University of Phoenix-Arizona Logo

University of Phoenix-Arizona

Phoenix, AZ | Private For-Profit | University

University of Phoenix-Arizona has annual tuition of $9,552, average net price of $13,520, and a national rank of #1947 (Grade D-), with a 20.8% graduation rate within 150% of normal time, about 85,991 undergraduates, and median earnings of $61,486 four years after graduation. Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard and EDsmart's 2026 rankings.

University of Phoenix-Arizona is a private for-profit institution in Phoenix, AZ. Students most often pursue Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing and Computer Programming.

Day to day, students benefit from a 147:1 student-faculty ratio, and 40.8% first-year retention. Coaches and faculty advisors weave in frequent check-ins, helping students translate ambition into steady progress.

EDsmart calculates return on investment at 78.2%, roughly 28.3 points higher than typical outcomes. It's well-suited to students who appreciate an encouraging campus with room to explore.

D-
Ranking
#1947 of 1,947
How We Rank Schools Lower tuitionLarge campus life
At a Glance
Ranking
#1947 of 1,947 (Top 100%)
Tuition
$9,552
Net Price
$13,520
4-Year Tuition
$38,208
Acceptance Rate
Not reported
Transfer Rate
0.0%
Student Population
85,991
Student-Faculty
147:1
Grad Rate (150% time)
20.8%
Grad Rate (8-year)
28.0%
Retention Rate
40.8%
4-Yr Earnings
$61,486
ROI
78.2%

Who is University of Phoenix-Arizona Best For?

A quick look at who tends to feel most at home here based on outcomes and campus context.

Families tracking affordability closely
First-gen or Pell-eligible support
Explorers drawn to vibrant campus scale
Students seeking strong career outcomes

EDsmart Scores Summary

Overall Ranking
#1947 of 1,947
Top 100% of all institutions
EDsmart Score
0.1 / 100 (national index)
Curved score (top institution = 100.0)
Value Rating
0.00 / 5
Based on ROI and outcomes
Completion
D+
#1,905 of 1,947
Affordability
A-
#291 of 1,947
Support
D-
#1,947 of 1,947
Career Outcomes
B-
#1,193 of 1,947

University of Phoenix-Arizona graduates 20.8% of students within 150% of normal time (the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings), with an 8-year award rate of 28.0% and keeps 40.8% of first-year students. Affordability earns an A- compared with similar schools.

How we calculate this →

Cost & Financial Aid

Quick Answers

What does it cost?
Depends on income
$12,776-$19,150 annual net price based on family income.
What's the graduation rate?
Challenging
20.8% graduate within 150% of normal time (the completion rate used in EDsmart rankings). The College Scorecard 8-year award rate is 28.0%. 1.9% complete in four years (IPEDS 100% time).
What are job outcomes?
Highly likely
77.5% of alumni are employed within three years of leaving. Median earnings four years after graduation are $61,486. Pay varies by major.
Get Your Personalized Cost Estimate

The costs shown are averages. Use University of Phoenix-Arizona's net price calculator to get an estimate based on your family's financial situation.

Calculate Your Net Price →

Total Degree Cost Summary

4-Year Total Cost (Pay with Cash)
$79,636
$19,909 × 4 years
Average Total Cost (Pay with Financial Aid)
$78,642
$13,520 × 5.8 years average
Time to Degree
Average: 5.8 years | 4-Year Rate: 1.9% | 6-Year Rate: 20.8% | 8-Year Rate: 28.0%
Most students finish in about four to five years. Four-year completion is 1.9% and six-year completion is 20.8%.

Annual Cost Comparison

Pay with Cash
$19,909
Total annual cost including tuition, books and living expenses; excluding any financial aid, grants or scholarships.
Pay with Financial Aid
$13,520
Average annual cost including tuition, books and living expenses after financial aid, grants or scholarships.

Cost of Undergraduate Attendance

Costs based on full-time, first-time degree- or certificate-seeking undergraduates.

View cost of attendance line items
Costs to Consider Price
Tuition and Fees $9,552
Books and Supplies $1,416
On-Campus Room and Board Not reported
On-Campus Other Expenses Not reported
Total On-Campus Cost $19,909

Tip: focus on the rows that match your living plan—commuters can swap in off-campus estimates while residential students should budget for housing, meals, and incidental fees.

Students Receiving Aid

Pell Grant
49.8%
Federal Loan
0.0%

Use these bars to gauge how many classmates rely on need-based dollars—lower Pell or loan shares may signal a wealthier student body or generous institutional grants.

EDsmart Insight: About 49.8% of University of Phoenix-Arizona students receive Pell Grants — well above the national average, highlighting ongoing affordability priorities.

AFFORDABILITY ALERT

If your family earns $75K-$110K: Expect to pay around $17,177/year

If your family earns $110K+: Expect to pay around $19,150/year

See all income brackets →

ROI & Career Outcomes

Return on Investment
78.2%
Based on 6-year median earnings vs. total degree cost
  • Median Earnings (4 Years After Graduation) $61,486
  • 10-Year Median Earnings $37,752
  • Average Years to Graduate 5.8 years
  • Average Student Debt $31,553
  • Repayment Rate (3yr) 28.0%
  • Employment Rate 77.5%

Graduate Earnings Distribution

Earnings range for University of Phoenix-Arizona graduates 6 years after enrollment, showing the 25th percentile, median, and 75th percentile. This illustrates the variation in outcomes across different majors and career paths.

Graduates earn a median of $61,486 four years after graduation — roughly 2% above the national median.
Payback Period
1.28 years
Total Degree Cost ÷ Annual Earnings

University of Phoenix-Arizona vs. National Average

Comparison of key performance metrics showing how University of Phoenix-Arizona's outcomes compare to the national average across earnings, graduation rates, retention, ROI, and employment. This contextualizes University of Phoenix-Arizona's performance within the broader higher education landscape.

EDsmart Insight: University of Phoenix-Arizona graduates earn $61,486 median four years after graduation, +2% above the national average. Earnings vary significantly by major—research your field's outcomes.

Acceptance & Selectivity

Getting In

Acceptance Rate
Not reported
Extremely Selective
National Average
69%
Average acceptance rate
  • SAT Evidence-Based Reading Not reported
  • SAT Math Not reported
  • SAT Writing Not reported
  • ACT Composite Not reported
  • SAT & ACTNot required
  • Undergraduate Enrollment 85,991
  • Full-Time Students 100.0%
  • Part-Time Students 0.0%
  • Retention Rate 40.8%
  • Grad Rate (150% time) 20.8%
  • Grad Rate (8-year) 28.0%
  • Student-Faculty Ratio 147:1

How to Get Into University of Phoenix-Arizona

1. Meet Academic Requirements: University of Phoenix-Arizona requires strong academic performance. Aim for test scores within the reported ranges and maintain a competitive GPA. Most admitted students rank in the top 10% of their high school class.

2. Build a Strong Application: Beyond test scores, focus on crafting compelling essays, securing strong letters of recommendation, and highlighting extracurricular activities that demonstrate leadership and commitment.

3. Understand Selectivity: With an acceptance rate of Not reported, University of Phoenix-Arizona is selective. Consider applying early decision if available, as early applicants often have higher acceptance rates.

4. Financial Planning: Review the net price calculator and financial aid options early. Many students receive significant aid, making the actual cost lower than the sticker price.

Tip: Contact the admissions office directly for the most current application requirements, deadlines, and any special programs (like early decision or early action) that might improve your chances.

Academic Programs

Undergraduate Program Distribution

Breakdown of the most popular majors and fields of study among University of Phoenix-Arizona undergraduates. Business Administration, Management and Operations, Health and Medical Administrative Services, and Criminal Justice and Corrections draw the most students.

  • Business Administration, Management and Operations 45.7%
  • Health and Medical Administrative Services 11.3%
  • Criminal Justice and Corrections 6.7%
  • Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing 6.4%
  • Computer and Information Sciences, General 6.2%
  • Behavioral Sciences 4.8%
See more majors
  • Accounting and Related Services 4.5%
  • Human Services, General 3.1%

Highest Earning Programs

Median earnings five years after graduation for each program. These figures help illustrate ROI by field of study and degree level.

Undergraduate Programs (Bachelor's Degrees)

  • 1. Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing $109,867
  • 2. Computer Programming $90,303
  • 3. Computer Software and Media Applications $85,919
Show additional high-earning majors
  • 4. Computer and Information Sciences, General $82,540
  • 5. Computer Programming $77,496
  • 6. Computer Systems Analysis $74,529
  • 7. Business Administration, Management and Operations $70,487
  • 8. Human Resources Management and Services $69,835
  • 9. Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management $69,636
  • 10. Computer Systems Networking and Telecommunications $68,866

Graduate Programs (Master's, Doctoral, Professional)

  • 1. Management Information Systems and Services (Doctoral Degree) $150,717
  • 2. Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing (Master's Degree) $120,428
  • 3. Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing (Doctoral Degree) $119,233
Show additional graduate majors
  • 4. Health and Medical Administrative Services (Doctoral Degree) $112,887
  • 5. Bioethics/Medical Ethics (Master's Degree) $110,140
  • 6. Business Administration, Management and Operations (Doctoral Degree) $94,045
  • 7. Educational/Instructional Media Design (Doctoral Degree) $89,757
  • 8. Educational Administration and Supervision (Graduate/Professional Certificate) $87,365
  • 9. Curriculum and Instruction (Doctoral Degree) $86,606
  • 10. Business Administration, Management and Operations (Graduate/Professional Certificate) $86,411

Program Choice Matters: Undergraduate: Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research & Clinical Nursing grads earn $109,867—60% more than Computer Systems Networking and Telecommunications ($68,866). Graduate: Management Information Systems and Services programs lead with $150,717 median earnings. Your program and degree level choice significantly impact career earnings.

Online Degrees & Distance Learning

College Scorecard reports fully online programs for University of Phoenix-Arizona. Below are the most popular options based on the number of recent graduates, followed by a quick look at the breadth of online offerings by degree level.
Source: U.S. Department of Education – College Scorecard

Most Popular Online Degrees

  • Student Counseling and Personnel Services (Master's Degree, graduates (suppressed))

Graduate counts for individual programs are suppressed for this institution.

What This School Offers Online, at a Glance

College Scorecard flags the following online degree and certificate programs for this institution. Expand each credential level to view the complete list of available subjects.

Online Master's Degrees (1 program)▼
  • Student Counseling and Personnel Services

Student Demographics

Student Population

  • Total Undergraduate Enrollment 85,991
  • Full-Time Students 100.0%
  • Part-Time Students 0.0%
  • Male Students 33.4%
  • Female Students 66.6%
  • Caucasian 34.2%
  • Asian 1.0%
  • Hispanic 11.7%
  • Black 23.8%
  • Pell Grant Recipients 49.8%

Racial & Ethnic Diversity

Undergraduate student body composition by racial and ethnic background. This reflects University of Phoenix-Arizona's commitment to diversity and inclusion in admissions.

Gender Distribution

Gender breakdown of University of Phoenix-Arizona's undergraduate population. The university maintains a roughly balanced gender distribution across its student body.

Graduation Rate Equity Analysis

How well does University of Phoenix-Arizona support students from different economic backgrounds?

Pell Grant Recipients
21.1%
6-year graduation rate
Non-Pell Students
18.3%
6-year graduation rate
Equity Gap
2.8 pts
excellent equity

What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at nearly the same rate as higher-income students, indicating strong institutional support for all economic backgrounds.

Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity

Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity

Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at University of Phoenix-Arizona, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.

EDsmart Insight: University of Phoenix-Arizona has a diverse student body, with 34.2% identifying as White. Women make up 66.6% of undergraduates.

Graduation Rate Equity Analysis

How well does University of Phoenix-Arizona support students from different economic backgrounds?

Pell Grant Recipients
21.1%
6-year graduation rate
Non-Pell Students
18.3%
6-year graduation rate
Equity Gap
2.8 pts
excellent equity

What this means: Lower-income students (Pell Grant recipients) graduate at nearly the same rate as higher-income students, indicating strong institutional support for all economic backgrounds.

Compare graduation rates by race/ethnicity

Graduation Rates by Race/Ethnicity

Six-year graduation rates for different demographic groups at University of Phoenix-Arizona, compared to national averages. This shows whether the institution supports all students equitably.

Our Take

University of Phoenix-Arizona ranks #1947 of 1947 institutions in our comprehensive analysis, achieving a D- overall grade with 78.2% ROI.

At $13,520 annually, the institution serves students seeking accessible higher education. Career outcomes and value metrics should be carefully compared against alternative institutions before enrolling.

EDsmart Assessment: University of Phoenix-Arizona

D- grade | #1947 of 1947 | 0.1/100 on EDsmart's national index (0–100 vs. all ranked schools; not a raw point total)

Performance Overview: University of Phoenix-Arizona's 78.2% return on investment and #1947 ranking reflect the institution's competitive position in the higher education landscape. The $13,520 annual cost should be carefully weighed against expected career outcomes.

Value Considerations: Prospective students should compare University of Phoenix-Arizona's specific programs against alternatives, as institutional averages may not reflect individual program quality. Financial aid packages, program-specific outcomes, and career services vary significantly.

Decision Framework: Use University of Phoenix-Arizona's D- grade and #1947 ranking as starting points, not final answers. Evaluate program-specific outcomes, campus visit impressions, financial aid offers, and career placement rates in your intended field before making enrollment decisions.

Key Takeaways

  • 20.8% graduation rate sits 41.7 points below the national 62.5% benchmark.
  • 40.8% first-year retention is 36.0 points below the national norm of 76.8%.
  • 78.2% return on investment is 28.3 points above the national 49.9% benchmark.
  • Median earnings of $61,486 run about 2% higher than national outcomes four years after graduation.
  • Average net price of $13,520 is roughly $6,559 lower than the national median of $20,079.

Helpfulness for Students

Green Flags
  • 147:1 student-faculty ratio keeps mentorship close and courses discussion-sized.
  • 40.8% first-year retention shows students stay engaged after the first year.
  • 77.5% employment rate within three years sits 9.3 points above national outcomes.
Red Flags
  • Budget carefully for clinical travel, off-campus housing, and practicum fees to avoid surprise costs.
  • Compare aid offers from nearby public universities to weigh the premium for smaller classes.
  • Compare aid offers from nearby public universities to weigh the premium for smaller classes.
EDsmart Expert Analysis

EDsmart rates University of Phoenix-Arizona—a private for-profit institution in Phoenix, AZ—at D- overall. It holds a #1947 national ranking Category results include Completion (D+), Support (D-), Career Outcomes (B-), and Affordability (A-).

Grades are assigned relative to EDsmart's national bachelor's cohort using standardized outcomes (2026 methodology); they reflect how a school compares to peers, not a fixed percentage of a raw point total.

About 40.8% of first-year students return; 20.8% graduate within 150% of normal time, with an 8-year award rate of 28.0%. Return on investment currently measures 78.2% for this program.

Why it matters: this snapshot shows how likely you are to stay on track academically and whether the outcomes justify the price tag. Letter grades summarize cohort-relative performance—not a single exam-style score.

EDsmart Financial Snapshot

Families pay about $13,520 on average after aid, compared with a published cost near $19,909.

Institutional and federal aid lower costs by roughly $6,389 per year.

Graduates leave with a median of $31,553 in federal loans, which lines up with national norms.

About 49.8% of students receive Pell Grants, giving a snapshot of the campus income mix.

Why it matters: lining up sticker price, aid, and typical debt helps you stress-test the budget before you commit.

EDsmart Career Snapshot

Graduates report median earnings of about $61,486 four years after graduation. Compared with the national median, that's 2% higher.

Roughly 77.5% of graduates are employed three years out.

Plan around an ROI of about 78.2% according to the Scorecard data.

Why it matters: pairing median earnings with employment rates gives you a sense of payback time after graduation.

EDsmart Admissions Snapshot

This institution has not reported a current acceptance rate.

The admissions team encourages students to highlight academic strengths through transcripts, essays, and recommendations.

Prospective students can apply early for priority review and lean on the University of Phoenix-Arizona admissions site for deadlines, visit options, and counselor contacts.

Why it matters: knowing the admit rate and application expectations lets you map out testing, essays, and deadlines with less stress.

EDsmart Verdict
0.00 / 5
Value Rating - Based on affordability and career outcomes

Your Decision Toolkit

Run the Net Price Calculator
Get your personalized cost estimate
Compare with similar schools
See how University of Phoenix-Arizona stacks up to alternatives
Check your major's earnings
See ROI for your specific field of study
Visit the campus
Schedule a campus tour or virtual visit
Visit University of Phoenix-Arizona Website →

Similar Schools

Institutions with similar academic profiles, selectivity, and outcomes

Nearby Schools

Other campuses you might consider

Other Arizona campuses you might consider

The University of Arizona Global Campus
Chandler, AZ
D- #1929 of 1,947
American InterContinental University System
Chandler, AZ
D- #1928 of 1,947
Arizona College of Nursing-Tucson
Tucson, AZ
D+ #1877 of 1,947
Ottawa University-Surprise
Surprise, AZ
C- #1865 of 1,947

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does University of Phoenix-Arizona cost?

At University of Phoenix-Arizona, listed tuition and fees are $9,552 per year, and the average net price after aid is $13,520. Use the net price calculator on this page for a personalized estimate.

What is University of Phoenix-Arizona's ranking?

University of Phoenix-Arizona ranks #1947 nationally in EDsmart's 2026 college rankings with an overall grade of D-, based on completion, affordability, support, and career outcomes.

What is University of Phoenix-Arizona's graduation rate?

At University of Phoenix-Arizona, the graduation rate within 150% of normal time is 20.8% (the rate used in EDsmart rankings), College Scorecard 8-year award rate is 28.0%, and first-year retention is 40.8%.

What are University of Phoenix-Arizona's job outcomes?

Graduates of University of Phoenix-Arizona report median earnings of $61,486 four years after graduation, according to College Scorecard federal outcome data. Outcomes vary by major.

What is University of Phoenix-Arizona's student population?

University of Phoenix-Arizona enrolls about 85,991 undergraduate students, per College Scorecard enrollment data.

Contact Information

  • AccreditationHigher Learning Commission (NCACHE)

Data Source & Methodology ▼