Based Reading 640-710
- SAT Math 610-700
- SAT Writing Not reported
- ACT Composite 27-31
- SAT & ACT Required
- Undergraduate Enrollment 4,627
- Full-Time Students 53.1%
- Part-Time Students 46.9%
- Retention Rate 94.8%
- Grad Rate (150% time) 84.7%
- Grad Rate (8-year) 63.3%
- Student-Faculty Ratio 61:1
How to Get Into University of Florida-Online
1. Meet Academic Requirements: University of Florida-Online requires strong academic performance. Aim for test scores within the reported ranges and maintain a competitive GPA. Most admitted students rank in the top 10% of their high school class.
2. Build a Strong Application: Beyond test scores, focus on crafting compelling essays, securing strong letters of recommendation, and highlighting extracurricular activities that demonstrate leadership and commitment.
3. Understand Selectivity: With an acceptance rate of 61.3%, University of Florida-Online is relatively open. Consider applying early decision if available, as early applicants often have higher acceptance rates.
4. Financial Planning: Review the net price calculator and financial aid options early. Many students receive significant aid, making the actual cost lower than the sticker price.
Tip: Contact the admissions office directly for the most current application requirements, deadlines, and any special programs (like early decision or early action) that might improve your chances.
EDsmart Insight: With a 61.3% acceptance rate, University of Florida-Online is more accessible than highly selective schools. Meeting the test score ranges and maintaining a solid GPA significantly improves admission chances. The middle 50% of admitted students score between 1250 and 1410 on the SAT.
Academic Programs
Undergraduate Program Distribution
Breakdown of the most popular majors and fields of study among University of Florida-Online undergraduates. Business Administration, Management and Operations, Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing, and Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communi draw the most students.
- Business Administration, Management and Operations 23.0%
- Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing 11.0%
- Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communi 7.8%
- Criminology 7.7%
- Psychology, General 7.2%
- Fire Protection 6.5%
See more majors
- Sociology 4.5%
- Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitnes 4.2%
Highest Earning Programs
Median earnings five years after graduation for each program. These figures help illustrate ROI by field of study and degree level.
Undergraduate Programs (Bachelor's Degrees)
- 1. Computer and Information Sciences, General $128,097
- 2. Mechanical Engineering $94,291
- 3. Fire Protection $86,740
Show additional high-earning majors
- 4. Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing $77,478
- 5. Business Administration, Management and Operations $73,834
- 6. Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication $72,397
- 7. Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other $67,069
- 8. Public Health $66,251
- 9. Biology, General $66,170
- 10. Criminology $61,030
Program Choice Matters: Undergraduate: Computer and Information Sciences, General grads earn $128,097—110% more than Criminology ($61,030). Your program and degree level choice significantly impact career earnings.
Online Degrees & Distance Learning
College Scorecard does not list any fully online degree programs for University of Florida-Online. This institution may offer hybrid or partially online courses, but no fully online degree programs are reported in the latest data release.
Source: U.S. Department of Education – College Scorecard
Student Demographics
Student Population
- Total Undergraduate Enrollment 4,627
- Full-Time Students 53.1%
- Part-Time Students 46.9%
- Male Students 44.4%
- Female Students 55.6%
- Caucasian 56.5%
- Asian 5.5%
- Hispanic 23.5%
- Black 4.3%
- Pell Grant Recipients 21.8%
Racial & Ethnic Diversity
Undergraduate student body composition by racial and ethnic background. This reflects University of Florida-Online's commitment to diversity and inclusion in admissions.
Gender Distribution
Gender breakdown of University of Florida-Online's undergraduate population. The university maintains a roughly balanced gender distribution across its student body.
Graduation Rate Equity Analysis
How well does University of Florida-Online support students from different economic backgrounds?
What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at nearly the same rate as higher-income students, indicating strong institutional support for all economic backgrounds.
Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity
Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity
Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at University of Florida-Online, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.
EDsmart Insight: About 21.8% receive Pell Grants, below the national average of 38%, suggesting a wealthier student body or generous institutional aid.
Graduation Rate Equity Analysis
How well does University of Florida-Online support students from different economic backgrounds?
What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at nearly the same rate as higher-income students, indicating strong institutional support for all economic backgrounds.
Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity
Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity
Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at University of Florida-Online, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.
Our Take
University of Florida-Online provides online education with 343.8% ROI, offering flexible access for working adults and non-traditional students. Ranked #992 in our dataset, the program balances convenience with career outcomes.
Online programs sacrifice traditional campus experience for flexibility and lower costs. At $4,815 annually, students access education while maintaining employment, with career outcomes depending heavily on individual motivation and program selection.
Online Program Value: University of Florida-Online
B grade | #992 of 1947 online/distance programs
Online Education Trade-offs: University of Florida-Online's 343.8% ROI reflects online education's value proposition—lower costs and work flexibility against reduced campus resources and networking. Success depends on program quality and student self-discipline.
Best For: Working adults seeking career advancement or career changes. Military service members and families needing geographic flexibility. Students with strong time management skills who don't require traditional campus structure.
Consider Carefully: Online program quality varies dramatically. Research employer acceptance of University of Florida-Online's credentials in your target field. Traditional campus programs often provide better networking, internship access, and employer recognition—factors not captured in pure ROI metrics.
Key Takeaways
- 84.7% graduation rate sits 22.2 points above the national 62.5% benchmark.
- 94.8% first-year retention is 18.0 points above the national norm of 76.8%.
- 343.8% return on investment is 293.9 points above the national 49.9% benchmark.
- Median earnings of $77,321 run about 28% higher than national outcomes four years after graduation.
- Average net price of $4,815 is roughly $15,264 lower than the national median of $20,079.
Helpfulness for Students
- 61:1 student-faculty ratio keeps mentorship close and courses discussion-sized.
- 94.8% first-year retention shows students stay engaged after the first year.
- 87.9% employment rate within three years sits 19.7 points above national outcomes.
- Pell participation at 21.8% trails the national share by 12.6 points, so equity work remains important.
- Compare aid offers from nearby public universities to weigh the premium for smaller classes.
- Compare aid offers from nearby public universities to weigh the premium for smaller classes.
EDsmart Expert Analysis
Located in Gainesville, FL, University of Florida-Online operates as a public university and receives a B from EDsmart. It is currently ranked #992 nationally Category results include Completion (A), Support (D-), Career Outcomes (A-), and Affordability (A-).
Grades are assigned relative to EDsmart's national bachelor's cohort using standardized outcomes (2026 methodology); they reflect how a school compares to peers, not a fixed percentage of a raw point total.
94.8% of learners come back after year one while 84.7% graduate within 150% of normal time (63.3% within eight years). The reported ROI is 343.8%, a figure families can weigh against cost and aid details above.
Why it matters: this snapshot shows how likely you are to stay on track academically and whether the outcomes justify the price tag. Letter grades summarize cohort-relative performance—not a single exam-style score.
EDsmart Financial Snapshot
Families pay about $4,815 on average after aid, compared with a published cost near $17,843.
Institutional and federal aid lower costs by roughly $13,028 per year.
Graduates leave with a median of $15,000 in federal loans, which lines up with national norms.
About 21.8% of students receive Pell Grants, giving a snapshot of the campus income mix.
Why it matters: lining up sticker price, aid, and typical debt helps you stress-test the budget before you commit.
EDsmart Career Snapshot
Median earnings come in near $77,321 four years after graduation. Compared with the national median, that's 28% higher.
Roughly 87.9% of graduates are employed three years out.
The ROI comes in near 343.8%, which you can cross-check against your financial plan.
Why it matters: pairing median earnings with employment rates gives you a sense of payback time after graduation.
EDsmart Admissions Snapshot
61.3% of applicants receive offers, so preparation and fit matter.
The admissions team encourages students to highlight academic strengths through transcripts, essays, and recommendations.
Prospective students can apply early for priority review and lean on the University of Florida-Online admissions site for deadlines, visit options, and counselor contacts.
Why it matters: knowing the admit rate and application expectations lets you map out testing, essays, and deadlines with less stress.
Your Decision Toolkit
Similar Schools
Institutions with similar academic profiles, selectivity, and outcomes
Nearby Schools
Other campuses you might consider
Other Florida campuses you might consider
Frequently Asked Questions
What is University of Florida-Online's acceptance rate?
University of Florida-Online's acceptance rate is 61.3%, based on U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard admissions data.
How much does University of Florida-Online cost?
At University of Florida-Online, listed tuition and fees are $3,876 per year, and the average net price after aid is $4,815. Use the net price calculator on this page for a personalized estimate.
What is University of Florida-Online's ranking?
University of Florida-Online ranks #992 nationally in EDsmart's 2026 college rankings with an overall grade of B, based on completion, affordability, support, and career outcomes.
What is University of Florida-Online's graduation rate?
At University of Florida-Online, the graduation rate within 150% of normal time is 84.7% (the rate used in EDsmart rankings), College Scorecard 8-year award rate is 63.3%, and first-year retention is 94.8%.
What are University of Florida-Online's job outcomes?
Graduates of University of Florida-Online report median earnings of $77,321 four years after graduation, according to College Scorecard federal outcome data. Outcomes vary by major.
What is University of Florida-Online's student population?
University of Florida-Online enrolls about 4,627 undergraduate students, per College Scorecard enrollment data.
Contact Information
- Address Gainesville, FL 32609-8977
- Website www.ufonline.ufl.edu
- Net Price Calculator Calculate Your Cost
- Financial AidView Financial Aid Information
- AccreditationSouthern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCC)
- Transfer Enrollment Rate9.2%