University of Missouri-St Louis Logo

University of Missouri-St Louis

Saint Louis, MO | Public | University

University of Missouri-St Louis has an acceptance rate of 62.7%, an average net price of $14,990, and an overall rank of #1002 (Grade B). About 62.2% of students graduate within 150% of normal time, and median earnings are $62,635 five years after graduation. Data from the U.S. Department of Education and EDsmart's 2026 rankings.

University of Missouri-St Louis is a public university in Saint Louis, MO. Students most often pursue Electrical, Electronics and Communications Engineering and Computer Science.

Day to day, students benefit from a 13:1 student-faculty ratio, and 73.6% first-year retention. Coaches and faculty advisors weave in frequent check-ins, helping students translate ambition into steady progress.

EDsmart calculates return on investment at 88.6%, roughly 38.7 points higher than typical outcomes. It's well-suited to students who appreciate an encouraging campus with room to explore.

B
Ranking
#1002 of 1,934
How We Rank Schools Lower tuitionPublic school option
At a Glance
Ranking
#1002 of 1,934 (Top 51.8%)
Tuition
$14,812
Net Price
$14,990
4-Year Tuition
$59,248
Acceptance Rate
62.7%
Transfer Rate
0.0%
Student Population
5,024
Student-Faculty
13:1
Grad Rate (150% time)
62.2%
Grad Rate (8-year)
62.9%
Retention Rate
73.6%
4-Yr Earnings
$62,635
ROI
Not reported

Who is University of Missouri-St Louis Best For?

A quick look at who tends to feel most at home here based on outcomes and campus context.

Families tracking affordability closely
Students seeking strong career outcomes
Students valuing supportive learning environments

EDsmart Scores Summary

Overall Ranking
#1002 of 1,934
Top 51.8% of all institutions
EDsmart Score
48.2 / 100 (national index)
Curved score (top institution = 100.0)
Value Rating
2.41 / 5
Based on ROI and outcomes
Completion
B
#837 of 1,934
Affordability
B-
#1,090 of 1,934
Support
B-
#1,083 of 1,934
Career Outcomes
B
#925 of 1,934

University of Missouri-St Louis graduates 62.2% of students within 150% of normal time (the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings), with an 8-year award rate of 62.9% and keeps 73.6% of first-year students. Affordability earns a B- compared with similar schools.

How we calculate this →

Cost & Financial Aid

Quick Answers

What does it cost?
Depends on income
$13,402-$22,230 annual net price based on family income.
What's the graduation rate?
Likely
62.2% graduate within 150% of normal time (the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings). The federal 8-year award rate is 62.9%. 39.9% complete in four years (IPEDS 100% time).
What are job outcomes?
Highly likely
91.4% of alumni are employed within three years of leaving. Median earnings five years after graduation are $62,635. Pay varies by major.
Get Your Personalized Cost Estimate

The costs shown are averages. Use University of Missouri-St Louis's net price calculator to get an estimate based on your family's financial situation.

Calculate Your Net Price →

Total Degree Cost Summary

4-Year Total Cost (Pay with Cash)
$122,036
$30,509 × 4 years
Average Total Cost (Pay with Financial Aid)
$70,731
$14,990 × 4.7 years average
Time to Degree
Average: 4.7 years | 4-Year Rate: 39.9% | 6-Year Rate: 62.2% | 8-Year Rate: 62.9%
Most students finish in about four to five years. Four-year completion is 39.9% and six-year completion is 62.2%.

Annual Cost Comparison

Pay with Cash
$30,509
Total annual cost including tuition, books and living expenses; excluding any financial aid, grants or scholarships.
Pay with Financial Aid
$14,990
Average annual cost including tuition, books and living expenses after financial aid, grants or scholarships.

Est. annual aid gap: $15,519 Cash cost of attendance minus average net price after aid.

Cost of Undergraduate Attendance

Costs based on full-time, first-time degree- or certificate-seeking undergraduates.

View cost of attendance line items
Costs to Consider Price
Tuition and Fees $14,812
Books and Supplies $1,000
On-Campus Room and Board $13,908
On-Campus Other Expenses $8,447
Total On-Campus Cost $30,509

Tip: focus on the rows that match your living plan—commuters can swap in off-campus estimates while residential students should budget for housing, meals, and incidental fees.

Students Receiving Aid

Pell Grant
19.7%
Federal Loan
19.3%

Use these bars to gauge how many classmates rely on need-based dollars—lower Pell or loan shares may signal a wealthier student body or generous institutional grants.

EDsmart Insight: About 19.7% of University of Missouri-St Louis students receive Pell Grants — below the national average, highlighting ongoing affordability priorities.

Net Price by Family Income

Average annual net price after financial aid, based on family income. Your actual cost may vary depending on your specific financial situation.

$0 - $30,000
$13,402
Average annual cost for families earning $0-$30K
$30,001 - $48,000
$12,658
Average annual cost for families earning $30K-$48K
$48,001 - $75,000
$11,413
Average annual cost for families earning $48K-$75K
$75,001 - $110,000
$17,701
Average annual cost for families earning $75K-$110K
$110,001+
$22,230
Average annual cost for families earning $110K+

Understanding These Numbers: Net price varies significantly by income level. Net prices range from $13,402 to $22,230 depending on family income. Use University of Missouri-St Louis's net price calculator for a personalized estimate.

Typical total cost estimates (~4.7 years):
$0-$30K families
~$63,238
$30K-$48K families
~$59,727
$48K-$75K families
~$53,853
$75K-$110K families
~$83,523
AFFORDABILITY ALERT

If your family earns $75K-$110K: Expect to pay around $17,701/year

If your family earns $110K+: Expect to pay around $22,230/year

See all income brackets →

ROI & Career Outcomes

Return on Investment
Not reported
Based on median earnings five years after graduation vs. total degree cost
  • Median Earnings (5 Years After Graduation) $62,635
  • 10-Year Median Earnings $59,899
  • Average Years to Graduate 4.7 years
  • Average Student Debt $20,000
  • Debt-to-Earnings ~31.9%
  • Repayment Rate (3yr) 53.6%
  • Employment Rate 91.4%

Graduate Earnings Distribution

Earnings range for University of Missouri-St Louis graduates about 10 years after enrollment (25th percentile, median, and 75th percentile). Different horizon than median earnings five years after graduation above.

Graduates earn a median of $62,635 five years after graduation — roughly 2% above the national median.
Payback Period
1.13 years
Total Degree Cost ÷ Annual Earnings

University of Missouri-St Louis vs. National Average

Comparison of key performance metrics showing how University of Missouri-St Louis's outcomes compare to the national average across earnings, graduation rates, retention, ROI, and employment. This contextualizes University of Missouri-St Louis's performance within the broader higher education landscape.

Acceptance & Selectivity

Getting In

Acceptance Rate
62.7%
Less Selective
National Average
69%
Average acceptance rate
  • SAT Evidence-Based Reading 510-630
  • SAT Math 550-660
  • SAT Writing Not reported
  • ACT Composite 19-27
  • SAT & ACT Required
  • Undergraduate Enrollment 5,024
  • Full-Time Students 75.6%
  • Part-Time Students 24.4%
  • Retention Rate 73.6%
  • Grad Rate (150% time) 62.2%
  • Grad Rate (8-year) 62.9%
  • Student-Faculty Ratio 13:1

How to Get Into University of Missouri-St Louis

1. Meet Academic Requirements: University of Missouri-St Louis requires strong academic performance. Aim for test scores within the reported ranges and maintain a competitive GPA. Most admitted students rank in the top 10% of their high school class.

2. Build a Strong Application: Beyond test scores, focus on crafting compelling essays, securing strong letters of recommendation, and highlighting extracurricular activities that demonstrate leadership and commitment.

3. Understand Selectivity: With an acceptance rate of 62.7%, University of Missouri-St Louis is relatively open. Consider applying early decision if available, as early applicants often have higher acceptance rates.

4. Financial Planning: Review the net price calculator and financial aid options early. Many students receive significant aid, making the actual cost lower than the sticker price.

Tip: Contact the admissions office directly for the most current application requirements, deadlines, and any special programs (like early decision or early action) that might improve your chances.

EDsmart Insight: With a 62.7% acceptance rate, University of Missouri-St Louis is more accessible than highly selective schools. Meeting the test score ranges and maintaining a solid GPA significantly improves admission chances. The middle 50% of admitted students score between 1060 and 1290 on the SAT.

Academic Programs

Undergraduate Program Distribution

Breakdown of the most popular majors and fields of study among University of Missouri-St Louis undergraduates. Business/Commerce, General, Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing, and Psychology, General draw the most students.

  • Business/Commerce, General 19.4%
  • Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing 10.4%
  • Psychology, General 6.9%
  • Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods 6.2%
  • Accounting and Related Services 6.0%
  • Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Hum 5.1%
See more majors
  • Communication and Media Studies 5.0%
  • Criminology 4.6%

Highest Earning Programs

Median earnings five years after graduation for each program. These figures help illustrate ROI by field of study and degree level.

Undergraduate Programs (Bachelor's Degrees)

  • 1. Electrical, Electronics and Communications Engineering $99,007
  • 2. Computer Science $96,734
  • 3. Mechanical Engineering $90,966
Show additional high-earning majors
  • 4. Management Information Systems and Services $90,391
  • 5. Civil Engineering $84,523
  • 6. Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing $76,027
  • 7. Accounting and Related Services $74,336
  • 8. Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology $66,101
  • 9. Economics $65,785
  • 10. Chemistry $63,244

Graduate Programs (Master's, Doctoral, Professional)

  • 1. Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing (Graduate/Professional Certificate) $128,634
  • 2. Optometry (First Professional Degree) $123,036
  • 3. Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing (Master's Degree) $119,093
Show additional graduate majors
  • 4. Business/Commerce, General (Master's Degree) $110,354
  • 5. Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing (Doctoral Degree) $104,760
  • 6. Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods (Master's Degree) $87,641
  • 7. Accounting and Related Services (Master's Degree) $85,960
  • 8. Education, General (Doctoral Degree) $85,196
  • 9. Public Administration (Master's Degree) $73,320
  • 10. Educational Administration and Supervision (Master's Degree) $63,405

Program Choice Matters: Undergraduate: Electrical, Electronics and Communications Engineering grads earn $99,007—57% more than Chemistry ($63,244). Graduate: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing programs lead with $128,634 median earnings. Your program and degree level choice significantly impact career earnings.

Online Degrees & Distance Learning

U.S. Department of Education data reports fully online programs for University of Missouri-St Louis. Below are the most popular options based on the number of recent graduates, followed by a quick look at the breadth of online offerings by degree level.
Source: U.S. Department of Education

Most Popular Online Degrees

  • Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods (Master's Degree, 136 graduates)
  • Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods (Bachelor's Degree, 107 graduates)
  • Biology, General (Bachelor's Degree, 69 graduates)
  • Accounting and Related Services (Bachelor's Degree, 69 graduates)
  • Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (Doctoral Degree, 66 graduates)

What This School Offers Online, at a Glance

U.S. Department of Education data flags the following online degree and certificate programs for this institution. Expand each credential level to view the complete list of available subjects.

Online Bachelor's Degrees (22 programs)▼
  • Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods
  • Biology, General
  • Accounting and Related Services
  • Communication and Media Studies
  • Fine and Studio Arts
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • English Language and Literature, General
  • Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology
  • Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering
  • Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness
  • Civil Engineering
  • Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and Services
  • Mathematics
  • Economics
  • Anthropology
  • Music
  • Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas
  • Physics
  • International Relations and National Security Studies
  • Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods
  • Data Analytics
  • Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other
Online Master's Degrees (20 programs)▼
  • Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods
  • Student Counseling and Personnel Services
  • Computer Science
  • Accounting and Related Services
  • Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology
  • Biology, General
  • Mathematics
  • History
  • Criminology
  • Psychology, General
  • English Language and Literature, General
  • Educational Administration and Supervision
  • Chemistry
  • Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods
  • Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies
  • Public Administration
  • Economics
  • Philosophy
  • Political Science and Government
  • Communication and Media Studies
Online Doctoral Degrees (10 programs)▼
  • Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing
  • Business Administration, Management and Operations
  • Psychology, General
  • Chemistry
  • Biology, General
  • Criminology
  • Political Science and Government
  • Applied Mathematics
  • Physics
  • Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods
Online Graduate/Professional Certificates (24 programs)▼
  • Computer and Information Sciences, General
  • Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods
  • Business Administration, Management and Operations
  • Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management
  • Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing
  • History
  • Clinical, Counseling and Applied Psychology
  • Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies
  • Marketing
  • Human Resources Management and Services
  • Computer Software and Media Applications
  • Accounting and Related Services
  • Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies
  • Business/Commerce, General
  • Biotechnology
  • Applied Mathematics
  • Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas
  • Public Policy Analysis
  • Public Administration
  • Health Professions Education, Ethics, and Humanities
  • Ecology, Evolution, Systematics, and Population Biology
  • Communication and Media Studies
  • Area Studies
  • Computer Engineering Technologies/Technicians
Online Undergraduate Certificates & Diplomas (15 programs)▼
  • Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management
  • Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication
  • Computer and Information Sciences, General
  • Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies
  • Economics
  • Computer Software and Media Applications
  • Computer Science
  • Neurobiology and Neurosciences
  • Mathematics
  • Human Resources Management and Services
  • Geography and Cartography
  • Communication and Media Studies
  • Clinical, Counseling and Applied Psychology
  • Business/Commerce, General
  • Area Studies
Online First Professional Degrees (1 program)▼
  • Optometry

Student Demographics

Student Population

  • Total Undergraduate Enrollment 5,024
  • Full-Time Students 75.6%
  • Part-Time Students 24.4%
  • Male Students 45.2%
  • Female Students 54.8%
  • Caucasian 57.5%
  • Asian 4.7%
  • Hispanic 4.2%
  • Black 20.2%
  • Pell Grant Recipients 19.7%

Racial & Ethnic Diversity

Undergraduate student body composition by racial and ethnic background. This reflects University of Missouri-St Louis's commitment to diversity and inclusion in admissions.

Gender Distribution

Gender breakdown of University of Missouri-St Louis's undergraduate population. The university maintains a roughly balanced gender distribution across its student body.

Graduation Rate Equity Analysis

How well does University of Missouri-St Louis support students from different economic backgrounds?

Pell Grant Recipients
50.8%
6-year graduation rate
Non-Pell Students
72.8%
6-year graduation rate
Equity Gap
21.9 pts
equity gap to monitor

What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at a different rate as higher-income students, indicating varying levels of institutional support for all economic backgrounds.

Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity

Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity

Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at University of Missouri-St Louis, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.

EDsmart Insight: About 19.7% receive Pell Grants, below the national average of 38%, suggesting a wealthier student body or generous institutional aid.

Graduation Rate Equity Analysis

How well does University of Missouri-St Louis support students from different economic backgrounds?

Pell Grant Recipients
50.8%
6-year graduation rate
Non-Pell Students
72.8%
6-year graduation rate
Equity Gap
21.9 pts
equity gap to monitor

What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at a different rate as higher-income students, indicating varying levels of institutional support for all economic backgrounds.

Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity

Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity

Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at University of Missouri-St Louis, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.

Our Take

University of Missouri-St Louis serves as an affordable university for students seeking quality education without elite university costs. Ranked #1002 overall with ROI data not available, the institution balances practical outcomes with budget-friendly pricing.

At $14,990 annually, students gain access to career-focused programs leading to $62,635 median earnings. The 62.2% graduation rate reflects reasonable completion metrics for a university. While 73.6% retention suggests adequate student support.

University Value: University of Missouri-St Louis's Strengths

Ranked #1002 with a B grade, University of Missouri-St Louis prioritizes accessibility and local career connections over national prestige.

Primary Strengths: Universitys like University of Missouri-St Louis excel at providing affordable education ($14,990 annually) with strong local employer relationships. Many programs emphasize practical skills and internships within the regional economy.

Best For: Students planning to work in the region after graduation benefit from established employer connections. Adult learners and part-time students appreciate flexible scheduling. First-generation students and budget-conscious families gain degrees without overwhelming debt.

Honest Assessment: University of Missouri-St Louis's 73.6% retention and 62.2% graduation rate trail elite universities but align with typical university performance. Career outcomes ($62,635 median earnings) reflect regional job markets more than national opportunities.

Value Verdict: For students committed to regional careers, University of Missouri-St Louis and $14,990 cost deliver solid value. Those seeking national job mobility or prestigious credentials should compare against flagship state universities or targeted private scholarships.

Key Takeaways

  • 62.2% graduation rate sits 0.3 points below the national 62.5% benchmark.
  • 73.6% first-year retention is 3.2 points below the national norm of 76.8%.
  • Median earnings of $62,635 run about 2% higher than national outcomes five years after graduation.
  • Average net price of $14,990 is roughly $4,918 lower than the national median of $19,908.
  • 91.4% employment rate within three years is 23.2 points above the national 68.2%.

Helpfulness for Students

Green Flags
  • 13:1 student-faculty ratio keeps mentorship close and courses discussion-sized.
  • 73.6% first-year retention shows students stay engaged after the first year.
  • 91.4% employment rate within three years sits 23.2 points above national outcomes.
Red Flags
  • Pell participation at 19.7% trails the national share by 19.0 points, so equity work remains important.
  • Compare aid offers from nearby public universities to weigh the premium for smaller classes.
  • Compare aid offers from nearby public universities to weigh the premium for smaller classes.
EDsmart Expert Analysis

University of Missouri-St Louis is a public university based in Saint Louis, MO and earns a B overall grade. It is currently ranked #1002 overall Grades by category break down as Completion B, Support B-, Career Outcomes B, and Affordability B-.

Grades are assigned relative to EDsmart's national bachelor's cohort using standardized outcomes (2026 methodology); they reflect how a school compares to peers, not a fixed percentage of a raw point total.

About 73.6% of first-year students return; 62.2% graduate within 150% of normal time, with an 8-year award rate of 62.9%. Review the cost and aid tables for a full picture of value.

Why it matters: this snapshot shows how likely you are to stay on track academically and whether the outcomes justify the price tag. Letter grades summarize cohort-relative performance—not a single exam-style score.

EDsmart Financial Snapshot

Families pay about $14,990 on average after aid, compared with a published cost near $30,509.

Institutional and federal aid lower costs by roughly $15,519 per year.

Graduates leave with a median of $20,000 in federal loans, which lines up with national norms.

About 19.7% of students receive Pell Grants, giving a snapshot of the campus income mix.

Why it matters: lining up sticker price, aid, and typical debt helps you stress-test the budget before you commit.

EDsmart Career Snapshot

Graduates report median earnings of about $62,635 five years after graduation. That sits about 2% above the national median.

Roughly 91.4% of graduates are employed three years out.

Use the ROI table above to estimate how long it may take to recoup your degree costs.

Why it matters: pairing median earnings with employment rates gives you a sense of payback time after graduation.

EDsmart Admissions Snapshot

62.7% of applicants receive offers, so preparation and fit matter.

The admissions team encourages students to highlight academic strengths through transcripts, essays, and recommendations.

Prospective students can apply early for priority review and lean on the University of Missouri-St Louis admissions site for deadlines, visit options, and counselor contacts.

Why it matters: knowing the admit rate and application expectations lets you map out testing, essays, and deadlines with less stress.

EDsmart Verdict
2.41 / 5
Value Rating - Based on affordability and career outcomes

Your Decision Toolkit

Run the Net Price Calculator
Get your personalized cost estimate
Compare with similar schools
See how University of Missouri-St Louis stacks up to alternatives
Check your major's earnings
See ROI for your specific field of study
Visit the campus
Schedule a campus tour or virtual visit
Visit University of Missouri-St Louis Website →

Cite this profile

Add your access date when you publish.

APA (7th): EDsmart. (2026). University of Missouri-St Louis: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings. https://www.edsmart.org/schools/university-of-missouri-st-louis/

MLA (9th): “University of Missouri-St Louis: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings.” EDsmart, 2026, www.edsmart.org/schools/university-of-missouri-st-louis/.

Chicago: EDsmart. “University of Missouri-St Louis: Tuition, Outcomes & Rankings.” https://www.edsmart.org/schools/university-of-missouri-st-louis/.

Similar Schools

Institutions with similar academic profiles, selectivity, and outcomes

Nearby Schools

Other campuses you might consider

Other Missouri campuses you might consider

Northwest Missouri State University
Maryville, MO
B #1029 of 1,934
Ozark Christian College
Joplin, MO
B #973 of 1,934
Avila University
Kansas City, MO
B #955 of 1,934
Evangel University
Springfield, MO
B- #1073 of 1,934

Frequently Asked Questions

What is University of Missouri-St Louis's acceptance rate?

University of Missouri-St Louis's acceptance rate is 62.7%, based on U.S. Department of Education admissions data.

How much does University of Missouri-St Louis cost?

At University of Missouri-St Louis, listed tuition and fees are $14,812 per year, and the average net price after aid is $14,990. Use the net price calculator on this page for a personalized estimate.

What is University of Missouri-St Louis's ranking?

University of Missouri-St Louis ranks #1002 overall in EDsmart's 2026 college rankings with an overall grade of B, based on completion, affordability, support, and career outcomes.

What is University of Missouri-St Louis's graduation rate?

At University of Missouri-St Louis, the graduation rate within 150% of normal time is 62.2% (the rate used in EDsmart rankings), the federal 8-year award rate is 62.9%, and first-year retention is 73.6%.

What are University of Missouri-St Louis's job outcomes?

Graduates of University of Missouri-St Louis report median earnings of $62,635 five years after graduation, according to U.S. Department of Education outcome data. Outcomes vary by major.

What is University of Missouri-St Louis's student population?

University of Missouri-St Louis enrolls about 5,024 undergraduate students, per U.S. Department of Education enrollment data.

Contact Information

  • AccreditationHigher Learning Commission (NCACHE)
  • Endowment$117.8M

Data Source & Methodology ▼