University of Houston-Downtown
University of Houston-Downtown has an acceptance rate of 90.0%, annual tuition of $7,708, average net price of $10,542, and a national rank of #1115 (Grade B-), with a 33.2% graduation rate within 150% of normal time, about 12,555 undergraduates, and median earnings of $60,550 four years after graduation. Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard and EDsmart's 2026 rankings.
University of Houston-Downtown is a public university in Houston, TX. Students most often pursue Computer and Information Sciences and Computer Engineering Technologies/Technicians.
Academically, students benefit from a 18:1 student-faculty ratio, and 67.1% first-year retention. Peer cohorts and advising networks provide scaffolding that keeps newcomers anchored during demanding semesters.
EDsmart calculates return on investment at 111.9%, roughly 62.0 points higher than typical outcomes. It's a compelling fit for students who appreciate an encouraging campus with room to explore.
Who is University of Houston-Downtown Best For?
A quick look at who tends to feel most at home here based on outcomes and campus context.
EDsmart Scores Summary
University of Houston-Downtown graduates 33.2% of students within 150% of normal time (the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings), with an 8-year award rate of 55.5% and keeps 67.1% of first-year students. Affordability earns an A compared with similar schools.
How we calculate this →Cost & Financial Aid
Quick Answers
The costs shown are averages. Use University of Houston-Downtown's net price calculator to get an estimate based on your family's financial situation.
Calculate Your Net Price →Total Degree Cost Summary
Annual Cost Comparison
Cost of Undergraduate Attendance
Costs based on full-time, first-time degree- or certificate-seeking undergraduates.
View cost of attendance line items
| Costs to Consider | Price |
|---|---|
| Tuition and Fees | $7,708 |
| Books and Supplies | $1,300 |
| On-Campus Room and Board | Not reported |
| On-Campus Other Expenses | Not reported |
| Total On-Campus Cost | $20,749 |
Tip: focus on the rows that match your living plan—commuters can swap in off-campus estimates while residential students should budget for housing, meals, and incidental fees.
Students Receiving Aid
Use these bars to gauge how many classmates rely on need-based dollars—lower Pell or loan shares may signal a wealthier student body or generous institutional grants.
EDsmart Insight: About 55.2% of University of Houston-Downtown students receive Pell Grants — well above the national average, highlighting ongoing affordability priorities.
Net Price by Family Income
Average annual net price after financial aid, based on family income. Your actual cost may vary depending on your specific financial situation.
Understanding These Numbers: Net price varies significantly by income level. Net prices range from $9,439 to $19,380 depending on family income. Use University of Houston-Downtown's net price calculator for a personalized estimate.
If your family earns $75K-$110K: Expect to pay around $15,488/year
If your family earns $110K+: Expect to pay around $19,380/year
See all income brackets →ROI & Career Outcomes
- Median Earnings (4 Years After Graduation) $60,550
- 10-Year Median Earnings $53,551
- Average Years to Graduate 5.1 years
- Average Student Debt $18,750
- Repayment Rate (3yr) 42.7%
- Employment Rate 87.1%
Graduate Earnings Distribution
Earnings range for University of Houston-Downtown graduates 6 years after enrollment, showing the 25th percentile, median, and 75th percentile. This illustrates the variation in outcomes across different majors and career paths.
University of Houston-Downtown vs. National Average
Comparison of key performance metrics showing how University of Houston-Downtown's outcomes compare to the national average across earnings, graduation rates, retention, ROI, and employment. This contextualizes University of Houston-Downtown's performance within the broader higher education landscape.
EDsmart Insight: University of Houston-Downtown graduates report median earnings of $60,550 four years after graduation, +0% above the national median. The 111.9% ROI indicates solid long-term value.
Acceptance & Selectivity
Getting In
- SAT Evidence-Based Reading 480-560
- SAT Math 460-550
- SAT Writing Not reported
- ACT Composite 16-22
- SAT & ACT Required
- Undergraduate Enrollment 12,555
- Full-Time Students 47.0%
- Part-Time Students 53.0%
- Retention Rate 67.1%
- Grad Rate (150% time) 33.2%
- Grad Rate (8-year) 55.5%
- Student-Faculty Ratio 18:1
How to Get Into University of Houston-Downtown
1. Meet Academic Requirements: University of Houston-Downtown requires strong academic performance. Aim for test scores within the reported ranges and maintain a competitive GPA. Most admitted students rank in the top 10% of their high school class.
2. Build a Strong Application: Beyond test scores, focus on crafting compelling essays, securing strong letters of recommendation, and highlighting extracurricular activities that demonstrate leadership and commitment.
3. Understand Selectivity: With an acceptance rate of 90.0%, University of Houston-Downtown is relatively open. Consider applying early decision if available, as early applicants often have higher acceptance rates.
4. Financial Planning: Review the net price calculator and financial aid options early. Many students receive significant aid, making the actual cost lower than the sticker price.
Tip: Contact the admissions office directly for the most current application requirements, deadlines, and any special programs (like early decision or early action) that might improve your chances.
EDsmart Insight: With a 90.0% acceptance rate, University of Houston-Downtown is more accessible than highly selective schools. Meeting the test score ranges and maintaining a solid GPA significantly improves admission chances. The middle 50% of admitted students score between 940 and 1110 on the SAT.
Academic Programs
Undergraduate Program Distribution
Breakdown of the most popular majors and fields of study among University of Houston-Downtown undergraduates. Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other, Accounting and Related Services, and Criminal Justice and Corrections draw the most students.
- Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other 27.8%
- Accounting and Related Services 9.5%
- Criminal Justice and Corrections 8.4%
- Psychology, General 6.6%
- Business Administration, Management and Operations 6.5%
- Finance and Financial Management Services 5.3%
See more majors
- Computer and Information Sciences, General 4.0%
- Communication and Media Studies 3.1%
Highest Earning Programs
Median earnings five years after graduation for each program. These figures help illustrate ROI by field of study and degree level.
Undergraduate Programs (Bachelor's Degrees)
- 1. Computer and Information Sciences, General $90,280
- 2. Computer Engineering Technologies/Technicians $81,769
- 3. Management Information Systems and Services $79,853
Show additional high-earning majors
- 4. Finance and Financial Management Services $77,451
- 5. Civil Engineering Technologies/Technicians $73,975
- 6. Quality Control and Safety Technologies/Technicians $71,630
- 7. Business Administration, Management and Operations $71,241
- 8. Accounting and Related Services $67,119
- 9. Business/Commerce, General $63,971
- 10. International Business $63,587
Graduate Programs (Master's, Doctoral, Professional)
- 1. Criminal Justice and Corrections (Master's Degree) $92,757
- 2. Business Administration, Management and Operations (Master's Degree) $84,229
- 3. Statistics (Master's Degree) $79,809
Show additional graduate majors
- 4. Curriculum and Instruction (Master's Degree) $63,597
- 5. Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies (Master's Degree) $50,595
Program Choice Matters: Undergraduate: Computer and Information Sciences, General grads earn $90,280—42% more than International Business ($63,587). Graduate: Criminal Justice and Corrections programs lead with $92,757 median earnings. Your program and degree level choice significantly impact career earnings.
Online Degrees & Distance Learning
College Scorecard reports fully online programs for University of Houston-Downtown. Below are the most popular options based on the number of recent graduates, followed by a quick look at the breadth of online offerings by degree level.
Source: U.S. Department of Education – College Scorecard
Most Popular Online Degrees
- Business Administration, Management and Operations (Master's Degree, 417 graduates)
- Business Administration, Management and Operations (Graduate/Professional Certificate, 381 graduates)
- Accounting and Related Services (Bachelor's Degree, 252 graduates)
- Computer and Information Sciences, General (Bachelor's Degree, 106 graduates)
- Communication and Media Studies (Bachelor's Degree, 82 graduates)
What This School Offers Online, at a Glance
College Scorecard flags the following online degree and certificate programs for this institution. Expand each credential level to view the complete list of available subjects.
Online Bachelor's Degrees (27 programs)▼
- Accounting and Related Services
- Computer and Information Sciences, General
- Communication and Media Studies
- Public Health
- Social Work
- English Language and Literature, General
- Biological and Physical Sciences
- History
- Political Science and Government
- Biology, General
- Mathematics
- Social Sciences, General
- Chemistry
- Quality Control and Safety Technologies/Technicians
- Geological and Earth Sciences/Geosciences
- Visual and Performing Arts, General
- Computer Engineering Technologies/Technicians
- Sociology
- Philosophy
- Civil Engineering Technologies/Technicians
- Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
- Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing
- Biotechnology
- Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services
- Education, General
- Data Science
- Applied Statistics
Online Master's Degrees (5 programs)▼
- Business Administration, Management and Operations
- Curriculum and Instruction
- Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies
- Data Analytics
- Accounting and Related Services
Online Graduate/Professional Certificates (8 programs)▼
- Business Administration, Management and Operations
- Criminal Justice and Corrections
- English Language and Literature, General
- Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas
- Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies
- Data Analytics
- Applied Statistics
- Applied Mathematics
Student Demographics
Student Population
- Total Undergraduate Enrollment 12,555
- Full-Time Students 47.0%
- Part-Time Students 53.0%
- Male Students 37.9%
- Female Students 62.1%
- Caucasian 9.9%
- Asian 8.2%
- Hispanic 59.4%
- Black 17.2%
- Pell Grant Recipients 55.2%
Racial & Ethnic Diversity
Undergraduate student body composition by racial and ethnic background. This reflects University of Houston-Downtown's commitment to diversity and inclusion in admissions.
Gender Distribution
Gender breakdown of University of Houston-Downtown's undergraduate population. The university maintains a roughly balanced gender distribution across its student body.
Graduation Rate Equity Analysis
How well does University of Houston-Downtown support students from different economic backgrounds?
What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at a similar rate as higher-income students, indicating adequate institutional support for all economic backgrounds.
Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity
Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity
Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at University of Houston-Downtown, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.
EDsmart Insight: University of Houston-Downtown has a diverse student body, with 9.9% identifying as White. Women make up 62.1% of undergraduates. 55.2% of students receive Pell Grants, well above the national average, indicating strong support for low-income students.
Graduation Rate Equity Analysis
How well does University of Houston-Downtown support students from different economic backgrounds?
What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at a similar rate as higher-income students, indicating adequate institutional support for all economic backgrounds.
Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity
Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity
Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at University of Houston-Downtown, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.
Our Take
University of Houston-Downtown serves as an affordable university for students seeking quality education without elite university costs. Ranked #1115 nationally with a 111.9% ROI, the institution balances practical outcomes with budget-friendly pricing.
At $10,542 annually, students gain access to career-focused programs leading to $60,550 median earnings. The 33.2% graduation rate reflects reasonable completion metrics for a university. While 67.1% retention suggests adequate student support.
University Value: University of Houston-Downtown's Strengths
Ranked #1115 with a B- grade, University of Houston-Downtown prioritizes accessibility and local career connections over national prestige.
Primary Strengths: Universitys like University of Houston-Downtown excel at providing affordable education ($10,542 annually) with strong local employer relationships. Many programs emphasize practical skills and internships within the regional economy.
Best For: Students planning to work in the region after graduation benefit from established employer connections. Adult learners and part-time students appreciate flexible scheduling. First-generation students and budget-conscious families gain degrees without overwhelming debt.
Honest Assessment: University of Houston-Downtown's 67.1% retention and 33.2% graduation rate trail elite universities but align with typical university performance. Career outcomes ($60,550 median earnings) reflect regional job markets more than national opportunities.
Value Verdict: For students committed to regional careers, University of Houston-Downtown's 111.9% ROI and $10,542 cost deliver solid value. Those seeking national job mobility or prestigious credentials should compare against flagship state universities or targeted private scholarships.
Key Takeaways
- 33.2% graduation rate sits 29.3 points below the national 62.5% benchmark.
- 67.1% first-year retention is 9.7 points below the national norm of 76.8%.
- 111.9% return on investment is 62.0 points above the national 49.9% benchmark.
- Median earnings of $60,550 run about 0% higher than national outcomes four years after graduation.
- Average net price of $10,542 is roughly $9,537 lower than the national median of $20,079.
Helpfulness for Students
- 18:1 student-faculty ratio keeps mentorship close and courses discussion-sized.
- 67.1% first-year retention shows students stay engaged after the first year.
- 87.1% employment rate within three years sits 18.9 points above national outcomes.
- Budget carefully for clinical travel, off-campus housing, and practicum fees to avoid surprise costs.
- Compare aid offers from nearby public universities to weigh the premium for smaller classes.
- Compare aid offers from nearby public universities to weigh the premium for smaller classes.
EDsmart Expert Analysis
Located in Houston, TX, University of Houston-Downtown operates as a public university and receives a B- from EDsmart. It is currently ranked #1115 nationally Category results include Completion (C), Support (C+), Career Outcomes (B), and Affordability (A).
Grades are assigned relative to EDsmart's national bachelor's cohort using standardized outcomes (2026 methodology); they reflect how a school compares to peers, not a fixed percentage of a raw point total.
67.1% of learners come back after year one while 33.2% graduate within 150% of normal time (55.5% within eight years). Return on investment currently measures 111.9% for this program.
Why it matters: this snapshot shows how likely you are to stay on track academically and whether the outcomes justify the price tag. Letter grades summarize cohort-relative performance—not a single exam-style score.
EDsmart Financial Snapshot
Families pay about $10,542 on average after aid, compared with a published cost near $20,749.
Institutional and federal aid lower costs by roughly $10,207 per year.
Graduates leave with a median of $18,750 in federal loans, which lines up with national norms.
About 55.2% of students receive Pell Grants, giving a snapshot of the campus income mix.
Why it matters: lining up sticker price, aid, and typical debt helps you stress-test the budget before you commit.
EDsmart Career Snapshot
Median earnings come in near $60,550 four years after graduation. Compared with the national median, that's 0% higher.
Roughly 87.1% of graduates are employed three years out.
The ROI comes in near 111.9%, which you can cross-check against your financial plan.
Why it matters: pairing median earnings with employment rates gives you a sense of payback time after graduation.
EDsmart Admissions Snapshot
90.0% of applicants receive offers, so preparation and fit matter.
The admissions team encourages students to highlight academic strengths through transcripts, essays, and recommendations.
Prospective students can apply early for priority review and lean on the University of Houston-Downtown admissions site for deadlines, visit options, and counselor contacts.
Why it matters: knowing the admit rate and application expectations lets you map out testing, essays, and deadlines with less stress.
Your Decision Toolkit
Similar Schools
Institutions with similar academic profiles, selectivity, and outcomes
Nearby Schools
Other campuses you might consider
Other Texas campuses you might consider
Frequently Asked Questions
What is University of Houston-Downtown's acceptance rate?
University of Houston-Downtown's acceptance rate is 90.0%, based on U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard admissions data.
How much does University of Houston-Downtown cost?
At University of Houston-Downtown, listed tuition and fees are $7,708 per year, and the average net price after aid is $10,542. Use the net price calculator on this page for a personalized estimate.
What is University of Houston-Downtown's ranking?
University of Houston-Downtown ranks #1115 nationally in EDsmart's 2026 college rankings with an overall grade of B-, based on completion, affordability, support, and career outcomes.
What is University of Houston-Downtown's graduation rate?
At University of Houston-Downtown, the graduation rate within 150% of normal time is 33.2% (the rate used in EDsmart rankings), College Scorecard 8-year award rate is 55.5%, and first-year retention is 67.1%.
What are University of Houston-Downtown's job outcomes?
Graduates of University of Houston-Downtown report median earnings of $60,550 four years after graduation, according to College Scorecard federal outcome data. Outcomes vary by major.
What is University of Houston-Downtown's student population?
University of Houston-Downtown enrolls about 12,555 undergraduate students, per College Scorecard enrollment data.
Contact Information
- Address Houston, TX 77002-1014
- Website www.uhd.edu
- Net Price Calculator Calculate Your Cost
- Financial AidView Financial Aid Information
- AccreditationSouthern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCC)
- Endowment$59.1M
- Transfer Enrollment Rate29.6%